Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
298 167 433 3
Connect ID #
298 167 433 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Polk Audio MagniFi MAX

Powered sound bar with 4K/HDR video passthrough, Wi-Fi®, and Chromecast built-in audio

MFR # AM8214-A

Polk Audio MagniFi MAX

Polk Audio MagniFi MAX

Powered sound bar with 4K/HDR video passthrough, Wi-Fi®, and Chromecast built-in audio

MFR # AM8214-A

42 reviews
View this product

Polk Audio MagniFi MAX

Crutchfield customer from Marietta, GA on 9/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This sound bar is excellent. Clear, crisp mid-range and highs. The Voice Adjust works very well, so subtitle use is greatly reduced. The subwoofer produces very deep bass without being murky -- it is clearly defined. It's my first Polk product (I have had audio gear for more years that I care to admit) and I'm impressed. This, however is not my first Crutchfield experience. As usual, Crutchfield made the purchase easy and made a 2-day delivery. Before I decided on this sound bar I talked to a Crutchfield rep. I wrote her name down somewhere, but of course now I can't find it! My apologies. After outlining my sound preferences to her, she recommended Polk. Boy, was she right. The only negative to this whole transaction was the delivery. I was home on the delivery day, but the UPS driver didn't ring my doorbell or knocked. Therefore, I never knew he left it outside next to my garage door until I went outside to do a chore. Thank God it wasn't raining.

Pros: Excellent sound and easy setup.

Cons: Sloppy delivery practice.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Avoid this Soundbar

Derral from SAN TAN VLY, AZ on 8/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Having 3 issues with this soundar that Polk can't seem to remedy. 1.Soundbar is broadcasting an unsecured SSID that can't be turned off. 2. I added 2 Polk surround rear speakers and they crackle and pop. Known issue with with Polk with no fix. Lots of compliments on this on Polks Website. 3. Lip sync issues with different channels and and movies. No adjustment for this as my last Soundbar had. I have called Polk tech support and they had me hold down the reset button and the Soundbar temporarily stopped broadcasting the unsecured WiFi SSID. The tech said this would remedy the lip sync issues as well but it did not. After hanging up with tech support it started broadcasting an unsecured WiFi SSID again. After Polk has revised the firmware many times the crackling and popping in the rear surrounds is still there. After reading the trouble shooting page no one seems happy with it and many say it should be recalled. Not happy at all with this model. Expected more from a Polk product.

Pros: Nice looking product with Bluetooth.

Cons: Buttons very stiff on remote. Unable to turn off unsecured WiFi SSID broadcasting. If rear speakers added they pop and crackle. Lip Sync Issues with different channels and movies with no adjustments.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio MagniFi MAX

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 8/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sound, met my expectations. The 3 HDMI ports to connect multiple devices are a nice bonus. One star deducted for the bad manual/installation steps (only relevant if you're new to soundbars).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio MagniFi MAX

Crutchfield customer from Cambridge, MA on 7/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best soundbar we've had. Great quality sound all around but is especially good with voice. Ability to control voice separate from other audio is key and we use that feature a lot. Very happy with this purchase. Even more happy with the always terrific Crutchfield service as I couldn't decide which soundbar to go with and this one was recommended by one of their representatives.

Pros: Slim design, easy installation, voice audio control and sound, bass.

Cons: I don't love the silver outline around the center speaker, but this is a very minor detail and not really a con.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Impressive all-around sound system

Crutchfield customer from Winnsboro, TX on 6/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Powerful sound for both movies and music. If you're looking for a great system for both you won't be disappointed. The voice adjust feature ensures you hear every word while the 8" sub provides deep, rich sound. Completely satisfied with this purchase!

Pros: Easy installation and connection Simple functionality Works with TV remote Great for both movies and music Polk Voice Adjust feature enhances dialogue 8" sub hits hard and provides deep bass

Cons: I didn't purchase the optional satellite speakers for the 5.1 surround experience

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio MagniFi MAX

Crutchfield customer from Jacksonville, FL on 5/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well as advertised.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio MagniFi MAX

Crutchfield customer from Avon, IN on 5/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to hook up. Surprising room-filling sound from such a small set of speakers and sub. Voice Adjust actually works quite well and was a main reason we bought this unit. Very happy with purchase.

Pros: Ease of hook up. Voice Adjust feature. Big sound.

Cons: Almost hate to mention it, but remote can be a bit finicky to use and seems a little unresponsive.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Care free purchase.

Crutchfield customer from Fort Lauderdale, FL on 4/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great soundbar! I originally went with the Harmon Kardon Enchant 1300. It sounds amazing. It was just too large for my mantle. Then I ordered the JBL 5.1 Bar. The surround sound was great. I, personally, had an issue with the dialogue. I final settled on the Polk. The sound is crisp, loud and the bass is pretty substantial. It doesn't have the same surround effect as the JBL but, that is to me expected. With the Polk you can hear every spoken word, every nuance just everything. I really love it. I plan on purchasing the optional surround speakers next. The best part was that Crutchfield made this purchase so easy. I was able to exchange the sound bar with no issues whatsoever. I just made another purchase with them. Very happy.

Pros: Exceptional clarity and plenty of power for a large room. Plenty of bass. Optional surround speakers. Crutchfield makes it easy.

Cons: None at this price.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

I can finally turn off the Closed Captions

Crutchfield customer from Baltimore, MD on 4/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you are looking for a simple soundbar to greatly enhance dialogue, this rig does an excellent job. The fact that you can adjust dialogue loudness is almost magic. It also adds tremendous depth and presence to movies and many tv show sound tracks. While the blue tooth works well, I would not say that this 3.1 system will replace your dedicated music system. But it does just fine for casual listening. The bass is authoritative, but does not overwhelm the rest of the sound. I am very pleased with this piece of equipment. And I want to thank the Crutchfield rep for helping me select this soundbar.

Pros: Great for enhancing dialogue

Cons: Not meant for critical music listening. But this isn't why you buy this soundbar.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio MagniFi MAX

Crutchfield customer from Edwardsville, IL on 4/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Delivers on sound and easy to set up

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great unit!

Crutchfield customer from Pennsburg, PA on 4/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This thing is great!! Huge open layout with dinning room kitchen and living room and this little unit fills it up with great rich sound. I bought a more expensive unit I wasn't quite happy with and got this one it it's place. So glad I did!! Good job Polk.

Pros: Great full sound. Price Build quality Size.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pleased with polk

Crutchfield customer from Florence, MT on 3/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The only reason I didn't give a five star is it to new and I really don't know all it does but so far it's an awesome piece that I would recommend nice sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Solid choice

Crutchfield customer from Wentworth, NH on 3/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to setup and configure. The sound is great, we particularly like the ability to adjust the voice levels using the remote.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio MagniFi MAX

Crutchfield customer from Lake Mary, FL on 3/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow! This exceeded my expectation. We wanted something good for tv audio as my husband sometimes finds it hard to hear. Now we can hear all of the voices without increasing the background noise. It's perfect for what we were looking for. We have also been listening to music on it and enjoying that as well- it is definitely better than the high end speakers and receiver we had.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio MagniFi MAX

Crutchfield customer from Joliet, IL on 3/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great in our basement! Didn't want to spend a lot of money for a surround sound system and this fit the bill.

Pros: sound, easy set up, value

Cons: can't add more speakers

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Solid option

Crutchfield customer from Boise, ID on 3/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a great unit that works flawlessly and very easy to set up. The only reason I give it a 4 is that it could be a more crisp and defined sound. Very good, but not excellent

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio MagniFi MAX

Crutchfield customer from Camp Hill, PA on 3/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and easy setup. Ran into a popping issue after a week, but Crutchfield support and the manual showed me how to reset. No issues since. Powerful bass from a small sub. The soundbar produces room-filling sound with a great dynamic. Remote is useful, but my standard Fios remote and Samsung TV remote both took over after a short config.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very Nice Product

Crutchfield customer from Ridgewood, NJ on 2/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you don't need all the bells and whistles. This sounds GREAT, is Easy to use. And is Priced right ! Need I say more. Just click and buy it. DROP THE MIC.

Pros: Easy to use Price Sound

Cons: What

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio MagniFi MAX

Crutchfield customer from Rock Hill, SC on 12/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds pretty good after breaking it in. Music quality is very nice, but the voice level on some tv shows is a bit louder with not much midrange even with the "voice" level turned down. Great with movies so far. Better than most soundbars I've tried in the past. Wish the mounting option worked with some of the universal mounts available.

Pros: Great with music and movies.

Cons: Voice level too 'thin' and loud at times. the mounting option is not great

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Yeh Crutchfield...Nay Polk Audio

CHAD from Spring Grove, PA on 11/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Like one of the previous reviewers...I too have had nothing but problems with my soundbar, and with the customer service at Polk. I tried calling and emailing Polk and never got a response. After contacting Polk three times to no avail, I began replacing the flimsy remote that comes with the unit through independent retailers online ( I initially thought the flimsy remotes were breaking). After going through three remotes in a year and a half, I decided to contact Crutchfield and they responded within seconds. Literally. The gentleman that I spoke to said he would check with the parts department and see if there were any remotes laying around. They found one and sent it out immediately. After going through the fourth remote in less than two years we determined that the issue was with the soundbar communicating with the remote :( Crutchfield has been awesome and very quick to respond. As always I reeaaalllly appreciate the customer service at Crutchfield. They are the best! As for Polk Audio...I will never buy the brand again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Can't go wrong with Polk

Crutchfield customer from Sioux City, IA on 9/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After using it for ten days now, i'm glad i bought it, easy to set up and clear dialogue with the voice adjust helps me hear better, since i have hearing loss. Also it was on sale, good buy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio MagniFi MAX

Crutchfield customer from New Hope, PA on 9/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Huge sound, easy to set up

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very nice

Crutchfield customer from Dodgeville, WI on 8/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a huge upgrade from what I had. The sound quality is perfect for my needs. I'm not an audiophile by any means, but this unit sounds great, movies, music, podcasts, they all sound good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio MagniFi MAX

Crutchfield customer from Arecibo, PR on 11/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, great sound, nice and elegant design. Polk does not fail!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio MagniFi MAX

Terry from Wasilla, AK on 11/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, clear center channel, just what I was looking for. The sub is a little bulky but it's out of view behind a cabinet.

Pros: Great sound, easy set-up.

Cons: Sub is a little bulky but wireless so it's easier to find it a home.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio MagniFi MAX

Larry from Andrews, TX on 10/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this soundbar after reading reviews and also based it on Polk's reputation for good sound. This soundbar system replaced an Onkyo and B & W setup in my son's apartment. The other system was just a little complicated and surprisingly, put out very good bass. Too much bass for an apartment. My son seems to like the soundbar setup a little better, easier to control. The sound is great from the soundbar and the sub puts out good bass, which can be dialed down with the remote control. I eventually plan to add the wireless surround speakers. Very satisfied so far.

Pros: simple hookup and easy to control with remote control or phone app.

Cons: none so far

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pretty Darn Good

Josh from Genoa, IL on 10/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really enjoy this system. My only gripe would be the sound quality. It's pretty good for TV but just ok for music. Other then that. It was really easy to mount and get setup. Sync with my Samsung TV too so I only have to use that remote to adjust volume. The little 8' wireless subwoofer just rips! Provides plenty of bass for our master bedroom. It's perfect for a room this size. If I was in a bigger room I would want the next model up. Overall really happy so far and the wife really enjoys it too!

Pros: Easy Setup Bluetooth has great range Slim but big sound Plenty of Bass

Cons: Sound Quality a little down from what I was expecting but still pretty good.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio MagniFi MAX

Crutchfield customer from Taylorsville, NC on 10/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unbelievable fast delivery. Really good people to deal with. I would definitely buy from Crutchfield again. I bought the Polk Magnifi Max and I am very satisfied

Pros: Great product...great service

Cons: No cons

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio MagniFi MAX

Crutchfield customer from Kingsport, TN on 9/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Finally able to listen to music loud and still have a conversation. The bass fills the room but doesn't muffle anything. Miss and highs are clean. Great sound! My family can feel like we are at the movies and sit in the comfort of our living room.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio MagniFi MAX

Crutchfield customer from Middle River, MD on 7/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit has awesome sound.

Pros: Easy set up

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio MagniFi MAX

Guest from Minneapolis, MN on 7/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought a Polk soundbar 3 years ago. Subwoofer failed twice in three years. Polk won't replace subwoofer. Now it is useless. Polk customer service is poor and product quality is not what it used to be.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 20 found this helpful

Fantastic Overall Value !

Patrick from Queen Creek, AZ on 6/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was kinda skeptical about soundbars in general but really needed something to improve TV sound etc so, having owned Polk products in past, decided to focus on Polk products. Really, really glad I picked this soundbar - it's FANTASTIC. Couldn't be happier to be honest. As a recovering audiophile (I've heard the best like Wison, Martin-Logan, etc. and I've owned Paradigm Reference/Rotel gear) I'm very much aware of accurate sound and was willing to sacrifice quality for ease of setup/use. With the Polk MagniFiMAX I don't feel like I'm really compromising in any way. For my critical listening, I use headphones now (AudioQuest Nighthawks) so I don't need the last 10% of fidelity for casual listening. And that's the point - in no way do I feel like I'm sacrificing much with the Polk soundbar. Bluetoothing music from my Walkman sounds fantastic, TV sound is fantastic...just all around great performance. You can spend a lot more but I only see the point if you're a) a fussy audiophile (and God help you!), or b) you have a very large room. For medium size rooms, you get very balanced sound. Not the last word in one area...just good overall balance and an absolute steal at the price!

Pros: Nice balance of convenience and fidelity, easy to set-up, better than average bass for the cost

Cons: At the price, nothing.

Crutchfield response on

11 of 12 found this helpful

Clear dialogue, great bass

Martin from Beverly, NJ on 4/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and dialogue is really clear. Set up was easy even for a non techie like me. Kay, my Crutchfield advisor, offered three units at different price points and I took the middle unit and could not be happier. Now I have great sound to go along with the great picture on my LG OLED tv. Thank you Kay and Crutchfield.

Pros: Fantastic sound, easy set up.

Cons: Only have unit a couple of weeks but no issues so far.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Polk Audio MagniFi MAX

Frank from Inverness, FL on 4/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My Polk MagniFi MAX has been working wonderfully for some time now. I have an LG OLED and the MagniFi MAX has way better sound than the TV. You can connect Alexa with Blue Tooth or use the supplied HF cable to connect directly. The ARC connection works very well with input devices connected to the TV. My wife and I are Seniors and we always had problems understand what was said in some TV shows or Videos. We now seldom have a problem understand what is said with the MagniFi Max. The Base has added a new dimension to movies. There was sound we weren't hearing before we got the MagniFI Max. There are some improvements I would like to see. 1. The Sound Bar is slow to turn on or off. It is not a big deal, it just isn't immediate like the TV. 2. The adjustment where you can raise the voice level only could use more volume. We have it set at max all the time. It is a really good feature. I noticed one review that had noise spikes from the base. I had this once or twice when I was experimenting with hooking up devices. Don't know what caused it but it has never happened again. Once I had things setup the sound bar has been great. You won't find one better for or near the price. Frank

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Polk Audio MagniFi MAX

Crutchfield customer from Franklin, TN on 4/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice features and sound for the price, the wireless sub has some occasional popping sounds that hopefully get fixed soon in a software update.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Wall mount sound bar

JD from Martinsburg, WV on 3/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice sound. Easy to install. Integrates easily with my Google Home and LG TV.

Pros: Easy install, easy setup, easy integration to Google Home and LG TV

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio MagniFi MAX

Crutchfield customer from Hoover, AL on 2/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awsome sound. Remote for TV works with sound bar.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio MagniFi MAX

Crutchfield customer from Adams, MA on 2/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What can I really say...It's Awesome. Crisp clear sound as expected from Polk products.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio MagniFi MAX

Crutchfield customer from Miami, FL on 2/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice Sound bar until it worked its great, sound is neat, volume is powerful enough for a large Family room, yesterday it stopped working, cant power off, cant increase or decrease volume, contacted crutchfield and right away they send the return, i requested the same equipment over a refund, worth giving a second chance, if it fails don't spend money on any soundbar less than $600, i tried a samsung, did not work, i tried an LG SJ9, did not work, so far polk has better attributes for the price.

Pros: sound could use an extra tweeter bass is well balanced HIFI sound excellent finally a bar that works well with ARC

Cons: not a digital LCD on front , too old school. huge Bass for an 8"

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good sound and voice is clear but has some technical issues

David from Braintree, MA on 2/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The unit was pretty easy to setup but the box it comes in is massive! We have a pretty basic setup and this was purchased to replace our aging receiver setup. Instructions were clear and pretty easy to follow. Now that I have had it for a few weeks, we have had some issues that have been resolved and some that are still a problem. First issue was that you can't use the inputs on the soundbar for switching, it just didn't work. Spoke to Crutchfield support and they advised to use TV which I did. Second issue we were getting "Resolution not supported" error message and this was resolved by changing the resolution setting on Directv Genie "Native" off. Most recent issue still open is at times there is a lag in sound when fast forwarding or rewinding when watching Genie DVR. I haven't spoken to Crutchfield support about this yet. Overall, I'm pleased with the sound and quality of the unit and I like the Chromecast integration but I am hopeful they release some firmware updates to take care of some of these issues.

Pros: Quality of build and sound quality, Chromecast integration

Cons: Buggy and packaging is way overkill

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio MagniFi MAX

Lydia from Williamstown, WV on 1/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound is great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio MagniFi MAX

Crutchfield customer from Waxhaw, NC ( Charlotte, NC ) on 1/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a very nice sound bar. I had an omni sb1 that I used everyday and it went bad after 4 years. I'm not willing to let the voice technology go for just any loud sound bar. So the timing was right to get the Magnificent Max. It really has a full rich sound. I chose to just get the sound bar and sub and not the 2 external speakers... saved $100 until I configure my room a little better. Also the remote is far superior to the other omni I owned.

Pros: Powerful Great for hearing dialog Looks great and is very low profile Also comes with mounting bracket and HDMI as well as digital audio

Cons: Nothing ...Just what I needed

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

TOP