Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
225 277 584 3
Connect ID #
225 277 584 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Discontinued item

Focal Performance PS 165FX

Performance Expert Series 6-1/2" component speaker system

MFR # PS 165FX

Focal Performance PS 165FX

Focal Performance PS 165FX

Performance Expert Series 6-1/2" component speaker system

MFR # PS 165FX

36 reviews
View this product

Focal Performance PS 165FX

Crutchfield customer from Waipahu, HI on 3/10/2021

2019 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent speakers! I installed the mids in the front doors of my Tundra with the tweeters in the stock dash location and the soundstage is nice. Running the passives at -3db on the tweeters, not bi-amped. I thought it would sound too bright because of tweeter location, but I was wrong. Very musical and detailed without being harsh, and midbass is great too. I'm very impressed with these components. This is my first set of Focals, and it won't be my last.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal Performance PS 165FX

Crutchfield customer from Cayey, PR on 3/10/2021

2000 Toyota MR2 Spyder

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Real professional

Pros: The best

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal Performance PS 165FX

Crutchfield customer from Charlotte, NC on 3/2/2021

2018 Volvo S60

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding speakers. Detail, separation, clarity, just amazing. Only thing better is the 3way version.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal Performance PS 165FX

Martin from TAYLOR, TX on 2/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was searching for great sound and I found it in these speakers. Amazing, amazing mids and highs. Mid bass is very present and full / robust sounding. No muddiness at all. Mids and especially highs sound ridiculously good, and aren't harsh at all, which I was scared of with this being a metal tweeter. I had Polk MMs, infinity kappas, morel tempo ultras, all in recently. They each sounded good and different, but didn't sound amazing - which is what I wanted. These focals sound amazing with all types of music. Metal, rap, country, Latin, you name it and it'll sound great. I personally love metal most, and the guitar, bass, and drums all sound thick, beautiful, and crisp with these.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal Performance PS 165FX

Crutchfield customer from El Cajon, CA on 2/9/2021

2018 Ford F-150 King Ranch

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are the best 6.5 inch speakers I have ever heard in a car. Don't let the fact that they are the older model deter you from getting them. I also have the new Flax Evo and these sound as good if not better. The build quality is also top notch on these speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Amazing Sound

Crutchfield customer from Phoenix, AZ on 2/8/2021

2017 Honda Civic SI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It took me 3 weeks to prep my car for install, so worth it. Just got my 10th Gen Si back from installer and astonished at the sound. These Focals' are as crisp as I've heard in a car. Replaced my factory speakers, kept the factory deck. These are powered by JL RD 400 and it works well together. I only have around 5 hours into these Focals. I will tell you that they are getting better every time I jump in. I rounded the system off with ICU 100'sin the rear deck and a RE single 12 running off a JBL Stadium at 4 ohms (750). Just amazed at the clarity these speakers put out. Be aware these speakers can be harsh/shrill out of the box. As I mentioned above, they are getting better and warmer as I break them in. I will be gentler on these for the first 20 hours or so and open them up. At this point I am very impressed with the overall sound in my car. Hope this helps.

Pros: Highs and mid-ranges

Cons: May need some support on the bass side

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

The best

Crutchfield customer from Conroe, TX on 2/2/2021

2020 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best sounding speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Focal Performance PS 165FX

Crutchfield customer from Burleson, TX on 1/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound from these speakers is incredible. I have them paired with an amplifier 80 watts per channel and I couldn't be happier. Super clean sound.

Pros: Picked 'em up on sale

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal ps165fx

Anthony from Wimauma, FL on 1/25/2021

1972 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The speakers appear to be of great quality they have not been installed yet so I can't review the sound quality.

Pros: Looks and packaging

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Great Purchase

wes from Austin, TX on 1/25/2021

2017 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased to replace a set of Morel Temp Ultra 602 powered through a AudioControl DM-608 and JL RD400/4. Great overall speaker combination - mids are significantly warmer with crisp highs that are not overpowering. Well worth the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal Performance PS 165FX

Crutchfield customer from Warwick, RI on 1/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These rank up there and if not better than a pair of CDT HD62's that I had in the past.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great speakers

Christian Issac from ALICE, TX on 11/13/2020

2017 Ford F-250 Lariat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Tweeters are very crisp. Great door speakers overall

Pros: crystal clear tweeters good bass

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal Performance PS 165FX

Crutchfield customer from Slatington, PA on 11/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worth every penny

Crutchfield customer from Port Orchard, WA on 10/9/2020

2017 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easily the best sounding speakers i have ever had. Amazing mid bass response and great mid range. The tweeter is very bright but it is what I prefer. Any good head unit or DSP can mellow the tweeter if you prefer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Amazing quality!!!

Crutchfield customer from Meridian, ID on 10/4/2020

2003 MINI Cooper

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crisp sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome speakers.

Crutchfield customer from Mansfield, TX on 6/18/2020

2019 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These sound amazing. The mid and high range sound better than my home stereo. Well worth the $.

Pros: Excellent sound

Cons: Cost, but worth it!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Focal Performance PS 165FX

Crutchfield customer from Scio, OR on 5/30/2020

2006 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best speaker that I ever bought. Awesome sound quality

Pros: Excellent

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent speakers

Felix from San Antonio, TX on 5/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are some awesome sounding speakers. Ditched the passive crossovers and went active crossovers with an Audiocontrol DSP. After some fine tuning of each individual tweeter and woofer, the music coming from these is amazing.

Pros: Build quality, sound quality

Cons: Non

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great speakers, not great adapter plate

Francis from KINGWOOD, TX on 5/16/2020

2017 Ford Edge

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really love these speakers. I have owned other focals in the past have never been disappointed with their performance. That being said I'm a bit disappointed with the adapter plates crutchfield sent with them. Customer service is great and the order arrived on time and well packaged.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Great sound

Crutchfield customer from Grand Island, NE on 4/26/2020

2017 Ford F-150 Raptor

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound power them propely and never look back.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very Nice! Very Awesome! PS 165FX

Crutchfield customer from Elkton, MD on 4/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For about 5 years I had the Focal PS 165v and I enjoyed every musical mile that I drove with them. I was really really bummed out when one of the woofers and tweeters were damaged by a mistake I made. After I replaced the the old set with the PS 165FX, the sound is so nice that I almost forgot what I was so bummed out about.

Pros: Awesome sound, awesome sale price.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal Performance PS 165FX

Crutchfield customer from Philipsburg, MT on 3/18/2020

2015 GMC Terrain

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Focal speakers are simply the best sounding speakers I've ever heard. There is no substitute

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good but not great

Crutchfield customer from Fort Worth, TX on 2/19/2020

2020 Jeep Gladiator

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Highs are high and lows are low but lacking on the mids. I had k2 in my last vehicle and these do not compare. If I had the chance I would have gone with the 165F3 the 3 way set. I hoped these would be close to my k2 but a little disappointed. Costly mistake. Good set of speakers but need to have a good eq to set exact frequencies.

Pros: Bright highs and great lows

Cons: Muddy mids

Crutchfield response on

6 of 14 found this helpful

Focal Performance PS 165FX

Crutchfield customer from Chandler, AZ on 11/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing! Get them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

19 F150 Lariat

Zac from Fort Mill on 9/14/2019

2019 Ford F-150 Lariat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

No need to spend more. I have this paired with amp and subs and I never want to get out of my truck.

Pros: Great sound and fit. Needs to be set up correctly and paired with the correct amp and subs.

Cons: I would say cost but I found these on sale.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

I've never heard anything better

Juan from Tucson, AZ on 7/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The hype is real! Any other speaker just sounds like a speaker, these Focal speakers are a portal into a new dimension of sound. They are incredibly detailed and crisp with beautiful imaging, they really bring any music to life.

Pros: Delicious sound reproduction.

Cons: Zero point Zero.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 9 found this helpful

Focal Performance PS 165FX

Crutchfield customer from Tulsa, OK on 4/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding speakers focal is still making great products

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great speakers

Beau from Rockwall, TX on 3/15/2019

2016 Ford F-150 Platinum

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love the sound of these speakers. I'm running 75watts to each speaker. They sound so warm and the staging is great in my f150.

Pros: The quality. Well build, sturdy

Cons: The price, but you get what you pay for. They are worth it.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sound Quality

Don from Gordonsville on 12/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have to say, these components do sound amazing. I pulled out Alpine R series components which I thought could not be beat, and honestly in there price range at 300.00 they probably cant as they do sound very good. If your looking to go to the next level, then yes you need to spend the extra cash! The Focals are at another level, they sound amazing, deeper mid bass, more prononced midrange, tweeters are very detailed and less fitiging than the alpines. I didnt bi amp these and they rock! Im running a Arc Audio XDI amp on these at 85WX2 and they are just breathtaking to say the least!! I have been into car audio for over 20 years and have heard plenty of systems, if you want extream sound quality, this is the ticket. Anyone that says different, its a problem with the install, not the speakers.

Pros: Excellent sound

Cons: Huge magnets, almost didnt fit

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Focal Performance PS 165FX

Mario from Bartlett, Tn on 1/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are the best sounding speakers i have ever heard, yes the price is a little more than some but still competitive. I actually put these in my Audi a8l and they are crystal clear i just wish companies knew the size of speakers that were in my car before i purchased them other than that i am very happy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Don't buy these if you can't afford to put them in everything

Kevin from Colorado on 10/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These things have ruined all other speakers for me. I'm not joking - everything else sounds terrible now. It doesn't matter what kind of sound you throw at these things, they handle it like a beast - and I don't just mean music. Focal makes home theater towers (Focal ARIA) with a spinoff of the F3's (same as these FX but with a midrange) and they charge over 3 grand for them - so I built my own with some F3's for a few grand less and my klipsch towers are now in the garage for the forseeable future. Not in the garage at my workbench just like - in a corner - because they aren't worthy. Thanks!

Pros: everything

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 13 found this helpful

Cleanest sounding component set!

Point Dexter from Austin, TX on 7/19/2016

2003 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you truly want the BEST of the BEST sound, don't need to look any further. I have four sets of these PS 165 FX Focals in my 7-3 Super Duty, and man does it sound super crisp and loud in that truck! Now, you may say I went to the extreme in having two amps to push two component sets... but if you want clean crisp LOUD sound with zero distortion then that's how it's done. I have each set of components powered by the sexy JL Audio 300/4 Slash amps. The two amps push these four components sets, that being said it allows you to control each speaker and EQ so if I want the highs up louder or quieter channel a&b on each amp controls the front tweeters and I can tweak each individual speaker to create the best optimal sound!!!! The good thing with these two JL Slash amps is they put just the right watts out, total watts these speakers can take as a pair is 160w and this amp is feeding it 150w combined which gives it just what it needs. In comparison with the other two Focal sets above this, they offer to much tweeter and highs, these give just the right amount, and a lot better priced as well !!!!!

Pros: Sound Quality

Cons: Size, very deep so make sure you have the spacing for these!

Crutchfield response on

13 of 18 found this helpful

Incredible Speakers Natural Sound

Paul from San Diego on 3/19/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was hesitant at first because the price was so high. I have a pair of these on a jb xd3v2 with a jl shallow tw12 running off an alpine ine928hd in a prius. Because my stock inverter has only about 30a of headroom, I felt the flax was my only option because it's sensitivity level was very high. These speakers are amazing. Vocals, electronica, guitars, classical are silly smooth and clear. Don't let that 80 watt advertised figure fool you. These things play louder than my other cars running twice that power using less efficient drivers. Beautifully balanced and well worth the price. I've had 3 other cars running image dynamics forever but I'm now a focal flax ps convert.

Pros: Clarity, efficient, natural sound, have not been able to get to distort. Insanely efficient drivers!!

Cons: Price, but well worth it

Crutchfield response on

13 of 16 found this helpful

Not worth the money

Dean T. from Houma, La. *-+ on 12/30/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I think the components i purchased are lemons. The grills dont stay on the speakers. The grills on the tweater are not a snug fit. The tweeters are next to impossible to turn into the holder. I had to return a tweeter for exchange because it wasnt coming on. It was exchanged no questions asked. Now i think i have a problem with my crossover because one of the tweeters keeps cutting out and i narrowed it down to that. It would help to have some type of indicater light on the crossover so that you could tell if its on and working. I dont notice a difference in sound when i adjust the settings for the tweeters. A slight difference w/woofer. I just expected a little more for what I paid. And yes i have went back three times over my wiring and it is wired correctly.

Pros: When everything is working correctly they sound good.

Cons: Pricey for what i received.

Crutchfield response on

16 of 70 found this helpful

Crystal Clear

Caleb from South Carolina on 12/3/2014

2004 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are amazing. I first heard them in my buddies 2014 Chevy 2500 and I bought them a week later. If you've tried various "nice" component speaker systems over the years and want to take a big leap to the next level, get these Focals. They will blow you out of the water with how unbelievably crystal clear you can listen to your music, and still crank it. Voices from the tweeters are so smooth and clear, non piercing like others I've experienced. The mids are beefy, they feel like a small subwoofer. I did have to make an adapter plate to adapt to a 6x8 hole but also to clear the window actuator on my F250. The crossovers are a true work of art wow! I will say though they are sizable, wont fit in my dash or doors so make sure to think ahead. Expensive, yes. Worth it? Absolutly

Pros: Crystal clear sound, everything is very high quality made

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

focal ps 165fx

Chad from indianapolis, in on 6/16/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very clear sound system. Easy install. Crutchfield was very helpful with recommending the correct setup for my application. Have a xd700/5 powering these beautifully. This is a sleeper setup in my element (modifications are needed for 165's in door panels) Crutchfield has a customer for life with their superior customer service

Pros: Performance is great No distortion Hand made 2 year warranty Quality material Very well packaged

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

TOP