Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Polk Audio HTS 12

Powered subwoofer (Classic Brown Walnut)

MFR # AM6516-A

Polk Audio HTS 12

Polk Audio HTS 12

Powered subwoofer (Classic Brown Walnut)

MFR # AM6516-A

51 reviews
View this product

Looks and Sounds Great

Crutchfield customer from Santa Maria, CA on 10/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced about a 20 year old 10" Infinity Sub that I thought sounded pretty good with this 12" to match the Signature Series S55 Towers and S30 Center and what a difference in not only sound but also feel! Explosions in movies are extremely low and shake the house, gunshots have a nice crisp punch. I highly recommend this 12" Polk Sub as well as the entire Polk Signature Series.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio HTS 12

Crutchfield customer from Idaho Falls, ID on 10/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing tight clean bass. I replaced an older Polk with this model and there is a huge difference. Upgrade today! You will not regret it!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome subwoofer Polk hit it out of the park with this one.

Crutchfield customer from Miami, FL on 10/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent choice for any home theater. You will definitely not be disappointed. Should you be it will only be because you didn't purchase two of these bad boys. Two for esthetic reasons only, one of these has enough low response to bring down the house.

Pros: To me personally this sub has all positives and no negatives. Plenty of power, you'll fill the room with pressure you can feel in your chest.

Cons: At this price point I really can't find any cons.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio HTS 12

Crutchfield customer from North Potomac, MD on 9/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This subwoofer is very good. It significantly improves the bass from existing speakers.

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great subwoofer for the money

Crutchfield customer from Muskego, WI on 9/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

sounds good, looks good, packaged well, priced was great though Crutchfield. I have this as a second subwoofer along with my SVS. I didn't want to fork over another $500 for another SVS so I picked this one up at half the cost. Not quite as good sounding as my SVS but I didn't expect it to. I'm overall pleased with my purchase and the quality for what I paid.

Pros: looks, price, sound, packaging

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Should have gotten two.

Crutchfield customer from Morganton, NC on 9/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great, beautiful small step up from the older 505. Replaced a psw505 that was one of a pair. This one seems to out perform the 2nd 505 I still have. It sure looks better this thing is pretty.

Pros: Style

Cons: None at this price.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio HTS 12

Kevin from Yorkville, IL on 9/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sub and great price. Crutchfield has the best customer service around.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio HTS 12

Juan Torrens from CANOVANAS, PR on 9/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I brought this subwoofer in Labor Day specials, and is the best subwoofer for $200. I am very happy with the purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sub woofer

Crutchfield customer from Corpus Christi, TX on 9/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have two of them with my system great sound from Polk Audio

Pros: Great

Cons: No

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio HTS 12

Rigoberto from Lares, PR on 9/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was surprised at the solid sound it has, it's like I have a new Home Theater, my previous subwoofer was a Polk PSW125.

Pros: It is not complicated to use, very easy.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio HTS 12

Crutchfield customer from Florence, AZ on 9/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome sound from the Polk HTS 12 subwoofer! I now have two and the bass from both is amazing. Great looking unit as well, blends in well with furniture.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio HTS 12

Crutchfield customer from Beaumont, TX on 7/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like it

Pros: Nice look

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio HTS 12

Crutchfield customer from Norman , OK on 6/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Deep clean bass. I was hoping it would greatly out perform my MTX 12in that I have had for over 20 yrs. It does but not to the degree I was anticipating. Perhaps it just needs a little more break in time but I have been driving it pretty hard. It does greatly out perform the MTX for movies and I love the LFE connection.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio HTS 12

Crutchfield customer from Bellville, OH on 4/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My current sub quite working and called Crutchfield for advice on a new sub. The Polk was recommended and have very pleased. Sub has excellent base even at low volume and looks great. Thank you Crutchfield for the excellent advice.

Pros: You can hear and feel the base, even at low volumes.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Scott from Oklahoma City

Crutchfield customer from Oklahoma City, OK on 4/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I ordered a Polk surround system from Crutchfield over 20 years ago. The system was still working great. I wanted a newer digital amp and more robust front and center speakers. Polk was my choise because I am still using my old satellite speakers for my new 7.2 system.. now it sounds even more crisp with awesome low and middle ranges. If you want something that lasts buy POLK. You will be amazed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great speakers for a great price buying 3 more

Ralph from Como, CO on 4/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been using polk speakers for over 20 yrs and they still work great. I moved up to a Denon avr x6400h so after using my monitor 60s,70s and then to 500s I decided to get a whole new set of speakers and having good luck with polk I moved up to the Rti series 3s,7s,9s and my 505 subs looked old. I've been watching the Ht 12s but 449.00 was to much. Buying from Crutchfield I got some scratch and dent I got an email that the price went down. I got this sub for 299.00. I got it ups in 2 days. The box was a little ruff but when I opened it up it was like brand new. Not counting it looks so modern and way bigger than my 505s. Put in a dvd and this thing came to life. Wow. U could tell the difference right away. I run 4 subs so I'm getting 3 more 1 at a time. Saving 50.00 extra was great this is the second purchase of dents and Crutchfields doesn't send banged up items. Highly recamend both polk and crutchfields.

Pros: Size, sound, looks great, big base , great price

Cons: Needs a little bit more power

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio HTS 12

Crutchfield customer from Bradenton, FL on 4/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good sound and high quality audio from a good strong bass.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Subwoofer

Crutchfield customer from Dawsonville, GA on 4/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice deep vibration, shakes the room.

Pros: Great sounding

Cons: None as of yet.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio HTS 12

Crutchfield customer from Milledgeville, GA on 4/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The service and adviser's are great and wish I could give more of a review however my Denon reciever crashed and I have not been able to enjoy the speakers I purchased yet. One thing is for sure Denon needs to attend Crutchfields customer service training program. You have to send the reciever back to be repaired and so far I sent it back 2 times and 2 months of time has pasted and still can enjoy my speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Tight bass

Crutchfield customer from Woodruff, SC on 3/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome tight bass response that can reproduce low frequencies with ease! Wonderful quality too!!

Pros: Great quality for the proce!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio HTS 12

Crutchfield customer from Billings, MT on 3/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome sub - both in sound and in looks. We finally have a sub that can output bass we can feel in our large living room. It is a big enclosure so make sure you measure first. :)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pretty and Smooth

Crutchfield customer from Fairdale, KY on 2/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

An amazing sounding sub with super smooth low frequency response. Couple that with Polk's quality and you have a product that will please the audiophile in everyone.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio HTS 12

Alexander from Toa Baja, PR on 12/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow. Looks beautiful. Sound great fill the hole room. Greate customers service!

Pros: Powerful and effective. You can fell in you chest.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio HTS 12

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 12/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very satisfied with the product but more with the service provided by Miss Mandy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Engineered to fail....sadly.

josh from Tampa, FL on 11/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This the second sub I received. The first one was dead on arrival, Crutchfield was great and promptly sent me a replacement. This woofer has a very nice design and as far as looks it is probably the nicest. The part that counts, what does it sound like? This sub is ok, it provides deep accurate bass and compliments a home theater well during movies. Listening to music on the other hand sounds ok but pops at mid to high volume during a steady bass line. Upon further inspection, I suspect the popping is due to lack of power to the driver. The wires leading from amp to the driver are just tiny. I have never seen such anemic wires (probably 22 AWG) on a sub and remember that they are supposed to feed 200 watts of power to the driver. Polk ought to be ashamed of that and as a customer of Polk for many occasions, I feel like a sucker. I have headphones that have heavier gauge wires then these. Smaller wires will create much more heat on both the driver and amp and thus shorter life. Engineered to fail? I think yes.

Pros: nice exterior design accurate response at low to mid volume during music good for tv and movies.

Cons: poor heat sinking underrated wires "popping" at mid to high volumes during a steady bass line.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Better have a big room for this one

Chris from Grants Pass, OR on 10/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's all about where you put it... Incredible sound! Super clear and deep. Way too much power for me. This thing took over my living room. I could almost feel my chest vibrating three houses away. Great way to make your neighbors hate you. It had to be returned. I had it in the middle of my 15'x30' With 8' ceilings, that was the only way I could make it it usable in my house. I ended up returning it as it was just too much sub for me. I went with an SVS sealed box sub and it is more tameable for my needs. The look and finish on the Polk were also top notch. I wish I could have kept it.

Pros: Super deep, super clear sound. The port design is magic. This sub will overpower smaller rooms. Also, room placement is everything with this one.

Cons: Too much power and sound for a small size house.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pounding powered sub

Craig from Tollhouse, CA on 8/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product....open box,could not find any defects.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Amazing quality for the price!

Nicholas from Akron, OH on 8/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have always been a Polk Audio fan because they are an exceptional value. You get amazing quality for what I consider a bargin price sale or not. So I began building my new home theater system a few months back and my advisor Kristina has been there to help every step of the way. I have built an all Polk Signature 5.2 system (Atmos is next) and am thrilled with the results. I started with the Polk S55 towers paired with dual Polk hts 10 subwoofers along with the S35 center and s10 surrounds...this was great but I wanted more for my large room so I swapped to the s60 towers it was a fantastic upgrade but I felt I needed to go bigger on the subwoofers for a little more oomph. So let's get to my review of the HTS 12 subwoofer. For years I have used 2 subwoofers because I achieve poor room response with only one and experience uneven bass across all seats. The Hts 12 makes everything sound richer and fuller with tons of depth for both music and movies. Movies are intense and coupled with the other signature series speakers completely enveloping. It performs effortlessly. I highly recommend the Hts 12 for the price! Get 2 you won't regret it!

Pros: Well rounded with accurate sound. Adds tremendous depth to movies and music

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great bass

Ken from Pierson, MI on 8/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's awesome. The bass is more than enough. Would recommend.

Pros: Solid bass. No need to max volume. Nice looking enclosure.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio HTS 12

Brian from St Louis, MO on 7/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Polk Audio HTS 12 is a 100% complete package. The sound quality that comes from this sub is really good. Bass is tight, accurate and clean. I also own the polk audio S60's mains, S35 center, and S20's rears and honestly they are all amazing. Powered with a Yamaha RX-A2070 I have zero complaints. Back to the sub, if you are trying to blow away your friends with sound; well this sub will do that. I really can not put into words the overall tonal balance of Polks new signature line, and this subwoofer is the perfect match for the system.

Pros: Sound Value Quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Ok bass

Rob from Brownsville, TX on 7/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ok bit bulky but sounds pretty good. Not to great in bigger rooms

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio HTS 12

Mike from Crestwood, KY on 7/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is replacing a 10" Sony sub and I should have make the upgrade sooner. I love the tightness of this subwoofer, worth every penny.

Pros: Price and build

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Awesome bass

Patrick from Queen Creek, AZ on 7/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This subwoofer is awesome. Our living room now has become a movie theater. We love it and works great for movies and music. Plus the brown matches perfect to our TV stand.

Pros: Great sound, perfect matching color

Cons: None yet!

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great bass and lfe

John from Sandwich, IL on 7/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had a psw111 sub but decided to upgrade to this sub after buying new signature series speakers. The bass in music and lfe sounds in movies is a big improvement over my old sub. The sound from this sub is much more defined. I kept the old sub on all the time because the auto on/off didn't work so well but now I can use a 12 volt trigger to turn this sub on and off. As a bonus the black walnut matches the other speakers in my system. I definitely recommend this sub.

Pros: Well defined bass and lfe. 12 volt trigger.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio HTS 12

FrankenFish from Vero Beach, FL on 6/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It will shake your house . fills my 18x20 living room deep low bass .sounds great playing music or movies replaced older Bose lifestyle 48 system

Pros: great for music or movies

Cons: none, might be too bid for smaller rooms

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fantastic Low Frequency

Crutchfield customer from KS on 6/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Expensive, but worth it! This is an amazing piece of audio equipment. I'm experiencing bass with this one single sub that I never did before with two lesser subs. The one this 200 watt sub replaced was 250 watts, but it never delivered such full rich bass like I am getting now. I will eventually buy another one identical to this one. I will also be replacing all my other speakers with Polk speakers. I am definitely sold on Polk Audio equipment.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio HTS 12

Crutchfield customer from Freeport, NY on 5/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, really brings movies and music to life!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Fancy modern body with clean boom

Jeffrey from Seattle, WA on 4/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very happy with my HTS 12. The black finish matches the finish on my Polk center speaker. The build and appearance of the HTS 12 is fantastic. Very clean bass. My main use of it is for movies, and this sub brings the experience to a whole new level. After calibrating with my Denon receiver, medium subwoofer volume control is perfect for movies. It is very loud and I don't have to crank up the subwoofer volume control. Highly recommended.

Pros: Great Sound Great Quality Chassis

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

14 of 16 found this helpful

Polk Audio HTS 12

Crutchfield customer from Wellford, SC on 4/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bass is tremendous!

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio HTS 12

John from Lancaster, OH on 4/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds good and the price is not bad considering what you get with this package. I am still tweaking this into a second system in a finished basement.

Pros: Good tight bass.Very pleasant to look at tucked in a corner.

Cons: Too big to hide from the wife

Crutchfield response on

8 of 11 found this helpful

Polk Audio HTS 12

Crutchfield customer from San Juan, PR on 4/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This subwoofer is great, it sounds great and looks slick.Highly recommended.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio HTS 12

RAYMUNDO P. from Escondido, CA on 3/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome sub

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Powered Subwoofer

Terrence from Milwaukie, OR on 3/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Makes my TSx550t's sound even better!

Pros: Sound and appearance compliments towers and decor; easy to install.

Cons: Prefer cherry to Walnut finish.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Tried them, liked them

Jim from Cincinnati, OH on 3/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced my old Polk ported subs with two of these. They are cleaner sounding than the old ones. No "boominess" to them at all. Just clean and clear. I run duals all the time and they are shared between my Onkyo (for the home theatre) and my Nad M2, along with the Paradigm 100's for music. They sound great with both.The room they are in is a large room with vaulted ceilings, hardwood floors, half walls and large glass windows everywhere - an acoustic nightmare- and they fill the room just fine. I don't miss a single note. And they look good too! I was looking at some higher end ported subs, but due to the room configuration (and wife) I needed something with a smaller footprint. These fit the bill and I am very happy that I made this choice.

Pros: Clean clear quality pounding bass. Oh yeah!

Cons: I had to turn the volume up a little higher than my old, less powerful Polks, but that is probably because the old ones ported out of the front.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Sub

Greg from Douglasville, GA on 3/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. I already have a set of Polk tower speakers and this sub picks up where they leave off. Greatly enhances the sound!!

Pros: Great finish, build quality, and of course, sound.

Cons: None so far!!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Thumps!!!!!

Michael from Indianapolis, IN on 3/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this sub. Completes my home theater in style and sound. Had it set way too high when I first hooked it up and it shook the walls. Heard no distortion just pounding bass. Love Polk signature series in look and function. Major upgrade from old onkyo theater in a box system. Highly recommend.

Pros: Beautiful, thumps, no distortion

Cons: Nothing yet, doubt I'll find anything in future.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio HTS 12

Crutchfield customer from Tampa, FL on 2/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Besides looking like a work of art it really sounds great. It completes my system so well I listen to my music more now.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio HTS 12

Crutchfield customer from Duffield, VA on 1/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great addition to any home theater setup. Great sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio HTS 12

Michael from Edmond, OK on 12/20/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Top Of the line sub awsome great strong bass Polk Audio did it again

Pros: Massive bass

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio HTS 12

Keith from Henrico, VA on 12/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the best home theater sub I've ever owned so nice I almost bought it twice

Pros: Massive lows

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

awesome thump

ron from Tennessee (TN) on 12/15/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

WOW this thing THUMPS ! clean and clear, and Crutchfield is the best

Pros: Very good Quality, hard hitting and clear as a bell

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

TOP