Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
137 210 552 3

Our hours

Connect ID #
137 210 552 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

For simple questions about your order,
try our virtual agent:

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Discontinued item

JVC KW-V85BT

DVD receiver

MFR # KW-V85BT

JVC KW-V85BT

JVC KW-V85BT

DVD receiver

MFR # KW-V85BT

58 reviews
View this product

JVC KW-V85BT

Crutchfield customer from Lincoln, NE on 7/14/2020

2016 Scion iM

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just recently installed. Used the Crutchfield harness service. Install was easy, all connectors fit as they should. All the steering wheel controls work with the new unit as does the stock back up camera. Stock speakers sounds much better.

Pros: Easy install. Looks great. Would recommend this unit,

Cons: Only issue and it's minor. Needed to use spacers/bushings on the mounting bolts to make radio flush with interior.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-V85BT

Crutchfield customer from North Port, FL on 7/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good. Has worked very nice in my suburban. Love the carplay and Bluetooth. Backup camera lines are annoying and I disabled. Overall very satisfied at this point.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very good to Excellent receiver with many unique features

Jim from Minneapolis, MN on 7/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good to Excellent receiver with many features I only had very few options of radios to choose from for my 2008 Chevy Avalanche for size (fit reasons). I wanted a system that provided (qty 3) 3-volt outputs and had a CD player. It also comes with a DVD player with is of no use to me. I have never used a Blue Tooth anything or streamed music via Pandora and spotify. It was very new to me to do pairing ect. Also there is a USB in back of the unit. MAKE SURE you install the USB BEFORE you install the radio. If you don't you will NEVER get your hand back there. There should be a Front USB cable instead of rear. I installed this in a 2009 Chevy Avalanche. It Was difficult install because my RCA's were too large (long) and would not fit so I ended up breaking them trying to force fit them. Had to purchase 3 more sets of 12 foot RCAs to hook to amps in the rear. Crutuchfield should have a warning or alert so installers can purchase smaller or more flexible RCA cables. The Wire harnesses were endless and the Maestro integration instructions were poor making a difficult confusing install. Not the fault of the radios by any means. The radio has a fan which is at the rear among a large collection of wires at the rear giving it minimum clearance. I doubt if the fan is able to blow much if any air out of the receiver. Using only RCA so no outputs so hopefully will not burn up. The back of the radio does get very hot on warm summer days though. I will cross my finger

Pros: Nice receiver with 3 outputs (3 volts) with a dazzling array of useful features such as equalizers, crossovers, Listening position, Sound effect, and fader function. I really missed the vintage volume knob that is largely absent from today's radios that can be physically turned until I found out this radio actually has a virtual round potentiometer!! Also it has 2 arrows for up and down volume so it has the best of both worlds.

Cons: Poor FM reception My Stock Bose is much better for reception and is the only real downfall of this receiver K2 Technology does nothing good to the sound quality Speaker LIft only adds treble does nothing good for my use No front mounted USB Cable

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-V85BT

Crutchfield customer from North Las Vegas, NV on 7/5/2020

2008 Chevrolet Colorado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Like it

Pros: like it

Cons: No complaints

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

awesome

Crutchfield customer from Kenova, WV on 7/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great deck easy install

Pros: great sound

Cons: some options hard to find

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-V85BT

Crutchfield customer from Hanford, CA on 6/28/2020

2013 Chevrolet Captiva Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this for my wife's car. After installing it, I started scrolling thru all the features/settings...now I want one for my Tacoma.

Pros: Reasonably priced for the amount of features.

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-V85BT

Crutchfield customer from Livingston, TX on 6/28/2020

2011 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great head unit

Pros: Android auto

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Apple CarPlay

Crutchfield customer from Mechanicville, NY on 6/28/2020

2004 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

CarPlay is great. Many adjustments for sound quality. Wallpapers are kinda cheesy. Touchscreen is very responsive. My install was on a 2004 Ram 1500 and that vehicle does not have steering wheel volume control. The volume buttons are very small. Overall I am very happy with the purchase and the JVC speakers that Crutchfield said would fit worked like a charm and were 50% off. Overall great sound.

Pros: Touchscreen response CarPlay works Many sound adjustments Looks factory in older truck

Cons: Visual interface seems cheesy at times, but that is just an opinion. Very small volume buttons

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-V85BT

Crutchfield customer from Livingston, TX on 6/27/2020

2011 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Radio, plenty of features!!!

Pros: Android Auto

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A great radio at a great price.

Crutchfield customer from Olathe, KS on 6/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far, so good! It looks great in the car and operates as it should. The volume buttons are very small, but once you get use to where they are they are not so hard to find. They probably should have more distinct markings or light up. I wish the USB was in the front. I ran an extension that has a nice mounting that I was able to put on the passenger side console. Now there is about 12' of USB cable hiding behind the radio. The radio was fairly easy to install, although it took me all day. But practically laying on the ground to put this in a Porsche it is expected. I would buy this again.

Pros: Looks good. Easy to operate. Apple Play is wonderful.

Cons: Volume buttons are hard to see. I wish there was a USB on the front.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-V85BT

Crutchfield customer from Poughquag, NY on 6/20/2020

2007 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Haven't had enough time to determine yet...so far so good sounds great!

Pros: Easy install

Cons: Taking apart the dash was the hardest part

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Full five stars at this price point!

Owen from BRACEY, VA on 6/19/2020

2015 Nissan Frontier SV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in a 2015 Nissan Frontier. This is an incredible value at this price point! The screen is beautiful and has a nice feel to it when you press it. Android Auto worked without any issues and now even includes Amazon Music access. Android Auto is supposed to show the current temperature as of the 2020 update but mine did not. I think that's on my older phone though. No matter, it has voice ability (using the phone connection) and my New Zealand accented lady will voice the temperature. On it's own the install is easy. If you maintain steering wheel control then you'll get a headache with the Metra harness. I had a Boyo backup camera already installed and working with my factory head unit. It hooked up with no issues. Have an amp, aftermarket speakers, and a powered sub hooked up to it and love the tone controls. Equalizer and sound shaping tools are really nice. It really is amazing that a receiver with this nice of a screen and this many features is available now at this price point.

Pros: Beautiful screen. Tone controls. Android Auto. Easy to hook up backup camera.

Cons: Don't think this can accept iDataLink. One USB port. Fussy and silly hand brake connection.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JVC KW-V85BT

Crutchfield customer from West Des Moines, IA on 6/14/2020

2009 Honda CRV LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed the unit in my 2009 Honda CR V and it works and sounds great! Install kit provided by Crutchfield was exactly what I needed. Instructions they provided were spot in. This was my first time swapping out a head unit in a car and it went well.

Pros: Sounds Great. Was easy to integrate with new backup camera. BluTooth works great! Apple CarPlay functions work like a charm

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KW-V85BT

Crutchfield customer from Livingston, CA on 6/14/2020

2007 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to use. I would give 5 stars but the literature for SiruisXM is limited.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

JVC KW-V85BT

Crutchfield customer from Crescent City, CA on 6/14/2020

2007 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install, and Crutchfield made it easy with all the necessary information about radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KW-V85BT

Crutchfield customer from Snohomish, WA on 6/13/2020

2005 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm extremely happy with this receiver. I wanted one that was able to connect to Android, Spotify, and Google maps. This does it all!

Pros: Everything is good about this receiver!

Cons: None found yet!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KW-V85BT

Crutchfield customer from Goose Creek, SC on 6/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent. A lot of customizable options

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-V85BT

Crutchfield customer from Front Royal, VA on 5/30/2020

2006 Hummer H3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great head unit for the money. Sounds awesome.

Pros: Good value

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-V85BT

Crutchfield customer from Saint Hedwig, TX on 5/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio, installed in 2013 Chevy 3500, looks great and is easy to navigate through. DVD player is a must when parked at rest stops.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-V85BT

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, SC on 5/21/2020

2006 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install great radio very good tech support

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great radio to replace factory 2002 Toyota Sequoia SUV. Perfect fit.

Crutchfield customer from Surprise, AZ on 5/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio to replace my original 2002 Toyota Sequoia SUV. Perfect fit, and a couple of calls to support, and was up and running. Purchased with the optional "Ready Harness" which made install a snap. I have the following working on the radio, - Sirius SXV300AZV1 Connect Vehicle Tuner Kit - Android Auto - Car speakerphone for hands free is great The only negative on the radio is I had to add an external SPST toggle switch to operate the retractable antenna and the screen is washed out in direct daylight The biggest positive is The Crutchfield team, that answered all my purchase and installation questions. This is my 4th purchase in 4 years from Crutchfield, and questions and concerns have been answered.

Pros: The Crutchfield team, that answered all my purchase and installation questions. This is my 4th purchase in 4 years from Crutchfield, and questions and concerns have been answered.

Cons: I had to add an external SPST toggle switch to operate the retractable antenna The JVC screen is washed out in direct daylight, however at dusk / dawn / night (perfect)

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

The best

Crutchfield customer from Tamarac, FL on 5/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

From beginning to 'end' ( no end really as I continue to enjoy the experience every day) Crutchfield has been amazing with recommendations and support. One of the best experiences that I have ever had with a retailer!

Pros: Expert guidance and recommendations Communication Options Technical support Pre-Wire harness for you Hassle-free service Great website

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-V85BT

Crutchfield customer from Muskegon, MI on 5/18/2020

2011 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good unit. Lots of output vs. Oem stereo. Easy to install. Looks great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-V85BT

Crutchfield customer from Advance, NC on 5/14/2020

2014 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this unit to replace a broken stock head unit. Lacks a few options that my stock unit had, but not bad for the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-V85BT

Crutchfield customer from Northport, AL on 5/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love my new dvd receiver. Lots of customization available and sounds so much better even with factory speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Well designed unit and great Crutchfield support!

Crutchfield customer from Hixson, TN on 5/8/2020

2008 Honda CRV LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got this unit to upgrade an older car for our daughter. It fits her usage and lifestyle very well. She really liked the ability to customize the sound profile inside the vehicle which saved us from spending a lot on extra speakers and pre-amps. I specifically went through Crutchfield to eliminate the issues with transition and install. Using a technician three times in the process proved that the choice of Crutchfield was the right one. They were great!

Pros: Easy to customize. Fits her phone and music needs very well.

Cons: None other than should have bought the unit remote upfront. Will be adding it soon.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Really dig it

Crutchfield customer from Summerville, SC on 5/7/2020

2014 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really like it and the auction works well I. Southern heat

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-V85BT

Crutchfield customer from Custer, MI on 5/5/2020

2013 Nissan Juke

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this radio. The sounds is great, and all of the features make it worth the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Updated a 2010 Kia Soul to Distraction Free Driving for Teen Daughter

Crutchfield customer from Wixom, MI on 5/4/2020

2010 Kia Soul

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We purchased a 2010 Kia Soul for our 16 year-old daughter, and the while the stock stereo was good by 2010 standards, it didn't have Android Auto, nor was it easy to pair the phone to the stereo for music, and we would have needed to find a way to make it easier to display navigation without using her phone (trying to keep distraction free driving). After researching several stereos, I decided the JVC KW-V85T was the best value for the features I wanted her to have (I wanted a CD/DVD for her to be able to listen to books on CD that she borrows from the library). I had a friend install the stereo, and he said it went together easily and the harness that was recommended by Crutchfield retained the steering wheel controls as well as the factory AMP (this Soul had the top stereo available with 8 speakers). When we picked up the car, the trim package that went with the stereo made it look almost factory installed, and it was a breeze to connect with all of our phones. We like that the stereo can pair with two phones, so the passenger can also receive calls through it if desired. My daughter loves the concept of the DJ feature that allows 5 people to add songs to a playlist through the stereo. The sound quality is great, the controls are easy to use, and a bonus feature for my daughter is that the CD player is also a DVD player. The video of the DVD will not play when the car is in motion, but it is cool to be able to watch a show while waiting for an event to begin.

Pros: Android auto, beautiful display, intuitive navigation, CD/DVD player, fits vehicle well, great sound, kept steering wheel controls, integrated with existing amps and sound system, contributes to distraction free driving

Cons: I haven't found one yet except that I did not trust myself to replace the stereo, but that is on me and my experience level (none with car stereos) not the stereo.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Little things make this unit hard to love

Crutchfield customer from Meridian, ID on 5/1/2020

2011 GMC Acadia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall, the system and Crutchfield's wiring made the install pretty easy. I was excited that many of the features within the car remained after installing this unit. There are just some things that really bug me and forced me to drop a couple stars off the review. 1. I hardly see the screen when I'm wearing polarized sunglasses. If i tilt my head to the left, I can see it better. If I sit in the passenger side, I can see it better. But looking straight on, I just cannot make out what is on the screen. This makes navigation almost impossible in the daylight, and I have sensitive eyes, so I'm always wearing sunglasses. I may need to buy myself a non-polarized pair just for driving in my wife's car so I can see the screen. The main reason I got the unit was for long travels we do and we wanted Maps. 2. Crutchfield confirmed this as another issue. The unit requires a separate speaker for the door alert and turn signal sounds. When using the OEM satellite (Sirius XM) radio, the turn signal does not make a sound. With all other inputs, the sound comes through for the turn signal just fine. 3. When playing DVDs for the kids in the back (which works with the OEM read entertainment quite well), the screen on unit do not inherently display the controls for the DVD player. It just has words on the screen saying it will only show the video. I don't really care that I can't watch the movie, but it's frustrating that I cannot see the pause button, skip, etc.

Pros: Looks nice in the dark Keeps features of the car

Cons: Can't see with polarized sunglasses No turn signal sound when playing XM radio (OEM) No DVD controls on the screen unless you tap a specific (invisible) location on the screen.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

This unit gives you a lot for the money

Crutchfield customer from Nampa, ID on 4/26/2020

2006 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The KW-V85BT ticked all of the boxes I was looking for in upgrading the factory radio on my 2006 Corvette. The main thing I was looking for was a backup camera, this unit has 2 video inputs as well as video out. I programed the parking lines with the backup cam too. I also wanted hands free phone. Again, my phone & playlists work great via the BT connection. I have used the phone several times while driving and am happy with the ease of use. I installed the included mic and it has good quality sound. I really was hoping to have Google maps working and finally got Android Auto app working after figuring out a problem with the parking brake wire connection. Now Google maps shows up on the screen. You do need to connect your phone to the USB input; it doesn't do maps with BT. With this unit you don't need a GPS, just use your phone (which most every body is doing). The radio/CD/DVD are easy to use and sounds great with the original Bose speakers. Nice equalizer with several programable EQ memories and I moved the EQ button to the first screen. I like that you can adjust the volume with a circular swipe on the screen. The menus are intuitive once you learn the different paths. There are still several functions I haven't tried yet. You need to read the manual to dig into all of the functionality built into this unit. All things considered this is a very nice unit that has a lot in it for the price point.

Pros: Great value for the price Dual camera input Works with iPhones & Android phones

Cons: You need to connect your phone for Android Auto (maps) to work

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KW-V85BT

Crutchfield customer from Homewood, AL on 4/23/2020

2007 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly what I was looking for. Only reason it's not 5 stars is it is slightly difficult to see in bright sun light with sun glasses on.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A welcomed upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Chester, VA on 4/20/2020

2012 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm very happy with this unit. Sounds great and looks great. Personally I enjoy the gesture feature where I can swipe on the screen to change volume/track. Installation was a breeze and everyone is complimenting me on it.

Pros: Sounds and works great Looks stylish Easy install

Cons: Android Auto/Apple CarPlay is wired

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JVC KW-V85BT

Crutchfield customer from San Juan, PR on 4/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect

Pros: Excellent

Cons: No

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Amazing

Crutchfield customer from Los Lunas, NM on 4/11/2020

2008 Hummer H2 SUT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good deck it has every thing you need from video audio and airplay bt very nice

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-V85BT

Crutchfield customer from Kingston Spgs, TN on 3/21/2020

2014 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good radio, would recommend to others

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Nice Unit, easy to install with pre-wire

Dan from Meridian, ID on 3/11/2020

2009 Chevrolet Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really nice unit. Has a lot to offer, and a lot of settings to play with! I have had it installed about a month now in my 2009 Chevrolet Suburban and it works great. It could not have been 1mm deeper, or it would not have fit! Looks great in the dash, and with the iData link Maestro, it does all the stuff my old one did, with more style, and bluetooth and Carplay. Spend the extra money and have Crutchfield prewire! It will save you tons of time and headaches. One thing withi this unit - it takes about 5 screens to get to the fader, which is a bit annoying, but we mostly do that when traveling and want to turn off the front speakers for the kids to watch a movie. Also did a rear camera install, and that turned out really nice. I love the back camera on my other vehicles, so it nice to have it on this one.

Pros: Great price, fits my vehicle, kept all the functions of the old unit and added up to date stuff like Carplay and bluetooth

Cons: Some controls could be easier to access.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great replacement in my '07 Mustang GT

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 3/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent head unit. SiriusXM works great with it, the backup camera is awesome, and it pumps out some great bass with my Shaker500 subwoofers!

Pros:

Cons: Dimmer is not connected to the car so at night it is pretty bright.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jvc

Crutchfield customer from Dwight, IL on 3/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice radio major upgrade from stock sound is clearer

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Awezome

Crutchfield customer from Houma, LA on 3/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple....AWEZOME..!!!!

Pros: All good ,no pros

Cons: I love it..very advanced radio for the price..

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

If it too loud your to OLD!!!

Crutchfield customer from Springfield, MO on 3/2/2020

2004 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far I love this Stereo, it has everything I was wanting and then some. I haven't got all of the options hooked up yet, like the back-up camera but I'll get there. The apple car play is a awesome addition to the head unit it really enhances the hands free options.

Pros: This head unit has everything an audiophile on a budget would love.

Cons: Haven't found any yet.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

JVC KW-V85BT

Edward from LAKEWOOD, WA on 2/18/2020

2007 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sound pretty easy to figure out great fit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

System to buy

Crutchfield customer from Greencastle, IN on 2/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it!!!

Pros: Sound enhancements

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

JVC KW-V85BT

Crutchfield customer from Newport News, VA on 2/7/2020

2011 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it. Easy to use, EQ features improve factory speakers and the DVD playback is crisp and rich in color.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

2009 Chevy Suburban - JVC KW-V85BT

Crutchfield customer from Palmer, AK on 2/1/2020

2009 Chevrolet Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Put this in my Wife's 2009 Chevy Suburban. Used the Maestro kit to retain factory settings. Also, ordered the pre-made cable. Took me about an hour to install myself.

Pros: Retained the stock RSE (rear seat entertainment) feature. The factory IR headset still work as well. Was able to install a rear camera to this radio. Crutchfield's website made it easy to order everything as a kit based on vehicle. Easy do it yourself project.

Cons: This radio is a little deeper and makes for a tight fit, but it fits! Doesn't come with a remote. Order the remote so the rear passengers can control the DVD player while driving.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Does Not work correctly with iPhone 6

Bill from West Palm Beach, FL on 1/23/2020

2003 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the price, this is a good unit to replace my stock system in my 2003 F150. Coupled with some new speakers and i have a nice budget system with navigation VIA Apple play and hands free phone calls. The Apple Play combined with hands free calling does not work on my iPhone6s. Everything else works just fine but if a call comes in, I need to disconnect my USB in order to talk hands free but, when I do that, I also drop my navigation. It seems to work just fine on my wife's iPhone 8.

Pros: Good unit for the price. Easy install and everything is easy to read. Lots of additional features like pre-loaded EQ settings and customizable speaker locations.

Cons: Problems with my iPhone 6 although newer iPhones seem to work just fine.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

FALCON

Jason from FALCON on 1/9/2020

2012 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good unit. The only complaint I have is the dimmer feature doesnt dim it enough for my liking. Other than that I'm completely satisfied. It's impressive how much can be done with this head unit. Still finding stuff that I didnt know it did.

Pros: Everything

Cons: Dimmer doesnt dim it enough for my liking.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 2 found this helpful

JVC KW-V85BT

Crutchfield customer from Amarillo, TX on 1/8/2020

2008 Chevrolet Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

worked as described seens to be a great radio

Pros: everything i needed was in the box

Cons: should have included conectors for wire splice

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

Gig Harbor

Charles from Gig Harbor, WA on 1/6/2020

2013 GMC Yukon Denali

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I admit, I was a little overwelmed before installing this in my GMC Yukon. Gone are the days where I just needed to connect two speakers, power and an antenna. But with the help of the Crutchfield harnesses, installation was a snap. I payed a little extra for them to wire the harnesses together, which was money well spent. I also had to flash the Maestro computer, which controls the backup camera, Onstar and Sirrius. Even though I don't use the last two, I recommend the Maestro. Once Maestro was flashed for my vehicle, I plugged in all the connections per the Maestro installation guide and then installed it. Everything works great, and my backup camera is now better than the OEM version. At first the rear DVD screen didn't work, and I thought I had a wiring problem, but I just needed to turn on the video output and select "Disc". This is a good upgrade. There was nothing wrong with the OEM DVD receiver, it was just a little out of date. I can now use Android Auto, play music from my phone and talk to Alexa.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

JVC KW-V85BT

Crutchfield customer from Chardon, OH on 12/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works exactly as expected and would highly recommend. The Crutchfield customer service was exceptional.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Missing part required for installation?

Crutchfield customer from Greenville, SC on 12/21/2019

2012 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far I'm rating 3 stars because I'm assuming what I got is good but I purchased all equipment I was told was necessary to install. I dropped the truck off at the dealership who then told me I was missing a part and would need to send the truck elsewhere for installation. I'll update as I know more.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great radio!

Crutchfield customer from Fallon, NV on 11/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm very happy with this unit. Works great with apple play. The screen is very clear for the back up camera. I installed it in my 2007 dodge diesel 2500

Pros: Works awesome

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW 85 BT

James from Charlotte, NC on 11/3/2019

2007 Nissan Murano

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this stereo. I upgraded from a Pioneer 501 EX, and I've pretty much always been a Pioneer guy. But the Pioneer didn't do everything I wanted it to do. The JVC KW 85 bt, so far is living up to what I was looking for and more. Although I've had it for about a month I just this past week got the e brake wire hooked up the right way. So now I'm learning all the things it can really do. This thing is beyond my expectations and Im finding new things out almost every day. Definitely happy with this purchase and Crutchfield made the whole buying experience smooth as could be. They were great every step of the way.

Pros: Everything about it

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 3 found this helpful

JVC KW-V85BT

Crutchfield customer from Pasadena, MD on 10/17/2019

2016 GMC Savana

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As advertised

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

My Cadillac Cts

Crutchfield customer from Kingwood, TX on 9/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It wasn't to bad of an installation!! My advisor told me to leave the old radio control knobs in the console!! I think I should have remove them!! So if anyone of the advisors know if I can remove them please contact me!!

Pros: Really sounds great!! Easy to navigate even while driving!! Lots of different ways to listen to your music!!

Cons: Had to Solder som wires !! I thought it was going to be a plug and play!! Don't know what to do about the old radio control knobs!!

Crutchfield response on 9/10/2019
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, Nicole, reached out to this customer to help him further. On his Cadillac, the factory radio control knobs do stay in place. Since they do not make a replacement cover, removing them will create a large, unsightly opening in the dash. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

5 of 7 found this helpful

JVC KW-V85BT

Crutchfield customer from Denver, CO on 8/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Dose what it said it would do I had some issues with the wiring but I worked them out

Pros:

Cons: lose temp reading

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

JVC KW-V85BT is a great product.

Crutchfield customer from Harvest, AL on 8/6/2019

2008 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Reasonably easy and intuitive. Menu is really good and the sound is what you would expect from this product. Not certain how you would make the display clearer when its sunny and you are wearing polorized sunglasses, but that would be my only suggestion for improvement.

Pros: Easy to operate, good sound with reasonable power.

Cons: Display is washed out in the sun when wearing polorized sunglasses.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

JVC KW-V85BT

Crutchfield customer from Metamora, MI on 8/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

radio is adisappoint receptionvery pooron am and fm will pick local stations not sasy to usenot happy whit product oem worked better

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 8/6/2019
We're sorry you're disappointed with your receiver. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

4 of 14 found this helpful

TOP