Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
772 918 288 3
Connect ID #
772 918 288 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Polk Audio MM 1042 SVC

MM1 Series 10" 4-ohm subwoofer

MFR # AA8042-A

Polk Audio MM 1042 SVC

Polk Audio MM 1042 SVC

MM1 Series 10" 4-ohm subwoofer

MFR # AA8042-A

12 reviews
View this product

Perfect Sub for the money

James from Austin, TX on 3/2/2022

1999 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic sub to add to my existing Polk DB series door speakers. I chose the MM based on its power handling capabilities. I put it into a down firing box I made for the trunk space in my Outback. This sub has great deep tones at those lower bass frequencies. The thumps are accurate and perfect for my system. Great sub for the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bumpity bump bump

Crutchfield customer from Corvallis, OR on 8/5/2021

2006 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This sub just does work. I have it paired to a 4ohm 300w amp, in a ~1 cubic foot sealed box. I mostly use it to fill the audio stage in my truck, and it does it well - and is also quite a bit of fun yamming on it with bass heavy music. There are some real low notes it struggles with, I'm thinking below the 30hz mark. That said, it could be some combination of it being outside the efficient range, my amp setup, and my stock head unit. Being that it is water proof, I have definitely poured water on it while it was cranked, and I was not disappointed lol.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio MM 1042 SVC

Crutchfield customer from Port Jefferson, NY on 7/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Certainly added some thump to my boat, time will tell how suited to a salt water environment it is, though.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent sound and performance

Crutchfield customer from NEW ALBANY, OH on 5/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Forget JL or any of the other brands when it comes down to power handling and overall great sub sound without breaking the bank. Had two of these in my cruiser for 3 summers and can't be happier. For a boat in a free air mounting setup like most boats, these are awesome, really low bass and totally fill up the sound stage. These are paired up to a 1000W Polk mono class D amp also purchased 3 years ago. All work flawlessly, highly recommended.

Pros: Value, sound quality, durability in wet marine cockpit.

Cons: Grills hard to get that match my old MM Polk components.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio MM 1042 SVC

Crutchfield customer from Burlingame, CA on 9/16/2020

2001 Dodge Ram

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speaker for the price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio MM 1042 SVC

Crutchfield customer from Highland, AR on 6/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Powerful bass

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio MM 1042 SVC

Crutchfield customer from Houston, MS on 6/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A great subwoofer for the price. Not the loudest speaker out there but it is very clean and makes all forms of music sound good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Can't go wrong these bump!

Mel from Hilltop Lakes, TX on 5/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very great line of subs. Very clean sound with good excursion. Best 10" subs I ever owned and would definitely buy again without hesitation.

Pros: Price SQ Frequency response range Shallow mount Marine rated Good excursion Sound so clean sealed but also sound great ported and will go low. Good power handling

Cons: None really.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Just that good!

Matt from San Diego, CA on 12/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This sub performs way better than expected. I can't believe they don't cost hundreds more. I won't mention names but they are better than my Last one that started with a J! For half the money! They are perfect in my sealed enclosure! I just still can't believe they cost this much! I would recommend to anyone looking for a high end sub! Thanks Crutchfield for leading me this way! I will be back!

Pros: Everything! Better than others costing hundreds more. Doesn't matter what kind of music you listen to!

Cons: Zero!

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

10" Polk Sub Assume!!!

Henri from Kenner, LA on 5/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am a Rocker and can't stand Distortion, I drive a 2013 Camaro LS and put Focals 165 KRX2 Component ?? speakers, a Pioneer 9605 100w x 4 and 600w to the Sub, a Audio Control LC7i Digital Processor, and the Polk Audio MM 1042 SVC 10" , Sealed incloser. The Polk Sub performs perfectly at any volume level w no Distortion at all, it pops Hard and Clean. I told Crutchfield what I wanted, he steered me to these Polks. I'm glad he did. Ty Crutchfield will be back w my future needs!!!!

Pros: No Distortion at any volume level, small enough to fit my Camaro,it's heavy performs perfectly!!!

Cons: Can't find any!!!

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Polk Audio MM 1042 SVC

Nick from Arlington, TN on 5/20/2018

2007 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I didn't know tens could hit this hard. Very pleased. The pair are paired with an infinity kappa 1000w amp

Pros: Everything

Cons: The standard 10" grill covers from Crutchfield don't work to cover them. They grill covers touch the speakers when they aren't even playing

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

very clean accurate sound

gyula from san francisco,ca on 6/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very Clean sound.no distortion.handle alot of Power.very accurate.

Pros: Precise.articulate.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound