Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

JVC CS-DR1700C

6-3/4" component speaker system

MFR # CS-DR1700C

JVC CS-DR1700C

JVC CS-DR1700C

6-3/4" component speaker system

MFR # CS-DR1700C

43 reviews
View this product

Great sound!!

Crutchfield customer from Iliff, CO on 11/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and easy install!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Exceptional!!!!

Crutchfield customer from Lawrenceville, GA on 10/18/2019

2005 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound & value!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC CS-DR1700C

Crutchfield customer from Renton, WA on 8/23/2019

2013 Kia Soul

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sounding speakers for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

JVC CS-DR1700C

Crutchfield customer from Warren, MI on 8/4/2019

2014 Ford Fiesta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Perfect for my needs

Crutchfield customer from San Jose, CA on 7/25/2019

2001 Lexus IS300

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

No complains. Straight forward install with the supplied accessories. Sounds way better than factory speakers even without an amp...and i havent even install the rears yet. So these 2 front speaker alone are an upgrade

Pros: Easy of install Good sound quality

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great upgrade over 2010 technology

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, TX on 7/19/2019

2010 Honda Fit

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted to upgrade the OEM head unit in my daughters 2010 Honda Fit. The stock system lacked Bluetooth, and basic tuning functions. NO balance, bass, or treble adjustment. I selected the JVC KW-X830BTS as a simple upgrade. Purchasing this head unit qualified for 1/2 off prices, of select JVC speakers. I chose the JVC CS-DR1700C for the front, and the CS-DR1721 for the rear. Total price of approx $185, including the needed installation accessories. I have above average mechanical and auto electronics skills. This was a straight forward installation, even for a novice. The hardest part was installing the component tweeters into the OEM dashboard housings. A bit of trimming, and plastic epoxy did the trick. I spliced the tweeter wires into the chassis radio harness, which made for a cleaner installation. One thing I will note, the provided screws are almost always too long for the plastic speaker adapter rings. As was the case here. This combo out performs the stock stereo immensely! I was impressed by the amount of EQ presets, and adjustability. Definitely worth the purchase price! Great bang for the buck! I honestly was not considering the JVC speakers, until I noticed the price break. I do not regret it! They sound great, for an entry level option!

Pros: Better than expected sound quality, budget friendly

Cons: Mounting screws were too long for my application. A beginner DIYer may find tweeter mounting challenging.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

JVC CS-DR1700C

Crutchfield customer from Knapp, WI on 7/17/2019

2007 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Decent

Crutchfield customer from Amarillo, TX on 6/24/2019

1998 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crossover not included. Sounds okay but not much bass, to be fare it is a mid setup and it does that well.

Pros: Decent mid sound, install kit and parts are good. Affordable

Cons: Not the best sound, no adjustable crossover

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

2014 Nissan Altima

Crutchfield customer from Greensboro, NC on 4/8/2019

2014 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed these in a 2014 Nissan Altima. These were used as stock replacements in the front doors. they sound fantastic and installation was a breeze thanks to Crutchfield's detailed instructions and all included accessories!

Pros: Ease of installation, sound

Cons: I have none!

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

JVC CS-DR1700C

Crutchfield customer from Cullman, AL on 3/20/2019

2010 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed on daughter's car and she is enjoying them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 7 found this helpful

Awesome sound!

Crutchfield customer from Durango, CO on 3/18/2019

2002 Chevrolet TrailBlazer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They sound great and were easy to install. Will be buying with Crutchfield again!

Pros: Great price Great sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

JVC CS-DR1700C

Sean from Rio Rancho, NM on 2/8/2019

2001 Chevrolet Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These jvc Speakers are a great upgrade over the factory speakers. Very happy with my purchase. And like always crutchfield sent all installation parts and hardware.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

JVC CS-DR1700C

Crutchfield customer from Enterprise, AL on 1/9/2019

1994 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sounding speakers!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 5 found this helpful

Solid performer

Crutchfield customer from Redding, CA on 11/19/2018

1998 Dodge Dakota

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Much more bass than I expected out of a 6 3/4" speaker. Highs are pretty high. Seems to sound best with R&B.

Pros: Plenty of base for a mid.

Cons: Highs seem a bit too high.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

JVC CS-DR1700C

Christopher B from Hurst, TX on 11/16/2018

2009 Honda Civic EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good improvement over my factory door speakers. Good, clean sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

JVC CS-DR1700C

Edward from Carlsbad, CA on 11/12/2018

2007 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I can really hear the bass, that makes all the difference.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

JVC CS-DR1700C

Michael from Hewitt, TX on 9/8/2018

2001 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Speakers sound great.

Pros: Cost, fitment

Cons: Non

Crutchfield response on

0 of 6 found this helpful

Sound fantastic

Lou from Bayville, NJ on 9/4/2018

2012 Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers and kit

Pros: They sound great

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 6 found this helpful

They worked ok and fit the rear doors fine.

George from Byron, GA on 8/12/2018

2006 GMC Envoy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Spent some time with my grandson installing these with a system in his first car. They sound ok. Much improvement because his factory radio was close to death. Did not use the tweeters as the front speakers are 2 way.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 5 found this helpful

JVC CS-DR1700C

Crutchfield customer from Cocoa, FL on 5/14/2018

1999 Chevrolet Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crisp mids and highs. Is not a true component speaker system, but functions very nicely.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

JVC CS-DR1700C

Crutchfield customer from Greer, SC on 4/26/2018

2000 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great replacement speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

JVC CS-DR1700C

Crutchfield customer from Los Gatos, CA on 4/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My tech new his stuff understood what music I liked allowed him to recommend new speakers fir my Car. Answers all my questions . Gave me specs for a Amp I will be installing next Great Company , Great Service Help!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

JVC CS-DR1700C

Joe from Longview, TX on 3/26/2018

2012 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice, but I didn't really need them. It was a lot of work to pull out the existing panels without destroying them, get the new ones in place, route wiring for the separate tweeters, and get everything back together. When I pulled out the existing door speakers, I saw that the factory versions were already 50 Watt rating. So, well, maybe these are just going to sound better because they have separate tweeters. Using my VIN, Crutchfield showed that my vehicle did not have tweeters in the dash openings, so I decided to route these separate JVC tweeters up there. I got the A-Pillars off so that I could remove the tweeter speaker covers, and guess what? There were tweeters in there. So, yeah, that was wasted money. I didn't need these speakers at all. But, they are installed now. What else was I going to do with them? Do they sound better? Brother, don't ask me. They sounded great before. They sound great now. So... ???? I guess the 4 of 5 Star Rating is more on Crutchfield for not telling me to stick with what I had.

Pros: Sound as good as factory Nissan speakers.

Cons: My car didn't need these.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 11 found this helpful

JVC CS-DR1700C

Crutchfield customer from Kingwood, TX on 3/22/2018

2016 Hyundai Elantra GT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit was right on and great sound for the cost!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 5 found this helpful

Great sound

Stu from NC on 1/26/2018

2002 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Terrific upgrade for 2002 Chevy Tahoe front doors (factory amp bypassed for door speakers) along with KD-R988BTS receiver. Great sound, good bass response, and wonderful highs all with proper crossover and hi-pass and low-pass filter settings. Still running hi-level inputs at the moment and can't wait to hear them once I upgrade to line-level with amp.

Pros: Love everything about them!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Don't believe the hype

Cooder from Illinois on 1/24/2018

2003 Chevrolet Astro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are just barely better than the stock speakers. Not worth the price, even at 50% off. I didn't even bother doing a custom mount for the tweeters because of the lack of quality with the 6 3/4 speakers. Not worth my time. The magnets are actually smaller than the factory speakers. Mounting holes did not line up with the factory holes. A few self tamping screws helped me mount them. I would save my money if I were you. Or get some speakers that are of a higher quality than these.

Pros: Inexpensive

Cons: Sound almost like the factory speakers Mounting holes do not line up with the factory holes

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

5 of 15 found this helpful

JVC CS-DR1700C

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 1/5/2018

1997 GMC Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice mellow sounds from theses speakers. Thank you !

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 5 found this helpful

JVC CS-DR1700C

Victor Luis Ote from Orocovis, PR on 12/31/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 5 found this helpful

JVC CS-DR1700C

Crutchfield customer from Great Falls, MT on 12/21/2017

2004 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and value !!!!! Wish I would of done the rear doors with these !!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 5 found this helpful

JVC CS-DR1700C

Crutchfield customer from Bridgeville, DE on 12/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great deal for the money. Tweeters may need brackets.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great sound for the price!

Dennis from North Canton, OH on 10/7/2017

2004 Chevrolet Colorado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got this set for half off with my JVC head unit and couldn't be happier, especially for the price. They fit great in my 2004 Colorado and are a night and day difference over the stock units. Thanks to Peyton at Crutchfield for his recommendations! As always, top notch customer service and fast shipping. Crutchfield....the only place I will purchase my audio equipment.

Pros: Easy to install in my vehicle. Great customer support from Crutchfield. All the adapters to plug them right in.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

JVC CS-DR1700C

Michael from Valley Springs, CA on 8/17/2017

1994 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great upgrade to the factory speakers. No problem pushing them with a 18w head unit. Very crisp and clear. Great deal with the 50% JVC special as well. Couldn't be happier.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Better than factory speakers

Crutchfield customer from Portland, OR on 8/8/2017

1999 Chevrolet Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The tweeters are not easy to properly install in the stock locations. It involved drilling 2 holes in the stock turn-to-lock carrier, siliconing a length of metal hanging tape to the back of the tweeters, inserting 1 1/4 rubber slip joint gaskets to decouple them from the carriers, and securing each assembly with 2 machine screws. They would be easier to mount on the sail panels, but then they'd be in plain view and they're not exactly pretty. All in all these speakers sound better than the stock ones.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

JVC CS-DR1700C

Crutchfield customer from Pevely, MO on 7/9/2017

2003 Pontiac Vibe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds much better over the aftermarket 2 way's that were in there.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

JVC CS-DR1700C

Crutchfield customer from Albuquerque, NM on 4/18/2017

2007 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

fit good with speaker adapters Crutchfield sent... sounds better then original speakers

Pros: good sound for price......

Cons: I thought they were components but no didn't read ad right....

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

JVC CS-DR1700C

Chris from Melbourne, FL on 3/24/2017

2011 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the speakers. Price wise I got what I paid for I guess.

Pros: Easy install plug and play.

Cons: None really

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Works as expected.

Pat from Wichita, KS on 1/10/2017

1996 Chevrolet K Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds good with new head unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Sounds nice, but not much bass.

Ben from Tucson, AZ on 10/23/2016

1994 Mazda Miata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These were upgraded with a more powerful head unit. They get louder and are clearer as long as I turn the deck's filter to block out everything below 100Hz. Before I did that, the sound distorted whenever anything with lower octave bass played.

Pros: Clear nice sound.

Cons: Fairly weak on lowest of bass.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Front Door Speakers

john from Windsor, CA on 9/8/2016

2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good speakers but had to install them with screws and drill new holes for them.

Pros: Good sound and easy install.

Cons: Not direct exchange for the old speakers

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

nice replacement

Joe from Riverview, FL on 7/25/2016

2004 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice speakers, fit easy, did not work with factory connections on the tweeter had to splice into the supplied connection for the woofer. sounds good with the entire system I purchased. very happy with the end results for my 2004 Beetle

Pros: very nice for my 2004 beetle, easy fit on woofer.

Cons: you will need to make a bracket for the tweeter and splice into the woofer

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

great deal

The-Tree from Kalispell, MT on 7/12/2016

2005 Scion tC

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We had to alter the adapter to make the speakers fit but it was fairly simple to alter. The speakers are much better than the ones i had before

Pros: good high and low sounds, bass is pretty good for the price

Cons: adapter needed alteration

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

JVC CS-DR1700C

Crutchfield customer from Williams , AZ on 6/28/2016

2006 Saturn ION 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall these are really good sounding, especially for the price.

Pros: Nice sounding

Cons: Lacking bass

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Nice easy replacement for blown subs

Al from Collinsville, IL on 3/30/2016

2006 Chrysler Crossfire

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The subs in my wife's crossfire had blown and finding replacement parts has been almost impossible. I was getting ready to ship the speakers to a repair shop when I noticed these speakers. The woofers fit easily in the factory enclosures. The tweeters are not used and don't work due to the way the amp sends only the low-end frequency to the rear speakers. It's not quite a deep bass as the factory subs but for the price it is adequate and does a nice job of filling out the sound in the car. My wife is not much of an audiophile so she is happy with it. Someone who is more of an audiophile might not be as happy. The only knock is that the terminals for attaching the speaker leads are pretty flimsy and bend easily.

Pros: Easy to install, great price, adequate bass to replace factory subs

Cons: Flimsy connection terminals

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

TOP