Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Boss BV960NV

Navigation receiver

MFR # BV960NV

Boss BV960NV

Boss BV960NV

Navigation receiver

MFR # BV960NV

164 reviews
View this product

good for first year

Crutchfield customer from versailles ohio on 12/1/2019

2002 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ive had two of these now. first one the radio receiver was going out after 2 years so warrantied it and received a new one and now have had this one for 1-2 years and it freezes up here and there on streaming and never did before till here recent.

Pros: streaming, eq settigns, camera, easy to use

Cons: starts acting up after 1-2 years, does not have the best volume

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Crutchfield customer from Orem, UT on 11/24/2019

2000 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great stereo, takes a little while to load GPS and address entry is a little cumbersome, but it is a solid product. hands free calling is very nice - clear sound, sensitive microphone. works great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Radio

Crutchfield customer from Champlin, MN on 9/30/2019

2013 Jeep Compass

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm loving this Boss BV960NV. The stock radio in my 2013 Jeep Compass died on me and I wanted to replace it with something better. The stock radio had nothing but AM/FM and a CD player (and Aux input). It had no nav, no fancy screen, nothing. I wanted a unit with navigation and one that would link via blue tooth with my phone. I also didn't want to worry about having to track down the extra stuff I would need. Crutchfield and the BV960NV delivered! The included GPS antenna was easy to install and Crutchfield helpfully links the extra stuff you will need. The install was a breeze!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Crutchfield customer from Manchester, ME on 8/19/2019

2007 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great upgrade to the factory radio, works fantastic!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great

Crutchfield customer from Atlantic City, NJ on 7/18/2019

2015 Ram Promaster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Is a gread product, exactly like description. Very easy to install with the right harwardre included in the same package. Thanks alot to make everything easy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Crutchfield customer from Camp Verde, AZ on 7/3/2019

2007 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

haven't had a trip to take yet but it seams to work really well thanks

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Crutchfield customer from Lynbrook, NY on 6/19/2019

2008 Toyota Sequoia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great unit,good instructions,and great support

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Crutchfield customer from Dayton, OH on 6/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The built in microphone is not sensitive enough to use as a hands free phone as promoted. No control and no option to add an external.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Factory backup camera unable to be integrated

Eric from Louisville on 6/7/2019

2016 Kia Sedona

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not happy. The unit isnt bad but the only reason I bought was because it stated that the backup camera would remain working. After speaking with tech support it turns out that is not true. Now my wife is mad at me.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Crutchfield customer from El Paso, TX on 5/29/2019

2008 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hello, I received my stereo in two days and installed it without any issues. The stereo works great and I was able to use an ebay steering wheel control as an additional upgrade. I am extremely satisfied with my purchase but what really blew my mind is the customer service I received. I was going to purchase a Dual Electronics double din stereo from Walmart until I called Crutchfield and spoke with Buster. His knowledge and experience convinced me to buy the Boss system. About a week later I received a thank you card from Crutchfield and Buster. Who does that anymore? I took a chance on Crutchfield and they did not disappoint. I give you two massive thumbs up and THANK YOU for keeping customer service alive. Tony El Paso, Texas

Pros: Stereo is crisp and loud. Video is clean and clear.

Cons: Small screen

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great product for use price point

Crutchfield customer from Milford, OH on 5/26/2019

2004 Nissan 350Z

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this head unit with the expectation that it was a cheap navigation radio. I was very surprised once getting the unit installed with the setup of the unit. The touch screen responds well (once calibrated) and does not require an excess amount of force like other cheap touchscreen devices. The installation was very easy and straight forward with every wire coming out of the head unit labeled. Overall worth the money at this price point!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

WILMINGTON

Shannon from WILMINGTON on 5/1/2019

1998 Chevrolet Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good Value. Mounted in 1998 Chevy Suburban k1500 Unit mounted easily with suggested modifications. All features are easy to use and intuitive. Sound is really good with stock speakers (1998) Recommend this unit.

Pros: Easy to mount Easy to use Sounds good Screen size is good

Cons: Navigation system chooses odd routes at times. Navigation voice is a little difficult to understand.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Crutchfield customer from Winfield, IA on 4/9/2019

2008 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Over all a good product. Gps works great! I placed the antenna under the dash behind the head unit and it has no double picking up a signal. Would recommend to anyone

Pros: Gps, back up camera, radio, looks great

Cons: Not at thins time

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Michael from Bolingbrook , Illinois on 4/7/2019

1999 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The unit is great and easy to install and looks great in the dashboard after the recommended changes.

Pros: Easy to install and great on the eyes while driving and listening to the unit.

Cons: Unable to obtain a replacement ready harness that is defective when delivered.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Awesome unit great price

Doug from Goshen, IN on 4/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great nav great price!

Pros: Fit my ford perfectly

Cons: I didn't get it sooner

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Crutchfield customer from Stanley, NC on 3/24/2019

2008 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to install. Perfect fit in a 2008 Corolla. GPS works great. Bluetooth works great with my Samsung S9.

Pros:

Cons: Sometimes the screen is hard to see. Contrast could be better.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Clear picture, better price

Cody from Schenectady, NY on 3/11/2019

2007 Nissan Frontier

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installation was a breeze. The directions were clear enough and it fits just as well as my factory radio in my 2007 Frontier. Bluetooth seems to be working reliably. GPS signal is clear and the maps are very accurate. The GPS screen is a little bright at night but it doesn't bother me. Simple setup and it brought my truck up to date with the modern technology. Would easily recommend it to anyone looking for a good unit at a great price.

Pros: Easy to use, clear instructions.

Cons: Screen is a little bright at night and there's seemingly no night mode.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

It's all good !

John from Yorktown, VA on 3/9/2019

1997 Ford E Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio and decent GPS for the money. I must find good value here because this is the third BV960NV I've purchased and installed in a 2001 Ford F-250 , 1997 Ford E150, and a 2007 Subaru Forester. My friend liked it and he ordered one as well. Crutchfield, good products they stand behind , and helpful service if you need it ! Thanks . PS I would have given it 5 stars bet everything has room for improvements.

Pros: Being able to use your cell through the Boss is a very useful and help you keep your focus on driving safely.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

William from Elkins, AR on 2/17/2019

2005 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Touch screen is very responsive, gps seems to work well at least locally. I will test on my next road trip just how well the gps works. I wish the screen had an auto dimming function but that's not that big of a deal to me. Sometimes it takes a minute to pick up the amazon music streaming from my phone hence the 4 star rating, but overall it works very well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Decent Bang for the Buck!

Crutchfield customer from Elk River, MN on 1/22/2019

2002 Honda CRV LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Decent product for the price. Was easy to install and has a plenty of features. Fit nicely in my 2002 Honda CRV.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, SC on 1/16/2019

2003 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome radio my 17 yr old loves it easy to navigate

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Amazing system

Brandi from Allentown, PA on 1/16/2019

2007 Isuzu Ascender

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this for my boyfriend! He needed a new radio for his old izuzu ascender! He absolutely loves it. The extra money to put the wiring together was worth it! Thank you!!

Pros: Touchscreen. Navigation. AM/FM

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Crutchfield customer from Hagerstown, MD on 12/25/2018

2009 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far very pleased. In the process of installing the unit. Crutchfield very helpfull with all my questions and tech support.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Outstanding

Austin from Cocoa, FL on 12/19/2018

2017 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits and works amazing in my Jeep Wrangler ! Great product

Pros: Price, quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Bluetooth stopped working

Shaun from Greenville, SC on 12/10/2018

2009 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

the radio CD player in GPS work just fine on the device however the Bluetooth became quite spotty and stopped working altogether. So I called boss customer service they are willing to send out a brand new replacement so I will install this one just to see if it works properly and let you know

Pros: Great sound nice looking unit amazing warranty

Cons: Poor Bluetooth

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Crutchfield customer from Jacksonville, FL on 12/2/2018

2007 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Equipment shipped quick and was in great condition upon arrival.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Nice unit

Tony from Denver, CO on 11/29/2018

2002 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit turned out to be nicer than I thought. Very happy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Tim from Wyoming, MI on 11/5/2018

2006 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really nice radio, brought my old 2006 Ford Super Duty in to modern times. Really easy to install, especially with Crutchfield's ready made harness!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Crutchfield customer from Springfield, VA on 9/30/2018

2014 Nissan Rogue Select

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

VERY GOOD

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

GPS does not work properly

Crutchfield customer from Fond Du Lac, WI on 8/29/2018

2003 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Gps it's work but it's doesn't work properly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 8/29/2018
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team reached out to this customer to help him further. We'll either help him get the receiver GPS working properly, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

16 of 17 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Crutchfield customer from Bronx, NY on 8/22/2018

2005 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Before and after photos. Installation was a breeze with the wiring harness adapter harness. the only thing left to do is to run the cable for the rear view back up camera.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Crutchfield customer from Sevierville, TN on 8/21/2018

2007 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good so far. Only been in for couple weeks.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Robert from Chambersburg, PA on 8/12/2018

2011 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have had this unit for 5 months and the rear speaker out quit working and the aux in pushed inside the unit. Gps needs work and the fm tuner is weak.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 8/13/2018
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team reached out to Robert to help him further. We'll either help him get the receiver working the way it should, or help him with the 3-year warranty on his Boss receiver.

5 of 5 found this helpful

Good radio, poor GPS

Wayne from Byron, GA on 7/11/2018

2002 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The radio and hands free work great. I like the functions and touch screen. Unfortunately the GPS is poor. Took a trip and it had me going an hour and 20 minutes out of my way. Lucky I knew where I was going on the first trip. I have rented cars with GPS in them and they seem just as bad. Nothing like a good Garman hand held.

Pros: Radio functions Hands free mic

Cons: GPS Lots of cutting for my truck that I didn't expect.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Fantastic unit, definitely worth it

Ray from Port Jervis, NY on 7/5/2018

2008 Suzuki SX4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great head unit for the price, looks amazing, all the functions work flawlessly. GPS took about 22 seconds and signaled right up to show my location. Would definitely be ordering another one for my daughters car.

Pros: GPS, apps, huge display. Functionality.

Cons: Small door for usb and sad card, flimsy, will break easily if not used with care.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Crutchfield customer from Ponce, PR on 5/3/2018

2008 Porsche Boxster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exellent product!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

1 Year Update

Gary from Bradenton, FL on 5/2/2018

2005 Ford Escape Hybrid

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything still works perfectly after one year. You just have to get used to how it works- and adjust. How else to get new(er) technology- backup camera, bluetooth, GPS, hands free, and USB functionality to play Audio CDs- For this price? A steal. Even updated the maps to Dec 2017 for $29 bucks or something like that. No problems here. A detailed reading of instructions, calibrating screen, changing background, etc. improve many of the issues some reviews complain about.

Pros: Everything still works.

Cons: Screen dim in bright sun- but just follow the voice nav.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Crutchfield customer from Eagle River, AK on 5/1/2018

2012 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice radio and navigation display. Great for hands free telephone calls.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Crutchfield customer from Oakland, ME on 4/22/2018

2007 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product for the price. Highly recommend, easy installation.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Died after 15 months

Jim from Pennsylvania on 4/20/2018

2009 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased Dec 2016. Installation no issues. Stopped working March 2018. No sound output. Would not detect navigation signal. Worked great while it worked. Disappointed it died after such a short time.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

15 of 17 found this helpful

Good Product

Jon from Williamsville, NY on 4/16/2018

2013 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great ProEasy Install with great support, Sound is Good GPS not bad Bluetotoh just OK

Pros: Easy Install, Good Price Point

Cons: Bluetooth just OK

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Russ from desloge, MO on 4/5/2018

2006 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

VERY pleased with this product. Excellent product for the money and highly recommended. Crutchfield makes it so easy to purchase from them and with all the extras provided why would anybody go anywhere else?

Pros: greay value

Cons: none so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Good value.

Nicholas from Longmont, CO on 4/4/2018

2009 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good bang for the buck.

Pros: Price, inputs and outputs. Good screen resolution. Bluetooth and GPS. Plays video files and DVDs.

Cons: No voice control, USB door is a joke, don't understand why it's even there. GPS voice is bad. Internal mic is not great and picks up all road noise.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Shane from Huntington, IN on 3/22/2018

2000 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Operating flawless

Pros: Good sound quality

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Jom from Northwood, NH on 3/13/2018

2009 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great system, still learning how to operate it but it has been fun. I think new speakers will be next !!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Crutchfield customer from Willis, TX on 3/11/2018

2013 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far this has been a very nice system. All the apps are very useful and pretty easy to use.

Pros: Installed easily and fit just right. System is very good.

Cons: The NAV direction needs to be easier and a little less vague.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Scott merritt from Alexandria, KY on 3/11/2018

2008 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's is a great deal everything. Works exactly the way it should love it !

Pros: I recommend getting the harness make it so easy installed in 30 min

Cons: I have none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Crutchfield customer from Hattiesburg, MS on 3/6/2018

1997 Honda Accord EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This radio has everything you need. Good quality and my daughter loves it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good Value

Ron from Juneau, AK on 3/3/2018

2004 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This receiver is great! All of the features work exactly as intended and they sound great. A huge upgrade over the pioneer deck we had in before. I really appreciate the ease of use and simplicity. Also the eq is great for changing your sound on the fly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Stephanie from Trumbull, CT on 2/20/2018

2011 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Haven't been able to get the usb to work but other than that I love it! The bluetooth can get choppy sometimes but for the price I can't complain!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Inexpensive in a good way!

Pete from Florence, OR on 2/6/2018

2010 Toyota Matrix

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like the Boss BV960NV. It's for a 2010 Toyota Matrix. It's amazing how much this does. I like the Bluetooth, the GPS does fine, it p/ups up all different types of music which I put on a burned CD, the DVD works great and I'm still discovering things. It is true though, you need to turn it down as the radio will come on when you turn your car on in the morning. It's not speaker busting loud, but you may not need that 2nd cup of coffee. I'm going to get one for me 2012 Tundra now. I'll get the rear camera model for that one. I had someone install it as I'm too busy to try to do it. The only issue, the molding still has a 1/4" gap and I'm thinking the installer wasn't doing it on his best day. I can only see it if I'm looking down on it.

Pros: Can't touch that price! Bluetooth for my iPhone, acts as a telephone too. Equalizer is good. Loud enough for a small car

Cons: Radio comes on rather loud after starting car.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good for the money

Shane from Corbin, KY on 1/29/2018

2008 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product overall, but the Navigation is lacking. When I first got it I put in my work address from home and it wanted to take back roads, through neighborhoods etc. when there was a hwy between one point to another. I've updated the map and get the same thing at times. Going to read up and see if there are any settings I'm overlooking. Right now it's set on fasted route.

Pros: Looks great. Many features for the price

Cons: Navigation isn't great.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Crutchfield customer from Alaska on 1/26/2018

2007 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the perfect stereo for a low-budget, multi-use head unit. You're not spending a fortune, but can have Navigation, DVD, Bluetooth, and so much more! I recommend. And nothing beats Crutchfield for install kits that fit perfectly and customer service that is second to none!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Crutchfield customer from Lake Hiawatha, NJ on 1/23/2018

2001 Toyota Echo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install and looks great in my vehicle. I bought I to upgrade an older Toyota factory radio and it works really good. The Crutchfield team did the connections previously so that the install was super easy. The unit itself is easy to use and the Navigation is awesome. Overall a great buy for the price!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Crutchfield customer from York, PA on 1/21/2018

2005 Honda Element

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a very intuitive unit that is easy to navigate through.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

ALAIN from North Miami, FL on 12/24/2017

2013 Honda Civic LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

it's great!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Crutchfield customer from Florence, KY on 12/9/2017

2011 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Meh.....

Pros:

Cons: You have to type in Directions for Navigation.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 9 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

David from San Antonio, TX on 11/8/2017

2002 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything just 'works' on this budget unit, which I think makes it a good deal. I needed a bluetooth radio with navigation. Anything else was not really necessary as I knew my daughter would stream most of the time. This does those things well. Little clunky interface, but it works fine

Pros: Cost. Quality of construction seems on par with kenwood and pioneer units I've recently installed at 4 times the price.

Cons: Instructions lacking. Pretty basic interface with some 'clunkyness' getting around screens.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Not ready for prime time!!!

Gary W from Grants Pass, OR on 10/26/2017

2010 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this product from a retailer other then Crutchfield. This is without a doubt the worst stereo I have ever purchased. The problems with this unit are numerous. First off, even though you can set the default volume for this unit, it still comes on at a volume of it's own choice, more often than not, loud enough to startle you. Secondly, often you must touch the screen two or three times for it to recognize that it was touched. More often, the delay between the time you touch it, and he time it actually does something is just long enough that you think it needs to be touched again. When playing music From SD, it wants an album cover JPG for the display, but then the music player tries to open the JPG as a movie and then the safety warning comes on and you have to remove the SD card, shut the stereo off and then restart the stereo and reinsert the SD card to get back to your music. Often while in navigation and listening to music from SD, the unit will act like it is running out or RAM and has to buffer the song from the SD card. The volume nob reacts very very slowly, turning the volume down with the nob is an exercise of about 20 turns to drop the volume 10 points. I could go on and on and on. This product from Boss is not ready for prime time. Thus why I am back here to buy another brand. Wish I had bought this unit from Crutchfield, I could have given it back to them with their satisfaction guaranty

Pros: It looks good

Cons: Too numerous to list here!

Crutchfield response on

14 of 18 found this helpful

good unit low price

harvey from morton ms on 10/17/2017

2009 Honda Fit Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works as advertised

Pros: looks good works well

Cons: mike on hands free could be better

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Marc from Mishawaka, IN on 9/25/2017

2013 Subaru Impreza WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good stereo and the sound is awesome but it is impossible to navigate through music folders on flash, you can not replay the blue T streaming after the car is restarted. it goes to radio by default.

Pros: Sounds good

Cons: Flash disc reading does not allow to navigate through music folders

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Crutchfield customer from Annapolis, MD on 9/21/2017

2007 Mitsubishi Eclipse

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very happy with this product, Boss bv960nv stereo. Awsome features and pretty easy to install. Fantastic sounds in the car. No complain... Online service is excellent. Highly recommended seller! thank you!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

David from Milford, DE on 9/10/2017

2007 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Radio plays well but I don't care for the poor visibility of the GPS map on the screen. Mounting in dash leaves much to be desired. Phone works well in all aspects. Overall it's a great radio.

Pros: Great radio

Cons: GPS, hard to read

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Install

Greg from Bellmore, NY on 8/28/2017

2006 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pretty easy to install, works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Crutchfield customer from Port Washington, NY on 8/27/2017

2000 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice radio, but the navigation system needs some work, and doesn't read an iPod classic to well.

Pros: Easy to use.

Cons: Not a good navigation system, iPod interface needs work.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Upgraded radio, terrible GPS

Crutchfield customer from North Stamford, CT on 8/22/2017

2007 Volkswagen Eos

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit functions well as an upgraded radio. The music streaming, radio, and call functions work quite well but I ended up returning it because the navigation was just downright terrible. I live just outside NYC, so it really shouldn't long for a satellite to find my unit but often times it would take between 1-4 hours to find me. If you don't care about the GPS function then this isn't a terrible buy but I'd recommend looking for something cheaper if that's the case.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 12 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Melissa from Rochester, NY on 8/19/2017

2015 Jeep Compass

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really enjoy the stereo., sounds great in the car and the gps and hands free calling work great. Overall great product.

Pros: GPS and hands free calling

Cons: SUB charges but doesn't load my ipod

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Don't buy this radio!

Anthony from Randolph, NJ on 8/14/2017

2010 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Do not waste your time with this radio! I had the radio professional installed and they informed me that after several hours spent on the phone, with Crutchfield. they could not resolve the problem of the radio not able to tune in radio stations. The Boss BV960NV was only tuning in ONE station! I contacted Crutchfield for a solution discovering that there was no solution but to return the radio. Also the "handsfree" mic they offer if garbage, you can not hear the person and they sound like they are miles away! Again very disgusted with this radio and I strongly recommend that you stay away from Boss and look into different brand.

Pros: None

Cons: Can not tune in radio stations, handsfree system is bad, can not hear the person using handsfree

Crutchfield response on

3 of 11 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Matt from Howell, NJ on 8/11/2017

2001 Chevrolet Express

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Loved the unit, worked relatively flawlessly for the first 3 months I had it, and then it lit on fire while I was driving on the parkway. Called Boss and put in a warranty claim and was told it would take 10-15 days to receive a new unit, meanwhile my vehicle has no speedometer or odometer because the cluster is wired through the radio. Terrible customer support and obviously an inferior product

Pros: Decent navigation, decent Bluetooth calling, excellent Bluetooth connectivity and streaming

Cons: Poor customer service, product lit on fire

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Crutchfield customer from Mount Pleasant, SC on 8/8/2017

2010 GMC Canyon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product . Installation procedure's where simple to follow , except for wires that weren't used in the install . Thank you Crutchfield .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

unable to update maps

shane from Manteca, CA on 8/6/2017

2003 Acura RSX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great in dash GPS reciever for the money easy to use. screen gets a little washed out in bright sunlight in my nissan versa the GPS program "N Drive" or whatever it is, is a non US company and if you want to update your maps you have to get an International Visa Gift Card in order to pay the £24.99 to update it

Pros: easy to use. cheap, microphone is fine

Cons: screen washed out in bright light. unable to update maps without an international visa gift card.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Look for something else

Ed from Brooklyn, NY on 8/1/2017

2006 Honda Odyssey

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I brought the unit primarily for the Bluetooth capability, secondarily for the navigation. The bluetooth is problematic. It can take several minutes for it to connect to my iPhone. The navigation is awful. It doesn't recognize street names that are easily recognized by other navigation device that I have used. Not worth the extra money that I paid. I regret not getting a better quality receiver with bluetooth which I could ahve gotten for half the price. In addition, only the volume works with the steering wheel controls.

Pros: Nice fit in the dashboard

Cons: Navigation is extremely poor. Bluetooth is slow to connect

Crutchfield response on 8/2/2017
Ed contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

4 of 4 found this helpful

Not worth the effort

Dennis from Asheville, NC on 7/27/2017

1995 Land Rover Range Rover

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Navigation is from 1999, bluetooth randomly drops, hands-free calling is impossible to hear (this is the worst part). Whenever I turn up the volume to hear the caller, it automatically drops the mic volume and they can't hear me. When I turn the volume down, I blow out their ears, but can't hear the caller. Also, the volume auto-adjusts constantly, and I have to fight it. The settings have little authority over this, and not much can be changed. Not impressed and about to start the return process..

Pros: Relatively inexpensive. Easy install

Cons: Frustrating to use.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Awesome

John from Chaptico MD on 7/26/2017

2003 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely outstanding. I just hope the factory speakers can hold out.

Pros: Easy to install. Didn't need the additional mounts in my 2003 Toyota tundra. The wire harness was easy to assemble as well. Great price. Great sound.

Cons: My only wish was this had voice recognition.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Nice radio for the cost

Mike from Smithtown, NY on 7/10/2017

2006 Chevrolet TrailBlazer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice radio for the buck, sounds great. Installation was easy. Please note that the steering wheel controls don't work with the setup that Crutchfield sells you in the automated system with my my 06 Chevrolet Trailblazer. Do a little more research and install the one that Boss Audio recommends. The maps are a little difficult to read but that could be overcome by setting the display to night mode. The unit doesn't have a brightness or contrast adjustment but you get what you pay for. Overall I like the radio very much .

Pros: Cost, installation, ease of use.

Cons: Instructions are lacking a little bit, no contrast or brightness adjustment

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Crutchfield customer from Waynesville , NC on 7/2/2017

2013 Hyundai Accent

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great All In one Unit

Paul from New Smyrna, FL on 6/26/2017

1999 Ford Econoline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this unit, I removed an old AM FM Cassette deck from a 2000 Ford Econoline and installed the BOSS BV960NV Still has the AM FM but now it dose so much more CD Player, DVD Player, Bluetooth Phone, GPS, Backup camera, video input and output plus more it will hook up to steering wheel controls ( which is way after my Econoline was built) Power antenna hookup. Great picture on a small screen. multiple voices for GPS. all the setting are easy to adjust touch screen. glad I got this unit.

Pros: Everything about it was great Install was easy.

Cons: back up camera sold separately

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Great, Inexpensive Navigation Unit

Nick from Plattsburgh, NY on 6/14/2017

2009 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, very easy to install in my Toyota Tundra. Programs/Navigation run smoothly, seems to be of good quality and easy to install. Definitely worth the money. I would recommend it to anyone as an inexpensive navigation upgrade.

Pros: Easy to install, great price, accurate navigation.

Cons: Haven't ran into any negatives yet.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Crutchfield customer from Minneapolis, MN on 6/12/2017

2008 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had to replace our factory unit and for the money it should work just fine. Had to make a couple of calls to the tech support crew and they were VERY helpful in getting everything hooked up.

Pros: Works as it should.

Cons: Screen is a little hard to see in direct sunlight and at an angle.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Just What I was looking for

James from Silver Springs, NV on 6/7/2017

1999 Ford Econoline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Once installed the unit worked as expected. I used the install brackets for a Ford E350 and followed directions to enlarge the factory opening in the dash trim. The fit was still tight and I had to modify the brackets as well as remove some of the dask frame skeleton

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Crutchfield customer from sacramento, ca on 6/7/2017

2013 Ford Edge

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The buying process was quick and very easy....product is great, was very easy to install in 15 minutes.....for a great price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Andrew W from Algonac, MI on 6/1/2017

2003 GMC Envoy XL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

for the price it has everything the more expensive units have and sounds great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Jim from Hedgesville WV on 5/28/2017

2002 GMC Sierra 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing product for the price. The sound is incredible. I use it mainly for bluetooth from my Android phone. The song name and artist appear on the screen. I like my Garmin better than the GPS on the Boss.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Not functional, irritating features

Gabrielle from CA on 5/27/2017

2014 Nissan Versa Note

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I originally bought this head unit just to get bluetooth capabilities and a touchscreen. This is about the only things that this is good for. The navigation is nearly useless, it is incredibly slow and every business I've tried to search for comes up with nothing. There are some, arguably small, things about this unit that really irks me to the point where I am considering replacing it after only a couple months. Firstly, when I bought it, it came with a free adapter kit so that it would fit into my Nissan Versa Note. It "fits", but does not sit flush, which makes it hard to turn up and down the volume because i cant easily access the volume dial. The touchscreen is also bad quality, so when it is day out, it is hard to see the controls. Also, when accessing the music that i put on a USB drive, and bring up the list, when accessing an album, it does not start at song 1 by default, instead it opens up at the very bottom of the list, so in order to select the first song, you have to scroll up. Then, selecting a song it not easy, if you don't touch it just right, it will scroll instead of selecting. Then, after selecting a song, it does show the ID tag from the mp3 BUT, it also shows the file name from the USB and so it always has .mp3 at the end of the song. I have not been able to find a way to get this to not show. Also, if you use streaming from your phone, playing spotify or pandora, it shows the title without.mp3 but not the album art. Overall, not func

Pros: Bluetooth Music through USB stick Phone calls while driving/phone contacts

Cons: bad touchscreen features navigation useless horrible fit/not flush to car

Crutchfield response on 5/30/2017
Gabrielle, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our tech support team right away. They can help you solve the problem and get it working properly! Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

7 of 8 found this helpful

Had to return this thing...

Anthony from Burke, VA on 5/17/2017

2009 Chevrolet Malibu

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So after dealing with 3 crashes where I had to turn off my car and turn it back on to reset the device, while listening to music on the highway, I had to return this item. Another reason I had to return this item was the fact that everything was costing me to just update the maps or device itself, and if you lose the microSD card somewhere in your car like I did, it cost $80 dollars for a new card. When really all they have to do is give you a new map software. Reason why I know this is possible is because, when I finally was able to find my microSD card that had fell under the metal part of my seat and required me to rake it out with a hanger, I was able to copy the data off of the original microSD card and upload it onto a brand new card with no difficulty and it worked. I will not being buying another product from them. Updates cost from $20 and up which is also ridiculous, and the buttons were to small. I ended up returning this item for the Pioneer AVH-4200nex Receiver because of the Android Auto/Apple Play options. Free updates also from Pioneer. I guess in this case was not the brightest idea to go cheap.

Pros:

Cons: 1) It crashed on me 3 times 2) You have to pay to update maps

Crutchfield response on

8 of 10 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

keith from Waldorf, MD on 5/12/2017

2007 Hyundai Santa Fe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had this unit for a few months now, it started deleting files from the memory card at random. The usb and card slot stopped working recently and blue tooth started sounding harsh and distorted. Blue tooth will randomly disconnect sending loud chirps out to the speakers. This lasted just beyond 90 days before it became a featureless cd player with weak rca output.

Pros: has lots of features

Cons: will lose all of its features

Crutchfield response on 5/17/2017
After receiving Keith's feedback, we looked up his order and found that his receiver is still under warranty. While his order is beyond Crutchfield's 60-day return policy, our tech support team reached out to help solve the problem and let him know he can contact Boss about the 3-year warranty on this receiver.

14 of 15 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Crutchfield customer from Powell, OH on 5/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The product is functioning very well, the tech support is very knowledgeable and friendly. I will recommend them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Crutchfield customer from Riverview, FL on 5/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The good: Inexpensive head unit packed with features. The dad: Has issues getting awsc1 syncing steering wheel buttons correctly. Cuts off text with SD Card mp3 tags.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Guest from Blaine Wa. on 4/29/2017

2006 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unit worked as described but install instructions were very poor, took 2 calls to Crutchfield to sort out, they were great and solved my problems easily. The unit was good for the price but instalation was difficult.

Pros: fit was good, sound was good

Cons: instuctions terrible

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Donald from Shelbyville, TN on 4/27/2017

2009 Nissan Cube

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

GPS did not work. would not light up streets except in the dark and then too light to read. I was glad they replaced with no trouble.

Pros: GPS would not work right

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Harvey from Petersburg, VA on 4/27/2017

2013 Ford F-150 STX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great look and sound. Sounds better than the JVC I replaced.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great price good quality

Dawg from Pa on 4/21/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice product for the price has all you would want

Pros: Functions

Cons: Little weak reception on some fm stations

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Crutchfield customer from Asheville nc on 4/18/2017

1997 Lexus ES300

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really great product, only paid map updates but easy to use

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Crutchfield customer from Albrightsville, PA on 4/16/2017

2010 Dodge Challenger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this radio for a 2010 Challenger. Not hard to install and works well. Real happy with the install and results. Great upgrade for the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Steve from Fairbanks, AK on 4/16/2017

2002 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not overly thrilled, the buttons are small, especially volume, the GPS is alright, avent really used it a lot. The dvd is good, but takes a while to load, but the biggest annoyance is the RDS, when listening to the radio, the majority of the touch screen is the stations frequency. The RDS information is an afterthought, it is so small, it's impossible to read, especially when driving down the road. As far as I can tell, there is no way to swap the display. I would not recommend this radio for that reason.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great quality

Justin from Anthony, KS on 4/10/2017

2007 Chevrolet TrailBlazer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great low end touch screen. Everything works better than I expected it to for the price. Looks really nice and doesn't stand out as an aftermarket radio.

Pros: Great Price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Works like a Boss!!

Ron from Haymarket, VA on 4/6/2017

2002 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent value. Installed on a 2002 Camry primarily as monitor for back up camera upgrade. Great sound and screen were an added bonus.

Pros: Great price point Excellent Sound GPS Navigation -- maps included Monitor touchscreen Legendary Crutchfield Customer service

Cons: No HD Radio No front to rear Fader on normal connections. Manual tuning on radio is difficult at best.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

unreliable, cheap - you get what you pay for

Joe from Dry Ridge, KY on 4/5/2017

2010 Hyundai Genesis

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The blue tooth is terrible, if you are wanting to be able to talk on your phone hands free... then buy another receiver. The GPS is another poor attribute of this deck. It finds locations fairly quickly but if you go off course it does not recalculate quickly at all. Also it doesn't tell you the names of the highways you need to get on, it just tells you to head north, south, east, or west. Where I live there are multiple highways that merge in places, if you don't have general idea of the area you are in then you would have no clue with highway to take. For example, the GPS tells you to head north... well the on ramp says I71north stay left, I75north stay right... which do I take. It is not a reliable navigation system. You get what you pay for I guess, after all it is about the cheapest navigation unit on the market.

Pros: touch screen is very sensitive

Cons: GPS is very unreliable, blue tooth is basically unusable unless you scream at your dashboard

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Boss is the Best

Bob from Townsend, MA on 4/5/2017

2017 Ford Transit Cargo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product!! All the features worked perfectly and it looks as good as it works.

Pros: lots of features for the price. looks and works great after installing.

Cons: long install for this vehicle, but it went very well with help from tech assistance.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Frank from Iowa City, IA on 4/2/2017

2011 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall I am happy with this unit. Navigating through the screens is very intuitive. A few minor things that I don't like. When powering on it always defaults to the radio instead of the mode it was in when it turned off. As someone that rarely listens to the radio this is annoying. The second thing it that the radios natural signal has to much base. I am still tying to adjust the EQ to get a good balance.

Pros: Intuitive controls, Large icons for most part

Cons: does not power up in same mode as shut down, to much low end in standard output.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

A Great UPgrade

Leif from New Bern, NC on 3/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very pleased with this unit. It does everything it promises. I got the complete "kit" as suggested by Buz, and I'm glad I did. Installation was a breeze. The only very minor criticism I have of this unit is that the streets on the navigation screen are not very pronounced. This could be because I haven't learned all to use all the features of the unit. Every day I learn something new, a new "Gee Whiz" feature I just learned about. This unit is a great upgrade. I love it.

Pros: Easy to install package if you follow the recommendations of the person helping you.

Cons: Vague street outlines.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Jerald D from Colton, OR on 3/25/2017

2002 Chevrolet Avalanche

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow! Super value , easy to use, all the features I wanted and seems well built. Great Product.

Pros: Value, Easy to use, good sound.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

System appears to be exactly as described

Wayne from Colorado Springs, CO on 3/20/2017

2003 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just finished the installation today, so have only played with it - not real use yet. Appears to function as described. Installed in 2003 Silverado, installation not "simple", very tight. Instructions are lacking as a lot of wires were not used. Would really like steering wheel control, and I believe that is possible with this set, but not with the install kit I had. I am looking forward to the convenience that this system promises to provide.

Pros: Versatile system, looks like it does everything we need. We purchased a backup camera also, which we expect to really help with trailer hook-ups. Display is clear and crisp, sound is sharp too.

Cons: Fit not perfect, small gap on bottom left - not worth pulling out to tweak. I do think I could get it perfect, but too tight to play with. Instructions a bit lacking.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

William from Bogart, GA on 3/15/2017

1998 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fairly nice stereo. Made the purchase with a rear camera to make it easier to back up to a trailer. Makes life so much easier. Great sound, Navigation works great, and general over all a great stereo.

Pros: Navigation works great Rear View Camera is a great add on Sounds good

Cons: No cons that I can think of.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

carl from Coos Bay, OR on 3/14/2017

2003 Ford Explorer Sport Trac

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great is slow loading but nice for the price does need a few mods

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Up to date vehicle electronics at bargain price

Gary from Sarasota, FL on 3/13/2017

2005 Ford Escape Hybrid

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product for what it is- Crutchfield's lowest price GPS Navigation receiver. Updated my 240,000 mile 2005 Ford Escape Hybrid successfully with little fuss (other than cutting the dash) - adding GPS Nav, Backup Camera (using Rydeen camera recommended by Tech Advisor). For as long as it lasts- it allows me to drive the vehicle longer at a bargain price. Has lots of features, a minimalist, but functional, GPS Nav with an average screen, better sound than my original factory unit. It does recalculate route as expected, unlike some reviewers noted. GPS doesn't dim with factory dash lights, but there are settings that can help. Master Sheet was far more general than I expected, but when you finally unwrap everything and get started is pretty straightforward. GPS antenna mounted successfully inside car in a 5 minute process and works great- Escapes have small removable plastic piece center-dash that with a small hole drilled in it allows direct access to the inside radio cavity. Backup camera installation was pretty simple with plenty of wire. Here too, instructions were very basic, but it made some sense once started. Unit installed in Escape dash looks excellent with factory-look. Paired phone and easily enough- once you did through the manual to determine the code isn't randomly generated- but factory preset at 0000. Balance controls hard to locate in software, but if you dig enough, you can find them. Touch-screen responsive so far.

Pros: Inexpensive, many functions, doable do-it-yourself installation. Worked successfully out of the box. Suspect most of the negative reviews of this unit related to installation issues- you do have to be careful.

Cons: Low resolution GPS screen- but functional.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Great radio for the buck!

Ivan from El Paso, TX on 3/13/2017

2011 Nissan Juke

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this unit to replace a Jensen VX6020, this unit is far better than the Jensen. I like how responsive it it, it is pretty fast. Great display, OK navigation, great sound, easy install, and everything works perfectly just as described.

Pros: Sound, Navigation, Price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great budget unit

Chad from Whitehall, PA on 3/10/2017

2000 Pontiac Firebird

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great budget unit. I have it in my 07 dodge ram and I liked it so much I put it in my 00 trans am. Has all you need. Bluetooth is clear. Navigation is updated. Only reason it gets 4 and not 5 stars is you lose steering wheel controls and it doesn't auto dim with headlights. Otherwise you can't beat the unit for the price.

Pros: Fast shipping. Blue tooth. Navigation. Easy install.

Cons: No steering wheel controls. No auto screen dim

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Cat from Orlando, FL on 3/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The main screen with for radio, I don't need the analog to move the dial. I'd much rather in its place on the screen have the artist and name of the song scroll across the screen. There is already a place for what channel you are on on the bottom of the screen. Otherwise the Radio sounds good for music. The phone, scrolling to find and picking a number is crazy it scrolls so fast and is so sensitive half the time i a not even able to pick out the number i want. Easier to use dial pad. From my cell hands free to a home phone I've been told I sound like I am in a can. From hands free cell to another cell, I've been told it sounds like I am under water. So the hands free calling so far is upsetting. Navigation is good so far, I have not figured it all out yet. Wish it would be like you cellphone and have Satellite view of actual scenery. Other than that for the price, I suppose I did get what I paid for. And without being able to actually go and play with the stereo itself it is really hard to see what you are actually getting, unless you are savvy a this stuff.

Pros: great sound

Cons: too many of the same options, not enough of what you really want.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Crutchfield customer from Chicago on 3/5/2017

2001 Ford Econoline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall not very pleased with the price point considering the navigation needs serious updating. I had to get extra navigation SD cards because mine did not work(BOSS Audio issue NOT Crutchfield). Crutchfield was great and ironed out the issue. DVD works well but the radio tuner is not impressive. I ended up getting the Blaupunkt San Antonio deck and should have it tomorrow!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, TX on 3/4/2017

2010 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this radio. Pretty easy to install once you figure out all the wiring. Crutchfield provided great instructions. Looks great with the new dash piece. Crutchfield makes it really easy to upgrade your car or truck.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Cliff from Colorado Springs, CO on 3/1/2017

2009 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Navigation system is pretty much obsolete. The head unit froze up several times requiring a reset or turning the vehicle off and on 1 or more times to get it to work properly. Crutchfield was very helpful in getting anew exchange taken care of for a different head unit

Pros:

Cons: Too many glitches and navigation system

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great price, however a little disappointed

Randal from Dekalb, IL on 2/27/2017

2003 Jeep Liberty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was a little disappointed with a few things about the BOSS BV960NV. First, the map appears a little outdated, even though it "appears" to only be 8 months old (going by it file's name). I live in an Illinois town of about 45,000 people and we have some areas that were developed over 6 years ago and are NOT on the map. Second, even if you have the unit off (but car on), it's blue tooth appears to still run. It fights with and overpowers my BT headset when I still want to use my headset, I have to go to the BOSS's menu and deactivate the BT. Third, if I was using it's BT to stream audio and then leave and come back to the car, when starting the car back up it defaults to radio and not back to streaming. This is my first GPS/RADIO/PHONE/DVD unit, so I'm not sure if these things are normal and perhaps I'll just have to accept it. Wire wise it was easy to hook up. The SWC however is a tale in itself. First, Crutchfield doesn't really know how to do it. One service Tech got it wrong on the wire hook-up and when I talked to another Tech later he said it couldn't be done with any BOSS unit. Yet, if you go to BOSS's website they say it can be done using an ASWC-1 unit, however they don't tell you how to do it. If you go to AXXESS's (maker of ASWC) website they also don't tell you how to do it. If fact (as of this review) AXXESS never mentions BOSS units on their website. However, after reading everything I could find and putting it all together (hours), I got it to work.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Decent head unit aside from using Navigation...

Malcolm from Statham, GA on 2/26/2017

2012 Kia Forte

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this unit solely because I wanted a in-dash nav system that didn't break the bank. If you use this for nav you'll quickly see that it's dated, not so much from a graphics aspect which it is lacking but the GPS directions arent that up-to-date. Like others have said most other software can and will calculate different routes if you miss a turn this one doesn't. If you miss a turn it'll just say make a U-turn. And when trying to input a address it doesn't give you that much to work with. (Tried multiple addresses and majority of them couldn't be found). The software that this head unit uses is called Ndrive and when you look them up there isnt even that much to go on. Their tech support is pretty much worthless and their manuals arent accurate either ( things in the manual that state you should be able to do arent even possible when your using the unit). Even if you do have to pay for upgrades, you'd think the process to do so wouldn't be confusing but it is and thats my biggest gripe about this unit. In my opinion its a great unit, with a cheap nav software thrown in.

Pros: Screen is a nice size and its very responsive, navigation boot time is pretty good also

Cons: Definitely wouldn't depend on this unit for directions which defeats the purpose of buying a nav head unit, even if has nav capability I still use my garmin GPS system over this built in one.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

James from Tavares, FL on 2/23/2017

2000 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit has everything that I needed easy to use good price for the unit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Like the touch screen.

Greg from PA on 2/22/2017

1990 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Work Great! Way too many features to use. If you're like me, you pick 4 or 5 you use regularly.

Pros: User friendly, Nice fit for my vehicle, looks good

Cons: More features than I can use

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

odell from Bethlehem, PA on 2/20/2017

2007 Mazda CX-7

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Good value for the money

Bill from Waterloo, iowa on 2/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've only had this for 3 weeks so I haven't used all the features. First the DVD player works great. Very clear picture. The radio works well and holds channels well with no fade. The backup camera is really why I bought the unit. It works well but the lines showing the distances seem very short. The navigation unit works ok but doesn't seem to work as well as my Tom-Tom. On a recent trip to Kansas City I had both going and each gave different directions. I followed the Tom-Tom. The installation instructions were only fair at best but Crutchfield was very helpful. The biggest complaint I have is that the trim piece provided does not fit. It's not close. I tried to trim it but it broke and looks bad. If you buy this unit you will need to find a better way to make the trim piece fit. I received a bad camera but Crutchfield was very helpful and replaced immediately.

Pros: Navigation, backup camera capable, good radio, DVD player,low cost

Cons: Directional lines for backup camera much too short. Get very close before it warns you.Navigation is hard to use.

Crutchfield response on 2/21/2017
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team reached out to Bill to issue an apology and help him further. We'll either help him get the kit installed correctly, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

3 of 3 found this helpful

Love it

Kane from Wichita, KS on 2/8/2017

2006 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really like it! Navigation system needs an update. Touch screen works very good for a lower priced unit.

Pros: Everything else

Cons: No illumination wire to turn brightness up and down with factory dash lights

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

First rate unit

Steve from Port Saint Lucie, FL on 2/7/2017

2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

An overall fantastic unit at a very good price. The installation went smoothly and everything worked the first time I powered the unit up. I highly recommend this unit.

Pros: Price, options, fit

Cons: to early to tell

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Does the job

Carol from Oakdale, CA on 2/6/2017

2002 GMC Sierra 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Received the product in a very timely manner. Some issues with phone Blue tooth as it is difficult to hear for both parties during phone calls. Installation instructions are not very specific so plan on having the unit installed unless you are experienced with this. Navigation did not show locations that came up on my phone GPS. Radio reception does not seem to be as good as it was with my stock unit. I ordered the replacement dash face and the unit fit perfectly.

Pros: Blue tooth hooks up quickly with the phone. Unit fit well into the custom dash face I ordered for my pickup. Shipped promptly.

Cons: Blue tooth is difficult to hear. Navigation shows 'no location found' for locations that will show up on the phone GPS. Would like to be able to use the phone book with voice and not have to scroll through the menu.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Crutchfield customer from Mt Sterling ky on 2/5/2017

2004 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the the money a great radio

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great value Radio

Ken from Orlando, FL on 1/28/2017

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fairly easy to install. Great sound. Plenty of controls with which to play. Has everything you could want in a radio, GPS Navigation, Great Sound and Bluetooth for my phone. Great Buy.

Pros: Great Sound Good value.

Cons: Needs an adapter to work with Steering Wheel controls. Recommended adapter does not supply sufficient information for hookup with this radio. Had to call Crutchfield to get full instructions. But, customer service was excellent.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great sound and Navigation

Michael from Valrico, FL on 1/26/2017

2010 Ford F-150 FX2

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

You can ask for anything more, when dealing with Crutchfield. They thought of everything, and pass that on to you to make your installation go as smoothly as possible. And if anything comes up, there are there to answer any questions, you have. The product was everything that they described, also took their advise and ordered the accessory package for my vehicle. The install went very good, but when it came to the wiring, the instructions did not spell out all the wires clearly. So I got on the phone and called Crutchfield. Got a service tech, fairly quickly, and he finish off where the instructions left out. I love the Radio and navigation section. The Bluetooth worked as expected. The radio has an additional 20 watts, built in, so the power and sound is great. Paid for the kit with my Paypal, over time. When that is paid for, I plan to purchase 4 new speakers and a back up camera. Would recommend this product and Crutchfield.

Pros: Great Sound 20 watts of additional power Great Navigation Lots of adaptability

Cons: Instruction were lacking a little

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Herman from Stockton, CA on 1/21/2017

2009 Honda CRV LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good fit into the car lots of options great easy to use loved it

Pros: Easy to read navigation very well thought out

Cons: No voice command no voice command my fault thought I was getting it but I would like to have voice command for my navigation

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great affordable gps/cd/dvd/bluetooth/media deck

Edwin from Trussville, AL on 1/19/2017

2015 Honda CRV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

really like this product, sounds really good and user friendly.

Pros: Looks great, sounds really good user friendly, easy to install, easy blue tooth sync

Cons: Dash unit will not allow the unit to sit flush making the volume control a bit difficult to operate, gps mapping update are a little difficult

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Guest from Madison, WI on 1/17/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just wanted to update my previous review. There is, in fact, a balance and fader control for this unit. I finally found it in the setup menu (probably audio submenu, don't recall as I am not in the car). The menu item is not visible because it is a scrollable menu and it is off screen. There are no visible indicators to suggest more items on the menu list so I did not see it. Touch swipe the menu up and the function is visible. Works fine. I guess my main ding, in that case, is that the instruction manual is pretty thin and this was not discoverable through the manual. Otherwise the unit works well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Victor from Yelm, WA on 1/16/2017

2006 Kia Sedona

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great upgrade

Pros: Bluetooth

Cons: Apple play

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great radio, just buy it.

R from Wynne, AR on 1/10/2017

2006 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good radio. Boots fast. Ease of use. The navigation works pretty good. Bluetooth connects easily. The radio improved the factory speakers. Radio picks up a lot better than the factory radio. Looking for a good radio and nav, this one is for you. Very surprised with the quality.

Pros: Ease of install, good quality. Good nav.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Works great

Patrick from Tennessee on 1/9/2017

2009 Honda Accord

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Much better than my previous head unit. Haven't used it as a media player but it seems to work fine.

Pros: No problems in the cold. Navigation seems great so far

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

toby from Brady TX.. on 1/9/2017

2006 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's slow booting up and sloe switching between Bluetooth,cd etc. Blue tooth does not show who's calling it just shows number and it says unknown.GPS is basic no thrills.

Pros: Price and features

Cons: Slow and basic for the price

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

The bomb-diggity!

Mike from Hanford, CA on 1/7/2017

2003 Lincoln Aviator

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have to say, I was a bit skeptical of this head unit based on its price. But all doubts were cast aside upon installation. This unit has all the modern functions you need in a head unit. The gps navigation and Bluetooth streaming are great. I highly recommend this head unit.

Pros: Navigation is spot on, Bluetooth very clear, Unit produces great sound.

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Crutchfield customer from Madison, WI on 1/7/2017

2004 Lexus ES330

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far great product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Crutchfield customer from Elk Grove, CA on 1/7/2017

2012 Honda Civic Hybrid

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit does not fit in a Lexus SC 430 if you want to keep the function of the original drop-down door.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Crutchfield customer from Atlanta, GA on 1/5/2017

2006 Honda CRV EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Boss BV960NV is great, It has all the systems I need. It was easy to install with the harness that I order to fit my existing radio harness. It has so many gadgets that I have not be able to use all of them. The only challenge I have had is the Bluetooth phone system, individuals calling me have had a problem hearing me speak, I have to speak very loud or use my cellphone. This is something that needs to be addressed or contact me if there is a fit or adjustment for this problem.

Pros: Great radio and Navi system

Cons: The mic on for the bluetooth phone does not work properly. Callers have a problem hearing you.

Crutchfield response on 1/9/2017
We're sorry you're having problems with your Bluetooth. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our tech support team right away. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. We forwarded this review to our Technical Support team for follow-up. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Crutchfield customer from Madison, WI on 12/31/2016

2003 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good. I installed the unit in a 2003 Toyota Highlander. Install was pretty much plug and play although the included instructions were pretty thin. It took me a bit to figure out how to get it to fit in the climate module and I had to do a bit of re-engineering of the mounts (plastic mounts for the spacers (kit provided) to fill out the double din opening would not line up to the holes in any way; I reconfigured them with a dremel tool- easy but necessary) but once I removed the front edge piece off the Boss unit it all fit in with a bit of juggling. Once in the module and bolted up it is solid and looks factory spec. Unit has good sound and the gps works well (reset to rainbow mode so I can see the details better). Have not tried the other features yet (bluetooth and phone). Has been in the car for 4 days so I cannot comment on reliability but no glitches. The only reason I give it 4 stars is I cannot, for the life of me, figure out how to change the balance or the front rear fade for the speakers. Seems odd it would not have this function but I can't find it.

Pros: Performs as advertised, sounds good. GPS boots up quick and is accurate

Cons: Front-rear sound fade control? Can't find it on the unit and not described in the manual

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great radio. Terrific price. Outstanding service.

David from Winchester, VA on 12/30/2016

2007 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Classic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice upgrade from my stock unit in my 2007 Silverado Classic. The Crutchfield install instructions state that you need to cut a bracket in order for this to fit. I did not have to do that. Maybe the classic is a little different than a 2006. Most places treat the classic the same as the 2006 models. Anyway, radio was a great fit and looks like a factory installation when done. GPS is quick to pick up a signal. I really hate that I waited so long to do this :)

Pros: great fit. lots of functions.

Cons: screen is really sensitive to touch which is not always a bad thing.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Crutchfield customer from Selinsgrove, PA on 12/30/2016

2010 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Product! Only issue I had was that some of the abbreviations in the instructions were not spelled out.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Crutchfield customer from Barnwell, SC on 12/29/2016

2006 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really good stereo overall. Just one minor problem. When I received the stereo there wasn't a users manual included. I did receive two manuals on how to use GPS. Both manuals was the same. I did end up finding the main users manual online.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great features but poor navigation.

Willis from Lodge, SC on 12/28/2016

2014 Ford E Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit works great for everything except the GPS navigation. I'm used to using Google and Garmin for navigation and this doesn't even come close to comparing. It doesn't use logic to change the route if you miss a turn or decided to take a different route. It simply insists on you staying the course and wants you to take u-turns and any number of other roads to get back on the original course. It is also very slow with its route calculations and had trouble finding some towns that were actually labeled on the map. I was hopeful this would be a keeper but I'm afraid I'm going to have to return it. I will spend a little more money and try again.

Pros: Audio and video features.

Cons: Poor navigation.

Crutchfield response on 1/2/2017
Willis, we're sorry you're disappointed with your new receiver. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great

Vincent from Holbrook, NY on 12/26/2016

2003 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Took about 30 minutes to install Great price Good, easy to use unit

Pros: Price Easy to use Easy install Good navigation

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Steve from Broken Arrow, OK on 12/22/2016

2006 Hummer H3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the second radi/navy unit I have purchased. It's a great value works well with speakers and sub. Have it in a 1994 corvette and next in a 2006 hummer. Rear camera a plus Steve in okla

Pros: Great sound , features, nav,rear camera, easy install, great value

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Love the stereo. Good quality for price.

Don from Denver, CO on 12/15/2016

1999 Chevrolet Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this new Stereo. Great features for the price. The installation took a while but the wiring is well labeled and matched the adapter plug for my 99 suburban wire for wire. Trim piece was provided to match my vehicle because it required cutting some of the dash plastic trim to enlarge the hole but it doesn't look bad even without the new trim piece covering up the cuts. It was very tight and hard to get all the wires positioned so that it would slide all the way back. Looks great installed. The sound is far superior to the stock stereo/cd player I had before. Very good radio reception on all bands. One reviewer stated that the old time radio position bar was not needed but if you touch it you can skip anywhere on the dial instantly which I like. Another reviewer commented that the GPS took too long to boot. It takes a little while (like 20 seconds or so) but once up you can swap the screen back and forth between radio and GPS instantly with a single mechanical button. I found the light green wire for the reverse wire (to trigger backup camera) by pulling off the trim on the left front door column. Easier than searching under the dash for it. GPS works good so far but haven't used it much yet. My only complaint is the bluetooth phone calling hands free mic volume seems to be too low and people can't hear me unless I shout. Looking for a solution for that. Streaming music from my phone works good and sounds good.

Pros: Good Sound. Good reception. Lots of features. Easy to use

Cons: Hands free mic volume is too low.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Love it

Jill from Rancho Palos Verdes, CA on 12/13/2016

2006 Nissan Murano

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love my new stereo. I fought getting it for too long. I wish I would have done it sooner love the GPS easy to use.

Pros: Easy to use

Cons: Took awhile to install but well worth it!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Crutchfield customer from Millville, DE on 12/11/2016

2015 Nissan Rogue Select

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV, Great head unit for the price, 2007 Jeep Commander

Edwin S. from Juana Diaz, PR on 12/5/2016

2007 Jeep Commander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed this head unit a couple of days ago in my '07 Jeep Commander that came single din OEM radio. Bought the doble din dash conversion from an online store about a year ago and was waiting to find the right head unit to replace my OEM radio. After converting my dash from single to double din the installation was pretty easy and straight forward. The instructions wasn't very clear for the installation. Only use it to remove the dash and OEM radio. I rely on my previous experience installing other head units in previous cars I owned. But boy, am I happy with this unit, it recognized my iPhone 6s immediately and was able to upload the phone directory to the radio. Streaming, DVD,GPS/NAV works great. Very easy to setup. Great sound. Haven't been able to use it for a long time as my work is just 20 min from home, but can't wait to use it in a long trip.

Pros: Bluetooth compatibility, GPS, USB, microSD card reader. Great sound

Cons: Although my iPhone 6s is recognized via bluetooth it is not recognized via USB (but can be charged). No external Mic can be added.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Angel from Ft Mill, SC on 12/2/2016

2008 Honda Civic LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Crutchfield customer from Maplewood, NJ on 11/30/2016

2005 Ford Econoline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, very good price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Great product and even better price

Robbie from Illinois on 11/29/2016

2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got my order in a timely fashion and I really like it fits my Chevy truck very nice Thanks Crutchfield

Pros: To many too mention

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV in a prius

Mike from Wilmington, DE on 11/28/2016

2010 Toyota Prius

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I put this BV960NV in a 2010 Toyota Prius that did not have navigation. This unit works perfectly and installation was easy. The unit has a self contained steering wheel control that set up and recognized the controls in seconds. No extra control unit is needed. You just need an additional plug wire that the knowledgeable staff provided. It sound awesome. The navigation is kind of basic but works fine.

Pros: Easy install No extra stering wheel control unit needed, just a small addition 3 wire harness Sounds great Navigation

Cons: The websit recommended a steering control unit that I purchased---it did not work and Cruthfield tec support said it did not need it, provided me with the correct wires needed and refunded us for the not needed SW unit Just OK navigation with only the basics

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Andy from Havertown pa on 11/26/2016

2007 GMC Envoy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

All in all good unit, I have a problem with the screen freezing, I reset the reset button and works for a little while then have to reset, kinda a PITB because have to reset all channels and time everything else works fine added camera and sub sounds great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Great value and upgrade

Heath from Huntsville, AL on 11/14/2016

2007 Subaru Legacy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great upgrade on my daughter's car. Easy to use and read interface. Boots pretty quickly and GPS navigation is good.

Pros: Easy to install and navigate through the windows. Great power and sound.

Cons: Noneed so far

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Crutchfield customer from Austin, TX on 11/8/2016

2004 GMC Sierra 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this unit in my 2004 GMC Sierra. Installation was not complicated, as I had installed a BV760 about a month ago, which was stolen in two week time. Functions are all good, GPS is a little slow and very basic, Bluetooth paired very easily. Very god for the price. Good tech support.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

f250

Bill from Baltimore, MD on 10/22/2016

2004 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The radio and navigation work great Bluetooth works good with the factory speakers

Pros: radio and navigation work great was easy to install also Bluetooth works good with the factory speakers

Cons: the only problem I have is my contacts wont go into phone book . Tried several times after resetting but only picks up two contacts

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Great Overall

Matt from Bakersfield, CA on 10/19/2016

2004 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This stereo is amazing, I wish I would have changed out my stock head unit years ago. This stereo really made my factory subwoofer come alive, even with the factory amp. I thought I had good sound before. Installation was pretty simple and the installation accessories provided by Crutchfield were a big help. Now I have to change out my speakers to improve the sound and keep up with the sub. The only thing I would change about this stereo is I wish the instructions for the GPS provided a key for what the icons on the GPS were.

Pros: Too many to list

Cons: Could use more instructions, especially for the GPS

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Boss

Kyle from OK - Oklahoma on 9/2/2016

2010 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's really good

Pros: Easy to use

Cons: Can't think of anything

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Bruno R. from Yuma, AZ on 8/26/2016

2016 Dodge Journey

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This receiver is an excellent value for the money! GPS/NAV is very accurate and is easily updated via the onboard MicroSD card. The bluetooth ability helps keep the driver safe with hands free operation and additional media player ability. Installation instructions are simple and on point and as always the Crutchfield Team is there to help if you do encounter a question!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

13 of 15 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Bernard from Virginia on 8/21/2016

2004 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

love it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 5 found this helpful

Great radio

Nicholas from Northfield, OH on 8/15/2016

2006 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This recover is easy to use and has great features like the built in mic and the Bluetooth. The navigation was easy to follow

Pros: Bluetooth Great sound quality with factory speakers

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Nice

E G from Anderson, SC on 7/20/2016

2007 Honda Ridgeline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit for the price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 13 found this helpful

Boss BV960NV

Roland from Hagerstown, MD on 6/21/2016

2006 Subaru Legacy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought the head unit because it was affordable, had navigation, hands free, bluetooth and USB. Got it installed locally and had no issues with anything extra I would have to buy. Crutchfield included everything they needed to complete the install so no extra fees on parts. Navigation took sometime to figure out but it works and will get you where you want to go. Not the most advance system but I can assure you for the price it gives the other Navigation unit a run for their money. Functional in all aspect, love the handsfree capability, adds richness to your system, I recommend this for people who are looking to upgrade to a navigation system with practical functionality,

Pros: Affordable replacement for stock head unit, has everything modern new vehicle radios has plus more. Touchscreen is very good. Navigation, Bluetooth hands free!!

Cons: Does not include backup camera nor XM radio. When on NAVIGATION Function does not integrate radio functions so you have to back out of navi to turn the stations.

Crutchfield response on

54 of 54 found this helpful

Good basic gps/receiver

Crutchfield customer from Largo, FL on 6/18/2016

2010 Honda CRV LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced OEM radio with this. For the price, it's a good general GPS and receiver. I've only had it for 2 weeks, but like it. It lives up to the descriptions on the crutchfield website.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 14 found this helpful

Good for the price

Carlos from Lafayette, LA on 6/7/2016

2001 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a nice little unit for the price gps works good and the dvd feature for the rear seats is nice for the kids

Pros: Price

Cons: Navigation user face is a little different then most iPhone maps users

Crutchfield response on

10 of 11 found this helpful

Good basic features

William from Springfield, PA on 6/2/2016

1999 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The GPS could be a lot better. It does not give full names of streets, and it mispronounces almost every street and city. The radio display is very "busy" . The bar showing where the station is, like an old time radio, that is not needed, and the buttons to select the station are on the bottom and too small. The GPS is on a memory card, not built in, so that may be why it takes so long to boot into GPS mode. Also, the radio does not have an auto seek and store feature. The SSL radio I purchased before I purchased this one had a much nicer, cleaner, screen display, and more sound, even though the power ratings are the same. Back up camera works fine. USB works fine.

Pros: Has GPS, Radio, USB, back up camera.

Cons: GPS mispronounces everything. GPS takes a long time to boot up. No auto seek and store feature on the radio. Display is very busy and buttons on screen are small.

Crutchfield response on

40 of 43 found this helpful

TOP