Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
434 093 043 3
Connect ID #
434 093 043 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Polk Audio Command Bar

Powered sound bar with wireless subwoofer and built-in Amazon Alexa

MFR # AM9640

Polk Audio Command Bar

Polk Audio Command Bar

Powered sound bar with wireless subwoofer and built-in Amazon Alexa

MFR # AM9640

35 reviews
View this product

Polk Audio Command Bar

William from Ravenswood, WV on 9/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good audio. Directions does not show how to adjust bass.Otherwise it fits my needs. in the bedroom. Easy to install. Sound is good and adjustments to volume are great.. ..

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Waste of money

Crutchfield customer from Robinson Creek, KY on 9/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So, I have to give this junk at least 1 star? First of all, the sound quality when listening to music is almost decent, so I'll give it that much. But, when using it for TV or movies, it really lacks a deep sound. Oh, and don't even think of using it for watching sports. All you hear are the announcers as the sounds of the game/race are non-existent. If that were all, I would have kept it, but that's not all. When using it for watching TV with a cable box, it cuts out every 20 seconds or so. You'll be watching something and 2 or 3 times a minute, you're left with no sound for a second. I later found out this is a well known issue with this sound bar. I highly recommend you skip past this unit and find something else!!

Pros: Has Alexa

Cons: Everything else

Crutchfield response on 9/21/2020
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy to hook up and get started!

Crutchfield customer from Santa Clara, CA on 9/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound is great compared to what I was getting through the tv speakers. Honestly, when I first started it up and listened to music it sounded like the band was in my living room. Alexa built in is an added bonus!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Value

Crutchfield customer from Allentown, PA on 9/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great value for the price. Sounds awesome when watching movies. Glad I purchased this though I was looking for a pricier sound bar, this works just as good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great value

Crutchfield customer from Lancaster, PA on 8/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent for the money. Great sound for a bedroom to upgrade TV sound and stream music. I did have an issue with the remote, but, as usual, Crutchfield customer service took care of it and sent a replacement.

Pros: Value, sound, good bass from wireless sub

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio Command Bar

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 7/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What a soundbar it is.I am happy with my purchase 100%.I will surely recommend crutchfield to my friend and relatives.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Command Bar

Crutchfield customer from Aguadilla, PR on 6/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound great excellent product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JUNK

Kevin from GREENFIELD, MA on 6/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After two days installed sound bar went to crap... HDMI to TV caused screen jumping and distortion. Trying to return item now

Pros: Worked great for 2 days

Cons: I will Never purchase this brand again...

Crutchfield response on 6/24/2020
Kevin contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

3 of 3 found this helpful

Small package can be a good thing!

Crutchfield customer from Tacoma, WA on 6/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

HUGE sound from such a small package. I purchased this to down size and simplify my main viewing area replacing an old Onkio hardwired 5.1 system, let me tell you, these little speakers that could really impressed. The 6.5" sub sounds like 8". The dual HDMI inputs is another plus, it automatically switches inputs when you turn on your blue ray player. Had to reprogram my cable remote (yes I still have cable) to my TV and not my old receiver for volume control. Can't speak for the "Alexa" as I'm old school and fell weird talking to a machine, I'm sure she's helpful, but I don't mind using a remote.

Pros: Dual inputs. Simple install. 6.5" sub sounds like 8"

Cons: No rear satellite speaker option at this price range.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Command Bar

Crutchfield customer from Avon, IN on 5/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound. Easy install. We are not using Alexa; so, can't comment on that.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Decent soundbar

Crutchfield customer from Westlake, OH on 5/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound bar works as expected. Nice having the Alexa built in. It is my first so I have no comparison. The sound is ok the voice control does not bring the voice volume up as high as I would like. The bass could be deeper. In order to get the Alexa connected to the network, I had to hard reset it. Once that was done everything worked fine.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good value

Crutchfield customer from East Amherst, NY on 4/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy setup, good quality sound especially for the price. Built in Alexa works well.

Pros: Good quality Low price Easy setup

Cons: Occasional sound delays on DVR

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Command Bar

Crutchfield customer from Coram, NY on 4/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm definitely keeping it but, I wished it had a higher wattage both on the sound bar and the subwoofer and was without Alexa.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio Command Bar

Crutchfield customer from Bellefontaine, OH on 1/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing sound for the price.. Very pleasantly suprised... Easy hook up.. sleek design..and smart too!

Pros: No wires to fool with

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio Command Bar

Crutchfield customer from Juana Diaz, PR on 1/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

exellent sound bar

Pros: exellent sound and alexa aplication

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Command Bar

Crutchfield customer from Kersey, PA on 12/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I Was very impressed with my new Polk sound bar. It is just what I wanted in a sound bar.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

DB

Crutchfield customer from Saint Marys, KS on 12/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First Sound bar I've owned. Not overly impressed. Very poor instructions. Sound is OK but not great. Have had to re-boot several times. I would not recomend this model. I think others in this price range could be better. Crutchfield service was great. It just didn't WOW me.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

REQUIRES ALEXA TO DO ANYTHING... STAY AWAY

Crutchfield customer from Dallas, TX on 12/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

would be a 5 if it did not require ALEXA to do anything.. you cannot use this as a sound bar without the Alexa. Way too much required overhead just to have a good sounding sound bar these days. Going back to Bose Acoustimass.

Pros: NONE

Cons: ALEXA.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 7 found this helpful

awesome

Guy from Birmingham, Ala on 11/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am 73 years old and I don't hear things very well at times. This sound bar seems to have fixed that problem. I love the fact that I can sit in my chair and tell Alexa things to change, such as movie mode, music mode, etc. The bar was easy to install and tec service helped me through the installation. Tec service free! Something you don't hear about in today's world, everyone wants to charge you! The bar itself is great for me and sounds great in our den. I don't think that I went wrong, especially since it is a Polk,(been in this business many years). Looks great on the TV console and only one wire showing. Also for the price you can't beat this deal! The remote helps make things even easier it control the bar.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Polk Audio Command Bar

Crutchfield customer from Standish, ME on 10/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hook up is extremely easy. I put it in my 16' x 16' bedroom and it gives me all the sound I need and more. The sound quality is amazing for the price!

Pros: Great sound. Easy setup

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio Command Bar

Guest from Manassas, VA on 9/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

WiFi sucks doesn't work very well with other alexas are close

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Nothing but the best - Crutchfield

Crutchfield customer from Southern Pnes, NC on 4/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

With the help of Curtis (product advisor), a man with a lot of patience, I selected the Plok Command Bar, relying on his recommendations, its reputation for quality, and less than my budget. Very pleased with the Polk system, does what we expected and more.. Great sound, easy installation, and the ability to control the system with through Alexis. From the service, advice and product quality, Crutchfield emains my choice for any Audio equipment.

Pros: Service, advice and product quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Polk Audio Command Bar

Crutchfield customer from Philadelphia, PA on 3/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Came a day early easy to set up sounds great completely satisfied would definitely recommend to a friend

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Works for me

Crutchfield customer from Upper Marlboro, MD on 2/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works for me not the loudest but it does have alexa

Pros: Amazon alexa

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Perfect for Me

Darrell from Lansing, IL on 1/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had this unit about a month and I bought it because it had two HDMI inputs(one for my PS4 and one for my cable box), and was on sale. I haven't been disappointed. Setup was painless and the sound is so much better than my previous Samsung unit.

Pros: Easy setup, well defined bass, 2 HDMI inputs.

Cons: none so far.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Command Bar

Rodney from Spring Grove, PA on 1/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome! Product I would recommend to all thanks.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio Command Bar

David from Raleigh, NC on 12/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased the Polk Command Bar because I have always thought Polk made the best sounding speakers, both home & auto. My home surround system is all Polk speakers. The sound bar sounds excellent for TV, movies, and music, which music was a priority for my purchase as it is located in a separate room from where the surround system is located. Listening to DVD concerts sounds excellent. Nice mids, clear highs and smooth bass. The added features are a plus. Do not use the Alexa feature much, but nice to have it. Getting the sound bar set up was slightly challenging due to the Polk app not recognizing our wi-fi. Turns out it was due to me using an older android mobile phone. Used a newer Google Pixel phone and it set up quickly. Very satisfied with my purchase.

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio Command Bar

Crutchfield customer from Chicago Ridge, IL on 12/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great system

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio Command Bar

Mark from Alexandria, VA on 12/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought the Command Bar to replace a lower quality sound bar. My goal was to upgrade for better sound quality. The Polk Command Bar has proven to be a great value. The settings for music, movie or sports work well. The crossover frequency for the subwoofer is vastly improved over the LG I replaced. The booming, muddy bass on the LG was cheap and noisy. The Polk not only has a tighter, truer bass with a more sensible crossover frequency, the remote control has a bass level adjustments. At this price the sound quality / value is a no brainer. Adding the Alexa makes it a screaming value. I did not know that I would use the Alexa in this room with this TV, but I have been. As such, It will be better when I can connect to Alexa in other rooms. I would buy another one now if I needed it.

Pros: Good sound, great value. I feel like I got Alexa for no cost

Cons: Does not inter connect with other Alexa devices

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio Command Bar

Crutchfield customer from Wasilla, AK on 12/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very satisfied . Like the voice boost.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Impressed but not too much !

Crutchfield customer from Jamaica, NY on 11/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Thank goodness for Crutchfield's on-line instruction manual. The Polk's version had only a few lines in English and most of the setup instructions were missing ..The "voice" button on the remote control does not produce an appreciable change in loudness or pitch , which I found to be disappointing. I enjoyed having the Alexa feature especially to increase or decrease volume . However, in general, the unit performs well. I may keep the unit but am not so impressed to want to recommend it as a "must buy" to another interested buyer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Polk Audio Command Bar

Crutchfield customer from Massapequa Park, NY on 11/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound and easy to set up. Nothing negative

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Alexa broken

Mike from Greenville, SC on 7/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Second review? For some reason my photos were used but my review was not? If you see the red ring that's because Alexa is having another issue with the WiFi! I have tried several routers and even a mesh network but Alexa looses it ability to function and requires me to pull the power and reboot the Soundbar! This happens at least every 24 hours! Right now I just left it in this crippled state I'm tired of saying "Alexa " and her response "I'm having difficulty connecting to the internet " there's been a couple Firmware updates that I know of while it's actually online so I will reboot it once a week maybe? This would not not be that big an issue except there's no power button the only way to reboot it is to disconnect the power! This will eventually wear out the plug on the back of the bar! Or I have to find another way to turn it off like a wemo switch or similar device I have a Wink hub so maybe I will get a switch to link to it? Or I could just sell it and get another Soundbar! I love Polk products but the Alexa integration is flawed. I don't know if they can fix it. When I wrote my original review I was told Polk wanted to talk to me about the Soundbar?, I don't have time to help develop this product, not at this price point! They have their own team that gets paid for this that should be dealing with the issues! Maybe Polk stopped Crutchfield from posting my review. That's not fair to censor the truth! If this review also gets cut I will stop buying from Crutchfield!

Pros: Great sound

Cons: Alexa had issues

Crutchfield response on

8 of 13 found this helpful

Polk Audio Command Bar

James from Frisco, TX on 7/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

3.5 stars...as a sound bar I think it does the job...it's sounds better than cheaper sound bars and much better than just the basic tb speakers....speech is crisp ...sometime a bit too much bass even when it is turned down. Overall though I am happy with this sound bar aspect of this. As an Alexa unit it's a bit limited compared to a standard dot/echo ...voice calling type features are not available ...I do not use call features often anyway...to me the most unfortunate/disappointing issue is not being able to include the sound bar in a "group" with other Alexa devices for music...on all my other echo devices I can do this however here the feature is unavailable. I am hoping that this feature is addded eventually. At that point I will update my review

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Alexa kills it with issues not ready

Anonymous from Greenville, SC on 6/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great except Alexa she has issues! I get "I'm having trouble connecting to the internet' a lot! The only solution is to pull the power and reboot it! There's no power button it's been replaced by the Alexa button! When Alexa is having issues you get the dreaded red Ring of death! See photos

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

6 of 7 found this helpful

TOP