Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
767 846 251 3

Call center hours

Connect ID #
767 846 251 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time. Please visit our Support page to find the help you need.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Please select an email topic.  

Looking for tech support?
Please call us at 1-800-955-9091

Need help now?
Call an advisor: 1-888-955-6000

Please enter your name.  
Please enter your US phone number.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Polk Audio MM 522

Mobile Monitor Series 5-1/4" 2-way car speakers

MFR # AA8522-A

Polk Audio MM 522

Polk Audio MM 522

Mobile Monitor Series 5-1/4" 2-way car speakers

MFR # AA8522-A

23 reviews
View this product

Polk Audio MM 522

Crutchfield customer from Naples, FL on 1/24/2020

2015 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good product for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pretty good value even when pushed to their limit

Brenten P. from ROYAL OAK, MI on 10/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed these in the fairing of my 2016 Victory Cross Country. They are being driven by a bridged KenwoodKAC-M182BT Amplifier that puts out 90W RMS per channel (200W peak each channel / 400W total). This is just beyond what these speakers are rated for but they still work pretty well. There is some distortion when turned all the way up like you would expect. They are not very responsive for the lower frequencies, but they are only a 5.25" speaker.

Pros: - Fit in my application (motorcycle fairing) without having to modify the mounting location. - Good Price / Value

Cons: - Bass response is not what would come from a larger speaker. - Distortion when pushed to their limit.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Outstanding!

Crutchfield customer from Wichita, KS on 9/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding Speakers! Put these in my 2018 Chieftain Limited and these speakers are full balanced and remain clear even when dimed all the way. The best motorcycle upgrade speakers out there!

Pros: Balanced across the spectrum, no need to EQ them, no harsh frequencies. Very clear and punchy.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great speakers

Crutchfield customer from Hudson, FL on 7/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the speakers. I've only had them for a week but they sound great and the price was good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio MM 522

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, OH on 7/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I added these to my bike & they just don't have much Bass & if you turn the bass up they can't handle it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk mm522

Crutchfield customer from Green Bay, WI on 7/21/2019

2005 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speaker. Clear- good sound quality. Easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio MM 522

Crutchfield customer from Colgate, WI on 4/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great build quality, nice swivel tweeter

Pros: build quality

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio MM 522

Crutchfield customer from Brooksville, FL on 10/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Did not sound as good as the Rockford Fosgates I was replacing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 10/10/2018
We're sorry you're disappointed with your speakers. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio MM 522

clifford from Monument, CO on 8/21/2018

2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Speakers sound good for what they are (inexpensive speakers). Perfect for replacing the blown speakers in my work truck. I would not install them in my Porsche. They my be better than I think because I am still using the base, 12 year old GM head unit.

Pros: cost, two way

Cons: narrow dynamic range

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Best Sound for the Price

Joshua from Dewey, AZ on 8/6/2018

2003 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed these in my jeep because I wanted something that was waterproof that way I did not have to worry about leaving the top down and the speakers getting ruined. They installed great however I had to get a wooden circle ring speaker adapter to fit in the stock hole in the sound pod. The speaker fits farther out the hole and it looks great as you can see from my picture. These speakers sound great and come with nice wire to connect to the wiring adapters.

Pros: Great Sound Great Price Great Brand

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio MM 522

Crutchfield customer from Bloomingdale, NJ on 8/5/2018

1974 Jaguar XKE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very poor bass. I don't recommend use without sub woofer

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio MM 522

Crutchfield customer from Donalsonville, GA on 7/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and clarity. Great price and professional services. Thanks Larry S.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clear, crisp sound

Jon from Rome, GA on 7/15/2018

2012 Harley-Davidson Street Glide

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced the factory fairing speakers on my 2012 Harley with these MM522's. Although I will probably add an amp later to bring out a little more bass and get full, rich sound, I am very pleased with the clarity of these speakers, even at highway speeds.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sound A+ / Build Quality C-

Crutchfield customer from Anoka, MN on 7/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased 4 and installed on my motorcycle. They sound great. However, after about 20 hours combined riding/listening, the center cone on one has become loose and gets distorted.

Pros: Sound output and clarity.

Cons: Build quality and longevity.

Crutchfield response on 7/11/2018
We're sorry you're having issues with one of your speakers. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase, and lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

sounds great

Shawn from Woodway, TX on 6/25/2018

1999 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great in my 1999 Jeep Wrangler

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio MM 522

Crutchfield customer from Semmes, AL on 5/23/2018

2016 Nissan Frontier PRO-4X

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worth the price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio MM 522

Crutchfield customer from Gilbert, AZ on 5/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Upgraded from a different speaker. No distortion, crisp clear sound. No issues at high volume on a motorcycle at speed. Love them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Limited Space

Bruce from Shreveport, LA on 5/13/2018

1998 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These sound great for their size. This is the largest speaker that will fit in my Jeeps Soundbar.

Pros: These speakers sound very good for their size.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio MM 522

Crutchfield customer from Memphis, TN on 5/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

sounds better than the speakers that were on my boat.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Brilliant

Gary from Lucama, NC on 4/20/2018

2008 Dodge Nitro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

All I can say about these speakers is that the sound is amazing and get better the more volume you give them. Well done POLK.

Pros: Worth every penny.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio MM 522

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, KY on 4/5/2018

1996 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

very good for the size. I installed these in the front doors of my Jeep Cherokee and sound quite good with the Pioneers in the rear. Due to room restrictions, 5.25 in speakers are the largest I can use. These sound bigger than they are. Response is what you would expect from Polk Audio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound

Dusty from Taylorsville, UT on 11/19/2017

2002 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They sound great. Honestly once i realized my speakers weren't stock but blaupunkts(sp?) I almost left it and returned them. But after a while the BP just sounded bad and super middy and bassy. So I put these in and am surprised. W the rear BP for bass these things sound quite awesome. I need to get a sub and amp, yeah but i usually just run the Grandma setup. These things sound great just off of the head.

Pros: Good sounding, adjustable tweets

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio MM 522

John from Southside, AL. on 9/19/2017

2013 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Mounted them in springer headlight bodies and attached them to my sportster sound is clear and loud. I would recommend them.

Pros: Compact waterproof

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TOP