Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Polk Audio RC55i

In-wall speakers

MFR # AW0055-A

Polk Audio RC55i

Polk Audio RC55i

In-wall speakers

MFR # AW0055-A

55 reviews
View this product

Nice sound in a small package

Crutchfield customer from Writsvlle Bch, NC on 4/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed something to replace some similar sizes Niles Audio speakers I bought 20 years ago from Crutchfield. They were installed in a rental house, and I am sure people blasted the music too loud; eventually the voice coils (on the Niles) went. These Polk speakers were the same width, but about 1" wider. so I was able to cut out a little drywall, and fit these right in. Great instructions, nice packaging, good looks. They sound so much better than the broken ones, and maybe even better than the non broken ones I have as rear speakers. They are installed in a cathedral ceiling, stuffed with insulation, so not much chance for bass reinforcement, so I added a small sub-woofer, but they sounded better than what I had before even without the sub. Very clear highs, and amazing mid/low from a 5" driver. Good sound for the money, and I hope that with the subwoofer, people keep the volume to something reasonable.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

First polks

Crutchfield customer from Axtell, NE on 4/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound awesome and great value and amazing customer service.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Big improvement

Greg from Crystal Lake, IL on 2/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Major upgrade over my 20+ year old pair.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio RC55i

Crutchfield customer from Ridgeland, MS on 9/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Once again you can't go wrong with Polk speakers. As always great customer service, pricing and quick delivery with Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio RC55i

Ravi from Ft Mill, SC on 8/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound quality for highs and mids. Thrilled with the purchase! Pretty easy installation but keep in mind you never know what is behind the drywall.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio RC55i

Crutchfield customer from Leander, TX on 5/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Speakers!!! Clean look and powerful sound in the house. All my friends keep looking around to find out where the music is coming from??

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good for the price

curt from Moorhead, MN on 3/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As noted by others these don't have great base. I were looking for good speakers for ambiance and that would fit into the odd locations the builder wired the house for. These fit the bill but wish they has a little more range and depth. Over for the money and our needs I would say they are a 5 star product. If your looking to create a solid sounds stage in your home theater spend a few more dollars and get a higher end model.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio RC55i

Crutchfield customer from Towson, MD on 2/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice small speaker

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

poor sound quality and low volume

Paul from Elkins Park, PA on 11/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The speakers were at least 30% lower in volume potential than the larger ones that I have connected to the same receiver. Along with that, and the lack of any depth of quality sound (like that of a cheap radio rather than a good stereo) I decided these were not going to cut it for my use. Even though these would be for kitchen use, the sound quality is not there. I want a bold sound that is similar to the other room connected to the same receiver. I decided to go with much better 3 way speakers as these just did not cut it, even in a small space.

Pros: They look nice and easy to install

Cons: Low volume compared to larger speakers, so beware of using these on a receiver that is also connecting to larger traditional speakers as the volumes from both will not be compatible. Also the sound quality is obvious and poor in comparison to 3 way speakers.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not for 2-speaker setup

Scott from Berwyn, PA on 10/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Lacks any bass range. Not ideal for 2-speaker stereo setup. I discussed with the assistant if these would be ok as standalone R & L speakers in a simple stereo in-wall setup, but once they were in place, it's obvious they really need a dedicated sub. The midrange and highs sound fine, and it might be ok as very faint background/elevator music in a quite office setting, but even as background for a dinner, it just has a cheap sound without the bass. Packaging, setup, installation, and build quality were all excellent. Probably would make a great speaker for a basic home-theater with a separate subwoofer, but I would not purchase them for 2 channel setup.

Pros: Easy install. Good build quality. Crisp mid-high.

Cons: Severely lacks bass making them almost unusable as a standalone stereo pair.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sounds Amazing

Montana from Charlotte, NC on 8/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great finished product! Everything you need for a home theatre system

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio RC55i

Crutchfield customer from Lincoln, CA on 7/1/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They are okay for the price. I needed them to replace an old pair of radio shack speakers that were mounted in the ceiling (8ft) which came with the house. I was restricted on the physical dimensions due to the existing holes and studs. They are a huge upgrade from what I had. If I was doing it from scratch and cutting fresh holes I would have went with something else (especially since these aren't a ceiling speaker. I just use them for music. Very crisp sounding at a normal volume. Bass fades as soon as you start cranking them up. I really liked the way they mount in the drywall. Very simple.

Pros: Easy install

Cons: bass goes down as volume goes up. Probably fine if paired with a sub.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Media Rm Speakers

Crutchfield customer from Beaufort, SC on 3/31/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers were just what we needed in our new Media room. Love the ease of installation. Sound is better than our original speakers that came with our Sony surround.

Pros: Great quality and reasonable price.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Buen precio

Enrique from San Juan, PR on 2/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sonido fuerte y bonito excelente precio Beautiful and powerful sound and an excellent price

Pros: Me gusta como suena I like how it sounds

Cons: Nada en contra Nothing against it

Crutchfield response on 2/22/2017
Translation provided by Crutchfield's International Sales & Support team.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio RC55i

Crutchfield customer from Racine, WI on 1/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I did my due diligence in researching speakers to replace existing and was impressed with the reviews from multiple sources regarding these speakers. I was so impressed I ordered them knowing they were on back order. I am glad I did. Super easy to install and put out a really full and rich sound. I would recommend them to any serious audio person

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio RC55i

Crutchfield customer from Pensacola, FL on 7/14/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As advertised

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk In-wall Speakers

LAS from Morristown, NJ on 4/21/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just installed pairs in a den and a library for background music. Great sound for the money. Easy Install. Base is good . However these are not for critical listening.

Pros: Sound, adjustable tweeter, easy install.

Cons: Easy as it is the install could be improved. A competitor separates the frame from the speaker unit. You install the frame first and wire to it. Then the speaker unit is plugged in and locked. Benefits:1 not handling the weight of the whole assembly 2 open hole in the fame allows you to put your hand inside and deal with minor obstructions thus simplifying deciding on install location or surprises when you open the wall; 3 everything is easily removed for painting if you choose.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio RC55i in wall speakers

DavidMK from Shorewood, IL on 3/21/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought two to see how they install, look, and sound. Excellent sound. Installation was a breeze. Directional tweeter handy for upper wall locations. I bought four more for other rooms.

Pros: Easy install Good sound Clean look

Cons: Need at least 1" from studs on both sides. Could avoid this by moving the corner fasteners from the sides to the top and bottom of the frame. Only a problem if they are replacing old speakers

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect Addition

Jose from nogales, AZ on 2/13/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you want your speakers to be hidden in your living room, this is the answer. Just add a powered subwoofer and you will experience full, rich sound for your movies. I also recomend a good polk central speaker.

Pros: Quality of sound. Paintable grills (but follow the painting instrjuctions)

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio RC55i

Crutchfield customer from Guntersville, Alabama on 11/23/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install and good sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

7.2 Surround

Crutchfield customer from North Carolina on 11/17/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have the (255C-RT) and in walls (RC55i's) and 2 Polk Subs (PSW 108 and 111) for a 7.2 effect. It's a great combo for the size of room I have!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio RC55i

Janza from Louisiana on 9/7/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product. Crisp and clean sound, even at loudest volume.

Pros: Clean, crisp sound

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Great Speakers

Jill G from Ohio on 8/14/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fast shipment and great speakers for the price.

Pros: Great range.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Paired with Polk SurroundBar 500 CHT...

JohnS from Seattle, WA on 7/7/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

... and a sub-woofer for a room-filling, great-sounding, very unobtrusive 5.1 surround speaker system. Work great for music and TV/movies. I picked the RC55i's because I love Polk speakers, they have good specs, and the smallest form-factor I could find. Mine fit horizontally in a wood panel (not a wall) that is only 8" high and 3/4" thick!

Pros: Very good sound. Great value for the price. Small form factor. Virtually invisible. Easy install. Polk Audio.

Cons: Not a lot of bass (of course), so you'll want some good mid-range fronts and/or a sub-woofer for larger spaces.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Replacement rear channel speakers

ACN from South Carolina on 4/12/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We purchased a new couch and my wife wasn't happy with the lop-sided appearance of the PSB bookshelf speakers I was using as rear channels on wall brackets. I chose the 55's for the smallest size. Installed them yesterday. They pair very nicely with the PBS front, center, and sub. Very nice highs. Maybe not quite as much lower mid-range as the bookshelf but I wouldn't have expected as much. Haven't painted them yet but they already look way better than the PSBs on brackets.

Pros: Easy to install. Very good sound for the size and the money.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Deep Sound

Truk from Mo on 1/18/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice sound. t Too easy to install. Even has pictures for directions. Correct depth for 4" wall. Great speaker for the price.

Pros: Sound, installation

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great wall speakers!

Sondra B from Mechanicsville, VA on 1/4/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound makes the movie resonant around the room. It's perfect for our theater.

Pros: Slimline and matches the wall so they don't stand out.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

RC55i

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, Fl on 12/14/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect for my rear surround. Very easy installation. Sound great with my Polk Audio TL3 fronts and TL3 center channel. Painting grilles to match wall color was very easy. As always, great service and tech support from Crutchfield.

Pros: Look and sound great.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

High Quality Sound from Hidden Source

Energy Guy from Point Roberts, WA on 11/17/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these speakers to put high quality stereo sound into two bedrooms as part of a home renovation. I needed to remove an ancient in-wall intercom system and rather that patching the wall why not put in a couple of stereo speakers. I chose Polk because I have put in a 7.1 surround system in my theater room using 6 of the RC85i and was very pleased with the sound. The RC55i's are smaller and fit the bedroom application better while still providing excellent sound. I prefer this to the Sonus-type solution which requires big expenditure on wireless that never performs as well as a pair of wires. And besides, I'll never need to move the speakers; they're perfect where they are at ear level on the wall. I am driving with a Topping TP20 MkII type-T audiophile digital amp. Sound quality is great on any genre I play. The clarity is amazing, particularly the ability to pick out instruments and sounds you never noticed before.

Pros: Clear, high quality sound Very pleasant listening experience Barely visible on the wall.

Cons: Thin on the low end; not for material with deep bass--get the 6.5" or 8" models for that, or a small subwoofer.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Worthier compared to price

S.Joseph from McKinney on 9/22/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are great in look and performance when we compare its price. I recently bought and uses it as my surround speakers. It looks beautiful on wall and supports my Onkyo TX NR-636 in a great way!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio RC55i

Crutchfield customer from TRUSSVILLE, AL. on 9/11/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

GREAT SPEAKERS AND INSTALLATION WAS EASY SINCE I HAD PRE-WIRED HOUSE.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound, easy to install

JR from Orlando, FL on 7/30/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and value for the money; use as surround on a 5.1 setup. They sound very clear and were easy to install, paired with TSx fronts and the sound is awesome.

Pros: Great sound, easy to install.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio RC55i

Crutchfield customer from San Marcos CA on 7/18/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was happy with my product and i would buy more from you guys again

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Excelling looking and sounding speakers

yohann from Glenview, IL on 7/8/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great set of speakers if you are looking for a great combination between sound and sleekness. Home theater sounds great and both the highs and lows come through well with these speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome Speakers

Matt from Rochester, MI on 3/5/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers sound great and are easy to install. I like them so much in my family room I plan on buying two more for my basement surround.

Pros: Easy to install. Work great for front and rear surround speakers.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

EXCELLENT WALL SPEAKERS WITH BIG SOUND

IBFROG from MT. SHASTA, CA. on 2/2/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the second identical set of speakers that we purchased 15 years ago for our new home. We use them as part of our surround sound speaker set. The sound is clear and strong. They are especially awesome when we are watching a big screen movie with a lot of booms, crashes and strong soundtrack music. I wouldn't hesitate to purchase these speakers again if need be. The price is right and the speakers are simple to install.

Pros: GREAT CLARITY, GOOD BASS, BIG SOUND EVEN AT HIGH VOLUME, EAST TO INSTALL, STREAMLINED LOOK

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Speakers heard, not seen

Jlp from Charlottesville, va on 1/3/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful wall speakers, easy to install, make a real difference in space saving where floor speakers had been.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Speakers, Easy Install

Crutchfield customer from Rochester,NY on 1/3/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These were really easy to install and get up and running. Mid range bass pickup is a little weak but the aim-able tweeters do make a difference.

Pros: Ease of install

Cons: Mid range bass

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

POLK RC55i

jp from Northeast Iowa on 12/20/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the price I am very impressed. Great sound. I bought them for rear channel surround. I got the Polk RC85i for my front channel. The bass with those is pretty darn impressive for the cost. Together they sound very good.

Pros: Clean, crisp sound and priced well.

Cons: Plastic locking tabs are weak. I didn't break any during install but if over tightened I think they would break easily.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio RC55i

matthew c. from Tobyhanna, PA on 11/26/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good deal!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk RC55i... I'm going back for 2 more!

Mo from Washington, DC on 10/18/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works extremely well with my Yamaha home theaters system. I replaced the 3" shelf/wall hanging speakers with these for my rear surround. Amazing! Now, I need two more to flank my tv. The sound is incredible. Can't wait to get the two and a center channel speaker.

Pros: Great sound. Easy to install. Worth the price.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk RC55i

JAB from Carmichaels, PA on 7/17/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought these speakers for the purpose of adding front height's to my expanded 7.2 home theater set-up. The speakers had to be mounted on or in a bulk head. My wife's not too thrilled about looking at speakers, so I decided to go "in-wall". I also swapped out my rear surrounds and surround L&R JBL speakers too, with these matching in-wall speakers.

Pros: Very easy to install. Template worked out great for locating, marking and cutting the holes. Screens and frames were easy to paint. Included a handy plastic masking cover for the speaker itself. Easily fit and mounted into the wall. Just hooked up wires, inserted and tightened screws with a drill running at a low RPM. Very slick design! Mounted very securely into place.

Cons: Screens are difficult to remove from frame before painting. Instructions say to use a paperclip - good luck. Likewise, screens are very difficult to reinstall into the frames after painting. I lost a thumbnail trying to force one back in! Eventually had to "bend" the edges inward, then install into the frames and continue to press and gently pound them in.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Polk Audio RC55i

MrKritz from St. Paul on 6/7/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect, easy to install and look and sound great. I put them in the ceiling of my kitchen and I was worried about the installation becase I have an old house and the celing is 1/2" gypsum board over 1" plaster and Lath but no problems at all, very easy and the look and sound great. BUY THEM!!!

Pros: Look Great, Sound Great and Easy to install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk RC55i

Mark from State College Pa on 5/6/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased these speakers for my media room. The room is not large (14x16). They were easy to install in the walls. You must cut the holes exactly to the template size. They fit snug and are easy to tighten in place. I painted the grills and plate to match the wall color. They look and sound Great!

Pros: Easy to install. Sound great. Look great.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great solution for my needs

Squid628 from Houston, TX on 3/27/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are my first speakers for a surround system, I'm no audiophile, but I wanted something that gave me good solid sound without breaking the bank. These were easy to install, came out of the box in great condition and to my ears sound nice bright and clear. I have two used as fronts, two as satellites, and they are paired to a Polk sub and center channel. With a Denon 1913 receiver, and a samsung 7100, my movie experience is everything I could have hoped for.

Pros: Well packaged, easy to install. Disappear once in the wall. Price is right.

Cons: So far, none.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk in walls

KirkM from Aberdeen, MD on 12/3/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the price, you absolutely cannot beat these speakers. These are the second pair I have purchased over the years, both times for rear surrounds. They do not have much bass and their clarity is not the greatest, but for surrounds, they are more than adequate. Would get them again.

Pros: Price

Cons: See above

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio RC55i

PatP from New Braunfels, TX on 10/14/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers arrived as promised and look great! We are building a new house and will install them very soon. We can't wait to use them. These were recommended by Crutchfield and they have never let me down before, so I anticipate they will provide excellant quality.

Pros: Polk has an excellant reputation and I have other Polk speakers, These should be just as impressive.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 6 found this helpful

Awesome Speakers

Robert from Grand Rapids, MI on 10/1/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Mounting was easy. Find the studs, copy the template, cut around them, hook up the wires and insert into the wall. Look great. I painted them with a foam roller. There is a plastic insert you put over the speakers to protect them when painting. It goes where the grill is, so you can paint the speaker frame and grill separately. I put the grill in and my wife didn't like it so I pulled them out, painted the grill black with a spray can. They look even better.. Once I programmed the speakers with my Denon AVR 1912 the rear sound came out beautifully! Really like these speakers.

Pros: Easy mounting. Nice looking speakers.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio RC55i

Crutchfield customer from williamstown nj on 5/15/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great sound for in wall speakers !!!!

Pros: inwall and paintable

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio RC55i

Crutchfield customer from Gilbertsville, PA on 3/28/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these for rear surround after my wife and I decided to change our family room. I researched many brands and settled on the Polk RC55i after reading the reviews. These speaker are perfect for what I wanted them for and sound great. Can't beat the price. I have two RC85i set-up for my front speakers and when combined with my subwoofer, I was blown away by the sound. My wife was also impressed by the quality. The best part was the ease of installation. If you are able to use a drywall saw and screwdriver, you will be able to install these speakers. Running the wire could be challenging, but not impossible. The one thing I would recommend is when using the templates to cut the openings in the wall, make sure you cut a fraction over the line. I made my openings a bit on the short side. The speakers went in very snug, which i thought was good, until I tried to put the screens back on. The frames compressed a bit and made it difficult to get the screens back on. No big deal though, just shaved the drywall with a rasp and in no time had them back in the wall. I am looking forward to enjoying these speakers for many years. My next step is to get my basement set-up with the same configuration.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Surround speakers

Dean from Mn on 2/22/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The speakers seems to be of very high quality for the modest price. I plan to use the speakers as rears speakers in a 5.1 setup. I have not totally setup the system yet but have hooked them up and they sounded very good. Yesterday I painted the face covers. I used a small felt roller and rolled out the paint before applying to the mesh screen. It worked great!! The key is not having a lot of paint on the roller and a light touch with the roller. Used the same roller on the face plate with the plastic covers in place. The setup in the wall worked just like the directions stated. Very happy so far.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great Surround Speakers

Ross from Nevada on 4/24/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have been using these fo about five years as surround speakers. They work great. Got the small ones cause I didn't need the low end but they still do a nice job with 5.1 concerts. Very good sound repro. Just bought two more to use as surround back since upgrading to 7.1 so they all match. Had the local paint store put some of the room paint in a spray can so they match the wall. They paint up real nice and come with plastic covers to cover the speakers while you paint the frame. Cant even tell they are there - a plus with the wife after telling her I was mounting two more in-wall speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Used as a center channel speaker

Frank C. from Columbia, SC on 12/30/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted to go with an in wall center stage speaker but wanted to stay with the Polk Audio name. I searched around and could not find anything that would fit that was specifically a center speaker. I figured that the RC55i should work, I only needed one but they are sold in pairs. It was cheaper to buy a pair of RC55i's than buy 1 specific center stage that may or may not fit between the studs. Remember, all houses are not perfect. I installed the RC55i horizontally under the wall mounted TV and it sounds great for a center channel. Used the RC60i speakers also. See that review. The only complaint I have is that the speakers are advertised to have pivoting tweeters behind the grill. I started to aim the tweeters towards the sofas and they were so stiff and delicate looking that I was afraid I was going to break them off.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio RC55i

abarron from Aurora, CO on 1/17/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The audio clarity for dialog in movies is fantastic. It's my first center channel and I greatly appreciate the investment I've made with this purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Polk Audio RC55i

Joe from Lawrence Ma. on 2/13/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything was just as you said. I just want everyone to know how easy it was to install .Cut holes Insert And turn screws Iam soo HAPPY with the sond and quality. Thank You So much Joseph A sattisfied costormer

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

40 of 53 found this helpful

TOP