Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Polk Audio DSW PRO 440wi

Powered subwoofer

MFR # AM4435-A

Polk Audio DSW PRO 440wi

Polk Audio DSW PRO 440wi

Powered subwoofer

MFR # AM4435-A

58 reviews
View this product

This subwoofer is the bomb.com!

Crutchfield customer from Marietta, GA on 4/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely love it. Best part is watching the reactions of friends and family when they experience it for the first time. Cosmo gave me great guidance picking this subwoofer for our living room which has hardwood floors.

Pros: Great performance, a fantastic compliment to my other audio components, and you can't beat the bang for the buck

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect for size and price

Andrew from Houston, TX on 12/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So I have had this sub for a few years, this is actually in our Master Bedroom setup. Using this with a Definitive Technology SSA-50 Sound Bar, and (2) pro monitor 800's for rear surrounds. Was previously using a Definitive Technology ProSub800, this is way better, can also easily switch to night mode with included remote, adjust sub settings etc, and more or less the same amount of space (ideal for the wife) than the Sub800. Using this with a Denon Denon AVR-X4300H perfect for the bedroom, personally I would not recommend for a main room. Our MasterBedroom is 20x12 for reference. Also use it with an Audioquest authentic Sub-1 cable. Good cables do make a difference, all our other speakers are hooked up with Authentic Audioquest Rocket 33 straight cables.

Pros: Great Sixe, great boom, clear for the right size room

Cons: Not recommended for VERY large rooms (unless you have (2) then maybe)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Compact design but big sound

Chris from Mercer Island, WA on 10/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really like this subwoofer. Great power in a compact box. I replaced a Martin Logan model I had for 10 years and I am using mine as an LFE. This gives off just as much bass - and I love that the woofer is pointed toward the floor for a deeper sound (the model can be easily modified to point the woofer toward a different location). My opinion is that I do not think that the remote control adds any value to the model, the different phases presented on the remote all sound the same. That aside, this is an excellent purchase and I am very happy with it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio DSW PRO 440wi

Crutchfield customer from Albany, GA on 9/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First, I am not an audiophile with a seemingly endless pot of disposable income. I like good sound when I watch Star Wars or one of the Marval movies, but I am not willing to spend a thousand dollars for quality I cannot hear. That said, Polks 440 sub was easy to install and set up out of the box. It sounds great in my living room. I'm sure some folks would disagree, but if you are looking for a good sub woofer and don't want to pay for professional equipment this is the sub for you.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Welcome to Ligitimacy

Crutchfield customer from Boulder City, NV on 7/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Spendy, but has brought respectability to my home theater. Tight bass that hasn't bottomed out yet.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio DSW PRO 440wi

Crutchfield customer from Harrison, MI on 12/3/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pure bass, without the overwhelming "boom". Priced well, and delivered as promised. Great product and service, thanks Cruchfields! Buzzreed62

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Very nice sub for the size and price

Gene from Hilo, HI on 9/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had this sub since mid May. I needed a sub that had speaker level I/Os and was hesitant to try one of the less expensive Polks or a Yamaha from a different online retailer. I got this on sale. Initial reaction was that it was surprising large and heavy for an 8" sub. Both good things in my mind. Setup was easy, the remote was helpful for setup and this is one of the few subs that I could find that the variable crossover still worked with speaker level inputs. Most end up defaulting to a fixed value of 80hz. I'm using this with a pair of NHT SuperZeros in a 2500 cubic ft bedroom. The Superzeros need a crossover of at least 100hz. I'm currently around 110hz and it sounds great and blends well with the speakers. I was really surprised with the amount of bass this "little" 8" sub puts out in a relatively large space. It handles any of the music I throw at it, at the volumes I listen at. I rarely get above the low 80db range at the listening position. The sub extends plenty deep. The 30hz rating seems legit. It's very articulate, even at low volumes. Bass guitar riffs come through nicely as does electronic, drums and piano. Very, very pleased with the audio quality. I'd say it's as good as my HT system which has an SVS PC12+ and a Deftech SC8000. From what I remember of the SC8000 when it was my sole sub, the DSW Pro 440i actually sounds better. I wish I would have not spent so much on the Deftech at the time and just got a pair of DSW Pro 660s instead.

Pros: Great audio quality, easy setup, surprising amount of bass, both extension and volume given the 8" drive.

Cons: Remote not that useful once setup. Room location modes make no difference that I could hear.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Two thumbs up

Chris from Spokane, WA on 5/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Paired with my Sonos bar to make watching movies exponentially more immersive.

Pros: Price, performance, night mode

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sub!

Andrew from Big Beaver, PA on 3/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Paired with Polk Audio Blackstone TL250 surround and Yamaha receiver. Very happy with the performance! Bass is complimentary when watching TV or a movie, sharp and powerful when gaming, and provides full beautiful sound when listening to music.

Pros: Great subwoofer! Not overpowering, but can really thump when it needs to, such as whrn playing bass-heavy music

Cons: None! Very happy with the purchase.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

BANG for the buck

John R. from Youngstown, OH on 3/15/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have not used this much to date but so far I am very satisfied. I bought this to replace a larger (10 inch) Polk subwoofer. I was concerned that being smaller this sub would not be enough. With a more powerful amplifier than my prior sub this was not an issue. Not only did this speaker meet my needs it exceeded them. You can make this thump if you want but for me I prefer clean bass reproduction and this sub does that. It has a quality feel and look. I wasn't thrilled with the prospect of having yet another remote but I have found it useful. When listening to a playlist recording levels are far from consistent. I can now easily adjust the bass and enjoy my music more. I am happy with this purchase.

Pros: Clean, tight bass reproduction. Adaptable. Easily adjust to what is playing with the remote. Discreet. You can make this pound when appropriate or tone it down to keep the peace while still hearing the bass notes.

Cons: A bit flashy.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great addition to my system! Wife is happy too!

Brent from Lynnwood, WA on 1/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, upgraded from an older subwoofer and this made a noticeable difference immediately! I'm still tweaking the settings, but I love the versatility of this sub and the ability to place it into night mode to keep the wife happy while she's sleeping. :)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio DSW PRO 440wi

Hemant from Collierville, TN on 12/27/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great subwoofer, prompt delivery and great support

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio DSW PRO 440wi

Crutchfield customer from Staunton, IL on 12/26/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a pretty good subwoofer and it gives you a lot of bass. It is preforming better than I expected. The only downside to this sub is the volume control.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Didn't know what I was missing!

Omer from Missouri City, TX on 12/14/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the first time I've used a sub-woofer, and I'm loving it. Excellent item and would recommend anytime. What's amazing is that it has a remote control and you can adjust the settings as required.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Better then Expected

Kenneth from Zephyrhills, FL on 12/11/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Better then I expected. I own high end gear and this Polk Sub runs neck and neck with my JL and Paradigm Subwoofers. I am totally pleased with this purchase!

Pros: Great unit, I can adjust woofer via remote!!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Super Duper Sounding Subwoofer

Stephen from Lawrenceville, GA on 11/28/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am really enjoying the features of thePolk Audio DSW Pro 440wi. What I like most is the Room Optimizer which maximizes the subwoofer performance for room placement whether it be in a cabinet or in the corner of a room, midwall or mid room. The ability to fine tune the subwoofer to blend in with my main speakers is also a good feature. The quality of the unit and sound is really great. I am looking forward to connecting the Polk DSW Pro wirelessly in the near future which will enable me to place the subwoofer in any location.

Pros: Easy to set up, great sounding subwoofer. Room Optimizer options. Wireless Capability.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Scratch and dent not tested before resold

jesus from Bronx, NY on 8/17/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ordered it from scratch and dent section, product was not tested after it was returned the subwoofer would not respond to remote so you couldn't set equalizer, the remote worked cause I tested it on the 660wi I already own and it responded to remote. Had to return it back to Crutchfield but not sure if I would buy a open box or scratch and dent item again from them cause there's no way product was tested once it was returned. Customer service was excellent as usual easy return.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 8/23/2016
Thanks for your helpful feedback. We're sorry the remote didn't work properly - all of the items in our Outlet Store have been tested. We've forwarded your review to our returns-processing technicians so we can pinpoint what happened here.

3 of 5 found this helpful

Great for certain applications

Paul from Salt Lake City, UT on 4/1/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a high quality sub and works great in some applications. I paired it with some RTiA3's for music listening and it was great. It blended well with the speakers and provided that missing bottom end. I was so inconspicuous it was like I was listening to two good tower speakers. This set up worked great for music. I then tried it with a movie and found it was too small for my taste. I was in a med-large room and even at full volume it did not have enough to make me feel the effects. In a small room, or with a small satellite or soundbar system it would be great. With the RTiA3's and a CSiA6 center, it was just not enough for my taste.

Pros: Clean, accurate sound. Blends well Small size, flexible positioning

Cons: Too small for most home theaters

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Very high quality

Shawn from Texas on 1/15/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got this to replace a bose acoustimass system and sub. This seems to have even more bass even though it is only one 8" driver. The quality of the cabinet is outstanding and looks better in person. I can't believe how solid it feels. Is this enclosure made of stainless steel or something?? haha. Sound is pretty good so far and seems cleaner than the bose which is probably not saying much

Pros: Outstanding build quality remote and all of its adjustments is awesome compact size

Cons: Need a display for remote functions badly

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Happy Customer

Crutchfield customer from New Jersey on 1/3/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

powerful for my basement

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Clean bass

JMG from Florida on 12/21/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crisp and clean bass. Not muddy at all (unless the source audio is not so good). Does really well with movies, very good with music.

Pros: Remote is great to have - helps tweak bass levels depending on source material. No boom with heavy bass lines.

Cons: After 10 days, none yet.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio DSW PRO 440wi

Efrain from Florida on 12/13/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Bass with a thump

Michael H from Indiana on 11/10/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for a good bass with a pronounced thump. It is not quite there, but after adjusting it and moving the feet to allow the sound into the room it is close.

Pros: Ease of installation, and adjustment to where you like what you hear.

Cons: A little pricey.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Unhappy with Crutchfield

VamsiS from Cary, NC on 9/30/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We have recently built a home and I wanted a polk subwoofer to match my polk in wall 5.1channel speakers. I bought this subwoofer after being reassured by a Crutchfield representative that "scratch and dent" is a very minor thing, it goes through a rigorous testing and quality check and then would be sent out by Crutchfield. Well, after moving into the new home, I opened the box from Crutchfield and what I find is a poorly packed dusty subwoofer with no power cord or cables, no documents or manuals. I am even worried if it works properly but there is no way of testing it as I donot have a power supply to the device. The rep who dealt with complaints and returns just seemed to be indifferent to my concern. She very casually mentions "scratch and dent" usually means the product will be delivered the way I it was delivered to me. To my dismay when I asked if it does not go through a quality check to make sure it is well packaged, has all the power cables, chords, manuals and warranty papers, her answer was a casual "NO". She said she can replace it with an open box item they have in stock but I will have to pay the difference. I have calmly ordered my power cord not having the energy or mood to put up a fight. Sorry POLK, I cannot review your dusty probably used product from Crutchfield without power. Lesson learnt - Don't buy "scratch and dent" products from Crutchfield. This is my first purchase from Crutchfield and it did not go very well.

Pros: No power cord to test the merits of the product.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 10/14/2015
Thanks for your review. Our Scratch and Dent items have cosmetic damage, but should still perform as well as a brand new item. I'm sorry that the power cord was missing. We've sent out a replacement cable. Please be assured that this subwoofer has been tested, and is also covered by the manufacturer's warranty.

5 of 10 found this helpful

polk audio dsw pro 44wi

ronnie h from Florida on 5/26/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

excellent sub performs great love the remote

Pros: great sound and remote

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Not Bad at All

Mark from SLC, Utah on 4/8/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

8" subs used to be a waste. This one is awesome. Clean Bass and output. I am running dual 440's with Polk RT 8's. sound great . I am set up in a large room and it is working well.

Pros: Great looks and build quality Clean Bass digital amp is great The small size is a plus

Cons: Remote does its job but i prefer normal knobs to adjust it.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

very good sub

mikeA from Austin Tx on 2/25/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a very good little sub. I find no reason not to give it 5 stars. I use it with the Polk A3s for music, and I found it to be a great match for the A3s. Surprisingly, I even tried upgrading to their 550 sub and it didn't sound as good! I guess the 8in size woofer goes good with the A3s 6in mid. I use it wired-style to the sub output of my amp, and it works great. No problem with auto-turn-off as other people have commented (perhaps because it is wired to the amp). I keep it at about 3/4s volume and it tracks the A3s just fine. Note, I wanted music, not TV A/V. Perhaps for A/V, with all the random and trash sound of TV, verse straight music, I could see the larger Polk with 10in or 12in woofer being better.

Pros: great little sub

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Not as expected

amarkow from Nevada on 2/22/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Polk sub I ordered is probably too small for my system. It's not a good match with my larger Velodyne sub, and I've had to lower it's volume output below the recommended level to avoid over-driving it. In addition, it's too small for the space in my furniture, so I've had to put in a styrofoam support for one of its legs.

Pros: It's downward firing.

Cons: Physical fit, and lack of matching to my other sub.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 7 found this helpful

Good power sub

Rover from San Juan, P.R. on 2/22/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great sound and power putput. Tight base when needed. rumling house rocker when required in a very precise output.. Probably helped by receiver's quality, but still brilliant!

Pros: wireless features, easy settings.

Cons: none so far!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good things do come in small packages!

Crutchfield customer from Hawaii on 2/20/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you don't have a lot of room, but need some good bass for your setup, this sub will fit the bill. The lows are good and you can definitely feel the bass. Love the placement flexibility this sub offers with the down or foward firing woofer. Not to mention you can also purchase the wireless module for this sub and place them anywhere you like. My only gripe, which is minor, is the volume adjustments on the sub. You really don't know how high or low you have the sub unless you count the number of times you press the button. Overall, great sub and would recommend.

Pros: Compact, but with good bass

Cons: Volume control on the sub

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio DSW PRO 440wi

Chuck from florida on 2/11/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Get sub woofer,rich.warm room filling sound!

Pros: Great for small living rooms and home theaters

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love this thing!

CavesRCool from Chicago, IL on 12/23/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

BOOM BOOM BOOM... that's what it does LOL. Very easy to setup and configure and sounds great!

Pros: Sound & Power

Cons: Non really

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great starter sub!

JSDS from Tidewater Virginia on 4/24/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had the thePolk DSW PRO 440wi up & running for over a month and it's been a great small subwoofer. Setup was easy and the remote control is easier to use than reaching around the back of the unit. The sub has good overall performance, with smooth crossover transitions. I calibrated it with a dB meter and I haven't looked (heard?) back since! It's helped out my 5.1 theatre system nicely. I also let it help out my Camber 2.5 for music. Overall, it's working well! It's a nice, small starter subwoofer and I'd buy it again.

Pros:

Cons: The range on the remote is short, but it's easier to use than reaching around the back.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Provided no punch.

Hank from Chicago, IL on 4/10/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Terrible sub-woofer. Should provide more punch. Was more of a muddy rumble. The only time there was a big sound was when the sub-woofer would get a signal fronm the receiver and there was a sudden pop. Maybe a defect but who knows. No wonder it was at a discounted price. My old non-powered SW puts this one to shame.

Pros: None.

Cons: Better off without this one.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Pretty good!

Dan Lombardi from Wallingford, CT on 3/24/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was purchased since I bought some towers and I received a credit... That credit got me thinking I needed a dual-sub setup, and guess what, I'm glad I did. I already had a Polk sub that has two 10" subs - which I absolutely love. The DSW Pro 440wi is nowhere near as boomy and powerful, BUT, it has a nice thump, its not too large, and you can run wireless if you need to. I have this sub behind me in the corner of the room (opposite corner from my dual 10" sub), and it adds a significant amount of tight bass. I love bass, so some may think this is excessive, I don't. Wireless was attractive when ordering, but I decided to run a long audio cable instead... I read reviews where folks were having issues with auto on/off, so I skipped it and tucked the audio cable under my trim/carpeting. Is this a sub that is going to be awesome on it's own? I don't think so... But for my needs, it's great, and it cost me just over $100.

Pros: Not too large, has a good bass hit, wireless capable.

Cons: Not as boomy as some may want, wireless reviews point to issues....

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

DSW PRO 440wi

Edgar H from Las Vegas on 3/16/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice and powerful perfect for my game room It allows you set it front firing it down firing nice options, paired with tsi400, cs10, tsi100..

Pros: Great sub

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Small but powerful!

VitaliyG from hampstead, MD on 3/9/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Using this subwoofer with a 2.1 setup and Polk RTI A9. The sub sounds amazing! Remember it sounds better bottom firing over a hard floor. If you have carpet set it up as front firing

Pros: Great power for an 8" sub

Cons: none so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Simply Amazing! Wow

Polk Audio Fan 4 Life from San Juan,PR on 2/19/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent. I've being a Satisfied Polk Audio Speaker's Customer since the early 80's and I am loving it. It's Simply State of the Art Hi-Fi Quality Audio Sound. Highly Recommended System. Currently I owned 2 Polk Soundbars, One Polk Audio Computer Speakers, And this Superb RM87 (7 Speakers) Along with this DSW Pro Subwoofer. It's truly Boomy, Hi Definition and Awesome 7.1 Speaker System.

Pros: Everything is Top Notch Quality product and The Speakers do delivers the Best Hi-Fi Audio on the Market.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sub!!

MZH from Elkridge, MD on 2/11/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

tried the PSW111, had to return for lack of any "punch".....also was somewhat "muddy". went for the DSW Pro 440 and this sub rocks!! the bass lines are very tight and natural. this sub competes with my Sunfire D10.....at half the price.

Pros: great sub!!

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio DSW PRO 440wi

pwhit from Houston on 2/9/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pared this with a onkyo 727 and polk audio blackstone tl350 speakers. I am using this wired so can't review the wireless capabilities. At the moment using default configuration with downward sound. I plan to try using in forward mode to see if there is a difference because my floor is carpeted and read a review saying the sound was better in forward mode. That being said the sub is more than enough for my small living room. have as of yet to really push it to see what it will do. Overall sounds great and would recommend to others.

Pros: easy setup when you read the instructions.

Cons: none so far.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Bill B

A Musical Sub from Tampa Bay, FL on 1/21/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Loving music more than I do movies I was wary buying a subwoofer especially since I was satisfied with the bass output of my Polk A7's. The reason I took the chance was to be able to hear 5.1 music the way it was intended. Wow am I glad I did, and am I glad I bought THIS sub. Being a eight inch it is extremely efficient, no big speaker wobble here. And when it is movie time (3:10 to Yuma blu ray) it felt like the train was pulling into my living room, my wife and I looked at each other and said wow. I wouldn't have a sub without a remote and this remote has everything you could ask for. Don't be fooled buy the 180 wattage, this amp is class D, translation- the right kind to have. Having a good sub also let's your front speakers and amp cruise and not have to handle the signal/power hogging lows. In closing only one negative, I have to turn the unit on/off with the remote (no problem for me) because the auto on doesn't seem to function well. I guess I could send it back but I might get one that doesn't sound as good, anyway I have to turn everything else on and off with a remote, what's one more.

Pros: Amazing sound quality, very musical.

Cons: Auto on doesn't function, you must use the remote.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Sound

RandyC from Denison, TX on 1/1/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, easily adaptable to other equipment and room configurations. Video shielding and remote control are both nice extras.

Pros: Sound and easy installation.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

It's ok

Not impressed from FL on 8/21/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The speaker looks great, but I haven't seen much of an upgrade from my old infinity sub. I have to keep turning the power on not like the infinity which would shut off and on when the receiver turned off and or or recognized frequencies would be going through the sub. I think I may need to call tech support to figure out more. But so far, not impressed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

DSW PRO 440wi

warrent from Charleston, SC on 5/17/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great bass response, handy remote control and gives the person using it total control.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome Sub!

Awesome Sub! from New Orleans, LA on 4/29/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great subwoofer! Using in combination with the Polk Blackstone TL350's. The sound is superb in my home theatre. Highly recommended.

Pros: Great sound, highly configurable, quality workmanship and materials

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great subwoofer

timmy2high from Des Moines, WA on 3/10/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Plenty of sound from a smaller enclosure, great match for the TL350 speaker package. Easy to install with versatile wiring and setup options.

Pros: Compact size and easy setup

Cons: Since the sub is set up for downfiring operation, the grille is not included and is extra from Polk. I preferred to install with a forward firing speaker rather than install downward over thick carpet and my downstairs neighbor. For the price, they should include the grille IMHO.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

product is awesome, but the shipping is lousy...

jun from CA on 11/3/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

no problem with the product... it is the UPS shipping that is terrible. Crutchfield should rethink about their business dealings with UPS. my subwoofer almost didn't get to me in one piece. the shipping cartons is all ripped and taped all over (top to bottom, and all 4-sides. this makes me think twice if i will order again at Crutchfield. You better reconsider Fedex as your shipping partner.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 12 found this helpful

Got That Super Bass

Teng from Saipan, MP on 9/18/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I upgraded my free sub to DSW Pro 440. We got that super bass we need for TL350. Auto on/off works perfectly well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

great yet contollable lows

Steve from Saratoga Springs, NY on 3/13/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I upgraded my home theater setup from a "quality" soundbar and wireless subwoofer to towers and center speakers (with 6.5" drivers). I also upgraded to this DSW Pro 440wi. I hard wired it but wanted the option of wireless. The first time I tuned into a HDMI movie I was blown away with the sound and jumped in the deep bass scenes. WOW! The bass is controllable for crossover which is valuable as this is one serious sub. I live in a large condo with 12" of concrete in the flooring. The bass fills the entire 20' X 50' room and I'm waiting to see if the neighbors downstairs start complaining.

Pros: Wireless remote for instant muting if the neighbors complain Great lows even at low volume

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Nice sound, but noise interference

Ed from Connecticut on 2/11/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm hearing a lot of interference as I use this and I'm not sure this is because of the other devices in my house or not. I need to call tech support and find out if there's a solution or I should just return.

Pros: Nice design, sound

Cons: Noise interference

Crutchfield response on

0 of 6 found this helpful

Just What the Dr. Ordered

CoryL from Houma, LA on 2/1/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sub fills my 17*20 living area with sharp, crisp sound. Bass is not overwhelming making the listening experience very enjoyable.

Pros: Beautiful Construction Sound Quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

BOOM!!!

Crutchfield customer from Edmond,ok on 1/23/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This sub is awesome!! I have an older 10" infinity sub that is great but this absolutely shakes the house. I have a huge room and it has perfect lows, it rumbles during a stampede and booms during an explosion. My wife said my butts rattling!! Yes this was a great buy!

Pros: Good price and does better than I expected.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio DSW PRO 440wi

Adrian from Gulf Breeze Florida on 12/12/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield did a great job with troubleshooting the problem I have with this sub. They even sent me a replacement! We came to the conclusion that the interference is not coming from my house. I just turn it off when not in use.

Pros: Sounds great

Cons: Wireless picks up lot's of interference. Auto mode not good.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Super Sub

JohnnyT from Schenectady, Ny on 11/17/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This will rock your movies. Music listening is very good smooth not boomy, tight. The spike feet included are very nice for that carpeted floor; they connect the sub with the sub-floor, that's why it rocks the house. Auto on/off is a bit slow but it does work, but slow off will stop false offs. Auto on sometimes needs a volume up, but it has worked every time. It's so good I think I will get a 2nd one set it up wireless for the rear.

Pros: Sound and Size

Cons: ????

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio DSW PRO 440wi

tomc from Santa Clara, CA on 11/1/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am happy with this sub. I would give it a 5 star if it has a "perfect" auto on/off.

Pros: I used this as a 5.1 with RTiA5 as front, CSi5 and Rti4 as surround. It brings movie alive with excellent Boommmm. When it is used in 2.1 music mode, it compliments the weaker base of the A5. The remote is a plus.

Cons: The auto on/off is not perfect. Sometimes, it turns on by itself even the receiver/TV/BD are off. I just used the remote to turn it off.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect for gaming and movies!!!

Joe from Elizabethtown KY on 3/26/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ordered a 12" sub thinking bigger would be better...WRONG. I got this sub and at half power was amazed an 8" sub could pound like this. The remote didnt work when it arrived...hoping its just the battery havent found a replacement yet but who needs a remote for a sub? Very pleased.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Amazing Sub

Brandon from NorCal on 2/17/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm amazed at how unreal this sub sounds! It's extremely accurate, and pushs a very clean deep bass. I wasn't sure if this top of the line 8" would be better than the middle of the line 10" or 12", but I am very happy with my decision after hearing how incredible this sub sounds. The wireless remote is awesome, and it's also capable of being wireless up to 50' wich is also awesome! The best part about this sub, was the Crutchfield price! The 7.1 set up sounds awesome! Thanks Crutchfield for the incredible deals!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Polk Audio DSW PRO 440wi

Crutchfield customer from Usa on 2/11/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent powered subwoofer. Has a ton of bass but doesn't sound boomy like some subs. The sub works well with music and movies. My only complaint is the auto off feature isn't very reliable.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

TOP