Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
445 559 539 3
Connect ID #
445 559 539 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Polk Audio Legend L100

Bookshelf speakers (Black Ash)

MFR # AM8615-A

Polk Audio Legend L100

Polk Audio Legend L100

Bookshelf speakers (Black Ash)

MFR # AM8615-A

13 reviews
View this product

Pint sized, and delightfully refined audio Juggernaut

Shane from Bossier City, LA on 6/18/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had recently decided to upgrade my system, but also reduce footprint. all without compromise of sound. After some extensive research I settled on the L100s, and I am so glad i did. The clarity in the highs are unsurpassed at this price or even sub $2k. The mid extension is dynamic and ever present. not getting lost in complex music or layered movie sequences. The low range is appropriate for a bookshelf with 5 1/4 inch drivers. I will talk a bit about power. several have said in their reviews how they need power to shine , and I agree, but it's not as simple as pure watts/channel. These speakers require CLEAN QUALITY power and good preamp or DAC. Basically you can drive these with 80 watts from an entry level amp and it wouldn't sound as good as 40 watts from a parasound or NAD amp. Power is definitely important, but not simply from a purely watts/channel assessment. Bottom line: These little monsters can take nearly everything you throw at them and never even break a sweat. They sound excellent, but pair them with a high end receiver and a solid subwoofer, and they perform well beyond their stature. A complete no brainer, and unrivaled performer at sub $1k a pair.

Pros: Tweeters produce the most clear and detailed highs on any speaker in this price range. Great for music and movies.

Cons: Need a subwoofer to have a full range of sound - especially for movies.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Exceptional Bookshelf Speaker

Edward from Rapid City, SD on 5/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

An exceptional bookshelf speaker. I bought them for the surrounds in my home theater after purchasing the L800s as my L/R. After unpacking, I first hooked them up in my upstairs 2-channel system ... amazing speakers, has changed my whole perspective on quality bookshelf speakers. These could easily stand on their own for music listening, great bass, miss, and highs ... just feed them with a quality amp, I find that these, and even the L800s don't need gobs of power, what they need is quality amplification. Case in point, I drove both sets of speakers with a PrimaLuna Evo300 Tube integrated amp, max 36 wpm and it powered them with ease. I had the L800s hooked up for @ a month, the L100s just for a day, but man, are these speakers legit! Worth every penny, zero regrets. Very highly recommended.

Pros: Build quality, fit & finish, excellent bass response ... fabulous overall frequency response, can easily stand on their own.

Cons: zero ...

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Mishawaka

Larry from Mishawaka on 3/9/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought used 2 weeks ago. Using 1977 mega reciever Sansui 8080 this easily powers these great speakers! I also have a sub which I have to turn down, because of the punch these have. Nice imaging . My listening room is small 11x11 with 1window and 3 doors. These speaker are very powerfull. The more you listen the better they sound. Room filling sound.

Pros: Put on speakers stands at 28 inches work just right

Cons: none here

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio Legend L100

Crutchfield customer from Mantua, NJ on 12/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Staff was great to work with insuring that my amplifier had enough juice for these speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Better than R200

Guest from Detroit, MI on 11/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Compared these to the Polk Reserve R200. The ceiling for the L100 is much higher than the R200. More clarity, more dynamic bass, more spacious sound. L100 is definitely a huge upgrade over the R200.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Shockingly Good

Guest from Redlands, CA on 11/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am shocked by how much i like the way these sound with my Technics SU-G700. I have speakers in house that are almost 2000 dollars, and I keep coming back to these Polks.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Polk Audio Legend L100

Guest from Seaford, DE on 10/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I used to have Polk LSi9s - I thought they were the most amazing speakers. I purchased the R100s and even though I liked their sound I regretted not purchasing the L100s. Eventually, I returned the R100s and purchased the L100s. They may have the same drivers but the cabinets on the L100s are truly exceptional. In any event, they deserve Polk's high end category and I could not be happier. Please don't be put off by some of the reviews that claim they are power hungry. I am using a Marantz PM6007 integrated amplifier which outputs 60 watts into 4ohms along with a subwoofer (Martin Logan) in a small den. The Marantz has plenty of power for the L100s in my room. Your mileage may vary. In any event, the Polk L100s are superb - you will not be disappointed. At their current price, you won't find anything that can touch them. Recent speakers I have auditioned in my home - Revel Concerta2 M16, Quad S-1, JBL HDI-1600 - Overall, the Polk L100s are the best of these.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Polk L100

Crutchfield customer from Wrightstown, WI on 8/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These L100 polk speakers are really special. Ive owned over 12 pairs of stand mounted speakers from 600$ a pair up to 2500$ a pair . These polks have the lowest base response of the lot . They sound like sealed speakers on the bass response, but do need at least 18-24 inches off a back wall to tame the bass . They are very neutral, and similar to a studio monitor, but with a giant soundstage. Most all my sacd , xrcd and blu ray audio discs sound live , and the speakers completely disappear into a soundstage. The L100s need a bit of toe-in and ABSOLUTELY need to be driven in 4 Ohms . Your amp needs to be able to push out 80w to max of 160w in 4 Ohms to make these incredibly fast speakers come alive . They are loud and full sounding at a price point that beats all but one pair of pricy dynaudio bookshelf speakers Ive owned . An audio system is completely the sum of it's parts , but theses polk L100s will be with me for quite a long time . When using a bookshelf speaker no matter the price . they all have their limitations , but these polks are near perfect for a mid-level and audiophile who also loves EDM/dance , rap , as well movies ( bass is deep ) . Just pair these L100 with a quality amp , source and let the smiles begin . Only downside is there plus side , and that is they are neutral. that means your bad recordings will be exposed as awful and your top engineered discs will sing with a real natural sound that is hard to explain . outside of

Pros: At this size and price they punch into double their price category. Polk is back , and it is about time . Sandy Gross is a Legend as is there no better name for these speakers . Thank you Polk for bringing back my youth and the honor of owning Polk

Cons: They need power and expose your music , so these L100 are for Audiophiles or people who want to start collecting properly engineered music . which is what this is all about anyway. If those are the cons . then it's probably in your music or wimpy amp if these speakers don't blow you away ?

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Polk Audio Legend L100

Crutchfield customer from Carol Stream, IL on 7/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Brilliant imaging compared to my older entry level polk bookshelf speakers. These require a lot of power so be selective with your choice of amp.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio Legend L100

Crutchfield customer from Lake George, NY on 5/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice look

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Polk Audio Legend L100

Crutchfield customer from Benicia, CA on 3/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

Polk perfection

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 2/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had to replace my lsi9's and just as happy with the legends. Crystal clear polk quality. Ive been a polk owner for 20 years.

Pros: Size, looks and performance.

Cons: Power hungry. Not really a con. Feed them properly and you will be rewarded accordingly.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Wonderful sound in a small package

Crutchfield customer from Seattle, WA on 11/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had to replace my Polk speakers that I've had for years, and I decided to upgrade by getting the next level up. I am so happy that I did. These speakers sound fantastic. I don't have the space for floor standing speakers so the smaller bookshelf speakers were my best option. These have clear highs, beautiful mids, and fat, round bottom end. Just the way I like it. I would also like to commend the staff at Crutchfield. They called me to make sure that I had the right kind of amp to power them properly so that I could get the most out of them. I appreciated that so much. Once they confirmed that I did have the right power they were shipped that day and arrived by the end of the week. I will definitely buy from them again.

Pros: Compact Big sound Well balanced

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound