Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Boss BV800ACP

Digital multimedia receiver (does not play CDs)

MFR # BV800ACP

Boss BV800ACP

Boss BV800ACP

Digital multimedia receiver (does not play CDs)

MFR # BV800ACP

89 reviews
View this product

Boss BV800ACP

Crutchfield customer from Hammond, LA on 2/24/2021

2008 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exceptional sound quality. Easy install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Upgrade!

Crutchfield customer from Frisco, TX on 2/23/2021

2017 Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great upgrade to my factory radio. Apple CarPlay is a must for me now.

Pros: Apple CarPlay. Display. Great fit for my application.

Cons: Lost OEM features I didn't expect to. But no great loss.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great radio

Jason from Weehawken, NJ on 2/18/2021

2008 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does everything I wanted. Great CarPlay integration, it sounds as good if not better than my factory radio. The display is clear in all kinds of light. With the wiring harness I retained my steering wheel functions. It was easy to install and with the provided instructions and wiring service from Crutchfield there was no guess work. I did have to call for a quick question and that was answered with no problem and the tech found an issue before it became an issue and walked me thru the fix. Great radio and great company.

Pros: Clear display, excellent sound, easy installation, CarPlay works like a champ.

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boss BV800ACP

Crutchfield customer from Merritt Island, FL on 2/15/2021

2012 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Results, 2008 Toyota Tacoma

Jonathan from Richmond, VA on 2/14/2021

2008 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed the BV800ACP in a 2008 Toyota Tacoma Sport. I must say I'm Totally surprised about how good this power head looks and sounds. I was expecting to have to do a speaker upgrade based on how the old unit sounded, but nope... this brought new life to the vehicles speakers. Even FM radio was so much better. I used the PAC interface to connect to the OEM harnesses. Also purchased the mic suggested in the kit and a separate USB charge and radio connect port made to fit a dash space in this truck. A few tips and observations: The mic is a bit big, but the voice sound quality is better than any vehicle we own, including the new Rover. The PAC has some harnesses you won't use... no worries, just connect what fits. The wiring diagram for the PAC is not perfect but the colors to connect to the radio's harness were spot on- just match them up. Set the DIP switches to Pioneer/other (thanks David at Crutchfield tech support for the quick answer.). The dash trim kit that came in the kit was not ideal for this radio. We used a different one that we ordered elsewhere. It had problems also but trimmed out better around the radio. We had to do a fair amount of Dremel work and some improvising to make it fit and mount securely. The steering wheel controls worked using the single analogue prong connector. This is not an install for a beginner, but I'm no expert either. Take your time, expect some improvising and pulling the unit in/out for fine adj

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great!

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, TX on 2/7/2021

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV800ACP

Crutchfield customer from Seattle, WA on 2/7/2021

2009 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very happy with this Boss head. It was originally installed in a 2004 Camry and upon selling that car installed it in a 2009 Forester. The unit works great and the UX is intuitive. The only reason I'm giving it four stars instead of five is because it's missing a 3.5mm aux port in the back. Instead it has RCA ports, meaning when you access the Aux interface you get a message saying the unit can't find a video signal. (My RCA ports are being fed audio by an external SirusXM head.)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV800ACP

Crutchfield customer from Glendale Hts, IL on 2/3/2021

2004 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I order two for my two cars and after following instructions it's was very easy to install, few hours to make it happen.

Pros: Excellent product , and Crutchfield phone support is excellent.

Cons: Brake wire is hard to find for connecting for if your are not handy man

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV800ACP

Crutchfield customer from Pensacola, FL on 2/2/2021

2012 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The product arrived well packed. Instructions were easily understood and easy to follow. I purchased the dash kit, harness, and USB cable to fit my factory cable harness. Instructions on how to remove the old radio and console specific to my vehicle were provided making it even easier to DIY. Installation was really ea sy. Splicing the radio wires to the wife kit was a breeze. Instructions were provided for that as well. Everything thing that you need to install the radio and to maintain factory wiring made easy through Crutchfield. You will not be disappoin ed. The unit works well and my steering wheel control still works. Did not get the camera with this unit since i my vehicle already has one.Going to splice the video cable to my existing camera harness so I can have the backup screen on the unit a d read view mirror. Highly recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boss BV800ACP

Crutchfield customer from Dorchester, MA on 2/2/2021

2006 Mercury Mountaineer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good radio for the price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV800ACP

Crutchfield customer from Lodi, NJ on 1/27/2021

2016 Chevrolet Colorado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good. The price and ease of installation. Purchased the readyharness which helped a lot with the installation. Can't speak to the durability yet - it's only been installed for less than 2 weeks. But does the job and it's great to finally have carplay

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV800ACP

Crutchfield customer from Colchester, CT on 1/26/2021

2005 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product for the price, super easy installation

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boss BV800ACP

Crutchfield customer from Chester, VA on 1/25/2021

2003 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

VERY nice sound! I haven't learned everything about Car Play, but will. With your instructions, install was a breeze!

Pros: Easy install, excellent sound.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great bang for your buck!!

Crutchfield customer from Brentwood, CA on 1/20/2021

2016 Hyundai Elantra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I definitely would recommend this product if your in the market for an affordable apple CarPlay radio. Couldn't be any more happier with it!! Threw a before and after for a 2016 Hyundai Elantra

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Decent product

Cullen from Chauvin, LA on 1/20/2021

2007 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Cleans up pretty nice. Installation wasn't too hard. In my 07 F150, it was pretty simple after splicing a few wires . Although I was disappointed when I saw the frame not fit the radio screen as I thought it would. As well as the key colors not changing like they do in the review video that's attached. If you want a radio with multiple colors , do NOT buy this . It's solid blue. Other than that, the screens reaction time is pretty quick. Gives my speakers more of a crisp tone.

Pros: Newer look. More crisp speakers . Many add ons .

Cons: Mic included is bad. Solid color keys .

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

This is a great unit

Crutchfield customer from Ontario, CA on 1/19/2021

2004 Chevrolet Avalanche

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great unit. If anyone is looking for an upgrade and don't want to break the bank this is it. The best part is the overall size and the responsiveness. Sine the unit is shallower I didn't have to cut anything out the touch screen is incredibly responsive. Sound quality is far better than what I was expecting even with the Bose system that came with the truck. Also when I bought it I also purchased the RP5-GM11 along with there Harness Ready service making install easy. I also installed an aftermarket back up cam and everything work flawlessly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Extremely disappointed

Crutchfield customer from Chapin, SC on 1/18/2021

2001 Pontiac Aztek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was very excited to get this unit to replace the factory radio in my 2001 Pontiac Aztek. Unfortunately, it didn't live up to expectations. The USB/Flash drive cable is woefully too short, I'll need to buy an adapter to make is useable. I also found the sound produced to be weak, the OEM radio producing far better sound. The unit also freezes up between stations or changing settings. Then, when it's not freezing, the radio scans continuously. I finally powered down the unit, but it apparently didn't like being shut down and started playing random stations - with the display off! I couldn't adjust the volume, change the settings etc. And all this with the unit being powered up for the first 10 minutes of its life.

Pros: Looks great installed, Android Auto worked super

Cons: Too many to list.

Crutchfield response on 1/19/2021
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV800ACP

Crutchfield customer from Genoa City, WI on 1/18/2021

2011 Chevrolet Avalanche

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great stereo android auto works great sounds amazing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss bv 800acp

Gene from CINCINNATI, OH on 1/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio with apple car play. install was easy and looks nice. Sounds great using factory amp and subwoofers 2007 mustang with mach 500. Only complaint I have is with the tuner. it does not show the preset channels. unless you hit another button. Crutchfield was great to work with. I had ordered a radio that could not turn on my subs. I talked to tech support and sales and got the radio I needed. Exchange was quick and easy.

Pros: Great sound lots of features.

Cons: tuner display could be laid out better.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Grear value

Tomasz from Royal Oak on 1/11/2021

2012 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great apple car play/android auto unit for the price. Installed in 2012 subaru outback. I have no wiring experience and was little nervous about installing new unit in my car. Crutchfield instructions and wiring guide are excelent and made the installation very easy. Quick shipping.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV800ACP

Crutchfield customer from Jackson, MI on 1/10/2021

2000 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy installation, looks great in the vehicle works fine with all the options.

Pros: Unit fit in dash well.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great features!

Carter from SUMMERVILLE, SC on 1/5/2021

2011 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does everything it says it does and more. Integrated seamlessly with OEM functions, which is saying a lot with a GM vehicle as a lot runs through the radio. I was even able to match the color of the lighting to the dash lighting for an OEM appearance. Integration with an aftermarket backup camera is perfect, and unlike other manufacturers who put a nanny on their backup cameras, you can view the rear camera while moving forward to monitor a trailer or pull through a parking spot.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Perfect fit for 2013 Subaru Crosstrek

Crutchfield customer from Derry, NH on 1/4/2021

2013 Subaru XV Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Boss head unit was a perfect fit (2013 CrossTrek) and the installation instructions were easy to follow and correct. The only step that was missing was how to disconnect the temperature and air flow cables to remove the center panel, but that was easy to find on YouTube. Shopping for all the required components for installation could not have been easier. Crutchfield's online system automatically lists the recommended components for your vehicle. The sound is great, the Apple Car Play is perfect. I could not be happier. I will update this post with pictures when I get them taken

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boss BV800ACP

John A from Warner Robins, GA on 1/3/2021

2010 Chevrolet HHR

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works good! Love how can set different volume presets.

Pros: Decent head unit with CarPlay

Cons: Nothing yet

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great profuct

Crutchfield customer from Lutz, FL on 12/30/2020

2007 Volkswagen GTI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This radio is gorgeous and does everything I wanted. The packaging was immaculate and I got it super quickly, Ill recommend it to anyone!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV800ACP

Crutchfield customer from New Castle, IN on 12/28/2020

2002 Cadillac DeVille

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great. Would recommend

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss Unit drains battery

Crutchfield customer from SAINT CHARLES, IL on 12/10/2020

2014 Kia Optima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed this unit and my battery kept draining. Had the wiring checked and he confirmed it was the Boss unit that was draining the battery. Don't buy this unit. Hoping to get a refund or a different brand replacement unit.

Pros: none

Cons: drains battery

Crutchfield response on 12/16/2020
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and we sent out a replacement right away. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

5 of 8 found this helpful

Great for a budget!

Crutchfield customer from Muscle Shoals, AL on 12/10/2020

2014 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio! The only down side is the main display is not the best looking as far as menus. However the Apple Play makes up for the appearance!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV800ACP

Crutchfield customer from Terre Haute, IN on 12/10/2020

2005 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

very easy install best bang for your buck , if its not fitting i found that it was best to pop off the trim piece around the radio itself

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV800ACP

James from WILLIAMSBURG, VA on 11/26/2020

2010 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product for the price! As others state, it's slow to start up but not really a problem for me. I really liked that it has two USB inputs in the rear which few seem to have. As always, Crutchfield customer service is phenomenal. The first unit I received had a bum apple CarPlay usb. Was shipped a replacement overnight (only live an hour from them). Unfortunately, the second unit had a bum USB input as well. Bad luck. Again, no questions asked, shipped a third which works flawlessly. Incredibly happy with the unit because it got me CarPlay which is what I wanted. I really didn't have too many other requirements because I can't hear much in my Jeep when moving anyway. Install was a breeze.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boss BV800ACP

Crutchfield customer from Craigsville, WV on 11/24/2020

2006 Chevrolet TrailBlazer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install set up and use. Sound quality is amazing, and CarPlay works flawlessly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boss BV800ACP

Crutchfield customer from Riverside, CA on 11/22/2020

2011 Chevrolet HHR

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything is great. The features are awesome. But had issues with the android auto. It worked in the beginning but started showing the parking brake message.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Affordable Upgrade with Apple Car Play

Crutchfield customer from Trabuco Canyon, CA on 11/7/2020

2004 Honda Pilot

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the Boss BV800ACP for a 2004 Honda Pilot LX with navigation to get Apple Car Play. Crutchfield recommended the Scosche HA 1703B install kit, the Metra 70-1721 wire harness and the Axxess ASWC-1 steering wheel control adaptor. I pulled the stock head unit and the nav display and installed the Boss into the upper slot where the nav display was installed. The Scosche kit didn't work because the face frame was too small and there were gaps between the head unit and the dash molding. Also, the Scosche tray was not wide enough to fill the head unit space. I went online and bought the Metra 95-7861 install kit (which fit perfectly), a Batige dual port USB adaptor (which fit in the original AUX power hole with some widening) and two Honda trays (which required some trimming but fit in the original head unit space). The Pilot has an amplified antenna which was not covered in the wiring instructions but Crutchfield support had that fixed in under 2 minutes. I also had some issues with the ASWC-1 not recognizing the Boss unit but Boss support helped fix that by resetting the ASWC-1. Overall, I'm very satisfied with the performance, fit and cost of the receiver and Car Play works great. The physical install was easy thanks to great instructions and support by Crutchfield and Boss. Minor issues with the Boss unit controls and the ill-fitting Scoshe face plate resulted in the one star deduction. I would have deducted only a half-star if that option

Pros: Apple Car Play, 2 USB ports, retained factory steering wheel controls, better sound than OE, good value for the features, Crutchfield and Boss customer support solved all technical issues quickly

Cons: Volume resets to low on startup, no option to chnage display layout, display could be brighter, FM reception slightly weaker than the Honda head unit, Scosche adaptor kit didn't fit, lost the OE subwoofer but I think that is a universal issue with replacement head units

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

McKinney

Dean from McKinney on 9/29/2020

2011 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

DO NOT BUY THIS HEAD UNIT. I put this in a 2011 Jeep Wrangler. I'm on my second unit and now the rear speakers aren't working. Go to turn on the fader to help debug the issue - no fader controls, no balance controls. Talked to support tonight - they can't find it either. Between all the issues I've had with this thing I've had the dash apart no less than 30 times. So now I own a head unit with no fader, no balance and the rear Kicker speakers won't work in the sound bar, so who's to say it ain't flipping software... Let's see what tech support comes up with this time...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Boss BV800ACP - review

Crutchfield customer from Old Hickory, TN on 9/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an inexpensive and well-featured unit. The sound quality is good, but obviously is dependent upon your speakers. Bluetooth pairing is quick and easy as one might expect, and Apple CarPlay and Android Auto both work flawlessly. The microphone is a bit large, however.. but the cord is suitably long so you can find an out-of-the-way place to put it. All in all, I strongly recommend this unit for people who want good sound but aren't over the top.

Pros: Good sound Good features Low price!

Cons: Bulbous, rather obvious microphone

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boss BV800ACP

Crutchfield customer from Sterling Hts, MI on 9/23/2020

2013 Ford Transit Connect

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install I bought the $24 wire harness PLUG AND PLAY!

Pros: Nice Radio Easy install Everting is included

Cons: Plastic mounting adapter a little cheap

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Unit, Great Price! Great Service from Crutchfield.

Crutchfield customer from Muskegon, MI on 9/6/2020

2002 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome unit, especially for the price. All the features you could want and works flawlessly. Bluetooth connection or Apple CarPlay. Interface seems a little clumsy at first but didn't take long to figure it out. Good power for my Jeep with the top off, paired with Polk DB series speakers in the dash and sound bar. Also added the Kicker Hideaway powered sub and the sound is awesome now. No problems hearing it on the highway now! Crutchfield is awesome with the recommended install gear and instructions. Didn't have to run out to get anything during the install! First time anything has gone that smooth for me. I will never go anywhere else.

Pros: The whole experience

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boss BV800ACP

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 9/5/2020

2014 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A pretty good radio for a relatively reasonable price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boss BV800ACP

Guest from Greenwood Village, CO on 8/31/2020

2007 Toyota Sienna

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The custom harness worked great. I missed a step and called Crutchfield tech support and they walked me through the wiring and figured out what I forgot to connect. Tech support was amazingly helpful.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Easy to install

Crutchfield customer from Whiteman Afb, MO on 8/29/2020

2011 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV800ACP

Crutchfield customer from S Glastonbury , CT on 8/27/2020

2008 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to install, does the job I wanted it for. A couple of downsides but that's prob personal preferences but would like a volume control know, would like to change the screen background color on Waze, volume resets to low level every time car is turned off. Other than that, good value for money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

EHHHH

Crutchfield customer from Springdale, PA on 8/27/2020

2016 Jeep Patriot

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a galaxy s10 and can not get "android auto to work on this. I've downloaded all kinds of apps that it say. However when i plug my phone in its "un-supported device". However if I had an iphone it would just work as soon as I plugged it in. But the other thing is that it was disconnecting my phone all this time. I turned of the Auto Connect and it seems to help.

Pros: Easy interface everything worked

Cons: Android auto doesn't really work.

Crutchfield response on 8/31/2020
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support guru, AJ, reached out to this customer to help him further. We'll either help him get the receiver working the way it should, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

1 of 1 found this helpful

2005 Yukon XL

Crutchfield customer from Duluth, MN on 8/26/2020

2005 GMC Yukon XL Denali

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As advertised! Instructions emailed and sent with the Boss BV800ACP took any guesswork out of the installation process .

Pros: Perfect fit

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV800ACP

Crutchfield customer from Tunkhannock, PA on 8/18/2020

2012 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far, it seems to be working as it should.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boss BV800ACP

Crutchfield customer from Palmer, TX on 8/17/2020

2004 Dodge Ram 3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice radio. Installed on a 2004 Dodge Ram. Little trimming required but fits good

Pros:

Cons: No volume knob.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent System!

Crutchfield customer from Bridgeport, OH on 8/17/2020

2011 Honda CRV LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very solid headunit, I was expecting some drawbacks at first but Boss really did come through and exceed my expectations. Shipping was quick, and they even threw another coupon in with the order! Took me awhile to install because my factory wiring was confusing, but the labels on the wiring harness to this headunit made it so much easier to install and am very thankful they were labeled.

Pros: Apple CarPlay Bluetooth Touchscreen Sound quality Display

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Love it!!

Crutchfield customer from Schenectady, NY on 8/16/2020

2012 Honda Civic LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made me feel like I have a brand new car! Would definitely recommend

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boss BV800ACP

Crutchfield customer from Clovis, CA on 8/15/2020

2005 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super easy install all the wires are labeled, and the product works amazing. I 100% recommend just make sure to buy a usb extension along with it if you want ti use Apple CarPlay.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boss BV800ACP

John from MILLS RIVER, NC on 8/6/2020

1996 Chevrolet K Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Price and quality are excellent. Easy to configure and navigate. Sound output is great with my new speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boss BV800ACP

Crutchfield customer from Holtsville, NY on 8/6/2020

2008 Chevrolet Express

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice system easy install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boss BV800ACP

Crutchfield customer from Edinburg, TX on 8/6/2020

2007 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow this product is great and simple I like how it comes in a free bundle to help u mount correctly but most important was the applecarplay it's really great for the price I recommend this product and this website for being good and cheap other car electronic would be $503 radio install with Apple CarPlay at the local store good thing I chose Crutchfield it's way better and I instructions are way to easy I feel like a 5 year old could install a radio by himself no problem but in a summary I recommend this radio for being truth to it self and it's quality of a product and I also love it being so responsive to my fingers which I love

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Radio and help from reps excellent.

Crutchfield customer from Waterford, MI on 8/6/2020

2004 Chevrolet Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Radio is excellent. Wiring diagrams were a little confusing. Cleared up after speaking with rep. PAC unit did not hold wire clips in and had to zip tie them up as previous reviews suggested. Also Boss radio not listed for Pac setting. Again, rep recommended Sony setting and all functions worked perfectly. Steering wheel controls worked too!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Happy I ordered from Crutchfield

Crutchfield customer from Taneytown, MD on 8/2/2020

2006 Nissan Frontier

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice radio for the price

Pros: Very easy to install thanks to Crutchfield's instructions. Install went great and I like the look.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Not good

Crutchfield customer from Santa Barbara, CA on 7/29/2020

2006 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The backup camera displays a huge "CHECK SURROUNDINGS BEFORE BACKING UP" banner that is not possible to turn off or make smaller or anything. This alone is very annoying, since it takes up a portion of the screen that would allow you to see further down the road. The radio doesn't give you an option of saving favorites on the radio home, so if you want to change stations you have to go to the list, scroll up or down and then press on the station you want. They added more steps on something that has been standard on car radios since I don-t even know how long. The FM radio also hisses constantly. The unit takes forever to start, and when it does is sometimes turns off for a couple of seconds (this is a very big issue since most times it happens when I'm using the backup camera).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 8/3/2020
This customer contacted our Tech Support specialist, Tia, for help. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

6 of 6 found this helpful

Great Head Unit

Crutchfield customer from Anchorage, AK on 7/25/2020

2005 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Honestly a refreshing change for my 2005 Toyota Tacoma. Very seamless transition from phone-to-head unit connection either via Apple Play or Bluetooth. The only caveat to my experience is how the head unit processes phone calls/Siri/speech to text volume; whenever I make/receive phone calls, or have Siri read out my messages, the volume drops way below what I set it to while listening to music prior to these actions.

Pros:

Cons: Apple Play phone calls/maps/speech to text- music volume drops from current setting and locks at a low volume when performing these actions. No options to change settings in Head Unit or Phone.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Boss BV800ACP

Crutchfield customer from Vega Baja, PR on 7/23/2020

2018 Honda Ridgeline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent service the ship is really quick

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy install, great sounds

Crutchfield customer from Ames, IA on 7/23/2020

2006 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy install, came with everything I needed for the install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Well Worth It

Crutchfield customer from Evansville, WI on 7/20/2020

2008 Toyota Yaris

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had this installed for a couple weeks now and it is working great. There is only one annoyance I have, but it isn't a show stopper. I would like to setup what starts up when the unit boots up, but as far as I can tell, I can't change it from starting up with the radio on. Also, I noticed that some people had mentioned that the home screen can't be configured. That would be nice, but I am finding that I just ignore the things I never use. Other than that, I am enjoying the Android Auto and other little features that I use often. I don't have a rear or forward cameras, so I don't use those features. I'm sure they work great, like everything else.

Pros: Has the features I need. Easy to install.

Cons: Cannot change the feature that starts after boot up.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boss BV800ACP

Crutchfield customer from Wenatchee, WA on 7/12/2020

2002 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed a few weeks ago and works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV800ACP

Crutchfield customer from Manchester, NH on 7/3/2020

2007 Nissan Pathfinder

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good head unit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boss BV800ACP

Crutchfield customer from Kansas City, MO on 6/29/2020

2009 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice interface. Good android auto and apple carplay integration. Affordable price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boss BV800ACP

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 6/28/2020

2000 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an easy to install radio. Things to like: intuitive menu selection, attractive, excellent options. Things that frustrate: hard to change volume (it is not a button, and there is no remote), it defaults to a low volume (it is not intuitive how to default to a higher volume. I prefer a high volume and to control with my phone ... since there is no remote. I am glad i purchased this radio, the drawbacks are minor. Thanks to Crutchfield, my install looks professional and, as always, it worked perfect the first time.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Best bang for the buck

Crutchfield customer from Litchfield, NH on 6/28/2020

2007 Scion tC

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely love this head unit very easy to install and made such a big difference in my car, brought my car a little touch of modern to it and makes the car feel not as old any more.for 250$ this has to be the best unit on the market right now plus it comes with Apple car play didn't realize how much I would like it in a car till I got this. The touch screen on this is very nice and very responsive, it is also very bright during the day and dims down nicely during the night as to not distract the driver over very happy with this head unit and my over all experience shopping with Crutchfield very nice they they give you everything that you need to put this together from plugs and wires to mounting brackets

Pros: Apple car play Better sound quality Easy in stall

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Boss BV800ACP

Crutchfield customer from Tracy, CA on 6/28/2020

2003 Honda Pilot

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great value for the price point. Clean interface screen no buttons.

Pros: Cost and features

Cons: Nothing yet

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

2011 F150

Crutchfield customer from Oklahoma City, OK on 6/26/2020

2011 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall great head unit and great replacement for ford f150

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV800ACP

Crutchfield customer from Dothan, AL on 6/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall, this product has been positive. The service and tech help was superb. I can't say enough about each of the tech team members that I contacted several times for help in installing the unit. I will buy again from Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boss BV800ACP

Crutchfield customer from Germantown, TN on 6/20/2020

2015 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great connectivity using Apple Car Play.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great

Crutchfield customer from Janesville, WI on 6/14/2020

2003 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed this on my 03 Silverado. Didn't have to trim anything. Fits perfectly, works great. Would buy again

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Boss BV800ACP

Crutchfield customer from Metairie, LA on 6/11/2020

2010 Chevrolet Cobalt

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice audio receiver. I am very happy with my purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boss BV800ACP

Crutchfield customer from Riverdale, GA on 6/8/2020

2002 Lexus ES300

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome radio... very easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boss BV800ACP

TS from NC on 6/4/2020

2012 Nissan Pathfinder

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Came with everything needed. Crutchfield is the way to go.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boss BV800ACP

Crutchfield customer from Apo, AP on 6/2/2020

2006 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had problems out of the box. Would crash, freeze or just turn off for no reason.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 6/8/2020
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and exchanged for another receiver. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

10 of 11 found this helpful

Great display and many options

Crutchfield customer from Washington, DC on 6/1/2020

2005 Nissan Frontier

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits great in a 2005 Nissan Frontier. It is a perfect replacement for the manufacture receiver. Highly recommend USB chargers too if you don't have them already installed. I didn't purchase a back up camera but this receiver allows to easily add a backup camera. Has nice hands free feature where you mount your microphone and can make phone calls and text messages with one touch. I haven't tested any of the other hands free features yet.

Pros: Perfect fit for replacing Nissan Manufacture receiver in 2005 Frontiers. Works great with Apple and Android phones.

Cons: Getting used to a touch screen versus hard buttons.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boss BV800ACP

Crutchfield customer from Lacey, WA on 5/31/2020

2004 Honda Accord EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing system! Cant even begin to explain how pleased I am with this! Definitely recommend. Also very easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great product

Crutchfield customer from Rosenberg, TX on 5/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchase this head unit to replace a stock head unit in a 2016 ram 1500. The fit was perfect and the display is awesome. Would definitely recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

O.K.

Crutchfield customer from Decatur, TN on 5/28/2020

2019 Nissan Sentra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

would have been good it the steering harness sent would have had instructions!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

great reciever

Glenn from Jamestown, ND on 5/24/2020

2016 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is really a good receiver for the money, sounds good, looks good ,nice features and easy install.

Pros: great sound, easy to use, nice features ,good price

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boss BV800ACP

Crutchfield customer from Surprise, AZ on 5/20/2020

2008 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am extremely happy with the overall quality and operation of my new stereo but even more satisfied with the technical support that Crutchfield provided for the installation. I had to make several calls at different stages and found them to be very knowledgeable to my specific product and vehicle. I couldn't have completed the installation so easily if it hadn't been for that support so thank you Crutchfield!

Pros: Quality sound, easily operated and installed

Cons: No CD player

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boss headunit: Cost effective and nice to look at

Crutchfield customer from Whittier, CA on 5/12/2020

2008 Honda Civic SI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This headunit has pretty much everything I wanted for cheap (bluetooth, android auto, applecar play). You can add a backup camera too. If cost is not an option, there are bigger and better headunits available, but this one works great for what it is.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boss BV800ACP

Crutchfield customer from Batavia, OH on 5/8/2020

2012 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Stereo works great! Has all the features my son wanted.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

TOYOTA VENZA Boss BV800ACP

Amad from Burlington, NJ on 5/6/2020

2014 Toyota Venza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

2014 Toyota Venza with after market backup camera. 1. Aftermarket backup camera took some doing (not plug and play) 2. Radio/USB/Apple CARPLAY All works well (factory USB works as well). 3. Sound Quality is OK, not the best, but not bad as well. (I have upgraded Kenwood speakers, all six of them, in my 2014 V6 Venza) 4. Siri answers to. "Hey Siri" external Mic works well ! 5. Dimmer works well between night and day mode set to automatic. 6. Touch screen is reasonably responsive. See pictures, as to what this unit really looks like in your car.

Pros: 1. Price 2. Apple CarPlay 3. Screen

Cons: Sound quality could be a bit better, but it's not too bad to be honest.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great unit at a great price

Crutchfield customer from Littleton, CO on 5/3/2020

2005 Lexus ES330

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this as a hands free option for my teenage daughter. Looks and sounds great. Fit perfectly. Easy to install and a great unit for the money. Love apple carplay!

Pros: Apple CarPlay, Bluetooth, easy install

Cons: No HD radio or XM.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good value but limits usefulness of rearview camera

Jeffrey from NORTH ANDOVER, MA on 5/2/2020

2013 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got this replace my factory unit in my 2013 Volkswagen Passat. Install was fairly easy. I think it looks great and works very well. It is a good value for the features you get. My only complaint is that the unit displays a big "CHECK SURROUNDINGS BEFORE PROCEEDING" at the top of the screen with my backup camera. This stays on and can not be deactivated. (I called the company to check) This takes up a lot of the screen and limits the usefulness of my camera. I think it should at lest go away after a few seconds

Pros: Good value, works well, looks sharp

Cons: Annoying warning limits usefulness of back up camera

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great low cost upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Alvin, TX on 4/29/2020

2013 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This has been a great upgrade to my 2013 F150 XLT. The package that came with it from Crutchfield made this a very easy install for DIY. The only real complaint I can say is the USB plugs for the Apple/Android connection, and the second one are too short. It required me getting a double extension to allow them to reach the front of the dash. For my truck at least it would also not utilize the built in vehicle microphone for calls. I placed the included microphone right in front of my instrument cluster to the right of the steering wheel. This has worked very well so far.

Pros: Excellent interface and good connectivity. Apple play works wonderfully and included microphone is crisp and clear.

Cons: Needs an extension for USB to reach front of dash, will not utilize built in vehicle microphone even with an adapter on 2013 F150.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great unit with Apple Car Play

Crutchfield customer from Saint Cloud, FL on 4/26/2020

2014 Nissan Frontier SV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The unit was a perfect fit and lived up to my expectations. While I found the same unit at other retailers, I am glad to have purchased it through Crutchfield. The tech sheets and instructions were perfect and extremely valuable when installing the unit. In addition, the free technical support came in handy when my wiring harness differed slightly from those in the instructions. I highly recommend purchasing any unit through Crutchfield.

Pros: Apple Car Play, Two USB connectors to the radio back up camera,

Cons: Unfortunately, there are no wiring harnesses for my vehicle to keep the factory installed back up camera with this radio. However, this seems to be the case with any apple car play enabled radio for my vehicle.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great product

Crutchfield customer from Denver, CO on 4/26/2020

2012 Ford F-250

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very clean very interactive, only issue I have is I do not have a steering wheel control pad, so using the touch screen while driving is difficult.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boss BV800ACP

Crutchfield customer from Homestead, FL on 4/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product that does what you need. Very responsive and high quality screen. Very good option for your buck. If your looking for an affordable stereo that has CarPlay this is the product you want.

Pros: Apple CarPlay through factory USB Affordable Capacitive responsive screen

Cons: Non customizable layout

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Boss BV800ACP

Crutchfield customer from Attica, IN on 3/31/2020

1999 Buick LeSabre

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good quality components, overall a nice radio that runs smooth and does what it says it will.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Boss BV800ACP

Crutchfield customer from Campbellsburg, KY on 3/29/2020

2007 Ford Fusion

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to set up and I like the fact that it's got the custom EQ setting.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

TOP