Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Polk Audio MC80

In-ceiling speaker

MFR # AW0580-A

Polk Audio MC80

Polk Audio MC80

In-ceiling speaker

MFR # AW0580-A

109 reviews
View this product

Polk Audio MC80

Crutchfield customer from Loves Park, IL on 2/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound for the money

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio MC80

Crutchfield customer from Baltimore, MD on 2/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speaker, easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio MC80

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, TX on 12/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These 8 inch speakers sound great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio MC80

Crutchfield customer from Leawood, KS on 12/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Just right

Crutchfield customer from Springfield, VA on 11/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, room filling! We ordered these for a medical practice and they provided exactly what we expected and more. They blended into the ceiling and were light enough to use in a drop ceiling without any issues. Your recommendation was spot on!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio MC80

Crutchfield customer from Cherry Hill, NJ on 9/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install, the template matched perfectly. I'm using them as rear surround speakers. They blend in so well to the room you forget they are then when not in use. The directable nature of these speakers make it feel like they are behind you, very cool.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio MC80

Crutchfield customer from Colfax, WI on 8/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fill my living room beautifully.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio MC80

Crutchfield customer from Prairieville, LA on 7/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are really good as surrounds if you need ceiling mounted speakers. Are there better speakers in this category, yes. But these are hard to beat for the price.

Pros: Easy to install and great for movies

Cons: Bass could be a bit better for 8 inch speaker

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio MC80

Crutchfield customer from Verona, VA on 6/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound. Easy to install. Had template included.

Pros: Great product. Well built

Cons: Went to buy a second one and was told out of stock for 3 weeks

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio MC80

Crutchfield customer from New Smyrna Beach, FL on 6/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are by any measure good to decent in wall speakers. Don't expect the accuracy and range of a proper floor stander, expect enjoyable reproduction in a hidden in wall speaker. I used these in my bathroom, bedroom and for rear surrounds. They do the job without effort, and are packaged in a handsome container. Overall I am very pleased with them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio MC80

Crutchfield customer from Pleasant Hill, OH on 5/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and easy installation.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great Buy

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 5/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had 5 MC80's installed in my ceiling. Sounds great with music, sports games and movies

Pros: Great Sound and great price

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio MC80

Crutchfield customer from Wilmington, NC on 4/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound quality and easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great speakers

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, TX on 4/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers and great price and fast shipping

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Highly recommended for the money.

Crutchfield customer from Blue Bell, PA on 4/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers, good bass, and I love the clarity in the voices. Highly recommended for the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio MC80

Crutchfield customer from Kennewick, WA on 3/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the money not bad sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great sound for the price

Jeff from Forsyth, IL on 2/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product for the price. I got these out of the scratch and dent for almost 50% off ONLY because there was a dent in the grill! I RUN these off of a Onkyo RZ610 as The zone 2 ceiling speakers for my garage space that is extended off the 3rd space that is being used as a garage gym currently. Streaming Bluetooth from my phone gives me control over zone 2 in the garage while the zone one is being used for the 5.1 in the living room. We were using a Bose sound link mini II previously which did OK, but cannot compete with these for the enveloping stereo sound given by a pair of these speakers. We have 13 foot ceilings with blown insulation in the attic, I added another several feet of BAT insulation over the blown insulation to provide even more protection from sound leakage. I think it definitely helps "push" the sound outward, so speaker boxes are not needed. Some previous comments had mentioned some kind of "tinny sound," I don't know if they had their polarity was reversed on their speakers or some kind of bad connection or bad receiver because these sound great. I think he bass is good, but personally, I could use a little bit more bass, but I Think you're fooling yourself if you are going to get some kind of huge amount of bass from ceiling speakers in this great price range without some kind of sub. My wife thinks the amount of bass is perfect.

Pros: Look great, sound great Great highs Decent lows for the space and size

Cons: Time consuming and messy to install if done from scratch

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Incredible Value

Robert from Fairfax, VA on 1/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have installed these as ceiling speakers to expand my 7.1 setup to 7.1.4. It is a completely different experience with the Atmos setup. These speakers were easy to install, and the sound is clear. I am happy with the purchase. I originally purchased 2 (to use 7.1.2) but quickly added 2 more and stayed with the MC80s. Very pleased.

Pros: Easy install Good sound Great value

Cons: Non-paintable cover

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio MC80

Larry from Ft Lauderdale, FL on 1/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice clean. Sound very efficient speakee

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

performs well

Crutchfield customer from Cary, NC on 12/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

does just what it says it will

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio MC80

Crutchfield customer from Simpsonville, SC on 12/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install and sound fantastic. Great buy, swapped out some older speakers on a porch.

Pros: Ease of installation Sound quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great speaker

Crutchfield customer from Boynton Beach, FL on 12/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks and sounds great

Pros: Looks and sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk MC80 - fantastic speaker

Crutchfield customer from Colleyville, TX on 12/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just replaced Proficient Audio C605 with Polk MC80 and the different is vast. It is expected that an 8" speaker will have better low frequency response and it is noticeable. It also feels that the overall clarity of sound is much higher. I am using 2 MC80 in my leaving room without a sub and I am very pleased. It is naturally not at all the same as my Rti setup with SVS sub in the family room but I would say that very adequate for occasional dance party. I have 4 C605 in the family room and planing to replace with MC60s. It will not be such a high payoff project but I am a Polk guy. The Proficient were in the the house when I bought it. Look like a popular choice with builders.

Pros: easy to install, sounds stage is deep and wide

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio MC80

Crutchfield customer from Brookfield, CT on 9/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound all around

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

It's like serving 20 yr old Scotch in a plastic cup

Scott from Smyrna, GA on 4/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very "tinny" sound, like a transistor radio speaker. I think there is something better out there. This one is going back to Crutchfield.

Pros: Seems well built

Cons: Inexpensive cheap sound Adds an echo to voices

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio MC80

Crutchfield customer from Bozeman, MT on 2/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have not installed it yet but I've read nothing but great reviews about it. I expect them to meet or exceed my expectations.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 38 found this helpful

Crutchfield makes the difference

Joe from Germantown, MD on 11/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These sound very good for a reasonably priced in ceiling speakers. That being said, you can buy these from numerous stores and online suppliers. The difference here is the Team at Crutchfield. I partnered with Dallas in selecting these as well as some other items to make my system work. I installed higher end Polks for my surround system in the Great room. I bought 2 sets of the MC80's based on Dallas's recommendation for my Lanai and Garage. Dallas sent me an easy to follow wiring diagram and I'm enjoying music in 3 different locations.

Pros: Great sound, reasonable price and great support from Dallas and Team Crutchfield!

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

6 of 10 found this helpful

Polk Audio MC80

Jorge from Yorba Linda, CA on 9/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound easy to install

Pros: Easy to install great sound

Cons: Wish it had bananna plugs

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Ok sounding speaker as a secondary source

Martyn from Wellfleet, MA on 7/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought 6 of these to use as a surround speaker on my sonos playbase + amp, and to replace a pair of sonos 5 speakers that I used in my kitchen. They are well made, pretty easy to install (hard to get the grille off again so make sure you're really done before you put it on). The initial sound out of them was terrible, which was disappointing because a lot of research and discussion with a sales advisor had gone into buying them. Playing around with the amp settings I got them to sound ok but they still have terrible bass response - even in a ceiling with a pretty sizable cavity. I eventually added a sub woofer which solved the problem but defeated the purpose of having in ceiling speakers. Less of an issue for the surround speakers, or as part of an atos or other secondary speaker set up, would not recommend as a main speaker though.

Pros: Look great

Cons: Sound terrible

Crutchfield response on

2 of 7 found this helpful

Polk Audio MC80

Eric from Manhattan, IL on 6/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great size and weight. Well made. Sounds amazing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio MC80

Alberto from Chula Vista, CA on 3/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, good quality as well as great sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Polk MC80 - Great sound

Leland from Lake Stevens, WA on 3/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

the Polk Audio MC80 are great speakers am using them speakers in the ceiling for a Dolby Atmos 11.2 system. Klipsch Reference Premier speakers and a Denon AVR6400 Receiver. Really like these speakers for the surround sound.

Pros: Easy installation speakers blend in with ceiling

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Outstanding sound and great value

Crutchfield customer from Chesterland, OH on 3/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The MC80s made great surround speakers, especially for Dolby Atmos. Very neutral sound and easy to match with my Paradigm front and center channels. Kay was a great help in making a good choice!

Pros: Neutral sound-no peaks Easy install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio MC80

John from Northbrook, IL on 3/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything was great!! Love my product and will use again in the future.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio MC80

Jeff from Le Roy, NY on 2/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speaker, I painted it to match the ceiling and it looks and sounds great. Using it as a center speaker.

Pros: Easy to install and paint.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio MC80

Crutchfield customer from Iola, TX on 1/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Went with the 8" woofer and the sound is amazing. They look very clean in the ceiling. Marshall was awesome in helping me out on what to purchase!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Fabulous all around speakers

Crutchfield customer from Canton, GA on 10/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love my Polk products and these are no different. Great sound even without a subwoofer paired with them. I have 5 in my family room and it makes movies and sports an experience!! These were easy to install as well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio MC80

Crutchfield customer from Jeffersonville, IN on 9/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks great! Sounds better than expected..I used the brackets before the drywall went up, it made simple installation.

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio MC80

Crutchfield customer from Charlotte, NC on 9/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really easy to install, look great, and sound great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio MC80 (Each)

Dan from SHREVEPORT, LA on 7/31/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I initially replaced two builder grade speakers with Polk MC 80's. After listening to the MC-80's. I replaced all 14 in-ceiling speakers in my home with the Polk MC-80's. In my opinion these are the best priced speakers on the market (at this price point).

Pros: Clear crisp sound with a tinge of base.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio MC80

Ralph from Little Rock, AR on 7/11/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well built and good speaker.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio MC80

Mark from Pocatello Idaho on 6/21/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good bass and treble. I highly recommend them as a better than good all arround speaker. I am using them in our family room for music and TV.

Pros: Great speakers simple to install.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio MC80

Crutchfield customer from Buckeye, AZ on 5/31/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Too new to rate. Just installed and have not completely gone through the setup for my Onkyo NR656. Read the review I did on that. I am not a happy camper.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 35 found this helpful

Great Home theater speakers

Philip from North Port, FL on 4/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers! I am using them as rear surrounds and front presence (Atmos channel) speakers. They have great bass despite their size and cost. Highly recommend them for value, quality and ease of installation.

Pros: Good value, ease of installation, good bass

Cons: terminals could be better (for bananas or spades)

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio MC80

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 12/19/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am using this as my center channel, awesome sound all around

Pros: Great sound Easy Install

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk speakers

Carol M from Phoenix, AZ on 5/9/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great surround sound speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk MC80

Ricardo from Odessa, TX on 5/4/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install. Worth the upgrade. Used as a center and front speakers. Very versatile and produce a super crisp sound. Very happy!!

Pros: Easy to install. Sound is crisp.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Polk Audio MC80

Michael from Orange Park, FL on 4/17/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome speaker for the price can't wait to wire my outdoor area and use more of them.

Pros: Looks good, easy to install

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Speakers

Mike from Suffolk, VA on 3/16/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are great speakers! Installation was very easy. The speakers pulled into place perfectly, with a nice clean flush finish. We have not yet painted them but they come with a paint shield in place for painting the trim ring. The grilles snap into place with ease. While the discerning audiophiles may insist on much more expensive equipment, I find these Polk MC 80 speakers to be most adequate for the rest of us! Great speakers for the $$$$

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Speakers

Wiz from Gainesville, va on 3/3/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Recommended by Tech Support for my in ceiling installation. Easy to install and they sound great as mains and surrounds. Can't beat them for the price!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio MC80

santust from havelock, NC on 2/7/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Before I made the purchase, I called Polk Audio and their rep. said MC80 was a better quality speaker than the RC80i. I initially tested the speakers on my living room floor and was not happy. The treble was below average and the base was horrible, not to mention almost non-existent. I then held one in each hand and what a difference- they sounded much better. While still holding a speaker I then took one of the boxes that they came in held it behind it as to make a make-shift enclosure. WOW, this completely brought the MC80 to life! Great base now blended well with the highs. After my install I plan on experimenting with some form of enclosure.

Pros: Great sounding speaker. Quality construction materials. Lifetime warranty.

Cons: None other than a Polk Audio Rep said they will discontinue this model.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Polk MC80

Crutchfield customer from Minnesota on 1/10/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers have a wonderful sound. I received great counsel from the Crutchfield team. I just finished my basement (fairly big area). I have a living room area, pool table and very large bar. I was looking 4 ceiling speakers in my living room area. With the entire area being open, I was looking for quality speaker for movies and music. I was entertaining higher priced speakers and Crutchfield team recommended Polk MC80 speaker and explained why. I am very happy with the sound, ease of installation and the cost was a bonus.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Just what we needed

Brian H from Golden, CO on 12/14/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We moved into a new construction home that was pre-wired for surround sound. I purchased 5 of these based on the good reviews. The overall sound quality is great. I was a little worried about using it for the main center speaker, but we have been pleasantly surprised! Great buy!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Excellent speaker for the money!

halvonny from North Carolina on 10/22/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the money, you're not likely to find a better value. And everything about the actual speaker itself implies QUALITY, After installation -- powered by a SONOS connect/AMP, I felt like these MC80's sounded just a tad "tinny." But now that I've been using them for a week or so, I'm convinced that they're a great VALUE for the money. If you're a bass-guy like me, you may be slightly disappointed at first, but they'll win you over in the end. Yes -- I would recommend them to a friend.

Pros: Great value for the money.

Cons: Not much bass range.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Great Speakers

DanK from Seattle, WA on 9/13/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super sound! Excellent quality. Mounts make installation much easier.

Pros: Sound quality

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

great purchase

bilnil from Florida on 7/18/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound....Easy to install..... would recommend to all.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio MC80

Crutchfield customer from California on 7/12/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

EASY INSTALLATION AND GREAT CRISP SOUND

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Patio Sound

Dennis Edge from Texas on 5/27/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased the set of the MC80 to supply the sound for our new outdoor kitchen. Mounted them into the gable ceiling and from the minute they were powered up, I was not disappointed. These speakers deliver a full sound that delivers. Well worth the purchase

Pros: Easy to install and come complete with a paint mask to protect the delicate comonents if painted

Cons: Have not found any yet

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect

NewHome from North Carolina on 4/11/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My wife was concerned with speakers sitting on the floor or hanging off the wall... so i went with 4 of these as part of a 5.1 surround setup in the living room. we have 5 recessed cans and these 4 speakers in the ceiling and they all look great together! Wife didn't even notice they were installed until i pointed it out. They sound absolutely amazing. Great range! Crisp highs and tight mids. I'm glad i didn't go with a smaller 6" speaker. PS - wife was blown away with the surround effect and loves them!

Pros: Looks Sound Quality Construction Quality

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Good enough

Andy H from California on 4/4/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pretty much what I was expecting. Neat and easy to install and use.

Pros: Clean look. Good sound.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Quality product

Ben K from Tennessee on 4/2/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We renovated our basement and needed 6 in-ceiling speakers. This was a spec house and the room was pre-wired so the speakers can't take credit for that, but installation was nonetheless a breeze. The sound is high quality and all ranges are responsive.

Pros: easy install, paint masks included. Aimable.

Cons: one of the installation screws stripped out

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great ceiling speakers

GB from Florida on 3/29/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These were replacement speakers for some proficient audio units. What a difference! Very warm and clear. The proficients were a little louder but crashy. Useing these for height F/R and surround. Terrific buy!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great front speakers

Birdman from California on 3/12/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am using three of these for front Left, Right and Center surround speakers. They do an incredible job of hiding in the ceiling and sound great. I have no complaints about the speaker looks or sound. I have them paired with MC60 rears and a subwoofer for a complete package.

Pros: Install into the ceiling nearly flat, sound great.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Items received in good condition

Daniel from Lansing, MI on 3/8/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Items received on time and in good condition.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio MC80 In-Ceiling Speaker

Alan from Arizona on 1/7/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Speakers were easy to install and look very clean and unobtrusive. I used 3 of these Polk Audio MC80 speakers for the front left, center and front right channels for our Sony receiver/surround system. Sound is crisp and compliments the 2 Polk Audio RC80i speakers that we installed as the surround left and surround right channels as well as the and the Polk Audio PSW111 Subwoofer. This layout was suggested to me by one of Crutchfield's very helpful advisors over the phone. If you have any questions about what products would work for your budget and application don't hesitate to give them a call. Why try to guess your way through something like this when you have access to the professionals that have a ton of experience under their belts and are happy to assist without a "pressure sales" mentality.

Pros: Great sound, aimable tweeter, fantastic application for surround sound and music, a long track history of being a quality product, clean looking installation,

Cons: None, we are very happy with our choice and Crutchfield!

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Polk Audio MC80

Mario from Florida on 12/27/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound and features . I have five ceiling speakers. I really love the sound when I put in a movie.

Pros: Excellent surround sound.

Cons: Non

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio MC80

Crutchfield customer from Oklahoma on 12/15/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have 4 of these for my surround sound and they sound great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Speaker for the Price

Steeda46 from Leader, TX on 12/8/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After interviewing multiple speakers in several different price ranges I decided to go with the MC80s based on the reviews, pricing, previous experience with Polk Audio and what I heard in the stores. I am using 7 of them for two zones (a 5.1 in the main living area and a separate zone for music in the kitchen). I have been extremely impressed with the clarity at volume. Two Thumbs up!

Pros: Price vs sound quality.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Speaker!

Gary from Grand Rapids, Michigan on 11/8/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with the all around sound. I was very worried about the low end due to all the reviews I've read about in ceiling speakers. These guys put out enough bass to keep me happy. I needed ten so the price point worked well and the quality was a pleasant surprise.

Pros: Simple to install - Great sound for the money

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Polk MC80 /speakers

Joel from Virginia, MN on 11/2/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Sound for the price

Pros: Easy to hook up and has a nice clean appearance installed

Cons: non

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio MC80

Crutchfield customer from California on 7/30/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm very happy with these speakers. They are a very big step up from what I had.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

speakers

dave from Hopewell jct.,ny on 7/15/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding speaker,easy to install.

Pros: great sound ,they look good and they were easy to install.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

MC80 in ceiling speaker

Dave from Minneapolis MN on 6/7/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Right off the bat, I knew I needed discreet but quality sound since most wives don't approve of displaying tower speakers in a main living area. With this in mind, I needed to eliminate the separate subwoofer option, figuring the 8 inch woofers in the MC80 would be able to produce the deep sounds I desired. Best Buy Mongolia specialists showed me what was available through them, none of which I was impressed by except their in ceiling Bowers and Wilkins 8" 2 way speakers for $800.00 apiece. They also had a limited selection of Speaker Craft, and Definitive Technology in ceiling speakers. Needless to say, I looked around a bit for speakers that had rich quality sound that wouldn't break the bank. After installing my 4 Polk MC80's in a square formation - 7" wide, 7" long, using KnuKonceptz 14/2 audiophile CL3/UL rated wire, I went through the calibration and set my speakers to full spectrum. All things said, the sound quality is impressive. I can faintly tell they are not producing Bowers and Wilkins quality sound but for $130.00 a piece, you'd be hard pressed to find anything better. I can work out in the yard and hear my music clearly with the windows open and the bass they produce will vibrate the floor (not intended). The sound is rich and full even at high volume. I would highly recommend these speakers to anyone who is desires an in ceiling set up.

Pros: super clean sound and rich bass that you wouldnt anticipate at this price point

Cons: nothing

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Polk MC80

jazz fan in Georgia from Atlanta area on 5/12/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My system is used for music only. I listen to mostly jazz, classical and sometimes progressive rock (Renaissance, Yes). The core of my system is the Onkyo A-9050 amplifier, which feeds a pair of Klipsch RF600 speakers in the study and a pair of Polk MC80 ceiling speakers in the adjacent workshop. At present my sources are a Grundig Satellite AM/FM/air/shortwave receiver, a Sony CD player and an MP3 player and all of my cables are Audioquest. The workshop has a suspended ceiling, but instead of cutting holes in the fragile acoustic tile, I replaced 2 of the tiles with 1/2" cabinet grade plywood, made the speaker cutouts, painted them to match the tiles and placed them in diagonally opposite corners. I don't consider myself an audiophile, and my hearing isn't keen enough to discern a difference in $500.00 speakers and $20,000.00 speakers. This system is excellent for my purposes and is the envy of the neighborhood.

Pros: Sound just as good as the $500.00 Klipsch Reference floor speakers in the next room.

Cons: Spring clips instead of binding posts.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Speakers

Crutchfield customer from Jonesboro, AR on 5/9/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed 5 of these with a Onkyo receiver as suggested by Crutchfield.

Pros: Great sound, easy to install.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio MC80

Todd from Peachtree City, GA on 5/2/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent for the price. You can spend a lot more, but unless you have incredible senses these speakers will more than fill the bill. Also -- you can spend less -- and if you do -- you will know it. These are the right speakers for in-ceiling systems at the right price. I replaced our six on the main floor (what I'd call builder grade) with these. A great improvement.

Pros: Price and Sound Quality

Cons: Takes a while to "ratchet" them in. Also, they are just a tad smaller than the speakers I replaced -- so if measuring for standard replacement the flange that fits to the ceiling is about an 1/8 of an inch shy.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio MC80

Crutchfield customer from washington Pa on 4/27/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers for the price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Speakers

JimD from Denver, Co on 4/8/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers

Pros: Great sound

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Sound!

ET from Jackson, NJ on 3/30/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Chose in-ceiling speakers over wall-mounted. Easy to install as I had access from my attic. Sound quality is great. To maximize sound, the speakers can be pivoted and tilted so they reflect off the walls, as per the recessed ceiling mount set-up instructions.

Pros: Great sound and easy to install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

super speakers

mommersjjm from FL on 3/16/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers. Easy to install. Fit in well with our other speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Mc80

PRM from Albany, NY on 3/1/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you can use a tape measure, Sheetrock saw, and can read instructions the installation is easy peasy. The most difficult part was convincing the wife that I wasn't going to permanently scar the ceiling and satisfying her incredibly accurate ability to center things. The speakers sound great in a medium size kitchen and the treble & bass are evenly balanced as well as clear. Wife available for centering speakers within any space.

Pros: Easy install, looks great on ceiling, no need to paint trim or grill. Sound great.

Cons: None at this point

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Good ceiling speakers

Mike from Arlington TX on 2/24/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clear sounding speakers, easy to install with good bass.

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: Sound is a little on the bright side.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

solid

Crutchfield customer from tampa on 2/14/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid design and easy install

Pros: Customer support was outstanding.

Cons: Non

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great ceiling speakers

Crutchfield customer from Cincinnati, OH on 2/13/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install, great sound,

Pros: Easy to install and great sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio MC80

DBB from Madison, MS on 2/3/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I self-installed 3 of these with the RCi-80s for surround sound. Used a Yamaha receiver to tie it all together. Installation was easy and the speakers sound great! Couldn't ask for better. Plus with the ceiling mount you barely notice they're there.

Pros: Easy install. Sound great! Looks professional.

Cons: None...other than I should've gotten them sooner.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Pretty Good In Ceiling Speakers

J.G. from Phoenix on 1/13/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I may be a very critical but I've never had in ceiling speakers but they sound ok. I say only ok because it seems the high/midrange sounds a little tinny to me. The bass is not too bad considering what they are, the bass is pretty sharp. They definitely can handle some serious power. I tried a pair for my workout room as additional speakers to my existing very tried but good sounding Pinnacle PN5's & they add but to the overall sound but again they sound a little tinny to me. I do not think I'd like these as the sole speakers but in addition to very good existing ones they are okay.

Pros: Quality, lifetime warranty, & ease of installation.

Cons: Very big hole must be made in the ceiling & a little tinny sounding.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Better than expected

Dave C from Florida on 12/23/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have never owned in ceiling speakers before and after reading reviews about how in ceiling speakers are not as good as book shelf speakers due to not being encased I really didn't know what to expect. When they finally got installed and hooked up I could not believe how good they sounded. The clarity of sound is exceeded my expectations of them. I purchased 4 MC80's for the front L/R and rear surrounds along with a TL3 center channel. I also received a PSW111 sub that was free from a promotion Crutchfield was running. I basically use the system for music, movies and TV. and am very happy with the purchase. Most installers in my area install 6.5" in ceiling speakers and when Norm (Crutchfield Rep) recommended the MC80's I was surprised. I am glad I took the advice and went with the 8" over the 6.5". Definitely worth the purchase.

Pros: Clarity

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great sound plastic frame

Ryan from Kansas on 12/23/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These sound great but with the plastic frame they have to be painted before installation. I would have preferred a speaker that only the grilll needs to be painted.

Pros: great sound

Cons: plastic frame

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Home Theater Speakers

RandyW from Hot Springs, AR on 5/30/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speaker's especially for the price, easy to mount with the included cutout guides. Being able to aim the tweeter is important to help direct the sound to the center of the room. Overall they provide great sound. I would recommend them to anyone looking for great sound at an affordable price. I installed 5 of the speakers.

Pros: Great sound and price

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Satisified

Scott D. from Edina, MN on 5/21/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds very good in my kitchen. All told, a good value for the money. I would buy it again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

excellent speakers

Crutchfield customer from Colorado on 6/16/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are very nice. Very easy to install. They work excellent as the surround speakers for my home theater set up. The only reason I did not give these a 5 is I would like to see a better speaker wire connection. The connection is burried in the ceiling (once installed) and i would like to see a better connection than the spring clips they come with. They work, but I would like binding posts since they are more secure and pulling the speakers to check a loose connection would be a pain.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pretty Good

JimmyB from Arlington, VA on 6/14/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the money, these speakers are pretty good! I have 2 in my dining room, and 2 over the bar in the basement. I selected these b/c they were in my price point, and I don't have a sub in these rooms. I also have speaker craft (6" I believe) in my kitchen. I'm glad I have the polks where I do b/c I don't have a sub and the bass is good. My only issue is that the polks are more 'airy' than the speakercrafts. So now I'm looking to put in-ceiling speakers in my living room, and since I have a sub, I will be going with the speakercraft. I find the speakercraft more accurate, clearer separation, and just and easier/warmer sound. At low volumes - doesn't matter...but I like to turn it up and we have parties so we're palying tunes. Side by side I prefer the speakercraft as the mid-highs on the polks is airy/tinty. But the speakercraft cost more. So for the money, without a sub...great ceiling speakers. If you turn it up, listen to music, and have a sub...please look elsewhere.

Pros: cost, base, good at low-medium volumes

Cons: airy as the volume goes up...will hurt your ears at some point.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Excellent Sound - Great Value

Erik from Fullerton, CA on 4/24/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a large great-room (20'x40') with my TV at one end and kitchen/dining at the other. I put 6 MC80s in the room and they sound fantastic. In 7.1ch surround mode, I get amazing separation and crisp sound. For listening to music in stereo (without the sub), the MC80s fill the room and the low-end is good enough that I almost don't miss the sub. I can't imagine better speakers at this price point.

Pros: Crisp highs, great lows, easy installation.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Soiund Insulation

Mark P from Evergreen CO on 2/11/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just put a pair of the MC80s into the ceiling of an office adjacent to my theater room which is on the lower level of my house. The speakers seem to work fine, however, they are in the ceiling of the lower level of my house and I am experiencing considerable sound "leaking" through the floor above to the main level of the house. This is very annoying and limits the sound level that I can listen at if anyone is on the main level. I am going to have to figure out some way to insulate them after the fact. This will be made more difficult as I will have to either tear out a bigger piece of the ceiling to do this or somehow fit the sound insulation material through the small hole made for the speaker. Something to think about if you are working on a lower level.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 8 found this helpful

Bar Speakers

Bar Keep from Chicago, IL on 1/19/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm very happy with these speakers. I installed them in the ceiling in my bonus room. The only thing to think about is insulation. When I first installed them, I did not have insulation above them and they accumulated a lot of condensation on them. Fortunately they are weather proof! I have since put some insulation over them an all is good.

Pros: Easy installation, great sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Polk Audio MC80

Tim from Guam on 8/30/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install and great sound. After reading the reviews of the speaker i selected a pair of the 8" for my bathrooom ceiling. They sound fantastic but I could have gone with the 6". Very easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Very good ceiling speakers

gw from FL on 6/8/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed these speakers as the front speakers (L/R and C) in my den. The sound great and look good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio MC80

Joseph from San Jose on 5/28/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have used many different Polk speakers over the years and they continue to impress me with the build quality and audio output. This MC80 was no exception - great sound and quality. They are worth every penny!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio MC80

DW from Omaha, NE on 2/22/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These were installed as the front speakers in my home theater system. They hide in the ceiling very well. Easy to install. Real nice full range sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio MC80

RayK from Jacksonville, Florida on 2/3/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The speakers were a snap to install and perform exceptionally well. If any speakers are better or easier to install I would be greatly surprised.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Solid speaker

Nick from WDM IA on 2/3/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The MC80's are a better speaker and worth the extra money but use them where you need the extra money spent like your fronts (listening ot music, main speaker application) Otherwise use the RC80i's. The average guy cant tell the differance in sound. You more than likely goign to run them with a sub anyway. One note - the speaker grills contain the white paper on the inside as the grills. The RC80i's do not. That paper goes a long way in makeing them blend into your ceiling. Without the paper the RC80i's take on a yellow or brown hue since the tiny holes in the grill let the black color of the speaker itself show through. The white paper on the MC80's makes the entire grill (holes and all) look white. I didnt paint them to match and they look great anyway. I didnt paint the grills on my RC80i's either but it wouldnt have made a differance with the holes, afterall you cant paint a hole. Great speakers, worth the money over the RC80i's. Odds are if your looking at these over the really high end units you couldnt tell the differance anyway. Install was easy. I put them in post construction but i had an attic above the room they went in. Make sure you measure a few times before cutting any holes. You cant just trow them in. make sure there are no joists or other obstructions.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

28 of 29 found this helpful

POlk MC 80 Speakers

David H from Irvine, CA on 1/26/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good rich sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio MC80

CMW1894 from Central California on 1/19/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased five of these with a Polk 12" subwoofer. Simply AWESOME!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great price, great sound!

JK from Tampa on 1/17/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Did not want to go broke buying speakers for media room but still wanted quality sound. Mission accomplished.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

I'd do it again

Scott from Phoenix, AZ on 1/8/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These were a breeze to install. The center speaker had to be offset a few inches because of a stud in the ceiling. First one took 30 minutes of measuring, second 15 minutes, third 10 minutes (prewired house, but had to cut/mount speakers). They look and feel high quality and the sound is awesome.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great For Built-in Surround Sound

KC from Milwaukee, WI on 12/21/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased three of these along with a pair of Polk RC80i and the Polk PSW111 subwoofer. I use these MC80s as the front three speakers and the RC80i speakers for surround. Installation is really quite simple. Assuming you have the wires in place, just cut a hole, plug in wires, place speaker in the hole and tighten the four screws. That's it. The hardest part was figuring out exactly where to cut the holes so that they lined up perfectly. I was worried that I was going to regret not buying a speaker specifically built to be a center channel (these replaced a set of Bose with designated center channel that sounded great, but I was going for the "built-in" look). My worries were unfounded. These are quality speakers and using one as a center channel works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Outstanding Speakers

DZ from Houston on 12/3/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased these speakers for a 5.1 system. They installed in a snap, the template worked perfectly. My builder had pre-wired our home, so all the pre-work was done. Sound is awsome!! I have a fairly standard Sony 100W reciever and used the auto-calibration feature to set up the system, easy and now perfect speaker balance. I highly reccommend Polk!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome performance

Eric from Cary, NC on 1/28/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I ordered 5 of these for an in-ceiling 5.1 installation. I also ordered the psw111 subwoofer to go with it. The speaker installation was the easiest part of my install. Each speaker literally took no more than 10 minutes to install. Using the included template, I cut the circle in the ceiling where the speaker was to be installed. I connected the wire I ran through the ceiling to the speaker. Next I pushed the speaker up to the ceiling and turned all 5 screws until the speaker was snug. I put the metal guard on speaker front and was done. They fit snug in the ceiling and have great sound. I couldn't be happier!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Excellent Product when compared with RC80i

kiran from Houston, Texas on 1/7/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I ordered a total of 12 in Ceiling speakers during Christmas. 4 of them were MC80 (for my living area - 5.1) and the remaining ones were RC80i (for my media room - a 7.1). After installation there was huge difference in sound quality when MC80 and RC80i were compared. You definitely need a sub-woofer to give that quality hearing to your ears for both speakers, however MC80 really stood out. On full volumes, the speakers did not wobble or give any tearing sound, however it was not the same with RC80i. I have hooked up these speakers with Onkyo receivers and there is a huge difference with the sound quality. The sound quality from MC is pleasing and really gives you a home theater effect when watching movies. I wish i could have got all MC80's.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

35 of 36 found this helpful

TOP