Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
671 816 441 4
Connect ID #
671 816 441 4
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Polk Audio Legend L200

Bookshelf speakers (Brown Walnut)

MFR # AM8920-A

Polk Audio Legend L200

Polk Audio Legend L200

Bookshelf speakers (Brown Walnut)

MFR # AM8920-A

20 reviews
View this product

Phenomenal

Mark from Loveland, OH on 10/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I had a pair of Polks that were 33 years old, and I noticed that one of them began to go silent every once in a while. Although I loved those Polks, it was probably time to buy a new pair. I started out with the Polk Reserve 200s. They were good, and were an improvement over the old Polks. Strangely, though, the upgrade had me wondering how good the L200s would be, so I ordered them from Crutchfield. Lee, the Crutchfield rep, was fantastic, and encouraged me to compare them before returning one of them. Lee even encouraged me to wait a few days to ensure I'd make the right choice. Well, I did what he said, and although it is probably an unfair comparison, the L200s were just phenomenal. The differences are subtle, but they are noticeable. The sound is almost 3D-like. You only live once, and if you can, get the best you can get.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio Legend L200

Randy from Moundsville, WV on 10/8/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound at a great value.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Competes

Guest from Ft Mill, SC on 9/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have been auditioning similar sized and priced bookshelf speakers for almost a year. SVS, MAs, Elacs, B&Ws, Wharfedales. Still breaking these in, but am so happy with these. The highs are very crisp and accurate and the bass is tremendous. I won't say better than some of the others but they hang with them and are amongst my favorite. Incredible build and sound for the price. Different sound, but as good or even better than most of the others I've tried.

Pros: Build Superior crossovers Amazing soundstage and accuracy

Cons: A bit high in price Lots of good competition in this range

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio Legend L200

Richard from Layton, UT on 6/25/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Small size, great sound. Really nice looking.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Legendary

Todd from Weston, CT on 6/21/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've only had these hooked up for a couple of days now, but so far I am extremely impressed. I recently purchased Martin Logan ESL-X speakers and found that they are just too big for the environment I am using them in. I was nervous that I wouldn't get the same sound out of a bookshelf, but I have to say I am extremely happy with the sound output from the Polks. Even the low end is better than I could have imagined. These speakers are solid, well-built, and sound beautiful. I spent some time over the weekend working on the placement and he imaging is amazing. As others have stated, these are power hungry and you will need a good solid-state amp that can put out 150-200 watts (note: I have also connected them to my tube amp, which is rated at 75 watts/channel, and they sound about as loud my solid-state amp). These are beautiful speakers and I am loving the sound so far. I don't know if there is a lot of break-in needed with these but if they do, I imagine they will be one of the best speakers I've ever heard. They are certainly worthy of the Legend branding!

Pros: - Sound is amazing. Imagine is top-notch. - There is plenty of bass for a two-channel setup. - High frequencies are buttery smooth. No harshness at all. - Extremely well-built. Like a tank. - The walnut veneer is beautiful. - The Legend series has plenty of speaker options to choose from if you are setting up an AV system.

Cons: - Pricey, but as they say, "you get what you pay for". - For some these might be a little too big (this wasn't a con for me. just be forewarned!).

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Blown away realy, these are book shelf speakers?

Dan from Naples, FL on 5/31/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

As an old guy that has owned Polk speakers for many of my 63 years, as well as owning my first pair ( Monitor 11's) i was very impressed by there speakers. I knew up front that they were resource heavy, thanks to a phone call from an advisor, after I had placed my order!! He was checking to be sure that my chosen receiver ( a Marantz 2325) would be enough to wake these up. I could not have been more impressed. On the speakers, very pleased. I love both bass and treble, and I was able to dial up more than enough on both ends! They sound great both low volume and bumping loud enough to have my wife ask if I was crazy. Yes, they are a little expensive, but they have me rethinking my need to spend a lot more on some floor speakers. Any, simply put, if you desire a full body bookshelf speaker, look no further.

Pros: Full bodied, can customize based on musical and tone tastes. They look very attractive, very well done.

Cons: a little resource heavy. modern power may not be appropriate, or so I was told by the advisor

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio Legend L200

Jonathan from Seattle, WA on 3/29/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Amazing bookshelves. Blow my RTi6's out of the water. If used for two channel, no need for a sub. Bass hits hard and fast. Another slam dunk from Polk.

Pros: Clear highs, deep bass.

Cons: Bulkiest of the two bookshelf options.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Concord

eric from Concord on 1/29/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Four stars only because i tested them on a 2CHL. Denon Receiver and yet to be connected to a Yamaha A-S2200 INT. AMP seriously just because these have a upper range cost any speaker in this field from other manufactures would have pleased me, on that note the reviews on this speaker (and believed for the most part) were pretty darn straight on true. Look I Rock and I Rock Loud & Clear, whether in truck, home, or garage. All my towers were given away or donated for they just take up too much floor space in my Lil' home. I've owned more speakers than anyone i have ever met yes in the hundreds of pairs ,most all brands all makes all models & sizes, from introductory on up , Music is life, speakers bring on that music and these work beyond very well. I will fill in a a powered sub when placement is permanent. PS i think they are also a great looking speakers especially with the grills off. I have purchased from Crutchfield many times for many years off and on, these were not purchased here (deals ya know). but this place is the first stop before any other place before i decide price, availability and there service is second to none on the world wide web. Thanx C.F. plus they know my purchase history. ems.

Pros: Exactly, these to me are Pro speakers, they scream for Ice Cream and are cream of the crop. Beyond what normal bookshelf speakers are.

Cons: Placement field away from wall in smaller rooms.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Incredible Loudspeakers

Ian from CEDAR GROVE, NJ on 12/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Ok, so I've owned quite a few speakers, some considerably more expensive than these L200s. I much prefer bookshelf monitors to floors standers for several reasons, one of which is my pair of JL Audio F112s. I can honestly say that this is the most impressed I have ever been with a speaker out of box. These L200s sound incredible. They blow the KEF LS50s out of the water. IMO, its not even close and I own both. I have the L200s paired with an Anthem MRX1120 and they sound great together. I also powered them with a Parasound amp that sounded great, but the Anthem sounds so good that they will stay together. I highly recommend these speakers. The bass response when running full range is almost hard to imagine. I played the very dynamic Dark Knight score and I could not believe the clean bass energy in the room without the subs. Buy these. You'll love them

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Polk Audio Legend L200

Crutchfield customer from Milan, OH on 8/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Thought long and hard whether to spend the money on these speakers, but glad I did! Have an older pair of Polk TSI200's that sounded great, but the Polk Legend L200 has become my favorite speakers. The sound quality is just amazing! No regrets here!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pound for pound champion

Mike from Middle River, MD on 8/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I purchased polk L200 six months ago and it's the best purchase that I've ever made as far as speakers are concerned. Polk has created the best pound for pound bookshelf out there.

Pros: Big sound stage and checks all the boxes highs, mids, and lows.

Cons: Non at this price point.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 7 found this helpful

Great value on book shelf speakers

Crutchfield customer from Virginia Beach, VA on 6/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very smooth sound with pleasant mids. And the bass throw is phenomenal!

Pros: Small but powerful and sound big.

Cons: Not much to say bad about these. I do use a sub, but it's not mandatory.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Very Nic

Crutchfield customer from Sewickley, PA on 5/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent sound quality. Great sound stage. Crystal clear highs.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Polk Audio Legend L200

Crutchfield customer from Dripping Spgs, TX on 3/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I am really enjoying these speakers. The sound is neutral to warm and the soundfield is really nice . Plenty of bass for my room which is about 12 x 12.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Outstanding speakers!

Crutchfield customer from Gurley, AL on 3/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fantastic sounding speakers! I'm using them as my rear speakers, to go along with Polk LSI M705 front speakers, Polk Legend L200 center speaker, and Velodyne DD10 subwoofer. Make sure you use high end amp/preamp to take full advantage!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Buy Them!

Crutchfield customer from Cleveland, OH on 1/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great, uncolored, unveiled sound, wonderful transparency, and amazingly deep and taut bass for smallish bookshelf speakers. Not to diminish bass and treble because they're both great, but the star of the show is the midrange, it's wonderful. These are keepers, after going through KEF Q750's, Wharfedale Evo 4.2;s, SVS Ultra Bookshelves (a surprisingly close second), and SVS Prime Pinnacles. I have these paired with an SVS subwoofer just to seek those extreme lows, most people probably wouldn't need it. They're getting their sound from a NAD M33 (well worth the wait!) 200 watt (both 8 and 4 ohms) integrated amp, blusound system streamer, Dirac Live, all in one, beauty. Still experimenting with different speaker cables. I really can't recommend these speaker enough BUT, your amp must have the wattage and current to drive these power hungry winners.

Pros: Amazing sound, surprisingly deep, tight bass with wonderful clarity in the midrange, and perfect non-fatiguing treble. Highly recommended.

Cons: Not really a con, but you've gotta have the wattage and current to drive these power hungry speakers.

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

Small but MIghty

Crutchfield customer from Cheney, WA on 8/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I wanted a bookshelf speaker that had excellent tweeter and mid-range capabilities. I wasn't looking for a stand alone speaker to compete with my SVS sub woofer bass capabilities. I am running a Outlaw RR2160 that is conservatively rated at 110 watts at 8 ohms per channel. It has 2 sub outs as well as bass mgmt built in. At 4 ohms it has more watts available. Although not completely broke in, the L200 sound very large and robust for there size. At around 80 decibels the classic rock I like fills up a med to large great room with ease. I would take the advice of not trying to run these with a lesser powered receiver. You could fry an Amp. Without a sub woofer in a small to med room these have enough bass to do the job. Overall I am pleased with my purchase and this is my first 4 Ohm speaker. Just make sure receiver is 4 ohm compatible.

Pros: HIgh end speaker that takes up little space. Back friendly

Cons: requires lots of power, but not really a reflection on the sound quality

Crutchfield response on

20 of 24 found this helpful

Great speakers

Tommy from Jacksonville, FL on 6/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I switch from Klipsch to Polk LSI 7 over 12 years ago because the Klipsch were fatiguing to me. But when my Yamaha Advantage DTS decoder board went out. I knew it was time to upgrade my system. So I decided to buy the L200 and another Yamaha Advantage AV since the two work so well for me in the past. Now I'm a retired avionic tech & inspector, so I know I should verify the specs. But for some reason, I just assume that the Yamaha Avantage would be able to handle the L200. I made the purchase and the next day A Crutchfield Rep called to inform me of my mistake. So he made some recommendations and we went with the Marantz SR7013. All I can say is WOW the L200 fills the room with rich bass and a wide detailed center stage. In Atmos mode, its as good as you can get in any movie theatre. But it's in the two-channel mode where this paring of the Marantz and the L200 really shine. And yes, in IMAX mode it simply sounds incredible. Love Crutchfield customer service they save me from a bad oversight on my part. Thank you so much, Crutchfield, for paying attention to your customer needs.

Pros: Bookshelf speakers with a floor-standing speaker sound.

Cons: The aesthetics are nice but for flagship speakers, I expected more.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

8 of 10 found this helpful

Polk Audio Legend L200

Crutchfield customer from Mount Joy, PA on 6/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Big sound from a bookshelf speaker. I don't have to turn the knob much on my power amp to get great sound. Very happy with my purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

17 of 19 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound