Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Focal RCX-165

Auditor Series 6-1/2" 2-way speakers

MFR # RCX-165

Focal RCX-165

Focal RCX-165

Auditor Series 6-1/2" 2-way speakers

MFR # RCX-165

94 reviews
View this product

Great speakers

Crutchfield customer from Pueblo, CO on 2/26/2021

2010 Honda Civic EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far they are sounding great. Have only had them in the car for a week, but they are so much better then the factory speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Amazing sound

Javier from San Juan, PR on 2/6/2021

2013 Honda Accord

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent speaker, installed in the front of my Accord 2013 sedan with original radio, amazing sound.

Pros: the best 6.5 speaker, balance sound

Cons: nothing

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal RCX-165

Alec from ARVADA, CO on 1/29/2021

2014 Nissan Versa Note

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really impressive sound quality, didn't think it'd be THAT noticeable of a difference. These speakers are real deal. Highly recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal RCX-165

Crutchfield customer from Broussard, LA on 12/28/2020

2019 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in rear doors of 2020 F150 Supercrew. Good overall build quality, good sound. Running on power from HU while I finish amp install and wiring and they sound good. When I properly power them I think they will really shine

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pricey for rear fill, but sound great.

Tom from Richmond, CA on 12/21/2020

2018 Infiniti QX80

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just installed these in my 2019 Nissan Frontier CC SV pickup. The factory speaker location is less than ideal so my expectations for rear fill was limited. Overall, they sound great. Running the off deck power (Kenwood DMX907S, 22W RMS/ch). You'll need to make very slight modifications to the fit kit in order to accommodate the baskets, but that's nothing a dremel tool can't fix in 60 seconds. A great companion to my Focal Universal separates I have running up front (which are simply fantastic).

Pros: Serious factory upgrade. Quality construction.

Cons: I don't spend a lot of time driving and listening to rear fill, so I likely could have saved a few bucks and gotten something else. Fit kit needs slight modification.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fairfield

Frank from Fairfield on 11/24/2020

2007 Chevrolet Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Could not be happier i like my music crisp and hard. These delivered in every way I'll be installing a sub soon.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Amazing Speakers!

Ben from Rochester, MI on 10/30/2020

2017 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing speakers! Much clearer and more accurate sound reproduction vs the stock Mazda 6 speakers. With the old speakers the highs were muddy and muffled, but now instruments and vocals are much more clear with the Focal speakers. Currently using in the front, but will move to the back and add components to the front and an amp in the future. Excellent!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal RCX-165

Crutchfield customer from Littleton, CO on 10/24/2020

2018 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clear sounding mid that reaches the lower frequencies. Match it up with the Focal 6x9...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Epic Speakers!

Andrew from Broken Arrow, OK on 10/15/2020

2004 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First off I absolutely love these speakers! Even with only 20 watts rms put into these they sound amazing. With such low rms it has a bit of distortion but not bad at all better than stock.

Pros: Amazing clarity with great highs and lows+ great bass

Cons: Nothing to date

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Focal RCX-165

Crutchfield customer from Dallas, GA on 9/30/2020

2021 Kia K5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great sound quality 6.5s for sure at a great price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great sounding speakers

Frank from Shingle Springs, CA on 9/28/2020

2003 Jaguar Van Den Plas

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the RCX-165s for the front doors of a 2003 Jaguar, Super V8. The speakers fit fine with one exception. The original screws in the Jag are too long because the outer frame of the speaker is thinner than the original speakers. I ended up using 1/4" hex nuts between the speaker and the screw heads as spacers. I would have been nice if Crutchfield had included screw spacers. I had to stop the install and figure out what to do. The wiring harness adapter that's included for free is perfect. Overall, I am very pleased with how the speakers sound. They are a great replacement for the original Alpine speakers and work flawlessly with the car stereo. It made the Jags sound system come alive. The midrange is outstanding and voice is more defined. I highly recommend these. I will be doing the rear doors very soon.

Pros: Speakers are a great improvement over the factory Alpine speakers.

Cons: Could have had screw spacers for an easier install.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

I'm impressed

Crutchfield customer from MIAMI, FL on 8/25/2020

2008 Honda Pilot

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After this experience Focal is my preferred. Very expensive speaker can't match the sound coming out of these Focal. That's all you need for good quality sound.

Pros: Very good

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Focal RCX-165

Steven Anthony from BETTENDORF, IA on 8/18/2020

2019 Honda Accord Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Placed in back deck of 2019 Accord sport. Bottom cage of speaker is larger than the cut out in the rear deck so the mount is not flush but the deck cover will fit. A 6" speaker may work better. Great quality sound though.

Pros: Awesome sound

Cons: 6.5" does not fit flush on rear deck of 2019 Accord sport!

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great sound

Crutchfield customer from Denham Springs, LA on 8/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They sound excellent and will definitely purchase from crutchfield again it's nice getting the adapters and wiring harnesses free and you don't have to guess which harness you need thanks again crutchfield.

Pros: It's a no brainer to go with focal speakers they sound amazing I'm glad I went that route.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Impressed

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 7/19/2020

2014 Honda Accord

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought these to replace factory fronts for 2014 Accord. Spectacular clarity. I am so in impressed with my first Focals, I am definitely replacing my rears with Focals when the time comes.

Pros: Clarity & Fit. Sounds great. Great Price.

Cons: No Cons

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great & Easy upgrade for 2016 Accord!

Crutchfield customer from Charlotte, NC on 7/19/2020

2016 Honda Accord EX-L

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What a great upgrade to my 2016 Accord... Will be done right away when I get a new one!! Did not add an additional amp and the standard head unit in my EX - L can be run full out with no distortion at all. Plus, great customer service!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal 6.5

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 7/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly what I was looking for in a rear fill driver. Highs are just right, good mid bass performance.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice speakers, double check fit for Hondas.

Cooper from Nashville, TN on 7/8/2020

2011 Honda Fit

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are great speakers! The lows are rich and the highs are smooth. I tried to install them into my 2011 Honda FIT, but the speaker baskets hit the metal on the door frame, even with the included mounting brackets. If the mounting brackets were a 1/4" deeper, they would likely work. Crutchfield makes returns very easy so I'm likely going to exchange them for another set of speakers.

Pros: Great sound, excellent build quality. Tweeter design is next level.

Cons: Doesn't fit my 2011 Honda Fit doors.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

great sound thick speaker

Rolando from WHARTON, NJ on 7/5/2020

2016 Honda Accord LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hooked up these speakers to a factory system. Sounds crisp and clear but did not fit my 2016 Accord as advertised,due to the shape of the speaker

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal RCX-165

Crutchfield customer from Fortville, IN on 6/28/2020

2013 Ford Fiesta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So clear and they are very loud after trying several speakers that i can hear over my subwoofer this was the one to get the job done!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Focal RCX-165

Crutchfield customer from Provo, UT on 6/28/2020

2019 Ford Transit Passenger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound quality. Significant upgrade from the factory speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

A positive Upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Keithville, LA on 6/17/2020

2016 Ford Edge

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I matched these RCX165s with the ISS 165s to upgrade my Ford/Sony door speakers. Put the ISS 165s with their tweeters in the front (I usually alone in my car) and these in the rear to round out the sound. Budget dictated I keep the factory head unit but I wanted a richer, cleaner mix and these delivered. I've still got good bass response but now the mids are cleaner and the highs are crisp. A great budget upgrade.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Good quality

Crutchfield customer from Corpus Christi, TX on 6/8/2020

2020 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good speaker

Pros: Good performance

Cons: Overpriced tho

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Focal Rex-165

Crutchfield customer from Brooklyn, NY on 6/3/2020

2018 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product and sounds amazing fits perfect It's says doesn't fit the 2018 4Runner but fits perfect with Adjusting the Bracket.

Pros: Amazing sounds and clear

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great speakers

Crutchfield customer from Corpus Christi, TX on 5/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I upgraded factory speakers with these and it was money well spent. I'm pushing these guys with a Rockford Fosgate amp and they hit pretty hard for how small they are. I love to feel my music and these speakers allow for that.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal RCX-165

Crutchfield customer from Noblesville, IN on 5/10/2020

2013 Harley-Davidson Road Glide

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These sound amazing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent Clarity

Crutchfield customer from Aiken, SC on 5/10/2020

2013 Toyota Prius C

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound! Look at the pictures of my factory speakers versus the Focal's: There's no doubt that I couldn't hear anything. There was essentially no magnet! I wanted to keep the factory head unit. Today, the head unit is integrated into the car's systems, just as mine. Therefore, I needed to squeeze out every ounce of quality from what I have. the Focal's were able to achieve this goal! My bass is much punchier, mids and highs are clearer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal RCX-165

Crutchfield customer from San Jose, CA on 4/21/2020

2006 Honda Civic EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sound. Perfectly fits my car.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Focal RCX-165

Crutchfield customer from Littleton, CO on 3/19/2020

2004 Acura RSX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They sound great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

An extremely great upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Denton, TX on 3/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed four in a 2018 Tacoma Access cab. Stock head unit it mad a phenomenal improvement in aspects of listening to music.

Pros: Sound is excellent

Cons: I should have bought these the day I bought the truck

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Focal RCX-165

Crutchfield customer from Bismarck, ND on 2/29/2020

2018 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds good lot's of mounting options

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Focal RCX-165

Crutchfield customer from Chicago Hts, IL on 1/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just as good as my salesman said they would be!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Focal RCX-165

Crutchfield customer from Heber, UT on 1/5/2020

2008 Chevrolet Silverado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good speakers, brackets had to be modified that Crutchfield included but no biggie. "Free 2 day delivery" took 10 days. Not sure what that was about?!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Real real nice

Crutchfield customer from Webster, NY on 12/30/2019

2007 Nissan Titan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A real fine 2 way speaker with excellent mid to high range clarity. And I'm still using the factory head unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Amazing sound!

Crutchfield customer from Marion, MA on 11/16/2019

2013 Honda Accord

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing sound from these speakers, I'm so glad I the same pair works for front and rear in my car.

Pros: Easy to install, amazing sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Amazing

Crutchfield customer from Fuquay Varina, NC on 11/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow they are amazing! For this price you can't beat them ! You can hear everything They have more bass to them then ever thought. They are on the high side so if you like symbols you will enjoy hearing the sticks hit them . Great purchase

Pros: Great highs and good bass

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Focal RCX-165

Crutchfield customer from Fredericksburg, VA on 11/3/2019

2015 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love these!!! Replaced stock speakers in my 2015 f150.with these. The sound is a giant improvement over originals

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Get the bass back in your music!

Crutchfield customer from Frankfort, IL on 10/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

You know, sometimes you want to hear the thump of the bass. The factory rear speakers in my RAV4 didn't do it for me. These most certainly do and they were a snap to install with Crutchfield's instructions!

Pros: Brings out the bass and fuller soundstage!

Cons: Nothing I can think of!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Focal RCX-165

Crutchfield customer from Justin, TX on 9/22/2019

2008 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding speakers from Focal

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great sounding.

Crutchfield customer from Crosby, TX on 9/8/2019

2012 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound for a relatively inexpensive speaker. Crisp, clean, detailed, without being harsh. Good soundstage. Image well. Tweeters are smooth and present without being overbearing. Nice and detailed even at lower volume levels. Running these in the rear doors. They provide a nice "fill" and compliment the separates in the front door nicely. (Driving them with a decent Pioneer four channel amp) I can't comment on bass production as I'm running a separate sub woofer and have these woofers rolled off at 120 HZ. Highly recommend if you want good sound for not much money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Focal is good stuff

Crutchfield customer from Rockbdge Bath, VA on 8/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good value for the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Good sound, tricky installation

Bobby from Sandy, OR on 7/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My expert that I chatted with was super helpful and she recommended these for the replacement of my stock 2016 Ford F150 Lariat speakers. They sound great and were a nice improvement. The only problem I had was I wish I would have been told how much the adapters would have to be modified. All of the tabs had to be cut off because they wouldnt allow the speaker to sit flush and then you have to drill a hole in the bottom to run the wire from the speaker terminal to the plug. And then the mounting screws that are provided are too long and have to be replaced with 3/4" long screws so they dont hit the speaker opening in the door. Im actually very surprised nobody has mentioned that the screws will not work due to their length. So the adapter and screws are tricky to say the least but the speaker sounds good ??

Pros: Sound good, nice and clear highs

Cons: Adapter needs alot of modification and mounting screws are 1/2" too long

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Music sounds better than when the car was new

Ken from Parker, CO on 6/9/2019

2012 Ford Fiesta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I will repeat what most people here said: Crutchfield cannot be beat for quality adapters and harnesses supplied with their speakers. I installed 2 of these in my 2012 Ford Fiesta. I looked up a couple of videos that showed how to make adapter brackets from the old speakers, and then when I got the speakers from Crutchfield, they included the plastic adapters that were necessary to keep the speaker magnet from hitting the metal of the door. They are full-range speakers, and replaced speakers that were just woofers, so I get better midrange and highs in the front seats, plus the bass is better than the factory speakers, which had started buzzing. You get a great product, great instructions, great adapters, and its all at a good price. I set aside 3 hours to do the work, and it was done in less than 2. Removing the door panels was the most time consuming part of the project. Thats out of Crutchfield's control obviously. Swapping the speakers without having to cut wires or modify brackets was wonderful.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Focal RCX-165

Crutchfield customer from Jacksonville, AR on 6/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield Rep recommended these for the back doors of my F-150 to go with the Focal Integration components in the front. This setup sounds amazing with only my Kenwood head unit, even without a sub!

Pros: Sound great Fit in rear doors with free bracket

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal RCX-165

Crutchfield customer from Clinton, CT on 5/31/2019

2006 Scion tC

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing speakers for the price they sound incredible and you simply can't beat Crutchfield for supplying the brackets and harnesses to install them for free without hacking up your factory wiring

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal RCX-165

Crutchfield customer from Mcdonough, GA on 5/21/2019

2009 Pontiac G8

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used these to replace the factory speakers in a 2009 Pontiac G8. Let me tell you the difference in sound quality is phenomenal. Now I can't wait to put some real power to them and hear the difference.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Focal RCX-165

Crutchfield customer from Glenpool, OK on 4/30/2019

2011 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love these speakers. The brackets and wiring provided by Crutchfield made the installation pretty straight forward. Music is crisp and full with these speakers.

Pros:

Cons: The brackets required some modification, but since I had a dremel tool on-hand it was pretty easy to get done.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal RCX-165

Crutchfield customer from Marlton, NJ on 4/27/2019

2018 Nissan Frontier S

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased for 2018 Nissan Frontier King Cab Rear Door Replacement. Easy Quick Install. Speakers were a nice update from Factory Speaker but needed additional power. Amplified Speakers and I have been very happy with my purchase

Pros:

Cons: Very Low Volume and sounds qualityon Factory Radio.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

Focal RCX-165

Crutchfield customer from Carroll, OH on 4/25/2019

2017 Honda Civic LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very NICE speakers! These are smooth & have a very rich sound.I cannot thank Carter enough for all of his help & patience with me!! I think they may need some amplification, no big deal...I know where to get an Amp: CRUTCHFIELD!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal RCX-165

Crutchfield customer from Falcon Heights, MN on 4/21/2019

2018 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These RCX-165 speakers are a clean sound. What the producer and artist wanted you to hear is what comes back from the speaker. Big improvement over the OEM speakers in my 2018 Forester Premium. I paired these with Kicker upgraded Forester tweeters and a Kicker Hideaway subwoofer. The improvement was so noticeable that I decided not to replace the OEM head unit, for now

Pros: Clear and clean sound, one axis tweeter helps the keep the sound stage focused. Better sound at a very reasonable price

Cons: It will take a few months for the speaker to break in, otherwise, none

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Focal RCX-165

Michael from Lawrenceville, GA on 2/11/2019

2018 Chevrolet Malibu

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed these in my '18 Malibu (without factory Bose) and they sound awesome. Excellent upgrade over factory. Side by side with the factory speakers you can definitely see the difference in quality. Once in and powered up, wow! Overall about a 20 minute procedure total to swap. Now on to the front components (Focal RSE-165). Thank you Crutchfield! BTW, don't forget to register these with Focal to ensure you get the full warranty.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Focal RCX-165

Crutchfield customer from Ottawa, KS on 2/4/2019

2011 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed these to replace the cheap, muddy sounding speakers in my GM pickup. Much, much better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal RCX-165

Jeff from Blk River Fls, WI on 1/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome sounding speakers for the price, hear things I didn't before in songs

Pros: Easy hookup thanks to crutchfield sending wiring adapers

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clarity is awesome

Alfredo from New Braunfels, TX on 12/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome product, I could not be more happy with my purchase. These speakers were installed in my 2014 Silverado and sound amazing. The bass and the clarity are on piont.

Pros: Great product and excellent quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal RCX-165

Eric from N Chesterfld, VA on 12/3/2018

2015 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

sounds great went right in love them

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sound great

Nathaniel from Monroe, MI on 10/12/2018

2013 Ford Fusion

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great

Pros: Everything

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Focal RCX-165

derek from Arvada, CO on 10/10/2018

2016 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good quality and sound. Not top of the line. The quality level is superior to the competitors at this price level!

Pros: Better then the competition

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect Kickdrum snap and clear projection.

Andrew from Monterey, CA on 10/8/2018

2013 Subaru XV Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was thrilled with the overall heft of these speakers frame, and the fact that there were 8 mounting holes. They replaced the stock midrange speaker in my Subaru Crosstrek in the front doors. They have a good deal of low end thump; not like the baseline but the kickdrum snap and the fingerfeel of the bass guitar/synth stabs. They compliment the low end rumble of my subwoofer in the trunk to give the bump of the kickdrums. They have quite a lot of tweeter response but I dialed it down with a digital crossover.

Pros: Heavy frame, sturdy build tweeters are built in, 8 hole mounting performs down to 100hz no problem

Cons: can be shrill, wish the contacts were a little stronger/heftier

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Focal RCX-165

Crutchfield customer from Bronx, NY on 9/23/2018

2016 Honda Accord LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Haven't installed them yet but heard a lot of good things about these speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 16 found this helpful

Focal RCX-165

James from Las Vegas, NV on 9/20/2018

2009 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these to replace my front door speakers and decided to add a 4 channel amp. If you don't buy an amp to drive these meh. But if you give them some clean power they are the best you can buy for the price. Would highly recommend them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Buy These Speakers!

Cody from Wilmington, NC on 9/7/2018

2011 Chevrolet Malibu

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are amazing. I ran them on the factory head unit and they still deliver incredible sound. The highs are crystal clear and completely separated from the thick mids and substantial bass tones. These speakers outperform the factory speakers 10 to 1 and have held up well over the past 3 months of use. I'm installing the matching 6x9s in the rear deck today because I was so impressed with the sound quality coming from the doors. Crutchfields installation gear and instructions were adequate and quite useful and they fit as expected. Definitely consider sound deadening if you plan to install these speakers in the doors as the bass will overwhelm your stock set up and cause some rattling. I would recommend these to anyone looking for a quality upgrade.

Pros: Amazing build quality, incredible sound, clear separation of highs and lows

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Focal RCX-165

Crutchfield customer from Graham, WA on 9/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

good sound for the price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good for the Price

Crutchfield customer from Apo, AE on 8/31/2018

1998 Nissan Maxima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice Speakers for the price. Less of an improvement than I was expecting. If you are on a budget these will work.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Do the job

Crutchfield customer from Saint Charles, MO on 8/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great. Had to modify the bracket I got with them to get them in my 2nd gen tacoma. No fault of the speaker. Great clear sound.

Pros: Quality

Cons: Size

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal RCX-165

Crutchfield customer from El Dorado Hills, CA on 8/26/2018

2007 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well rounded, rich sound at all volume levels. I'm running off the factory head unit in a Toyota, and these speakers have made a huge difference in sound quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Focal RCX-165

Crutchfield customer from Scottsdale, AZ on 8/26/2018

2018 Honda Clarity

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

greatly improved the sound in my new Honda Clarity

Pros:

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal RCX-165

Crutchfield customer from San Juan, PR on 7/30/2018

2018 Honda Accord Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers sound really nice!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal RCX-165

Crutchfield customer from Bettendorf, IA on 7/18/2018

2016 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to install and nice sounding. No issues.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Focal RCX-165

Jason from Somerville, TN on 6/24/2018

2017 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very clear, awesome sound for the price

Pros: Excellent speaker

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal RCX-165

Crutchfield customer from Plainfield, IL on 6/19/2018

2016 Mazda CX-5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love these. Got them to replace factories but kept the radio. The materials are tough and the inverted tweet is rad giving such crisp clear tones. With low rms it makes them even better with a factory unit so you can crank them and still be loud. If youre looking for something simple but want great quality these are it. Got them in the front and the back! Hope the photos show since you can see the difference of stock paper vs these beauts in my mazda cx5

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

6 of 6 found this helpful

Focal RCX-165

Crutchfield customer from Walnut Ridge, AR on 6/8/2018

2014 Kia Optima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Doesn't sound any better than the factory ones. Was told itd make a huge difference.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 6/18/2018
That's a common reaction when replacing car speakers. In the case of these Focal speakers, they're going to need more power than your factory speakers needed in order to sound their best. They likely won't sound good at all on a factory stereo. You'll either need to add an aftermarket stereo or an amplifier (a small, 40-50 watts, 4-channel amp can supply twice the power of an aftermarket stereo and three or four times the power of the typical factory radio) or return these and get speakers with a higher sensitivity. Either way, we'll be glad to help. Please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can also be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

5 of 8 found this helpful

These Focals are Great!

Bill from Chagrin Falls, Ohio on 5/19/2018

2000 Toyota MR2 Spyder

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Never heard of Focal speakers, but these RCX-165's Chuck recommended turned out to be outstanding. Thought I might have to get a powered sub to bring out the lows-it's not needed. Very clear and precise stereo imaging. The adapter kit and panel removal tools made the installation much easier. No drilling needed-just had to rotate the mounting bracket 1/3 turn and the speakers fit the existing holes. The harness was a big help also. The existing JVC receiver has plenty of power to drive the speakers. Overall-I'm a happy camper! WNO

Pros: Easy installation, good sound with nice balance and clarity. Installation instructions were right on once I got over the fear of popping off the door panels.

Cons: None to speak of

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal RCX-165

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 5/9/2018

2017 Toyota Prius

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

An upgrade from my old speakers and maybe they need an amp to sound really great. But I am a little disappointed in them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

Affordable Crisp Highs and beautiful sounding vocals

David from Ocala, FL on 5/7/2018

2004 Chevrolet Aveo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Focal is amazing. Crisp Highs and beautiful sounding vocals. I got these supplying all my highs and mid's in the rear. Crutchfield gave me everything I needed to make the installation simple. Crutchfield is the leader in suggesting the right equipment for your vehicle. I have a Chevrolet Aveo Sedan. Got these in the rear, retro 4 inch coaxel in the front, and 1 15 inch Rockford Fosgate P2D4-15" powered by the JBL XTR-500. Car thumps! Thank you Crutchfield! They are simply amazing. Worth every dime!!!

Pros: Super sounding highs Beautiful sounding vocals fitted perfect

Cons: Lows on them could be better

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal RCX-165

Dennis D from Winona, MN on 4/7/2018

1998 Dodge Dakota

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Couldn't be happier. Great sound for the price point. Much, Much better than the factory speakers

Pros: Easy install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal RCX-165

Crutchfield customer from Cave Creek, AZ on 3/28/2018

2015 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

quick!!!! good quality merchandise

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal RCX-165

Crutchfield customer from Fishkill, NY on 3/7/2018

2018 Honda Accord EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good speakers but definitely sounds like it's an entry level selection.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Focal RCX-165

Mitch from Louisville, KY on 2/9/2018

2015 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great support from the staff and helping me with the install and recommendations for the right product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Focal RCX-165

Crutchfield customer from Saipan, MP on 1/14/2018

2017 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Mids are really nice. Installation was not so smooth on my 2017 Tacoma. The brackets didn't fit right for the back doors but mounted them with two bolts was good enough. Got alittle rattle on the front doors but overall good sound

Pros: Awesome highs and mids

Cons: Could give alittle more heads up with the installation process

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good fill speakers.

Dave from Cowen, WV on 11/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Reasonably priced, quality speakers for filling in the rear of my F150 Supercab. It's difficult to justify spending much more when they will be overpowered by the fronts when listening from the driver's seat. They are more robust than the short lived Infinity Reference REF-6522ix which blew while dialing in my amplifier with a 1Khz test tone despite nearly the same power rating.

Pros: Decent sound at this price point.

Cons: Focal customer service didn't respond to email and the manual is all but useless.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Focal RCX-165

Crutchfield customer from New Britain Ct on 10/5/2017

2012 Toyota Prius

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are a very good replacement for the stock ones that were in my wives 2012 prius. The sound is much more rich than it was previously. If you are not looking to spend a lot of money but get much better sound then these are a good buy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Couldn't be better !!

Chris from Bristol, CT on 9/28/2017

2012 Scion iQ

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers without breaking the bank, factory speakers lacked clarity and mid-range thump so I decided to make some changes. I added a powered subwoofer and four Focal speakers. I am by no means a qualified audiophile but I definitely hear the difference, mid-range is loud and clear with some great sounding lows. When listening to "The Curse" by Agnes Obel I was able to clearly hear the tips of the fingers pulling the strings on the cello, giving me some goosebumps and as a contrast I was blown away by the sound of "Black Betty" by Spiderbait :-) I would highly recommend this set as a upgrade to any non-premium factory setup. My review is based on Scion IQ interior which in fact is very small so achieving a big sound without cranking the volume was fairly easy with this set and extremely satisfying.

Pros: great clarity, distinctive mid-range, nice lows, ultra clear highs, low price.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Focal RCX-165

Crutchfield customer from Colorado on 9/3/2017

2013 Nissan Frontier SV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great easy replacement Excellent sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great Overall

Mitch from Metamora, IL on 8/27/2017

1999 Pontiac Firebird

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in sail panel in Trans Am. JBL GTO 609c in front doors. Alpine amplifier powering all 4. These seem slightly more detailed/clearer than the JBL speakers but so far i think I have a preference for the sound from the JBL speakers in my installation. Overall these are a good speaker and I'm happy with the purchase.

Pros:

Cons: Taking 1 star away because of poor packaging. The box looks like you are getting $10 retailer's special and included installation accessories are garbage. JBL speakers I got are much better in this regard. Doesn't mean much for the purpose of buying the speakers, but first impression is not good. The JBL speakers I have are probably a better value if you shop smart. I also had 1 speaker sound like it was blown immediately however after massaging the surround lightly it seems to be resolved.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Awesome

Byron from Mililani, HI on 8/9/2017

2016 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome sound!!!!

Pros: Sounds great. Way better than the stock rear speakers in my 2016 tacoma

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Focal RCX-165

Crutchfield customer from Kentucky [KY] on 8/1/2017

2016 Honda Accord EX-L

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound has continued to improve over the course of about 3 weeks. Solid mids and highs. Currently using factory head unit and amp in 2016 honda accord touring sedan. Much improved over factory speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Focal RCX-165

Crutchfield customer from Conway, AR on 7/21/2017

2007 Chevrolet Equinox

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The new speakers sound great. I was not aware of the Focal product, but after some research and some recommendations, I am super pleased with the purchase and the new sound!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Focal

Danny from Marietta ga on 7/18/2017

2017 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Geat

Pros: Love them

Cons: They are none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Nice...

T. McG from La Place, LA on 7/10/2017

2010 Cadillac Escalade EXT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

No photos

Pros: Very nice highs and more mids than I thought. Running nice off of the factory radio no amp. Great clarity. I'm impressed.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal RCX-165 Auditor Series 6-3/4" 2-way speakers

Ramon from Dallas Tx on 7/3/2017

2011 Honda Civic LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This speakers won't fit my Honda Civic 2011 Coupe LX in the reardeck.... I either have to cut the bottom metal or the top plastic and still they are so tight that they scratch my window tint.... So this means it won't fit any civic coupe from 2006- 2011

Pros: Sound awesome

Cons: Don't fit my car or any Honda Civic Coupe 2006-2011.... I have to cut or modify to make it fit

Crutchfield response on

4 of 39 found this helpful

Rich Sound

David from Oviedo, FL on 5/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was hesitant to buy these because I did not know the brand. Even after Googling it, I still could not get some good reviews, but I pulled the trigger anyway. Glad I did--they sound awesome! For their size, I am impressed how rich they sound. Good price point for a quality speaker.

Pros: Great sound Nice packaging Speaker grills are nice too

Cons: Did not fit my vehicle as advertised. Had to modify.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

No More Mud

James from Sumter, SC on 5/14/2017

2016 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed a pair in the rear doors of my 2016 Tacoma after installing a pair of Focal 6x9s in the front doors a few weeks earlier. There was a huge improvement after replacing just the front speakers so I decided I would invest in replacing the rears also. I'm glad I did. The muddy bass produced by the factory speakers wasn't completely gone until I installed these and the clarity from all 4 is amazing. These could be the best car speakers I've ever owned and I've been through a lot of them.

Pros: easy install with provided brackets and harnesses

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

18 of 19 found this helpful

Focal RCX-165

Aaron from Dallas, TX on 5/11/2017

2015 Kia Optima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

OK WOW. I have these set up with the Alpine 4 MRV-F300 and boy do these bad boys sing. My gains are set fairly low due to the RMS Rating of the speakers compared to the actual output of the amp and boy howdy. These blow away my JL C2's that I have up front. For the money plus the free stuff Crutchfield threw in to make them fit in my 15 optima this is a steal. I am a believer in FOCAL and you should be too.

Pros: LOUD, CLEAR, THUMPY

Cons: Have yet to find one.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Focal RCX-165

Pat from Laramie Wy on 3/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Put them in my RV and they sound great

Pros: Easy installation

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 7 found this helpful

TOP