Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

JVC KW-X840BTS

Digital media receiver (does not play CDs)

MFR # KW-X840BTS

JVC KW-X840BTS

JVC KW-X840BTS

Digital media receiver (does not play CDs)

MFR # KW-X840BTS

92 reviews
View this product

Great product!

Crutchfield customer from Sauk Rapids, MN on 2/26/2021

2008 Mitsubishi Eclipse

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it! I installed it in my 2006 Mitsubishi Eclipse GS. Crutchfield provided exactly what I needed to install the aftermarket stereo. I installed it myself (no experience) and I did it! Took me about 3-4 hours but I figured it out!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

The Best

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 2/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love it I have a Lexus 2004 and refuse to by a new car but I wanted to update my music. I am a senior citizen don't do a lot of driving but when I do I want my music. This was perfect plus I have Blue tooth, it allows me to play my music from my phone, answer my phone if I choose to and play pandora. I just love it .

Pros: Large face and easy to use.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KW-X840BTS

Crutchfield customer from Cincinnati, OH on 2/17/2021

2004 Lexus ES330

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased this unit to replace the factory installed radio. The connections were easy to make and the Crutchfield staff were very helpful and made sure I had everything needed. The is unit sounds great and is worth the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Phone Voice Commands Inoperative on Jeep Grand Cherokee

Crutchfield customer from Acton, CA on 2/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The voice command button(s) on the JVC unit to control the phone do not work in a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee with an IPhone 11. Crutchfield made the wiring harness and it seems to be OK. Yes, we spent hours troubleshooting and JVC thought that the unit was defective. Crutchfield was great and sent a second unit but it did the same thing. The Siri function on the IPhone will control the JVC unit to use voice commands for the phone so I am going to live with the problem because I tired of taking the unit in and out. Crutchfield advised that they were going to do further testing to see if they can duplicate the problem. Other than that, the JVC unit works as expected. I would have purchased a different unit if I had known this would be an issue.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-X840BTS

Crutchfield customer from Centerton, AR on 2/7/2021

2004 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really good EQ control to make factory speakers sound good. Works great for wireless phone calls and streaming music.

Pros: Easy to use.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KW-X840BTS

Crutchfield customer from ROLAND, IA on 1/25/2021

2004 Chevrolet Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install, illumination settings work well, hands-free phone nice, both am & fm radio very good. Display and radio functions work at temps below zero.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KW-X840BTS

Crutchfield customer from Kingsport, TN on 1/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an excellent radio with many options in the setup. It was very easy to install in my Chevy 2006 Colorado when using the Crutchfield wiring hookup service. The radio comes with a quick guide setup documentation. However, the complete User Manual should be downloaded from the internet to understand all the setup functions and capabilities.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JVC KW-X840BTS

Crutchfield customer from Chillicothe, MO on 1/16/2021

2008 Chevrolet Colorado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as expected.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-X840BTS

Crutchfield customer from Norwood, LA on 1/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio from JVC. . I should have known to buy from a reputable seller like Crutchfield to get quality products. Great product and company. Thanks

Pros: Radio is everything I wanted. Get the remote JVC app and the equalizer feature is much easier to use and "see" lol . Great head unit

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good option - strong output for custom speakers.

Steve from Roanoke, TX on 1/12/2021

2016 Honda Pilot Touring

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased with this product. Didn't have high expectations at this price point and instead, was very surprised by the sound tuning and adjustments that could be made to expand the sound stage. Install was simple and with barely following the instructions, I was able to make some quick adjustments and get to a very strong sound profile in the car. Plus, with the cool lights, etc. it was fun for my high school aged niece to whom it was gifted. Of course, Crutchfield made the process smooth, provided all the right wiring, etc. the first time and gave excellent instructions for install.

Pros: - good sound tuning and EQ options - attractive colors (if you like them) - easy install - large display - "easy button" for send/receive calls and Siri - large middle knob for old fashioned tuning and volume

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KW-X840BTS

Crutchfield customer from Saint George, UT on 12/31/2020

2009 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A fantastic head unit. Works well, looks great!

Pros: Functions excellent!

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-X840BTS

Crutchfield customer from Cross Junction, VA on 12/30/2020

2002 Honda CRV LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got this receiver for my daughter as a Christmas present and she loves it. This is second time I've order from Crutchfield and not been disappointed yet. Thanks.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-X840BTS

Crutchfield customer from Montrose, CO on 12/16/2020

2005 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exceptional value for the price. It was easy to install and with the provided instruction, a breeze.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-X840BTS

Crutchfield customer from Hartwell, GA on 12/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to work with and all is good with this product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Gerald Cole

Crutchfield customer from Bellevue, NE on 12/12/2020

2008 Toyota Yaris

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed this radio with the kit in a 2008 Toyota Yaris in 30 minutes. Everything is working great

Pros: Easy installation

Cons: No Cons

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-X840BTS

Crutchfield customer from Fort Pierce, FL on 12/11/2020

2010 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great!! Love it!! Got to me quick!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Simi happy

Eric from WASHINGTON, DC on 12/1/2020

2002 GMC Envoy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A wonderful head unit no complaints except for wire harness connectors to GM module even a bad design or they was used. Test before I button up vehicle worked great after I place everything back nothing worked had to take everything thing back apart which was frustrating to begin with. Check all wiring all's well test again it work then off I found the locking pin or lack of harnesses didn't stay in place. Had to tape all connections in place other wise this would've been a 5 star rating.

Pros: Color selection to match console lighting. Sync well with my Android phone

Cons: Unit no cons wire harness needs locking pin to stay connected

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-X840BTS

Crutchfield customer from Topeka, KS on 9/20/2020

2008 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The unit claimed to support over 20,000 files/folders for the USB port, or 999 folders per folder. In actuality it only supports 450 folders total. I was not able to get all my music to be recognized. It is some kind of hard limit. Their spec sheet is incorrect as far as I can tell. This was a big let down as I wanted a tiny USB drive plugged in at all times that contained all my music. I would love assistance for this but I am pretty sure there is no fixing this. Other than that, the spotify and alexa connections to my android phone are very spotty. Randomly they just never connect and I have to reboot the whole stereo a few times or redo the bluetooth on my phone. Play pause and skip dont seem to do anything on standard bluetooth audio input Also the dial is way too subtle in it's clicking to navigate menus effectively. Should be stiffer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JVC KW-X840BTS

Crutchfield customer from Phenix City, AL on 7/25/2020

2003 Toyota Sienna

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great head unit for the price. I was debating between this and a multimedia player. I ended up going with this for half the price and it works very well. It's nothing fancy but does everything I needed. The only benefit a multimedia player would have added would have been the ability to display my phones GPS and I decided it wasnt worth twice the price. Bluetooth connects quickly and the equalizer makes sound adjustment a snap. The companion app is a little clunky but is completely unnecessary for daily use. It's pretty easy to use the app to set the equalizer where you want it and then just not use it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Amazing value

Crutchfield customer from Rio Rancho, NM on 7/22/2020

1999 Subaru Impreza Outback Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install. Great radio for the price. Has all the features you could need. Looks great. Love that crutchfield includes the wiring adapter for free.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Modernized my Older Truck

Crutchfield customer from Simpsonville, SC on 7/20/2020

2006 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was an upgrade for sure to the stock Radio! Not only did it boost the performance of the sound, it modernizes my older truck. we mounted the microphone above the mirror and now this older truck has hands free cellular capability which is mandatory in our state/county.

Pros: Creates a Hands Free environment with Cellular calls. It made the interior fun again with sound upgrade.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KW-X840BTS

Crutchfield customer from Ellinwood, KS on 7/18/2020

2008 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this unit to replace and update the factory installed radio in my 2008 F-150 Lariat. The design is sleek, simple, and easy to install. Sounds great in my vehicle and fits perfectly in the DDIN slot. A definite improvement.

Pros: Simple, easy to follow instructions and the wiring guide (in color) on the box is vastly superior to the black and white copy in the instructions.

Cons: More input jacks than correspond with the wiring harness I purchased. Instructions a bit vague on which to use but I figured it out after a bit of trying/retrying.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-X840BTS

Crutchfield customer from Syracuse, NY on 7/13/2020

2007 Chevrolet TrailBlazer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great option to upgrade factory at a very reasonable cost.

Pros: Easy to use, price, easy to install, perfect for a teen driver in an older vehicle

Cons: Color options are not attractive to a teen. Reminds me of 1990s but that is the only real negative

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great stereo

Crutchfield customer from Richmond , VA on 7/13/2020

2005 Toyota Sequoia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Stereo. Easy to read buttons and controls. Nice lighting options. Plenty of audio control features. 3 sets of pre-amp outs. Would recommend.

Pros: lots of features for this price point.

Cons: none yet

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-X840BTS

Crutchfield customer from Amity, AR on 7/12/2020

2003 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The radio works good but the Bluetooth is junk. The phone disconnects all the time and you have to restart finding the phone okay the pin it just a cheap piece of junk.

Pros: All the functions to make you speakers sound great works good

Cons: The Bluetooth is horrible. I got sick of toying with it and just used the aux cable.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-X840BTS

Crutchfield customer from Forest, VA on 7/12/2020

2002 Chevrolet Cavalier

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks and sounds good. Perfect replacement for my old factory stereo.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-X840BTS

Crutchfield customer from Lancaster, PA on 7/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

nice radio easy insatll

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-X840BTS

Josiah from Miami, FL on 7/3/2020

2005 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This radio is pretty decent, it's a great upgrade if you have a stock old speaker. If your car already has bluetooth then this may not be such an upgrade. The app that JVC has to be used with the radio is complete utter trash honestly don't bother with it. It comes with alexa and it's tricky to use because you sorta need the app which dosen't work on android at all but pulls it's last string of life on iOS. The radio is alright for basic functions and looks pretty nice if it fits the look your going for. Also in this day and age i don't think ill ever use a cd but if you need one then i don't recommend this radio at all, it clearly says it doesn't have it but just to be clear.

Pros: It works Connects with spotify directly Connects to Pandora too (i don't think many people would use it though) The ability to use Aux and USB connections is a plus Easy to install Looks cool

Cons: The app is garbage 0/10 Alexa is so clunky to set up If you can't use the app you can't use the lights which defeats the purpose

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Find and Purchase for my GTO!

Crutchfield customer from Hephzibah, GA on 7/2/2020

2006 Pontiac GTO

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with my purchase of this unit. It has a lot more features than I will ever use but for the price it was an excellent purchase. The stereo compliments my stock speakers in my 2006 GTO very well. Good crisp sound and more than loud enough. The Bluetooth works very good with a fast connection and clear sound when talking with someone hands free on my cellphone. Also, Crutchfield, which I have purchased from many times now, ships quickly and delivers instructions for a worry free, easy installation.

Pros: Great price for a good quality unit. Straight forward, easy installation. Very good sound with a good Bluetooth connectivity. Lots of usable, cool features. Very nice easy to read display.

Cons: No issues yet. Only two things I can mention which I new going in and are not at all a problem were the single dial to control most functions, very minor, and the fact that it does not play CD's. However, there is a slightly more expensive unit in the same line that does play CD's.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great experience

Crutchfield customer from Indianapolis, IN on 7/2/2020

2008 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This radio does so much more than I expected. This was a wonderful experience. Crutchfield knows everything you will need.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-X840BTS

Crutchfield customer from Davison, MI on 7/2/2020

2007 Chevrolet Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy setup and good sound! The ease of use is excellent as well. I would strongly recommend this radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-X840BTS

Crutchfield customer from Cocoa, FL on 7/1/2020

2012 Nissan Frontier SL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After connecting and installing with the previews harness the radio did not power up.

Pros:

Cons: No power

Crutchfield response on 7/6/2020
This customer contacted our Tech Support team for help. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 2 found this helpful

JVC KW-X840BTS

Crutchfield customer from Southaven, MS on 6/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent upgrade to my old boring factory system

Pros: A ton of features

Cons: Zero

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-X840BTS

Crutchfield customer from Bristol, RI on 6/17/2020

2005 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install.. exactly what i expected. Makes having bluetooth in an older vehicle easy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great fit in 2002 Sierra

Greg from Broadview SK on 6/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I put this in a 2002 Sierra and did not have to cut the bracket inside the dash. This is because this stereo is only about half the depth of an average one. I am knocking 1 star just because the supplied screws were too short, because the Scoshe mounting brackets for this truck are fairly thick. The stereo itself is like everything else these days. 1 knob does like 200 different things, but once you get everything setup, its a nice unit to operate.

Pros: compact

Cons: screws to short

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Easy to install

Crutchfield customer from Delano, MN on 6/11/2020

2009 Saturn VUE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install. Easy to setup bluetooth.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Decent receiver

Crutchfield customer from Kent, OH on 6/3/2020

2009 Hyundai Sonata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Decent receiver system. Installed fairly easily. Has crashed on me once and required a reset.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Easy to install

Crutchfield customer from Ann Arbor, MI on 5/31/2020

2003 Volvo XC70

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My teenage son and I installed together - we were preparing his first car. Very easy to install. Instructions included were clear. We installed within an hour and now enjoy some great sounds

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KW-X840BTS

Crutchfield customer from Womelsdorf, PA on 5/28/2020

2013 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice radio , works for what I need it to do

Pros: Small and light

Cons: Screen could be brighter

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Work van upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Norco, LA on 5/21/2020

2015 Ford Transit Connect

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, really loved how easy it was to hook up my steering wheel controls, only disappointment was the angle in my Ford Transit Connect it had to be installed on makes it difficult to see the display, that's why I gave it only 4 stars.

Pros: SWC easy peasy installation

Cons: hard to see display at an angle if mounted at an angle.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KW-X840BTS

Guest from Auburn IL on 5/19/2020

2005 Chrysler 300

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works really well has lots of tuning features along with a plethora of color options great unit for the price couldn't be any happier

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great unit, great price

Crutchfield customer from Perkins, MI on 5/4/2020

2005 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit, does everything I needed it to. Sounds much better than my stock set up (installed JVC speakers to match) and my wife loves the color options. Crutchfield sent everything I needed for the install, and I was impressed that the instructions were specifically written for my vehicle.

Pros: Easy set up, decent sound

Cons: No cons, but I recommend the matching speakers or a similar upgrade from stock. Not the fault of JVC, but worth mentioning that my stock speakers sounded terrible with this. I didn't tweak the settings since I was replacing the speakers anyways, but for the little extra cost, upgrade the speakers too.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Customer assistance

Crutchfield customer from Longwood, FL on 5/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The help in installing it was awesome. The products worked great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-X840BTS

Crutchfield customer from Hamilton, AL on 5/1/2020

2004 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely killer rig with a retro aesthetic and modern sound. You can make the color display as infinitely over the top, or as streamlined and casual as you please. With a nearly endless array of sound customization built in also, you really can't go wrong with this one. If you're on the fence about it, hop on over. It's well worth every penny spent.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome

Crutchfield customer from Wittmann, AZ on 5/1/2020

2006 Hyundai Accent

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice ! I didn't install it cuz I know nothing about that stuff. I took it to my mechanic. It took him 40 minutes. He said it was easy to install. Sounds great. So... ya! My fav tbh is the colors it throws my way ??

Pros: Came quick in the mail Cool color lights Sounds good Great install instructions

Cons: Ummmm.... nothing really

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-X840BTS

Crutchfield customer from Daytona Beach, FL on 4/30/2020

2008 Chevrolet Silverado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks good and you can fine tune your sound

Pros: Easy install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent Quality

Crutchfield customer from Rancho Cordova, CA on 4/30/2020

2007 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very solid and nice unit, especially for the price point. My stock speakers got much louder and sound a lot more crisp.

Pros: Color scheme. Easy turning knob. Easy to pair.

Cons: The end call button and the hold button are the same. Have to hold it down to end the call.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-X840BTS

Crutchfield customer from Omro, WI on 4/27/2020

2002 Buick Century

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install and works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-X840BTS

Crutchfield customer from San Rafael, CA on 4/26/2020

2001 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great price. Great performance. I'll definitely recommend it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-X840BTS

Crutchfield customer from Baker, FL on 4/26/2020

2002 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KW-X840BTS

Crutchfield customer from Omaha, NE on 4/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install works great fits great and had great customer service

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield is great and the JVC is a solid value.

Crutchfield customer from Ottawa, KS on 4/21/2020

2012 Ford F-150 XL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this for my son's truck to replace a factory radio. I had not replaced a radio in 15 years so I turned to Crutchfield as back in the "day" it was the place. I was not disappointed. The include cable adapter, antenna adapter and mounting bracket makes the installation look like factory! The JVC radio was priced fairly so given the features this is a solid value. Bluetooth is a standard connection younger people expect as well as a charge port in the radio. My son is happy and so am I. thanks Crutchfield, your like a good old friend, there when I need you.

Pros: Easy installation in my son's Ford truck.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JVC KW-X840BTS

Crutchfield customer from Tolland, CT on 4/20/2020

2007 Volvo S60

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice unit works very well. Plenty of power for stock speakers. big improvement over stock stereo

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-X840BTS

Crutchfield customer from Kingston, GA on 4/20/2020

2006 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great for the price. Easy to install thanks to the directions that were specific to my make/model that Crutchfield included.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sweet system

Crutchfield customer from Brookeville, MD on 4/15/2020

2000 Volkswagen Golf

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great system easy installation performs very well

Pros: Easy installation and great directions

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC stereo

Matt from Montgomery, TX on 4/11/2020

2007 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks great, sounds great! Simple button set up. Alexa is a nice feature that I enjoy. Swapped out my previous Boss touchscreen radio for this one and don't even regret it.

Pros: Loud and clear audio simple interface alexa

Cons: none so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-X840BTS

Crutchfield customer from Cedar Key, FL on 4/6/2020

2002 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works good. Great features!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great fit

Crutchfield customer from Kalaheo, HI on 3/30/2020

1997 Chevrolet K Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As described

Pros: Easy installed

Cons: Kit unclear intstructios

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-X840BTS

Crutchfield customer from Inverness, FL on 3/28/2020

2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

awesome product sound quality and capabilities. everything i needed

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KW-X840BTS

Crutchfield customer from Roanoke, VA on 3/25/2020

2004 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits great, looks awesome, sounds awesome. So far the only drawback is the front face scratches easily.

Pros: Ease of install especially with the dash kit

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good head unit

Crutchfield customer from Hudson, NH on 3/25/2020

2007 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500 Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed this in my 2007 Chevy 2500 Silverado classic. Nice fitment. Also used the add on so all the steering controls work. The only con is the volume button is super touchy and feels kind of sloppy. Other than that great head unit for the price. Definitely recommend buying the packages Crutchfield tells you too. Makes it way easier to install and hook up.

Pros: Nice screen layout. changing colorsis nice

Cons: Very touchy volume knob, feels sloppy

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JVC KW-X840BTS

Crutchfield customer from Virginia Beach, VA on 3/17/2020

2005 Scion xB

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm enjoying it for sure. Was easy to Install. Was surprised volume only went up to 35. But after adding speakers, I can see why... great replacement for my old pioneer stereo

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KW-X840BTS

Crutchfield customer from Hampton, VA on 3/10/2020

2008 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this for the wife for her older Subaru Outback. Besides sounding great, she loves easy to see/uncluttered controls.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Product great, service not so much.

Crutchfield customer from Homestead, FL on 3/8/2020

2000 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love the head unit, i love the color choices, display and quality of the build. Unfortunately, because i bought it here, a bitter after taste comes when looking at the head unit. I purchased the head unit, wire loom (plug) and the prewire service from Crutchfield and they did not fit my stock plugs. I can assure you i chose the correct one from the brief options. I asked for a partial refund for the plugs and the wire service and they flat out refused. I don't think I'll ever give money to Crutchfield ever again. Run away with my $37 Crutchfield. Congratulations. I went to amazon and bought about $3-$400 worth of speakers and audio accessories for my build after buying this head unit. You reap what you sow.

Pros: Great head unit. Fits perfectly in my car.

Cons: Built in amp isn't enough.

Crutchfield response on 3/18/2020
We apologize for the wiring problems and the less-than-stellar experience you had with Crutchfield; however, we are glad that you're enjoying the JVC receiver. One of our Tech gurus, AJ, actually helped this customer get a refund on the wiring service that didn't work for them.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Terrific Upgrade

WILLIAM from FARMINGTN HLS, MI on 3/3/2020

2004 Honda CRV EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an excellent stereo, especially for the price. I just installed this in my 2004 Honda CRV, and the improvement over the factory radio (which had a cassette deck!) is dramatic. Of course, love the bluetooth (with remote microphone that was easy to route to the A-pillar of the vehicle) and the overall look and sound of the unit. The free wiring harness provided by Crutchfield was easy to wire to the stereo and allowed me to keep the factory wiring harness intact. Before I bought the stereo, I connected with one of the advisors (Tom) who was very helpful as well. I appreciated his straightforward advice, which put my mind at ease with this purchase.

Pros: Great price/value Easy installation with the included wiring harness and adapters Great sound Really good bluetooth microphone

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Stereo!! (VERY EASY INSTALLATION )

Crutchfield customer from Estacada, OR on 3/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just wanted a stereo for listening to pastor Rick Warren and other Christian stations in the morning and Smooth Jazz and some classic rock off my iPhone. This stereo is perfect I have told people left and right about Crutchfield and the great service and how easy it was to get rid of the old stock stereo and put in the New one in just 30 minutes and that's after two back surgeries Thanks Maverick and Fernando for making it so easy!

Pros: Bluetooth works excellent Microphone for hands free calling awesome Easiest install I ever did 30 minutes with the pre wiring Fernando did it's worth paying price for that service The Installation instructions were awesome Great EQ adjustments sounds great in my Ford F150

Cons: Shouldn't have waited so long to buy the new stereo

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-X840BTS

Crutchfield customer from Fultonville, NY on 2/29/2020

2013 GMC Savana

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works good would like to be able to see time while listening to xm.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very pleased

Crutchfield customer from Bushnell, IL on 2/27/2020

2017 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio, love the features & options with this radio. Not too difficult to install, needed some adjustments as would any after market.

Pros: Bluetooth compatibility, USB Port in front & many other features to use!

Cons: Radio fit needed some adjustments, not perfect, but it's acceptable

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sierra nose upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Mashpee, MA on 2/25/2020

2004 GMC Sierra Denali

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great! Works great! I didn't want a touch screen but wanted smartphone integration , this JVC is what I wanted. Replaced head unit and door speakers in a 04 sierra bose system. Left the factory amp and sub in the truck. Every thing works and sounds great. Only complaint , not a really God one, is the total volume is lower that stock. Not by much but I find I am turning volume up to or close to max. Could be because sounds so good or ...maybe something to do with factory amp.

Pros: Great sound, clarity

Cons: Not has much volume

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

2004 Pontiac Bonneville

Crutchfield customer from Roosevelt, UT on 2/25/2020

2004 Pontiac Bonneville

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this media player! Connects with my Apple phone every time, and lots of customizable options.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Menu navigation could really be improved.

Crutchfield customer from Springville, AL on 2/20/2020

1997 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall, the unit performs well, but the menu manipulation and navigation is not very intuitive.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-X840BTS

Crutchfield customer from Brigham City, UT on 2/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed (2) of these audio units, one in a 2005 Ford E450 and a 2007 Ford E450, sound was improved in both applications. Clean easy to operate functions, nice to have hands free phone operation.

Pros: Size of unit makes operation functions more visible. The available multi color display is a fun feature. Improved sound.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice radio, Give it a try.

Crutchfield customer from Stanley, NC on 2/17/2020

2009 Honda CRV LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This radio was easy to install, looks and sounds good. I would buy this unit again.

Pros: Adjustable color and brightness display divided into three zones. Plenty of power. Easy to adjust. Small form factor in rear makes install much easier.

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

All around awesomeness

Crutchfield customer from Hanford, CA on 2/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First off, Crutchfield is amazing. There service team is so dialed in, it's ridiculous! The JVC unit is exactly what I needed. Installed easy into my 07 Sequoia and sounds great for what I paid for it. The call quality from the installed mic isn't the best, but again, you get what you pay for. It works great for dictation with my iPhone which is what I use it for most of the time anyway

Pros: Easy install Looks decent Intuitive controls/functions

Cons: Call quality from mic

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JVC KW-X840BTS

Crutchfield customer from Aurora, CO on 2/14/2020

2007 Ford Explorer Sport Trac

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the price of the JVC KW-X840BTS, I don't have any complaints. I was easy to install and works as advertised. It has many option/settings that you could only find on much more expensive products. I will say that the day brightness setting for the display could be a little brighter. I can be tough to see, especially with sunglasses on.

Pros: Price, Installation, Sound Quality

Cons: Day time brightness

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice unit

Crutchfield customer from Golden, IL on 2/11/2020

2004 Chevrolet Avalanche

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit does everything I need it to. Easy install, easy to use and a great price

Pros: Very easy to use

Cons: Haven't found any negatives yet

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

The future is here and its frustrating

Crutchfield customer from Manchester, MI on 2/9/2020

2013 Kia Soul

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does everything it claims but the ui is very unappealing and takes the joy away from tweaking your music - ie the visuals for eq adjustment could be better even with the crap screen but what do I know. Navigating the menus can feel clumsy at times. a visual of where you are at in the menu relative to other options would alleviate this but given more time this will smooth out. It's not crazy complicated but the directions need to be read and re-read to explore everything this puppy can offer. Which brings me to the price. I could have gotten the single din version of this for half the cost and gotten all of the same features. I used the sw rca out and it brought my JBL basspro12 to life compared to taping into my rear speaker wires.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Very nice and easy to install.

Crutchfield customer from Hurdle Mills, NC on 2/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice and easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great value

Crutchfield customer from Seward, AK on 2/7/2020

2004 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Its a great little radio does everything I need at a very affordable price and self install was a breeze. The suggested parts and harness kit suggested worked great and made things so simple.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JVC KW-X840BTS

steven from Land O Lakes, FL on 2/5/2020

2006 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

installed this unit in my son's 2006 dodge ram 1500 quad cab. great replacement for the stock radio. unit is both sensitive and powerful for a reasonable price. install went well. i paid the exra cost to have crutchfield pre wire the harness and that was money well spent. did not install the included speaker mike, so can't advise on that.

Pros: good sensitivity, good power, nice eq selections, awesome screen colors

Cons: none so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

05 4Runner

Crutchfield customer from Columbia, SC on 1/28/2020

2005 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Durable and easy to install. Buttons and dials feel sturdy. Endless color options to set along with numerous EQ settings. Only complaint would be hard to see system lighting in lots of sun, but it maintains screen lighting regardless.

Pros: Reliable Quality build Endless colors Quick BT pair for iPhone

Cons: System lighting is dim during day.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

very good head unit loving it so far

Crutchfield customer from Independence, MO on 1/25/2020

2002 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

dose everything i wanted it to do and more at a good price with very easy to install, no issues at all so far

Pros: easy install lots of features integrated well with my echo auto with only one caveat

Cons: (the caveat) it insists on using its own mike for calls but it may just be a limitation of the echo auto and not the stereo I would much prefer to use the 8 microphone array on the echo but haven't managed to get that to work for calls (even calls initiated with the echo)

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC

Crutchfield customer from Hugoton, KS on 1/20/2020

2007 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver for the money.

Pros: User friendly, more power than stock radio

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KW-X840BTS

Crutchfield customer from Fort Smith, AR on 1/14/2020

2003 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Deal!

Crutchfield customer from Marengo, IL on 1/12/2020

2006 Pontiac G6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed this in a 2006 Pontiac G6. Crutchfield's installation instructions were spot on. Nice looking and sounding head unit when paired with a killer deal on 4 Jvc speakers. Total investment under $250 and my son is stoked. The endless color combinations make this look really good in his car. Tons of features and set up options allows you to get the sound dialed in. A little confusing at first navigating the menus but eventually becomes second nature.

Pros: Look Feel Sound Hands free

Cons: Confusing menu

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Super

Crutchfield customer from Toms River, NJ on 1/12/2020

2010 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent double din touchscreen

Pros: Ease of use, clear screen. Simple setup

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KW-X840BTS

Crutchfield customer from Pataskala, OH on 1/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought as gift for teenage son. He loves the bluetooth and other features that his factory radio did not include.

Pros: Super easy to install

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JVC KW-X840BTS

Crutchfield customer from Worcester, MA on 1/10/2020

2003 Honda Accord LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Such an amazing product at such an amazing price Crutchfield is absolutely phenomenal.

Pros: Great radio

Cons: No cons

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Fantastic Head Unit

Crutchfield customer from Lebanon, IN on 1/8/2020

2013 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This head unit was a great choice for me! The 6 preamp outputs made it super easy to hook to my amp. The bluetooth works flawlessly and the adjustable background colors make it to where I am able to match its color to the cars other interior buttons. The tuning features were easy to use once they were found and allowed me to tune the sound in perfectly. I would recommend this head unit and it's a great price as well!

Pros: Great price, 6 preamp outputs, tons of tuning technology, adjustable colors

Cons: Navigating through the menus can be slightly difficult the first couple of days but after you figure out how it all works it turns out to be a great system.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JVC KW-X840BTS

Crutchfield customer from Caldwell, OH on 1/7/2020

2007 Chevrolet Impala

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Stereo performed as expected. Easy installation with the kits provided.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Replace factory head unit.

Kurt W from ODENTON, MD on 1/4/2020

2011 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy process from shopping, shipping and installation. Im not an installation whiz, but the instructions were easy to follow. Only missing was the part about two wire harnesses no longer needed from the factory unit. Sound is excellent and paired with my phone, existing amp and equalizer with ease. Highly recommend Crutchfield!

Pros: Great sounding unit

Cons: None at this time, all my needs were covered.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Wow! Very impressed!

Scott from Crestview, FL on 1/4/2020

2005 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in my 05 Silverado. Easy to install, perfect fit and crisp sound with plenty of power! Great choice, especially for the price!

Pros: Super easy installation, perfect fit and great sound quality.

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

TOP