Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Boss BV850ACP Package

Includes BV800ACP digital multimedia receiver with ELPC40B backup camera (does not play DVDs or CDs)

MFR # BV850ACP

Boss BV850ACP Package

Boss BV850ACP Package

Includes BV800ACP digital multimedia receiver with ELPC40B backup camera (does not play DVDs or CDs)

MFR # BV850ACP

151 reviews
View this product

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Enterprise, UT on 2/28/2021

2013 Kia Optima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice design and easy to navigate

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Lincolnton, GA on 2/27/2021

2006 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Solid unit

Joel from Rexburg, ID on 2/24/2021

2004 Toyota Matrix

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really great head unit. Love the CarPlay experience, especially at the affordable price. Looks great in my car. Overall the pros vastly outweigh the Cons. I recommended this unit to my brother and gave him installation advice, and so far he's satisfied too! Thanks Crutchfield for making this a much-less-painful-than-otherwise experience.

Pros: - The software is actually pretty well thought-out. Lots of options for customizing volume, screen brightness, LEDs and other behavior - Equalizer settings pretty easy and quickly accessible (when adjusting volume, a button appears that lets you go right to EQ settings) - Day/Night settings for the LEDs / Screen brightness! Love it.

Cons: - touch buttons for volume are really annoying, I'd prefer a knob any day - Installation of the camera was especially difficult in my car (2004 Matrix, the hatchback portion was a pain) - Unit takes a solid 5-10 seconds to boot up when starting the car - Sound is still pretty weak. This could just be my speakers though. Either way, the built-in amp is nothing to write home about. - Red color on the LEDs is more of a pale pink in daylight; they're just not that bright.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Greatbundle

Crutchfield customer from Winter Garden, FL on 2/22/2021

2004 Infiniti G35

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very happy with this unit and backup camera. A great combination to update a 2004 G35 with cassette player. Camera was easy to install and tuck cable under side trim. If you can tie the short red wire from camera into positive line of back up light wire, then the red wire with RCA cable can also be connected at this point. The other end of the red wire connects at the head unit at back up camera input. The short black wire from the camera could just be connected to a bare metal screw if available. Good assembly instructions by Crutchfield, but plan for a full Saturday and take your time removing old trim pieces if you haven't done this before. The end result is very satisfying. The trim kit was a good match and a perfect fit with this unit. The extra $25 for the cable pre-connected is a great value. If your on the fence about this upgrade, Go for it and you'll be glad you did.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Back to the Future

Crutchfield customer from Redwood City, CA on 2/22/2021

2004 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

OK head unit replacement for 2004 Silverado. Dropped a star, as some functionality (fader/balance) not available.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Radio, Backup cam titbit

Crutchfield customer from Tuscaloosa, AL on 2/17/2021

2008 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really made my car with the times more and really appreciate the look and feel of it in my car. Only issue I have is that the back up cam does not automatically turn on when in reverse you must navigate to the back up cam via the menu. Other than that no issues and really will enjoy this product!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Williamsburg, VA on 2/16/2021

2007 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great value, nice features. A little tricky to install because of the rear view camera

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Scotch Plains, NJ on 2/13/2021

2007 Honda Civic LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Very satisfied

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent Radio

Crutchfield customer from Chapin, SC on 2/13/2021

2005 Hummer H2

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great features at a good price

Pros: Good quality rear camera

Cons: Radio volume turns off in reverse

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Upgrade to the OEM Unit in a 2011 Kia

Steven from Bothell, WA on 2/10/2021

2011 Nissan Rogue

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed a Boss BV850ACP in a 2011 Kia Forte. Install went pretty well - only catch was Crutchfield initially sent the wrong dash kit, but a quick phone call remedied the problem. Crutchfield customer service rocks, as always. I opted for the Ready Harness as well, which made the install super easy. Steering wheel controls work and everything! Only real cons - the included microphone is pretty crummy, so audio for folks that call you will be poor. Also, the cable for the backup camera is WAY too short - if I had to dig up an RCA extension cord for an install in a Kia Forte, those with bigger cars will be out of luck. I needed another 2 feet to make things work. So far, though, the unit is working really well.

Pros: Functionality Ease of install Apple CarPlay/Android Auto

Cons: Cord for camera way too short Microphone audio quality fairly poor

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Oak Hill, VA on 2/10/2021

2005 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Touch screen is responsive and easy to navigate between different screens. Documentation is very basic but doesn't take long to figure out various settings. Very happy with this upgrade to my 2005 Explorer and the sound output is much better than the OEM radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Lantana, TX on 2/4/2021

2003 GMC Yukon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed on a 2001 Yukon. What a difference in my driving experience now! I feel like I'm driving a new card with all the bells and whistles. Everything works great, even the back -up camera is spot on. It takes time to install and running all the wires is a pain but worth it and the Crutchfield support team was unbelievable (I needed help and had questions on the install)!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Fremont, NE on 2/3/2021

2012 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good quallity for the price. I just had a little issue with getting the bezel to fit correctly on the head. The back up camera is clear, the 25.00 extra spent on your wiring job was the best money spent. The only wire I had to accually hook up, was the power for the reverse camera, everything else was plug and play. Steering controls worked, my cable for the reverse camera was long enough and everything from the car play to the radio head functions worked instantly!!!

Pros: Plug and play, good quallity, not one issue with how the radio worked right out of the box.

Cons: No volume knob.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy to install

Crutchfield customer from Cabo Rojo, PR on 2/1/2021

2006 Suzuki Grand Vitara

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great so far no problems, easy to unstall with the Crutchfield instructions and all the cables to factory connections. Easy to navigate and to do the adjustments to connect phone, backup camera and to retain steering controls of the eadio with the adapter is great, Thanks Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Hudson, NY on 1/31/2021

2008 Nissan Rogue

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best purchase i have made, an easy orderin

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Grangeville, ID on 1/25/2021

2011 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very intuitive interface. I like the features and the ease of use with CarPlay. My fiancée now wants one in our other vehicle.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Hampton, VA on 1/22/2021

2006 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great head unit for the price. Good camera quality too, but the wiring was a little short.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Holiday, FL on 1/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing product if you have a pick up order a separate video cable 22 ft but I love it

Pros: Love the ready harness

Cons: Short video cable for a pickup

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Omaha, NE on 1/18/2021

2010 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pretty great for the price. Easy installation in a 2010 Jeep Wrangler. Bluetooth calling, Apple CarPlay and backup camera for this price is pretty amazing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Cheyenne, WY on 1/16/2021

2008 Chevrolet Avalanche

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product has been awesome in my 2008 truck. Very easy assembly fits perfect like it was a stock product. Would recommend this product to everyone!

Pros: Easy assembly Lightweight Great sound

Cons: Not enough wire to connect back up camera for full size truck

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 1/1/2021

1999 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great system!! Great customer service!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Easy install

Crutchfield customer from Ruston, LA on 12/30/2020

2005 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy installation but I wish the video cable was longer. It was too short for my 2005 Silverado Crew Cab. About 3 or 4 feet to short. Also, it doesn't come with good installation instructions for the camera. I do recommend getting a dual port USB extension cable for the 2 USB ports on the back of the radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Sallisaw, OK on 12/30/2020

2019 Chevrolet Express

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit for the money

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Conover, NC on 12/30/2020

2006 Hyundai Sonata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits perfectly and works great! The cord for the back up camera was too short which I had read in other reviews. Crutchfield was top notch from delivery to customer service!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent head unit

Crutchfield customer from Wyoming, MN on 12/28/2020

2007 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install with Crutchfield's kit and wiring harness. The radio itself (with camera) had everything you need, and works awesome with Apple CarPlay. Very solid and configurable unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Ok, but not awesome

Crutchfield customer from GROTON, CT on 12/27/2020

2002 Volvo S60

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall a fairly simple install in my nephews 2002 Volvo S60 (base FWD model). I was impressed with the overall fit and finish, including the stock trim color bezel. It all lined up seamlessly. The Home screen is extremely bland and basic though. Better units will have a little more snazzy visual dashboard to play with. The menus are simple ... almost too simple The wiring schematic could use a few more essential details to save hour(s) of messing around. In particular, nowhere is it mentioned how to wire the backup camera. Missing are, - tap the + and - of the reverse light at the bulb connector in the trunk with the power plug / wire coming off the camera - on the stereo end of the yellow video cable, connect the red wire pigtail to the violet / white Reverse wire from the stereo harness. This will 'trigger' the camera mode on. The USB Charging outlet and Android Auto / Apple Carplay outlet pigtails are egregiously short. It would be ideal if these 2 USB outlets went into a single hub that replaces a 12V outlet (cig lighter). That would make more sense. Instead Im left coming up with more solutions and buying more gear. After much futzing around with the bezel I finally figured out that i had to remove and discard the shiny black frame around the head unit in order to get it to seat into the bezel. This is a per application sort of thing I suppose.

Pros: Bezel fit and finish is great Install is very straightforward Inexpensive

Cons: Very plain user interface Backup camera wiring details are nonexistent USB pigtails are too short USB pigtails require additional equipment for proper termination

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 6 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, NC on 12/25/2020

2010 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Would recommend

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love it

Crutchfield customer from New Fairfield, CT on 12/19/2020

2012 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great way to update an older car!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Ione, CA on 12/15/2020

2016 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like it price was right easy to use

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great product

Crutchfield customer from Springfield, MA on 12/11/2020

2006 Saturn VUE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to connect and the radio works great . It was my first radio install and I figured everything out with the instructions that was given for free. The only small drawback is the length of the wire for the reverse camera was short for my Saturn vue which is a mini suv. The cord is made for a hatch back or a really small car but that wasn't enough to take a star away. Overall great product .

Pros: Easy install and easy to use

Cons: Reverse wiring to short

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Travelers Rest, SC on 12/10/2020

1998 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great functionality for the cost.

Pros: Easy operation

Cons: Delay activating back up camera

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great cheap way to add carplay

Erik from EL CAJON, CA on 11/30/2020

2001 Isuzu Rodeo Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really great headunit for the money, CarPlay works very well and it's awesome you dont need to hardwire it to the handbrake like android auto - stupid. The backup camera is pretty low resolution and I get scanlines, not very good. You'd be better off buying the headunit and another backup camera for like $30.

Pros: Easy setup Easy to use CarPlay works great

Cons: Backup camera is terrible

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from San Jose, CA on 11/24/2020

2010 Honda Fit

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with the head unit so far, easy to install, the only issue I had was the power cord for the back up camera was too short.

Pros: Easy instal, ease of use.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Amazing for the Price

Natanael from CEIBA, PR on 11/23/2020

2008 Honda Accord EX-L

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks great and works super well. A good product for the price! + not a bad camera! Easy install on my 8th gen accord coupe.

Pros: 1. Made my stock speakers sound much better 2. When you touch it, it reacts fast

Cons: The only con is that when I put the car in reverse and the camera screen pops up the volume goes down. When I put it in drive it comes back. IDK if this was a mistake I made.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Plainfield, IN on 11/22/2020

2008 Honda Accord EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit which works very well with the exception of the backup camera. This is only because I have not figured out how to properly install it yet. I intend to figure out the backup camera wiring next weekend and finish the install then. Overall the instructions for installing the unit and camera were not very good but the customer support line was very helpful.

Pros: Good unit which works exactly as advertised Excellent technical support from Crutchfield

Cons: Poor wiring/installation instructions

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Findlay, OH on 11/21/2020

2007 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not thrilled

Richard from RALEIGH, NC on 11/15/2020

2015 Kia Soul

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Poor radio reception and glitchy software. Intermittently requires restarting to get the volume to work.

Pros: Includes backup camera

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 11/18/2020
Richard, we're sorry you're disappointed with your receiver. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Lakeville, MN on 11/12/2020

1999 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super aesthetically pleasing and very very fast and functional.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound

Crutchfield customer from Marietta, GA on 11/7/2020

2010 Nissan Titan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sound and easy to install. Thanks to Crutchfield for great instructions

Pros: Easy install Excellent wiring instructions from crutchfield

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Waterbury, CT on 11/3/2020

2011 Nissan Titan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Head unit is great. Wish there were more apps for CarPlay VIlable, but overall, love having the navigation in front of me.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Bloomfld Hls, MI on 11/1/2020

2014 Jeep Patriot

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and easy to use

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Tanner from CT on 10/21/2020

2007 Nissan Frontier

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was working perfectly for a few weeks, then now apple car play will not work. Every single lighting cord I try doesn't connect to car play, which is very annoying considering it's a stereo at this price, that should always function correctly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 10/27/2020
We're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. If you purchased this from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

2 of 3 found this helpful

Easy install

Crutchfield customer from Sicklerville, NJ on 10/18/2020

2013 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, excellent support from crutchfield, easy install due to crutchfields support

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pretty Darn good unit

Crutchfield customer from Canton, GA on 10/14/2020

2018 Toyota C-HR

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall the Boss package is great, however, sometimes Andriod auto is slow to start up and connect. I bought a new cable that has seemed to help.

Pros: Good fitting dash kit and the Crutchfield crews are second to none! I strongly recommend having them prewire the harness. It's well worth the $$!

Cons: Radio is slow to start up and connect to Andriod Auto.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Well Done BOSS

Crutchfield customer from Warrenton, VA on 10/12/2020

2003 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Description was spot on. Easy to use and set up.

Pros: Nice options, reasonably priced, easy to use.

Cons: Would have liked to see the USB plug on the front vs. the back of the unit.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, IN on 10/12/2020

2003 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works better than anticipated. Thrilled with the quality, options & especially the price.

Pros: Choosing prewired connections was a GREAT thing. Easy installation.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Sedona, AZ on 10/11/2020

2006 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well. Hands free mic did not work but Crutchfield sent out a replacement right away. The back up camera cord is not long enough for a truck. Went out and purchased an extension.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Marstons Mills, MA on 10/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A pretty sweet deal at an unbeatable price. Touch screen works perfectly and Apple car play is hard to find at this bargain. Definitely worth the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A+

Crutchfield customer from Albuquerque, NM on 10/9/2020

2008 Honda Element EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Radio and backup camera system. I had it installed by a local audio shop and everything works perfectly in my 2008 Honda Element.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Eglin Afb, FL on 10/8/2020

2002 Chevrolet Blazer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Radio is good for the price point. Included camera is "meh" :radio cable is too short for many installs (mid size SUV), the camera leds illuminate even in the day, cables on camera are short as well

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Upgrading my C5 to modern tech

Francis from RIO RANCHO, NM on 10/8/2020

2001 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

To be honest, I was a little hesitant about getting this unit. Wanting to keep costs down some but have a good sounding head unit can be tricky. Not the case with this one. The Boss Elite unit provides a really good sound with plenty of power to upgrade from a stock unit. The nice feature of this unit, though, has to be the capacitive touch screen. Very responsive and easy to use. Nothing on the screen is too small or hard to interact with although the home screen is a little busy. Setting the EQ to what I like was smooth and very quick listen to the changes made through the speakers. Android Auto and Apple Carplay work and load up very quickly. I have had other more expensive units in some of my other vehicles that can't get Android Auto to work. This fired right up. And with the 2 usb ports, I decided to convert the lighter to a dual usb to give it a cleaner look. Now I can plug in, charge my phone, and have Android Auto working. The only thing I thought would have been a nice touch would have been charging cables for android and Apple like Kenwood/JVC have added to the units I have purchased in the past, but they are cheap and this is a more budget based unit that I really shouldn't complain. The camera looks decent, and is a license plate mount which is good, because I didn't want to drill holes. I still need to finish the wiring, but testing it, the camera looks like it will more than do the trick.

Pros: Sound quality, on screen functions, Android Auto loads quickly, capacitive touchscreen.

Cons: Cluttered home screen, No charging cables (like Kenwood and JVC provide)

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

7 of 7 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from San Juan, PR on 10/8/2020

1997 Nissan Pathfinder

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit perfectly in my car, absolutely in love and totally recommend it!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Ankeny, IA on 10/6/2020

2005 Subaru Impreza Outback Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, camera is very buggy but don't really need it anyways

Pros:

Cons: Camera is buggy

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Melrose, MA on 10/6/2020

2012 Nissan Juke

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Boss BV850ACP system is very nice, especially for the price. Car dealer quoted $500 for a rear-view mirror backup camera install only, so getting a complete touchscreen multimedia system plus backup camera for around half the cost is a great deal. Of course, installation is not included. Instructions provided for the receiver were relatively straightforward. I definitely recommend ReadyHarness. It makes life much simpler. The pry tools are also a must have if you don't have them already. The instructions for backup camera installation, however, were pretty much non-existent, as other reviews have noted. I have no experience with car wiring so this caused some headaches, but Crutchfield technical support was extremely helpful. I must have spent an hour and a half or two hours total during a half dozen phone calls asking all sorts of questions, but they were always friendly and helpful. Definitely impressed with the technical support offered. Other reviews have noted wire length issues with the backup camera Video Out wire, but I did not have this issue with my 2012 Nissan Juke. Although, my car is probably close to the largest car that will not have this issue, as the wire didn't have more than a foot of remaining slack. Overall, the system is great and the technical support was fantastic.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Sanford, NC on 10/6/2020

2008 Toyota Camry Hybrid

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great all around

Crutchfield customer from Bruce Twp, MI on 10/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quick delivery, easy setup and a nice user friendly interface. Great update to the latest car audio technology.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Alameda, CA on 10/3/2020

2012 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well with my Toyota Corolla 2012

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Attica, MI on 9/30/2020

2011 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Boss Radio works great with my android phone and 2011 f150

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Daniels, WV on 9/30/2020

2010 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Just OK, too much money for the performance.

Crutchfield customer from GALION, OH on 9/29/2020

2010 Dodge Grand Caravan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Delivered July 3rd, now Sept 29th and the FM tuner is now doing whatever it wants. It seems to favor a particular station as it refuses to stay on the station you want. Of course warranty goes through Boss which I expect to not be very fun and I don't want a replacement anyway. It never did impress me. Start vehicle, put in reverse, camera will come on just before you put it back in drive - kind of slow to boot up. Not a deal killer, but annoying. It never sounded great though without lots of eq, and even then the stock radio still sounded better. Wish I had kept the 60 Crutchfield guarranty in mind, I would have traded it in long ago... Sigh....

Pros: Android Auto does work, Google needs to improve it though.

Cons: Somewhat slow to boot. Sound is "wimpy" as if the amplifiers just don't have the rating Boss claims. Stock radio sounded great at low and loud volumes.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Portchester, NY on 9/29/2020

2012 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio everything works as promised no issues absolutely love the Apple car play. Had all needed connections for my after Market amps for my speakers and sub. Great radio!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Fredericksburg, VA on 9/28/2020

2010 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very basic head unit. Gets the job done. If you have a truck wires for camera are not long enough.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Batavia, NY on 9/27/2020

2013 Chevrolet Malibu

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really a nice overall head unit

Pros: Works good

Cons: Only thing that was wrong was not a long enough RCA cable for backup camera

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great system, Great Service

Scott from Denver, CO on 9/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed the unit into my 2007 Sienna. It looks like it came from the factory. I now how the modern conveniences and can keep my van another 13 years. The install was painless with the help of the custom wire harness. I had a few questions and made three calls to Crutchfield support. The level of knowledge each support person left me was off the charts. I'm not used to tech support actually helping but in the case of Crutchfield, they really know the products and the solutions to any problems.

Pros: Does everything I expected.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Bedford, VA on 9/27/2020

2013 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Radio will not save settings

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 10/5/2020
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to this customer to help him further. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crappy radio

Guest from BIRMINGHAM, AL on 9/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked for 2 months and died

Pros: None

Cons: It sucks

Crutchfield response on 10/5/2020
We're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. If you purchased this product from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or give you information on the 3-year warranty of this receiver. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good Value Option

Crutchfield customer from Kokomo, IN on 9/24/2020

2011 Honda Element EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Inexpensive HU that ticks all the boxes I needed to update my 2011 Honda Element to modern infotainment. Easy to install with the Crutchfield master sheet. The backup cam has been a challenge. The provided RCA cord length is short, as described by other reviewers, but was literally just long enough for what I needed in the toaster. The LEDs on the cam are really bright--they are not IR (I must have missed that detail in the product description). You'll need to be mindful of people behind you when you use it. The backup cam instructions are abysmal, too... so, expect the scratch your head a bit. The BOSS interface is acceptable, and different than what is in the manual, which is OK, but again, left scratching my head at some of the features. I dont understand the need for the BOSS app to show up in CarPlay, it serves the same function as the home button on the left interface. The FM controls are not initially as intuitive as a standard HU, however, now that i am used to it, i prefer it. 90% of the time i will be using CarPlay, this stuff is not at all a concern for me. Overall, the units boot up time is much slower than I would have expected, and on rare occasions if i plug my iOS device in too quickly, the side controls stop functioning all together. NBD... I have the Maestro to control volume from the steering wheel.

Pros: Inexpensive Easy Install CarPlay

Cons: Boot Time RCA Cable Length Documentation from BOSS

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Radio headed places !

Crutchfield customer from Levittown, NY on 9/24/2020

2011 GMC Savana

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Inexpensive radio with great features ! Navigation through radio is excellent. Rear view camera works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

USB in back of unit

Michael from San Antonio, TX on 9/23/2020

2011 Ford F-150 FX4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pros- Inexpensive and has what I need. Back up cam is good, not sure why some say it's not. Cons- when needing to replace apple cord the usb plug is in the back of the unit and you must pull the Boss out to plug in a cord. Major pain in the rear. I would pay more to find a unit with usb in the front if I had it to do over again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Not an exact fit, even with added supplies

Crutchfield customer from Warner Robins, GA on 9/22/2020

2001 Oldsmobile Aurora

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am having to take to a professional because the radio plug is on the wrong side and the set up is draining my battery. Something is off with this. It is not an exact fit for my car as described.

Pros: Sound is good

Cons: Radio plug on wrong side for my car and wiring not included to make up for it.

Crutchfield response on 9/24/2020
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to this customer to help. We'll either help get the receiver installed and working properly, or set up a return for an exchange or refund.

1 of 2 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Fort Lauderdale, FL on 9/21/2020

2007 Buick Rendezvous

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a good product. I don't like it doesn't have HD radio so I don't can't listen to additional radio channels. The installation was easy. The wiring instructions were very clear. The only one that wasn't so clear was the rear view camera installation but that was easily figured out. No need to use the trigger wire on the RCA cable

Pros: Lots of features and fairly easy installation

Cons: No HD radio

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Perth Amboy, NJ on 9/21/2020

2003 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

To complicated to install

Pros: None

Cons: Fair worthy

Crutchfield response on 9/22/2020
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

2 of 4 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Brooklyn, NY on 9/21/2020

2011 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced factory stereo in 2011 ford ranger with the Boss BV850ACP an unmatched upgrade for the price. Came with rear view camera which hooked up easily. Everything I needed was recommend by Crutchfield and cane free with the purchase of the stereo

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Morganton, NC on 9/18/2020

2005 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice head unit. Sharp display and doesn't wash out from the sun, even with all windows down in my tundra. Can go louder than I would ever want to go. I can get to 40 45 and that's it for me. Not sure how much farther it goes. Haven't gotten around to hooking up the camera yet but I have no doubts that it'll be awesome as well.

Pros: Good size double din unit. Clear and crisp display. Extremely user friendly. Excellent price.

Cons: Not a fan of the Android auto app as it likes to override me when I force exit it. Can't seem to get the factory steering wheel controls to work. Would like to have better control over fade.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

I like it !

Crutchfield customer from Butte, MT on 9/18/2020

2006 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The media center is easy to use, works real well, The backup camera works great, day or night, very helpful and much safer that just using my mirrors, I like it !

Pros: All good.

Cons: No bad.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great radio

Crutchfield customer from Quincy, IL on 9/17/2020

2008 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio, instructions leave a little detail out, and wish there was more control over the bass and treble

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love it

Myles Hope from MOODY, AL on 9/16/2020

2004 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this radio so much! I got my mimis car after she sadly passed away. I wanted a way where I could listen to my music so I bought this radio to update my Toyota Corolla 2004. Its amazing and apple car play works great! The backup camera also was a life saver. Advice: don't watch YouTube videos. Just follow the instructions they send you and you will be good to go. Only took me two hours to install radio & backup camera.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Money well spent!

Crutchfield customer from Frankfort, KY on 9/16/2020

2012 Mazda CX-9

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent package for the money! The camera image is high quality. Love the EQ as well

Pros: Large display Versatile Good power without external amp Easy to use

Cons: Requires wired connection for Apple CarPlay Screen doesn't return home after delay

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Bluetooth connection failure

Crutchfield customer from Citrus Heights, CA on 9/13/2020

2004 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

2 days old and receiver connects and disconnect my phone Bluetooth check my phone ,no my phone , check wiring everything good ,im not even gonna bother calling Tech support ,for some Troubleshooting I already know, im tech person and this unit is a little over priced for what it is, camere resolution is ok for 25 dollar camera online , bottom line, put a little more money and buy something better ,Kenwood, alpine, Sony,

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 9/16/2020
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specilaist, AJ, reached out to this customer to help him further. We'll either help him get the receiver working the way it should, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

5 of 5 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Valrico, FL on 9/13/2020

2006 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Has the features I want at an affordable price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Tuscola, IL on 9/13/2020

2003 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great entry level deck to add backup camera to older vehicles.

Pros: Easy wiring

Cons: Careers wiring schematic not clear.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great system, be wary of cords

Crutchfield customer from West Richland, WA on 9/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing stereo, didn't take more than a day or so to figure out all the settings and how to find everything. Only issue was installing the backup camera with a cord that was 2 feet too short when it ran the length of the car.

Pros: Amazing screen graphics, just still not used to not having a dial volume but steering whee controls help with that.

Cons: Back up camera power cord with video connector isn't long enough from the trunk to the front. Cord is 16 ft, ordered another that is 20ft so it would reach.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Trinity, AL on 9/9/2020

2004 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome Radio!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Apex , NC on 9/8/2020

2011 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just installed this in my 2011 Toyota Corolla. Pretty good build quality. Screen inputs are a little laggy, but not too bad. Fairly straight forward installation. The only thing they don't tell you that I had to think of later was how to get the USB charging and Android Auto/Apple Carplay cables exposed to the dash. Also the backup camera works like a charm. Only bad thing about that is the warning banner that shows up at the top every time you back up. I understand why it's there, but it reduces the visibility of what you can see on the screen

Pros: - Easy to use - Fairly straight forward installation - Radio, bluetooth, back up camera, and Android Auto/Apple Carplay work like a charm

Cons: - No physical control knobs - Backup camera visibility hindered by warning message - Hard to access USB cables

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pretty good!

Crutchfield customer from Penngrove, CA on 9/7/2020

2006 Jeep Liberty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sweet little stereo and a great upgrade to stock stuff from 2006. I think these are a little larger though because it wouldn't fit the frame I bought with it, had to be trimmed. Also, a volume knob would be nice.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound

Ian from Queens, NY on 9/6/2020

2012 Mazda 5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I would rate this radio 5 stars but unable to get the Android auto to work, but the apple car play works. I don't believe it's the cable as it works with my other car radio.

Pros: Comes with back up camera

Cons: The USB cable should be on the front

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Nice fit

Crutchfield customer from Dade City, FL on 9/6/2020

2014 Dodge Grand Caravan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well and looks factory

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Don't love it, don't hate it

Crutchfield customer from Waco, TX on 9/6/2020

2007 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like this radio, and it's hard to complain for the price, but it has some annoying nuances that come along with it. For example, you have to reset the voice control volume on CarPlay every time the vehicle has been turned off. The backup camera that was included would not automatically engage when it was put into reverse (it would only work while in reverse but you had to select camera mode). Luckily Crutchfield was incredibly helpful with making sure my camera woes were not due to installation error. It's not a perfect radio, but it gets the job done and for the price I'm not sure there's anything better out there.

Pros: Nice looking double din with CarPlay

Cons: Backup camera

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Palm Coast, FL on 9/5/2020

2007 Nissan Frontier

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything went in well. I did have to buy an additional wire for the back up camera. It was 3' short. Wish it had come with a longer cord. When buying a unit it's nice to have everything you need and not have to buy additional components

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Silver Spring, MD on 9/3/2020

2003 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installation instructions VERY unclear.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Kensington, MD on 8/29/2020

2007 Nissan Frontier

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I get a green screen sometimes. Hope it doesn't continue. But I just turn off the car and turn it back on and it works great again. Tremendous value

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss

Crutchfield customer from Missouri City, TX on 8/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Boss with backup camera is a fantastic value for my 98 Buick. Fits perfect and pretty easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2008 Volvo s60

Crutchfield customer from Sherman, IL on 8/24/2020

2008 Volvo S60

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works way better than I expected, Crutchfield included all the parts I needed, the installation was a bit more complex than what their instructions implied, but me and my father figured it out by ourselves

Pros: Great sensitivity, easy to read

Cons: sometimes buggy with Apple Carplay but not enough to make me regret my purchase

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good Radio without the backup camera

Crutchfield customer from Belmont, NC on 8/22/2020

2009 Nissan Versa

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The radio is a 5-star but the backup camera is a 1 or 2 star. I'm using the CarPlay feature on the Boss BV850 and is works great. The camera lacks details for the proper connections and the parking guides are not adjustable enough to be helpful. There are two overlapping parking guides but you can only turn off one of them.

Pros: Fits perfectly.

Cons: The touch panel could be more responsive and the volume pads/controls should be larger. Also would like a custom adapter for a cleaner wiring. Need detailed instructions for the backup camera installation.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Belle Fourche, SD on 8/22/2020

2010 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great had to mod the dash a little but not a big deal

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Evington, VA on 8/18/2020

2005 Chevrolet TrailBlazer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

With Crutchfield it was an incredibly easy install. This was as close to plug and play as you will find. I wanted hands free in my old trailblazer as I found myself putting too many miles on my truck. This did the trick and at a great price to boot.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Shreveport, LA on 8/12/2020

2014 Ford F-150 STX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unable to get the Android Auto App to work

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 8/13/2020
We're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. If the problem continues and you'd like our help, please just reach out to our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Rapid City, SD on 8/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The stereo was easy to install. The wiring harness that was provided need a little tweaking but I was able to get everything to fit properly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Glitchy, no USB on radio face

Crutchfield customer from Lee, NH on 8/10/2020

2009 Suzuki SX4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Glitchy system when connected to rear camera. Our install went okay, no problems, but even though our camera works when you shift into reverse, it still says the camera isn't connected. Boss isn't helpful, as they don't reply on email. Radio quality is okay, CarPlay feature only works with cable, not wirelessly. I do not like that the USB cables are on the back of the radio, not on the face of the stereo, which is a pain.

Pros: Free install kit

Cons: Glitchy rear view camera software, USB cables in stereo are short and too short to access, have to cut into the dash, CarPlay only used with USB cable, not wirelessly.

Crutchfield response on 8/12/2020
We're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

2 of 2 found this helpful

2006 Solara Convertible

Crutchfield customer from Fort Wayne, IN on 8/9/2020

2006 Toyota Camry Solara

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit great. Looks great. Works well. Lots of wiring for my application but got through with no calls.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great package!

Crutchfield customer from Londonderry, NH on 8/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall, awesome product for the money (in comparison with others). It makes my 2006 truck feel like a brand new vehicle! I will give some pros and cons: Pros -CarPlay is awesome. If you are on the fence, go for it. Those wanting the Bluetooth CarPlay, I would take it or leave it. Most times your phone needs to be charged anyways so now I don't forget to charge it! $200+ for that feature was not worth it for me -Screen is really nice and easy to use/navigate and you can basically adjust any features or settings -Getting a backup camera included in package was the reason I picked the Boss package. Quality image Cons: -I find myself wanting a volume knob of sorts. I wish my steering wheel was compatible for buttons, because volume adjustment is a bit awkward on screen -As others have said, backup camera video cable is JUST long enough for a Toyota Tacoma, so I would imagine a truck any bigger wouldn't make it. Try to carefully route your wire before securing it. Remember- shortest distance between two points is the line between them-unless there's a gas tank in the way -Camera adjustment or calibration?! Granted my fault for relying on it like I do in my Prius, but first night used it at the gas station and it was way off. I am generally quite good at backing up and completely side-swiped the concrete poll that protects the gas kiosks. Overall, awesome package if your vehicle makes you feel like you've been left behind in the 20th century. Good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Fresno, CA on 8/8/2020

2006 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Stereo isn't bad for the money. The issue I had was trying to figure out the wiring of the back up camera.

Pros: Cheap, simple to use, Apply CarPlay and Android Auto together in one.

Cons: The back up camera took some time to figure out the wiring and installation. Instructions weren't very helpful.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good unit, decent camera, poor instructions.

christopher from SPOTSYLVANIA, VA on 8/8/2020

2003 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The unit itself is a good buy, especially when looking to upgrade an older vehicle to Apple CarPlay. No issues with the main unit, you get what you pay for. It could be better with more options; however, if you want better, you'll need to spend more money on a higher end unit. The camera quality is good and adds a great feature to a vehicle without a camera. The lack of informative directions for the camera wiring install was maddening. I was able to it figure out, yet there was no mention what to do with what appeared to be a power wire on the yellow video cable. (Apart from the power/ground connector to the red plug.) Turns out, it was a power wire; I tapped into the reverse circuit and it worked. There was barely enough length with the cord to run it from the license plate on the trunk to the unit in the dash. Because the license plate in mounted on the trunk lid, additional slack is needed in the wiring to accommodate the the trunk opening. Using the most direct route, through the trunk along the driver side to the dash, I just had enough room to make the connection. A vehicle longer than a 2003 Camry may have issues reaching the dash with this setup.

Pros: Low cost for Apple CarPlay and camera, decent unit with responsive tough screen.

Cons: Poor camera wiring instructions. Potentially short cord depending on install requirements.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good unit that could be Great

Crutchfield customer from Cleveland, OH on 8/8/2020

2006 Chevrolet Colorado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really enjoy the features of this unit. Great sound and tons of abilities to adjust the sound. Wish the USB ports were on the face instead of hardwired around back.

Pros: Sound quality, responsive touch screen, Apple Carplay

Cons: USB ports on the rear.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Terrible sound and hardware quality

Denver from Bremerton, WA on 8/8/2020

1998 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had a cheap Duel head unit I got 10 years ago with way better sound quality then this! Very disappointed! And I can't get it to stop changing stations, it's about every 2-3 minutes it automatically changes back to the same station every time.

Pros: Nothing

Cons: Everything

Crutchfield response on 8/10/2020
Denver, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Essex, MD on 8/4/2020

2004 GMC Envoy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice for the price. Came as described purchased the pre connected wiring harness and was just connected the plugs.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Park Ridge, IL on 8/2/2020

2011 Chevrolet Traverse

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The head unit is great. Easy install in a 2011 Chevy Traverse. It is about 3/4 the size of the original, so fitting the units and wires back in is tight. The only reason this gets a 4 star rating is the back-up camera. The instructions and terrible and the cord was just long enough to be hidden under the side board. It is a great upgrade. CarPlay is great.

Pros: Easy install on the head

Cons: Lack of instructions for the camera

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good overall unit

Crutchfield customer from Chesapeake, VA on 8/2/2020

2008 Chevrolet Express

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought it for my Chevy work van which did not have a working radio for years. Good working unit overall and i am happy with purchase. The cons, as others reviews mention are the screen is dim in bright daylight and wiring the backup camera, both of which are no big deal to me. There are no instructions on how to power the backup camera so I had to call customer service and they gave me instructions which are different than ones written in the reviews. I still used my own different method: I got a 12V power supply adapter online and plugged it in to my power inverter.

Pros: price, features, support

Cons: kinda dim, backup camera install

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Robert from Bothell, WA on 7/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit is great. Looks good in the truck. However the radio controls are not intuitive and the manual is pathetic. I cannot figure out how to reorder the presets. I listen to only about 4 stations and want only those set. One got set to #7 and it's not at all clear how to make it #1. More importantly is the lead from the camera is too short. It only reached to the floor near the front edge of the front door. I tried to use a female to female coupler and a good quality rca cable from my stereo but it wouldn't carry the signal. I'm assuming is that the signal is too weak to overcome the added resistance of the coupler. Crutchfield knew what vehicle I have yet didn't provide all of the necessary components. And, they don't carry female to male rca cable! Had to order one online. The wires to power the camera are "human hair" gauge at best. There's no reason they're that thin. Tech support did help with my misunderstanding that I would lose the "press to talk" button on the steering wheel and factory microphone. That's OK as I use voice commands on my phone. Was a surprise though and its not spelled out in the description. Also, the wiring literature specifically asked if I wanted to retain ONStar - I didn't so bought that harness - but the press to talk still goes to ONStar. Why ask if it doesn't matter? Once installed I'm OK with the radio. Sounds fine. Screen is clear. The price is good. Don't think I'd buy again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Satisfied customer

Crutchfield customer from Waterbury, CT on 7/28/2020

2009 Honda Fit Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this unit for my 09 Honda Fit with the plug and play harness and let me tell you, the simplest mod I had ever done! For the money, you can't really complain about the product! It does everything right for the price point!

Pros: Budget-friendly Apple carplay Comes with microphone and camera

Cons: No volume knob Peak brightness isn't bright enough on a sunny day ( still a stellar product for the price)

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Owensboro, KY on 7/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Apple play is definitely worth the extra few bucks

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

John's 2010 honda accord crosstour

John from KANNAPOLIS, NC on 7/27/2020

2010 Honda Accord Crosstour

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Simple to wire. All components worked great. Radio features are amazing. Great replacement radio with touch screen and backup camera.

Pros: Great value

Cons: Need wire connectors standard

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Lagrange, GA on 7/25/2020

1995 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to wire. Works and sounds great. Camera has a clear view and was easy to wire. Overall I am very pleased with this unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

great unit

Crutchfield customer from Cape Coral, FL on 7/24/2020

2009 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit, easy install, would have given 5 stars but the video camera wire was about 4ft short (and it was run in the suggested way) so I had to buy an extension cable

Pros: the easiest install ever

Cons: video cable was too short

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Zebulon, NC on 7/21/2020

2014 Dodge Grand Caravan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, pretty easy to install and the wiring conversion list they send is awesome. Backup camera is crystal clear. Only down side is there is not a volume dial it is just the touch screen or the steering wheel controls. That just takes some getting used to.

Pros: Easy to install, clear picture, great sound

Cons: No volume dial

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Don't use it for the radio

Crutchfield customer from Southaven, MS on 7/19/2020

2010 Nissan Titan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to use, good sound with the Bluetooth and USB. But the radio reception would have to improve greatly to be considered very bad. None of the local stations on FM has good reception but the AM band sounds like it's trying to pick up a station from several hundred miles away. It will not tune to the next active station at all because the reception is that bad.

Pros: USB and Bluetooth sound very clear, plenty of volume.

Cons: Radio reception is abysmal.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from San Juan Capo, CA on 7/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

excellent product

Pros: awesome sound

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Powder Springs, GA on 7/14/2020

2000 Nissan Maxima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with this stereo. Bought it to replace the radio in my son's 2000 maxima. He is able to use apple CarPlay now and is happy with the quality! Great buy!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from SANTA CLARA, UT on 7/14/2020

2004 Toyota Camry Solara

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've always been very skeptical about aftermarket stereo. the reason is because they can be very unresponsive or they come with some stupid feature that will annoy the crap of you. for a moment after installation i though this boss stereo was going to be one of them, however after going through the settings and updating everything on it. it has become a perfect stereo, on of the best by far worth my money. i only wished i would have done this to my older truck it would have been perfect. no for the not so great. the camera i just wished it would have been a different type of camera something more flushed to the vehicle on my solara it doesn't really work as it should as the location for the license plate is way too low therefore the camera sits way too low to the ground making the markings unusable. i had to do some bypass on the wiring one for the camera and one for the phone/car app/ other than that i highly recommend this set. Crutchfield provides everything needed to complete a clean installation.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Murrells Inlet, SC on 7/12/2020

2004 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Kenneth from Hampton, VA on 7/11/2020

2007 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Read the reviews about the backup camera! The instructions are pretty useless. If you wire the red and black wires on the yellow RCA into your reverse lights, you do not have to turn on the camera on the head unit, it will come on when the car is put in reverse. First day with the install, but so far, very happy. One other oopsie, don't forget it has a beauty ring on the facepiece that has to come off to fit in the DIN adaptor, for my Jeep Wrangler anyway.

Pros: big screen, fairly easy to navigate

Cons: directions are lacking.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Tucson , AZ on 7/10/2020

2007 Chevrolet Impala

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great and it's nice to have phone connectivity again. I was a little worried bc the installer stated that Boss products are known for buttons to stop working for no reason.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Too many issues

Scott from Prescott, AZ on 7/9/2020

2014 Subaru XV Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really regret buying this receiver. The display is very dim, almost unusable in daytime. The biggest problem is that the CarPlay will drop out for no reason. You have to unplug your phone and plug is back in. It does it two different phones so it is not a problem with the phones. One annoying thing it does is not remembering the state of the mute function. If you mute the receiver, turn off the car, when you start the car again, it is not muted. The radio is not very sensitive, even in DX mode. Stations are weaker than the stock radio. The only positive I can say about it is the bezel was a very good match for my car.

Pros: Bezel matches dash

Cons: Display is dim. CarPlay drop-outs Does not remember mute state Radio is very poor

Crutchfield response on 7/13/2020
Scott, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good setup for the price

Crutchfield customer from Chesapeake, VA on 7/9/2020

2012 Honda Civic EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased this setup for a 2012 Civic. Overall good experience with a few minor flaws. Head unit has good inputs, clean lines, responsive touch screen, decent build quality and for what i want it for works out well for the price point. It's an Apple CarPlay upgrade for a teenagers car. The biggest con is the backup camera. The supplied RCA cable is barely long enough to be used in a Civic. If you have a larger car, good luck as you'll be buying an extension. The head unit has the ability to use the camera without the vehicle in reverse but the camera requires constant power for this function. Sadly if you hardwire the camera for constant power the little LED lights remain on all the time which is annoying for drivers behind you at night. Crutchfield tech support was awesome trying to figure out a work around but unfortunately it wasn't doable.

Pros: Price Comes with camera Customizable Display

Cons: Cheap camera RCA camera cable is short

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Good value and easy to use. Easy to dial-in the settings.

Crutchfield customer from St Petersburg, FL on 7/6/2020

2007 Mercedes-Benz R-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall I like it, I just wish the screen would get a little brighter in my car. In fairness, my car has big windows and a light interior.

Pros: Easy to use interface. Easy settings menu

Cons: Wish the screen would be get a little brighter in day time driving.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Jackson, MO on 7/5/2020

2004 Chevrolet Avalanche

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great

Pros: Was a ease to install

Cons: Video cable was almost too short, had to plan out it's routing to ensure that it was going to work.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Westminster, MD on 7/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Boss is a great product for the price. Installed easy and the camera is very good. I have 2 of these one in Chevy Silverado and the other in a Jeep Patriot. Only thing is the camera wire could be a little longer. My only tip before install is have an RCA extension for the camera.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Rockdale, TX on 7/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Seems to be solid radio only issue is camera cable is only 16' long Not long enough for a 4 door pick up had to order another cable to complete install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

4 speaker hookup only

Crutchfield customer from Bloomington, IL on 7/1/2020

2005 Mercury Montego

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

only pairs to 4 speakers even though it was picked for my 6 speaker vehicle???

Pros:

Cons: 4 speaker hookup only

Crutchfield response on 7/7/2020
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to this customer to let him know it's actually normal for this installation package, and really all installation packages, to match up to four channels only. In this system there's a stock amp that drives the additional two channels in the vehicle, that amp gets signal in parallel with the rear channels, so only four channels are needed. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great affordable stereo.

Sean from Traverse City, MI on 6/30/2020

2007 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this stereo. One of few that offer a backup camera with it. Camera image is good quality and not too hard to install. Came with free adapters from crutchfield to make installation a breeze. Android Auto is amazing and definitely something every modern phone user should have in their car. Image quality is outstanding and the built in amplifier makes good use of your stock speakers in your vehicle.

Pros: affordable, good picture, easy to install, comes with camera

Cons: volume lowers when in reverse, to get camera while in reverse splicing required.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Fairview, TX on 6/30/2020

1999 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome upgrade for my 99 tacoma as it brought me into the carplay era and added a backup camera with very easy installation.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

ALAMEDA

ron from ALAMEDA on 6/30/2020

2007 Honda Odyssey

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just like what someone pointed out earlier, the camera install on this unit is horrible/inadequate. I wish I read his review prior to this because it would have saved me so much time. YOU NEED TO DO THIS: - the video wire (yellow with red dangling wires on both ends) need to be connected as follows. On the head unit side, attach the RCA cable to the reverse camera input... it is not the same one as the camera input on the back of the head unit. Then connect red wire to reverse camera input lead (I think it's the purple one... it is labeled). On the camera side, connect the red wire to the positive terminal of the back-up light (essentially connecting it to the positive power lead of the camera). I think the head unit needs to have a voltage signal that the car is in reverse so it functions automatically. I did not see this in the instructions and had to stumble into it. READ THIS POINT before doing the install if you're thinking about buying this unit.

Pros: - great features for the price

Cons: - poor instructions - camera integration to the head unit poorly defined

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Hoover, AL on 6/29/2020

2007 Honda Odyssey

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product is ok but the wires it has are not long enough for a van. Also, it didnt include a cable to connect to the parking brake wire. Overall its an average.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Another Good recommendation for a new Stereo from Crutchfield....

Crutchfield customer from Lafayette, IN on 6/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We are still learning about our new TOY....but so far, the installation and setup was great!

Pros: Installation was fairly straightforward for my vehicle. Sales Associate GRANT was great. I will definitely shop with Crutchfield again!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Princeton, NC on 6/24/2020

2002 Toyota MR2 Spyder

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install. Fits the stock opening on my 02 MR2 spyder well. Some settings I wish could change to my preference, like the audio being nearly muted when reversing with the back up camera

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great value

Crutchfield customer from Alpharetta, GA on 6/22/2020

2007 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good unit. Backup cam is excellent for new driver

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great Value

Crutchfield customer from Natick, MA on 6/21/2020

2010 Honda Accord EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfectly. Was easy to install. Put into a 2010 Accord for kid. Have them back up cam, hands free and apple play for nav. Great bargain. Audio quality is good. Note that you must connect the power lead on the antenna adaptor for reception. From what I read, there is an amp on the antenna. Also note that the outer trim on the radio screen can come off. If you are finding the radio doesn't fit in the dash, gently wiggle the trim around the radio screen and it will slide off. That's not in the directions and was the only point of frustration during the install.

Pros: Great value and functionality. Easy install. Solid audio performance.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great radio for my Elantra!

Crutchfield customer from Winnie, TX on 6/16/2020

2012 Hyundai Elantra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Such a great radio! Works flawlessly! Also, the backup camera is high quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 4 found this helpful

Great system, very challenging installation

Crutchfield customer from Delmar, NY on 6/15/2020

2007 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like this system and am very happy with it now that I've installed it. But let me warn you, unless you've installed a backup camera before, prepare for doing some extensive research to find out how to do it. The directions for installing the camera were awful. 1. I had to figure out that the red and black wires at the end of the black/DC power cable needed to be spliced into the wires of one of the backup lights. Then the camera worked but only IF I pressed the camera icon on the screen. That wouldn't do. 2. So I figured out what the red wires dangling off both ends of the signal cable (with the yellow jacks) were for - I attached one to the head unit's purple "reverse" wire and spliced the other end into the reverse light (along with the other wires). Then, FINALLY the camera went on automatically when I shifted into reverse. I exclaimed a loud "Praise the Lord!" once everything worked because it was a very annoying process. Now that I've done it I get it and could easily install another one - but the learning curve was very steep. So - it was a good buy, and a great product but buyer beware of a challenging install. (I didn't even mention the pulling of all the plastic trim to run the wire back to the trunk, feeding the camera wire through the license plate lamp hole, etc.!).

Pros: Good sound and easy interface, easy Apple CarPlay and Bluetooth connections.

Cons: Installation was very challenging.

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

Android Auto, USB cord useless!!

Crutchfield customer from Poway, CA on 6/15/2020

2005 Nissan Xterra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The position of the apple car play and USB charger leave it stuffed inside my dashboard. What in the world?? I had to add an extension and I only had one. It should have been integrated to the front on the face. Very stupid design. Is there something I'm missing??

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 6 found this helpful

Radio

Crutchfield customer from Richlands, VA on 6/14/2020

2006 Mitsubishi Eclipse

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love it just wish the android auto and CarPlay features were wireless but all and all I'm happy with this radio

Pros: Backup camera great sound easy to use

Cons: Wired CarPlay and android auto

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great product

Crutchfield customer from Ocala, FL on 6/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great head unit. Android auto works well which is the reason I bought this model.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Lake Charles, LA on 6/11/2020

2012 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Good head unit with many features

Jason from Scotts Valley, CA on 6/9/2020

2008 Nissan Frontier

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought and installed this recently and have had it in my Nissan Frontier for about a week. It is part of a Father's Day sound upgrade after my 9-year-old JVC unit failed a few weeks ago. I chose this unit because of the features and price for a base unit on which I could build a decent system. I have ordered a Kicker amp and a powered subwoofer to add into the mix and drive my Pioneer speakers (50 watt RMS/100 watt peak) that are a couple years old. This Boss unit is a step up from my old JVC. It has all the connectivity for external devices (my 256Gb thumb drive, iPhone, and Bluetooth) all of which work well with this head unit. Sound is as good as can be expected, at 320 watts max (80 x 4). I'm using it now with an older smaller subwoofer, and it is nice and full and gets as loud as my leathery noise-damaged eardrums want. The sound is clear, and the EQ options let me tailor the sound to exactly what I want. For me, the bass of the sub is required, but smaller spaces might be fine with the internal amp alone. The microphone for the hands-free calling is huge, but very clear. The old JVC mic was noisy and distorted easily. This one was test-called while cruising at highway speeds with windows down, and calls are crystal clear on both ends. I installed the backup camera using the included RCA-style wiring, camera mount and power wires, and the wire reached from the rear bumper to the head unit of my crew cab long bed with a few inches to spare.

Pros: Two USB inputs for Apple Car Play/Android and USB drive Intuitive graphical menu interface Speaker-level and RCA outputs and dedicated non-faded sub out Many ways to customize and tweak sound Very good hands-free microphone sound Customizable button colors to match gauge cluster Backup camera!

Cons: Low(ish) screen resolution Touchscreen-only interface takes getting used to Long-feeling boot time if using large USB storage

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Rockledge, FL on 6/8/2020

2002 Nissan Frontier

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything works really nice looks great and sounds great

Pros: Cost and the camera is great

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, OH on 6/8/2020

2013 Honda Ridgeline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Disappointed - regret not spending a little more money to get a better product. The display is hard to see during the day, even after adjusting the display settings. I should have paid attention to the other reviews that called that out as well. CBackup camera is loose and frequently swivels out of position, even after tightening. Overall disappointed.

Pros: Cost friendly

Cons: - display hard to see

Crutchfield response on 6/10/2020
We're sorry you're disappointed with your receiver. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Montpelier, OH on 6/7/2020

2007 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit works very good. It took a couple of calls to tech support to get the wiring correct but it was resolved. Very helpful and friendly Crutchfield tech support staff also.

Pros: Features for the price including backup camera.

Cons: No volume knob, only touch control.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great radio

Nikki from Ocala, FL on 6/5/2020

2013 Ford Transit Connect

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this to replace a very basic factory radio in an older camper van. I got spoiled by all the upgraded technology in my new car and wanted the same in my older model. This radio has everything I need and was fairly easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 6/3/2020

2002 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product for price -

Pros: Apple Car Play

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Amazing

Benjamin from ATLANTA, TX on 6/1/2020

2003 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing product easy to set up great instruction.will purchase this product again

Pros: Camera /usb /hands free /apple car play

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV850ACP Package

Crutchfield customer from Wimberley, TX on 5/30/2020

2007 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Head unit works great. Easy installation.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

TOP