Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
127 426 040 4
Connect ID #
127 426 040 4
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Boss MRCP9685A

Weatherproof digital multimedia receiver (does not play CDs)

MFR # MRCP9685A

Boss MRCP9685A

Boss MRCP9685A

Weatherproof digital multimedia receiver (does not play CDs)

MFR # MRCP9685A

32 reviews
View this product

carplay stereo

Sean from Saint Johns, FL on 9/13/2022

2010 Hyundai Genesis

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

it was very easy to install and works exactly how advertised

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss MRCP9685A

Michael from Stratford, CT on 8/18/2022

2018 Honda Civic LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2014 Jeep Wrangler

Richard from Victorville on 7/20/2022

2014 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My previous stereo died due to rain when the top and doors were off, but I got this unit from Crutchfield and it works great! They were very helpful, and it fit in the dash easily.

Pros: Good sound, and the screen is easy to use.

Cons: None yet.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

CarPlay function randomly works after only 5 months

Crutchfield customer from HENDERSONVILLE, NC on 7/19/2022

2015 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have had the unit for 5 months and already the CarPlay function randomly works. I am beyond the return period Crutchfield offers, or I would exchange for a better brand unit. If you are purchasing for the CarPlay function don't bother. Works fine as just a radio and streaming/Bluetooth.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 7/20/2022
We're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. While your order is beyond Crutchfield's 60-day return policy, please feel free to reach out to our Tech Support team for help, or for information about the 3-year Boss warranty on this deck. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Not good

Jason from Winter Haven, FL on 6/26/2022

2012 Harley-Davidson Road Glide

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Definitely not marine grade. 1 good rain and now the touch screen no longer works properly. Very disappointed for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 6/28/2022
After receiving Jason's feedback, we looked up his order and found that his receiver is still under warranty. While his order is beyond Crutchfield's 60-day return policy, he can contact Boss at 800-999-1236 for further information about the 3-year warranty on this receiver.

1 of 2 found this helpful

Boss MRCP9685A

Justin from Danvers, MA on 5/25/2022

2003 Toyota Sequoia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good, only problem I'm having is a fitment issue, large gaps on side of unit

Pros: Easy instal, look great, easy to use

Cons: Fitment

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice upgrade to my 2002 F150

Crutchfield customer from OZARK, AL on 4/16/2022

2002 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The unit along with the Crutchfield pre wired harness was plug and play. The install kit isn't great but works out ok. I used rubber cement to attach the install kit bezel because the attaching arms are useless. Also, rubber cement is easy to remove. The mod to my truck was a lot of trim and fit but that is another story. The unit works and looks great and is quite an upgrade over the 20 year oem radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

2010 Jeep Wrangler

Brad from Waukee, IA on 4/4/2022

2010 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This radio is great for this price point. It has all of the functions that I was looking for and is pretty intuitive to use. There may be more features in higher priced units, but I have never used more than the basics. It sounds good, has some preset equalizers, and was easy to install.

Pros: Blue tooth reconnects and begins playing when I make a stop and then restart the vehicle.

Cons: None that I could find so far.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Easy!

Shannon from Edwardsville, IL on 3/23/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Terrific unit. Easy and intuitive

Pros: Easy to install and use

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jeep

Taylor from Indianapolis, IN on 3/13/2022

2017 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was easy to install! But when talking on the phone over the Bluetooth it is pretty staticy. Other than that I love my purchase! Great for my jeep

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss MRCP9685A

Jim from Roswell, GA on 2/17/2022

2012 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome radio!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss MRCP9685A

Crutchfield customer from Egg Hbr Twp, NJ on 12/26/2021

1997 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far I like the receiver, bought a install kit and the hardware is junk, plastic, holes don't match up, very frustrating . Probably won't hold up

Pros: Nice display

Cons: Plastic hardware for keep poor quality

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

My first car installation for me

Crutchfield customer from Watsonville, CA on 12/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I thought the CarPlay would be going through the blue tooth, but it goes through a data cable. A little inconvenient. But worth it!!!! Instructions for the installation could be clearer for the rear camera set up and getting CarPlay to work. But the fantastic technical support people made it all worth it. They made it all work out!!!!!!! Awesome new radio for my truck!!

Pros: The radio was easier to install then I thought.

Cons: The accessories were a little more difficult to instll. Rear camera, Mic, and additional USBs.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boss MRCP9685A

Crutchfield customer from Englewood, FL on 12/24/2021

2004 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Haven't installed it yet, but the shipping was fast and easy and Crutchfield has been awesome.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 5 found this helpful

Boss MRCP9685A

Crutchfield customer from Cathedral City, CA on 12/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound for the low price. Can't figure out why the volume is so low for the voice navigation. Otherwise, very intuitive controls. Easy to use.

Pros: Easy, great fit in our Jeep

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice radio

Crutchfield customer from Barto, PA on 11/3/2021

2005 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed on 05 wrangler, it's like a Jeep from the future! Absolutely love it. I especially like how the Metra dash kit integrates with it. The radio mounts behind it, giving that real OEM look(minus being a modern day touch screen, haha). For the type of vehicle I put it in, I couldn't be happier. And honestly, for a double din under $400. it's definitely worth it's price tag. If I paid $6,7,800+ I'd expect a lot more from it. For what I bought it for though, I'm thoroughly impressed. Can't go wrong with this radio for a step up from stock upgrade.

Pros: Great options and good sound for an semi-entry level double din.

Cons: Install on an 05 Wrangler may be challenging for a novice due to the amount of modifications and cutting, not terrible but does require certain tools and trial/error. That's probably to be expected though with a double din conversion. No cons with radio itself.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Terrible Unit from a Terrible Company

Jose from HAWTHORNE, NJ on 11/1/2021

2009 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the second unit from Boss I have purchased. The first was the BE7ACP which was worse than awful. Even when I contacted Boss Support they basically told me we don't know how to fix it, a firmware update may break it even worse. So I returned it and bought the MRCP9685A. I figured it was more expensive and maybe a bit better. Well I was wrong. Car Play is terrible, there is a massive echo on the callers side. When I called Boss Support they said lower the radio until the echo disappears, so basically I lowered it to a point where there was no echo and no sound to hear the caller. They don't have a firmware fix for this and they don't even know how to fix it if they did. How any reputable store can sell any Boss radio's is beyond me. Crutchfield you're doing a MASSIVE disservice to your customers offering these radios. Thank God for 60 days returns!

Pros: Crutchfield 60 Day Return

Cons: The entire radio unit The Boss Audio Company as whole

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Boss MRCP9685A

Lino from Jersey City, NJ on 10/25/2021

2006 BMW 3 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing stereo for the price, I just finish easy installation in my 2015 Nissan Frontier and can not be happier. Apple play excellent!

Pros: Everything!

Cons: none.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss MRCP9685A

Crutchfield customer from Bennington, NE on 10/24/2021

2010 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great deal for a new unit for my wrangler. Install went smooth and I was able to complete in under 4 hours saving me $500.00!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boss MRCP9685A

Crutchfield customer from Beaver, PA on 10/23/2021

2010 Jeep Commander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great head unit. Reasonably easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great radio!

Crutchfield customer from Beaverton, OR on 10/11/2021

2003 Toyota Sequoia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio for the price. It would have been easier to install if I had paid more attention to which radio I was replacing. The radio has all the features I want for my truck - with both front and rear cameras. I really like the user interface. Crutchfield did an incredible job on the cables and it would have been trivial for the radio I claimed was in my truck. Someone, possibly Crutchfield and possibly Boss, put nice labels on all of the wires coming out of the connector on the back - so when I had to take apart the nice wiring Crutchfield had done and put different connectors on that fit what was really in my truck, it was easy to get the writes connected correctly.

Pros: Nice User Interface; Pretty good manual for 2021!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss MRCP9685A

Crutchfield customer from Bloomfield, IA on 10/7/2021

2014 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Touchscreen is easy to use, but radio controls seem a tad clunky and not easy to navigate. Overall great sound in the vehicle.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great replacement in a Jeep Wrangler

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 10/4/2021

2014 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in a 2014 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited with factory subwoofer. I bought the prewired set up from Crutchfield with the parts to keep the steering wheel controls. I already had a license plate camera that I plugged into the back of the head unit. Only had it a few weeks but it works perfectly, I really enjoy the rear camera function and carplay, both great features. Good price for all the features. I think they designed it to stick out past dash 1/2" as it has a rubber face cover you can put on, I installed it flush with the dash so the face protector can't be used but it is less likely to get damaged and looks better flush too.

Pros: Car Play Waterproof Camera ready Install kit from Crutchfield made it simple Support from Crutchfield made it simple

Cons: Non so far

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Boss MRCP9685A

Crutchfield customer from Pharr, TX on 9/22/2021

2007 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio. Very responsive to touch. Ordered the pre-made harness, made the install so easy.

Pros: Lots of nice features

Cons: I think the screen is a little small. But that's just me

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great upgrade to old, stock radio

Crutchfield customer from Killeen, TX on 9/11/2021

2011 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For those on a pretty tight budget, this will be the perfect upgrade.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Nice stereo

Crutchfield customer from Wichita Falls, TX on 8/30/2021

2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After getting caught in a rain shower while driving with no doors and no top on my JKU OEM stereo died. I'm glad I found a "water proof" stereo. I added in a front and rear camera which look great on the screen. This stereo is also louder than the stock unit. Apple play is way better than the UConnect/Bluetooth functions as well.

Pros: Camera options, sound quality

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

7 of 7 found this helpful

Boss MRCP9685A

Crutchfield customer from South Lyon, MI on 8/26/2021

2008 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Radio, be aware you need to adjust default volumes levels for car play apps and cell phone.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boss MRCP9685A

Crutchfield customer from Decatur, GA on 8/23/2021

2003 Toyota Sequoia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice interface but the audio was tinny. Crutchfield, however, was amazing in helping on install and replacement.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boss MRCP9685A

Crutchfield customer from Midlothian, VA on 8/20/2021

2006 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was easy to install and does everything I want it to do.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boss MRCP9685A

Crutchfield customer from Boca Raton, FL on 8/16/2021

2003 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, wished Boss would have provided a slightly wider bezel

Pros: Crutchfield had it in stock

Cons: wished Boss would have provided a slightly wider bezel

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very nice upgrade to my 2008 Explorer

Crutchfield customer from Long Beach, CA on 7/26/2021

2008 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield did a nice job matching me with the system that fits nicely into my Explorer's dash area. I ordered the installation instructions and they were easy to follow. Also the nominal fee to order the wiring harnesses was well worth the cost. I'm not that mechanically inclined but was able to take out the old and replace it with the Boss system in just a couple of hours -without having to call customer support. So nice now to have post-2008 technologies such as Bluetooth connectivity, hands free IPhone communications and the ability to play podcasts.

Pros: *All the latest in connectivity technologies not yet available when first purchasing car *Ability to customize stereo sound at far greater level than factory installed sustem

Cons: *Lack of integrated hands-free mic. Instead you have a dash mounted mic that sits outside of dash

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Awesome product

Zach from Fenton, MO on 7/11/2021

2007 Honda Accord LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing product, you get exactly what you pay for. Worth every last bit.

Pros: Great picture Easy install Amazing sound

Cons: Brightness Size

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound