Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
861 395 422 3

Our hours

Connect ID #
861 395 422 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Polk Audio DB 402

DB+ Series 4" 2-way car speakers

MFR # DB402

Polk Audio DB 402

Polk Audio DB 402

DB+ Series 4" 2-way car speakers

MFR # DB402

79 reviews
View this product

Polk Audio DB 402

Crutchfield customer from Madison, AL on 5/27/2020

1992 Geo Tracker

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice looking speakers, haven't installed yet. Hope they improve my motoring pleasure.

Pros: Suprised they are waterproof.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very good

Crutchfield customer from Winter Haven, FL on 5/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good sound, clear mids and highs. Don't expect a lot of bass, as this is a 4" speaker. Great for adding clarity to a speaker system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice replacement speakers

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, KY on 5/11/2020

2002 Lexus SC430

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I used these to replace the dry-rotted factory speakers in the rear of my 2002 Lexus SC430. They were very easy to mount into the existing factory brackets. They're a smaller speaker, but with just a couple of extra holes drilled into the factory mounts, I was able to easily screw the speakers into the mount holes.

Pros: Was able to fit into the factory speaker mounts by drilling just a couple of holes. Very easy to fit.

Cons: No paper templates for mount holes.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 402

Crutchfield customer from Butler, PA on 5/10/2020

1984 Toyota Celica

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds is great in my 84 Celica st

Pros: Was pretty direct swap

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy

Crutchfield customer from Norwalk, CT on 4/15/2020

2011 BMW 3 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced my rear deck speakers on my 2011 328i. Installing was a breeze and product sounds great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk audio db 402

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 4/8/2020

2002 Lexus GS300

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great clarity! I noticed an immediate improvement from stocks(pioneer). Can't wait to get my amp hooked up.i would highly recommend these 4"

Pros: Great value for the price

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

These are weak and distort very easily.

Crutchfield customer from Farmington, ME on 4/7/2020

2001 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are terrible performers. They distort so easily at just half volume. I'm not impressed at all. I bought these based on the professional opinion by the person who rated them and by the specs. They led me a stray here and would not have bought these if I knew they were this bad. I'm giving 2 stars based on how they sound on low volume and that's being over generous. Wish I could have returned for a better speaker. I would not reccomend these to anyone.

Pros: Nothing

Cons: Distortion and over priced.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

05 SAAB

Crutchfield customer from Grand Blanc, MI on 4/2/2020

2005 Saab 9-3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Polks were recommended by a friend. The clarity that he mentioned between RF and these were unbelievable. I have always been a fan RF but now Polks will be a choice that I will compare future purchases on.

Pros: Great product and cost savings.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great

Crutchfield customer from Buckeye, AZ on 2/17/2020

2013 Victory Cross Country Tour

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I used these for the rear speakers on my wife's motorcycle with a Rockford Fosgate 400W amp. What a great sound.

Pros: Exceptional sound quality.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clean

Justin from Huntsville, AL on 2/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I actually used these as replacements for a couple of drive in theater speakers. I re-purposed theenclosures for these speakers and connected them to a 200 watt Bluetooth/PC Amp. For my purpose they are fantastic. Sound better than any pc/tv soundbar I had previously used.

Pros: The sound is very clean and clear.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great sound, perfect fit

Crutchfield customer from Gardnerville, NV on 1/15/2020

1995 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound is crisp and clear. I replaced stock dash corner speakers in a 1995 Toyota 4runner, and these fit great. There was no need to do away with the stock speaker boxes. Factory wiring plugged in fine.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 402

Crutchfield customer from Royse City, TX on 1/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound quality from a 4" speaker. Soft dome tweeters are great in applications where they are pointed at the windshield. Marine rated makes them great for a roadster. The screw pattern for the grills are smaller than the factory holes in my dash so I had to get creative to fit them. Much better sounding that the alpine type-e they replaced.

Pros: Great sound for their size. Marine rated.

Cons: Grill fitment can be a pain.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great small sized speakers

Crutchfield customer from Huntersville, NC on 12/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic small sized speaker for front doors. Very clear highs, good mids. I paired these with a set of 6 by 9s (in the rear) to fill in the low frequencies. Driving them with a cheap deck... No perceptible distortion.

Pros: Great speaker for small space at low price.

Cons: Polk grill is a bit bulky and adds height to install.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 402

Crutchfield customer from Prescott, AZ on 12/16/2019

2000 Subaru Impreza Outback Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good :)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 402

Crutchfield customer from Malvern, AR on 12/9/2019

2004 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speaker will install after Christmas. This is a Christmas present

Pros: Perfect

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

great value

Crutchfield customer from Blooming Glen, PA on 10/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

amazing for size

Pros: quality is fantastic

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 402

Crutchfield customer from Cocoa, FL on 10/10/2019

1999 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They sound great match with Kenwood BT 525 HD. Good bass

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 402

Crutchfield customer from Mc Adenville, NC on 10/9/2019

2004 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers for the money...love that the wire harness was included...will continue to buy from Crutchfield...now time to get a subwoofer :)

Pros: Great sound for price

Cons: None...easy install for wrangler sound bar.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk DB+ in 1998 Toyota Avalon XLS

Crutchfield customer from Kingwood, TX on 10/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with these as a replacement for my factory speakers on my 1998 Toyota Avalon XLS with 6 door speakers and single rear deck 8" woofer (which I did not replace). I love to clarity of the highs. Not a lot of strong base inherent to the Polk's (4") but my car has an 8" woofer in rear deck and seems to help in that area. I listen mainly to talk radio, classic rock, classical. Sounds fantastic with classical guitars other string and high notes and sounds from instruments.

Pros: Highs, Clarity, Crisp notes. East install, appear durable with good workmanship - seem high quality. Good match for factory radio with CD and tape given very high efficiency rating 91.

Cons: If you want heavy base, size seems to limit and you may need additional woofer. But I am not an audio design expert

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

troy

thomas from troy on 9/6/2019

1990 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just installed these speakers in my '90 Chevy PU. They are all I wanted and more.Put them in the dash...not a lot of base but the midrange and high end are great.I don't think you could ask for more for the money.Very pleased.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 402

Crutchfield customer from North Liberty, IA on 8/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect, exactly what I was looking for to extend the acoustics of our boat out over the water!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Solid speaker

Crutchfield customer from Lewiston, ID on 7/28/2019

1992 Toyota Pickup

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Another solid speaker from Polk. Replaced some old Kenwood speakers I had and they are much better! I installed these in a 1992 Toyota pickup, in the bottom corners of the dash. The screw diameter must be a little bit smaller on these, as the screws barely grab onto the flanges. I just grabbed some little washers to make sure there was a secure fit.

Pros: Sound, ease of install

Cons: Not quite a perfect fit.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great bang for buck and size

Edwin from White Plains N.Y. on 5/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For their size these speakers are amazing. Great mid bass to highs, these are a great addition and sound clear.

Pros: Sound great and clear

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 402

Crutchfield customer from N Chesterfld, VA on 5/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

polk always makes good speakers...haven't installed them yet ..will be used for dash speakers in my 17 silverodo

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 402

Crutchfield customer from Nunda, SD on 5/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Awesome service

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 402

Crutchfield customer from Calera, AL on 4/26/2019

2003 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Paired nicely with my Polk 6.5 components in my ext cab Silverado. Great sound and high quality construction are things Polk never seems to disappoint

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk speakers

Crutchfield customer from Charleston, WV on 4/22/2019

2005 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the price they are a good little speakers for my Jeep TJ speaker pods.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 402

Crutchfield customer from Vandalia, IL on 4/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These have surprisingly full sound for only 4 inch speakers. They're several levels better than the factory speakers we had.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 402

Crutchfield customer from Altadena, CA on 4/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers (in the front and back) were a major improvement over the factory ones that came with my Spark EV. But the treble in these speakers is bright to the point of being harsh at times. I turned down the treble at bit in the settings (while boosting the bass the same amount) and that did help. - Not much bass from these speakers, but that was as expected.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 402

Crutchfield customer from Greenwich, NJ on 3/24/2019

2019 Polaris Ranger XP900

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fitment was great and sound was perfect.had all the hardware for installation.

Pros: Sounds great

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 402

Crutchfield customer from Camas, WA on 3/11/2019

2000 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The DB 402 was a noticeable upgrade to the aftermarket speakers I originally purchased with my system for my 2005 Subaru Impreza Outback. I am limited to a 4" speaker in the rear door and 6 1/2" in the front and this one gives me greater volume and base.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Impressed

Michael Webb from Vidor, TX on 3/10/2019

2019 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited (JL)

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Same size speakers, stock had 3 mount points, the Polk had 4 mount points. I reinstalled the factory screws. Added batting insulation, 1/4 ins foam weather strip to make a perfect seal. I love the sound of the speaker. Next I'll hook up my stealth amp to get the full potential from the speakers

Pros: Fast , plenty of hardware to go different directions after trying to install

Cons: Non yet, I will post an update after I install the amps

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 402

Jim from Pinehurst, TX on 2/4/2019

2000 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little speakers. Clear sound. Even good bass for the size.

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent low-cost upgrade over BMW (base) stock!

Scott from Chelmsford, MA on 1/27/2019

2010 BMW 3 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Put these in the front doors on my BMW 2010 328xi sedan (e90) (I have the 'base' system). Crutchfield lists them as not fitting, and that's probably true if you want to use the existing grilles. I mounted these from the outside though (drilled holes) and used the included Polk grilles, and they look and sound great! In the BMW setup the low end is covered by woofers under the seats, and of course who would expect any low end from 4 1/2" speakers anyway... I really like the Polk DB 402 speakers - the clarity they bring over the factory speakers is just great! I've got a second set waiting to be installed on the package shelf!! Photos: #1 - Polk speaker mounted from the outside, as viewed from the inside; #2: Mounted on door with Polk Grille (door not fully reassembled yet).

Pros: Excellent update for the money

Cons: For my application, I had to work with them to mount them (although Crutchfield does list them as not fitting, so that's a problem of my own making).

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 402

Al from Norfolk, VA on 1/15/2019

2003 Isuzu Rodeo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

POLK Speakers

Crutchfield customer from Deltona, FL on 1/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For being a 4" speaker thes sound really good.

Pros: Nice sound.

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great little speakers

Butch from Ridgway, CO on 1/1/2019

1988 Toyota Pickup

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For being only 4" speakers they are pretty darn good!!

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: Small speakers!!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 402

Randall from Niceville, FL on 12/23/2018

2004 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound great in the back of my 04 Silverado. Didn't need the "baffles" they recommended.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 402

Crutchfield customer from Spokane, WA on 12/23/2018

1995 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They sound great in my ride, crisp and clean.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 402

Dave from Robinson, IL on 12/15/2018

1994 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great

Pros: Great fit

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 402

Crutchfield customer from Dunlap, TN on 10/28/2018

1995 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent quality and sound for senior citizens. Wide frequency range. Crutchfield's guidance made installation flawless. Thankyou!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 402

Crutchfield customer from Boaz, AL on 9/10/2018

2006 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice clear sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 402

Crutchfield customer from Santa Cruz, CA on 9/7/2018

1984 Volkswagen Vanagon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent speakers! A lot of sound from a small package and priced well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 402

Crutchfield customer from Huntsville, OH on 8/26/2018

2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install . Sound good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

just OK

john from Hanover Park, IL on 8/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

not enough Bass

Pros: nice design

Cons: not enough bass

Crutchfield response on

0 of 12 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 402

Kevin from Wilmington , NC on 7/22/2018

2018 Harley-Davidson Road Glide

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Small speaker with great sound.

Pros: Easy install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great fit, no custom cutting required

Lee from Cape Coral, FL on 6/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little speakers, direct mount for my 2005 Goldwing.

Pros: Great size, and sound.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Unimpressed for a Polk

Andy from Palmyra, NY on 5/15/2018

2012 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these to be an upgrade to the 4" speakers that came stock in my Kubota L4760 tractor cab. I figured since they were Polk - and the other reviews seemed positive - they would be a GREAT upgrade over the Clarion factory paper things... Boy was I wrong. What a disappointment. While the high range is terrific... mid falls off fast and there is nothing down low... and before you think I'm insane saying that with a 4" speaker - I'm not expecting earthquake bass... but - with one installed and one factory speaker installed - and sliding the balance from side to side - there's no context. The Polk has a crisper high end... but that's it. And in a small space like the cab of a tractor - that's not a great thing. Overall the sound profile of these is pretty middling and I sent them back... the factory speakers are MUCH more consistent and fuller across the entire spectrum.

Pros: well built, nice package, hefty, sharp high range

Cons: weak midrange, awful low range, not as good as the factory speakers they were replacing

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Good highs and mids

Crutchfield customer from Hailey, ID on 5/8/2018

1989 Nissan Hardbody

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

OK if you have a separate woofer, but a little tinny if you expect them to carry the whole load.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 402

Guest from Rch Palos Vrd, CA on 5/6/2018

1987 Mercedes-Benz 560SL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers treasonable price, easy installation.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Really do not fit in a Lotus Elise if you want to use included grills

David from Derry, NH on 4/29/2018

2006 Lotus Elise

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these to replace the Blaupunkt front speakers in my 2006 Lotus Elise that have gone bad from age. One of the problems with the Blaupunkts is the speaker grill that doesn't like to stay in place with all the vibrations in the Elise. I chose the Polks because they came with screw on grills and they are suppose to fit the Elise. Unfortunately, the Polks have a ~1/2" smaller screw pattern than the existing predrilled pattern in the Elise. These are on the top of the dash under the steep rake of the windshield with very little accessibility, so modifying the holes was not an option. I was forced to mount the speakers with the existing Blaupunkt grill assemblies. Had I known this would be the case I would likely have chosen different speakers that were available to supposedly fit but came without grills. The speakers sound good and I have not yet installed the matching Polks in the rear. Hopefully they fit.

Pros: Good sound marine capable, good for a roadster

Cons: Screw hole pattern doesn' match Elise

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 402

Crutchfield customer from Spokane, WA on 4/26/2018

1988 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Grade A

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 402

Crutchfield customer from Corwith, IA on 4/13/2018

1990 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent upgrade over factory speakers. Very crisp sound, and a great value. Every thing you could ask for from a 4 inch speaker.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 402

Crutchfield customer from Red Bud, IL on 4/10/2018

1994 GMC C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 402

Crutchfield customer from Waxhaw, NC on 4/9/2018

1990 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Product!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 402

Crutchfield customer from Mount Dora, FL on 4/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sound from inside the tin box. 1995 Tracker

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 402

Rashee from Macon, GA on 4/6/2018

1990 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers fits perfect in my 1990 c1500

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 402

Crutchfield customer from Newport, AR on 3/18/2018

1987 Ford Bronco II

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

overall good quality for the price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Speakers

James from Woodbine, GA on 1/28/2018

2004 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound from a small speaker. Installed these on my 2004 Jeep Wrangler, prefect fit.

Pros: Loving the sound from my Polk speakers. Way better than stock, easy to install and a prefect fit

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Little speaker goes a long way

Garrett from Sunnyvale, CA on 1/18/2018

2006 Subaru Impreza WRX STi

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The speakers look nice and are packaged well. They also come with some screws, wires with one end pre-terminated for the speakers, and heat shrink connectors. I installed these on a 2006 Subaru Impreza STi. Crutchfield does not offer a mounting bracket for the rear doors, so you can do what I did and go to the hardware store and pick up some speed nuts and 1-2" brackets and make them fit, or you can find an adapter from another website. I'm cheap and impatient, so I went with the first option. As for sound, well, they're only 4" speakers and the STi is not known for its sound isolation, so you're not in a concert hall, but at moderate volume levels, the music is pretty crisp. Paired with a sub and/or Dynamat, they would probably go a long way. Recommend? Yes, for a budget speaker to upgrade from some old OEM ones.

Pros: Affordable

Cons: Small means limited bass, not a lot of power. I own a 2006 Subaru.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 402

Crutchfield customer from Westerville, OH on 12/31/2017

1978 Jeep CJ7

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound and quality for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crutchfield first class.. Speakers quality remains questionable

Richard from Douglasville, GA on 12/27/2017

1989 Isuzu Pickup

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ok first let me say to be fair and honest that these speakers are mounted in the factory dash corners and are the only two speakers currently handling the sound recreation duties in my small isuzu pickup. Secondly, it's relatively early to review these speakers because I've only had them installed a couple months and I installed them together with a new Sony bluetooth/cd/hd receiver. Both of which are assumed to be compatible and installed correctly but none the less new to me and perhaps need adjusting or insulation etc. Then lastly in the interest of full transparency I would share that these particular speakers came from the outlet side of crutchfield so I am also assuming they may not be brand new and perhaps I shouldn't expect much. Having said all of that I will say that my (first time) online purchase from Crutchfield was very user friendly. My order was delivered promptly, on time and included thorough instructions and wiring harness specific to my vehicle at no additional cost! The speakers themselves or rather their description and details were perhaps a bit sensationalized and I believe the speakers, particularly their magnets, are noticeably smaller in actual size than in their online photographs. I didn't expect much, if any, bass response therefore I was not disappointed it its absence. However, while at first very happy, I'm now disappointed with their operation. As I hear a subtle but noticeable "warble" in the sound presentation like maybe a cone

Pros: -Ease of installation. -"Aesthetically" form meets function.

Cons: Slightly misrepresented in pictures and descriptions. But definitely for open air vehicles and marine applications. Being Polk and marine rated surprisingly quiet & limited in capability even at lower volume. Recommend avoiding impulse to save money by purchasing oulet/open box items online. Because apparently saving money in this manner equals disappointment in the product quality and its basic function. Surprisingly (at least for polk audio name brand) less than sub-par performance.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 402

Crutchfield customer from Cedartown, GA on 12/24/2017

1993 GMC S15

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 402

Crutchfield customer from Williamsport, PA on 11/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed these in a kubota skid steer loader cab, major improvement in sound compared to stock paper speakers. But radio isnt real powerful so I cant hear all of speakers potential.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 402

Jaffray from Hollywood, MD on 11/16/2017

1990 Audi 200 Quattro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These little guys ROCK!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 7 found this helpful

Easy, inexpensive and sound great!

Doug from Morganton, NC on 10/10/2017

2013 Lexus ES350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Huge improvement in sound quality in my 2016 Lexus ES350 with the base (non Mark Levinson) stereo! Used these in the three dash speaker positions; used the 6.5 inch version in the doors. You could get fancier and spend more money, but this was easy, inexpensive and fits behind the factory grilles. The dash positions were a little tight depth wise but they fit. Had to adjust/spread out the mounting tabs a little to use the largish factory mounting bolts/holes but that was easy. Crutchfield doesn't have wiring adapters for the dash speakers, but I hooked them up with the pigtails that came with the speakers. Factory speakers were labelled + and - so that was easy to figure out. About 3 hours total for dash and all four doors.

Pros: Fits factory openings, fits behind factory grilles, inexpensive, sounds great for the price

Cons: Can't think of any so far

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Polk DB402

Doug from Placerville, CA on 9/12/2017

1992 Mazda MPV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound good for a small speaker, pretty loud without external amp, efficient , that's one of my criteria for purchase. Adapter harness was hard to get onto the speaker. So tight I thought it was going o break the tab. Had to open up plug with a pick, to get it to go on.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

execellent quality

david from MO on 8/20/2017

1995 Toyota Supra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

good mid & high range but weak bass because of restricted size

Pros: great sound

Cons: wish they made a 5 1/4 to fit Supras so as not to have to use brackets to fit the smaller speakers, it's a real pain to make them fit!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 402

Crutchfield customer from Boone, NC on 7/21/2017

1990 Chevrolet C Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product was shipped on time and quality was beyond expectations !

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Quality Speakers

Ben from Center, ND on 6/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these to put in the dash of my 88' Corsica. Other than having to bend a few of the mounting tabs, they were a perfect fit. As far as sound goes, the highs and mids are very good. The bass isn't very impressive if you are just running them off the radio. They seem high quality and I am overall happy with them. Would recommend spending the extra 20 bucks on these vs. a cheaply built 40$ 4" speaker.

Pros: Quality build and reasonable price

Cons: Bass is weak un-amped

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

best sound for 4inch

Vinod from ludhiana, India on 5/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

polk audio becomes my favourite for sound in my car, i am using polk mm 691 in rear and this 4inch in front and the combination is class now... thanks Crutchfield

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Value

Ty from Bisbee, AZ on 5/16/2017

1994 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A lot of bang for your buck. These speakers sound great in the pillar of my Jeep Wrangler. If that's where you're installing yours, place electrical tape over all of the connections so that they don't ground out on the metal frame.

Pros: Price

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Old truck upgrade

Paul from Leavenworth, KS on 5/12/2017

1993 Chevrolet S10

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This went in my 93 s10 truck dash. Installation was a breeze with the adapters and they sound much better than the 25 year old paper trash that they replaced. I do have to turn them up louder as I'm going from a 10ohm to a 4ohm. That's not a big problem as I don't push them hard. If you turn these WAY up with an old delco radio, it could cause problems due to the ohm difference. Overall, I'm quite pleased.

Pros: great upgrade, nice sound.

Cons: don't pound these with an old radio or the radio might die!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 402

William from Rayland,Ohio on 4/25/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The people at Crutchfield are top notch. I had trouble finding speakers for a 35 year old motorcycle, but your tech guys were very helpful and very thorough in their help. Thanks again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 402

James from North Miami Beach FL on 3/24/2017

1998 Land Rover Discovery

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These were a near perfect fit for my 1998 Land Rover Discovery I. The mid range quality is good. These speakers are rater Marine and this is a good fit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 402

Steven from Booneville AR on 11/2/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They ok, little better than stock. But these went into my large C&A Tractor, so did not expect much from so little speakers in the noisy environment anyway.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 10 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 402

Robert from Richmond, VA on 8/21/2016

2003 Volkswagen Eurovan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For a 4" speaker the sound is really good. I used them to replace the tweeters in the dark of my 2003 Eurovan Weekender. They fit well after cutting off one set of opposing tabs. The improvement in the quality of the output from that area of the sound system was great! Much better high and mid range and the addition of higher end bass which was non existent before. I also installed some 800 Hz cut off bass blockers (Item #: 127BB800A2) to help keep the sound free from low end bass distortion.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 402

Don from Bremerton, WA on 7/25/2016

1994 Toyota Pickup

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Didn't fit easily into dash openings. Had to grind off plastic spacers that held original spkrs & attach clips so I could screw spkrs in. Plug-In of terminals was simple.

Pros: Sound much better than original spkrs! Bass & volume got a real boost. Wish I woulda installed many years ago!

Cons: Had to do a bit of grinding and modifying to install properly. Otherwise, install went well. Probably took about 2 hours, counting removal/install of dash areas

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Another great set of Polk Audio car speakers

Daniel from PA on 6/23/2016

2001 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just finished installing these speakers in the rear doors of my 2001 Subaru Forester, replacing a previous set of Polk EX501a's that had occupied that space for some time. One of the speakers had the paperboard insulating ring start to separate from the speaker itself and was producing an annoying rattle. Rather than mend it with some simple adhesive, I decided to upgrade instead. These nicely compliment the db651s 6.5" Polks that are in my front doors, although I think the tweeters on these have slightly better dispersion. The highs easily reach up from the lower openings and hit the listeners' ears and the reproduction blends well front to back. I'm driving these with a Pioneer AVH-X3800BHS using the internal amps and I'm very pleased with the sound (at this time I don't intend to use an external amplifier). Naturally, these don't excel at low frequency reproduction. I do intend to Dynamat all of my doors, floors, and other portions of my vehicle panels to cut down on noise bleeding through the sheet metal, and anticipate this will help to clean up the uneven frequency response which is a byproduct of very thin, tinny-sounding doors. I can't wait to see how that improves the sound. Install was straightforward by simply removing the factory covers on the doors, unscrewing the screws holding the previous speaker in place, plugging in the included harness from Crutchfield to mate up the factory connector with the new speakers, and reversing the steps. No regr

Pros: Marine-certified so I feel safe that these will hold up well in the northeastern climate swings during the winters and summers Quality materials and build for an attractive, subdued look Excellent sound quality for the money spent

Cons: None that I can find

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

TOP