Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
362 201 813 3
Connect ID #
362 201 813 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Focal Performance PS 165F

Performance Expert Series 6-1/2" component speaker system

MFR # PS 165F

Focal Performance PS 165F

Focal Performance PS 165F

Performance Expert Series 6-1/2" component speaker system

MFR # PS 165F

34 reviews
View this product

Focal Performance PS 165F

Crutchfield customer from Jupiter, FL on 8/30/2020

2011 Ford F-250

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These sound great! I replaced a high end pair of Helix just for a change and it already sounded great, but the Focals blow them away. Crystal clear and no distortion. Running off a Jl audio amp.

Pros: Crystal clear sound with no distortion. Handle lots of power.

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal Performance PS 165F

Crutchfield customer from Port St Lucie, FL on 8/20/2020

2004 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very clear and spacious sound. Can hear depth in music. A little brite sounding but some eq and they sound great. Had polk db separates but hurt a woofer. Very smooth sounding. Focal seem more efficient, less volume has more sound. I like the clarity with less volume as you can only blast for so long. They will play loud when called upon. Very good speakers.

Pros: Clean, clear ,loud when needed. Very sturdy woofer enclosures. Spacious sound

Cons: Tweeters tricky to get in flush mount pods.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Amazing product

Crutchfield customer from Cadiz, KY on 8/16/2020

2012 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had wanted to try these particular Focals for several years. Crutchfield had them marked down substantially, so I bit the bullet and got them. They're running off of a morel amp pushing 70rms to each, and they sound absolutely incredible. From my experience with them, they're harsh for the first 5-10 hours, but once they break in they are extremely detailed and musical. I've heard rockford, JL, alpine, JBL....and for me, these take the cake. If you're thinking about it, just get them. Run them cleanly on sufficient power and I promise you won't be disappointed!

Pros: Excellent clarity Crutchfield service Great mid bass

Cons: When you really crank some rock music, they don't like the guitar.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal Performance PS 165F

Crutchfield customer from Deerfield Beach, FL on 8/4/2020

2016 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are the best speakers I have ever had. I have two pairs in my Tacoma and a pair in my Camaro. They are crisp and clear.....Couldn't be happier with them and highly recommend to anyone looking for beautiful speakers.

Pros: Crisp and clean....Perfect speakers

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good sound

Crutchfield customer from New Orleans on 6/13/2020

2017 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's great sounding. Woofer mates well to the tweeter. That may be because the woofer cone is about 5" across. Smaller than you would think. It's about 6.5" diameter on the frame. I have the PS165F.

Pros: Crystal clear

Cons: Don't expect deep bass

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Focal Performance PS 165F

Crutchfield customer from Woodhaven, NY on 5/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds perfect

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal Performance PS 165F

sean from Kalispell, MT on 5/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome set perfect easy install

Pros: The word focal says it all

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Acura TLX Front Door Upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Kenosha, WI on 5/3/2020

2015 Acura TLX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have to start off by saying WOW, shout out Posty. These Focals have some serious mid bass. I have had them installed in my 2015 TLX for about two weeks now and the sound quality is pretty astounding. I have the components running off a Rockford Fosgate 600x4 on the two front channels with the factory radio signal being processed by a JL Fix 86. I did have to make custom speaker adapters to fit the mids in the door properly, but the tweeter could not have been a more perfect fit in the factory location. All and all, this kit sounds incredible. If you are looking for crisp clear vocals and some seriously powerful mid bass, don't hesitate to pick these up. Not to mention Crutchfield supplied my entire front stage, customer service was top notch as always (received a handwritten thank you in my order) and had free two day shipping. Couldn't ask for a better combo. Thanks Crutchfield!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Get these components!

Crutchfield customer from Cibolo, TX on 4/29/2020

2018 Honda Civic Type R

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very well built and can handle all the power you can throw at them. Tweeters are crisp but not overpowering.

Pros: Clean, clear, crisp and really well built. Not to deep and the tweeters fit very well in stock location.

Cons: They did not fit my car as previously stated. I had to cut 1/4" all the way around for the woofer you fit on all 4 doors. Crutchfield's stock amp wiring guide is missing speakers and is incorrect for my 2018 Honda Civic Type R.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Very responsive

John from Suisun City, Ca on 4/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Mazdaspeed3 Equiment Kenwood DDX6902S JL 300/4v3 No DSP The good! Such an amazing sound. I haven't touched the EQ yet and time alignment very easily created a nice front stage. I'm using the passive crossovers set to 0 and it's not sharp or causing fatigue. Surprising as previous experience had me believe they would be before install. The crossovers are small. The sound is very responsive in performance. Great bass out of them helps to confuse you where the sub is and it's very clear. Beautiful speaker, as well. Shame no one will see the woofer. The bad. One of the tweeters wouldn't go into the supplied flush mount cup from Focal. Trying to gently twist it in to lock it, I broke the supplied tool from Focal and that pushed my install back about a week. Crutchfield hooked it up and sent me a replacement even though they didn't have to, but this is a product review. Crutchfield would get a 5/5! The baskets for the woofers are massive. Pretty sure I can open up coconuts with them. As a result, I had to get creative in install. Make no mistake the inner diameter required to set these in an adapter are 6.75 inches. I had to shave part of the adapter, part of my door to clear the magnets and I still needed spacers to clear the window but they're in. The crossovers come with wires and they really shouldn't. It makes install awkward as now you have to make extra wire connections adding to resistance. Finally, sound isn't warm. It's very responsive, but not life-like.

Pros: Great response, small crossovers, not bright using passive crossovers

Cons: Basket size, build quality, wire on crossover, not lifelike/warm

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Impeccable Quality, Worth Every Penny

Daniel from THORNTON, CO on 4/27/2020

2014 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Honestly I couldn't be happier with these speakers, the woofers handled the bass and mids wonderfully while the tweeters hit all the highs so crisp! I've since added them to a Focal AP4340 70w amp, added a JL 10tw3 sub so I'm able to run them through the amp with a HPF, they sing with some power! The Crutchfield speaker adapter needed some adjustment due to the crossover but overall, everything about these speakers screams quality!

Pros: Perfect for all ranges of sound, but better for mids and highs

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Focal quality

Crutchfield customer from Miami, FL on 3/20/2020

2020 Lexus RX450H

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing speakers, sound quality deep bass, clear and crisp..

Pros: Great sound Deep bass Quality speakers

Cons: Need amp Low decibels

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal Performance PS 165F

Crutchfield customer from Calexico, CA on 3/15/2020

2010 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this speakers they aound amazing .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal Performance PS 165F

Crutchfield customer from Sumter, SC on 3/2/2020

2019 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well made and great sounding component set.

Pros: Nice. Well built.

Cons: Speakers did not come with any kind of sealing sound deadening tape for woofer.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 2 found this helpful

Phenomenal speakers! A+

Chris from PARIS, TN on 2/28/2020

2017 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easily the best speakers I've owned! Upgraded to these in my 2017 tacoma and they're so clean and clear on top end and mid uppers and lowers! Focal just got a new fan as I'm sold! I've got them powered by a JL Audio XD700/5v2 amp and they sound phenomenal! Great sale price! They'd been worth it at retail imo! Great customer service from Crutchfield as always And fast shipping with everything I needed for install.. I may do away with crossovers and go active with these soon! Dont be afraid! They're worth it

Pros: Great sounding mid lows mids and mid highs from woofers and crisp clear smooth sounding tweeters installed in dash -3db!

Cons: Idk any

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

F-150 xlt 2018 non sony.. Tried just OEM head unit and then amp

Crutchfield customer from Fayetteville, AR on 2/9/2020

2018 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got these to replace the front speakers on my F150 XLT 2018. For giggles I ran them off the oem head unit internal amp....blah, wouldnt be worth the $$$. Then added my alpine pdx-5 amp and lc7i, sounded ok, noticable difference in highs and low range. But still, just ok. Then swapped out the lc7i with an LCQ-1 and took it to a shop to have it fine tuned. Now that's where it's at. I got mine on sale. Would purchase again.

Pros: On sale, they are worth the $$ An amp and EQ are a must!!!

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Amazing sounding

Tyler from Fostoria, OH on 11/17/2019

2016 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely the best sounding components iv ever bought! Will be buying another set for the rear doors. Focal is top notch quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audiophile quality

Crutchfield customer from Menasha, WI on 10/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Truly audiophile quality sound from these speakers. I demoed a lot of speakers and none came close to being as clean and clear as these Focals. The build quality and materials are truly exceptional. These are worth the extra money.

Pros: Extremely clear and open with very detailed highs.

Cons: I would say price, but you get what you pay for so no regrets here.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal Performance PS 165F

Crutchfield customer from Manchester, NH on 7/12/2019

2014 Volkswagen Touareg

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound.

Pros:

Cons: Bypass cuts out the lows. Will need a sub to hear the lows

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Exactly what you need

Juan from Tucson, AZ on 7/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The hype is real! Any other speaker just sounds like a speaker, these Focal speakers are a portal into a new dimension of sound. They are incredibly detailed and crisp with beautiful imaging, they really bring any music to life.

Pros: Beautiful imaging.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

preposterous

Crutchfield customer from Oswego, IL on 6/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

beyond comparison, in a superior classification.

Pros: Finding a better perfoming speaker would be an enormous task.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Focal Performance PS 165F

Crutchfield customer from Lafayette, LA on 6/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely beautiful speakers. Well built and substantial.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boise

Victor from Boise on 5/2/2019

2011 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are amazing I have owned a set in a 69 911. Loved the sound powered with a old school jl amp .some if the best sound I've had in a car.

Pros: Sweet natural sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

You get what you pay for!

Roc from Raleigh, NC on 1/21/2019

2017 Ford Edge

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic and detailed sound. Really brings your music to life!

Pros: Incredible sound

Cons: Crossover wires are too short.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal Performance PS 165F

Kenneth from Troy, NY on 1/13/2019

2018 Nissan Titan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal Performance PS 165F

BRANDON L from Kingsland, TX on 11/25/2018

2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These focal 6.5 FX are amazing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Solid Performance for the price

Crutchfield customer from Denver, CO on 9/17/2018

2005 Honda S2000

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in an 05 S2000. had to glue the tweeters to the mount rather than using the original screw however the woofers clear the window glass using the Modifry speaker rings. Sounds great with the crossover set to default (-3db). Not harsh with great bass response and fantastic detail. Running off a 14w/ch head unit however they could use amplification which I will add in the future. The cross over leads are quite short which is a downside. but otherwise, finish and build quality is exactly as one would expect from this price point and I feel the performance also lives up to expectations.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal Performance PS 165F

Lip from Portage, IN on 5/14/2018

1999 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been installing car stereos for 15yrs and by far these focal speakers are top of the line gr8 highs and lows....awesome speaker

Pros:

Cons: Wire from crossover little short but very workable.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal Performance PS 165F

Chad from KY on 11/6/2017

2007 Chevrolet Silverado (New Body Style

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers sound amazing. The mids are neutral but just a little bit laid back. At first I wasn't pleased with the sound of the tweeters but later realized that the crossovers come set to -3db from the factory. After popping off the cover and flipping the switch, they came to life. I'm driving them with an old 4 channel Alpine amp and I couldn't be much happier. My setup at home uses MartinLogan electrostats just to give a reference of my preferred sonic signature.

Pros: Flat and accurate response

Cons: Crossover shipped with tweeter attenuated

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Amazing speakers

Les from Honolulu, HI on 4/27/2016

2016 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Powered by a PDX V9 and running off a NEX 7200 deck. My truck simply sounds amazing.

Pros: Well balanced component speakers

Cons: Price but you get what you pay for

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Sonic Ecstacy

Ben S from Buford, Ga on 5/4/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow I bought these for a little better front stage, moving my Polk MMs to the rear for fill. I loved the sound of the Polks but they were just lacking a tad in the mid range. These fulfilled what was missing and beyond. Hands down the best speakers I've heard. I still wish I could afford the K2s but I'd have a hard time imagining they sound much better then these.

Pros: Full spectrum of sound, hefty mid woofers, Crystal clear sound at any volume

Cons: Wish they had a little longer wire on the crossovers. That's it

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Focal componets

Tim D. from Louisiana on 4/5/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After having these for about a week now all I can say is WOW! Amazing clarity and and can handle plenty of power. I have these hooked up to an arc audio amp I did not use the supplied crossover I just used what is built into the amplifier and am running them on the full setting. These things are amazing have excellent mid range bass and the tweeters are ear piercing to say the least. The detail in all types of music that I now hear is just unreal. These are high priced speakers but when you want the best you have to pay and I assure you that you will not be disappointed!

Pros: Sound quality will set these apart from 9 out of 10 components put up against them.Detail to craftsmanship. They offer cones which can be used to set the tweeters in to mount which gives some versatility to set ups.

Cons: Price is steep for small speakers. No a fault of Focal but the speaker brackets I received were smaller than the speaker, I used a Dremel tool to grind away the tabs on the inside of the bracket to allow room for the speaker to fit. Second I did not receive the installation sheet that was supposed to be sent with the order.

Crutchfield response on 4/6/2015
We're sorry to hear that you had some difficulty with the installation. We send out the vehicle-specific installation instructions ahead of the order (as an attachment to your shipping confirmation email) so that you can familiarize yourself with the installation requirements before receiving your order. And if you ever run into any problems during the installation, don't hesitate to call our Tech Support team. They're standing by, seven days a week, and their help is free, as a benefit to our customers.

11 of 13 found this helpful

focal

Billy S from the Washington, DC Area on 1/11/2015

2008 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

focal are a great speakers

Pros: sound quality

Cons: price

Crutchfield response on

2 of 8 found this helpful

Amazing Sound

Eric from Kansas City, MO on 9/17/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just demo'd these against JL, Polk, Memphis and Alpine. Really there isn't any comparison. I even pitted these against higher end Focal components and they were right there. When comparing them with JL's equivalent there was no comparison to my ear and preference. JL is great. I'm having there amp and W3V3 sub installed along with he HD900 amp but for component speakers they didn't hold a light to the quality of sound. They are more money but the sound is worth it if that's what you are going for. Focal has some crazy stuff but the quality and materials will tell you why the $. Get what you pay for.

Pros: Almost everything

Cons: little pricey for small component speakers.

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

TOP