Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Polk Audio 90-RT

in-ceiling speaker

MFR # AW1190-A

Polk Audio 90-RT

Polk Audio 90-RT

in-ceiling speaker

MFR # AW1190-A

24 reviews
View this product

Polk Audio 90-RT

Crutchfield customer from Boone, IA on 12/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to install. Templates were spot on. Just make sure not to over tighten and adjust direction of speaker before final tightening. Also take your time as you turn the screws. The screws are a bit tough to turn but don't be tempted to go use a drill. Just take the extra 30 seconds and do it right.

Pros: Easy install. Speaker wire connection is a simple press button.

Cons: To make it easy to connect the wire have a second person push the connection button as you insert the speaker wire if you don't have a lot of extra wire. Makes the process even easier!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio 90-RT

Crutchfield customer from Greenville, SC on 12/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound. Easy install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio 90-RT

Crutchfield customer from Brooklyn, NY on 11/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Speakers are exactly what I was looking for some bass and highs. Highly recommend!

Pros: Sounds amazing

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio 90-RT

Crutchfield customer from Muncie, IN on 11/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound and a very nice look on the ceiling.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio 90-RT

Elliott from Newport Beach, CA on 10/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are exceptional speakers for the money. I'm giving it only 3 stars because the plastic rotating cam-clamps are quite small for the heft of this speaker and several have broken during installation which is unacceptable. I called Polk Customer Service and waited for 50 minutes. Another 45 minutes speaking to a friendly gentleman, however, unfortunately they do not have any of these small plastic replacement parts which is wrong since they claim a lifetime parts warranty. I've purchased and installed dozens of these and many many more of the 620RT's which are considerably smaller and much more lightweight and oddly have bulkier families-clamps. I'm going to write them a letter and send the small part back to them since there's absolutely no way I'm going to try to MacGyver some half baked solution since these babies are very heavy and I don't want them falling out and hitting me or worse, any of the kids in the head in my kitchen-Yikes! Now that I think of it, needing to purchase more for a spec home I'm building I'm going to contact Crutchfield and find another brand that sounds as good as Polk but has higher quality cam-clamps. Sorry about the verbosity of this review, but it needs mentioning that ceiling speaker clamps should be of high quality and relatively easy to install.

Pros: Great Sound, Good price

Cons: Poor quality small plastic cam-clamps which can break easily during installation.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Polk Audio 90-RT

Crutchfield customer from Stevensville, MT on 10/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good tech assistance, quick shipping. The speaker is substantial, flat grill. easy install, good sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio 90-RT

Crutchfield customer from Waukesha, WI on 9/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced my old kitchen speaker (polk audio rc60i) with this one. Was a night and day difference with the sound quality. It is a little top heavy so the hook feature to secure to a roof truss is nice but with 3/4" drywall isn't necessary if you aren't able to get access to the speaker.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio 90-RT

Crutchfield customer from Madison, NJ on 8/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice full sound for in-ceiling speakers and very good price point. Two points to consider, they are big in depth so make sure you have the room; also tweeter cannot be aimed (not so important if not being used in LCR positions). Glad I didn't pay for other options as I find most in-ceilings and in wall speakers just are not up to the sound quality of free standing speakers.

Pros: Full sound, nice bass for in ceiling speakers Nice price point

Cons: Large in depth, make sure you have room Tweeter cannot be moved or aimed

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great speakers!

Crutchfield customer from Strongsville, OH on 8/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

WOW sums it up best! These work great for the rear channel of our system!

Pros: Sound quality with both music and television

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great speaker

Crutchfield customer from Manchester, NH on 7/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, great price, and very easy installation. I need one more and will be buying the same model.

Pros: Nice wide sound range

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio 90-RT

Crutchfield customer from Vancouver, WA on 6/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding speakers and easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sounds great worth it

Crutchfield customer from Fremont, CA on 5/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wonderful sound live them

Pros: Sound

Cons: Too small of clips for install

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio 90-RT

Crutchfield customer from Stockton, CA on 5/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound

Pros: Easy install, clear

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great, but...

Crutchfield customer from Clifton, VA on 5/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These ceiling speakers do a great job and seem to match fairly well with my Martin Logan speakers. Speaker quality is the main thing of course. However, the installation could have been easier if the template was a bit smaller for the hole in the ceiling and the grabbers were longer. Since these speakers were installed in an acoustical tile ceiling I had to back up the tile with plywood and secure the speakers with wire to the above woodwork. Make no mistake, these speakers are heavy and large. Great speaker, but you need to be aware of what you are getting into.

Pros: great sound, great specs, appears well built

Cons: Installation in a ceiling can be tricky and buyer needs to be fully aware of potential pitfalls.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Polk Audio 90-RT

Crutchfield customer from Greensboro, NC on 2/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are well built speakers. I purchased them for Dolby atoms ceiling speakers. I have not installed them yet but I hooked a set up as front left and right mains. The sound was almost as good as my Polk bookshelf RTI speakers. At the sale price I got them at they were a steel

Pros:

Cons: Almost to deep to fit in my ceiling. I have 2x10 joist which are only 9 1/4 tall. Add the drywall at 1/2 inch it only gives a 1/4 inch clearance.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

Great sound

Jim from Palos Park, IL on 12/25/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They are larger than I thought but fit Perfectly in the ceiling Easy install. Took about 2 hours to put up 4 Sounds great. Did buy a sub woofer to help out as I'm using them for music Great compliments from anybody that listens as they play pool!

Pros: Great value

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio 90-RT

Mark from El Dorado Hls , CA on 12/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Speakers were easy to install being that I had pre-wire 3RT-90s Are for the front speakers in my surround and 4-RT70s side and rear

Pros: They were very easy to install saved me hundreds from paying someone else to install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 6 found this helpful

Polk Audio 90-RT

Jen from Burlington, KY on 11/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The speakers installed in minutes. They are flush to the ceiling. The sound fills the room and sounds full. Less intrusive than the four speaker plus floor base.

Pros: The Sound! Easy installation.

Cons: The size.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good speaker

Roberto from Roswell, GA on 8/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Relatively good for the price. Wanted B&W but could not afford them. The finished installation is a minimal look. I think there are better speakers out there but for a lot more money so for me this is a good fit. Will probably buy two more for another zone; this is cheaper than buying two Sonos to get stereo : ) Did not give them a 5 'cause the installation instructions are not very good, but this was my first ceiling installation. Had to guess on the best orientation in relation to the listening location. I may have to adjust them....

Pros: Relatively good sound for ceiling speakers. They are now my rear channel; fronts are Polk TRi 12's. They combine well together. Look very nice (my ceilings are white) great for a modern look...

Cons: Installation instructions not good. No specification on best orientation of speakers. Locking cams were extremely hard to screw on one of the speakers. Had to search online for the best way to insert wires into connectors. Had to call support for explanation on the use of the eyebolt (not required for sheetrock ceilings)

Crutchfield response on

3 of 7 found this helpful

Polk Audio 90-RT

Spencer from West Orange, NJ on 6/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice speaker with rich sound and impressive bass. Looking to purchase more for the rest of the house.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio 90-RT

Crutchfield customer from Jackson, OH on 4/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have not had long enough to rate the sonics of this speaker, however, it was very easy to install. I installed it in the drop ceiling of my dedicated home theatre as part of the new Atmos upgrade.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound...hidden speakers!

Joe from Germantown, MD on 3/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was a little skeptical of using in-ceiling speakers. After numerous calls to the fabulous Crutchfield team, I landed on 3 of these for the L-C-R i used the 70-RT's for the rear. I haven't had too long to enjoy them for movies. But, for music, they do a really nice job. And they aren't taking up valuable floor space where my wife can put stuff...lol Haven't added the sub yet. Probably in the next few weeks. I'll copy this review into the 70-RT field as well. Thanks Team Crutchfield! great advice as always!!

Pros: Really nice sound without giving up any floor space.

Cons: None yet.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent sound and quality

Pete from Herriman, UT on 6/5/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed these speakers to set-up Dolby atmos/DTS. Easy to install and have excellent sound quality. The three way design for these speakers makes a big difference.

Pros: Easy to install. Excellent sound quality and three way design.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Polk Audio 90-rt

JP from Chula Vista, CA on 12/23/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this speaker as my center channel. Very easy to install when using the template, just got to get thru cutting the hole in the ceiling. Speaker sounds great! Very clear sounding, loud and I have not heard any distortion when cranking it up.

Pros: Price, easy to install, sounds great and works well as a center channel.

Cons: I installed this speaker as an in ceiling speaker. If I were going to get very technical, I would have installed in the wall to have the audio coming right at me. Either way, it sounds great!

Crutchfield response on

10 of 11 found this helpful

TOP