Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
164 219 614 3
Connect ID #
164 219 614 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

JVC KW-M56BT

Digital multimedia receiver (does not play DVD/CD discs)

MFR # KW-M56BT

JVC KW-M56BT

JVC KW-M56BT

Digital multimedia receiver (does not play DVD/CD discs)

MFR # KW-M56BT

35 reviews
View this product

JVC M56BT

Sean from Dinwiddie VA on 1/13/2021

2007 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great head unit for the price. I installed it in a 2007 tundra limited with the JBL audio system. This head unit brought my system to life. The sound is so much better than the stock stereo. I did have crutchfield do the ready harness so it was pretty much plug and play. The only issue I had was finding the reverse wire for my back up camera. In other reviews people have complained about no volume and I can see how that would be and issue if you don't have steering wheel controls. I do have steering controls so I have no problems. The head unit works flawlessly and looks great. CarPlay is definitely nice to have.

Pros: Sounds great Looks great Performs smooth

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-M56BT

Crutchfield customer from Miami, FL on 1/12/2021

2017 Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great quality and easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-M56BT

Jim from Succasunna, NJ on 1/9/2021

2005 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had originally purchased a less expensive receiver from Crutchfield and foolishly gave it a 4-star review before I spent a lot of time with it. I came to hate that receiver and the last straw was when it completely locked up and would not function at all. It's installed in my 2005 Sierra SLE "winter beater" so I wasn't looking for anything super fancy, but I at least wanted it to work. I went back shopping at Crutchfield and settled on this JVC receiver. Crutchfield was great about the exchange. This JVC is so much better in every aspect. The controls are intuitive and the home screen is customizable. Sound quality is great thanks to the sound time alignment options and 13-band equalizer. Car Play looks and functions great, unlike the old unit that was washed out and glitchy. It's as intuitive and performs as well as the factory touchscreen my other, newer vehicle. I read another review that mentioned a lack of documentation that comes in the box. This is true - JVC only provides the "Quick Start Guide", which has references to the not-included "User Manual". The user manual is downloadable from JVC and has all the details you need for the full functionality of the unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Performs Well

Crutchfield customer from Greenfield, WI on 12/28/2020

2012 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall this is a really good stereo. It is very easy to install, performs well. I have not used Android Auto but Apple Car Play has worked really good, is very responsive and all apps work well. I replaced the factory Uconnect with Alpine package in a 2012 Ram Laramie. I retained the steering wheel controls and reused a camera I already had. I would not recommend using this stereo without steering wheel controls. The rear USB cable is plenty long. The microphone so far has been terrible. I have tried different positions, etc. I can hear fine on my end but the other person always hears a loud echo to the point that is unusable. The OSD clock never works if stereo is off but works well when it is on. The dimmer sync control also did not work in my setup, even though wiring is connected. To my surprise I have not been able to get the same quality of sound that I did from my factory stereo. I've been playing with the EQ but cannot achieve the crisp sound I am used to. At this price point, with all the features it includes, this is a good stereo and definitely an upgrade from my factory stereo.

Pros: Car Play, Customizable Backgrounds, Home Button, steering wheel controls, rear camera input,

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Good buy

Crutchfield customer from Jamestown, NC on 12/28/2020

2008 Nissan Xterra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice radio with all the features we wanted at a good price. Was able to get all the supplies for an easy installation.

Pros: Nice features for the price

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-M56BT

Crutchfield customer from Canyon Lake, CA on 12/28/2020

2001 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This place is the real deal. To simple, I cheated with their guy on the website and he was great. Already sent another guy your way. Thanks for the help

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KW-M56BT

Crutchfield customer from Ocala, FL on 12/25/2020

2012 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

There is a lot of glare on the screen. The rest is great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Everything we needed

JOSEPH from MICKLETON, NJ on 12/24/2020

2004 Honda Pilot

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quality product. Offering everything that was needed. Android auto and Apple CarPlay work flawlessly. Cant say much about power as it is hookedto an amplifier but if it has whatyou are looking for i highly recommend

Pros: Great display. CarPlay and Android Auto.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

L

Crutchfield customer from Scottsdale, AZ on 12/24/2020

2015 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to use and sounds great.

Pros: Great upgrade!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome Unit - Needs more in the manual

Crutchfield customer from Summerville , SC on 12/24/2020

2003 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall a very good head unit, but instruction manual is very basic. There are so many settings related to DB, Gain, and Equalizer that it is too much for a novice like me, especially when this is running to amplifiers. The unit is a 5 star win and very easy to operate, just wish there were more details related to settings in the manual.

Pros: Easy to install with Crutchfield instructions Easy to navigate basic features Works great with Carplay

Cons: Settings are hard to navigate ( DB, Gain, Equalizer )

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Everything you need

Crutchfield customer from Lawton, OK on 12/20/2020

2007 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice radio. Easy to use and learn. Has everything my new car has like hands free phone. Apple car play.

Pros: Touch screen

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great for the price

Crutchfield customer from Hubbard, OR on 12/19/2020

2007 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Classic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install especially with installation kit from Crutchfield. Depth of head unit is pretty short so it fit perfectly in my vehicle without and alterations. Radio is easy to use, has a clear screen and Haptic Touch for volume and song selection are nice. Music sounds good and the unit has more settings for sound adjustment than I'll ever use.

Pros: Touch screen works great. Sound is good and the unit is easy to install in shallow places.

Cons: Pretty bright at night, side buttons are not easy to see

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-M56BT

Crutchfield customer from Albion, CA on 12/18/2020

2004 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice radio,too much power for my stock speakers in my F350, so I did buy some Kenwood speakers front and back and it rocks. Clear well seperated sound and power to spare. The old double din factory radio hole in the dash needed a simple cutout and with the prebuilt connectors from Crutchfield the radio was on and powered up for testing literally in a minute or less. The android auto is great, you get the map and spoken directions all on your touchscreen, the only drawback I've encountered so far is not being able to listen to my ipod while Android auto is operational. The backup camera was a very difficult installation on my truck but it turned out really well and is a huge upgrade for my very long, hard to see behind truck. No more running over old folks and little kids in the grocery store parking lot??

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KW-M56BT

Crutchfield customer from Ewa Beach, HI on 12/15/2020

2005 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit for my Tacoma. Thanks to the expert advice and service from Crutchfield this JVC unit was a breeze to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great car play usit!!

GEORGE from MARANA, AZ on 12/14/2020

2003 Chevrolet Avalanche

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great replacement for my older Kenwood NON car play unit. Very easy to install with great support from Crutchfield! Only thing I cannot get working is the dimmer control, wired it like they told me but still no luck.

Pros: Price, options, sound quality, car play and functions.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-M56BT

Annie from Granite City, IL on 12/14/2020

2013 Chevrolet Malibu

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good product fast shipping

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-M56BT

Crutchfield customer from Choudrant, LA on 12/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-M56BT

Crutchfield customer from Grovetown, GA on 12/14/2020

2007 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very responsive touch screen. Easy interface.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-M56BT

Crutchfield customer from Deltona, FL on 12/13/2020

2006 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works Perfectly!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-M56BT

Crutchfield customer from Norwood, PA on 12/13/2020

2007 Chevrolet Colorado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall the radio is good. Sound quality is acceptable, screen easy to read. The reason for only 4 stars are, it take too long for the radio to turn on(boot up) and the volume buttons are hard to work with. Installation was easy. some questions answered by tech support.

Pros: Easy to install. Sound quality good.

Cons: Volume buttons hard to work. too long to turn on.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-M56BT

Crutchfield customer from Rosedale, NY on 12/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome sound & quality, I tried it because of the price & was very happy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-M56BT

Crutchfield customer from Virginia Beach, VA on 12/11/2020

2005 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the radio, but I don't like that it doesn't have a volume nob. The price and functionality of the unit is outstanding.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-M56BT

Crutchfield customer from Camas, WA on 12/10/2020

2010 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Low priced and capable unit.

Pros: Low price

Cons: No CD, HD radio. USB Cable required for car play/Apple play.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Almost a 5 Star Receiver

Suriel from Caguas, PR on 12/8/2020

2006 Dodge Durango

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was a 5 star until I noticed if you're using your phone through bluetooth any incoming calls won't show the caller's name just their #. Unless you're using CarPlay and/or Android Auto then it will display the Name as well. Another thing I didn't like much is that it did not bring a simplified EQ setting, and the presets I didn't like either. So, keep in mind you have to set to your liking the 13-band equalizer yourself. Everything else is amazing for its price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

1995 Buick LeSabre gets upgraded sound!

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, VA on 12/7/2020

1995 Buick LeSabre

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit from JVC, call quality is good and the interface is nice and easy to use. I especially like the feature that lets me turn off the display so that my dash is completely dark. I installed this into a 1995 Buick LeSabre, blends in to the dash perfectly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC Head Unit

Crutchfield customer from Bowie, MD on 12/6/2020

2017 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love it. However a steering wheel volume button will make this product better if your vehicle doesn't have knobs to tune and volume control. I used the Maestro Sat1 and USB adapter to maintain my stock Satellite antenna and usb connection.

Pros: Car Play Bluetooth customizable background

Cons: All digital buttons. No analog buttons for control

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-M56BT

Crutchfield customer from Lithia, FL on 12/4/2020

1999 Lexus ES300

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sound quality and pretty easy to install. Splicing the green break wire was trickier than expected.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A surprisingly good experience

DM from Charleston, SC on 12/3/2020

2005 Porsche Boxster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is more than a decent head unit for the price. The Crutchfield support is like, or better than, working with a local shop. Im so happy with the customer service, its been surprisingly friendly, and helpful. I do try to support local businesses, but honestly they wouldn't have been there for me, especially when Im working in my car at 10pm. Some extra parts in my install kit confused me at first, but I got everything worked out in my Porsche 987. My only complaint is that I wish id dropped an extra hundred bucks on something a bit nicer; I was blinded by the under $300 shipped with an install kit price point. Sadly this head unit is better than the factory unit. Sales tax sucks, I didnt see that coming from an out of state store. Overall a great experience. Fast shipping. Easy to buy. Fantastic support all the way around, start to finish. I'd do this again!

Pros: Great price. Came with everything I needed. A great head unit for the price. There are better, but couldn't pass up the price.

Cons: There are better, and it would take spending a hundred more bucks to get better.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

2016 Dodge Grand Caravan Radio Upgrade

Kevin from Inverness, FL on 11/27/2020

2016 Dodge Grand Caravan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this radio on a 2016 Dodge Grand Caravan and I have included some photos. The radio install was almost as expected with the installation instructions from Crutchfield with a few minor changes. Crutchfield instructions say you have to cut the two metal tabs off the top bar and cut the bottom bar off the radio supports behind the dash as seen in the photos. You Don't need to do this as the radio is shorter in depth than the factory radios and does not reach the metal support frame. However, you do have to cut along a plastic piece going across the top area behind the radio snap-in bezel for the radio. The factory radio is about 3 and 5/8 inches in height, and the JVC is 4 inches in height and will not fit in without cutting as seen in photos. The radio itself sounds clear with the factory speakers and I did purchase the harness to maintain my steering wheel controls which worked as expected without any setup other than setting the dial to 2. I also purchased a Sirius XM 300V1 kit elsewhere because it was cheaper and it worked as I expected. I purchased an after market backup camera as well someplace else because it was cheaper and it works as expected. The Apple CarPlay with Navigation, Sirius XM Compatible, and Backup Camera compatibilities is why I purchased the JVC-M56BT. It was easy enough to install with some minor modifications and it fully met my expectations.

Pros: Apple CarPlay, Sirius XM compatible, Backup Camera Compatible. Steering Wheel Controls with PAC product. Maintains steering wheel radio controls with a proper kit.

Cons: Aux Port is in the back of the radio and is vender specific. You need to buy the plug if you want to use it. Volume controls are touchscreen and not good to use while driving if you don't maintain your radio steering wheel controls.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

JVC KW-M56BT

Crutchfield customer from Harrisburg, PA on 11/24/2020

2013 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Install was easy and it works well with my 2013 Mazda 3. Only two issues I have are a bit of reflection/glare that can make the screen hard to see under certain conditions and the clock refusing to keep the correct time.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KW-M56BT

Crutchfield customer from Kemmerer, WY on 11/23/2020

2011 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good radio easy to navigate sound quality awesome

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-M56BT

Crutchfield customer from Erath, LA on 11/16/2020

2009 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice radio

Pros: Very nice and easy to use

Cons: Volume buttons difficult to operate while driving

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KW-M56BT

Crutchfield customer from Ogdensburg, NJ on 11/4/2020

2019 Ford Transit Cargo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far very happy with radio. If you're gonna use the auxiliary port you can only get the cable from kenwood.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

JVC KW-M56BT

Crutchfield customer from Missoula, MT on 10/26/2020

2008 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far the deck is working amazing, the installation was smooth and hassle free

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Quality at a fair price

Crutchfield customer from Odenton, MD on 10/25/2020

2012 Chevrolet Colorado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice head unit with much better amplifiers than the factory system. All the latest features including CarPlay and Android auto. Nice wide range of audio adjustments as well

Pros: Shallow mounting depth, performance to price ratio

Cons: None noticed

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

TOP