Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Polk Audio Atrium8 SDI

All-weather indoor/outdoor speaker with selectable stereo input mode (White)

MFR # AM8088-A

Polk Audio Atrium8 SDI

Polk Audio Atrium8 SDI

All-weather indoor/outdoor speaker with selectable stereo input mode (White)

MFR # AM8088-A

118 reviews
View this product

Great

Craig from ROCKLIN, CA on 2/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used this solution on my front porch. The space is smaller about 8x15 and using a single stereo speaker is really slick. Sound is solid and if you want to turn it up, plenty loud. I do not miss stereo separation on my porch. Clean look and good quality Polk product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Exactly what i was looking for

Crutchfield customer from Boynton Beach, FL on 12/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worthwhile upgrade!

Crutchfield customer from Springboro, OH on 9/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased a pair of these as an upgrade to working but 10+ year old Sonance outdoor speakers for our newly remodeled patio. These are powered by the zone 2 output on a Yamaha RX-A1070 which according to Crutchfield support, would push them nicely. This is a very nice pairing with the receiver and a substantial upgrade. Sound throughout the spectrum is more full, rich and has amazing clarity with plenty of volume when needed. We have an eclectic taste in music to say the least, ranging from jazz, funk and 80's alt, to old school punk and metal. These speakers do not disappoint. I will say, if you are an basshead, the bass and bottom end of these speakers is extremely good for their size, but they do not compare to or will be able to replace a set up with a subwoofer. I think expecting these speakers to cover that range is unrealistic. We're extremely happy with these and of course Crutchfield's support is always fantastic. Cheers!

Pros: Outstanding outdoor speaker sound quality, rock solid mounting hardware and build quality, easy installation when replacing existing speaker setup

Cons: None really. Maybe include good fasteners along with the mounting brackets? Very minor...

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Atrium8 SDI

Crutchfield customer from Lodi, OH on 9/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A good speaker. It will be left outdoors during the Ohio winter so I hope that Polk is as it says.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Atrium8 SDI

Crutchfield customer from Warrenton, OR on 9/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We just purchased the Atrium 8SDI two weeks ago and the speakers were easy to install and sound great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Pool Deck Sound

Crutchfield customer from Palm Bay, FL on 9/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really nice sound out of these speakers. Mounted out on the side of the house under cover pointed out to the pool area. Hooked up my old Pioneer receiver to drive my favorite oldies channel.......... Just doesn't get any better !!

Pros: Great sound, nice looking, being able to switch from one channel (left or right) to stereo at each speaker is a nice feature.

Cons: Can't think of any...Then again these are POLK speakers ...

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Outdoor speakwr

Crutchfield customer from Great Falls, VA on 9/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Came in time, easy to install and sounds great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk outdoor speakers, yeah!

Crutchfield customer from San Marcos, CA on 9/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased Polk Audio Atrium8 SDI speakers. Got a pair of them & I am more than just satisfied. Fills my patio & backyard with clear, clean, crisp sound. From Siri radio, cds, vinyl, even old time cassettes, all sound quite good. My taste run from Blues to Rock, Folk to Country Swing, Motown to big brassy band music. They all come through great. Very easy to install. Can't wait til the quarantine is lifted and we can gather again to enjoy music. We all need music more than ever now.

Pros: Sound great. A value at the open box price. Easy to install. Very clear & clean at low & high volumes. Bass comes through well, tuned right. Don't look half bad.

Cons: I have none.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk 8 for the win

Crutchfield customer from Leesburg, VA on 9/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing sound quality. I mounted two each in stereo mode on my patio. Full sound, realistic bass, crisp highs and a very even sound across the patio. The wide distribution pattern of the speakers covers the patio great and sounds almost exactly the same on either side as in the middle. Doesn't sound quite as good as my Polk RTi A7 based 3.1 system for music but it's really shocking close given that it's a 2 speaker outdoor system. Both are very enjoyable in their respective settings.

Pros: Sound quality, balance, realism, dispersion pattern, study

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Atrium8 SDI

Crutchfield customer from E Grand Forks, MN on 8/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound quality. Was better than I was hoping for

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Built Polk Tough

David from PLANT CITY, FL on 8/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers have been working great. They are in a covered lanai but are exposed to Florida weather and humidity and keep working like a champ. Currently, these are powered by a Marantz NR 1200 giving the 8 ohm Polk Atrium speakers 75 watts. These can get loud, take a beating, and keep asking for more. They can be heard well at a distance. The one 6-1/2" woofer sounds more on the warm side. The two 1" aluminum dome tweeters are nice and crisp without being too harsh or fatiguing. From what I have experienced with these speakers if you have only one speaker set to the stereo mode you will get audio through both tweeters and the woofer. If you set the speaker to single you will get audio through one tweeter and the woofer. The overall frequency response in the specifications is 45-27,000 Hz. I can say they can handle the bass frequencies well and do produce some nice kick/thump but, don't expect these to shake the house. Let's be realistic they have a 6-1/2" woofer there is only so much a speaker this size can do. If you want more bass, just get an outdoor sub. The mounting brackets are very well made and solid metal with what seems to be a powder coating. The one downside was that they don't come with the screws to mount the brackets. This was solved with a quick trip to the hardware store.

Pros: Durability Resistance to weather Great sound

Cons: No bracket mounting screws included

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Atrium8 SDI

Crutchfield customer from Jackson, NJ on 8/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The speakers are amazing. Great bass response along with clear highs and mids. Highly recommend. They sound amazing in 1/3acre yard.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Atrium8 SDI

Crutchfield customer from Hialeah, FL on 7/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound excellent

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sensational sound

Crutchfield customer from Hollidaysburg, PA on 6/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After listening to other smaller speakers and reading various reviews on Polk Atrium 8 SDI's, I am extremely pleased with the quality of sound. No extra base needed! They have what you'll want. I am using 2 in stereo in wide open space and the sound is fabulous!!! Got a great deal from Crutchfield's outlet on new speakers without any defects

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Atrium8 SDI

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 6/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Put one up in the yard and wired it for stereo. Fantastic sound. Wasn't sure if I would need a second one, but its plenty on it own.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Design flaw?

Crutchfield customer from Salyer, CA on 6/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good speaker overall. One likely design flaw resulted in a wire post was broken (out of the box), one each on the pair I bought. Perhaps could be built with a larger diameter post? Okay but simply had to screw the bare wire to connect instead of using a plug in adapter. Too much trouble to send back.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Atrium8 SDI

Crutchfield customer from Eureka, MO on 6/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have only had this for a couple weeks but so far it sounds great. It is a great compliment to a pair of Bose 251 Environmental speakers on my large patio and help fill out the space.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Atrium8 SDI

Crutchfield customer from Sacramento, CA on 6/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers and highly recommend. Using on a roof top and positioned at each corner. Very clear and good bass response.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent Sound and Built Well

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 6/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have only tested these speakers connected to the Bose SA-5. The only EQ in the Bose SA-5 is Base attenuation. That said, for best audio playback I mainly use music that is in the HI-FI, CD, or HD Master range. And the audio is Great! I installed on my Patio/Pool deck.

Pros: Nice design, great sound, mounting is rugged. One speaker can be configured as 2 for stereo output.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Outdoor speakers

Crutchfield customer from Linden, NJ on 6/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy! Excellent sound quality, easy to install 100% compatibility with Bose soundtouch SA-5 amplifier.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Atrium8 SDI

Crutchfield customer from Bellmore, NY on 6/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Went up easy and sounds great on the patio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

So happy with the sound of these

Crutchfield customer from Duncannon, PA on 6/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love these outdoor speakers. They are replacing some Klipsch speakers that were several years old. They provide excellent bass and would highly recommend them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome!

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, KY on 6/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Might just be the best $ I ever spent. Simple setup and easy install with wonderful rich sound and more bottom end than I expected.

Pros: Everything about them.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Atrium8 SDI

Crutchfield customer from Snohomish, WA on 5/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds goof for an outside speaker.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Atrium8 SDI

Crutchfield customer from Cos Cob, CT on 5/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound.Best speaker I ever had.Crisp and clear...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Atrium8 SDI Speakers are great

Crutchfield customer from Canton, MI on 5/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Speakers sound great, and the bracket attachment to the speaker is very innovative and easy to install in an overhead position. Nicely done.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Atrium8 SDI

Crutchfield customer from Birmingham, AL on 5/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great, rich sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Atrium8 SDI

Crutchfield customer from Tellico Plains, TN on 5/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks great, good workmanship

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio Atrium8 SDI

Crutchfield customer from Glassboro, NJ on 4/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They arrived a day early and sound great. I have a 1/2 acre property and I can turn them up to be heard all over the property. They sound great. Full range of great highs to decent bass once I turned up the bass on that zone.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Atrium8 SDI

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, VA on 4/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good speakers. Ordering by phone was excellent, product arrived next am...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rocking upgrade on Outdoor Speakers

Crutchfield customer from Katy, TX on 4/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced my 2 Polk Audio Atrium5s that lasted for 15 years with Atrium8s. The sound quality is excellent and looking forward to tens of years of use! The 5s are still usable and have another place in mind for them once I clean them up of course. Polk Audio Atriums truly rock!

Pros: Installation easy Sound quality awesome Aesthetics pleasing

Cons: Nothing so far other than little pricey but I always say Buy High - Cry Once, Buy Cheap - Cry all the time.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Atrium 8s + Vintage Amplifier

Crutchfield customer from Slidell, LA on 4/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The pool is finally finished and ready for the season. I wanted sound on the patio. I came across the Luxman R 1040 amplifier/receiver that my Dad gave me a decade ago packed in a box. There were two Sony CD/DVD players inside the box. This was my son's things from when he went to college. I was getting the receiver back. I spoke with Crutchfield about the Polk Atrium 8 speakers. I noticed the frequency range down into the 40s. This was my best hope for a full sound. I placed the order and was surprised how quickly the package arrived. I also purchased some 14-2 gauge wire. Pricey, but I knew that it would deliver a good signal and be worth the investment. The speakers were mounted to the brick wall on the patio. After connecting the components I was shocked by the quality of sound this system produced. The 40 watt Luxman amplifier, made in 1978, was a top shelf piece of equipment in it's day. It still sounded rich and full. The speakers produced a clear top end with all of the bass that was needed. If I selected the Loudness button on the receiver, I would have to change the EQ of my mix due to the enhanced lows and mids that were coming from the amp. I am very pleased with the Atrium 8 speakers. Their quality is amazing. Very solid, weather proof, and built extremely well. The two Crutchfield sales people that I dealt with during my phone calls were very helpful. They know the products and are qualified to comment and guide the customer. Thanks

Pros: Solid construction and design. Outstanding sound with plenty of lows when mounted against a solid surface.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A "must have" for the patio!

Crutchfield customer from Boynton Beach, FL on 12/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound! I have 2 powered by a Sonos amp and running in stereo and they rock.

Pros: Fantastic sound Great quality construction

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Disappointed

John from Danville, CA on 11/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I moved up from the atrium 45 to the atrium 8 hoping for more mid range and bass. I have a large yard and hated hearing nothing but treble. I didnt get much more with the atrium 8. Very disappointed in this speaker. If this speaker is used in a small, enclosed space, it might work.

Pros: Mounting

Cons: Large, heavy, not worth the money

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Great bang for the buck!

Crutchfield customer from Newark, DE on 8/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good bass and overall sound quality from 2 channels into one speaker. Just what I needed. Used in a doogy day care where there is much barking and you can't hear stereo anyway.

Pros: It's white with multiple mounting options

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Atrium 8 review

Crutchfield customer from Verona, WI on 7/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Sound. Great bass for their size. The dual mode, left/right channel in the same speaker is real handy for locations where you would normally need two side by side speakers. Saving $ and aesthetics. Connect the cables and you're good to go in minutes. Received them only two days after the order. Highly recommended.

Pros: Two Speakers in one. Great sound.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Atrium8 SDI

Crutchfield customer from Ferndale, WA on 6/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound quality, during low and high volumes. I have a very large back yard, these speakers are perfect for my back yard. They where easy to mount up under the eaves of my home. I would recommend these to anyone with a large entertainment space.

Pros: Sound quality Brackets and speakers are easy to mount

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio Atrium8 SDI

Crutchfield customer from N Myrtle Bch, SC on 6/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound quality is wonderful, easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good speaker

Crutchfield customer from Chardon, OH on 6/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good Bass for the size

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Withstands heavy rain, stronger low end than expected

Crutchfield customer from Heber City, UT on 6/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The minute I finished installing these on the wall of my house facing my backyard, there was a heavy downpour of rain! I immediately went and confirmed the weather ratings to see if I should take them back off the wall until there was more clear weather. With the military grade water submersion certification, I decided to leave them up. When the rain passed later that day, I power them up and was pleased to find both speakers not only worked but sounded fantastic. Since installation a couple weeks back, it has rained several times and the speakers continue to operate as expected. Despite not having eaves or another overhang to increase the bass output, I could still feel the low end standing 15-20 feet away. As noted by others here, these are definitely capable of disturbing the neighbors!

Pros: Weather resistant certification, performance at the price point, easy installation, flexible wall mounting options included, more bass than expected

Cons: None yet!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Solid Build Quality

Scott from Pine, AZ on 5/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The build quality of these speakers is truly impressive: solid enclosure, and well crafted. They inspire confidence just handling them. The mounting method is typical of most outdoor speakers: A simple bracket requiring two screws into the wall and big, easy to handle twist screws connecting speaker to bracket. BUT the TRULY innovative and ergonomic touch was the sliding guide on speaker top and bottom easing the connection of bracket to speaker. A really neat touch. As for sound, well, like the speaker, its solid and distortion free. BUT if you are looking for bass, you'll a need a subwoofer. I dont care what anyone says - an 8" or smaller driver is simply NOT going to produce bass; it physically cant. The lack of bass was the reason for only 4 stars.

Pros: * Build Quality. * Bracket Guides on Speaker. * Bass Port on Rear.

Cons: * Lack of Bass.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sweet Speakers

Bob from Cumberland, RI on 5/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These replaced an old set of Bose 151's. The Bose speakers were good sounding speakers that served me well. They endured the weather of many New England seasons however, it was time to replace them. I thought about getting another set of Bose but I wanted a speaker with a lower range and didn't want to futz around installing an outdoor subwoofer. These Polk Atrium8's fit the bill nicely. They are warm-sounding with a tight low end and their dual tweeter configuration maintains crisp, bright highs. I'm running two of these in a conventional 2-channel, stereo configuration. I'm very happy with the clean sound these speakers produce.

Pros: Excellent low end capability, nice mounting brackets, well-made, crystal clear sound reminiscent of Polk's classic Studio Monitor series.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Just buy it!

Crutchfield customer from Miami, FL on 5/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

i have a large backyard and had to install 4 of these for proper coverage. sound is amazing! no need for a subwoofer. A whole lot of power.

Pros: loud, crip sound. no need for a shbwoofer, military grade water prooding

Cons: i wish it had a cover for the wires since it is outdoors

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio Atrium8 SDI

Crutchfield customer from Doylestown, PA on 4/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great for outdoors.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Atrium8 SDI

Crutchfield customer from Fort Lauderdale, FL on 4/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Atrium8 SDI

Crutchfield customer from Guaynabo, PR on 4/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best service!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Atrium8 SDI

Crutchfield customer from Eugene, OR on 3/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install, look great and have made sitting around the fire pit and working outside with our favorite tunes playing, so much more enjoyable!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Clear Sounding

Linda from Lawton, OK on 12/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers will be used outdoors, however, since it's the winter season, we only hooked them up indoors to ensure everything worked. We also purchased a Denon AVR-X2400H amp to power them which has plenty of options for expansion later. The Polk's sound pretty clear and have good power, they could have a little more bass. I can't wait to be listening poolside this Spring.

Pros: Clear Sounding

Cons: Could use a little more bass.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Atrium8 SDI

Crutchfield customer from West Fargo, ND on 10/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install, looks great. So far great sound quality!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Mid bass way overrated. Deep bass non-existant. Treble only okay.

Richard from Flagstaff, AZ on 8/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Color me unimpressed. The mid-bass response was indeed better than average for an outdoor speaker when testing in my living room, but by the time I hung them under my eaves, the performance wasn't any better than my old $100/pair no-name units. The treble again isn't anything special. It's fine. It's sufficient. It's not worth the coin, by a fair margin. Again, my old no-namers would come in with a tie. There is no deep bass to speak of, but no one should really be expecting that from hanging satellites. The brackets are really well designed however, making hanging these (rather heavy) speakers a breeze. They click into place, and hold solid while you're screwing in the end caps. I sure can't say that for my old guys. The brackets don't allow infinite adjustments, just very positive clicks of angle - probably 10-15 degrees each. I haven't really tried to test the total volume, but my instinct is that they are quite loud. I'm powering them with the Zone 2 output on a modern Yamaha home theater receiver, and found them to easily eclipse what any sane person would want in the background for their deck. I have no doubt that I could tick off my neighbors with these, but since there isn't a full-range spectrum to enjoy, I believe they will be quite safe. Honestly, they just aren't any better than other similar units I've tried in the past. That doesn't mean they aren't good -- it just means that I wouldn't recommend them

Pros: Great bracket system. Construction seems sturdy.

Cons: Dynamic range underwhelming. Not bad, just not special within the category. Friggin' expensive. Heavy speakers will require solid mounting. Angle of tilt is limited to set values.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Polk Audio Atrium8 SDI

Crutchfield customer from Rancho Mirage, CA on 7/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They sound Great and worked Perfectly with my use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Atrium8 SDI

Crutchfield customer from Windsor, CT on 7/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound. Nice looking.

Pros: Great sound.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Atrium8 SDI

Crutchfield customer from Westlake, OH on 7/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent Sound for our back patio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Look Great ! Sound Greater !

Scott from Canandaigua, NY on 7/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced my 10+ year old Yamaha NS-AW150 speakers which had served me well with these Polk Atrium8's. The bass is superb and tweeters deliver crisp vocals and highs. Very satisfied with the product and the Crutchfield team !

Pros: Superb sound at low volume as well as being played loud !

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Atrium8 SDI

Jason from Greensboro, NC on 7/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very full sound for our bonus room! Using just one (due to lack of space) but have set up as a single stereo speaker. Very very pleased!!

Pros: Full rich sound with great highs and low bass

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AAAA++

Michael from Holbrook, NY on 6/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield customer service is by far the best i've ever experienced. Personalized, efficient & thorough!! Oh and the speakers sound amazing too... better than expected!

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Atrium8 SDI

Steve from Louisville, OH on 6/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have owned Klipsch and Definitive Technology in the past. These Polk Audio Atrium8's are by far the best, from the bracket design to the overall sound quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Atrium8 SDI

Oscar from Rosemead, CA on 6/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Polk speakers were a pleasant surprise. My entire adult life has been Bose for about 30 + years. After reviewing the online specs on all outdoor speakers, I broke out of the box and purchased my fist pair of Polk Atrium8 SDI outdoor speakers. The beautiful sound even got the attention of secondary sound critic... my wife. I agreed with her that the Polk speakers beat out my most prized speakers the Bose 251. Now for the Pros and Cons.

Pros: Nice sound range and especially on the low end.Something I could not get with Bose.

Cons: They sound great !

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great speakers

Derek from Morristown, NJ on 6/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought a pair of these. Arrived on Friday, installed them on Saturday. Very well thought out bracket design made for a quick & easy installation. Just make sure you're ready before snapping them in place, as it is not easy to get them out, especially on a ladder. Sonically, they really sound great. Mine are soffit mounted about 16ft up and fill the whole yard remarkably evenly with sound without having to drive them hard at all. But if I do want to drive them hard and have some fun, they can certainly take it. Only notes regarding the fidelity is the low end doesn't fully develop until I'm about 20ft back, and there is a very small amount of boxy-ness (200hz) to the sound with certain tracks, but both of those could just as easily be an artifact of the speakers' placement rather than the speakers themselves. Very pleased with them and would certainly recommend them to anyone.

Pros: Simple installation, crisp & clear sound.

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk outdoor excellence!

Shawn from Collegeville, PA on 6/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Atrium8 SDI speakers are well built, easy to install, and have a full sound the fills our yard.

Pros: Well built Easy install Full sound

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great for party music, not so great for home theater

Arthur from Naples, FL on 6/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I would give these speakers four stars if I was rating them for outdoor music, especially for loud rock and roll. They can handle a lot of power and have good strong bass. However my intent was dual purpose. I also wanted them to be used as TV speakers when I was watching outdoors. They do not carry the voice well for that. These speakers are not bad, but not great, for outdoor home theater. If you are similarly seeking speakers that can be used for both outdoor party music and TV movies, you should consider selecting speakers that more closely match your higher priority.

Pros: -Can handle a lot of power. -Strong bass. -Perfect for pool parties.

Cons: -Muted sounds at high frequencies. -Does not carry voice well for, say, TVs.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Worth every penny

Crutchfield customer from Lago Vista, TX on 5/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best outdoor speaker I have heard. Way better than the Bose I replaced. Big bass and good treble. Best part is to be able to hook up both stereo channels on the same speaker. The single woofer delivers both channels, and it has two tweeters, one for the left channel one for the right. IMO, for outdoor application where you seat or stand in so many different places, a single speaker is the best way to always hear both channels. Best outdoor stereo sound for the price of one speaker. Can't beat that!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Big speaker, big sound.

Blair from Midlothian, VA on 12/3/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are a bit bigger in size than most outdoor speakers but are also a bit bigger in sound. I have them mounted close to the corners under the ceiling of a 18x30 ft. outdoor porch, 30 ft. apart. Plenty of sound and booming base. These replaced another set of Polk speakers that lasted 30 years and were still kicking. Couldn't be happier with my Crutchfield purchase.

Pros: Efficient. Nice looking. Plenty of bass. Sound fills a large are. Easy to install.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Outside Polk Sound Is Legit!

David from Durant, OK on 9/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed 4 of these to get sound to the party area and pool. I had to get enough volume to carry over the spa and waterfall without distortion. The Polk Atrium 8's did the job! WOW these are nice. If you want the best sound for outdoor speakers I don't see how you can do any better than these.

Pros: Crisp, clean highs with good bass. No distortion or rattle. Loud, but a good/clean loud! Quick connect installation was so worth it. Buy these if you need the best.

Cons: They are loud and the sound carries a long way. This isn't a con for me, but could be if you live in a close neighborhood.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio Atrium8 SDI

Crutchfield customer from Concord, CA on 7/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed two pair of Atrium 8s with a small sub-woofer on the back patio and they sound fantastic! The system includes a Denon AVR-X2300W and is a real pleasure to listen to. I'm very happy with the setup.

Pros: Fantastic sound, durable, and easy to mount.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Big Upgrade

Chris from West Chester, PA on 7/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Upgraded from Bose 101 on the back deck... the upgrade was much bigger and better than expected. Love these!!!

Pros: Great sound on low or when turned up high....

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio Atrium8 SDI

Crutchfield customer from Williamstown, NJ on 7/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was lazy and didn't feel like running 2 wires to different locations, so hoping for the best, I purchased one of these and used it in dual input mode. Unbelievable clarity and frequency response from one speaker! Installed in a corner under the eaves which adds to the bass. Don't bother with 2 unless you live on a farm or you want the neighbors to enjoy the great sound too.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice Speakers

Kenneth R from Olney, MD on 7/11/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice outdoor speakers. They sound fantastic! I actually thought they would be a little bit louder so I would give this product 4.5 starts....but maybe my expectations were just a little high. I have them hooked up to my Sonos system and everything works great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome Sound

Justin from Huntington, NY on 7/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently purchased the Atrium 8 speakers. I bought a pair for my deck and pool. They are awesome. I especially like the fact that they have the dual connections in the back to use each speaker with both right and left channels. Each section of by backyard has full rich sound.

Pros: Easy to set up. Really great quality sound for the price.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Atrium8 SDI

Robert from Melville, NY on 7/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great outdoor speakers with a very full sound. I have 5 of them set up as surround. Nothing better out there

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Atrium8 SDI

Crutchfield customer from Slidell, LA on 6/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Incredible sound out of a single unit. It can be set up as a single stereo or purchase 2 and set up as a pair.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Bass

Adam from Huntington, NY on 6/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers sound awesome. I am on a wide open acre and can hear them, powered by an Audiosource AMP100VS on my entire property. They certainly sound best closest to the house. The bass response is impressive for outdoors. Installation was super easy.

Pros: Stereo input, easy install.

Cons: More expensive than other Polks.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio Atrium8 SDI

Crutchfield customer from Hackettstown NJ on 6/20/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are physically large. They are loud but not super clear - they are a little muddy. But they do have a decent bass.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio Atrium8 SDI

francis from Miller place,ny on 6/20/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome sound the highs and bass is outstanding

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio Atrium8 SDI

Crutchfield customer from Deer Harbor, WA on 6/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clear, true sound. Easy wiring poles. Flexible for one or two speaker stereo. Powering w/Sonos amp.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio Atrium8 SDI

joseph from berlin nj on 5/31/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I already have one pair for outdoors. brought an additional pair for my new screened in porch. These speakers are AWESOME!!!! I am very happy with these speakers. When you buy these speakers YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPOINTED!!!!!!!. Go ahead I dare you to jam these speakers. Your neighbors will hate you.

Pros: easy to install. great sound.

Cons: I can't think of any.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great full sound

Cory from Leander, TX on 5/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm using this with a Sonos zone amp 100 in one setup and a zone 2 receiver in another. Both sound fantastic with full deep bass. I think the bass rating are optimist C but not too much. Great midrange for an outdoor speaker and had these out in the weather under an overhang for 7 years with no problems. They get a little grimy so power wash them every few years. Nothing but good things to say in fact I'm helping a friend setup these for her parents as well.

Pros: Great midrange Good bass Impervious to elements Only need one for stereo

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Atrium8SDI WH

Crutchfield customer from Northborough, MA on 5/1/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ordered to use on my deck where space was an issue for separate left & right speakers. I like that I can use SDI for a standalone speaker but have the option to use it as a left/right channel in the future if I ever want to add on. I'm using a Sonos Connect Amp to power and the sound is impressive for a single unit that's weatherproof. Installation was easy and the speaker and bracket both appear to be high-quality. I would purchase again.

Pros: SDI

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Outstanding outdoor speakers

MEL from Edmond, OK on 4/21/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome speakers. This is my second set and I coupled them with the Atrium Sub. Family and neighbors with other brands of outdoor speakers are envious of my setup.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome speaker

Chris from Clemmons, NC on 4/17/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought these because I had them in house I just sold, awesome speakers, plenty of bass, didn't need a sub

Pros: Good bass . Luv em

Cons: None, there's a reason I bought them for my new house

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Quality sound

Outdoor Rocker from Rocklin, CA on 11/16/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced an older pair of "rattle boxes" with these. What a massive improvement! Love the way these brackets work, very secure and allows you to dial in the angle after mounting. Highs are incredible on these. Indoor setup is bass heavy and the sound out of these is not quite there, needed to boost those frequencies to these speakers. May add subwoofer outside, but for now glad we went with these larger Polks with the 6.5" driver.

Pros: Sturdy brackets offer security and flexibility

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound

Sturdy T from Dublin, NH on 10/2/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Expecting to have to compromise on sound with speakers for outdoors. Absolutely no compromise with these, they sound great and can take the volume up. We joke that if we aren't careful we'll curdle the neighbor's cow's milk. Really awesome sound.

Pros: Great sound

Cons: Large speakers.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Atrium8 SDI

VSponce from Ponce, PR on 9/19/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love the quality of these speakers. They reproduce great sound and were perfect my outdoor porch area.

Pros: Easy to install even for one person.

Cons: They were a little bit larger then I originally expected.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome

Harv from TX on 9/2/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers sound absolutely amazing. Pushing them with a HK 240 Watt rms system. Paired with an infinity 12" sub who needs a live band?

Pros: Exceptional

Cons: Can't think of any in my case.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great outoodoor speaker PAIR

Matt from Hillsborough, NC on 7/24/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I ordered a single speaker for the back porch and it sounded okay in SDI mode but really just okay. This is probably true of any speaker, but a pair just sounds a lot better. Grabbed a second speaker while still on sale and they are great. The second speaker made all of the difference. Sounds good on the porch at low volume or I can crank it up for clear sound well out into the yard. I am satisfied with the bass response for the music that I listen to (mostly rock) and I do not intend to add a sub. I am driving a single stereo pair of these speakers on a Sonos Connect:Amp and it will push them un-godly loud. I could certainly add another pair elsewhere if desired on that amp.

Pros: Loud, clear and powerful enough to fill a large open space with sound. Well worth the $$ for this reason in particular. A smaller pair would be fine on the porch but would not push sound as far out in the yard.

Cons: Not very impressive in SDI mode. Could possibly get me in trouble with the neighbors.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk is a hit!

Alex from Park Falls, WI on 7/22/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers work well with an outdoor theater system. They sound great and have a good mix of bass and tweeter. Easy to hook up, and install. The easy one hand secure top and bottom, make install easy and secure.

Pros: Secures easy, great sound. Waterproof, and

Cons: Really no Cons!!!!!!!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love them!!

Scott from Westminster, MD on 7/20/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My Boston outdoor speakers finally died after 11 years of faithful service. I went to Crutchfield to see what was out there and found these on sale. Read the reviews and decided to pull the trigger. Installation was certainly easy enough. Delivery was next day. They sound great out on my deck. Decent bass. Great mid and high range sound. And the sound travels well to the entire yard

Pros: Great shipping. Good price for outdoor speakers. Expandable. Easy Install

Cons: I wish the bass were a little crisper, but that's hard to accomplish outdoors at this price point.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio Atrium8 outdoor speakers

DWA from LAKE CHARLES, LA on 7/17/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I PURCHASE THESE SPEAKER SEVERAL YEARS BACK TO PUT UNDER THE PATIO, THERE IS NO DIRECT EXPOSURE TO RAIN OR ADVERSE WEATHER. THE SOUND IS GOOD BUT THE EXTERIOR PAINTING IS PEELING.

Pros: GOOD SOUND

Cons: PEELING PAINT ON EXTERIOR

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio Atrium8 outdoor speakers

Krislu from Huntington,NY on 7/14/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought the Atrium 8 for my backyard/pool area. When I opened the box I was surprised at how big and heavy this speaker is. I soon realized it is a high quality and very well made speaker. The sound the Atrium8 produces is crisp and clear and awesome. Catching this speaker on sale is the cherry on top! When this speaker goes on sale everyone should be buying!

Pros: Great sound! Excellent quality, strong mounting bracket, excellent quality connectors, nice looking, easy installation

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Atrium 8 Indoor/Outdoor Speakers

Palmer S from Charlotte, NC on 7/11/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are much bigger and heavier than I anticipated, but man do they sound great. I installed these on my patio and really enjoy sitting out there and listening to these great speakers. A definite buy.

Pros: Excellent build quality and sound great.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sounds great right out of the box!

JT from Maysville , KY on 7/10/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these on sale, which is rare, and they rock! These are used for an outdoor pool deck. I paired these with a Crown XLS1000 Power amp @ 215W per channel and a Polk Omni P1 wireless adapter. It's a completely invisible and wireless stand alone system that kicks butt! The sound quality is superb. If your up in the air on buying these don't wait. Get them now while they are on sale! Put some good clean power to them and you will be pleased. I can't wait till mine break in, they will only get better!

Pros: Sound quality, ease of mounting, mounting bracket super sturdy, solid construction

Cons: None for me, some say they are bulky but I wouldn't concern yourself with that. They are very well built!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great sound, great quality

3Pete from Camano Island, WA on 6/13/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've always been a fan of Polk Audio products and this speaker does not disappoint. It's mounted up under the roof eave near my garage so it's technically outdoors but still weather protected. The mounting bracket provides for 45-degree mounts in corner locations which worked perfectly for me. The speaker is heavier and larger than I expected but the full, rich sound coming out of it explains that. Another great feature that works great for me is the option to run both channels to a single speaker. I don't understand the electronics providing for this (bi-amping?) but I can tell you the result is awesome. Look forward to many years of great sound coming out of this speaker.

Pros: Sturdy mounting bracket, great quality connectors, impressive bass.

Cons: Larger than I expected but worth it.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Simply Awesome

Sound-dude from Islip, NY on 6/13/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the 3rd set of speakers I have been through for my backyard and these are simply spectacular! Great sound and bass with easy install and adjustments.

Pros: Easy install and excellent sound quality

Cons: Slightly larger than I expected

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Outdoor speaker value

Chuck from Mechanicsville, VA on 5/31/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this speaker because it has the capability of running both channels (Right and left) into one speaker. I could do two speakers on my patio, but figured I would try the one speaker and see how that worked and always add another if I needed to. The single speaker sounds great and is plenty loud. We have a very large patio and outdoor kitchen and this one speaker puts out enough for me. It was really easy to install, since the bracket comes off and then you install the speaker later. I am very pleased!

Pros: Can combine channels, so you only need one speaker

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Polk Atrium 8 - Sound Great

Eric W from Livermore, CA on 10/28/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I previously bought another brand of outdoor speakers and I just was never 100% satisfied. I should have bought these Atrium8 speakers in the first place, but I went against my better judgment. Even though these are designed to be outdoor, I take them down every time I get done using them. You just can't beat the construction of the Polks. They are solid and when you slide them in place, you almost don't even need to screw down the end caps (and I have these horizontally mounted. The sound also is awesome. I use them for my backyard home theatre and I love them. The only thing that I wish was better is if they made a dedicated outdoor center channel with two drivers instead of one. Other then that, I am completely satisfied.

Pros: Great Construction and Mounting. Great sound.

Cons: Nothing really, I love them.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio Atrium8 SDI

Frank S from Colorado on 10/7/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good low frequency response. Easy to mount and aim.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk outdoor speaker

Jerry, Vermont from Vermont on 9/1/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The speaker was hefty, well built, easy to install and we are very pleased with the sound. It cranks up to all the decibels I would want for our deck area, but has enough reserve to disturb wildlife.

Pros: Good quality, good value, even though cheaper options exist.

Cons: A bit heavy, easier to have someone helping install overhead.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great product

John from South Milwaukee, WI on 8/16/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great, easy to install and construction feels solid.

Pros: Sound quality is very good and they were very easy to mount. The binding posts seem to be very sturdy, excellent quality. Using two on our deck connected to zone 2 of a Yamaha RX-V679.

Cons: They are surprisingly large but I suppose had I paid more attention to the products description I would have realized this.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Like so Much I Bought a New Pair

Mark W. from New Jersey on 7/6/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I owned a pair of the much older Polk 65 sdi and after at least 15 seasons of Boston, Connecticut and New Jersey weather (yes they survived Hurricane Sandy) I wanted to upgrade and since I needed the 4 input in the back for speakers I had no choice but to upgrade with the new 8 series. I have this paired with a 12 channel Niles amplifier that drives my Sonos system in 7 different locations. The speakers are fantastic and have really nice lows accompanied with great midrange and highs. They make all my other outdoor speakers sound muffled so I expect to replace more speakers this summer with additional 8 SDI's. You will be really happy that you got these but make sure you a nice clean amp so you will get the crisp tight bass that you rarely get with any outdoor type speaker.

Pros: Bass, clean crisp sound

Cons: I have neighbors......

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Polk Atrium 8

JeffS from Loves Park, Illinois on 7/6/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used two of these speakers in an outdoor bar setting for a buisness. The speakers are very easy to install. I thought about using four but actually two work very well. Great coverage! The sound is very clear and the bass when adjusted correctly gives great sound also. I used a Crown amp to power them. If need be I can get the model of the amp. But overall getting nice compliments from the patrons compared to the older MTX speakers that were taken out.

Pros: Very well designed! Great sound! Easy to install and sturdy! Not a gripe but they can handle some power so get a good amp to run them.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Solid speaker

DavidB from Michigan on 7/5/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the third such speaker that I have purchased so you can tell I do like them. They are a solid speaker with a modern look. I have installed two in my pool area and one in my backyard. Nice clear sound and nice wire connections that assure of a continued connection in all weather.

Pros: Nice sound and good looks

Cons: bigger than anticipated

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Sound

DougG from Springfield, MO on 6/22/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Sound. Quality Build.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio Atrium8

Lee from Greensburg Indiana on 6/15/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

GREAT SOUND AND WELL BUILT

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Atrium8 - Impressive Speakers

TJD from Albany, New York on 6/9/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Atrium8 SDI speakers are the first Polk product I have ever purchased and are quite impressive. They are paired with a new Harman Kardon HK3770 receiver. Speakers are mounted approximately 10' high and 20' apart and they really fill a very large yard with great sound. Installation is easy and product construction is very solid. We have pumped a wide range of music through them, from Norah Jones to Rage Against the Machine and the sound is truly impressive.

Pros: Well constructed product, easy mounting, rich sound and bass better than expected.

Cons: None thus far. Been installed for about a month now.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Wow!

Mark from waterloo sc on 5/21/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had the atrium 5s...which were outstanding. So, like the typical guy I thought bigger must be better. I purchased the atrium 8s sdi's. Powered by my adcom 555 amp the sound was unbelieveable. Deeper bass..better mids and highs crisp and clear. Separation when using two at each end of my balcony was startling. Sounded as if I was standing in front of the band. Careful with your outdoor volume control. I have burned through three niles controllers but that's more of my power issues..too much. Stay to the spec. Crutchfield is the best for customer service hands down...anywhere. With the recent price drop you will not be disappointed.

Pros: Better everything as far as sound if you use the right space...amp...and set up

Cons: Let them work.in for awhile They get better the more you play them. There is a break in period. I suggest dynamic jazz, symphonic or cuban music at about half volume for about 80 hours.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Atrium 8 SDI

Papa from Emerald Isle, North Carolina on 3/27/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install and sound great installed under a wooden 12' high deck. Located near Atlantic Ocean, exposed to salt atmosphere. Will see how they hold up over time

Pros: construction appears substantial, easy installation

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome outdoor sound!

Colt45 from Midland,tx on 3/17/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these to replace some worn out Boston acoustic patio speakers and they didn't disappoint! Well worth the money!

Pros: Clear, nice low frequencies, the ability to run one speaker in stereo

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great speakers

Poolside from Arizona on 1/7/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I can't say anything but good things about these speakers! WOW - as the other reviews have stated!

Pros: These are great sounding speakers, easy to install - with many variations to fit any situation, can use singly or in pairs - I choose a pair, a pleasure to my semi-audiophile ears. Can't wait for summer to be able to listen to them more as the temperatures warm-up!!

Cons: Can't think of one "con" to say about these.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Wow!

Matt from FL on 10/24/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

While building my new home I wired everything up for my outdoor space fully intending on purchasing the Polk A7's. I wired up for four of them...well when it finally came time to make my purchase the A7s were not available anymore so naturally I just went up instead of down and got the A8 and Wow!!!! I have about a half acre back yard and I just bought two to get me started and they put out so much great sound well idk when I'll buy the other two don't even question it if you are thinking of these you will not be disappointed

Pros: Amazing sound high and low! Excellent build quality! Easy to install! Aesthetically pleasing!

Cons: None so far I love these speakers!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Outstanding speaker

Rodboy from Hamilton, Ohio on 8/31/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been looking for a good outdoor speaker for some time now. I have all polk speakers in my system but was concerned about their expertise in an outdoor environment. Due to brand loyalty I ordered this atrium 8 and have not been disappointed. I have never heard an outdoor speaker sound as good as this one. I have audiophile friends that have them all so I have listened to quite a few others. This speaker has unbelievable bass response. It's like having a sub outside. The mounting is very flexible. I have it wired to receive both stereo channels. I only bought one speaker to test it out before ordering another. On listening to just one I don't think I need two since it sounds so good. I could go on and on but I'll cut it short. I don't like typing a lot. My nickel's worth to someone looking for an outdoor speaker is to take a look at this one. There is no better in my opinion. But if you want to chase your tail to find something better and more expensive. be my guest. Good luck on that.

Pros: Extremely good sound. Excellent bass. Very good mounting options.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Atrium 8

n from atlanta on 5/17/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the Atrium 8 speakers. We bought these to use for our daughters wedding. We had the wedding on our lake lot and we were worried that the sound would be lost due to the size of the outdoor area. The speakers were awesome. Such great surround that you couldn't tell where to music was coming from. I would highly recommend.

Pros: Great sound for large out door area's.

Cons: Non

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio Atrium8 SDI

mike from mason city,iowa on 9/9/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works as expected

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio Atrium8 SDI

Peter from Westerly, RI on 8/1/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 5 found this helpful

Great product

Corey R from Lebanon, Tn. on 6/30/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Very good sound for a single speaker setup. Sound is very balanced and clear. Provides great entertainment on our patio area with plenty of volume range. Would definitely buy again.

Pros: Sound quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Polk Audio Atrium8 SDI

Doug D. from Madisonville, LA on 6/24/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had these speakers up for about a few weeks now and they are fantastic! Great sound on highs, lows and mid range. In my opinion, a great speaker!

Pros: Great sound. Can hear highs, lows and mids with excellent quality.

Cons: Non as of yet!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Atrium 8 SDI WH

JohnG from Baltimore, MD on 2/3/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have several Polk Audio speakers (7.1 home theatre in-wall with powered 10 inch subs and a couple of auxiliary LC80FX in ceiling speakers). I've never gone wrong with Polk and so far this speaker is no exception. The audio quality is excellent. I think the biggest factor in my overall satisfaction will be whether or not it holds up well to the elements, though, and it's too early to say.

Pros: Great sound. Versatile (can be used as a single unit with two sets of drivers receiving signals from two sides of a stereo output, or as one of a set of multiple speakers in a conventional setup). Substantial mounting hardware that is user friendly.

Cons: Fairly heavy. Fairly expensive.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

WOW- Super Powerful

Eric from cicero, ny on 6/25/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

purchased this for my backyard where my patio and pool is. This speaker is extremely powerful. Sounds clear, looks great, so glad I purchased this item. I put it under my eaves and added the niles weatherproof volume control from crutchfield. The volume control is a must have with this product. Awesome.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

want outdoor speakers? get these

jerry r f from staten island on 5/18/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

installation couldn't be easier if you layed them on the floor, best sound I've heard in outdoor speakers, bar none.Larger than others but mounting flexibility others don't have.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

TOP