Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Focal RSE-165

Auditor Series 6-1/2" component system

MFR # RSE-165

Focal RSE-165

Focal RSE-165

Auditor Series 6-1/2" component system

MFR # RSE-165

27 reviews
View this product

Focal RSE-165

Crutchfield customer from Woodstock, GA on 2/28/2021

2020 Jeep Gladiator

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound. Love them

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great speakers

Crutchfield customer from Pueblo, CO on 2/26/2021

2010 Honda Civic EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have only had them in the car for a week, but they sound great. Huge upgrade on the factory speakers. Paired them with a JLAudio amp and I cannot even turn them up to anywhere close to their max.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal

Crutchfield customer from Hollywood, FL on 2/4/2021

2019 Lexus GX460

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound clear voice coil I have been a Focal listener for years would not change to anything else highly recommend this product

Pros: Excellent sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Just what I needed.

James from COLSTRIP, MT on 1/19/2021

2001 Pontiac Bonneville

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, easy install, good price. What more do you want from speakers?

Pros: Trouble-free install, great sound, reasonable price.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal RSE-165

Crutchfield customer from Birmingham, AL on 11/28/2020

2018 Honda Fit Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent staging from the tweeters and accurate (if relatively light) bass from the 6 1/2" speakers. I would not recommend these without a sub to help fill out the lower end, these are not one size fits all. Additionally the crossovers are pretty crucial. Following Crutchfield's instructions I spliced my dash tweeters to the stock speaker wires as an adapter was not available. The resulting sound was so harsh yet dull that I had to reduce my usual volume level. I decided to run a wire to the crossover (mounted in the door) and, viola, beautiful sound. Just be prepared for a slightly more involved install than just swapping out your tweets.

Pros: Excellent overall sound Controlled highs Excellent staging

Cons: Crutchfield's instructions were not really appropriate for these speakers Focal has bizarre wiring for polarity Lacking bass for this class

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Focal RSE-165

Alan from ROCK HILL, SC on 11/24/2020

2019 Honda Accord Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are amazing. they are extremely crisp and responsive. I hear things in my music i havent heard in ages. want to hear the slide of fingers on the bar of the guitar? the raspiness of a asinger changing their octave? These are the ticket..

Pros: imaging is superb depth is awesome radiant emotional response detailed drum slaps

Cons: very bright

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Immediate and substantial improvement

Crutchfield customer from Anchorage, AK on 11/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Immediate and substantial improvement over stock speakers. Combined with the coaxial in the rear doors and much better than the stock in a 2016 Tacoma. Great support from Crutchfield in the installation. The hardest part in a Tacoma install is getting the tweeters wired up in the dash, there is almost no slack in the factory wire, so lots of small work in a very confined space.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal RSE-165

Crutchfield customer from WINSTON SALEM, NC on 7/30/2020

2008 Toyota Prius

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Honestly - harsh, metallic, and abrasive. The crossover does not low-pass the woofer, and the resulting breakup and interference with the tweeter creates unwanted incoherence and gain in the ~1.5-5kHz region. To fix it you either need separate amplification channels and DSP for the woofer and tweeter or modification in the passive crossover. Take a look at the owner's manual and you will see it in the frequency response plot. Wish I hadn't wasted money on these.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 8/3/2020
We're sorry you're having issues with your speakers. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

3 of 5 found this helpful

Great sound if you can handle the installation process.

Crutchfield customer from Bessemer, AL on 3/21/2020

2018 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers but line provided is too short and tweeters need better installation options or instructions.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Clarity

Crutchfield customer from Lusby, MD on 1/6/2020

2017 Chevrolet Malibu

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers, very clear

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Very nice sounds!

Crutchfield customer from Saint Jacob, IL on 11/9/2019

2019 Honda Insight

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crisp clean sounds!

Pros:

Cons: Low watts

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Price to Performance 10/10

Guest from Bixby, OK on 10/21/2019

2016 Honda Civic LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love these speakers, they sound great and create a great sound stage in my front seat. Good bass and good highs. Would definitely recommend to anyone who doesn't wanna spend a fortune.

Pros: Great sound, look good.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Add some sonic power to your ride!

Crutchfield customer from Frankfort, IL on 10/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These will bring out the music! I swaped out my factory installed speakers in my Rav4 with these Focals and I couldn't be happier. If you really want to hear your music, give these a look.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Great sounding.

Crutchfield customer from Crosby, TX on 9/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound for a relatively inexpensive speaker. Crisp, clean, detailed, without being harsh. Good soundstage. Image well. Tweeters are smooth and present without being overbearing. Nice and detailed even at lower volume levels. (Driving them with a decent Pioneer four channel amp) I can't comment on bass production as I'm running a separate sub woofer and have these woofers rolled off at 120 HZ. Highly recommend if you want good sound for not much money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Focal RSE-165

Crutchfield customer from Summerville, GA on 8/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice set for the money. Tweeters are much clearer than my old Infinity's.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Outstanding Imaging Improvement Over Factory

Crutchfield customer from Castle Rock, CO on 7/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Typical to Focal these component speakers perform at near audiophile levels. Deployed in Q-Forms kick panel forms the Focal's provide a dramatic improvement in sound quality and imaging over 2002 Jeep Wrangler crap factory front speakers. I am a devoted Focal customer with Utopia's as my home audiophile system and their new 8" driver outdoor speakers for my deck. I just appreciate the French sound I guess.

Pros: Exceptional build quality, outstanding frequency range with excellent articulate treble response, particularly for an automobile component.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Buy them

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, KY on 5/6/2019

2008 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers! Sound quality is there and bass is good for a component set.

Pros: Sound quality, bass,

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal RSE-165

Michael from Atlanta, GA on 3/4/2019

2018 Chevrolet Malibu

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound quality. Replaced factory components with these and couldn't be happier! A little fab work for the tweeter was needed (but I already knew that thanks to Crutchfield's research) to fit into the factory location. Left all factory connector's intact but routed a new wire from the x-over to the tweet. There is an adapter you can get to make it easier to wire the tweeter but you'd not get the effect of the x-over then. Thank you Crutchfield and Focal for the excellent product!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Focal RSE-165

Crutchfield customer from Panama City, FL on 8/14/2018

2016 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice for entry level components, highly recommend over similarly priced coaxials.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Budget Focal true to its roots

Jason from San Angelo, TX. on 8/2/2018

2000 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been using Focal for several years and in my last truck, I have the Kevlar series. I just didn't want to pay that much for this new truck and build. So I went with these. Great price for the sound. The tweeter is fantastic. Sounds great on anything you throw at it, rap, techno, chill, dubstep, rock, even live music sounds fantastic. Just close your eyes and listen.... I recommend these to all my friends bc they love how it sounds so clear and loud... they are amped on a Soundqubed 400x4

Pros: great sound ease of install great crossovers loud and clear with a properly tuned amp

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Focal RSE-165

Darrell from Valatie, NY on 5/10/2018

2015 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good Speakers fit with a little bit of trimming on included extension ring Sound is definitely better than the stock Ford junk

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Focal, give them a shot for factory replacements w/ no Amp

Robert from Phoenixville, PA on 12/11/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So after I installed a set of polk DB series 5 1/4" into my car (after marker Pioneer head unit power) I absolutely did NOT like the sound,...so tin can, like head phones cranked and on my doors as speaker! (according to Crutfield advisors). Polk DB series need a little more power to sound their best, and not willing to add an amp at this time I decided to make a call and see if I could exchange the Polks for these 6 1/2" Focal RSE-165 (Thanks Harley! (Crutfield advisor) for all the advise) wow, what a difference! Much louder at similar volume levels, good mid bass, for 6 1/2" running head unit power only, these sound very nice! I would buy again, especially with Crutfields return, exchange policy! I bought a set for the rear doos as well, Focal Auditor series 6 1/2" also sound real nice off head unit (RMS22 watts (maybe??)) 50 x 4 peak,... I'm sure I'd get a little better sound with an amp,.. maybe after Christmas! (The box my RSE-165 came in was a little beat up looking on the outside, perfect condition inside tho,.. no worries! Just throw them in and listen up!

Pros: nice and simple design,... no extra stuff you won't need-

Cons: tweets maybe a bit bright (to my ears)

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

Great sounding with amp

Craig from Auburn, CA on 11/23/2017

1997 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have these speakers in the front of my van and they sound great, but I am also running a Kenwood class D amp and Kenwood head unit, all OF wiring, and 4 gauge wire on amp, so of course they sound good. Do not know what they would sound like with just factory set-up. I have other people get in my van and the sound blows them away. I have old 2 way 6 1/2 speakers in back and am going to change them out for a pair of 6 1/2 Focal 2 way speakers. Only thing I don't like about Focal 2 way speakers is that they do not come with covers. To me, that is really stupid, or cheap on their part.

Pros: All good, great highs and lows. In my van it sounds like a concert hall.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great Speakers, -1 for Installation Gear

Isaac from San Antonio, TX on 10/23/2017

2014 Nissan Pathfinder

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Speakers sound great. I think they are at a great value also. I did notice a slight hiss sound, and the Crutchfield Advisor said the speakers could be defective. I can't hear it when the car is on, so I wasn't about to go through the install again. My main issue is with the instructions...they suck. There were only springs in the flush tweeter mounts so I had to pry them off and super glue them to the angled mounts, and it didn't come with screws for the angled tweeter mount. There are more holes than screws. Something that confused me later was the positive and negative are backwards from what I typically see...the negative is the wire with the line and positive is solid (focal is opposite). The speakers came with nice connectors, but it would be nice if they have included extensions. These are my first Focal's I sure hope they supply better installation gear with the more expensive sets. I do not have an external amp on this setup, but In comparing them to my old Infinity Kappas with only the receiver pushing them, I say tie, maybe the Kappas could get higher but my ears don't like it that high anyways.

Pros: Sound Great Good highs, and I feel like I can hear every instrument The grills are nice, metal, high quality I like/used the angled mounts (originally going to do flush but couldn't) and they were a nice option

Cons: Instructions are garbage Where did all the screws go? Can you please but springs in all of the different tweeter mounting options, so I don't have to waste time rigging stuff? Slight hiss at high volume and car engine off....possibly an installation error (I'm no pro)

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

5 of 10 found this helpful

Focal RSE-165

Crutchfield customer from Rochester, MI on 3/14/2017

2011 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Speakers and tweeters sound great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Clear and crisp, but not piercingly crisp.

Jason R from Canton, GA on 3/11/2017

2006 Scion tC

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've got about 6 hours of playing time on these so far and they are a good quality speaker. The tweeters are definitely great, especially at this price point. The mid range speaker does not do well in free space, I'm going to try making a baffle or small enclosure that will fit inside the door to get some of that punchy mid-range back. Right now my JL 12Tw3 is pulling some double duty to help out with that mid range. I'm also running the Auditor coaxial speakers in the back and I've noticed the same thing with those. Now, don't take this feedback as a negative remark, I'm just stating things that I have noticed....you definitely cannot go wrong with Focal! Once I have a chance to make a small enclosure or add a baffle, I'll come back and update this.

Pros: Focal quality tweeters. Great clarity for the price range.

Cons: Lacking mid range punch, but that's an issue relative to my install.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Just buy them, dammit!

Aaron from SF Bay Area, CA on 3/6/2017

2003 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Buy these speakers. Put on "Voodoo Child (Slight Return)" by Jimi Hendrix. Try not to get goosebumps. You're welcome.

Pros: Everything

Cons: Tricky to install in my 2003 Toyota Highlander with the JBL stock system. But I talked to some awesome people here at Crutchfield who made it super easy.

Crutchfield response on

13 of 15 found this helpful

TOP