Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
358 920 931 4
Connect ID #
358 920 931 4
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Focal RSE-165

Auditor Series 6-1/2" component system

MFR # RSE-165

Focal RSE-165

Focal RSE-165

Auditor Series 6-1/2" component system

MFR # RSE-165

73 reviews
View this product

Decent, not what I was looking for

Kapish from NAPERVILLE, IL on 11/1/2022

2019 Ford Fusion Hybrid

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I only installed the woofer. So everything about this review will be about the woofer. They definitely were an upgrade from the oem speakers in my fusion. However they just weren't what I was looking for. I wanted some woofers that would handle some good thumpy bass and rap songs but these just did not do that.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 11/2/2022
Kapish, we're sorry you're disappointed with your speakers. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal RSE-165

Brian from Mcdonough , GA on 10/29/2022

2014 Kia Optima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Outstanding quality for the money. When providing good power, these speakers just open up with dynamic, crystal clear sound with high volume output and little to ko distortion. I couldn't be more pleased!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Decent speakers. Crossover fits dash well.

Russell from Camarillo, CA on 10/20/2022

2015 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Both tweeters and woofers are showing better than factory speakers of course. Hard to tell, still how good they are with my setup. Running them with tweeter only off crossover and no amp installed. Will focus on some very high quality recording to see what nuances are picked up.I think a good buy in looking at the electronics within the crossovers (see pics at Crutchfield). Kicker had a bigger crossover but it was for a 3 levels of use. See pics on that. The crossover box here was a good size for placing directly under the tweeter in my dash. I didn't have to pull the head unit to find a spot. Quick and easy once tweeters were put to Metra plates for install.

Pros: -Decent speakers with crossover that focuses on simplicity in design, small enough for dash pocket

Cons: -Silk tweeter- would have preferred a metal

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Speakers

Crutchfield customer from CANTON, GA on 9/29/2022

2019 Nissan Rogue

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great speakers, very bright highs and had to turn the treble down. Great fit for the front doors of 19 Nissan Rogue. Mounted tweeters on upper part of door with the angled mounts. Speakers sounded good even with the factory radio, car turned into a concert hall once I installed the 4 channel 200w RMS amp. Due to efficiency of the speaker, you don't need much power to drive them and the decibel level in your car way up. The included speaker adapters made the install very easy. Mids are a little lacking, but I have not finished tuning after amp install. I had to take off 1 star due to the lack of instructions and very bad hardware included with the speakers. I expected better quality hardware from a company with Focals reputation. Had to visit local hardware store for better speaker mounting screws. Will buy from Crutchfield again.

Pros: Very bright highs Crutchfield

Cons: Bad Hardware

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Can't go wrong!

Eric from Garner, NC on 9/25/2022

2017 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound upgrade, fairly easy install with guides and accessories from Crutchfield

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Major Upgrade in Sound

Brian from Simpsonville, SC on 9/16/2022

2014 Hyundai Tucson

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

First, this may have been the best money I've ever spent on audio gear (and that goes back 40 years). Secondly, as far as installation goes it does require a little work, but very minor if you've ever worked on a car or installed a car stereo. I used the screws that hold the factory speakers to the door to mount the new woofers to the bracket in the install kit, then had to pick up some bigger, longer screws to mount the bracket to the door. No biggie. The crossover was easy, I used the wiring adaptor that came with the kit to connect to the factory harness and spliced it to the input wires of the crossover. A little of the 2-sided foam tape secured the crossover to the inner door. The tweeters are where it gets a little sketchy, they won't fit where the factory tweeters were on my car (2014 Hyundai Tucson). Once I figured out what I wanted to do, it was pretty easy. I masked off the front of the filler panel, marked the center of the original hole, and took a hole saw to it, then finished trimming to size with a hook shaped razor knife until the speakers fit snug into the hole (see photos). I took some small pieces of the 2 sided foam and trimmed little strips to fit behind the outer lip of the speaker. Sound wise. OMG the difference is spectacular. I've had Focal home speakers, as well as Klipsch and others, so my expectations were pretty high. I never thought my factory radio could sound like this. Tight, tactile, clear, solid, spatial are all good w

Pros: Incredible improvement in sound quality across the board. Great Value

Cons: Tricky install of the tweeters, but the instructions say that up front, so if you aren't prepared to do a little fab work, go another direction, or at least don't complain. Well worth the effort.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal RSE-165

Justin from Austin, TX on 9/12/2022

2021 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Cleared up stock f150 sound system. Great replacement for instant sound quality and it will be even nicer when I can add an amp.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal RSE-165

Peter Gardin from Keswick, VA on 9/7/2022

2022 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good quality and an easy install. An improvement over the factory speakers. The only issue was that one of the supplied wiring harnesses was damaged. Crutchfield cheerfully helped to diagnose the issue and replaced it quickly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal RSE-165

Chad from East Carbon, UT on 8/29/2022

2002 Pontiac Firebird

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great Sound!! I am running these on a stock 22rms 4-Channel Aftermarket HU. Sound Great!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal RSE-165

Francisco from Burnet, TX on 8/11/2022

2000 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal RSE-165

Russ from FUQUAY VARINA, NC on 7/27/2022

2021 Subaru Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I installed these along with a Kicker key200 amp and they sound great, better than I expected. I also used roadkill fast rings when I installed them. Very impressed at how much bass they produce while still sounding crystal clear. I recommend them.

Pros: Great sounding

Cons: Tweeter mounts that come from Focal are not the greatest.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal RSE-165

Matthew from Virginia Beach, VA on 6/9/2022

2021 Honda Passport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Ordered these on sale at a great price. Selected my vehicle and the website said it WILL fit my doors. 3 different shops told me it will NOT without cutting or modifying. Now when I go to return, I have to pay for shipping?! YOUR website gave me false information. Ridiculous.

Pros: None

Cons: Never got to try

Crutchfield response on 6/20/2022
We're sorry that you didn't get a chance to try out the Focal speakers in your Passport, Matthew. These speakers do require modifications to your vehicle's door interior to allow the speaker baskets to the clear the factory location's restrictions. The Focal speakers would physically fit, but require these modifications to make it happen. We noted this in the "See important fit information" link for the fit information for your Honda. These notes would also appear as you load the speakers to the cart. These notes are present for your information, so you'd have the choice If you didn't prefer to make modifications to your vehicle. We apologize that it didn't work out for your application.
Customer review photo

5 of 17 found this helpful

Focal RSE-165

Chris from Sabattus, ME on 6/8/2022

2021 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great highs, great detail

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Sound

Richard from Lynwood, CA on 6/7/2022

2020 Ford Edge

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The highs sounds good. I love the sound I get from these speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal RSE-165

John from Gadsden, AL on 5/24/2022

2018 Nissan Rogue

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome speakers, fantastic sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2013 Chevy Silverado Speaker Upgrade

Michael from Valley Springs, CA on 5/20/2022

2012 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I had upgraded the stock radio to a Pioneer DMH-WC5700NEX several months ago. The stock speakers were in dire need of an upgrade. The rear stock speakers were fine, but the front clearly had issues (static, sound going in and out). The 4 speakers installed pretty standard. You have to figure out how to remove the door panels. Would be a good idea to purchase extra door panel clips before you start (you will break some). The tweeter doesn't exactly fit. It's a little too big for the space. I took off the cover and sanded down the plastic for a better fit. I hot glued the tweeters in place. Ugly, but no one will see it. The other challenge was were to put the crossover boxes. There are 2 side panels (one for a fuse box) where I put these. I used some Velcro to hold these in place. I also ran the connections for the tweeters from the pillars to this area. The crossover boxes are only used for the tweeters (since I don't have a sub-woofer). I've included some pictures of what I've done. Hopefully this will help another Silverado owner.

Pros: Nice clean sound. Much better than the stock speakers.

Cons: Low on instructions (but Crutchfield tech support can obviously assist). Tweeter Install requires some "MacGyvering".

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Focal RSE-165

Daniel from Old Hickory, TN on 5/17/2022

2018 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Straightforward install in my 3rd gen Tacoma. I spliced the crossovers into the tweeter harness and there was plenty of room in the dash under that area for them to be stowed.

Pros: Slim crossover components as compared with lots of other models.

Cons: Didn't install itself

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Focal RSE-165

Jorge from Miami, FL on 5/12/2022

2022 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

crutchfield the best page to find and buy cars audio. Thanks for the support.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

horrible instructions x3

Mike from Whiteland, IN on 5/7/2022

2019 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Quality is yet to be seen/ heard until I finish the other 3 doors sound deadening and speaker install. The lack of install instructions in the box is very disappointing. 3 calls to tech support! No instructions on adapters, had to snap parts off to allow speaker in. WHY did Mfg wire the crossover for both speakers but failed to install the 3rd jack on the door speaker to hookup the crossover. My center channel kicker had all 3!! I hope the lack of this hookup doesn't kill the sound quality. I have tinnitus BAD so I need better speakers to even out my sound settings. I had Focal in my f150 that sounded great but the jury is out for my Ranger. Crutchfield techs are good but if you'd update your instruction sheet we would know which wires are +/- without calling.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Great Sound for the Price

Howard from Rio Rancho, NM on 4/13/2022

2018 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

When I installed my new stereo, Alpine ILX-W650, I immediately know I needed to update my speakers. Upon careful consideration, I chose this component system; these speakers are exactly what my ride needed! The bass is nice and clean, and the highs are SUPER bright. I really appreciated the size of the crossovers for this system, they are fairly small, and are easy to place behind the door panel with a little bit of tape. I love the sound my fronts are producing, and I have just ordered matching coaxials for the rear doors. My sound will be SMOOTH! My only complaint is the wiring set up from the vehicle did not allow the separate tweeters to by hooked up to the crossover. I will have to run wiring from the dash to the door to connect; another Saturday side project. For the price, you will not be disappointed with this purchase!!

Pros: Tight bass bright highs compact size for the crossover

Cons: None from the speakers; the vehicle wiring requires running extra wires if you want the tweeters to be connected to the crossover (in my particular vehicle).

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal RSE-165

Isaiah from Windsor Locks, CT on 3/8/2022

2016 Toyota Yaris

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

good speakers but installation instructions were poor

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Focal RSE-165

Paul from Aurora, IL on 3/7/2022

2011 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Some better sound than the stock speakers in my Rav.

Pros: Includes crossover and array of fastening devices & tweeter shrouds

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

An anazing choice with lots of room to grow!

Nathan from Oak Ridge, TN on 2/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought these with a very specific purpose in mind- I wanted a set of speakers that would work well with my factory system and also be capable of producing great sound once I was able to update the head unit, etc. I am extremely happy with the result! The sound is very full and articulate. I appreciate the audible improvements in both detail and sound separation. These are a vast improvement over the factory speakers. I cannot wait to see what happens when I am able to finish the rest of my car audio upgrades!

Pros: Sound quality, price, sensitivity

Cons: I wish Focal offered a 6x9 component option for this series

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Awesome!

Lee from Crestwood, KY on 2/3/2022

2001 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fantastic sound ! Very loud, crisp and clean sound. Well worth the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal RSE-165

Steven from Winnie, TX on 2/3/2022

2021 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy install. Vastly superior sound compared to factory speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Incorrect Fitment

Patrick from Portsmouth, RI on 2/3/2022

2011 Subaru Impreza WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These speakers do not fit in either the lower front or rear doors in a 2011 Subaru WRX hatchback with no factory navigation as stated. The width of the outer cage is too wide and does not clear the factory hole in the door panel and doesn't fit in the factory speaker spacer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 2/7/2022
Patrick, we're sorry you're having issues with your speakers. If you purchased this product from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 4 found this helpful

Focal RSE-165

John from Pueblo, CO on 1/29/2022

2019 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Speakers are great. Sound great and tweeters sound awesome!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal for the win

Aidy Vito from Santee, CA on 1/27/2022

2021 Subaru Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice and clear when combined with RCX-165

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal RSE-165

Tim from Fredericksburg, VA on 1/27/2022

2011 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice sounding speakers. Install tricky, but not too difficult in my Tacoma.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal RSE-165

Shawn from Walnut Creek, CA on 1/9/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great speakers. Very clean and fantastic price for a quality speaker even as one of Focal lower end speakers.

Pros: Quality and ease of working with Crutchfield is always great.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal RSE-165

Crutchfield customer from Jonesville, VA on 12/30/2021

2003 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to get the soundstage setup just mounting components as far forward as possible.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal Rocks

Crutchfield customer from Claymont, DE on 12/5/2021

2021 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Focal speakers never disappoint.

Pros: Everything. Great upgrade from factory.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal RSE-165

Crutchfield customer from Frisco, TX on 12/1/2021

2014 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great product and a great deal

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal RSE-165

Crutchfield customer from Tallahassee, FL on 11/22/2021

2006 Toyota Sequoia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

They sound really nice. The highs are clear and there is plenty of bass.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal RSE-165

Crutchfield customer from Green Valley, AZ on 11/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The sound is solid from these speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Focal RSE-165

larry from Irving, TX on 9/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

"good bang for the buck!" i matched these to the "kicker key amp." active system. because i was dealing with a DSP tuning took a while to get them dialed in. these speakers have great dynamic/rich sound. if you have music thats not all chopped up and reworked the native sound is amazing! its also matched up to a kicker 10" sealed sub. only down side. theres no rms rating on the tweeters. 50 watt amp. the gains are turned all the way down. perfect!! if your car uses the tweeters to alarm you. those "beep sounds!" can be really loud if you turn up the gains. larry

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Focal RSE-165

Crutchfield customer from Gearhart, OR on 9/23/2021

2008 Chevrolet Silverado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sound great depending on your receiver. One received only has mid and tweeter ex's outputs. So even with the crossover using the mid rca I cannot make any of the lyricsout of the tweeters. Super muffled 6.5, has decent bass for its size.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 7 found this helpful

Great upgrade to already good stereo on a Chevy Bolt

Crutchfield customer from Ventura, CA on 6/11/2021

2020 Chevrolet Bolt

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I got terrific value for the money I spent. These are "component" speakers. The woofers go in the door (typically) and the tweeters typically are mounted in the dash. If you need "integrated" or "two-way" speakers, with the woofer and tweeter in one speaker, you want the Focal RCX-165. My vehicle (a 2021 Chevy Bolt) needed two-way in the rear, and component for the front. I bought a pair of each. My 2021 Bolt came with a very good sound system - for a standard car stereo. Replacing the "head end" of a modern sound system integrated into a new car is costly and foolish. There are two many connections and features to integrate. Adding a power amp is also not a great plan for an electric car: they use too much of your battery power. I wanted a better sound system than the moderately good standard system. An upgraded model, with a Bose sound system, would have cost me nearly $5K more. So I replaced the speakers and kept the head end. I love - LOVE! - my sound system now. The bass, mid-range, and tweeter are all clear, with warmth and vibrancy. My many-thousand-dollar home sound system is definitely better, but this is the best car sound system I have personally owned. In 5+ decades of driving. Awesome!

Pros: The Focal 165 speakers, both 2-way and component, are: * Audiophile quality * Very efficient * Clear and vibrant mid range for acoustic orchestral music * Plenty loud * Fit 6 1/2" and 6 3/4" mountings.

Cons: No cons for me. Some people might want a heart-thumpingly powerful amplifier & speakers. I don't want to waste the electricity.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Very good--using stock head unit

Crutchfield customer from Asheville, NC on 6/6/2021

2017 Mazda CX-5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very nice upgrade to my Mazda CX-5 (base trim level). I used the stock head unit and added the Focal for a basic upgrade. These are noticeably more accurate than the stock speakers in every aspect. I'd go with them again.

Pros: *perfect fit with kit provided *easy to do *sound is definitely more accurate than stock

Cons: the very low end is not quite there, but I knew that going into this.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Focal RSE-165

Crutchfield customer from Desoto, TX on 5/30/2021

2018 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

IMO... Focal is the best speaker one can buy for their vehicles.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal RSE-165

Crutchfield customer from Mount Horeb, WI on 5/22/2021

2012 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

great sound and price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great tweeter, decent woofer, very basic crossover ... Good results.

Crutchfield customer from Oxford, MS on 4/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have mixed feelings about these speakers, but I like them well enough--so I'll give them a 5 star review. These have great tweeters. That's what makes them excel. The crossovers are really rather cheap and disappointing for the price; I think other brands have better XO examples with woofer roll-offs and different dB levels for the tweeter. The woofer has pretty good resolution, but won't play too low. For best results, pair with a sub and cross it over at like 80 hz or so. The speakers sound better when broken in (of course), but I still question if they're worth the price point. These don't feel like real "Focal" speakers, but rather some knock-offs or very entry brand with Focal's name on it. All in all, I'm happy with them. Not sure if they're worth the money... as I bet other brands will sound as good for less $... but I plan on keeping the truck for years, so it'll dollar-cost average just fine... Better if you can buy them on sale...but I'm still satisfied w/ my purchase.

Pros: Great tweeters! Good woofers.

Cons: Cheap crossover. High Price.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Focal RSE-165

Ronald from ROLLA, MO on 4/19/2021

2015 Ford Fiesta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These were an excellent upgrade for the stock speakers in my 2015 Fiesta with the stock head unit. The tweeters fit nicely in the factory openings. I had to trim a cable bracket on the door panel slightly to find a spot for the crossover. These speakers definitely lack bass compared to the stock speakers but the clarity of the mids and highs more than make up for it. I would have added a sub eventually but it's a higher priority now.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very pleased. Fits in the front

Brad from Kirkland, WA on 4/5/2021

1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I am very satisfied with these speakers. I put them in the front of my 98 Grand Cherokee with an existing Pioneer head unit pushing 45 Watts to each speaker. I put the tweeter up on the window ledge with the angled encasement. The listing for these say they will not fit in the front as their depth is listed as 2.515 and the Grand Cherokee front has a depth listed as 2.4. When installed they do touch the window bracket and when you put them in you can feel the magnet pull the speaker to the window frame. They sound excellent. They are not huge on base but I would not expect that from a 6" speaker. Soon I will add a new head unit, amp and subwoofers and expect performance to be even better then.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal RSE-165

Crutchfield customer from Fort Lauderdale, FL on 3/22/2021

2016 Subaru Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sound great and were easy to install with the adapters.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal RSE-165

Crutchfield customer from Charlotte, NC on 3/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal RSE-165

Crutchfield customer from Woodstock, GA on 2/28/2021

2020 Jeep Gladiator

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound. Love them

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great speakers

Crutchfield customer from Pueblo, CO on 2/26/2021

2010 Honda Civic EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have only had them in the car for a week, but they sound great. Huge upgrade on the factory speakers. Paired them with a JLAudio amp and I cannot even turn them up to anywhere close to their max.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Focal

Crutchfield customer from Hollywood, FL on 2/4/2021

2019 Lexus GX460

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound clear voice coil I have been a Focal listener for years would not change to anything else highly recommend this product

Pros: Excellent sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Just what I needed.

James from COLSTRIP, MT on 1/19/2021

2001 Pontiac Bonneville

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound, easy install, good price. What more do you want from speakers?

Pros: Trouble-free install, great sound, reasonable price.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal RSE-165

Crutchfield customer from Birmingham, AL on 11/28/2020

2018 Honda Fit Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent staging from the tweeters and accurate (if relatively light) bass from the 6 1/2" speakers. I would not recommend these without a sub to help fill out the lower end, these are not one size fits all. Additionally the crossovers are pretty crucial. Following Crutchfield's instructions I spliced my dash tweeters to the stock speaker wires as an adapter was not available. The resulting sound was so harsh yet dull that I had to reduce my usual volume level. I decided to run a wire to the crossover (mounted in the door) and, viola, beautiful sound. Just be prepared for a slightly more involved install than just swapping out your tweets.

Pros: Excellent overall sound Controlled highs Excellent staging

Cons: Crutchfield's instructions were not really appropriate for these speakers Focal has bizarre wiring for polarity Lacking bass for this class

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Focal RSE-165

Alan from ROCK HILL, SC on 11/24/2020

2019 Honda Accord Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These speakers are amazing. they are extremely crisp and responsive. I hear things in my music i havent heard in ages. want to hear the slide of fingers on the bar of the guitar? the raspiness of a asinger changing their octave? These are the ticket..

Pros: imaging is superb depth is awesome radiant emotional response detailed drum slaps

Cons: very bright

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Immediate and substantial improvement

Crutchfield customer from Anchorage, AK on 11/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Immediate and substantial improvement over stock speakers. Combined with the coaxial in the rear doors and much better than the stock in a 2016 Tacoma. Great support from Crutchfield in the installation. The hardest part in a Tacoma install is getting the tweeters wired up in the dash, there is almost no slack in the factory wire, so lots of small work in a very confined space.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal RSE-165

Crutchfield customer from WINSTON SALEM, NC on 7/30/2020

2008 Toyota Prius

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Honestly - harsh, metallic, and abrasive. The crossover does not low-pass the woofer, and the resulting breakup and interference with the tweeter creates unwanted incoherence and gain in the ~1.5-5kHz region. To fix it you either need separate amplification channels and DSP for the woofer and tweeter or modification in the passive crossover. Take a look at the owner's manual and you will see it in the frequency response plot. Wish I hadn't wasted money on these.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 8/3/2020
We're sorry you're having issues with your speakers. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

7 of 10 found this helpful

Great sound if you can handle the installation process.

Crutchfield customer from Bessemer, AL on 3/21/2020

2018 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great speakers but line provided is too short and tweeters need better installation options or instructions.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Clarity

Crutchfield customer from Lusby, MD on 1/6/2020

2017 Chevrolet Malibu

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great speakers, very clear

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Very nice sounds!

Crutchfield customer from Saint Jacob, IL on 11/9/2019

2019 Honda Insight

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Crisp clean sounds!

Pros:

Cons: Low watts

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Price to Performance 10/10

Guest from Bixby, OK on 10/21/2019

2016 Honda Civic LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I love these speakers, they sound great and create a great sound stage in my front seat. Good bass and good highs. Would definitely recommend to anyone who doesn't wanna spend a fortune.

Pros: Great sound, look good.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Add some sonic power to your ride!

Crutchfield customer from Frankfort, IL on 10/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These will bring out the music! I swaped out my factory installed speakers in my Rav4 with these Focals and I couldn't be happier. If you really want to hear your music, give these a look.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Great sounding.

Crutchfield customer from Crosby, TX on 9/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound for a relatively inexpensive speaker. Crisp, clean, detailed, without being harsh. Good soundstage. Image well. Tweeters are smooth and present without being overbearing. Nice and detailed even at lower volume levels. (Driving them with a decent Pioneer four channel amp) I can't comment on bass production as I'm running a separate sub woofer and have these woofers rolled off at 120 HZ. Highly recommend if you want good sound for not much money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Focal RSE-165

Crutchfield customer from Summerville, GA on 8/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very nice set for the money. Tweeters are much clearer than my old Infinity's.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Outstanding Imaging Improvement Over Factory

Crutchfield customer from Castle Rock, CO on 7/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Typical to Focal these component speakers perform at near audiophile levels. Deployed in Q-Forms kick panel forms the Focal's provide a dramatic improvement in sound quality and imaging over 2002 Jeep Wrangler crap factory front speakers. I am a devoted Focal customer with Utopia's as my home audiophile system and their new 8" driver outdoor speakers for my deck. I just appreciate the French sound I guess.

Pros: Exceptional build quality, outstanding frequency range with excellent articulate treble response, particularly for an automobile component.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Buy them

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, KY on 5/6/2019

2008 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great speakers! Sound quality is there and bass is good for a component set.

Pros: Sound quality, bass,

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal RSE-165

Michael from Atlanta, GA on 3/4/2019

2018 Chevrolet Malibu

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent sound quality. Replaced factory components with these and couldn't be happier! A little fab work for the tweeter was needed (but I already knew that thanks to Crutchfield's research) to fit into the factory location. Left all factory connector's intact but routed a new wire from the x-over to the tweet. There is an adapter you can get to make it easier to wire the tweeter but you'd not get the effect of the x-over then. Thank you Crutchfield and Focal for the excellent product!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Focal RSE-165

Crutchfield customer from Panama City, FL on 8/14/2018

2016 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very nice for entry level components, highly recommend over similarly priced coaxials.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Budget Focal true to its roots

Jason from San Angelo, TX. on 8/2/2018

2000 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have been using Focal for several years and in my last truck, I have the Kevlar series. I just didn't want to pay that much for this new truck and build. So I went with these. Great price for the sound. The tweeter is fantastic. Sounds great on anything you throw at it, rap, techno, chill, dubstep, rock, even live music sounds fantastic. Just close your eyes and listen.... I recommend these to all my friends bc they love how it sounds so clear and loud... they are amped on a Soundqubed 400x4

Pros: great sound ease of install great crossovers loud and clear with a properly tuned amp

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Focal RSE-165

Darrell from Valatie, NY on 5/10/2018

2015 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So far so good Speakers fit with a little bit of trimming on included extension ring Sound is definitely better than the stock Ford junk

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Focal, give them a shot for factory replacements w/ no Amp

Robert from Phoenixville, PA on 12/11/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So after I installed a set of polk DB series 5 1/4" into my car (after marker Pioneer head unit power) I absolutely did NOT like the sound,...so tin can, like head phones cranked and on my doors as speaker! (according to Crutfield advisors). Polk DB series need a little more power to sound their best, and not willing to add an amp at this time I decided to make a call and see if I could exchange the Polks for these 6 1/2" Focal RSE-165 (Thanks Harley! (Crutfield advisor) for all the advise) wow, what a difference! Much louder at similar volume levels, good mid bass, for 6 1/2" running head unit power only, these sound very nice! I would buy again, especially with Crutfields return, exchange policy! I bought a set for the rear doos as well, Focal Auditor series 6 1/2" also sound real nice off head unit (RMS22 watts (maybe??)) 50 x 4 peak,... I'm sure I'd get a little better sound with an amp,.. maybe after Christmas! (The box my RSE-165 came in was a little beat up looking on the outside, perfect condition inside tho,.. no worries! Just throw them in and listen up!

Pros: nice and simple design,... no extra stuff you won't need-

Cons: tweets maybe a bit bright (to my ears)

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

Great sounding with amp

Craig from Auburn, CA on 11/23/2017

1997 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have these speakers in the front of my van and they sound great, but I am also running a Kenwood class D amp and Kenwood head unit, all OF wiring, and 4 gauge wire on amp, so of course they sound good. Do not know what they would sound like with just factory set-up. I have other people get in my van and the sound blows them away. I have old 2 way 6 1/2 speakers in back and am going to change them out for a pair of 6 1/2 Focal 2 way speakers. Only thing I don't like about Focal 2 way speakers is that they do not come with covers. To me, that is really stupid, or cheap on their part.

Pros: All good, great highs and lows. In my van it sounds like a concert hall.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great Speakers, -1 for Installation Gear

Isaac from San Antonio, TX on 10/23/2017

2014 Nissan Pathfinder

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Speakers sound great. I think they are at a great value also. I did notice a slight hiss sound, and the Crutchfield Advisor said the speakers could be defective. I can't hear it when the car is on, so I wasn't about to go through the install again. My main issue is with the instructions...they suck. There were only springs in the flush tweeter mounts so I had to pry them off and super glue them to the angled mounts, and it didn't come with screws for the angled tweeter mount. There are more holes than screws. Something that confused me later was the positive and negative are backwards from what I typically see...the negative is the wire with the line and positive is solid (focal is opposite). The speakers came with nice connectors, but it would be nice if they have included extensions. These are my first Focal's I sure hope they supply better installation gear with the more expensive sets. I do not have an external amp on this setup, but In comparing them to my old Infinity Kappas with only the receiver pushing them, I say tie, maybe the Kappas could get higher but my ears don't like it that high anyways.

Pros: Sound Great Good highs, and I feel like I can hear every instrument The grills are nice, metal, high quality I like/used the angled mounts (originally going to do flush but couldn't) and they were a nice option

Cons: Instructions are garbage Where did all the screws go? Can you please but springs in all of the different tweeter mounting options, so I don't have to waste time rigging stuff? Slight hiss at high volume and car engine off....possibly an installation error (I'm no pro)

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

7 of 12 found this helpful

Focal RSE-165

Crutchfield customer from Rochester, MI on 3/14/2017

2011 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Speakers and tweeters sound great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Clear and crisp, but not piercingly crisp.

Jason R from Canton, GA on 3/11/2017

2006 Scion tC

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've got about 6 hours of playing time on these so far and they are a good quality speaker. The tweeters are definitely great, especially at this price point. The mid range speaker does not do well in free space, I'm going to try making a baffle or small enclosure that will fit inside the door to get some of that punchy mid-range back. Right now my JL 12Tw3 is pulling some double duty to help out with that mid range. I'm also running the Auditor coaxial speakers in the back and I've noticed the same thing with those. Now, don't take this feedback as a negative remark, I'm just stating things that I have noticed....you definitely cannot go wrong with Focal! Once I have a chance to make a small enclosure or add a baffle, I'll come back and update this.

Pros: Focal quality tweeters. Great clarity for the price range.

Cons: Lacking mid range punch, but that's an issue relative to my install.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Just buy them, dammit!

Aaron from SF Bay Area, CA on 3/6/2017

2003 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Buy these speakers. Put on "Voodoo Child (Slight Return)" by Jimi Hendrix. Try not to get goosebumps. You're welcome.

Pros: Everything

Cons: Tricky to install in my 2003 Toyota Highlander with the JBL stock system. But I talked to some awesome people here at Crutchfield who made it super easy.

Crutchfield response on

15 of 19 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound