Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
475 264 722 3

Our hours

Connect ID #
475 264 722 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Polk Audio RTi A5

Floor-standing speaker (Black)

MFR # AM5575-B

Polk Audio RTi A5

Polk Audio RTi A5

Floor-standing speaker (Black)

MFR # AM5575-B

109 reviews
View this product

Polk Audio RTi A5

Crutchfield customer from Monticello, FL on 6/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

In my house(great room), Polk Audio RTi A5 are awesome. The craftmanship is beautiful. The audio produced is just as it is described by the maker. After submitting my desire and questions, Lori (advisor) stirred me in the right direction, selecting components that please my ear and budget.

Pros: Great sound. Good price. Beautiful cherry wood. Very pleased. Money well spent.

Cons: None that I have experience.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio RTi A5 - Excellent Speakers at an excellent price

Destino from Georgetown, KY on 6/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I did a bit of research trying to find the best value/best price and now believe that the Polk Audio RTi A5s, in conjunction with the Crutchfield special buy price, delivered better than I could have reasonably expected. At 300W RMS max input power they provide a significant safety factor for the 140W RMS (8 ohms ) from my amp The Cherry speakers are beautiful and add a lot to my space. They feel and appear to be well constructed. I suggest having a friend to help move them, they are as substantial as they look. They were easy to set up. They have a spacious sound that easily fills the room. The music is rich and well positioned, it almost seems like you can tell where the musicians are placed in front of you. The sound is excellent at any level of volume. You can set next too them and they whisper full and clearly, or you can set back and rattle the windows with no loss of clearness. I've decided to go without a sub-woofer, it doesn't seem to be required with the RTi A5s. Great sound, great price, great value. They hit all the marks I had for them.

Pros: Substantial speakers The sound is spacious, clear and full They provides a wall of sound and place the instruments in the space They are as nice to look at as they are to listen too

Cons: None that I have noticed with Vinyl, CD or streaming - great at all volumes and all genres

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio RTi A5

Crutchfield customer from Thomaston, ME on 5/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Somewhat lacking in bass but otherwise excellent sound and an excellent value.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio RTi A5

Crutchfield customer from Torrance, CA on 5/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

very please with speakers, somewhat a novice in stereo field, but I know Crutchfield has got my back on current gear and more to follow. I think Crutchfield was a very good move for me, they know their stuff. Highly recommend these speakers. Thank you

Pros: all pros

Cons: no cons

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio RTi A5

Crutchfield customer from Delano, TN on 5/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These Sound great and crutchfield was a big help told them the sound i wanted and they nailed it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent sound and quality

Crutchfield customer from Helena, AL on 5/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super clear compared to my old speakers. Excellent mid range and perfect when paired with a good sub.

Pros: Crystal clear compared to my old setup, excellent build quality.

Cons: None at this point.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Paul's Review

Crutchfield customer from Elk Grove, CA on 5/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These Are excellent speakers. Clear and crisp sound. When listening to music can hear everything.

Pros: Quality for a great price.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

very happy

john from Wilkes Barre, PA on 5/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

best budget speaker choice, and they are beautiful..i have a onkyo 696 {100 wpc } running them w/the polk csi a4..and a kilpsch spl 12...sounds fantastic !! with both movies and music...crutchfield customer service and return policy are, by far the BEST i have ever experienced..i now only buy my equipment from them !!

Pros: get loud, can bi amp

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very satisfied

Crutchfield customer from New Cumberland, PA on 5/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Am very satisfied with the quality these speakers. They pair well with my other speakers and am once again glad I chose to purchase from Crutchfield.

Pros: Great quality at a great price

Cons: Non to mention of.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome!

Chris from Summerville, SC on 5/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers at a great price. They sound great and good balance between mids, lows, and highs. Crutchfield was also great and very fast shipping. Thanks!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Major bang for the buck-

Crutchfield customer from Sebastopol, CA on 4/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These worked well with a 180-watt amplifier for filling a very large room with sound with minimal distortion. They deserve high marks in the "bang for the buck" department.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio RTi A5

Crutchfield customer from Byron, NY on 4/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super easy to set up and sound fantastic.

Pros: High end sound at a bargain price.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rockin my new A5's

Crutchfield customer from Fairborn, OH on 4/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love my Polk RTi-A5's. I had been looking for speakers to replace my Boston Acoustic T-930's for some time as they were becoming old and worn, and their sound didn't had lost their edge. I saw that Crutchfield had the A5's on sale at almost half off and I jumped all over it, and I'm so glad I did. I was a little worried when they arrived because again, UPS had managed to punch a large hole into the side of each of the boxes. Thankfully, the packing material protected the speakers and both were in perfect condition. The sound is remarkable for this price point. The highs are clear and very neutral and don't tire you out. The mids are strong giving vocals great clarity. The bass is good for 6.5in drivers. I prefer a bit more bass so I have everything below 80hz going to my Sony subwoofer. The A5's are fairly efficient so they don't require super hi power to drive. My Denon AV receiver puts out 75w/channel and drives them effectively. More would be better, but the sound level and fullness is good. Now I can take the time to rebuild my Boston's T-930's. In the meantime. If you're looking for a great sounding speaker and your pockets are small, you can't go wrong with the A5's.

Pros: Great sound for the price point Small footprint Beautiful fit and finish

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Glad I bought them!

Crutchfield customer from Osteen, FL on 4/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Greathe sounding speakers! Very clear and Warm! Excellent miss and clear punchy Bass! For there size they sound very Good!

Pros: Very Clear sound! Great Price Point!

Cons: None Yet!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio RTi A5

Crutchfield customer from Windber, PA on 4/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic - quality built speakers. Especially suited for watching high quality Blu Ray movies. Music is also excellent as speakers will handle as much power as you throw at them without distortion. One of the two speakers purchased was "scratch and dent". Found nothing wrong with the speaker and saved about $30!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio RTi A5

Crutchfield customer from Oakes, ND on 4/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Speakers are great all on their own but when factoring in the excellent current price they're fantastic! The look great are well made and are very clear at high volumes. Powered through a 100w 2channel receiver used mostly for music the highs and mids are very clear with decent bass especially considering woofers are only 6 1/2 inch. Listen to wide variety of genres though Bluetooth and turntable. Not a home theater guy but for movies I'm sure you'd want a sub, I will probably add one eventually to fill in the lows. Using the comparison feature through decent headphones helped tremendously. Its obviously no substitute for comparing in person but it did a great job in narrowing my choices Between models and I thought worked very well. Thank you Crutchfield for a great price, fast shipping and a very informative and helpful website

Pros: Excellent value, very clear at all volumes

Cons: Nothing so far

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Satisfied customer

Crutchfield customer from Berne, IN on 3/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Speakers were as advertised. Came quickly, were easy to setup and are working great. Great quality for a good price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Grafton

Rose from Grafton on 3/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking to replace some old Technics. I purchased the RTiA5 and the clarity is magnificent. They are connected to a Onkyo Receiver and play every note crystal clear and the vocals are outstanding. Extremely satisfied with them. Later in the year, I'll purchase 2 more. The are a great speaker for the money.

Pros: Very attractive design. Nice wood finish. Great price.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Polk RTi A5 in cherry finish

Crutchfield customer from Plainfield, IL on 3/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Polk Audio RTi A5 floor standing speakers are combined with a Sony STR-DN1080 receiver, Sony XBR65X900F TV, Polk CSi A6 center speaker and Onkyo SKH-410 Dolby Atmos speakers. This setup provides very pleasant audio and super video. The cherry finish on the main speakers is an added visual touch in our main TV viewing room. Quick delivery of one of the two RTiA5 speakers. The second one was lost in a UPS processing facility but was replaced by Crutchfield overnight on the next day, which happened to be a Saturday. Nice save Crutchfield! Polk Audio is worth another look if you ever had any of their products dating back to the 70s.

Pros: Nice audio presentation. Beautiful wood finish. Excellent pricing. Tremendous customer service. Excellent warranty.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio RTi A5

Crutchfield customer from Wittmann, AZ on 3/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The speakers worked very good. Would tell anyone how great they are.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio RTi A5

Crutchfield customer from Willow Grove, PA on 3/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for a speaker that would add a little more clarity and definition while listening to music and still be able to adequately handle my home theater demands. I upgraded to the RTI A5 from Klipsch RF28 front stage and I'm completely satisfied.

Pros: Performance and price

Cons: None as of yet

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Special buy orice

Crutchfield customer from Nashville, TN on 2/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautifully designed and very loud. I'm still breaking them but so far I'm beyond pleased .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio RTi A5

Crutchfield customer from Jeanerette, LA on 1/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just what I wanted. Everything I expected and more. Great speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Love the RTI A series

Bryan from Beaverton, Or. on 1/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent build and sound quality. I have a pair of these set up in my home office, with a CSI A6 Center Channel. Driven by a Rotel RMB-1075 & Denon X3500H. They look beautiful and fill my room with deep acoustic sound.

Pros: Everything

Cons: UPS nearly destroyed the box but the speaker arrived in perfect condition. This is the shipping companies fault though.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio RTi A5

Crutchfield customer from Warren, MI on 1/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

simply love it....

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great speakers

Crutchfield customer from Oak Forest, IL on 12/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am impressed with these speakers. Great sound for a moderate footprint, no noise at low music levels. Plus they look really good. Even though the shipping boxes had punctures in them, most likely from the shipping company, the internal cushioning and packing protected the speakers perfectly. Very happy with these speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio RTi A5

Crutchfield customer from Youngstown, OH on 12/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding speaker, matches well with my 5.2.4 system. I have the RTiA's as my surround.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio RTi A5

Crutchfield customer from Nashua, IA on 12/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome product for the money!

Pros: Great deep and accurate sound!

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome Speaker

Jim from Aliquippa, PA on 9/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently purchased two Polk Rti A5 speakers for use with my Sonos AMP. I use the AMP and A-5s grouped with my Sonos Playbar, sub and a pair of Sonos ones in my surround sound system for playing music. What a truly awesome sound! I compared the Polk Rti A-5 with the A-7 and A-9 speakers using the Crutchfield online speaker comparison app with my Beats Studio3 headphones. I found the A-5 to be a better speaker than the A-7 and could not see a significant, discernible enough difference compared to the A-9 to justify the price differential. IMHO, the Rti A-5 is a great speaker.

Pros: Full, balanced, warm sound Beautifully designed, well built and flawlessly finished enclosure. Wonderful speaker at a reasonable price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Awesome addition.

Crutchfield customer from Marysville, CA on 9/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy. Added to my older rti system. Added a warmth and depth for when the sub isn't triggered. Couldn't be happier.

Pros: Warmth. Great bass during movies. Clean styling. Very close in style to my older rti speakers.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kick Bass Speakers

Crutchfield customer from Newark, DE on 9/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful and extremely well made. They replaced a pair of Infinity's. Absolutely rich and vibrant sound, I'm very pleased!

Pros:

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

I love these new RTi A5's

Crutchfield customer from Pittsburgh, PA on 6/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just received these new A5's as replacement for some 1982 vintage Bose 501's. I am really impressed with the clarity and crispness of the sound these speakers produce. I chose to bi-amp them with my Sony STR-DH750 in order to pump power to each speaker. 90 watts per channel is definitely enough power to drive these babies in this configuration. I also have a 100 watt sub-woofer so bass is not a problem. I plan to replace my Sony with an Onkyo TX-RZ830 in the future, but for now everything sounds great.

Pros: Great sound, beautiful cherry cabinets

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Polk Audio RTi A5

Crutchfield customer from Roseville, CA on 6/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple, enjoying. Thanks Crutchfield. Gary

Pros: The sound

Cons: I waited to long to upgrade.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio RTi A5

Crutchfield customer from Shawnee, KS on 5/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers were a significant upgrade for me. I love the clarity and the crystal clear highs. Bass is very strong. They are paired with a pioneer VSX 830.

Pros: Beautiful cherry veneer in addition to the awesome sound.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Polk Audio RTi A5

Crutchfield customer from Sioux Falls, SD on 3/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound, love the looks as well!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 6 found this helpful

Polk Audio RTi A5

Crutchfield customer from Sanford, FL on 2/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Definitely need power to make these sing. Took a little over a week to fully break in. I still think the Signature series will provide better dialog for music and movies but these tweeters are room filling and there's plenty of midrange response.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Full sound for Ht system

Crutchfield customer from Travelers Rest, SC on 2/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Added these to a Denon AVR-X4500H. System sounds great very pleased.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio RTi A5 speakers

Crutchfield customer from Slippery Rock, PA on 2/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound quality is really nice. I tend to go heavy on the bass and these speakers don't disappoint. I've had to actually turn the bass down on these vs my old speakers I was using. I'm very satisfied. Nice heavy cabinets. The grills were extremely tight putting on so I just dabbed a tiny amount of electronic grease on the posts before installing.

Pros: Great sound for the lower end of the cost scale. Don't take up much space. I'd definitely buy Polk Audio again. Very pleased.

Cons: These have optional pointed "carpet spikes" I'll call them, which thread into the bottom of the speaker legs. 2 of the 4 spikes on one speaker wouldn't thread correctly, only a few turns and they stopped, unlike all the others. I wasn't going to force them any further, risking damage so I just left all 4 off one speaker. A minor detail but still...

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Great column speakers for exceptional price.

Crutchfield customer from East Northport, NY on 2/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are great, they can determine extreme fine and slow passages and lows in classical to boom out rock with exactness you've never seen. Plus they are very good looking and well-constructed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Polk Audio RTi A5

Crutchfield customer from Pflugerville, TX on 1/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers for the price point!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Where is the Polk quality control?

Michael from Crete, IL on 1/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice speakers but one had a factory finish blemish . Crutchfield adjusted the price but was disappointed that Polk quality control let it out blemished

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 7 found this helpful

Polk Audio RTi A5

Crutchfield customer from Groveland, CA on 1/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Look as good as the sounds they deliver

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Polk Audio RTi A5

Crutchfield customer from Hialeah, FL on 1/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

the sound is perfect, I recommend it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Polk Audio RTi A5

Crutchfield customer from Hampstead, MD on 1/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome sounding speakers. The Crutchfield advisors were great in helping me make the right decision for my specific needs. Shipping was amazingly fast.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sound great!

Anthony from St Petersburg, FL on 12/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound as good as they look! Glad I went with towers instead of bookshelves. They sound great for music as well as movies. Seem pretty detailed too. Only issue I have is one of the speakers has a blemish on it, probably from shipping. It isn't bad enough to warrant getting a replacement, but is annoying.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Excellent value speaker, good sound for HT and Music

Steve from East Wenatchee, WA on 12/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good treble and mid-range sound. A little bass support from a musical subwoofer (in my case, a Hsu VTF-2, w/cross-over at 80 Hz) fills out the bottom nicely. Used for 70% HT/30% stereo music fed mostly by Tidal (via HEOS and wifi, HiFi subscription).

Pros: Good value Nice treble and midrange Good for HT and music

Cons: Needs a little bass support, especially on 60s-80s rock.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Polk Audio RTi A5

Crutchfield customer from Kapaa, HI on 12/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great sound with good subwoofer

Ken from Sylvania, OH on 12/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent speaker especially after break in. Using with SVS PB2000 sub which is an excellent match, other speakers include CSI4 center, RTI6 rears and 4 Polk OWM3 speakers for atmos. Works seamlessly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great speakers

Crutchfield customer from Sturtevant, WI on 11/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was time to upgrade our home theater system. We already had the DSW Pro 440wi subwoofer from Polk so we wanted to stay with the brand. Our old speakers were Denon and were 15 years old. We bought these RTi A5 to replace 2 of the Denon. O My God! We finally know what the subwoofer sounds like. The old Denon speakers could never wake up that woofer. These are great! Got them on sale. My neighbors will hate me. O well now I don't have to hear their dogs bark! Just ordered the center speaker to go along with these, its the CSI A6. Can't wait to get that set up too. Thanks Polk for such great speakers and thank you Crutchfield for selling them.

Pros: Look, sound, price

Cons: Non

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio RTi A5

Jeff from Uniontown, PA on 10/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good. Awesome sounds.

Pros: All good

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio RTi A5

Crutchfield customer from Conway, AR on 8/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers, really appreciated the spiked feet included as an accessory to provide additional stability on carpet. I have them in a 20x30 room paired with a sub woofer and the clarity at all volume levels. Impossible to turn the volume all the way up on the receiver because they handle the power with ease. Note, I only use these speakers in support of my vintage stereo and cannot comment on video/tv performance.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio RTi A5

Crutchfield customer from St Augustine, FL on 8/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice looking and sound great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Love the Polk RTi series

Bernie from Washington, MO on 8/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I lost my first review so I will try this again. I have owned the RTi A5, system now for about 3 weeks. I'm running A5's in the fronts, A3's for my Surrounds with an A6 center and an SVS Sub. I am extremely happy so far. I was really excited about hearing the Polk A6 center. In the past, we constantly had to turn volume up for dialogue and turn it down when the movie scenes got loud. I have a very happy medium with this set up. I wanted to test that center, so as funny as it may sound the first movie I watched was The Notebook. I knew it was 95% dialogue, with lots of whispering and it didn't let me down. The center held it's ground. In the scene where Rachel McAdams crashes her car into the fence post, the A5's did their thing. Very impressed. The 2nd movie was The Empire Strikes back. It was actually the first Blu ray movie I'd ever watched in my life, so I was blown away by the picture. Just amazing. The sound was perfect. The A5's shined during the Hoth battle and the scenes at Cloud City. The 3rd movie I did was just mind blowing. I watched American Sniper. Bullets where flying all around me. It was like I was there in Baghdad with Bradley Cooper. I definitely want to watch more war movies with this system it just flat out rocks. I sit back 13ft from speakers. My room is 17" wide behind my couch is a pillar. Also behind my couch is 17 more feet of open space. I am seriously considering upgrading to the A9's. I really want that extra bass.

Pros: clear sound, rich, easy on the pocket book, beautiful,

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

I love my Polk RTI speakers!

Guest from Midland, WA on 8/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a complete RTI 5.1 system: two A1s as surrounds, the BIG CSI 6 center, and these RTI A5s. Plus I have the A3s in a bedroom system. I originally had the A5s connected to a 75 watt per channel Yamaha 2.1 channel stereo receiver. They sounded good with that system, but now they are my fronts in a 5.1 surround. I have the Yamaha Aventage 2060 receiver. It is a much better amp with much more power (145 watts rms for 2 channel). The A5s LOVE the extra power!! Some have complained that they do not have much bass/bottom end. I strongly suspect these people under powered their speakers. The A5s sound good with the 75 watt amp and much better, fuller, punchier bass with the 145 watt Aventage receiver. My RTI A3s are now hooked up to the 75 watt Yamaha and sound very nice in the bedroom/office. BTW, these speakers, as part of a complete Polk surround system, are great! They work seamlessly together and sonically are matched to the center and the A1 surrounds. If you have a small to medium size listening room (165 to 250 sq feet), the A1s will work great as surrounds. You can also use the A3s as fronts instead of the A5s and the A1s as surrounds and either the big or the much bigger center channel. One nice feature is the rear power port. The A1s, A3s, and A5s can be placed close to walls, almost as easy to place as front ported speakers. I have my A5s 6 inches from one wall and they are not boomy like some rear ported speakers that I've had.

Pros: Well balanced, detailed sound. Sound great with all types of music (I love rock and classical and classical chamber music, etc) They also sound great at low volumes, not just cranked up.

Cons: I have no complaints.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Listening to candy music now ! Sweet !

Garrett Nagle from Charlotte, NC on 6/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the price musical fantasies rebound in my residence and any type of music is sweet for the soul. Sharing my opinion as facsts to me.. . I recommend 5 ?? plus !

Pros: Cystel stations !

Cons: None !

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio RTi A5

Crutchfield customer from Mentor, OH on 6/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very rich sound.High & Low range separate. Goes well with other Polk bookshelf speakers I already had. COULD NOT GO WRONG!!.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Polk Audio RTi A5

Kenneth from Minneapolis, MN on 6/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing upgrade to my previous Sony bookcase speakers!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Polk Audio RTi A5

Crutchfield customer from Alvin, TX on 5/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Although I haven't wired these Polk's in yet, they are exactly what I was looking for to replace my system that was destroyed by Hurricane Harvey...Plus, They were on sale!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio RTi A5

Crutchfield customer from Roanoke, VA on 4/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great set of speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Polk Audio RTi A5

Farley from Queens Vlg, NY on 3/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They Sound good but in need a stronger receiver. I hooked them up to my Denon avr-x2200w and the sound was distorted once i put the volume pass half. So i hooked them up to my old Yamaha HTR-5950 receiver and the sound was amazing. So now i have to upgrade to a new receiver which has about 125 watts per channel.

Pros: Sounds great

Cons: You need to make sure you have a strong receiver to push these.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Tastes Great, Less Filling! Worth the Money!

Alexander from Florida on 3/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent For The Money! These RTi's are absolutely BEAUTIFUL to look at and sound far better than their meager price would have you believe possible. All good, or so it would seem. The "break-in" period is long and requires gentle patience. The wood veneers are impressive and nicely rendered, but are so thin as to be too delicate for any handling after being unboxed, and the overall sound is good for warmer recordings, acoustic music in general, and home theater applications. However, in order for these RTi A5's to sound their best, I would STRONGLY recommend a powerful amp (or, better yet, a bi-amplification set up) to get the most for your money. Overall, absolutely worth the price of admission for these middle tier Polks!

Pros: Robust, Solid, Clean HT Sound! Nice to Look At!

Cons: Relatively Fragile, Unusually Long Break In Period...

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Remains A Terrific Value

Brian from FL on 3/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm updating my review as I've had 3 months and they are getting fully broken-in. These are used in my bedroom. and have a hefty but older Anthem MCA amp (125 wpc) powering. The original pair had one inop tweeter, and sent back. The replacement had finish irregularities I didn't like, and Crutchfield replaced that one, as well. Both replacements had banged up boxes. They are gorgeous, look like a million bucks, for the price. I find the bass response to be excellent, mids are also very good. At first, the highs were quite etchy, but that has calmed down as they get broken in. Highs are still sharp at higher volumes, hoping they will continue to improve.

Pros: Look like a million bucks, good bass response.

Cons: Took a couple of replacements, highs etchy but improving with break-in.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio RTi A5

Robin from Chandler, AZ on 2/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have always like Polk Floor speakers great quality om these RTiA5s, they fit my modest price range. The Consultant I worked with (Zac) asked me all the right questions, gave me straight answers to my questions, I will use him again as I replace my next component

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio RTi A5

David from Plain City, OH on 1/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these to fill a fairly large room with clean and crisp sound. My family room is 20' x 25' with a 9' ceiling. I have had the speakers for a month and they have broken in very nicely! I use them for both music and movies. For music, I run my Yamaha receiver in stereo mode with the subwoofer. The sound is amazing. Warm, crisp, and clear. I do recommend a subwoofer if you like the deep, low-end bass. For movies, I run the receiver in Dolby Surround 5.1 mode. I bought the Polk CSi A4 center channel at the same time and my wife bought me TL1 rear surrounds for as a Christmas gift to complete the setup. So far, I couldn't be more happy with the speaker upgrades. The highs and midrange sound on the RTi A5 is awesome. I'm still running my old Energy Take Classic 8" subwoofer. It sounds good, but I will soon upgrade to a Polk 10" or 12" subwoofer to really get the room rumbling with low-end bass.

Pros: Beautiful aesthetics, great sound

Cons: Not really a con, but wish the cone/woofers were a nice color. If they were, I'd show them off by taking off the mesh screen

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Polk Audio RTi A5

Jeff from Great River, NY on 1/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound Still breaking in so far so good. Great with my Yamaha reviewer

Pros: Good quality. Sound price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Polk Audio RTi A5

Issac from CA on 1/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These Tower speakers sound wonderful. They definitely rock my living room I would definitely recommend these speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio RTi A5 - Amazing

Kevin from Appleton, WI on 1/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Been a while since I invested in an upgrade to my home audio system and I almost forgot just how good quality can sound. Right out of the box these sounded amazing and are only getting better as they break in. The room I have them in is 13 x 15 and at first I was a little concerned they may be too much; however, after chatting with one of Crutchfield's amazing customer service representatives I was sold. These fill the room with sound at just the right level. Paired this with an Onkyo TX-NR777 Used for TV and movies (70%) and audio (30%)

Pros: Cherry looks amazing Sound Size

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Good looking speaker

Jon from Key West, FL on 12/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these to get my old Yamaha bookshelf speakers and center channel speaker off of the buffet. The cherrywood finish looks nice and matches well-it looks like furniture not a speaker. The sound is good. For jazz and classical, they're fine, but I was hoping to eleminate the sub too. For trance/electronic music I need a little more bass. Unfortunately I will need a compact sub I can hide under the couches get the sound and keep the clean look. They're being driven by a Yamaha RX-V483.

Pros: Nice sound, great looking

Cons: Weak bass

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

very good sounding professional speakers

ruth from Elkland, MO on 12/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just got them a week ago, played twice. Sound very good. Very happy with these. May get another tower set next year. These are the final speaker purchase for me and my yami 5790 receiver, outside of a matching set next year sometime. We're into only old school music, 2- 4 big speakers, no home theater. Hooked into receiver and hard rock, progressive rock, ect. Very great sounding speakers, quality, and reasonable prices. Plus a full factory warranty from polk for 5 years, and 60 day return from Crutchfield. Thank you Crutchfield. Don't buy polks from internet, unless they are authorized from polk, or you get no warranty from polk at all. Most are not authorized and the others lie. Some very few might be, but need to check them out thoroughly. I read warnings online first, thank goodness.

Pros: excellent quality, great sound, most affordable price. Other internet retailers were lower, but no polk warranty, so I go to Crutchfield, an authorized polk dealer, full warranty.

Cons: cant see any, just got these. I should be happy the rest of my life with these. Keep making the polk, rtia 5s, polk. May get another matching set sometime next year.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great item great sound

Joe from Clarks Summit, PA on 12/25/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are GREAT! Updated our audio system from a Bose cube speakers center. I thought the Bose sounded pretty good till I plugged these in with a Polk CSi A4 center and two rear RTIA 3 bookshelves. Using a Pioneer 1123. I don't need to ask my wife nearly as musch what did they say! Added the sub woofer model 10 last Christmas and thought that was great.

Pros: POLK

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Beautiful, but.....

Brian from Tampa, FL on 12/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just got these and was disappointed to find out one of the tweeters doesn't work. Crutchfield's service is top notch, another is on the way already. Still a bit disappointing, and why I gave 4 stars. The cabinets and finish are simply outstanding. I was expecting rough edges or something "not quite right" for that price point, but no flaws, they are spectacular-looking. They are the darker cherry, not light tan as in the pics, but the cherry is actually a better color contrast where I have them. They will need break-in and I need a pair with both tweeters to rate the sound, I had planned to wait a month to rate. These are for my bedroom (I know, lol), I have a full-multi-room set up with Anthem Pre-Pro and then Anthem Amp (quality 125 WPC) just for these. Like any good speaker, more quality power is always a good thing, along with good speaker cable (I may upgrade the cables). I had initially wanted the larger 7's, but they were too deep (going by product dimensions). You do want some breathing space from the wall they're next to, if too close you may get better bass but will also sound muddy. I still recommend the RTi A5's- hopefully more so once I get the other one. They do appear to be a terrific bargain for the price, Crutchfield has the tweeter under control, so that was impressive.

Pros: Cabinet and finish are gorgeous Terrific value Expect a good sound quality

Cons: One tweeter inoperable

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Polk Audio RTi A5

Crutchfield customer from Lincoln Univ, PA on 12/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are GREAT! Updated our audio system from a 2000 vintage Yamaha A/V receiver and 3 JBL speakers (2 bookshelf (L/R channels) and a center). I thought the "old stuff" still sounded pretty good till I plugged these in with a Polk CSi A4 center. Replaced the Yamaha A/V receiver with a Denon AVR-X1400H A/V receiver. AWESOME sound! Watching/listening to the Band's "Last Waltz" Blu-ray now. Still a classic. And as I tell my wife a holiday movie since it was filmed on Thanksgiving!!!!!! Trying to talk her into adding a sub woofer though she doesn't want more gear in the room. Buzz at Crutchfield was great. They have an excellent knowledgeable staff

Pros: Great sound Nice price point Nice design

Cons: Absolutely none

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio RTi A5

Samuel from Raymore, MO on 11/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Look and sound great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Polk Audio RTi A5

Crutchfield customer from Memphis, TN on 10/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

listening to cd through the ai5 motivates me to dance .enjoying the se speakers imensely

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Polk Audio RTi A5

Jon from Lahaina, HI on 10/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great clean sound and perfect fit for a small living room.

Pros: Sound and furniture quality look.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Satisfying

ab from Slidell, LA on 10/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the RTIa5's as an upgrade from the TSI300's. I am very happy and satisfied with them(Last speakers for me). First of all, the a5 is definitely better than the 300 but at the same time, the a5 does not leave the 300 at the starting line(IMO). I like the 300's. They are great speakers but they just didn't move me like the a5's do. The a5's sounds clearer, bigger with enough stand alone bass for me in an open house(Yes, 20 ft slope ceiling- see 2nd floor from 1st floor type open house), and they sound better at high volumes. There is something about them that's just.....satisfying (music and movies). The 300's left me feeling a little disappointed with music most of the time. For movies only with a sub, the a5's seems to only be a tiny bit better than the 300's( Would not justify purchase for movies only IMO). Music is where the a5's shine. The best way for me to describe the difference is: The 300's make me want to sit down and listen to music for an hour or two. The a5's make me want to get up and dance to the music all night long!

Pros: Nice clear full sound. Beautiful .

Cons: would not be worth the upgrade from the tsi300 line at regular price.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Presence!

Jerome from Carbondale, CO on 3/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

In a word "Presence"! I have a 15 year old Polk Audio RMS6600 system that is 4 bookshelf speakers, 1 center speaker, and 1 subwoofer. After poking around on why Polk Audio wanted me to run the front speakers through the subwoofer before going to the front speakers (it's because of the settable crossover in the subwoofer), I read several suggestions that I would be happier with tower speakers as front speakers. Upon recommendations from Polk Audio and Crutchfield, I settled on the Polk Audio RTi A5's. Boy I didn't know what I was missing. While the home theater movies now sound better, I really noticed the difference when I started playing my favorite CD's, the music popped out at me. OMG talk about presence. I've been driving my wife crazy. Now I sneak in a "sound check" whenever she is out of the house. The only thing I'm a little disappointed in is the lack of any discernible difference to this seenager (cross between a senior and teenager) ears of bi-amping the speakers. After reading more about it, I would really need an AV Receiver with pre-amp outs and then separate amps for the tweeters and mid-range/woofers and active crossovers somewhere in that mix, an expense I'm not ready for at this point. Otherwise the speakers are great.

Pros: Great sound from 125 watts per channel AV Receiver.

Cons: Not worth the trouble of bi-amping.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Excellent Speaker

David from Spokane, WA on 12/14/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The A5 is truly a nice speaker...very rich in sound...except for the bass. You will need a subwoofer to round out your home theater. One note: I received one of the speakers damaged...it had a loose piece inside the cabinet. I did contact the Crutchfield Advisor quickly and he sent me a replacement right away. I receive the replacement today and I'm hoping it comes in fine. I did pay top dollar for these speakers, but the reason I did was for the excellent advice I received from Crutchfield. They also give you 60 days to enjoy your products...if not satisfied you can return them.

Pros: rich sound, versatile for both music and movies, good craftsmanship

Cons: needs a sub

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

RTi A5 Speakers

Anthony P from Diamond,OH on 2/2/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I did some research on tower speakers and made my decision on the Polk RTi A5 Speakers. I received great help from Eddie at Crutchfield that my purchase a pleasure .The speakers are fantastic had some friends over and they could'nt stop talking about them.THANK YOU CRUTCHFIELD.

Pros: Look great, Sound fantastic the highs the Mids and the lows pop.

Cons: Waited so long to get them

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

After brief break-in, spectacular

CharW from North Carolina on 12/22/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It only took a couple of weeks for these speakers to break in and develop a beautiful warmth to go with the clear high-end sound that was there from the start. I ordered the cherry and they look beautiful in the living room with a high quality look and feel. I added a Polk Audio PSW111 Ultra-compact powered subwoofer and the sound is perfectly rounded. It's not that attractive but it's tucked back a bit. While the music I listen to isn't tremendously bass heavy, I wouldn't find the sound complete without the subwoofer. Very happy with this setup. I also appreciated the solid, no-pressure advice I received when I called before ordering to ask about potential wiring configurations. That removed the concern I had about getting everything wired to older stereo components that we wanted to use because they produce such nice sound and power. The living room is not very large and this setup fills it up with plenty to spare if we move to a home with a larger space.

Pros: Very good, crisp high-end out of the box, with nice warmth coming in over a couple weeks use. Cherry has a very nice appearance and the build feels solid, high quality.

Cons: Not really a con, since it's in the design, but I would miss the bottom end if I hadn't ordered a subwoofer with them. Not actually a con but these are nice, heavy pieces. If you have small children around, I would look into whatever safety measures you need to do to prevent them being pulled over.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great Sound

BruceV from California on 10/18/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wide sound stage with depth and clarity. Have had these for a week and listened to a variety of music, movies, sports programs. They do require power and, high quality amplification. After 3 days switched to biamping these speakers via my Marantz SR7007 and it opened up the sound even more. The growl of engines and the sound of their being revved up on The Fast & Furious Movies is like WOW !! Love listening to well recorded and mixed music through these speakers. Rear speakers are Polk TSi300's with Polk PSW111 Subwoofer. Great 5.1 Dolby Sound !!

Pros: Beautiful clear balanced natural sound with a wide sound stage and depth. Well constructed with nice black finish !!!

Cons: Would be nice if there was a way to remove the rear speaker clips when you biamp these speakers ! The points on the speaker spikes are sharp !!! I did not need to use them on my carpeted floor !!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Polk Audio RTi A5

Mark R from Texas on 8/11/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very Impressive! Very Affordable! And As Always the Crutchfield Staff A+

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Clear crisp sound

Rex Tincher from Ohio on 5/14/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These Polk Rti A5 speakers are a tremendous bargain considering how good they sound. I bought a pair back in 2011 (cherry finish) and they still look and sound great. In my living room, speaker placement was important. They sound best if the backs of the cabinets are between 9 and 10 inches from the wall. (Measured from the cabinet itself, not the guard.) Overall, the sound is a little bright. I had to turn the bass control on my receiver up to the one o'clock position to make male vocalists sound right. These speakers are great for most music. But you'll want to add a subwoofer if you like to listen to very loud rock music or if you like rap. I'm now running them with a Polk PSW125 subwoofer and there is plenty of low bass with that combination, with the subwoofer's level control less than half of the way up. The upside is that the sound is very precise and controlled. With a good recording, you'll hear every detail of the music. The downside is that these speakers ruthlessly expose any flaws in the recording or in the rest of your audio equipment. I had to replace my ancient Sherwood stereo receiver because these speakers revealed the distortion in the receiver. Oh, before you consider buying the larger Polk RTi speakers to get more bass, take a look at the size and weight of those monsters. The RTi A5 can be moved by one person, and so can the PSW125 subwoofer.

Pros: Sound and look great

Cons: Detailed sound reveals flaws in recordings and the rest of your equipment

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Expected more

Eddie k from New Hampshire on 4/28/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased these speakers to replace a pair of infinity primus p363's that I had moved to another room. What a mistake. I should have bought another pair of the infinitys. Theses speakers do not sound bad, they are just missing the detail and midrange that I was used to. It's funny, my wife didn't notice that I switched speakers, as she is clueless to what brands we have. She had asked me the other day why the stereo sounded different. They do, however, have decent highs, maybe a little on the bright side. I use them for both music and movies and would rate them as 3.5 out of 5 stars. There are certainly other options to choose from, especially at this price point.

Pros: Decent highs.

Cons: Missing some detail in sound.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 11 found this helpful

Polk Rtia5

David from Crystal Lake, Il. on 9/19/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are physically beautiful, in the cherrywood. Their sound is smooth and coherent. The only complaint I had was that I wanted them to sound way better than my old Polk Rti4 bookshelf speakers, and they only sound a little better(in the bass). But that says more about the quality of the Rti4's than it does about the Rtia5's. The main adjective for these speakers is: SMOOTH.

Pros: Physically beautiful and excellent smooth sound.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

7 of 10 found this helpful

Really like them

Crutchfield customer from Minneapolis, MN on 7/16/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced a set of JBL Northridge tower speakers. Paired with: 12+ year old Onkyo home theatre receiver. Polk ATI3 as satellite speakers. JBL Northridge 80w sub. Very clear mids and highs. The JBL sub provides the deep base and these speakers provide a clear base that allows me to turn down my sub from the setting I had with the d JBL towers. Cabinets are very nice and compliment the cherry floors I have in my house. I would buy again.

Pros: Clarity of high and mid range. Cabinets are beautiful.

Cons: Needs a subwoofer.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

What bass?

Mike from Fayetteville NC on 7/10/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the price I thought great bass, well I like Polk but hardly any bass

Pros: nice looking very loud

Cons: no bass

Crutchfield response on

6 of 20 found this helpful

Was expecting better.

Hank from Chicago, IL on 4/10/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Like the title, I was expecting more. A Polk loyalist I was somewhat disappoineted with the overall sound. These were to replace my Polk RM5000 system which consists of 2 front satelite speakers and a non-powered sub-woofer. This system is over 20 years old and is driven by the Denon AVR-X4000. The RTi A5s just didnt offer the sound I expected. Not any noticabel difference from the old system. They did not sound clear at all. Absolutely no punch unless you really turned up the volume. I did make numerous adjustmenst, but to no avail. My listening room is carpeted with some large couches so that may be part of it but my audio adjustments should have made some improvement. They did sound a bit better after about 40 days of break-in, but sent them back for a set of Klipsch speakers which sounded 100% better right out of the box. I will give that review later.

Pros: Nice cabinet and Crutchfield advisors.

Cons: Muddy sound. Requires alot of power to drive these speakers.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 8 found this helpful

RTiA5 review

Joe from Marysville OH on 3/2/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My system consists of a Denon X-4000 receiver, Polk RTiA5's up front, Polk RTiA1's for surrounds, Polk 660 pro sub & a def tech CS8040HD center (Polk CSiA4 was too big for tv stand cabinet). The A5's absolutely shine in multi channel use. I've tested with all kinds of movies on blue-ray, even movies on cable sound great. I was originally gonna get the A7's, but after some debating I got the A5's & I must say I'm glad I went with the A5's. They fill the living room (21X15) with plenty of sound & are actually sounding better after two weeks of break in. They do produce a fair amount of bass for their size, but in order to really reach down low, you'll need a sub, especially if you want that extra umph for movies. On a side note... If your gonna spend the money on any of the RTiA line of speakers do yourself a favor & buy a good quality HT receiver. The A5's sound awesome powered by the Denon. I am now a believer, & will never buy a consumer level ($400-$500) receiver from here on out. Before my A5's arrived I hooked up my 15yr old Cerwin Vega LS-12's to the Denon & Wow! What a difference. Anyway...yes the A5's are very nice speakers. They sound great & look great too. Def recommend them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Polk Audio RTiA5 Speakers

RandyW from Memphis, TN on 1/1/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

just received one day ago. Have connected to a Yamaha RN-500 receiver (80 Watts/channel). Initial impression is very good. My biggest concern was if the combination setup (receiver/speaker selection) would produce enough bass for music (sans subwoofer). I am happy to report with the bass turned up on the receiver they satisfy in this regards. Great Sound and the appearance is also a plus.

Pros: Great Sound Enough bass with the right receiver (sans subwoofer) Attractive appearance Good Value - price/performance

Cons: None identified at this time.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Polk Audio RTi A5

Crutchfield customer from South Lake Tahoe, CA on 12/26/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These sound great! I am running a pair of them with a Denon AVRX-1000, and they are great!! I may want to push more power to them though with a better receiver. Their loud, and sound great with music, and movies.

Pros: Beautiful dark cherry color (the picture shows them in light cherry, but they are actually dark)

Cons: None Yet

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Incredible sound!

LDeCarlo from Seattle, WA on 12/22/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The moment I attached these speakers and played a cello CD, I was hooked. Beautiful deep full sound. Very happy with this purchase. Highly recommend them!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Jen

Jen from Alpine Texas on 12/5/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and even though they are large they are truly nice looking and blend in with any décor. I was worried they would be too big but because they are narrow and black they don't stand out.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Review of Polk RTi A5

Doug from Batavia, NY on 8/16/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I believe my break in period is over. I purchased a pair of these fine speakers a few weeks back and am very pleased with their sound. The mid range is warm and detailed with nuances of sound coming from what seems to be distant back stage effects. An extremely clean top end in the upper register without it being overdone or sizzle. No boomy base .... nice and tight .... True sound and for and at their price point I could not be happier. As usual Crutchfield delivered on time as promised. I am definitely a Crutchfield satisfied customer. Now, my speaker system is complete with a full 7.1 system using front height speakers all Polk !!! The sound is amazing !!! Thanks Polk and Crutchfield !!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pleasantly Suprised

Dave from Roseville, CA. on 8/4/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was apprehsive about buying the Polk Audio RTi A5 Floor standing speaker, after I set up my Stereo gear I was quite pleasantly surprised by how good the speakers sounded. The speaker's present a good stage presence, base is tight and I was pushing the speakers with a Yamaha RS700 @ 100 Watts per channel. I would say if someone wanted to push the speaker at 200 watts (The speaker's are rated at 250 watts) with a Yamaha RS700 to buy a power amp and hold your ears. I found the system and speakers to play at a range much louder than my ears could take.

Pros: Have great sound reproduction, easy to set up. I highly recommend this speaker.

Cons: None to date.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

RT I speaker

Prince S on 7/21/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very Nice sounding speaker better when they get broken in.

Pros: Nice build ed speaker Great sound ok price look nice with your furniture.

Cons: None yet.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

polk RTi a5

MeBe from Everett, WA on 7/8/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely love these speakers, besides being gorgeous their sound is nothing short of beautiful. They are so good looking that I actually rearranged my furniture to showcase, they outclass my other furniture!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Speakers!

Geoff C. from Pennsylvania on 7/1/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic sound. I wanted bass, and I got bass. Almost no need for a sub-woofer. The Crutchfield tech rep who assisted me in selecting speakers to match my components and listening needs was right on the money. If you want well priced, high end speakers, these are the ones. High tones are very well reproduced in addition to the lows. No matter what type of music you listen to, or movies you watch, I do not think you will be disappointed with the RT1 A5's. A great match to the Sony STR-DN1030,...the RTi A5's reproduce its sounds extremely well.

Pros: sound, quality, craftsmanship, quick shipping/arrival (2 days), easy set-up, the free Atrium 4 speakers were a nice bonus

Cons: If I could have only gotten the speakers for free,...but still worth the price.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Very satisfied

Derek from California on 5/2/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome speakers. Great sound and style. Very pleased.

Pros: Look great, sound great.

Cons: None yet.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio RTi A5

Steve from Wareham, MA on 1/5/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Big beautiful speakers that sound great, however a bit of an overkill for our home theater application.

Pros: Great speakers

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Nice Speakers!

DanC from Georgia on 3/9/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was concerned about the quality when I ordered, as you cannot truely get a feel for that from the picture, but once they were out of the box I was very impressed with the quality of the RTI A5. I really like these speakers for listening to music and they do an excellent job as my front pair in a 7- speaker setup in a 14x20 room.

Pros: Quality of Speaker Cabinet and Speaker Sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Good sound beautiful cabinet

Jamie from Winfield,WV on 3/2/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good sound quality for the price, I am more impressed with the looks of the cabinet, they look more likes piece of high quality furniture than a speaker. I am still leaning the range of these speakers think they do well with the mid tones and are a little weak at highs but still worth the price. The shipping company that crutchfield uses was terriable it took them almost 2 weeks to get them to me. I called customer service and they told me they had to be shipped by carrier other than ups because of size. The grilles are the cheapest part of a other wise terrific speaker

Pros: Great looking cherry wood good sounding and a very good value got a free sub woofer

Cons: Flimsey grills and the delivery company that was used

Crutchfield response on

4 of 7 found this helpful

Polk Audio RTi A5

Crutchfield customer from Bronx,NY. on 2/14/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent Speaker, Great Sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

Polk Rti speakers

KSsunflower from Montezuma, Ks on 2/2/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

upgraded from speakers from the seventies. What amazing speakers. Hearing things I never heard! Nice lows and highs, but I bot the PS125 powered sub. That was icing on the cake. Happy gal I am!!

Pros: Nice cherry wood.

Cons: The subwoofer cherry wood don't match the deep cherry of the speakers. But its not a big deal as the sub isn't where you can see it.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Under Rated

Charles from Tinley Park, IL on 1/11/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great product, I was disappointed to see so few reviews during my research. I originally had the tsi series in mind. If your like me and spend hours researching your purchase, enough to know more than the so called "experts" at some audio vendors, this is your sign. When it comes down to it, these speakers are simply amazing. A step up from the Tsi series they look beautiful, constructed well and look great with any furniture (made the girl friend happy). The A5 series is worth the extra money for higher quality and better highs, bigger volume cabinets which give them incredible bass. These shake the apartment enough to annoy the neighbors, let alone adding a sub too! My setup though is packed into a small 760sq ft apt, overkill but I went for the possibility for upgrades. Pair these with the Csi A6 Center and movies come alive. I have Rti4's in the rear, planned to move these to my 7.1 setup eventually with the Rti A9s in the front. Powered by the Denon 2312 these far surpassed my expectations as an entry level home audio enthusiast.

Pros: Amazing Bass Value / Quality

Cons: Price maybe? They are still worth every bit of the money.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Amazing

MatthewG from Indiana on 12/26/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was planning on buying the speakers that ran a little less, but decided on these. Kind of concerned since there are few reviews for them, hoping I wouldn't regret not getting the A7 speakers. These are wonderful! We have a smaller house, powering them with a Denon 1912. I could't be more pleased with them. Polk has always made great speakers and these should last us a very long time. Huge improvement over our XBR5's speakers. We hear details we never heard before in movies. A winner all the way!

Pros: Nice size speaker, crisp excellent sound, nice bass, great construction

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Polk RTi Series Speakers

OliverK from Zelienople, PA on 7/14/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was impressed with the speakers overall. Excellent craftsmanship. However, one of the side supports came without thread for the carpet spike. Polk has to improve their QA department. I called Polk directly and they said that they would mail me a replacement. The speakers have an overall excellent sound quality, nice and crisp, and I found no need for a sub-woofer, as so many people say that you need one, because they are bass-reflex. The sound quality does improve as the speakers break-in.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 9 found this helpful

2nd WOW

fourtango from NJ on 1/28/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers really beat my expectations! I have just these and a psw125 sub (for now) coming from a onkyo TSX607 and the sound is great! The finish on the RTi A5 is second to none. I just watched Hurt Locker and Saving Private Ryan and could not believe my ears. The gun battles were so realistic. You will not be disappointed if you get these.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

WOW

Cory from MT on 1/4/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just arrived today...awesome! They came before the sub and I cannot believe the bass. The clarity is great, Cherry veneer is beautiful. Very happy with these speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

TOP