Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

JVC KW-M865BW

Digital multimedia receiver (does not play CDs)

MFR # KW-M865BW

JVC KW-M865BW

JVC KW-M865BW

Digital multimedia receiver (does not play CDs)

MFR # KW-M865BW

32 reviews
View this product

Thanks Crutchfield!!

Crutchfield customer from Alachua, FL on 2/24/2021

2015 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good. Installed this unit a week ago in my wife's 2015 Forester because I wanted her to have the ability to use Apple Carplay with her Iphone 12. She's been happy with it. Haven't tried every feature yet but overall the unit is working as advertised. Carplay connects thru Bluetooth as soon as the car is started and will read back text messages as well as letting her respond. Phone calls are simple to respond to and to initiate outgoing calls. The microphone that came with the unit seems to be much clearer than the OEM microphone and doesn't pick up as much road noise. Have to admit it was a little intimidating upon receiving the unit along with all of the parts and pieces. Thank goodness for Crutchfield. Everything I needed was included and I paid a little extra to have them assemble most of the harness that connects the unit to the cars harness. They also emailed all of the instructions and links needed to complete the installation. I spent several days prior to installing the unit just reviewing all of the information. I did have a couple of minor snafus that were my fault. Including one mistake that lit up about eight different warning lights on the dash! But after reviewing the instructions a little more closely I was able to resolve all of the issues.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KW-M865BW

Hank from Abingdon, VA on 2/6/2021

2009 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have had this particularly headunit for close to 5 months now and the wireless connection is flawless. The eq adjustments are awesome and the sound quality speaks for it's self. For the money a man couldn't ask for a better headunit for a vehicle that sees more of my time than the fam does. Love this jvc

Pros: Everything about this unit.

Cons: Not a one.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great double din . Nice features

Crutchfield customer from Hawthorne, CA on 2/2/2021

2007 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Has all the features needed . But my wifes lg g8 doesnt connect wirelessly to andriod auto only through usb . That's the only con iv found .

Pros: Alot of features

Cons: Doesnt support all phones on wireless Android auto

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Horrible Waste of Money

Howard from Brandon,Ms on 1/30/2021

2008 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Totally disappointed in this product and its support (from JVC). The software is crappy. The functionality capabilities are unbelievably lame. I have more control and capabilities with free software for playing music on my phone than I do on this radio. It can't find music/artists/genres/etc. in the search function. The database build apparently is not constructed properly. The random function is useless since it only works within one specific folder. For example, you can't randomly play a genre unless ALL the songs of that genre are within ONE folder. AndroidAuto is worthless. I've tried setting it up both wired and wireless and neither work properly. I lost connection before I got down my driveway. Did I mention it is WORTHLESS?!?! So much for using the map capabilities on the display. Forget any technical support from JVC; the tech people either don't understand basic functionality and/or just don't care, but they are no assistance whatsoever. A total waste of money.

Pros: Looks good, sounds ok

Cons: Read review, crappy design of software and functionality.

Crutchfield response on 2/1/2021
Howard, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. If you purchased this product from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-M865BW

Crutchfield customer from Fairport, NY on 1/17/2021

2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wireless car play, fair amount of adjustment, perfect upgrade from factory, still using factory speakers - sounds great. Get it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-M865BW

Crutchfield customer from Leavenworth, KS on 1/11/2021

2013 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The whole point of this sticker price is the compatibility with the modern cell phones and apps. Android Auto and Bluetooth constantly disconnect. Not just with my unit but you'll see in the reviews it happens with all their receivers straight up to the top one even when connected by usb whether its Android or Apple. The user interface leaves some things to be desired. The picture quality is bad. The touch screen is responsive and I do like the volume control by moving your finger in a circle but it doesn't work when connected to Android Auto. The built in crossovers and equalizer did bring my speakers to life. The sound quality is good but what use is that if it wont stay connected to Bluetooth,Wifi/Android Auto? Its 2021. Wireless connectivity is essential and the head unit does that poorly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 1/13/2021
This customer contacted our Customer Support team for help. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support or Tech Support teams right away.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Couldn't Be Any Happier

Crutchfield customer from Hamptonville, NC on 1/10/2021

2004 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great unit. You are supposed to tap into three circuits in your car, park brake, speed sensor, and reverse lights. Not hard at all just be certain you have an accurate electrical print to go by. The only problem I encountered was the volume when using maps in Carplay and that really wasn't a problem, you just have to do the adjustments exactly while Siri is talking. Otherwise, you will adjust the volume of what you're listening to at the time. I installed the app on my phone which lets you control the unit with your phone with different gestures. That's different and I'm still learning but I like it. Anything you can imagine can be done with the audio setup, Wireless Carplay works great, the tuner works great, and music files on a usb drive work great. It has two USB cables in case you want to charge your phone without disconnecting the USB drive. I was a little worried about the resistive touchscreen which isn't supposed to work as well as a capacitive but the screen on this unit works better than a Sony I returned which was capacitive touch. You don't even have to set the clock because it's done automatically through the GPS which has its own antenna for areas where coverage is poor. I've used this unit a week now and can find nothing about it I don't like. It has a two-year warranty in case there's a problem but I really don't anticipate one. Go ahead and get it, you won't be sorry.

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-M865BW Initial Thoughts

Crutchfield customer from Warner Robins, GA on 1/10/2021

2007 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this unit along with a backup camera in my 2007 Corvette. I did quite a bit of research before I decided on this unit. The main feature that sold me was the wireless Android Auto/Apple Car Play. I didn't want any wires/cables laying out. I also wanted a unit that sit flush with the console. Other units I looked at had a protruding button row on the bottom. Nothing wrong with those units, just my personal preference for the clean, flush-with-console look. Feature-wise, it's as good as anything else out there at this price point and some costing even more. Installation was straight forward especially, with Crutchfield's ready wire harness and vehicle specific instructions. I'd recommend anyone considering an upgrade for their vehicle to take a look at this unit when comparing with others. As for Crutchfield, top notch customer service/tech support, great prices, and very fast (and free) shipping!

Pros: Wireless features Clean/flush look after install Overall features to price point Customer service & tech support during and after the purchase

Cons: Took a bit to figure out how to turn off the Demo option

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Setting up the JVC on a self install.

Guest from San Antonio, TX on 1/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This JVC KM-M865BW radio is terrific. It comes with all the bells and whistles. I also found out that the Apple AirPlay works terrific. I turned it on on the JVC and it asked some questions and it can on from my phone. What a great install I made. Thanks, Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-M865BW

Crutchfield customer from Pittsburgh, PA on 1/10/2021

2015 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing! Gorgeous design and incredible sound. Wireless CarPlay is flawless.

Pros:

Cons: No mute capability

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-M865BW

Crutchfield customer from Cupertino, CA on 1/9/2021

2015 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had it for about 3 weeks. I love every aspect of the deck. The user interface takes a little bit of time to get used to, but the more you play with it, the more it becomes quickly intuitive. I bought all the key harnesses and Maestro accessories to take full capability of my 2015 Tundra's built-in capabilities (e.g. steering wheel controls). Installation took about 4-5 hours, but mainly because I had to flash the Maestro controller, route/connect the harnessing, and remove/install the old/new deck. Make sure you get all the right adapters/harnesses/etc...specific to your vehicle, if you plan to install yourself (including the tools Crutchfield recommends). Ultimately, I could not be any happier with the purchase!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-M865BW

Crutchfield customer from Stansbury Park, UT on 1/6/2021

2006 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice tuner, works well with Apple and Android, the screen functions takes a while to get used to and Siri works flawlessly with reading and writing texts but she is tricky to get volume adjusted properly. Would have given 5 stars except there were no mounting brackets included and needed to be ordered separately and took a week to get.

Pros: Good quality and sound and tons of things it can do

Cons: Siri and maps volume tricky to adjust and not get blared out of the vehicle, maps volume very loud and can be startling and annoying

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-M865BW

Crutchfield customer from Toms River, NJ on 1/5/2021

2004 Lincoln Town Car

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Car play goes off when using usb don't k y besides that good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great device with one major flaw

Crutchfield customer from Nazareth, PA on 1/4/2021

2011 Jeep Liberty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Truly amazing experience and great features, but falls short on volume adjustment and power off. The equalizer features and sound adjustment are remarkable, and the primary reason I got this was the wireless Apple CarPlay which works flawlessly (with iPhone 12 Pro). There is a fractional second delay from button press to change through CarPlay, but worth it for the wireless functionality. No delay when wired. Sound is really good and the interface is intuitive. When I selected this unit, I knew that the push button volume adjustment was going to be a downside, but I underestimated how sucky it is. I would opt for a unit with a volume knob if I could go back (it's not worth it for me to return this unit). Much less of an issue is the path to turn off the power. I put a "Power Off" button on the home screen, and it still takes three different button presses to power off. Overall, the pros really outshine the cons, but the volume adjustment is a big deal for me.

Pros: Wireless Apple CarPlay Equalizer User Interface Beauty Options

Cons: Volume adjustment Power off

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Dont Buy It

John from CLARKSVILLE, TN on 1/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hands free with Apple car play is hit or miss. Unit is not intuitive. The worst "feature" is the screen glare making it not useable. I should have sent it back.

Pros: -Sound

Cons: Glare Instructions

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-M865BW

Crutchfield customer from Lucinda, PA on 12/31/2020

2002 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product that has exceeded my expectations

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Happy with Purchase and Would Recommend

Crutchfield customer from Loveland, OH on 12/28/2020

2010 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit, trim and function in 2010 Subaru Outback is excellent. I'm a fairly handy engineer and install took approximately 5 hours. Would give 5 stars except: needs to be plugged in to OBDII port for vehicle diagnostics. No big deal, if I need to scan a code I will unplug the JVC. It would have been better and simple to design the harness to allow for a pass through connection enabling the ODB scanner to be plugged in without unplugging the HU. My model Sub does not have a USB port. Would have liked to been offered a dual USB hub/mount to replace the existing cigarette lighter in the accessories options (the JVC usb does charge eliminating the need for the OEM power source).

Pros: i-data link excellent Crutchfield customer support is just top notch

Cons: instructions were not totally customized to my vehicle but passable with customer support

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KW-M865BW

Crutchfield customer from Warren, MI on 12/25/2020

2014 Ford E Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Radio is awesome , installed in a 2014 e-150. With the ready harness service and the crutchfield directions it went pretty smooth. Sound is great on the radio, love the wireless android auto - heck of a bump up from the stock radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-M865BW

Crutchfield customer from Cochran, GA on 12/25/2020

2009 Honda CRV EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product. My first stereo receiver that I purchased back in 1979 was a JVC, and this new stereo meets my expectations of quality. I highly recommend it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-M865BW

Crutchfield customer from South Daytona, FL on 12/25/2020

2011 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It has a ton of features for the money, and connected easily with the wireless Apple CarPlay and to my backup camera

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent!

Crutchfield customer from Deridder, LA on 12/20/2020

2016 Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product! Works flawlessly and very user-friendly. Wireless Apple CarPlay works excellent!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-M865BW

Joseph from HOUSTON, TX on 12/13/2020

1997 Lexus ES300

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product! Super easy to install. So many features that I'm still reading up on how to use them all. The best though is of course Apple CarPlay! Now time to move on to the speaker installation once I get them!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KW-M865BW

Crutchfield customer from Machesney Park, IL on 11/13/2020

2018 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited (JK)

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Right out of the box the sound was great. There are a lot of ways to customize the sound profile but so far I have been happy with how it works. The wireless Apple CarPlay and Android Auto are just the upgrade we have been looking for in our 2018 Jeep.

Pros: Lots of customization options

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-M865BW

Crutchfield customer from Ridgecrest, CA on 10/18/2020

2008 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great radio it is quick to recognize a Blue tooth device once the vehicle starts and you go through the start-up features. It is very easy to use and customize as you desire. Easy to install and connect to the existing vehicle system. Highly recommend. Lots of capability for the cost.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice features, great sound.

Crutchfield customer from Mannsville, NY on 9/20/2020

2006 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A terrific sounding head unit, even with the stock speakers in our Toyota 4Runner. With the upgraded speakers it sounds even better. It has surprisingly good sound EQ and other fine tuning features. I particularly like the feature to individually adjust levels for each source. The only things keeping me from a 5 star review are that it lacks the ability to flip a camera to display for the front position (so be sure to buy a front or universal camera if you want one to display correctly), and it sometimes reboots in the middle of a drive for no discernable reason. Otherwise, I love it, and I'd highly recommend it.

Pros: Lots of fine control of sound. Fast and responsive. Lots of camera inputs.

Cons: Lacks front camera flip, must buy a front capable camera which limits your options. Random, but rare, reboots.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

JVC KW-M865BW

Crutchfield customer from Herriman, UT on 9/14/2020

2010 Mazda CX-9

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Most excellent. The Apple Carplay works great. I've tried it with both plugged in iphone and wireless carplay. Comfortably adjustable. I've adjusted so many settings - backlight, background, commonly used buttons, etc. Works great with my car and the the rear view camera. I have no complaints! I got what I expected and it's all I wanted.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

JVC KW-M865BW

Crutchfield customer from Coalinga, CA on 9/6/2020

2017 Kia Optima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great product

Crutchfield customer from Flint, TX on 8/29/2020

2016 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit does exactly what I wanted it to do. I chose to retain the factory controls on my 2017 Tacoma, so there was some additional wiring required. There were some challenges using the stock mounts, so I had to use an aftermarket version. I also had to use a bezel kit to close up some gaps.

Pros: Responsive touch screen, great features

Cons: Aftermarket mounting kit required that was not included in the original order

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very good receiver

Dave from Port Orchard, WA on 8/23/2020

2008 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this JVC receiver into my 2008 Dodge Ram 2500 Laramie club cab truck a week ago. I have to say that doing the install myself had it's difficult times, prying on trim & hoping it don't crack, keeping track of where wires went, sorting out the bundles of wires, running wires out of sight, etc... I must say that the instructions from Crutchfield made it all manageable. After I tucked all wires into place, everything plugged in, I turned on the ignition and.. everything worked perfectly, even the optional rear camera. Whew! The receiver is great. My Android phone tied into mapping, the GPS works, there's multiple adjustments for sound & everything. It's easy to figure out by just looking at the screen and it streams my Pandora and Amazon Music perfectly. I also bought a dual-USB mount for a weird little useless square hole in my front dash. It fits & looks like it belongs there. Streaming my music from a thumb-drive is another option now. I'm really glad I did this project and chose this receiver.

Pros: Great sound, nice screen, lots of features, easy to operate.

Cons: None yet.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

JVC Rocks the M865BW.

Crutchfield customer from Mebane, NC on 8/10/2020

2008 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow - a great fit in my 2008 Tacoma. Easy to work menus. Set up was very straight forward. Screen is very sensitive to touch.

Pros: Apple Car play

Cons: Not compatible w my gen 5 iPod.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Mostly Good

Crutchfield customer from Bend, OR on 6/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I originally purchased a Sony unit, but I returned because the Car Play required a cable connection and it was hard the turn it off quickly. This JVC does work wirelessly with CarPlay, but it is still a pain to turn of the receiver.overall I am happy with the unit, but I wish you could hit one button to turn off the audio but leave the unit powered on.

Pros: CarPlay Wireless

Cons: Several steps to turn off audio

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

JVC KW-M865BW

Crutchfield customer from Albany, OR on 6/21/2020

2007 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the second JVC Stereo in this model line that I have owned. They have been fantastic, and way more reliable then other android auto stereo's in my experience. Great feature set for the price. I certainly thought it was a "Budget" Android auto stereo when I bought it, and it punches way above its weight class.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

TOP