Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Focal TWU 1.5

Universal Integration Series 1-1/2" tweeters

MFR # FOCAL TWU1.5

Focal TWU 1.5

Focal TWU 1.5

Universal Integration Series 1-1/2" tweeters

MFR # FOCAL TWU1.5

38 reviews
View this product

Focal TWU 1.5

Crutchfield customer from Elkhart, IN on 10/22/2019

2015 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great tweeters!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal TWU 1.5

Crutchfield customer from Greer , SC on 10/13/2019

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The speakers are a very nice upgrade to OEM tweeters. I bought them to install in the upper door on a Jeep GC with Alpine system. I ended up installing in the rear pillar as I found a focal component with the same tweeters for the front doors. They are a major improvement in this front door but the rear pillars I would not do again. They take some significant modifications to fit. The Crutchfield application rating here is fairly misleading IMO. They are also really underutilized in this location and not worth the extra invest.

Pros: Great sound clarity

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great look and sound.

Crutchfield customer from Apison, TN on 10/10/2019

2013 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Multiple installation options, bigger than the stock tweeters - great addition to the front stage of my truck's sound. Replaced factory tweeters in a 2013 F150. I had to use a dremel tool to expand the holes and then used hot glue from the back side to secure them. If you don't make the holes too big, you will not need the glue. The roads in this area are notoriously rough so the glue was a precaution.

Pros: Solid build - great look - awesome sound. Super buy

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal TWU 1.5

Crutchfield customer from Southport, NC on 9/16/2019

2014 Ford F-150 FX4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding. Easy retrofit.

Pros: Easy to replace. Sound is awesome!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy install

Crutchfield customer from Irving, TX on 9/16/2019

2018 Ram Promaster City

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very bright sound. Easy install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2014 Silverado upgrade

Crutchfield customer from White Bear Lake, MN on 9/13/2019

2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice and crisp but not overbearing. I wired these in with my factory dash speakers and WOW what a difference.

Pros: Already have crossovers

Cons: nothing

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal TWU 1.5

Crutchfield customer from Newark, DE on 8/16/2019

2017 Ford Edge

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Umm instructions are really bad. But if youre looking for positive polarity... Red line wire will work.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Focal TWU 1.5

Guest from Virginia beach on 7/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought these to replace infinity kappa tweeters that blew due to faulty crossover. Fantastic sound however VERY bright. With proper sound tuning this can be easily managed but anyone without a DSP will have to do some playing with their systems. Overall happy with these but for perspective buyers, they do NOT come with crossovers, they come with a very small voltage resistor that may help with a few peaks, but will eventually blow your tweeter without proper frequency protection.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Focal TWU 1.5

Crutchfield customer from Gig Harbor, WA on 6/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

There are bright tweeters. Quality that you would expect from focal

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal TWU 1.5

Crutchfield customer from Spring Grove, VA on 5/24/2019

2013 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install and sound great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Focal TWU 1.5

Ramiro from Brookfield, IL on 5/8/2019

2003 Infiniti G35

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had them installed for 2 weeks and the right one completely stopped working.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 5/21/2019
Ramiro contacted our Customer Support team and they sent out replacement tweeters. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

2 of 2 found this helpful

Madendet64

Crutchfield customer from St Clr Shores, MI on 4/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I used the Focal TWU 1.5 tweeters to replace my stock tweeters in a 2004 Crossfire. I was like night -vs- day. I should have changed them a long time ago. Makes me mad thinking about riding around listening to that poor sound quality. For the price they can't be beat.

Pros: Price, Sound Quality, Easy to Install

Cons: No type papers or spec sheet in the box.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal TWU 1.5

Crutchfield customer from Mount Vernon, WA on 4/14/2019

1998 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install, sound great, major improvement over the OEM sound that was previously in the truck.Shipping was fast will definatly continue to shop at Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal TWU 1.5

Clyde from Staten Island, NY on 3/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These tweeters sounded good for a week! Please don't buy these tweeters they are garbage.I installed them in my 2017 Explorer,the right door tweeter stopped working a week after installation and the left one soon followed.Replaced the right with the stock tweeter that came in the Explorer. I have yet to take out the one in the left door due to inclement weather. But as soon as it gets nice I'm taking it out also! These tweeters were total a waste of time to install!

Pros: Great sounds

Cons: They lasted only a week

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Focal TWU 1.5

Crutchfield customer from Clarkston, MI on 2/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I expected crossover units in the box, not much good to me with out them

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 2/20/2019
We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with these Focal tweeters. After receiving this review, one of Crutchfield's Tech Support experts, Daniel, informed this customer that these tweeters actually include inline crossovers.

7 of 8 found this helpful

Great sound!

Crutchfield customer from Coronado, CA on 2/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice fit and quality!

Pros: Good sound

Cons: None yet!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal TWU 1.5

Crutchfield customer from Batavia, OH on 2/7/2019

2011 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly as advertised. Clear sound. Good separation of voices.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Focal TWU 1.5

Crutchfield customer from Safety Harbor, FL on 2/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good customer service

Pros: Good commitment to service

Cons: More one on one with customer

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Focal TWU 1.5

Crutchfield customer from Warren, MI on 1/20/2019

2011 Honda CRV SE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Focal TWU 1.5

Crutchfield customer from Wharton, NJ on 1/20/2019

2007 Jeep Liberty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They are very to hear music out of

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Focal TWU 1.5

Joseph from Peotone, IL on 12/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They woke up my whole system. I can't believe how much clear and powerful they sound . Focal is awesome and so is crutchfield. These are extremely clear without an amp. and stock head unit.

Pros: Sound and quality is the best .

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal TWU 1.5

L Berg from Silver Spring, MD on 11/17/2018

2017 Volkswagen Golf GTI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have the base sound system in my GTI.. I installed these with some bass blockers and let me tell you, even with stock speakers the change is night and day. I can hear everything with total clarity and I can even turn the volume higher. Great purchase! I recommend bass blockers as well.

Pros: Smooth clear sound, not harsh

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Focal

Rolando from Glendale, NY on 11/16/2018

2007 Chevrolet TrailBlazer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The best tweeter I ever bought and the sound is amazing will recommend to everyone

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal TWU 1.5

joseph from Satellite Beach, FL on 9/26/2018

2014 Hyundai Santa Fe Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

replaced original tweeters fit perfect sounds great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Focal TWU 1.5

Crutchfield customer from Scottsdale, AZ on 8/26/2018

2018 Honda Clarity

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

greatly improved the sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Amazing!

Glenn from Fall River, MA on 8/19/2018

2013 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Stunning clarity to the ceiling of human hearing. Amazing!

Pros: Sound range /clarity

Cons: In my car it's a modified fit

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Average tweeter

Gabriel from Des Moines, IA on 8/3/2018

2006 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced some polk tweeters because I thought they were too harsh. Not much improvement with these. But I decided to keep them since I removed the crossovers for the previous install

Pros: Works

Cons: Mounting options were less than ideal for me

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Very realistic feel

Emanuel from South Elgin, IL on 7/22/2018

2015 Jeep Renegade

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow, the difference of sound compared to the stock tweeters is 1000% better. Clear and crisp highs, realistic presence of orchestration depending on whats playing. I've installed them in my Jeep Renegade 2015 latitude with standard 4 doors speakers and tweeters on dashboard. I took out the stock ones and cut the speakers out and fitted these ones inside the bracket housing of the originals, connect the wires with glue gun and use same plug to connect it was perfect.

Pros: Very crisp hights

Cons: Zero

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Good, for a few days.

Greg from Shepherdstown, WV on 7/19/2018

2008 Porsche Cayman

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Thought these were going to work well, and they did for like the first 2 days. Indeed they didn't just install in the dash locations plug and play in my install, but after 2 days I heard noise that sounded like they came loose. Come to find out that they were ripped 1/3rd way around and weren't going to work anymore. I installed in an 08 Cayman and was bought for sound, not a booming stereo and never went higher then normal listening.

Pros: Crisp highs, good clairity.

Cons: Didn't last long.

Crutchfield response on 7/23/2018
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team reached out to Greg to help him further. They can get a set of replacement tweeters on the way or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

8 of 8 found this helpful

Focal TWU 1.5

Crutchfield customer from Lake Jackson, TX on 7/16/2018

2015 Nissan Frontier Desert Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid product. Several mounting options

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Well worth the price for quality sound

Jim from Las Vegas, NV on 6/18/2018

2009 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These tweeters really woke up the sound stage And provided great separation.Easy install. Highly recommended.

Pros: Easy install, great price, sound awesome

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal TWU 1.5

Crutchfield customer from Bartlett, IL on 5/2/2018

2016 Honda Pilot Touring

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The speakers required a slight modification to fit existing opening. The speakers immediately added more range and sound to my factory stereo. Good tweeter replacement for factory speakers,

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal TWU 1.5

Steve from Quincy, IL on 4/30/2018

2015 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These focal tweeters sound incredible!! Crystal clear and clean highs with such detail. I am hearing vocals, instruments, and sounds effects I haven't heard before in my music. Just installed them in my 2015 Toyota Corolla. And, of course, crutchfields customer service is the absolute best on the planet. PERIOD.

Pros: Incredible highs. Very reasonable price. Crutchfield.

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 4 found this helpful

exactly what I needed

Phillip from Ringgold, GA on 4/9/2018

2015 Ford Taurus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

To start, I am very pleased with these tweeters. I installed them into a 2016 Ford Taurus SHO with Sony & Nav. I previously installed infinity kappa 5x7 in all four doors in addition to JBL Club 3.5" for the center in the dash and rear deck. I installed dynamat during that install. I was very pleased with the difference that provided, but it was lacking a bit of definition from the higher frequencies. These tweeters greatly improved the clarity of higher frequency sounds. Previously there were certain songs that sounded slightly muddy due to the bass overwhelming the factory tweeters. These were hard rock songs such as slipknot "psychosocial." Now the soundstage is much more realistic and this filled in the gap in my sound perfectly. The tweeters were the exact size of my original tweeters so I initially attempted to reuse the factory mounts. Unfortunately this didn't work. So I simply enlarged the holes in the factory mounting plates and hot glued the focal tweeter housings in place. I am extremely pleased with these. The sound is in no way shrill or tinny.. just exceptionally realistic.

Pros: Extremely realistic sound Bass blockers included

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Focal TWU 1.5

Crutchfield customer from Alviso, CA on 3/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A+ used on my motorcycle

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal TWU 1.5

michael m from Cape Coral, FL on 2/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy installation, remarkable clarity, would definitely recommend.

Pros: Easy installation, surface or flush mount options.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focal TWU 1.5

Cliff from Los Angeles, CA on 1/9/2018

2018 Honda Odyssey

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

these sound nice with edm music. best sounding tweeters I ever heard. I get a lot of compliments about them

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Get What You Crave For!

Micah from Portland, OR on 12/18/2017

2005 Infiniti G35

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am not one to write reviews, but I just had to concerning these tweeters! I have a 05 g35 with the factory bose system that to be honest sounds fairly good for 12yr old factory stereo. Ample pwr (45 watts rms i believe) but it was missing something...like high's! The problem was'nt the drives or the lack of power but the lack of a sound stage. I personally like bright pronounce highs, but without the shrill associated with cheaper competitors. Adding these to my system was the most awesome awe inspiring experience I could ever imagine.... Vocals, percussion's, imaging/depth ,sheer loudness all greatly enhanced! ..the compliments I get are unreal! (I literally have to open my trunk showing there is no external amps) driving my system. The tweets are physically large 1.5 vs most at 1.0. They must be highly efficient. I cant imagine applying more than 45 watts, that would be defining! Adding these focals twu 1.5 truly brought out the rest of my system, in my opinion, reference levels. To compare I would say they remind me of klipsch reference sounding highs. If you dont like loud high frequency's then buy the cheep 1.0" soft dome tamed stuff. But if your want to actually become immersed in your music these are a must. Don't buy a sub par tweeter and wonder if you could of chosen better..... Just pay a little more $$ now and get something that will make you smile when the volume is cranked up! I listen to country to dubstep and could'nt be any happier. Happy shopping.

Pros: Everything I wrote about

Cons: None thus far

Crutchfield response on

17 of 18 found this helpful

TOP