Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
514 261 847 3
Connect ID #
514 261 847 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Polk Audio DSW PRO 660wi

Powered subwoofer

MFR # AM6635-A

Polk Audio DSW PRO 660wi

Polk Audio DSW PRO 660wi

Powered subwoofer

MFR # AM6635-A

73 reviews
View this product

Good job!

Crutchfield customer from Fort Scott, KS on 10/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good job!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio DSW PRO 660wi

Crutchfield customer from Murphysboro, IL on 11/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good product, nice sound. Build quality seems pretty good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Portland

Jim from Portland, OR on 5/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this subwoofer to replace a Polk Audio 10 inch front firing unit that simply was not powerful enough for the large listening room I use. Set mid-room on a hardwood floor, the DSW Pro 660wi has more than enough power to fill the space with very low as well as the mid and upper sub woofer frequency range. They compliment very well my Polk Audio RTi A9 pair as well as the rest of the Polk Audio speakers in the room. Even at higher levels, it fills the room and seems to be hardly working with zero distortion. My receiver uses a microphone to balance the room and speakers and I am very pleased.

Pros: Beautiful Package. Powerful. Accurate.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Flakey on/off now dead

Steve from Spicewood, TX on 8/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had problems with the speaker responding to the remote which eventually was just a waste of time. It would thump in standby mode every time my central air conditioner came on, even though it was obviously not on the same circuit and was plugged into a quality surge protector. Did not use the system it was plugged into very often. Was slow to power on using the LFE and often would go to "sleep" while watching movies (meaning it shut itself down). Would constantly have to wake it up by powering it off and on. Now its dead. Read online that is a frequent issue with the amps from Polk. Waiting on response from Polk on cost of replacement amp. Considering replacing AMP with a Dayton SPA500 or just buying a new subwoofer from another brand.

Pros: It looked nice and the blinking blue light to tell you it was responding to the remote was cool when it actually responded to the remote.

Cons: Did not last. Amps are not reliable.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Big Bass- while it last

Sydney from Breaux Bridge, LA on 8/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding subwoofer - until the amplifier goes out!!! I looked at some other reviews that talk about problems with the Polk amplifiers. Same here, my subwoofer is still under warranty but my amplifier is not. Polk has offered to send me an amplifier that I can attempt to replace myself, at the cost of $300. NO THANKS

Pros: Very nice bass- from movies to music

Cons: After 3 years, don't expect much help if it goes out. Disappointed in Polk Audio

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Polk Audio DSW PRO 660wi

Darin from Easley, SC on 3/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This base is very big and difficult to position in a room with too many other things filling the space. The bass is unbelievable when I play music and movies. I'm overly impressed with the quality. I still haven't figured out all the controls on the side and the remote. Not too happy that they don't ship a cover for the speaker??? Too much money spent for this bass and it's not even complete.

Pros: Strong bass sound and quality.

Cons: No speaker cover included.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio DSW PRO 660wi

Crutchfield customer from Fort Edward, NY on 2/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

the subwoofer is great. the bass is awesome.

Pros: everything

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pounding great base but for only 3 years and one month!!!

Long term Polk Audio fan from Carbondale, IL on 12/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Finally purchased this as a part of my dream sound system including all Polk Audio speakers. I really liked this sub allot for 3 years and 1 month. Took good care of it and never abused it. Then the amplifier stopped working................now a paper weight. I still have to contact Polk Audio but the electronics warranty is 3 years it became non-functional at 3 years and 1 month so not too hopeful it will be a "free repair". I expect their support will be able to send me a replacement panel at my expense but right now unsure if its worth it it only lasts 3 years. I will provide update of how this is resolved with Polk Audio and modify the review. I hope Polk Audio support lives up to my expectations after being a big fan and customer of Polk Audio products for a few decades

Pros: Good at pounding bass within warranty period

Cons: once the 3 year electronics warranty period over, the amplifier dies.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Awesome subwoofer!

Dave from Cromwell, CT on 12/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Upgraded from a 13-year-old Klipsch subwoofer which gave me problems for many years, and wasn't really that powerful to begin with. My new Polk audio subwoofer is like a breath of fresh air. The bass is very powerful and precise. If you're looking for deep high-powered base, then look no further than this model. Coupled with my Pioneer elite receiver, and I couldn't be happier.

Pros: Very accurate, powerful, and precise bass.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great bass I like it

Thomas from Wa on 12/11/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great bass I like it

Pros: Great bass

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio DSW PRO 660wi

S. from Stevenson Ranch, CA on 12/11/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with the purchase! Although the wireless function was a bit Deceiving because there is no true wireless capacity (minus using a remote control- I was expecting to be able to connect subwoofer wirelessly to my receiver).

Pros: Where quality and sound exceeded expectation.

Cons: No true wireless connection from receiver to sub woofer.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio DSW PRO 660wi

Dennis from Marysville, WA on 11/21/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best sub you can buy. Me and 3 friends have owned the 440 and 550 and 660. would not buy any other brand.

Pros: They all come with remotes. no getting up to change settings.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Boom!

Richard from Ohio on 10/11/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced two polk 108'S with this sub and amazed at the difference! Also put an Auralex acoustic sub platform under it and it got even better!

Pros: Clean bass!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio DSW PRO 660wi

Crutchfield customer from Knoxville, TN on 9/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice sub but wireless ready is very misleading. Overall, the sub itself is a nice unit. However, it says that it is wireless ready and the adapter is listed on the Polk website but I have found out the product was discontinued a year ago. I was referred to a footnote on one of the pages by Polk customer service when I asked where to purchase one of the adapters.

Pros: nice sub

Cons: really isn't wireless ready

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

GREAT SUB for anyone who wants to FEEL great sound!!

James from Boylston, MA on 7/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

WOW, yes WOW. This IS the best bang for your buck! Excellent sub that blows away all similar competition! I am certainly pleased in this sub paired with my pioneer elite SC90 and custom towers. The pioneer does a self cal for the sub and all other spears to suit the room, but in case you don't have a fancy receiver you can do the self test cal and fine tune right on the sub to suit your set up. The only drawback to this sub is no optional grille is included, so due to this mine is still in down fire mode.

Pros: BASS! low freq phase options remote priced reasonable at 500...I would say this price is too much

Cons: no grill (optional)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio DSW PRO 660wi

John from Baker, LA on 6/15/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding performance with a variety of music as well as movies and games. Partners well with my Bose 301 series 5 speakers. Even gets the neighbors dancing now...

Pros: Several ways to fine tune to your individual tastes and acoustics.

Cons: The fine tuning takes a few minutes. In my opinion the results are well worth the time and effort.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great subwoofer

JD from Cherryville NC on 5/17/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have had numerous Polk audio products and been satisfied with all of them. This was an upgrade from a 550 and this one is definitely an improvement. The sound is full and tight even at low volume. I use this in a bar with just 2 channel audio and it is amazing. I also have SVS pb2000 and it is close to that one but not quiet as awesome. For my purpose this was an excellent choice and I would reccomend it to anyone and I would buy it again. This is a very good higher end subwoofer at a great value. As always crutchfield is great and my go to place for all my audio needs.

Pros: Good tight bass at all volumes really good and full at low volume

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Impressive Sub Woofer

Edward from Houston, TX on 4/20/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like everything about the sub woofer. Setup was easy, instructions were clear, sound is great. I liked the fact that this sub woofer could be installed downward or forward firing. I installed it forward firing. The only reason why I did not give it 5 stars is because it did not come with a grill. I had to purchase the grill separately and did not know it until I opened the box looking for the grill. My complements to the Crutchfield staff who helped me during the selection of the product and discussions on the missing grill. They are a great resource.

Pros: Easily installed Clear instructions Great sound Good controls Set up downward or forward firing

Cons: Does not come with a grill which must be purchase separately which is surprising for a sub woofer of this cost

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great sound quality and feature set!

Jeremy from Dalton, OH on 3/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great, deep bass while remaining clean, crisp and punchy. Impressive amount of features. Remote control works great! All around a great subwoofer!

Pros: Sound quality Features Remote control Design Build quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boom

Derek from Illinois on 1/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sub!!!

Pros: It's loud

Cons: Don't have room for more

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio DSW PRO 660wi

Crutchfield customer from Joliet, IL on 12/13/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this sub to replace / augment a DSW PRO 600. I have to say, the two models are night day from each other. The 660 just hits so much harder, rumbles so much smoother, and has an overall better sound to it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great Sub

Thadd from Boston, MA on 11/17/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This speaker easily fills my den as much bass as I want. Setup with my Onkyo receiver, I can put tremors through my three story house.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio DSW PRO 660wi

James from Orlando, FL on 11/17/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sub! Very musical yet can rattle the pictures on the wall.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

great sub

jesus from bronx, NY on 7/27/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

one of the best subwoofers for the price,fills up any room with quality bass.remote control is a plus

Pros: everything

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

great product

richard from Watertown, NY on 7/11/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I would have given 5 stars but my first unit went silent after 2 days. I had my first interaction with Crutchfield customer service after nearly 15 years of being a customer and the reviews are true. Great customer service and extremely knowledgable! They had a new one sent out to me that day. Very impressed with the sound quality. A very different low end then what I was getting with my 8inch Polk Audio. Louder obviously but less intrusive on how it produces the low ends.

Pros: Good quality like all Polk Audio

Cons: Had a bad amplifier on the first one but was replaced immediately by customer service.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Great Sound

Jose from Murrieta, Ca on 2/8/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have this sub running from my Marantz SR7009 and the bass that comes from this unit is awesome. Would recommend this all day.

Pros: Awesome response and bass

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great Subwoofer

Rob N. from California on 1/12/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Lots of thump. love it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Bass that shakes the room

Kathy M. from Virginia on 1/2/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow we have had this subwoofer installed for a couple of weeks last night. Once the rest of our speakers were installed we calibrated them to the room. This SW rocks! It has a great tone. Great purchase!

Pros: I love the fact that I can adjust the bass right on the speaker. I love the auto on setting.

Cons: None at this time!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Design Flaws. Good for Movies.

robodeo from California on 12/9/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Design: In theory front-facing option, but the mounted screw holes to connect the feet for this position are on the same side as the connections and controls (power switch, power cord, speaker wire)... oops! It could be placed on its side if you don't want to use feet. The volume cannot be adjusted w/out a remote. Personally not a big fan of bright blue light that shines when producing sound. Sound: Maybe I haven't allowed for sufficient break-in, but it sounds boomy with music, despite much tinkering with volume and crossover. I actually prefer the sound of my second subwoofer, an old 12" 250-watt JBL, which blends more seamlessly with the music. By contrast, for movies this is awesome!

Pros: Great for movie sound effects

Cons: Not refined for music. No front-facing firing option with feet. You could lay it on its side without the feet.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 12 found this helpful

Great Products , Great Company

Tolen from Texas on 8/27/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I checked various brands and their respective pricing for the past month or so, regarding a subwoofer to add to my existing entertainment system. Polk Audio, Klipsch, etc. were all considered. I went with a very nice Polk Audio unit with the additional wireless device. It is definitely worth the money that I spent! Very nice features, quality, etc. Crutchfield is a well-established company that I recall from when I was much younger. They are still on top of their game with great products, quick delivery and a painless, overall purchasing experience.

Pros: Very nice sound, appearance and many great features.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio DSW PRO 660wi

Crutchfield customer from Virginia on 8/1/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sub is great. So many options, have not even went through the all settings.

Pros: Great sound

Cons: None at moment

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Expected more

Polk Addict from Georgia on 7/6/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm using the DSW Pro 660wi with an original set of Polk SDA SRSs (the big ones) which by themselves have pretty solid base output. I'm driving the big Polks with a Nakamichi Stasis PA-7 II amplifier so they have plenty of punch. I bought this sub to reinforce the lowest of the lows which after reading all the reviews, I thought I had the answer. I tried hooking it up with speaker leads, from the "pre out" jacks of the Nakamichi CA-7, and now I'm using the Polk Wi-Fi system so I could position the sub in various parts in the room. The best position I found was downward firing centered between the SRSs or in the back of the room. The floor is carpeted which could be part of the problem so I will be getting a concrete slab to place it on to see if that helps. As it happens, I have an old Klipsch sub that I bought about 10 years ago as part of a video surround sound system. It's also a powered 12 inch system with about a 150 watt amp. Hate to say it but the Klipsch seems to outperform the Polk from a thump in the chest standpoint but is somewhat boomy and less accurate than the Polk. I guess that's a better way to say it - the Klipsch will rumble while the Polk remains tight and accurate with less volume. So I would say if you want deep rumble and shake things off your wall, this isn't the sub for you.

Pros: Great fit and finish. Wireless system works great and makes it easy to position and hook up to your system. Tight accurate bass - just not enough of it.

Cons: Although I hear it - I cannot feel this sub even with a bass drum thump my clothes don't react like they do with the Klipsch. If the concrete slab works or I find the sweet spot in the room, I will update this review. Right now the Klipsch is in my listening room and the Polk is hooked up to the surround sound system. Oh - and the rubber feet extensions for carpeted floors are a joke. Come on Polk - you can do better than that!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 9 found this helpful

Amazing Bass

M. Ishikawa from Connecticut on 6/6/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound is incredible and the remote connects perfectly with subwoofer. The subwoofer is worth the price.

Pros: Remote Control, Sound / Bass

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Polk 660wi

GaryE from Illinois on 6/1/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This sub will give some serious punch to your movie viewing pleasure.

Pros: Serious bass

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Almost Perfect

Jeff JW from Pennsylvania on 5/15/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Although I have not used the wireless option on this Sub Woofer ( and I have 2 of them) they perform very well with tight bass and the ability to get as much bass out of them as you would want in your home.

Pros: Easy to set up and install and then you can sit back and enjoy.

Cons: The feet on the speaker box should be another 1" longer to raise the speaker off of carpeting. Polk provides small extensions that slip into the feet mounted to the cabinet but they do not stay in place and fall out when you tilt the cabinet back into position. They are a real pain to get them to stay in place. IF you have to lift the speaker up for any reason they will fall out again and if you try to slide the speaker any amount to clean under it, these feet break off. Mine have.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Wow!

GB from Florida on 3/29/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Buy this yesterday! Rock solid construction. Very full and brings out low end with clarity for all styles of music and movies.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

BOOM

Craig from Philadelphis on 3/16/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Detailed room shaker.. Bass you can feel with this monster. Enjoy

Pros: Very clean look

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Item received in good condition

Daniel from Lansing, MI on 3/8/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Item received on time and in good condition.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Good power

Johnnyt88 from South Carolina on 3/7/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the second one of these and I love them. Great base for music and awesome for movies!

Pros: EZ hook up and great sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Very good boom

Alan M. from New York on 1/31/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought these speakers based on my knowledge of the company, the Crutchfield advisor's recommendation, and pricing. We paired the speakers with the Onkyo TX-NR828. They are truly wonderful speakers and I can see how couch potatoes are created. This sub woofer is really something. You have a lot a ability to create the sound you want. Glad I got it!

Pros: Sound,

Cons: None yet.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio DSW PRO 660wi

Crutchfield customer from Illinois on 1/7/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Sub and I like the wireless remote control

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good sub. Remote is fixable

Billy from Newtown nd on 1/5/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sub is excellent. It has the great 12" deep bass that shakes the house. People complain about the subs remote isn't very good, but I've found its just the battery. It doesn't make a good connection. It's actually an issue with a lot of the "flat skinny remote" types. All ya got to do is find a way to make a better connection. But once you have it set the way you want it you will rarely use the remote. I love this sub and I would recommend it.

Pros: Loud deep bass, easy hook up, and it's just what a home theater needs.

Cons: It's rather large. But you should know a 12" sub isn't exactly small.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk 660 sub

Crutchfield customer from Georgia on 12/20/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing sound! Sounds like a good southern thunderstorm shaking the whole house. Wife likes the night mode to allow her to sleep. Lol. Our son now has a love for good music and is addicted to thumping action movies. "Daddy, can we watch a movie with lots of explosions so the stereo can go boom!!!"

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

sub

brad from burlington on 10/14/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

its awsome love the way it sounds and shakes the room

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Big Boom

Gunter from Fox Point, WI on 8/1/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I added this sub to my home theater system where I was already running a 440. I wasn't sure if second sub would make a big difference. The first movie I watched I was very impressed. I'm glad my neighbors don't live too close. I'm very happy I added this sub to my system as the primary sub.

Pros: Easy Hook Up, wireless operation is seamless when paired with Polk pwsk-1. Deep powerful bass that makes movies come alive and music really rock.

Cons: Big and Heavy, but thats what you would expect with this powerful sub

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Pro 660 review

Joe from Marysville OH on 4/13/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my first sub ever, & must say, I am not disappointed. I bought the 660 during crutchfield's Polk sub promotion, & all I can say is wow! This bad boy can reach pretty low & shake the house....& that's at -3db. During movies like transformers, terminator or batman u feel like your right there in scene, & gives you that bass you can actually feel in your stomach. Paired with the Polk RTi A5's it absolutely rocks. Crutchfield's customer service is great too. I had org got the 550, & wanted a little more umph, & they swapped it, for the 660, with no hassle at all... & to make it easy for me they just charged me the difference & then refunded the price of the 550 to themselves once they received it. Thank you crutchfield!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Sub..

Andrew C. from Chandler AZ. on 3/6/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sub, took advantage of the discount since I bought new tower speakers, replaced my older Polk PSW111 with this bad boy, Unreal bass,...........no complaints here, would definitely recommend.You might irritate the neighbors..:)

Pros: Easy hook up, good quality, amazing bass...

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Polk Audio DSW PRO 660wi

JamesB from Fairfield, Ct on 1/6/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

To test out my new sub I played Dire Straits, "Brothers In Arms" Track 2- Money For Nothing. I set the volume to 34, the phase shifter to 180, the room optimiser to the corner setting, all with the included remote, which works flawlessly if you read the owner's manual. The result was nothing less than incredible. Polk has created a Monster! It blew me head off completely! Also sounds great with volume turned down to 26- 28. Blends seemlessly w/ the 4 Polk LSi M 703's. It's like being in a concert hall.

Pros: Clean, sturdy build, awsome quality bass, as loud or mild as you like it.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

Polk Audio DSW PRO 660wi

Crutchfield customer from South Lake Tahoe, CA on 12/26/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This sub hits very nice on the lows, and sounds great. My buddy has 2 10" polk 550's, and this single 660wi i think sounds better than his two.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Deep Clean Bass

JCD from Miami, FL on 12/14/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It doesn't matter where this sub is placed, the rich bass coming out of it envelops the room. Now I am hearing lows never like before. Worth the price!

Pros: Deep Clean Low at any level.

Cons: Annoying rattle sound when powering up.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Nice sub

Mike D. from Carrollton GA on 8/9/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this subwoofer to replace my 10+ year old Polk PSW 650. I was hoping to find something that would compare to the twin 10" speakers of the 650. When it arrived I was pleased to see that the build quality of the sub is still top rate, (the 650 was built like a tank). It has a nice looking finish and a good solid feel to it. So far I have only used this sub with the woofer facing down. Straight out the box I thought the sound was a little too tight, but after about an hour of use it started loosening up some. I'm guessing that the sub requires some break in time. My only complaint is the volume control. I wish there was some indication of where the setting is at. A previous review complained that the LED wont turn off, but mine does using the LED button on the remote. I think this sub is a great replacement for my previous one, and I look forward to another 10+ years of use.

Pros: Build quality, powerful bass

Cons: volume control a little quirky .

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Awesome!

Tubby Pirate from Las Vegas, NV on 8/2/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing sound. The bass is nice and tight which is a matter of preference but I like it better than loose and floppy. Awesome room-filling even on lower volumes. The remote is nice for on-the-fly volume changes. There is also a "Night" mode which just decreases the volume by a set amount but it is a nice feature for when you are trying to be quieter.

Pros: Remote Great sound

Cons: LED should be able to be turned off completely.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Excellent choice

Ken from Gulf Breeze,FL on 7/5/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This sub sounds great it rocks the house and it sounds cristal clear even with the stero turned up.I am very happy with it.

Pros: Looks very nice in my living room

Cons: I have no bad things to say about this sub it works,sounds,and looks great

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

BIG Subwoofer....BIG SOUND

AJ from Lawrence, KS on 6/21/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Paired with Polk Blackstone TL350. Great sound together: amazing deep experience fo both music & movies. Great look also: clean & pure Did not try the wifi set-up. Nice features like Night mode to make sure your kids keep sleeping at night Also, this subwoofer is BIG!!! I had measured where to put it prior to ordering it. Still, ended up being bigger than what I expected. Be ready for it. Could almost be mistaken with a chair.... Would be a 5 star if remote was better quality, more user friendly.

Pros: Build quality & look Sound quality Easy to set-up

Cons: Remote control is cheap

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Polk DSW-Pro-660wi

attriti0n from The Woodlands on 1/28/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very impressed with this sub! It puts out very clean bass, even with highly complex notes and at very high output. It is a great fit with my Polk towers, center, and surround speakers and is easy to set up in the room with the location and phase keys on the remote. It thought about a Velodyne DD+-12, but I am glad I chose this instead!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Polk Audio DSW PRO 660wi

john from kinston, nc on 1/23/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

really nice sub...awesome with 7.1 system

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Polk Audio DSW PRO 660wi

BrianD from Shelton, CT on 1/13/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This sub sounds great. My wife complains that it sounds like sitting outside a movie theater from the kitchen, which is exactly what I was shooting for. The remote is quirky, but once it was set up with the Audessy utility in the receiver, I don't have a need for it it at all.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

12 Inches of Fun!

BrianP from Kentucky on 1/11/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced my old Samsung all-in-one system that used an 8" sub with this monster. I have a small room and it just rocks the house! I do use the remote to adjust the output from time to time. I tried the phase controls, but left it at "0" as I could not tell that it helped. I'm no audiophile, but paired with the TL350's, the 5.1 setup with my AVR is awesome!

Pros: Easy setup and the included remote makes it simple to adjust how much bass you need for different media. Looks nice the blue LED matches the other components.

Cons: None at this time.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Polk Audio DSW PRO 660wi

Steve from Wareham, MA on 1/5/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Incredible speaker, but a bit overkill for our home theater application. That said, the neighbors like it...

Pros: Big sound, and the neighbors like it!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

WOW Just WOW

Loving It from Rock Hill, SC on 12/28/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wasn't sure what to expect on this one. I had been checking reviews for some time on the subs but this was a last minute change for me. I was leaning toward a lower Polk Audio series sub but I am glad I upgraded to this one. Worth the money? YES With Crutchfield's $300 off Polk Audio sub with the purchase of a Polk Audio surround system this was in the budget. Great range and volume from this sub and it is clear as a bell even at high volume.

Pros: Value, styling, clarity, price

Cons: None at this time

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Polk Audio DSW PRO 660wi

Crutchfield customer from Campbell, CA on 12/10/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This thing is freakin awesome!! We were watching Expendable's 2 the other night and the 660 was movin my recliner on the hardwood floor.

Pros: Like the wireless feature, great sound.

Cons: Not too keen on the remote or the base control on the back. No way to know what level your at. Trial and error is fun but a digital meter or progressive light strip would be a plus.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Great Thump!

Fran W from Phiaelphia, PA on 12/6/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sub. First one I had was a lemon... Called Crutchfield on a Sunday by Wednesday I received a new sub and not 1 issue. Deep clear bass, great great sub!

Pros: Supurb bass, great look...

Cons: The size could be an issue for some others but does not bother me... The one thing I do not like is the base control. It is not a knob. It is an up buton and down button so you do not know where you stand with bass (do not want to blow your sub out)... Other than that it is perfect!

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Polk Audio DSW PRO 660wi

BA from Lakeland, Florida on 11/6/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wireless option is fantastic. Placed speaker behind cabinet with speaker facing upward. Cannot be seen , only heard

Pros: Great , lowest bass sound ever

Cons: must turn speaker on and off with remote (minor inconvenience)

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

DSW Pro 660wi

brelsj from Phoenix on 10/20/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The remote control for the sub woofer did not work right out of the box. I replaced the battery but no help. I've sent a query to Polk Audio but looking at the forums this issue has been around for almost 2 years. The subwoofer itself works fine and produces excellent sound, however, without the remote several of the adjustment functions are not available. I use the wireless kit and experience subwoofer noise as I walk by the wireless antenna. Overall I'm satisfied with the subwoofer but the remote control issue reflects poorly on Polk's quality control.

Pros: Outstanding sound and the wireless kit makes locating the subwoofer a snap.

Cons: The remote doesn't work. This is absolutely ridiculous since it's a known problem which has been around for a while. Noise from movement in the room gets transmitted to the subwoofer by the wireless system. I'll try moving the antenna to see if I can eliminate the feedback.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Awesome Subwoofer

Stephen D from Glastonbury,CT on 8/2/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I couldn't be happier with my pair of DSW Pro660wi subwoofers, paired with the Polk Audio PSWK-1 wireless kits. The bass they produce is phenomenal. My wife has insisted that I turn the bass volume down considerably. But, when she is away, we watch movies that we now can feel in a totally new way. I love these speakers. You probably have to hear them to believe how incredible they are. I did have some trouble with them initially, but don't expect that I would have the same trouble if I were to buy them new again. I am not a real tech guy, but what I know now is that the dongle that comes with the wireless kit needs to be firmly pushed into the subwoofer to make a good contact...otherwise it doesn't work (ie., no sound). It really takes quite a firm push. The other thing is that the wireless transmitters need to be far enough away from a power source and each other to avoid interference. Otherwise you end up with the speakers crackling, even when there is no music playing at all. I love these subwoofers. They are a great value. I am also amazed at how patient and competent the sales and tech support staff are at Crutchfield. These were not my first Crutchfield purchase, and certainly won't be my last. They helped me through a several months long process of trying to set up my home theater system (balancing construction in the basement with my hectic work travel schedule and family commitments). But, they were always there when I needed them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Polk sub

Danielb from Palmer Alaska on 2/3/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds incredible, opted to use wired setup. This makes many home theater and allowed me to get smaller front and center chanel speakers since bass was not an issue. Best sub I've ever had. So happy with this purchase.

Pros: Sounds great, looks good, could use wirelessly in the future if needed.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Polk Audio DSW PRO 660wi

Bill from Concord CA on 2/2/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great sounding subwoofer. Don't have to turn up the sound to here the sub. But if you must turn up the sound, then this thing rock the furniture. For the price you can't beat it.

Pros: Great Looking and has a lot of base at the low in.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

DSW PRO660wi - Great Subwoofer!

KerryD from Lafayette,LA on 1/23/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love the sound that this subwoofer produces. It is physically larger than I expected but the sound that im geting from it makes up for all of its minor flaws. I've got it teamed up with the Polk RTI A7 front speakers, Polk FXi a6 Surrounds, and the Polk CSI A4 Center. Some friends of mine have a comparable Klipsch Reference 62 setup(costs the same as what I got my Polk setup for). The 3 face 12" subwoofer that they have doesn't quite sound as great to me as this one. I spent a lot of time doing research and decided on this one because I thought it would be the most BOOM for my buck. I have previewed most of the subs that the local stores offer and would not trade this sub for any of them, even if they were the same price. Unless you get one of the subs with the quadrilateral bass radiator(which I have yet to try), you probably can't find a better sounding 12" sub.

Pros: No distortion at high volumes Clean bass response Front or Down firing options

Cons: Remote control is infrared and requires direct line of sight or an IR repeated Pricey if you dont get it as part of a package.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Not so impressed

Nick L from Nevada City, CA on 4/27/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this during the promotion Crutchfield had back in February and I still don't have a fully operational unit. After going back and forth for months with different remotes and subs they finally decided it's definitely not the remote. The unit turns on and fires up however the remote has no effect on it. Since 90% of it's features can only be used with the remote all I can do is power it on and change volume. Browsing through Polk's support site it appears there are many of these that have bad IR receivers. Crutch supposedly tested the second unit before sending to me however after pressing the remote and seeing a response for 5 times it stopped responding. LAME. I like my Polk TC80i ceiling speakers and definitely think most Polk equipment sounds gresat however I am sincerely disappointed with getting two defective units in a row. Also, a heavy sub like this is not so easy to deal with when it comes to shipping back and forth. One last thing is that when it's in the front firing position it has no isolation feet and sits directly on floor. One of the Crutch reps even told me to drill holes in it "it should work if you don't drill too deeply" he says. It would be nice for tech support to at least look at the construction and supplied feet before recommending such half brained solutions. [Editor's Note: Review has been forwarded to our Tech Support to contact you. The feet on this sub can be repositioned without drilling.]

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

15 of 29 found this helpful

Down/Front Firing & Wireless!

Kaplan303 from Boonton, NJ on 3/29/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for a downfiring subwoofer with a 12" cone that had wireless capabilities. I have two small children and a dog which is why I insisted on downfiring. One's imagination is all that is needed to know what kind of damage any of those household members would do to a front firing sub. Add to that, a wife who likes to re-arrange the furniture, and wireless becomes a must-have option. After a brief conversation with Chip at Crutchfield, I was convinced that this unit fill the bill. Easily convertible from down to front firing, I can change my configuration to front firing, if desired, when my kids grow older. For now, the 500 watts of bass driving into my carpet sounds perfect in my 16' x 20' room with vaulted ceilings. I paired this with four Polk 8" in-wall speakers and a Polk A4 center channel. This combo makes my Onkyo TX-NR808 crank with excellent clarity and well defined tones. The DSW Pro660 also comes with extensions to the four legs so you can add a bit of distance between the coneface and the floor. The Polk wireless kit was obviously built for this series so it works perfectly and has a handy remote which allows me to crank up the bass without getting up. I HIGHLY recommend this unit to all.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

15 of 15 found this helpful

thunder struck

Dan.T from Channahon IL on 3/19/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

GREAT SUB,WAS LOOKING AT OTHER SUBS COSTING TWICE AS MUCH,BUT SETTLED FOR THIS ONE,SINCE I HAVE THE RTI-9 TOWERS,ALL I WANTED WAS TO ADD A LITTLE MORE BASS, THIS SUB REALLY MADE THE RTI-9 COME TO LIFE, ADDING TIGHT HARD HITTING BASS YOU CAN FEEL,WOW! IS ALL I CAN SAY,I FEEL LIKE I'VE BEEN THUNDER STRUCK,GREAT FOR HARD ROCK LIKE AC/DC BLACK ICE CD,BLACK CROWS,CLAPTON ETC,I ALSO HAVE A 300W 2CH AMP-PRE AMP POWERING THIS SYSTEM WHICH MAKES ALL THE DIFFERENCE IN THE WORLD. BUY THIS SUB ITS ALL YOU'LL EVER NEED,AND THANKS CRUTCHFIELD FOR THE FREE SUB I GOT AND YOUR GREAT CUST SERVICE AND TECH SUPORT

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 14 found this helpful

Thunder Struck

Dan. T from channahon IL on 3/13/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking at other subs that cost twice as much, but did;nt want to spend 12-- 1600 bucks, so i settled on this one, boy i am glad i did, i have the polk rti- 9 tower speakers,and this sub blends in nicely, adding that extra kick in bass that you can actually feel hitting you in the legs, I have a 300 watt per ch amp. I have a denon 2311 rec. that i now use for surround sound, great rec, i bought from crutchfield, but not enough power for the polks,now with this sub and the amp and pre amp my system is complete, I mainly listen to rock,blues

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Scary awesome!

Misterkraft from Sammamish, WA on 2/8/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I upgraded from the PSW125 and couldn't be happier. The 125 is a toy compared to this thing. When first playing the 660 it almost made me nervous because it's so powerful. This sub is downright violent and has tons of power. I used to have the 125 at about 90% power and this is at about 60% and plenty. The power makes a big difference during extended LFEs where the sub is being pushed a little, but it still doesn't feel like I'm even stressing it all. The power gives it the punch you would normally find in a 10inch sub, but I this it's just so power that it can move the 12 effortlessly. Buy this sub and you won't be sorry!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

17 of 17 found this helpful

TOP