Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
164 219 614 3
Connect ID #
164 219 614 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Polk Audio PB LC80

Pre-construction brackets for Polk 8" round in-ceiling speakers

MFR # AW0181-A

Polk Audio PB LC80

Polk Audio PB LC80

Pre-construction brackets for Polk 8" round in-ceiling speakers

MFR # AW0181-A

40 reviews
View this product

Polk Audio PB LC80

Crutchfield customer from Catonsville, MD on 11/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unfortunately it was a bit unclear how these helped as they did not seem to provide support. they seemed more for location. I had an Old Work situation so I am returning them. Maybe for new work they would help identify location.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great product. Wish they were a little cheaper.

Crutchfield customer from Seattle, WA on 9/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Makes installation a breeze. Only took one star off because they are so expensive.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best Speaker Brackets Around (Polk Audio PB LC80)!

Crutchfield customer from Vancouver, WA on 7/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Polk Audio PB LC80 makes adding speakers to your new home a breeze. When your house is under construction just place the pre-construction brackets where you want, run your speaker wire and you are good to go. I have used the Polk Audio PB LC80 brackets in three house builds over the years and they do not disappoint. I looked at using cheaper non Polk Audio brand brackets, but the sizing was just completely off and would have left me with a hole that would have been too large for the speakers. I will continue to purchase these brackets in the future. Highly recommend them to everyone looking to make their audio setup easier.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio PB LC80

Crutchfield customer from Reno, NV on 7/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pricey but sturdy and easy to use.

Pros: Ease of use

Cons: Cost

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio PB LC80

Crutchfield customer from Lake Forest, IL on 2/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really helpful for pre-construction speaker installations.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Preconstruction hep

Crutchfield customer from Saint Charles, MO on 1/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to use. Useful to be proactive and let the drywall installers cut the openings.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio PB LC80

Crutchfield customer from Lansing, MI on 12/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install and works great for the speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio PB LC80

Doug Smart from Londonderry, NH on 10/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I found these to be pretty easy to install. I was nervous based on some reviews that it would be difficult with the supplied screws so I used DryWall screws, but not sure it made too much difference. I haven't installed the speakers yet, but getting the hangers in was pretty easy. Drywall goes in next week. They aren't super sturdy, but not really sure they need to be since the main reason I put them in was to provide a little extra support than just Drywall and so I didn't have to cut the drywall out myself. Figured I'd make more of a mess with that.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio PB LC80

Chris from Shelton, CT on 9/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great to help pre-position the speaker between the studs and saves a ton of work on the back end to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio PB LC80

Crutchfield customer from Lincolnshire, IL on 8/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hangers work well for mc80 speakers. Recommend them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio PB LC80

Crutchfield customer from Salisbury, NC on 8/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfect

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio PB LC80

Crutchfield customer from Tuscaloosa, AL on 4/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio PB LC80

Crutchfield customer from Caldwell, NJ on 3/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Helped a lot!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio PB LC80

Crutchfield customer from Blaine, MN on 3/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love these. Help ton for my basement. Thanks

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio PB LC80

Crutchfield customer from Coopersville, MI on 3/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very Simple to install and worked out great!

Pros: very easy to use

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Purchase

Josh from Chesterton, IN on 10/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was able to install them during the construction of our home prior to the drywallers coming in. They are sturdy and made it easy for the drywallers to install the drywall and cut around the brackets. Only reason for the 4/5 stars is that the screws that were included in the packaging weren't the highest quality. I had a few instances where the screws broke as I was drilling them into the studs.

Pros: Heavy duty and easy install.

Cons: Low quality screws included in packaging. Recommend using your own screws.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio PB LC80

Crutchfield customer from Nampa, ID on 9/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy installation.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio PB LC80

Crutchfield customer from Mississippi on 9/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install, the straps could be a little more sturdy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio PB LC80

Erik from Grand Rapids, MI on 9/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product for installing speakers in new construction. If you think they are pricey, they are, however they make up for it in the time and headaches you save in determining speaker location and final installation. Drywall contractor knew exactly what to do when hanging new drywall, they cut around the bracket and made speaker installation a snap.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works great!

Ron from Duncan, SC on 8/29/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The straps on these work much better than the straps on the rectangular brackets by Polk.

Pros:

Cons: Price?

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect Fit!

Joe from Baton Rouge, LA on 6/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit. Makes rough-in easy. This helps minimize mess-ups by your contractors.

Pros: easy to use

Cons: not meant to hold weight.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio PB LC80

Crutchfield customer from Vienna, VA on 4/7/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple to install, did the job. A bit pricey for what it is, but worth it for a new installation. Also, if you install these and decide on a slightly different speaker location, it is a headache to change. Overall a good buy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

5 stars

Bobby from Wolfeboro, NH on 3/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product for new construction

Pros: Easy install, decent price

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio PB LC80

Crutchfield customer from Maryville, TN on 3/21/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install. Ensures right location when installing drywall.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio PB LC80

Crutchfield customer from Atlanta, GA on 1/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy installation with well thought out instructions. Great sound!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

They work as designed ... BUT ...

Scott from Scottsdale, AZ on 1/1/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fairly easy to install and for new construction they serve the purpose. If my rating was solely on functionality, it would be 5 stars. Taking price into account (way overpriced), I can only give them three stars.

Pros: Serve the purpose. Pre-drywall .....

Cons: Over priced !!!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great for intended use

Ron from Alburnett, IA on 12/20/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They work great for their intended use but do not install in cold weather if you can help it.

Pros: Allows drywall installer to know exactly where to cut holes and allows for easy install of speaker later.

Cons: Thin and cannot handle cold weather installation. Price is a little high for plastic.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Over priced but worth it

60 Triumph from Crystal Lake, IL on 9/24/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am building a new house and going to install the Polk RC80i speakers. I ordered the Preconstruction Ceiling Brackets so I could get the speakers positioned where I wanted them and speed the speaker installation. I am somewhat handy but have never done well at cutting drywall. I though having the brackets would leave the cutting to the pros. I also ordered the XTC 12" Speaker Baffles to keep insulation off the speakers As everyone says these should be about $5 a pair, not $50. Cheap and flimsy. My roof trusses were 24" on center. If you off center the speaker between the trusses (which I needed to do on multiple speakers due to space constraints), the brackets may not be long enough to span the opening. I needed to nail blocks to the side of the trusses to reach the straps. If you do not center the screw in the hole when attaching the brackets, the bracket will move to center itself to the screw. This will move the position of the speaker opening I would say up to an inch. If you have 3 or more speakers in a row, this may be noticeable. Why the 5 star rating for an overpriced piece of plastic that you need to use caution when installing? In my case it would have been very difficult to position the speakers symmetrically in the room and equal distant from recessed lights after drywall without hitting a truss. I slit the base of the XTC enclosures and slid the speaker brackets through the slit. The ID of the baffle is just slightly larger than the ID of the bracket.

Pros: Allows you to position the speakers exactly where you want them.

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio PB LC80

Crutchfield customer from Point Roberts, WA on 8/18/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Makes install easier

Jeff from Washington, DC on 4/21/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product is a good one. As my installer said, "you can pay the cost now for the brackets, or pay more once drywall goes up when the labor is more intensive to cut out the speaker holes." I opted to pay the costs up front so I could see, and approve, exactly where the speakers would be placed.

Pros: allows for visual "validation" of where speakers will be placed before drywall goes up

Cons: expensive for just a plastic ring.... it adds 30%+ to the cost of the speakers.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great for wall mount but not ceiling

santust from havelock, NC on 2/7/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These brackets are plastic and very flimsy, only 1/8" thick. The price is high compared to the quality. If using them for ceiling mounted speakers don't expect them to support any of the weight, your ceiling drywall will be doing all the work - again the plastic straps bend too easily for that purpose. It seems that are simply to mark the location of the speakers for your sub-contractors to know where to cut the holes and run the wires. Now, for wall mount speakers they will support the weight as the straps are 2" wide and do not flex in the vertical direction when mounted in the wall.

Pros: lets contractors know where to cut holes and run wires.

Cons: Too pricey, and not weight bearing for ceiling speakers.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Don't hesitate!

Bsmith from Arkansas on 12/31/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you are building a new home these are a must. Made the job easy for the drywall guys so they knew exactly where to cut the holes for the speakers. It's a must if you want to make sure everything is done correctly.

Pros: Easy installation

Cons: A bit pricey

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio PB LC80 Reviews

max from Wisconsin on 6/5/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Considering cost, they are pretty flimsy.

Pros: Great for rough in install.

Cons: Costly

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Worked great - still not happy about the price.

Dave from North Carolina on 12/8/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these and then decided to read the reviews. Looking at the alternative solutions I felt I'd just been had after shelling about about $50 a pair for these since I'm a reasonably handy individual. I installed them anyway and now that I have installed the speakers I have to say I can't imagine doing the job without them. The drywall guys knew exactly where to cut and how to cut it. In the one hole they didn't clear out right the circle enabled me to finish the job. When you install the speakers you have very little lip on the mounting bracket to work with so messing up with a homemade solution is highly probable. Even still, I'm going to remove a star for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Easy Installation, little flimsy

SeanF from Chicago, IL on 11/6/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I also installed the PB65 pre-contrcution brackets as well. My comments are similar for this model. Super easy to install, but not made of the best materials and are a little flimsy. That said, I do think these will help with final installation of speakers. Screws that come with these mounting brackets are too soft, and some broke when I screwed them into the studs.

Pros: Easy installation

Cons: a bit pricy

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio PB LC80

Crutchfield customer from Merion, PA on 3/25/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great customer service led me to the correct speakers for both a 5.1 system and whole home audio. These speaker rings made it very easy to visualize the speaker placement and get the wire to stay where it needs to be. We haven't finished the speaker installation yet, so this review is just for the drywall rings - but so far so good. I agree with previous reviewers in that the price could certainly be lower, but for an old house with uncertain joist locations, it worked for us.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Speaker Dry Wall Mount

tdp from Mineral Springs, NC on 7/12/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

per the builder - exactly what we need.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pre-Construct

Greg from Alabama on 11/11/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just cut the drywall after construction and save the $

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: WAAAY overpriced for a cheap piece of plastic!

Crutchfield response on

14 of 14 found this helpful

Useless item, don't waste your money

Crutchfield customer from NC on 8/21/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Don't waste your money on this item! It does you no good. It does not mount the speaker no matter what any one tells you!!! The speaker does not connect to the mount or get any support from it. Use the template that comes with the speakers and hang for the sheetrock guys and they will know exactly what to do. I was told I could use these to hang speakers on my porch with a vinyl ceiling so I bought them and found out otherwise. The instructions specifically state that is not to be used as a mount, and it really can't. The speakers are meant to hang straight off the sheetrock. The product description is not clear and the tech told me it would support the speaker, but it does not. These guys are the greatest but this is a misunderstanding. You can accomplish as much with a pen and a piece of poster board and save the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

22 of 22 found this helpful

effective but costly

Crutchfield customer from San Luis Obispo, CA on 8/4/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Effective, but terribly overpriced for what it is - a piece of plastic.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

TOP