Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
475 264 722 3

Our hours

Connect ID #
475 264 722 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Boss MCBK420B

All-terrain Bluetooth® speaker pods and amplifier system (Black)

MFR # MCBK420B

Boss MCBK420B

Boss MCBK420B

All-terrain Bluetooth® speaker pods and amplifier system (Black)

MFR # MCBK420B

26 reviews
View this product

Great speakers

Crutchfield customer from Bedford, PA on 8/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound so far but just got installed so have not taken a trip, but would guess they will be great.

Pros: Great design look good on bike

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great deal for the price

Crutchfield customer from Parma Heights, OH on 6/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I did a lot of review reading before deciding to purchase these as a father's day gift for my husband. I definitely agree with other reviews that the bass is too low and the treble too high. However, after multiple trips out and about... I also agree that they provide plenty of sound on the freeway at 70-80 mph (and that is sitting BEHIND my husband with the speakers mounted in front!) Fortunately, we've not yet had to use them in the rain (and I hope we never do) so I can not speak to the lasting power in the rain. Installation was kind of a pain in the behind, the clamps were too large without the supplied padding and REALLY difficult to close with the padding. The amp is kind of bulky (as "is the "set" of wires that are bundled. We have a "pouch" mounted on the windshield so we were able to "hide" it all but I'm not sure how easy it would be to conceal without that. We are also planning to add, as another buyer suggested, an on'off switch. I'm not a big fan of having to unplug it all the time. I do wonder how long the clips for the power cords will hold up if we have to continue to do this. All in all, a great deal for the purchase price.

Pros: Great sound at 70/80 mph on freeway Economic Easy connection to battery Ability to "aim" the speakers

Cons: Bass could be better Bulky amp system Difficult to 'hide' wires for concealment Must manually unplug from system when done (no on/off)

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boss MCBK420B

Crutchfield customer from P C Beach, FL on 3/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install, very loud, and fast shipping. Thank you crutchfield!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Can't beat it for the price!

Steven from Butler, PA on 6/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this Boss unit for my 30 year old Yamaha Venture, I spent 7 hours installing it only because I wanted it hidden and not able to be easily stolen. I will start off with the speakers, they are very well built, heavy and loud, oh and did I mention loud? If you have trouble hearing these speakers then it's not the speakers, it's your hearing. They don't have the best lows and tones but at the same time I have heard worse for more money, personally I think they sound fine. They are advertised as 3 inch but I think that is the actual speaker itself and not the housing as you can see from the pictures, I placed a can beside the speaker to give a better idea as to there size. The blue tooth is easy to pair with and the unit has multiple ports to hook a device into it. I removed my old cassette deck and retained the lid to help protect it and keep it from view but still have easy access, and that's why it took 7 hours. looking at the pictures, the bottom knob is the volume, the middle is the aux jack in-case you have a music player without blue tooth. The top toggle switch is the only beef I have so far, I have this hooked into the accessory so I can listen to music when the bike is parked but there is no on or off switch, so the unit is always on even when not listening to music. I installed a toggle to be able to turn it off when not needed. I would have given it 5 stars if they had incorporated a off switch into the volume knob but other than that The Boss unit is great

Pros: Loud, has Aux in ports and extendable jack. Well built, when holding the speakers in your hand you won't get the impression they are cheap and they sound good, if you are looking for high fidelity sound then go spend a bunch more money but you won't find better quality for this price.

Cons: My only beef is there is no on and off switch, maybe you don't need one but I looked at it as unnecessary wear and tear on the unit.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Good sound

Robert from Gray Court, SC on 10/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good speakers nice an loud I have them on my sportbike with loud exhaust an can still hear with full face helmet going 75 they are 4" not 3" but no problem

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Very good product!

Peter from Clearwater, FL on 8/27/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound system!

Pros: Well-made and great sounding unit. Good Bluetooth connectivity.

Cons: A little bit heavy for motorcycles but the weights all in the speakers and they produce a great sound so I guess you can't get away from that

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Nice alternative for outdoor vehicles

Edwin from Dorado, PR on 4/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got this system for my boat and I am satisfied with it. Easy to install/setup and the bluetooth works nicely. Don't let the advertised power rating fool you, it does not have that power, at least it doesn't sound like that, but is a great alternative. Need to wait and see how it hold-up to the elements.

Pros: Compact, easy to install/setup, Bluetooth works nice

Cons: Lacks a little more bass, the limit factor maybe the speakers but since the system is pre-wired I will wait to tap different speakers.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Boss MCBK420B

Crutchfield customer from Colorado Springs, CO on 2/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Probably the best sounding speakers I've heard in a pod configuration. Only drawback is the amp size. Nowhere to stash it or mount it now that installed my power commander v under the seat so unfortunately I have to sell it and go with the Victory factory system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great product

Luis from Temple, PA on 9/12/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It sound great and I ride a Harley that is loud and hearing the music at half of your volume is great. I will really recommend this product.

Pros: Easy to install and the Bluetooth works great.

Cons: The brackets could be easier and a little bigger.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Boss Bluetooth speakers

Bruce from Elbow Lake, MN on 8/7/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install, easy to connect, nice product! Decent sound...

Pros: Easy install.. Easy connect

Cons: Could use more bads

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Not impressed.

robert from Petoskey, MI on 8/6/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I didn't expect much for the price. Don't even try to play rock music. Keith Whitley and Clint Black sounded just ok, Metallica, don't even try.

Pros: Inexpensive, well built.

Cons: No base, can play limited types of music.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Works great

Jacob from MS on 7/1/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I put this set up on my rzr 900 I have been in the mud and water pressure washed them and they are still working no problems have to modify the mounting brackets but other than great setup

Pros: Sounds great for the money

Cons: Mounting brackets

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Boss MCBK420B

Crutchfield customer from Roy, Ut on 5/27/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought my bike Aug 2015 and had the Harley shop installed the Boom Audio speakers, and blew one of the speakers after a few months. Harley wouldn't warranty them. Bought these Boss speakers and absolutely love them. Great price, great sound and great quality. I can hear them driving 90 mph whereas the Harley ones I could hardly hear at 70 mph.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

13 of 14 found this helpful

Boss MCBK420B

Hal from Bessemer, Al on 5/21/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great System

Pros: Can be heard well on bike with cobra exhaust

Cons: Needs more bass

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Boss MCBK420B

William from Lake Lure, NC on 4/18/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this for a side by side UTV for the convenience of prewired and that is was designed for a UTV. The clamps that hold the speakers to the roll bars are too small and new ones needed to be made. The wire from the speakers to the harness all had to be but with additional wire place in for additional length (at least 2' per run). The sound is not bad for the price but the amount of work was not worth the end result.

Pros: none

Cons: speaker clamps too small; not enough wire. Too much work for a prewired system

Crutchfield response on

1 of 6 found this helpful

BOSS KAWASAKI MULE

JAMES from Herculaneum, MO on 3/30/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

GREAT SOUND FOR THE MONEY EASY TO INSTALL LOOKING AT ANOTHER ONE FOR MY POLARIS RANGER BUT CONSIDER GOING TO THE 4 SPEAKER

Pros: EASY TO INSTALL

Cons: HAD TO REMOVE WIRES FROM CONNECTOR TO MOUNT

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Side by Side Sound

Davy from Leesburg, GA on 3/6/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The ONLY negative this is that the brackets are made for motorcycle handlebars and I had to modify the brackets. The speakers sound VERY GOOD even with the aftermarket exhaust.

Pros: Sound is very good

Cons: Mounting brackets need revamping.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

Blows my mind

Harold C from beggs, OK on 3/3/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product is amazing for the money. I can hear it even on the highway doing 65. It's awesome to pull up to a stop sign and see people singing along with my music because they can hear it. A great product easy install took me probably 30 minutes and most of that was spent hiding wires because I'm ocd. If your on the fence go for it you won't regret it.

Pros: Easy install, price is awesome, looks good on the bike, fits almost any size handle bar.

Cons: I didn't buy it sooner

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Impressed!

Chris from edgewater, FL on 2/13/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I originally had a another brand system on my bike that I paid around $150.00 for and only lasted about 2 years before the speakers crapped out. I figured for the price of this system I would be getting about the same quality but to my surprise, the overall appearance of this system is 10 times better. Sound is much better then expected also. Like other reviews posted, they are not much for bass but that doesn't bother me to much. As far as longevity, we will just have to see but so far I am extremely please.

Pros: price, ease of installation, good sound

Cons: lack of bass

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Boss MCBK420B

Silverback from South Carolina on 11/12/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound for the price/versitile-volume controle works well with ballancing rear bag speakers

Pros: Just nice easy install

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boss MCBK420B

Crutchfield customer from Colorado on 11/12/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

easy install. good looking. Great Sound, I love the blue tooth availability, i used zip ties to mount it and the volume control.

Pros: blue tooth

Cons: could use a bit longer volume leads. completely water seal the amp.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good sound for the price

Digger from North Carolina on 11/6/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sound and easy installation, especially for the price. Very happy with the system.

Pros: Inexpensive, easy to install

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Boss MCBK420B

Crutchfield customer from Alabama on 10/29/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Blew me away with how loud these speakers were. I put them on a Can Am Maverick and they sound like they are twice the size of what they really are. I had to get different clamps than the ones supplied to fit around the 2 inch roll cage of the Mav but it was not a hard fix.

Pros: Sound, ease of installation, good Bluetooth connection.

Cons: Clamps supplied will only fit up to 1-1/2 inch bars but an easy fix if you need bigger clamps.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Boss MCBK420B

Crutchfield customer from Pembroke Pines, FL on 9/20/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Too new to judge too much but great price, appears to have good build quality, good Bluetooth connection.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Boss MCBK420B

Crutchfield customer from South elgin, il on 5/22/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install. Loud good sound. Great speakers for the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

UTV Boss

Crutchfield customer from Chattanooga, Tennessee on 5/10/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Only used it once, but seems to do the job.

Pros: pretty easy to install.

Cons: Had to take the wires back out of the plastic connector to run the wires. Would like to have a way to adjust the bass & treble.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

TOP