Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Polk Audio DB 5252

DB+ Series 5-1/4" component speaker system

MFR # DB5252

Polk Audio DB 5252

Polk Audio DB 5252

DB+ Series 5-1/4" component speaker system

MFR # DB5252

69 reviews
View this product

Polk Audio DB 5252

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 2/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good clean sounding.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 5252

Crutchfield customer from Edinburg, TX on 1/28/2021

2013 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Ultra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install great quality the sound is top notch

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 5252

Crutchfield customer from Bountiful, UT on 12/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was directed to toward the Polk speakers on the phone as a good choice for decent base response and to match up with the JVC deck. I'm disappointed with the sound. They produce a rather annoying drone trying to replicate any base notes, like they are trying to act as woofers but fall short. I'm sure they'll be fine as midrange with future plans. It looks as though I will need to spend more money soon on an sub amp and sub woofer to fill out the sound. I was really hoping they would be ok in the short term till I could add the other components to round it out but II don't think I want to wait that long. Really less than what I was hoping for.

Pros:

Cons: Disappointed with the Polk speakers. Would not buy them again.

Crutchfield response on 12/23/2020
We're sorry you're disappointed with your speakers. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

0 of 2 found this helpful

Polk 5.25 Component Speakers

Crutchfield customer from Costa Mesa, CA on 10/19/2020

2011 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and a fairly simple installation in my 2011 F150. I say fairly since I mounted the tweeters in the upper sails of the door panel, necessitating cutting openings for them. Both door panels removed cut openings and installed speakers in a bit over an hour. Process was made easier with parts supplied by Crutchfield. Polk Audio has become my go to speakers for both home and mobile audio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 5252

Crutchfield customer from Denton, TX on 9/9/2020

2017 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

these went into the rest doors of my tundra and for the first time i can hear the rear speakers. the sound envelopes the cash in awesome sound. I'm a Polk guy from now on

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound!

Crutchfield customer from Santa Clarita, CA on 9/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound great! Installed in my 1972 Mustang Mach 1. Biggest size that I could fit in kick panel. I wish they had a larger gauge speaker wire. It is difficult to change wire since the electrical connectors on the speaker are the same size as the speaker wire. If not for speaker wire, 5 stars!

Pros: Very efficient, load and clear.

Cons: Small wire gauge.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Spend the extra money on something better

Jairo from Somerville nj on 7/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was suggested the components by a sales associate..I am extremely disappointed,my stock speakers sounded better. They distort, no bass, mid is thin, OK highs. I have a 4 ch 100 watt pioneer amp.. I really feel like I wasted my money now I'm stuck with them. Do yourself a favor and spend the extra money

Pros: None

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 5252

Crutchfield customer from Sharpsburg, GA on 6/22/2020

2011 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Tech support was great Sound is good would probably be better with a new head unit

Pros: Sound Crutchfield service was outstanding

Cons: Cost Tweeters were not "drop in"

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 5252

Crutchfield customer from Hummelstown, PA on 6/8/2020

2007 Harley-Davidson Street Glide

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

GREAT FITMENT SOUDS GREAT

Pros: FITS GREAT EASY HOOK UP COMPACT DESIGN

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 5252

Crutchfield customer from Borden, IN on 6/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Great upgrade. Great service.

Pros: See above

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great update.

Crutchfield customer from Hailey, ID on 5/5/2020

1987 Porsche 911

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect for my classic 911. Installed in the doors replacing old JL Audio speaker. Could not be happier.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

2007 Tundra Double cab

Robert from Placerville, CA on 4/9/2020

2007 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield fit finder said these speakers do not fit. It was an easy modified fit. None of the direct fit rear speakers had the same power rating of these Polk Audio DB's. I trimmed the tips of the mount locations and they fit perfectly in Crutchfields speaker adapter brackets. I cut a hole in the door panel for the flush mount tweeter. The crossover is mounted to the door under the woofer. I'm pushing these speakers with an Alpine amp Alpine PDR-F50 85W x 4 Car Amplifier. I chose these speakers because of the power rating and polk audio reputation. They sound great and handle the power, nice clean sound! I spent a lot of time looking for a rear speaker that could handle some power, I have had these running for 7-8 months, I'm glad I went with these.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 5252

Crutchfield customer from Woodstock, VA on 1/19/2020

2003 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great clear sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 5252

Crutchfield customer from Riverside, CA on 10/27/2019

2002 GMC Yukon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome fit and sound, easy install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 5252

Crutchfield customer from Snohomish, WA on 10/23/2019

2006 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds amazing

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 5252

Crutchfield customer from Newtown, CT on 10/15/2019

2004 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound quality is great and the instructions were really easy to follow

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Surpasses Expectations

Patrick from Springfield, VA on 10/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These things are wicked. Replaced a Boston Acoustic component system in the front of my 2008 Volvo S60. To be honest, I was not expecting these to sound anywhere near the SQ of the Boston, even though the Boston's were older. Completely passed my expectations. I'm running 80 watts RMS to each and that is almost too much for my ears. Thanks again crutchfield for always providing great service and products! Highs: Great,clean, crisp highs. Make sure to adjust the crossovers for the tweeters Mids: Great Sound and clear vocals Midbass: Very impressed with this freq range compared to the Boston. (Sound deaden properly) Price: Great price for SQ and SPL

Pros: Great component set that when powered correctly, will blow you away.

Cons: No cons but for those complaining about the tweeters, there is an adjustment in the crossover that has three tweeter levels. The come set on the highest setting. Move the jumper to +0db

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 5252

Jack from Lemon Grove, CA on 8/18/2019

2008 Kia Spectra5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome sound and they're water proof.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 5252

Crutchfield customer from Manito, IL on 7/31/2019

2014 Hyundai Santa Fe Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install , only difficulty with that was the electrical connections were a little tight . Good sound , very pleased .

Pros: Easy to install good sound

Cons: Electrical connectors tight

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Not impressed

Crutchfield customer from Cranston, RI on 7/25/2019

2011 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Took these out 10 minutes after the install. Does not come anywhere close to the Rockford Fosgate's I have in the back and they're half the price. Exchanged!

Pros: Decent price

Cons: Tweeters sounded like my cellphone speaker

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Love the Speakers, Not the Instructions.

Crutchfield customer from El Cajon, CA on 7/14/2019

1998 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall I love these speakers! The lows and mods are smooth and the highs are crystal clear. The one and only complaint I guess you would call it, is that the instructions both from Crutchfield as well as Polk were not clear at all as to how the crossover was supposed to be connected. It took 3 or 4 emails back and forth with Crutchfield support before I got a clear answer that worked.

Pros: Smooth and crisp sound from highs to the lows.

Cons: Instructions for crossover installation not clear.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 5252

Crutchfield customer from Newton, IA on 5/12/2019

2004 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crisp and clear mids and highs just like my Polk Audio home theater speakers the mid bass sounds great also considering they they are only powered by an alpine power pak amp. Giving g it5 stars due to the value of these compared too so many others. Amazing value!

Pros: Amazing value

Cons: None for an entry level system

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 5252

Crutchfield customer from Santa Barbara, CA on 5/6/2019

2013 Nissan Xterra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great price and a great speaker would use them again

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 5252

Crutchfield customer from Bradenton, FL on 4/3/2019

1991 Volvo 740

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome set of speakers! Sounds great, the woofers and tweeters do a fantastic job for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 5252

Crutchfield customer from Maryville, IL on 3/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

just dont sound good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 3/26/2019
We're sorry you're disappointed with your speakers. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

1 of 6 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 5252

Crutchfield customer from Slinger, WI on 2/4/2019

2017 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

good clear sound. wiring is different than any other components

Pros: good quality clear sound

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 5252

Terry from Colby, KS on 12/9/2018

2004 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound is very good. I was hoping for a little more on the low end but as soon as I install my subwoofer I'm sure I'll be satisfied.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 5252

Bill from Keyser, WV on 12/9/2018

2007 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound quality

Pros: Great sound quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 5252

Matt from Robbinsville, NJ on 11/7/2018

2004 MINI Cooper

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Warm highs with great dispersion. Tweeters fit the outside of the R53 Mini Cooper HK grill perfectly. A screw thru the steel mesh of the grill held them in place. Balanced perfectly with existing rear HK speakers. Had to cut the centers out of HK door speakers, the frame is plastic, and drill the 4 mounting screws into the edges of the original speaker frame. This kept the original mounting screws that are in the door. Sealed edges with caulk and left rubber surround of original cone to frame.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great sound

Rod from Osage Beach, MO on 9/23/2018

2005 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These sound awesome. Very clear and the crossover worked great. We put them in the doors of a 2005 mustang. Perfect fit with the adapter plate provided by Crutchfield, for the main speaker. We mounted the tweeter on the door post with the Polk provided surface mount. The crossover was a little bit bigger than I expected but they fit easily tucked under the dash. I would highly recommend these speakers. We have a 30 watt RMS Alpine amp running these and it is a very good volume. Loud in the car but not excessive. It balances out well with the factory sub. We will probably upgrade the amp once we install the new 10" Rockford sub and amp.

Pros: Sound clarity. Comes with mounting options for tweeters. Crossover functions great. Great volume with a small amp.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great for the price and especially good for a Jeep Wrangler

John P from Marietta, GA on 9/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good. Great for the price and especially good for a Jeep Wrangler that is open a lot.

Pros: Marine rated, price, sound, quality

Cons: The cover on the crossovers was incredibly difficult to get off the first time. I think there was some glue on the inside that it was stuck to. I thought I was going to break them trying to open it.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Long lasting speskers

Kevin from Rowlett, TX on 8/21/2018

2003 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got these speakers for my son's truck a 2003 Toyota Tacoma the same as my truck. I bought these speakers back in 2004 of course number has changed but there are 5 1/4" dB component speakers, last year I sound proof my door panels and the speakers still looked great and play as they did the first day. We are taking over 14 years of playing loud with 100 RMS amplifier. These speakers are the best I've ever owned. Still going strong and sound great for over 14 years.

Pros: Price, marine rated and best of all the sound. Once a installed a small 8" subwoofer it rounded everything perfect.

Cons: Wished the speakers had terminals instead of clips or which I did was soldered speaker wire. Some what hard, I'm not very good at doing that but I did get it done.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 5252

Chris from Johnson City, TN on 7/22/2018

2000 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing products.... have built several car systems with Polk dB series.... amazing sound quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great speakers!

Chris D from Jonestown, TX on 7/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quality and sound are great, as is the marine rating which is perfect for my application. I custom installed them on my Goldwing F6B. Crutchfield's fast shipping rocks!

Pros: Marine rating, well constructed

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 5252

mike d. from Centereach, NY on 6/15/2018

1997 Pontiac Grand Prix

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great sound,fit perfect.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 5252

Crutchfield customer from Wilmette, IL on 6/12/2018

1992 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great replacements

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 5252

Corry from Jefferson City, MO on 6/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers delivered intense mid-range and ear splitting highs. I just got them installed behind my Pioneer radio. Can't wait to take the next step and order my cross over and add an amp to really give these guys a workout. Thanks Crutchfield.

Pros: Ease of installation. Marine certified.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Awesome little speaker

Dave from Loganville, GA on 5/30/2018

1999 Acura 3.2TL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are replacements to 6 1/2" Focals iI had issues adding to front doors. I wanted speakers that didn't need anything extra wires or connectors. The water resistant attributes are plus . The Base is pretty darn good for only being hooked up to the Sony MEX-GS820BT with extra base on. I almost forgot how tweets can sound in a car(1999 TL does not have them stock). I would have liked an angle tweeter mount but having them not facing me does allow for them to turned up if needed.

Pros: Great bass response without harsh tweeters.

Cons: I would have liked an angle tweeter mount

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 5252

Crutchfield customer from Tyler, TX on 5/13/2018

2003 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

sounds good and fits

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 5252

Kevin from St Petersburg, FL on 5/12/2018

2005 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are great speakers for the price. This is the 4th vehicle that I have used them in and have not had any reason to change.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 5252

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 4/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These were to replace some rotten front speakers in a project wagoneer and they exceeded my expectations! With no sound mat they sound way better than factory on a cheap cheap head unit. Highs up high on the dash and imaging is great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 5252

Ethan from Nashville, NC on 4/13/2018

2004 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these speakers to replace my blown factory speakers after researching them for a while. The bass is more than what I expected from a 5.25 inch speaker, but down the road I will pair these up with a sub to complete my system Like many other reviews they are very good speakers for the price but as others have said an amp is needed to experience the full limits of the speakers. The installation was easy once I figured out what wires I need to cut and then splice into the new speakers. I had to flush mount the tweeters, but now the sound stage is much improved and the tweeters have revealed new aspects to music that have gone unnoticed.

Pros: The sound quality at high volume.

Cons: Not the best if only used with stock head unit power. Could use an amp.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 5252

MK from Raleigh, NC on 4/12/2018

2004 Nissan 350Z

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy installation. Even with my stock head unit and amp these component speakers were a MAJOR sound upgrade. The separate tweeters provided crisp and sizzling high end that was just not there in my stock speakers. Crutchfield advisers made it easy to pick the correct speakers in my car.

Pros: Super high end response

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 5252

Fran from Lancaster, NY on 3/20/2018

2014 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome. Sound is crisp, clear, and full bodied. I used Crutchfield's Show Me What Fits My Vehicle to narrow down my choices, searched my price bracket, read the posted reviews, both good and bad, and used my experience of the available name brands. I came up with these Polks. Matched with a pair of Kenwood KFC's three ways and with my existing head unit they sound awesome. An amp would give them more deliverance but that is a future story... I did have a perplexing question regarding the use of the supplied cross over vs the existing one associated with the factory radio and they researched it on the spot, got my answer! This was on a Sunday at 3:00pm! They couldn't help with the 32degree temp outside but they we're great! Finished my job, and the speakers warmed me right up!

Pros: Crisp, clear full body sound.

Cons: Use of amplifier would give best sound.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 5252

Jesse from Kyle, TX on 1/28/2018

1993 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great soundening product I have always bought Polk Audio

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Clean, clear, accurate component speakers.

Bryan from Cumming, GA on 1/27/2018

1996 Honda Accord DX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in my Jeep Wrangler. Being able to mount the tweeters on the dash really increased the sound quality in the Jeep, raising the sound stage. They have a great sound, clear, clean, full, for such an inexpensive component speaker. Being designed for marine use is a big plus in a topless vehicle. I'm driving them with a JL amp pushing 70 w/rms per channel to them, and they sound great no matter how much I turn them up.

Pros: Great sounding, waterproof, components, low price.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 5252

Crutchfield customer from Sarasota, FL on 1/26/2018

2004 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works Great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great investment

Manuel from Santa Fe Spgs, CA on 1/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound awesome! Well worth the money

Pros: Clear sound and distinct tones

Cons: None that I can think of.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 5252

Crutchfield customer from Westerville, OH on 12/31/2017

1978 Jeep CJ7

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unbelievable sound clarity, quality and volume for the price! Well worth the money!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk 5252-----Great speakers

Matt from Tallahassee, FL on 12/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Huuuge difference going to these in a Jeep Wrangler. Exceptional response. Very crisp and clear. Got these hooked up to a decent amp and am extremely impressed. My ears are telling me to stop, but the speakers still want to get louder.

Pros: Great sound can handle a lot of power

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 5252

Crutchfield customer from Warren, CT on 11/12/2017

1999 Dodge Ram

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

a great product sounds excellent compared to the factory set up, only thing that would be nice is a plug which would adapt to the factory harness because the rear speakers are wired through the front harness it would make polarity easier to figure out

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 5252

Crutchfield customer from N Salt Lake, UT on 11/6/2017

1987 BMW 3 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice set of speakers that fit and sound great. Better yet the service was great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 5252

Paul from Red Oak, TX on 10/29/2017

2005 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great clean sound

Pros: Clean sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 5252

Jody from Texas on 10/5/2017

2009 Nissan Sentra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I would recommend. I was worried that the 5" would not be enough but once i really got the amp and eq dialed in the bass is adequate. I was also apprehensive that the marine certification might make then sound tinny but they sound great with crisp clear sound and great separation. They could be a little warmer but I think they still sound great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Db5252 polk

Bob from Centerville, UT on 9/18/2017

2006 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great product but it did not work out in my 2006 tundra. A big Part of the problem was the jbl premium system, but the dB 522 speakers worked out good. Polk is good stuff and Crutchfield is the Best.

Pros: Great product

Cons: Didn't work with the jbl wiring

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great speakers

Christopher from Chantilly, VA on 9/1/2017

2001 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers but did not fit 2001 cherokee XJ Great looking Great sounding

Pros: Great Sound Good Looking

Cons: DID NOT fit 2001 Cherokee XJ

Crutchfield response on

3 of 8 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 5252

Jeff from Kenosha, WI on 6/2/2017

2007 Ford Expedition EL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a fantastically engineered system. The quality of components and sound is a true deal for the cash. I have installed a number of polk systems, this is by far top of the list for me. Easy fit, easy wire, great sound.

Pros:

Cons: zero

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 5252

Antiono from Sterling Heights, MI on 5/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome sound. Good bass. Crisp even at high volume.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 5252

Crutchfield customer from reed city, MI on 5/4/2017

2004 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

big upgrated from my 4X6"

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Stunning!

John from Yorkville, IL on 4/17/2017

2009 Nissan Sentra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These things are amazing! I've read reviews about Polk not putting out enough mid bass and I cannot agree with that one bit.I didn't sound deaden my doors at all and these still just crank.They're powered by a JL Audio XD500 getting 75W RMS each and I cannot believe the sound that comes from these small 5 1/4 woofers.Absolutely stunning! The brackets supplied by Crutchfield came in VERY useful.I used adhesive foam around the speaker openings in the door and also on the bracket itself too prevent any rattling.I also used my own hardware(nuts and bolts) to mount the speakers to the brackets.I just didn't like the screws that came with them and felt better about the firm mount I got from my own hardware.Also I like the mounting options they came with.I ended up surface mounting them in the sail panel.It looks as if they came with the car stock.

Pros: Great sound from such a small woofer and tweeters are clear as day! Great looking speakers too.Pre installed spade connectors on wires made installation much smoother.

Cons: Instruction manual could have been better.It doesn't explain anything about the crossover.Opening it was tricky and then setting the DB level took figuring out.I shouldn't have to go to the online manual to get information and even at that the online manual is quite poor.Doesn't explain much at all.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Great value!

Mark from Ironwood, MI on 4/17/2017

1997 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in the dash speakers of my '97 Jeep Wrangler. I installed the tweeters on a pair of Nalin Mfg. Tweeter mounts. The separation from the highs and mids/lows is great. Crisp and tight highs. Mids are a little muddy. Using a powered sub for the lows. Lots of room behind the dash to install the crossovers. Very easy to install! Love the marine rating for Jeep use.

Pros: Easy install Crisp highs

Cons: Mid tones are a little muddy sounding

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Gread updgrade

Nate from Winchester, IN on 3/26/2017

2003 Buick Century

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are very good factory replacements. The fact that they are water proof is very nice. Water gets it doors, it happens. Nice to know that there wouldn't be a problem. I think that the crossover could be a bit more fancy, if you wanted to put it on a amp board it wouldn't look very good. If you put it in the doors then its fine I guess. Its very hard to describe, but these don't sound as full as say the Rockford Fosgate T2 components. These are the only speakers I have to compare them to besides CS Kicker speakers, and I really hate those speakers. They don't compare at all !!!! I'm running these speakers and the T2's off a JL 4004d and I highly recommend that amp. That amp and these speakers or the Rockford's would be a great edition to any vehicle. If tuned correctly, with subs, these speakers will absoulutly scream!! But also sound very nice at lower volumes (normal people volumes lol). They are a great buy, they don't put out the bass that the Rockford's do but still at this price point. You cant go wrong.

Pros: great price sound very nice comes with wiring from crossover to speaker with correct terminals

Cons: not as much bass as I would hope for at high volumes the tweeters can be a little much, still sound amazing, just ear shredding

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 5252

Harry from Jonesboro, GA on 3/15/2017

2005 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are awesome, they sound great with my new amp and reciever.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good sound from a small package

Carl from Sarasota, FL on 3/13/2017

2012 Nissan Sentra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A decent set that can handle the power. Have a tad bit of high pitch feed back at peak but some adjustments to bass, treble and fade clears it up. Downfall is that if you're switching genre of music, additional "tweaking" is required

Pros: Handles the power

Cons: Occasional high pitched feed back

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Polk DB+ DB5252

Crutchfield customer from Ogdensburg, NY on 1/31/2017

2005 Toyota Echo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great clean sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 5252

Crutchfield customer from Stonington Il on 12/21/2016

2003 Pontiac Grand Prix

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome component speakers I paired them with Polk db692 in the rear & a Rockford P300-12 powered sub powered them up with a Rockford R300x4 amp & they sound excellent & they can handle being cranked up without any distortion would definitely recommend

Pros: Sound amazing

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 5252

Crutchfield customer from Yuma, AZ on 10/31/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent component speakers. Big improvement over the Polk 2-way speakers they replaced; much more bass and the highs are no longer muffled due to the tweeters being located higher on the door.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Garbage, don't bother!

Heather from Milwaukee, WI on 10/27/2016

2005 Kia Sedona

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really don't like these speakers. I had them professionally installed. They sound "tinny" and even at lower volumes, the "highs" in the music hurt my ears. I even adjusted my equalizer accordingly and the sound is still incredibly obnoxious and NO BASS. I cannot get any bass out of these speakers at all... even with it cranked all the way up. I feel like I just flushed money down the toilet.

Pros: None

Cons: Tinny no bass horrible balance

Crutchfield response on 10/31/2016
Heather, we're sorry you're disappointed with your speakers. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

9 of 20 found this helpful

Super loud speakers

Jacob D from Knoxville,TN on 6/20/2016

2001 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These component speakers are a must if you want loud, clear music. Installed a sub and really needed speakers that kick. I knew I wanted Polk but wasn't sure of these since they are new on the market and no reviews yet but I am glad I got them! Install was a breeze and the tweeters really come to life. Speakers are just what I wanted which is a lot of mid. They are good with bass notes too. Crutchfield supplied all the nessesary hardware!

Pros: -Loud -Crisp clean sound -Great mid and treble -100 watt rms -Excellent crossover

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

19 of 21 found this helpful

TOP