Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

JVC KW-M855BW

Digital multimedia receiver (does not play CDs)

MFR # KW-M855BW

JVC KW-M855BW

JVC KW-M855BW

Digital multimedia receiver (does not play CDs)

MFR # KW-M855BW

25 reviews
View this product

Ehh...

Crutchfield customer from Kingman, AZ on 12/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wireless carplay doesn't really work. The screen is also super bright at night and makes it hard to drive with such a light penetrating from the dash. If I had to do over again, I probably wouldn't have changed my stereo at all. Not worth the headache...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-M855BW

Crutchfield customer from Foley, AL on 11/25/2019

2007 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic product for a great price. Smooth transitions. Easy to install and connect to via iPhone.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great service, great product (does NOT need the speed sensor conn now)

Crutchfield customer from Bothell, WA on 11/11/2019

2013 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works really well with my 2013 Mazda 3. After installation, the wireless carplay was not working and it'd throw an error about the missing speed sensor connectivity (as some have pointed out in previous reviews). I called up Crutchfield and had awesome customer service from Eli. He's very familiar with the product and pointed out that JVC had come out with an update that takes out the requirement to connect to the speed sensor. My unit possibly didn't have the update when it was boxed by JVC. He sent me the instructions to install the update and voila, we've been enjoying wireless carplay ever since without a glitch. The unit is easy to use and you can customize various things like the audio output (level, balance, etc.) or background. I love that it has the power and sound buttons in the unit. I took the Crutchfield wiring service as well, which worked out well. This unit is one of the cheaper options among the choices, and there are some drawbacks but it hasn't been a real problem for us. Onscreen movement isn't as smooth as my other Pioneer unit (or a phone for that matter). Also, this is a smaller unit, a great fit for my small car, but it also means everything is a little tight. Would highly recommend it for the price! All the conveniences of CarPlay without the hassle of taking your phone out of the pocket and plugging in.

Pros: Wireless CarPlay Does not need speed sensor anymore Great service Physical power and sound buttons On the smaller side (pro if u need it to be)

Cons: Not as smooth as some of the other, more expensive options On the smaller side (con if ur car can fit a bigger unit)

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Wife loves it!

Crutchfield customer from Kaukauna, WI on 11/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice unit, plays well with our iPhones.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-M855BW

Crutchfield customer from Buford , GA on 10/20/2019

2019 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great unit. love the wireless feature for CarPlay

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wireless Android Auto not compatible with very many models

Crutchfield customer from Beaverton, OR on 10/7/2019

2010 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not very compatible. Installation wasn't too difficult, but I'm disappointed in the unit itself. Very limited on the devices that it can mirror the screen, use android auto with, etc. I'll likely return for the cheaper model, though I really wanted the wireless android auto. Sadly doesn't work with HTC U11 even though running Android 8.0.0

Pros: Easy install

Cons: Poor compatibility Can't figure out screen mirrroring

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

JVC KW-M855BW

Crutchfield customer from Dexter, MI on 10/6/2019

2009 Mazda RX8

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The stereo works well. No problems so far. Installation was harder than expected in my particular car, a Mazda Rx-8. If you have the same car, you might want to have a pro do it. I had crutchfield connect up the harness and adapter which was helpful. It was worth the 25 bucks.

Pros: Works well. When plugged in, the phone charges quickly.

Cons: Android and carplay wireless works but is limited in its features. You still need to plug it in to use all the features but some of the basics works witlessly.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

JVC KW-M855BW

Crutchfield customer from Muskego, WI on 9/30/2019

2004 Acura TSX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall a great little unit. Install was straightforward, lots of extra features and attachments for the future. The Android Auto comparability was my main drive to purchase.

Pros:

Cons: Glare from resistive touch screen can be a little much at times.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pretty Amazing Head Unit, But Has a Definite Learning Curve

Crutchfield customer from Vancouver, WA on 9/6/2019

2007 Chevrolet Colorado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First off, the ordering, shipping, timing and quality of the cable that Crutchfield made for me was all outstanding. I purchased this JVC unit because of the wireless Apple Carplay. That is so worth it! I'm very happy with the sound, and especially the quality of the audio during speaker phone calls. What a difference. Every time I call my wife she says it sounds like I'm sitting next to her. The satellite, USB and Bluetooth are all perfect. The only thing I don't like is that there aren't enough buttons! There are only three. I knew that, but I still thought it would be a little more intuitive. For example, let's say that you are listening to music on your USB thumb drive, but you are watching maps. Unless you purchase a separate remote control, you can't pause, skip or anything (except adjust the volume using buttons). That in itself has turned out to be a bummer. I can live with it, but to get to the point where you can do any of those things, you have to hit a function button, then a main menu button, then another button to bring up the usb drive, then select USB, then adjust. There may be another way, but it hasn't been evident. When my wife borrowed my truck, she wanted to play some music, but was unable to figure it out. Like I said, it's not bad, but it is not intuitive. Just figuring out how to connect to carplay the first time was a chore. All in all, it's worth it for the wireless carplay, but I think a few more buttons would help.

Pros: Amazing audio. Wireless Apple Carplay. Lots of input options. Very straightforward installation.

Cons: Not enough physical buttons. Hard to find the right screen to make selections, especially when driving.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Apple radio system

Crutchfield customer from Williamsburg, VA on 9/5/2019

2007 Chrysler 300

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works great. Needed customer service help just for a few questions and they helped so much. I like it. Thanks again.

Pros:

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Love this stereo

Crutchfield customer from Grantham, NH on 8/26/2019

2015 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit is awesome everything Crutchfield was very helpful in making my selection! All the options I wanted and sounds incredible the MTX speakers I bought with it

Pros: Wireless Apple car play

Cons: Have alot to learn about this unit

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great car stereo!

Kathy from Texas on 8/16/2019

2016 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm very pleased with this stereo. Sounds great, wireless CarPlay is awesome, and the interface is easy to use. Couldn't ask for a better upgrade from my factory head unit, and the price is just right! Crutchfield support was awesome as well, helping me with a few installation questions.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

2012 Jeep JKU

Crutchfield customer from Jacksonville, FL on 8/8/2019

2012 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's not the Alpine All-weather Restyle for Jeep, this is just as great and half the price!

Pros:

Cons: Don't forget the Sat Radio cable to utilize the one from the factory.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-M855BW

Crutchfield customer from Evergreen, AL on 7/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Didn't do what what I was told it would do

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 7/31/2019
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and exchanged for another receiver. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

4 of 18 found this helpful

Great Unit with One Irritating Flaw

Jonathan from Ridgecrest, Ca on 7/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recieved this unit after I got two defective refurbished KW-M845BWs. I have it installed with the iDatalink Maestro and it is working great. Unlike two of the other reviewers, I have wireless Android Auto working flawlessly on my Pixel 2. There are some settings you have to have set up on the phone correctly, but now as soon as I get in the car Android Auto pops up even with my phone in my pocket. It takes probably 20-30 seconds after power is applied to come up. The one issue I have with this unit is some idiot engineer at JVC thought it would be a good idea to polarize the display. So if you wear polarized sunglasses it makes the display difficult to read. I tried two brands of polarized sunglasses and it appears that most glasses are polarized the same way, which just happens to provide maximum blocking of the disply, so I find myself tilting my head or looking under the glasses. Irritating, but not a dealbreaker.

Pros: -Cost -Functionality -Look

Cons: -Polarized display

Crutchfield response on

13 of 14 found this helpful

JVC KW-M855BW

Daniel from San Antonio, TX on 7/8/2019

2001 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the unit so far. One word of warning--I purchased this because it had Wireless Apple CarPlay---but --- it is not as simple as getting the wiring harness and install. In order for wireless CarPlay to work, the system needs to have a speed sensor input. I could not find that information on any piece of literature from JVC or Crutchfields. I purchased from Cruchfields because of the customer support and the availability of wiring harnesses. Luckily, I called the tech support department and Jac was able to identify at least where the speed sensor input was on my 2001 Toyota 4Runner. After removing the glove compartment and contoting this 64 year old body, I was able to splice into the right location and the Wireless CarPlay works fine. One other bit of information, after I spliced in the speed sensor, I still got a fault until I actually moved the 4Runner and the system saw some speed. Appears to be working fine now - thank you Jac for the spot on information.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Great Option!

Kevin from Alamogordo, NM on 7/5/2019

2004 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy Install on my 2004 4Runner. Apple CarPlay works great, including wireless. It sounds great, has more intuitive controls than JVCs older offerings, although the controls are a moot point if using CarPlay with this unit. I have not tried Wireless Android Auto, and I read others have had problems with it. I will post a follow up in the future once I give the feature a try, as well as the Firmware Update process issues that were mentioned in another review. From what I can gather right now, this is great if you are an Apple user, but may have issues with Android at the moment, particularly if you have Google own Pixel phones. From my short experience so far though, this seems like a solid product that delivers as advertised. I will update on the other features and photos in the coming weeks after I get more hands on time with this unit.

Pros: Wireless CarPlay and Android Auto Accepts 3 camera inputs Fits nicely in a 2004 4Runner

Cons: Some users are experiencing issues with Android devices

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Fits great looks awesome

Sean from Blackstone, MA on 7/1/2019

2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I picked this up as a surprise for my wife and it is everything I could of hoped for. Crutchfield made the install extremely easy and saved me a lot of time.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Do not recommend.

Carlo from Santee, CA on 6/27/2019

2017 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This head unit has several faults: 1. Wireless android auto (main reason I bought this unit to replace one in the vehicle) is buggy, and will drop connections randomly, or sometimes fail to connect to the phone. This is with a google pixel 3, so it's hard to get much more android compatible than that. 2. Headunit will occasionally freeze. 3. When reversing, the "check surroundings before backing up" lawyer message pops up on the screen in a way that ironically obstructs the backup camera view. Many other head units would have this message at the very top, or very bottom of the screen instead. 4. Firmware updates don't work. I have attempted to update the firmware following JVCs directions. They didn't work. I checked to make sure the USB drive I was using was properly formatted, tried a second USB drive, tore apart my dash and tried plugging directly into the back of the head unit...nada. Also, as one other reviewer has pointed out, this sits *behind* the metra dash kit and looks amateurish as far as an install goes. Or as the other reviewer put it "incredibly terrible." They should have spent less time on the pointless equalizer visualizations and moving wallpaper, and more time on ensuring the core functionality is reliable. Waste of money.

Pros: Minimalist appearance (few hardware buttons)

Cons: Unreliable connection, recessed fit, buggy software.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

8 of 14 found this helpful

Great "entry" SQ double din!

Andrew from Greenwell Springs on 6/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really like this radio, I have it running in 3-way active mode using a Memphis VIV 900.5 on the VIV 6.5" Component set along with a JL Stealth box. All in my 2005 Duramax. Sounds awesome with tons of adjustability and tuning. As mentioned in other reviews the Wifi doesn't work but isn't a deal to me at all as all I use is Android Auto (plugged in) and blue-tooth.

Pros: 3-Way Crossovers, easy to tune, and overall good build quality.

Cons: Wifi is broken.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KW-M855BW

Crutchfield customer from Pomona, CA on 6/4/2019

2006 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great - but just like the other guy, I too cannot connect to Wireless Android Auto and I have a Pixel 2 XL. What gives? It's one of the main reasons I purchased this product. Is there a fix for this Very Password nonsense? I've updated the firmware to the latest and no change and I can't find anything about people having this issue.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 6/5/2019
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, Jason, reached out to this customer to help him further. We'll either help him get the receiver working the way it should, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

3 of 3 found this helpful

JVC KW-M855BW

Crutchfield customer from Madison, AL on 5/18/2019

2019 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the wireless CarPlay, and it sounds great in my 2019 Tundra TRD Pro! Had to remove the speed sense diode to make it work with the idatalink maestro. But after that it works great.

Pros: Wireless carplay

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Look elsewhere if you have a ford F-350

Crutchfield customer from Airville, PA on 5/5/2019

2011 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does not fit flush in Metra 95-5812 dash kit meant for 2011+ Ford super duty trucks. In order to make this work the unit essentially sits behind the dash kit and looks incredibly terrible. Only after I tore my truck apart and spliced all the wiring did Crutchfield mention to me that this unit doesn't fit properly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 5/7/2019
This customer contacted our Tech Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

6 of 9 found this helpful

See supplemental photo

Del from Bradyville, TN on 4/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Addendum supporting a review. (see attached file)

Pros:

Cons: WiFi is buggy

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

17 of 20 found this helpful

WiFi has a bug

Big Daddy from Tennessee on 4/27/2019

2003 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pretty nice unit. Very weird you can only have 3 cameras and one must be rear. It will play FLAC, has 2 USBs and simultaneous phones, the touch screen and resolution fine. Tons of audio adjustments are included. Android Auto is super slick, it is just a shame WiFi does not work so neither does mirroring. The clock set by GPS which is cool. It says it does iPod - but who does iPod anymore? I use the USB or BT audio for music (I should really test a video file). USB directory navigation is easy. No HD radio, so that stinks. It has ample video display and widgit configuration options and can do meastro (so?) and XM add-ons. Overall, good set it is just that WiFi has a bug.

Pros: 2 USBs, 2 phones, Android Auto, plays FLAC files

Cons: WiFi, screen mirroring and wireless Android Auto does not work. No HD radio. Won't do front/rear/and both side mirror cameras.

Crutchfield response on

13 of 15 found this helpful

TOP