Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
980 004 941 3

Call center hours

Connect ID #
980 004 941 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time. Please visit our Support page to find the help you need.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Please select an email topic.  

Looking for tech support?
Please call us at 1-800-955-9091

Need help now?
Call an advisor: 1-888-955-6000

Please enter your name.  
Please enter your US phone number.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Polk Audio 65 RT

In-wall speaker

MFR # AW6500-A

Polk Audio 65 RT

Polk Audio 65 RT

In-wall speaker

MFR # AW6500-A

33 reviews
View this product

Easy to install, great sound.

Crutchfield customer from Lake Point, UT on 1/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome!! Great sound, easy to install. Comes with everything you need to install it easily.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio 65 RT

Crutchfield customer from Shelter Island, NY on 1/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great, rich sound, no complaints and as always Crutchfield provided incredible customer service!

Pros: look and sound great!

Cons: none I can think of!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio 65 RT

Crutchfield customer from Columbia, SC on 12/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Flushed and painted. Perfect!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio 65 RT

Crutchfield customer from Bayville, NJ on 12/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound all around. Bass is sufficient for its size. Where these speakers shine is the room filling mids and highs. Exceptionally crisp natural sound. I have these installed 12 feet high and they have no problem projecting sound downward with the directional tweeters.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio 65 RT

Crutchfield customer from Greenville, SC on 9/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits seamlessly. Sounds great.

Pros: Sound

Cons: Non

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio 65 RT

Crutchfield customer from Amelia Island, FL on 6/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The only reason I did not give the 65RT a five-star rating is because of the cut-out template. Three of the four speakers are installed into blank walls, the fourth is tucked closely to trim-work. I allowed space between the trim and the template, but it wasn't enough, now I have to remove and rip the trim. The template should specify the cut-out for the speaker - and [ add 1/2"] space required for the grill. Also, the tweeter is aim abled but nothing in the package indicates this feature.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 8 found this helpful

Awful in an uninsulated wall.

Douglas from Spartanburg, SC on 3/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Terrible for tv. These were installed in a non-insulated 24" on-center stud interior wall. The sound is awful for voice. Completely unusable because it echos so badly and has terrible balance. I should not have bought these and I'm now faced with spending a good deal more to add some sort of post-install isolation. Contact with Crutchfield and Polk has offered nothing to remedy this. What a mistake, just awful.

Pros: Easy installation.

Cons: Unusable without significant modification to the wall cavity. Speakers made for in-wall installation should be better than this.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 11 found this helpful

Nice upgrade

Rich from Cornelius, NC on 3/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had JBL surround sound speakers that just weren't that great for sound quality. Put in these in wall Polk audio speakers for rear surround and what an improvement. And really easy to install!

Pros: Sound Ease of install

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio 65 RT

Amit from Coppell, TX on 1/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound is awesome for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio 65 RT

Crutchfield customer from Broomfield, CO on 11/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the second pair of 65 RT speakers I have purchased. I'm using them as rear channel speakers. Great clear sound and nice lows. Easy installation and look great. I would highly recommend these speakers!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio 65 RT

Crutchfield customer from California, US on 10/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound with a lot of dynamic range. These Polks sound great at low volume and also at high volume. Very clear and accurate sound. Installation is also a breeze and the grills are magnetically attached.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

65RT

Guest from Ashland, VA on 8/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed a pair in a difficult location for stereo. Speakers are above kitchen cabinets (cabinets are 14" deep) with only 18" between the cabinet tops and the ceiling. I created about 1 cubic foot of interior wall space (Polk's recommendation) using insulation below the speakers. I would have liked to use 8" woofers, but was concerned that there might be too much bass so close to the ceiling. The front ports I reasoned, although obscured from direct earshot by the cabinets, should aid bass response and would be a little distant from the ceiling. I have been a minor audiophile for quite a few years (yikes) and pretty much knew the situation I was in. But in the end, bass response is adequate and high frequency is very good in the live kitchen. Overall, I'm pleased with the outcome.

Pros: -Front port. Can aim the tweeters. Great price and service. -The employees at the Crutchfield store were very helpful when I made the trip to Charlottesville. Spent 2 hours there while I made numerous evaluations/decisions with their help. Phone help is also excellent.

Cons: Polk anchor screws are stiff to turn at first. But they loosen up after some turning, which allows you to have adequate feel as they snug down.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent Value

MATT from Fargo, ND on 4/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with these speakers. The fit and finish is so nice I don't even want to use the grille. They work with a wide range of wall thicknesses, (I'm using 1/2" MDF AND 1/2" Drywall) so the install is flexible. The sound is excellent for the price as well, a really good value. I also like the ability to change the tweeter and woofer performance depending on location of install - like if you have to be closer than 2' to an adjacent wall.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio 65 RT

michael from Mays Landing, NJ on 1/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

65 RT front speakers

Dan from Lincoln, NE on 12/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am using the speakers as my right and left front speakers under my new Samsung 4K. They match very well with the 90 RT that I have for my rear speakers and my 255C -RT front center speaker. I also have a subwoofer so the bass is not an issue. The speakers have a rotational tweeter, which works really nice with my setup since the TV is located on the right half of the room. I am able to direct the sound to the listening area with ease

Pros: Easy installation, attractive looks, clean sound, crisp highs, perfect match for home theater front speakers. Nice overall product.

Cons: Bass would be empty without a subwoofer.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio 65 RT

Crutchfield customer from Aldie, VA on 12/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced my JBL surround speakers with these speakers in my family room. there is looking nice and sound is also good

Pros: easy to install

Cons: no

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Hidden Surround Speakers!

Joseph from Denver, CO on 10/15/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy installation, tight speaker terminals, good option to use as surround speakers.

Pros: Installation = Simple

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk 65RT are NICE!

Mike from Delaware on 8/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound amazing! These 65 RT speakers have a very clean sound with decent midrange even though in wall. Not a lot of lower range but they have enough. I use a sub anyway. The smooth look of the magnetic grill is better than hoped for. You will see on these reviews time and again about Crutchfield's service and it's true. I called because I wanted to price-match and Nate was extremely professional and courteous. Old school service with modern retail model.

Pros: Quality sound and look. CRUTCHFIELD SERVICE!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio 65 RT

Crutchfield customer from Boiling Springs, SC on 5/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

super at this price, easy to install.

Pros: good sound, my second set purchased. solid construction

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Do you wanna get rocked!

Jim from Wilson, NC on 3/31/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I told Crutchfield tech. What stereo system I had and what sound I was looking for and these Polk speakers are what he recommended. Awesome sound... met my expectations. Thanks Crutchfield!

Pros: Clear rich sound. Ready to rock!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio 65 RT

Crutchfield customer from Austin, TX on 3/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers with a good luck on the wall. Very happy with this purchase! Sound is beautiful.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Big sound speaker

Hector from Spring, TX on 3/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This speaker has great sound. Very easy to install and look good anywhere. Price matching dropped price by 50%

Pros: Great sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Enjoying the products I received from Crutchfield

Maurice A. from Maryland on 9/4/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are very good in wall speakers also the quick delivery service is a major Plus for me.

Pros: Very good and well speakers for the money

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio 65 RT

ColinJ from Oregon on 11/21/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Performing well beyond expectations and extremely easy to install. My daughter only drilled one hole through the floor, the other two were perfect. (She is a novice installer, but at 81 I don't crawl under houses anymore.) These speakers were purchased for use as surround speakers but we installed them in the back wall. Upon completion we all watched Jurassic World and were thrilled to find the sound comparable to theater sound.

Pros: The template was sized perfectly and the terminals happily accepted the 12-guage wire that was recommended for the distance to the amplifier.

Cons: If there in a Con we are waiting to experience it.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Very Happy

Cspann from Maryland on 10/6/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These were installed as back channel speaker (7.1) Extremely pleased with ease of installation and sound quality. Built in filters for near wall reflection and cavity constraints a plus. Way easy to pop into the wall and clean looking once installed.

Pros: Ease of install Provided instructions, templates

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Real nice speakers

Alan M. from New York on 1/31/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought these speakers based on my knowledge of the company, the Crutchfield advisor's recommendation, and pricing. We paired the speakers with the Onkyo TX-NR828. They are truly wonderful speakers and I can see how couch potatoes are created.

Pros: Sound, size (not over powering), and price.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio 65 RT

Crutchfield customer from Illinois on 1/7/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio 65 RT

Crutchfield customer from Lakeway, TX on 6/24/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent speakers for the money!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Great....too a point

Me from Florida on 2/21/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had these originally as left and right front and as center channel as well. Powered by Yamaha 90 x 7 receiver. These speakers are great in terms of ease of installation, appearance and most notably sound quality EXCEPT as a dedicated center channel. As a center they struggle at high volumes to provide clean separation between vocals and loud, dynamic soundtracks. This is only apparent at high volumes , but caused me to purchase a Polk 255-lc center channel to replace my 65 RT as my center. If your not using as a center, it's great on all levels even down to the speaker grills which are paintable, magnetic and fit very flush against wall.

Pros: Sound, appearance and ease of installation

Cons: See my review

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Great Speakers-Awesome Sound

James L from Punta Gorda, FL on 12/19/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was somewhat skeptical about buying these speakers since they were replacing two Yamaha tower speakers. My wife wanted to "clean up" our entertainment center which meant replacing the towers. These Polk speakers sound just a good as the large towers they replaced. Installation was very easy and they look great!

Pros: Great sound. Simple installation. Great appearance - low profile.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Awesome Sound

JimH from Carmel, IN on 8/18/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome sound. Much better than the Bose AM10 System they replaced.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Wow! What a difference!

Mike V. from San Antonio, TX on 5/30/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This speaker is serving as our center channel in our surround sound set-up. All I can say is WOW! Great power, great fidelity, clear and crisp. Really does well as a center speaker, especially when you compare it to the wimpy in-set TV speakers. Very pleased. Installed easily (was a little nervous cutting such a big hole in the sheetrock, but the template was spot-on and the speaker went right in, no worries.

Pros: Excellent sound, easy install.

Cons: None really--a little large, but I knew that going in. Nothing I'd consider a con.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

awsome sound

lew b from utica ny on 11/5/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had the polk rc65i speakers and wanted a little more after hearing anouther persons seround that had a high end polk speakers that sounded amazing ! After installing and letting my onkyo reciever calibrate them , I was amazed on how much i was missing such detail and crispness . the rc65i were great speakers but these made me yern to watch all my old movies to see what my ears have missed !

Pros: great grills mutch easier than the old ones . nice that the adjustments were on the front .

Cons: no gaskets to seal on uneven walls , latts and plaster or repaired walls

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

TOP