Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
315 131 742 3

Our hours

Connect ID #
315 131 742 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

For simple questions about your order,
try our new virtual agent:

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Polk Audio DB 842 SVC

DB+ Series shallow-mount 8" 4-ohm subwoofer

MFR # AA9842-A

Polk Audio DB 842 SVC

Polk Audio DB 842 SVC

DB+ Series shallow-mount 8" 4-ohm subwoofer

MFR # AA9842-A

13 reviews
View this product

The perfect subwoofer for a small convertible

Dennis from Wilsonville, OR on 4/25/2020

1993 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just finished installing this driver in a custom box that sits on the parcel shelf of my 1991 Miata. It is a very tight space and the Polk was one of my few options that would work happily in a small box. I ended up building a 0.7 cubic foot enclosure with a 2" Precision Port firing out one end. The box is tuned to 35 Hz. I'm using the crossover and controls on my deck to send the subwoofer signal through a Sound Ordnance M350-1 amp to the Polk. It sounds great! Even though the driver is just behind the seats and at ear height the sound is very balanced. Since the driver is aimed forward into the passenger compartment there is no loss of bass when I put the top down. The fact that the Polk is also marine rated is just an extra bonus for a convertible living in Western Oregon.

Pros: compact and shallow design, happy in a small enclosure, marine rated, sounds great

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 SVC

Crutchfield customer from Fruitland Pk, FL on 11/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

GREAT BASS FROM THESE SUBS

Pros:

Cons: THE WIRE CONNECTION IS CLOSE TO THE OUTER EDGE, HAD TO MODIFY MY BOX,

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 SVC

Crutchfield customer from San Jose, CA on 7/26/2019

2001 GMC Yukon XL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had to modify the stock sub box because this woofer was too deep. But it sounds great. Lots of pounding bass and the amp is barely turned up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 SVC

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 5/24/2019

2009 Ford Edge

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

awesome

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 SVC

Adam from Corinth, KY on 1/20/2019

2017 Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's not a true fix. This speaker is about 3/16" deeper than the factory. Which makes it stick up just a hair off the box and the factory speaker is duel voice coils.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 7 found this helpful

Used as factory replacement

Scott from Knoxville, TN on 12/17/2018

2001 Chevrolet Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used to replace the worn out factory sub in my 2001 Chevy suburban, had to use a spacer to allow for depth of magnet. Sounds great considering what I'm working with

Pros: Good quality for money spent

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 SVC

Crutchfield customer from Chillicothe, MO on 7/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in the rear floor of Jeep JK and it handles water so far.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 SVC

Crutchfield customer from Baden, PA on 7/6/2018

2004 Mitsubishi Endeavor

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 SVC

Steve from Running Springs, CA on 6/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm amazed at the Bass that this puts out !!! I'm not a teen that wants to go Boom, Boom down the street but the speaker will do it if you want. everyone thinks I've got a 12 in hidden some were . Very Happy with the choice :)

Pros: Surpassed my expectations !!!!

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 SVC

Michael from Sparrows Point, MD on 4/30/2018

2002 Chevrolet Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quality replacement for factory subwoofer. Sounds great. Easy installation.

Pros: Good quality, great sound, ease of installation

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 SVC

Crutchfield customer from Weston, OR on 1/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I didn't expect that much sound out of an 8 inch subwoofer, quite impressive.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio DB 842 SVC

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 1/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just installed and seem to be really great little subs. I wired four up to a SoundStream amp. They hit very smoothly, not like a donkey kick. Great sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

These hit hard!!

Rick from Lynn Haven, FL on 1/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These sound awesome and hit hard and crisp.

Pros: Sound and look great

Cons: Does not have spring loaded connectors. Would have been easier to wire in series with those in place.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

TOP