Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

DB+ Series shallow-mount 8" subwoofer with dual 4-ohm voice coils

MFR # AA9843-A

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

DB+ Series shallow-mount 8" subwoofer with dual 4-ohm voice coils

MFR # AA9843-A

53 reviews
View this product

Perfect Replacement

Crutchfield customer from Pawleys Island, SC on 3/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the perfect replacement for my old 25 y/o sub. It sounds much better than the original. Using the original enclosure and amp worked best.

Pros: Superior construction & materials used.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Crutchfield customer from Nevada City, CA on 2/22/2021

2001 Chevrolet Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My factory subwoofer was rotted out and needed replacement. I added this to the OEM sub box. I had to add a 1/2" spacer as the box was not deep enough. The sub fulls the cabin with lows. It's somewhat limited due to the low power of the factory amp. Great for replacing factory equipment.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Crutchfield customer from Prescott Valley, AZ on 2/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was at the outlets. Fit my JK with slight mods. Makes a difference in the sound.. thanks Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Crutchfield customer from Riverside, CA on 12/30/2020

2000 GMC Yukon XL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

havent heard have to modify box but they are beautiful, heavy and waterproof

Pros: all good

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Packs a punch

Crutchfield customer from Tampa, FL on 12/25/2020

2010 Hyundai Genesis

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replace my weak oem and I'm loving it. Even with factory sub it had nice deep bass

Pros: Small Compact Poweful

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Crutchfield customer from Norwalk, OH on 12/15/2020

2002 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great sub for my 2002 Tahoe. The stock one was deteriorated. After a little modification of the sub box with a dremel tool the sub fit great and works great too.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good Buy

Terrence from Washington, NC on 12/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced factory sub with this and had to Dremel away some of the plastic enclosure for my 2013 Veloster for it to fit. It thumps cleaner but still no louder bass. Had it for almost a year and satisfied.

Pros: Sounds good Can be wired two ways

Cons: Had to do some modifying to make it fit.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great little sub!

Crutchfield customer from Hamilton, NJ on 12/6/2020

2001 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sub sounds great and is a great factory replacement sound wise but I purchased it based off the fact it was recommended as a direct replacement. I did have to modify the factory sub box in my 01 Tahoe to get it to fit. But sounded great once I did!

Pros: Well made, sounds great even for an underpowered 8 inch sub.

Cons: Had to widen the opening of the factory sub box to get it to fit.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Crutchfield customer from Haverhill, MA on 12/4/2020

2000 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound for the price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Brandon from Paoli, IN on 12/2/2020

2017 Toyota Sequoia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this to replace the factory sub on our 2017 toyota sequoia with jbl. It will fit in the box but non of the holes line up. Even though Crutchfield said it would fit. Yes, it fit fine, but you need to drill 8 new holes on the box to be able to have it mounted. I have bypass the jbl amp and now running a pioneer gm d9705. Does it thump? Yes, it does. Yes, it does. Factory plastic box is ok for the time being. But to run this to it full potential, you would need a dedicated enclosure.

Pros: good thump Quality

Cons: required 8 new holes to mount on factory box.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Crutchfield customer from Parkville, MD on 10/13/2020

2019 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A little old-school, smooth flavor.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2014 Ram 1500 w/ Alpine

Crutchfield customer from Carrollton, TX on 9/18/2020

2014 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in my 2014 Ram w/Alpine to upgrade the stock sub. About a quarter of an inch to tall and had to drill new holes in the stock enclosure but I made it work. Sounds way better than the stock paper sub and I consider it money well spent.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Crutchfield customer from Johnsburg, IL on 9/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great upgrade from the factory sub.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Crutchfield customer from Jacksonville, FL on 7/25/2020

1998 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Terrific speaker. I actually used this speaker to repair an old Polk home stereo sub woofer. I know the impedance doesn't match but it works great. Lots of punch!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Surprising power

Crutchfield customer from Easton, PA on 6/8/2020

2014 Honda Odyssey Touring Elite

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I used these subs to rebuild two outdoor subwoofers and am amazed at how hard these hit for 8" subs. I get powerful, clean bass.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Highlander subwoofer.

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 6/2/2020

2008 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic value. Priced less than half of an original factory replacement speaker.

Pros: Price, value sound, fit.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Little 8" thumper

Crutchfield customer from Central Point, OR on 5/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Yes, there are "better" subwoofers on the market. But for my purposes (an OEM swap) it was ideal and the price was right. For my application I already new I was going to have to fabricate a 1/2" spacer ring, but once that was done it was a perfect fit. -This subwoofer thumps! The response it amazing and tone reproduction is great. And that's utilizing the stock amp! Next project will be to swap the amp out. Thanks Crutchfield for always providing great products and great prices.

Pros: Dual voice coil, power handling, price

Cons: Only con is the 4" really isn't "shallow mount"

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Crutchfield customer from Port Huron, MI on 5/23/2020

1989 Chevrolet Blazer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great and looks well built hopefully it lasts for years to come

Pros: Sounds great for a smaller sub its not gonna rattle your teeth out but with 2 of these they are plenty loud and sound great

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good sound, no real documentation.

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, KY on 5/11/2020

2002 Lexus SC430

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm pleased with the overall sound that is coming from this sub woofer. It was a very good upgrade from the factory subwoofer in my Lexus SC430. The dual voice coil made it feasible to get a higher impedance speaker that was closer to the factory specs since I keep the factory amplifier. My only wish is that there was some sort of installation sheet to assist. A paper template for the cutout and screw holes would have been very helpful. It took me <5 minutes to do the electrical work, but ~2 hours to get a mechanical fit to the existing hole in the car, and a very accurate paper template would have been helpful for the screw placements.

Pros: Sounds good, fit into the tight space where the factory sub was. The two primary concerns for my fitment were the dimensions and trying to get close to the factory 16 ohm impedance. I settled for DVC in series to make 8 ohms.

Cons: No installation instructions, no cutout templates.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

2016 Ram 1500 Laramie sub upgrade.

Ady from Columbia, MD on 4/26/2020

2015 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Way better than the factory sub and well made. The Metra 72-6514 Speaker Wiring Harness connectors are too small. Had remove and solder the ends to the sub terminals.

Pros: Great sub and well made.

Cons: Holes do not line up and the included speaker wiring harness terminal ends are too small for the sub.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

jeff from SPOUT SPRING, VA on 3/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great bass in a compact speaker

Pros: easy install. great sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk audio 8" shallow mount subwoofer

Crutchfield customer from Theodore, AL on 1/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, good construction Overall good product

Pros: Perfect fit for my application

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Crutchfield customer from San Juan, PR on 1/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent replacement for my stock sub. Sound great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Needed Upgrade 2002 Tahoe

Crutchfield customer from Winter Haven, FL on 11/10/2019

2002 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The DB 842 has excellent sound and has completed my sound equipment replacement in my 2002 Tahoe. I did build a 1/2" spacer that fit the stock sub woofer box. It allowed for a great fit in the box and behind the panel. Wiring was easy to set for 2 ohms. Very pleased with the final results.

Pros: Excellent sound, wiring flexibility, easy to fit stock location

Cons: Had to build an adapter

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Adds a nice kick!

Frank from Heyburn, ID on 10/6/2019

1985 Chrysler Fifth Avenue

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This sub was exactly what I was looking for. I was just wanting to add a kick to my music and it gets the job done, and then some. Very impressive for an 8 inch, good price too. Thumps

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Didn't hold up long

Crutchfield customer from Lawson, MO on 10/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had the for about 3 days and it burnt up may have just been bad luck but it didn't take a 150 watt rms amp but a few days to kill this thing so I don't plan to try again

Pros:

Cons: Poor quality

Crutchfield response on

1 of 6 found this helpful

mixed sound system

Crutchfield customer from Vinton, VA on 9/16/2019

2005 Acura RSX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

nice sub, Polk speakers are my favorites both home and auto!

Pros: really nice lows from this 8" shallow sub in a pioneer shallow enclosure, hv always had 10",12",15" bfore, highly impressed!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Crutchfield customer from Schenectady, NY on 9/8/2019

2004 Mitsubishi Endeavor

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install and sounds great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great sound

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 9/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Don't let the size of this little baby fool you ! It really delivers great big bass and sounds awesome!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Crutchfield customer from Greenbelt, MD on 7/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works. Still in the break in process. It's a sub. not much more to say about it.

Pros: It works. Still breaking it in.

Cons: None at this time.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 5 found this helpful

Good little sub

Crutchfield customer from Knoxville, TN on 5/31/2019

2002 GMC Yukon XL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a decent sounding sub for its size! In a well-made & tuned enclosure it will serve you well! As others have mentioned-it will not fit in the stock box of a 2002 GMC Yukon without a 0.75" spacer ring. You will likely have to modify the ring as well. So bear that in mind.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Fantastic bass

Alex from Ft Worth, TX on 5/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this to replace my factory subwoofer in my 2012 Toyota Sequoia. It fit the factory opening but the screw holes didn't line up. No big deal as a template and screws are provided to drill new holes. The factory harness doesn't fit but Crutchfield included a free set of adapters. This subwoofer combined with an aftermarket amp makes the bass really come alive. It pounds hard now. Hard to believe it's just an 8 inch subwoofer. It sounds fantastic.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great option for stock replacement

Crutchfield customer from York, SC on 4/25/2019

2001 Chevrolet Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding sub for my 2001 Yukon! Clean, tight, bass. Not overpowering, but perfect for stock replacement. Does require 1/2" spacer due to mounting height difference vs. OEM sub, but fits in the stocknenclosure perfectly.

Pros: dual voice coils are perfect choice for stock amp. Bass is clean and tight.

Cons: mounting height requires 1/2" spacer in stock enclosure of Yukon. I wasnt' prepared for that, but it was easily accomplished in my shop. I would buy this speaker again, and I highly recommend it for stock replacement.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Jason from Beaverton, OR on 3/29/2019

1998 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

One of the better 8" subs I have had over the years. Fits great in my low profile box and adds just enough bass to my system. Wasn't looking for something to crazy. Just upgrading my 20 year old Jeep with new speakers and this fit the bill perfectly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Deep, boomy bass!

Crutchfield customer from Plano, TX on 3/11/2019

1999 Mercury Mountaineer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This sub works fine on it's own but really works wonders after hooking it up to a monoblock amp. I strongly recommend this sub to anyone looking for boomy bass.

Pros: Shakes my car.

Cons: Shakes the enclosure sometimes but i think that's mostly the fault of enclosure (it's plastic)

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Crutchfield customer from Boalsburg, PA on 2/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unbelievable amount of bass from a small speaker. Installed in a friend's 93 AM General Humvee (these vehicles are extraordinarily loud at idle with almost no sound insulation), and used a very small shallow mount box. Laughed because the bass shakes almost as hard as both of my Kicker Comp 10s. Bass is also super tight and accurate, definitely the cleanest sub I have installed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Crutchfield customer from Winston, OR on 2/4/2019

1997 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Received it quickly! i haven't had a chance to install this as of yet I will soon when the weather clears!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 12 found this helpful

2002 Chevy Tahoe

Daamon from Wilmington, DE on 9/21/2018

2002 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little sub Installed in factory location and it sounds great

Pros: Sounds great

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great value

damein from Chattanooga, TN on 9/9/2018

2002 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sub for the money. Replaced factory sub in an 02 explorer sounds great.

Pros: Really good sound for great value

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Glenn from Springfield, MO on 6/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For am 8" yes they do very well

Pros: None

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Didn't want a box, don't need a box

mike from Miami, FL on 6/26/2018

2017 Dodge Challenger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice bass for my rear shelf. Really helps my 6.5s

Pros: Fits my 8"hole in the rear shelf

Cons: none yet

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Crutchfield customer from Frederick, OK on 6/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Work perfect

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

DC from Denver, CO on 6/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy fit and great sound!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

LS430 Mark Levinson replacement

Clipz from Pearl City, HI on 4/17/2018

2001 Lexus LS430

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit. Great quality. Sounds awesome!

Pros: DVC configurable to 8ohms

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great sound over factory

Roger from NM on 2/22/2018

2013 Ram 3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hands down better sound than factory sub in New ram truck. Easy install no surprises, 15 min install.

Pros: Quality ,price,ease of installation

Cons: Made in China, we have to conquer this

Crutchfield response on

18 of 19 found this helpful

Polk DB 842 DVC

Joshua from Goodyear, AZ on 1/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have it in a sealed box .1 cubic feet smaller than recommended in a 300 rms kicker amp. Gets warm when I have the bass knob all the way up and subwoofer level set to level 3 on my Kenwood stereo, but stays cool when set to level 1. It's very loud for a sealed 8. The sub is in the very back of my van, but I can clearly hear and feel it in the front seats.

Pros: Loud Well Built Great in a sealed enclosure

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Crutchfield customer from Hellertown, PA on 1/2/2018

2002 Nissan Frontier

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not quite a direct replacement for 2002 Nissan Frontier cc.. it needed a spacer to fit in the factory shallow sub box.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 7 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, GA on 12/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple design, versatile wiring options, great sound quality for an 8" unit. Don't let it fool you; in a small sealed enclosure powered by a sound ordnance M350-1 this sub can get down!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Crutchfield customer from Denver, CO on 12/7/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sound good value ..

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 DVC

Crutchfield customer from Brownsville, TX on 12/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product for a low price, easy to install and compact design.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Sub!

Neil from Lathrop, CA on 12/1/2017

2014 Honda Civic EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Sub! Put it in a ported box, gets the lows really good. First amp I bought it felt like it wouldn't "push" the sub much so ended up doing 350 watts bridged and it's handling well. Had some bass adjustment (Brought it lower) so I'm not pushing the sub but after hits very clean, tight bass. If you are looking for a sub that just needs to replace factory sub or want just clean bass that doesn't rattle every nut and bolt then this is a great sub!

Pros: Small, hard hitting sub doesn't take up space

Cons: Have to have the right power so it's not over powered by distorting.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Clean Bass reproduction an a very compact package

David from Cranbury, NJ on 11/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This sub provides clean punchy bass. Installed three behind the seat of my regular cab pickup and could not be happier with the results. I listen to a lot of different types of music. 8" subs are my go to since they are very versatile. These great performers really do complement everything from Rock to Classical to Rap to Opera and everything in between.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome Build, Sound , & Great Price

Jose from San Jose CA on 7/28/2017

2010 Dodge Challenger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Build Quality @ Great Price. This is my 1st Polk Audio purchase and I am more than pleased. I used it to replace my Stock 8 Inch Sub in my 2010 Challenger. I left the stock AMP since Has the sound package 2 with an amp that is a little over 360 Watts and it is enough to drive it. It sounds nice and deep once the Volume and Bass is adjusted. I recommend pairing it with an After-market Amp to make sure it reaches its full potential. That is next on my list. The sub looks like it is build to last and it comes in a Low Profile form which was a must for the install in the challengers rear deck.

Pros: Awesome Build, Sound , & Great Price

Cons: Could Use an after market AMP to give it more kick

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

6 of 7 found this helpful

TOP