Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
404 256 572 3
Connect ID #
404 256 572 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Polk Audio PB 65

Pre-construction brackets for
RC65i in-wall speakers

MFR # AW0066-A

Polk Audio PB 65

Polk Audio PB 65

Pre-construction brackets for
RC65i in-wall speakers

MFR # AW0066-A

13 reviews
View this product

Nice brackets, weak flat head screws

Crutchfield customer from Baxter, MN on 7/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The brackets and the screws that hold the wings on the brackets are great. The flat head screws that are meant to screw the brackets to the wall are junk. The first one I put in snapped off easily. I had to come back to our newly constructed house later with real sheet rock screws to attach the brackets.

Pros: Bracket is great for new construction

Cons: Pricey! Cheap flat head screws that will snap off if you try to snug them down.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio PB 65

Crutchfield customer from Chandler, TX on 4/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like the concept, but the screw that were provided are terrible and break easily.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio PB 65

Crutchfield customer from Bethel Park, PA on 3/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install, quality product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not substantial speaker mounts

Coy J from Dayton, OH on 3/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are not substantial speaker mounting brackets but do align the speakers for drywall holes. Mounting screws are small and I broke a couple using a power screw driver. Must assemble this model with screws. Pricey for what it is.

Pros: Align speakers for drywall holes

Cons: Small mounting screws Must assemble Flimsy Pricey

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio PB 65

Doug Smart from Londonderry, NH on 10/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I found these to be pretty easy to install. I was nervous based on some reviews that it would be difficult with the supplied screws so I used DryWall screws, but not sure it made too much difference. I installed these along with similar ones for the ceiling and thought it was reasonably easy to do. Hoping it makes it easier to put the speakers in with the drywall already cut by the dry wall installers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio PB 65

Andrew from Imperial, MO on 9/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They're nice for letting the drywallers know where to cut holes, but they seem expensive for what you get. And listen to what everyone else says about the screws: don't bother with them because the heads sheer off with very little force.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Purchase

Josh from Chesterton, IN on 10/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy installation and the drywall contractors were able to cut around the brackets as they installed the drywall.

Pros: Heavy duty bracket and easy install.

Cons: Low quality screws included in packaging. Straps are a bit flimsy but not bad.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio PB 65

Crutchfield customer from Englewood, CO on 8/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These brackets do the job but they are way overpriced for what you get. In addition, they are flimsy and are prone to breakage.

Pros: Establishes a good drywall template for the speakers.

Cons: Expensive and flimsy. Instructions are inadequate.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

In wall Speaker mounting brackets.

John from ipswich, MA on 3/12/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It just so happens I finished installing this product yesterday. I had to wait for the Foam Insulation to go in first. I ran the wire first, then lined up the Brackets where I wanted them and made sure they were level. I then installed two 2x4 studs, top and bottom to reinforce the Brackets on both speaker locations. This I find was a critical up grade to hold the Brackets very strongly and rigid. It did not take long and worked out to perfection. It was not in the instructions but having experience in building was a no brainer for me. Before I even bought the Brackets I new ahead of time that this was crucial. This method can be done in a preexisting wall but would certainly be a little more difficult. BUT, it can be done if your looking for a great base for your Speakers.

Pros: It's an awesome tool for in wall Speaker installation. You just need to know ahead of time what's involved with the install and plan ahead.

Cons: For the people that are not hands on or handy I can see this being a little daunting. I suggest that the Manufacture Co. update ther instruction sheet to help people know what to expect.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Easy Installation, little flimsy

SeanF from Chicago, IL on 11/6/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am in the process of getting my basement finished, so since it was pre-drywall, I figured I would use the mounting brackets. They were super easy to put up, and I found that it will make final installation of the speakers very easy. They are not the best made product and the screws it came with are very soft as the heads spun off on a few of them when screwing into a stud. That said, it does what it is supposed to do, although, should be much cheaper.

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: A little pricy

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Easy Installation, Cheap Screws

GabeP from Horseshoe Bay, TX on 8/25/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Straight-forward, simple installation in a new-build home. My only complaint is that the drywall screws provided with the brackets are a bit substandard. All but two of them broke off at the head when screwing them into the studs. Not expensive to replace them, but it did result in an inconvenient trip to the hardware store. House is not complete yet, so not sure how much of a difference these will make vs installing the RC65i speakers without brackets.

Pros: Easy installation.

Cons: Sub-standard drywall screws provided.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

OK for New Construction

Matt from Atlanta, GA on 1/25/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I used these before the drywall went up. They are just ok...very flimsy, and the screws that come with them to attach to the wood studs are awful. Use drywall screws or buy some wood screws to attach to studs.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

low value

gardner from des moines, IA on 1/20/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

You'll spend more time installing and adjusting these brackets than the actual speakers. For the price, you get some molded plastic, which seem to be relatively low cost to produce. When installing the machine screws that hold the brackets together, strip and loosen easily, then when you screw in the drywall style screws to the studs, the bracket gets pulled out of level or square, as the screw drifts in the wood. The screws that came with it, will break off w/ minimal torque, so discard those and use drywall screws. If the whole bracket and side wings were molded one piece, it would be better. I liked the PB85 style better. Installing the bracket before drywall will cause you to have to cut and line up the drywall hole precisely with the bracket, but if you skip the bracket and cut the hole in the drywall later, then the hole position is less critical. I also installed a pair of RC65i without brackets in existing drywall, and cut the hole in the same amount of time as installing brackets elsewhere.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

16 of 16 found this helpful

TOP