Contact us
Close contact box
Monday, May 25
Crutchfield's website is open today, but our staff has the day off to observe Memorial Day.
Connect ID #
575 862 022 3

Our hours

Connect ID #
575 862 022 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Current Crutchfield time is 11:24 AM ET.

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Polk Audio Signature S20

Bookshelf speakers (Washed Black Walnut)

MFR # AM9534-A

Polk Audio Signature S20

Polk Audio Signature S20

Bookshelf speakers (Washed Black Walnut)

MFR # AM9534-A

38 reviews
View this product

Polk Audio Signature S20

Crutchfield customer from Centre Hall, PA on 5/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing speakers, loving the depth of sound they provide and can't wait to get the matching sub!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent surround speakers

Crutchfield customer from El Paso, TX on 5/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Am using them as surround speakers with the S60 as front speakers. Excellent speakers for the job! Watching Fast and Furious movies and they totally envelope you I the race scenes. Good bass for small speakers. Buy them. You will be glad you did.

Pros: Great surround speakers

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio S Series Speakers

Crutchfield customer from Tampa , FL on 5/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have S55's, S35 center and am quite happy to finally get these S20's. I am sure the sound harmonics will complement my home. Crutchfield continues its legendary position in the market by providing high quality and a staff of experts. Great stuff!

Pros: American made and great hi-fi products.

Cons: Hard to find mechanisms for speaker placement solutions both via retail or online. Not a lot of options and configurations available for speaker stands that are functional and appealing

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S20

Crutchfield customer from Newport News, VA on 2/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers sound great!!

Pros: These speakers were under $400 and sound great and fit into the bookshelves nicely!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Las Vegas

David from Las Vegas on 12/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice speakers, got them as replacement surround speakers. However they are a bit too big to mount where I want them, I connected them and they sounded pretty good. Couldn't get them installed so I decided to use them in my bedroom and use my 10 year old Infinity speakers for the surround. The Polks sounded good but the Infinity's had crisper highs, which is what I was really looking for since I have two subs. Polks are probably a better fit for my bedroom since I need more bass there.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great for minimalist stereo system!

Jay from Colorado on 11/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have these speakers paired with the Polk Audio HTS 10 subwoofer, and the Denon PMA-600NE Integrated Amplifier. This total system is under $1,000 in cost. I have purchased and tested numerous bookshelf speakers under $500, and I believe these are the best speakers for the price, for a small to medium-sized room. If you want a high-quality stereo system with bluetooth, digital and analog inputs, these speakers with the components above are truly a great investment.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S20

Crutchfield customer from Brockport, NY on 10/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have the S 60 S 35 S 20 signature series these speakers are great. Movies tv Music. Anyone looking to move up to quality speakers should buy.

Pros: Top of the line

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Best Bookshelf Speakers for the Price?

Robin from San Francisco on 10/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently decided to replace and upgrade my 35 year old AR bookshelf speakers. After considerable research, I narrowed the candidates down to the ELAC Debut 2.0, the Polk Signature S20 HiRes and the Polk TRi3. I listen blues, jazz, country, bluegrass, old time and roots folk and watch TV; no home theater. My system is a 3.0; the center speaker is a Polk CS10; the receiver is a Yamaha RX-V681; the TT is a 35 year old Technics SL-D30 with a fairly new AT95e cartridge. I used records, CDs and DirecTV to test. My living room is 15x13. Although it is all the reviewer's new darling, I ruled the ELACs out first. They were a slight improvement on my ARs but unremarkable. Virtually all the reviewers, both professional and customer, tagged the Polk TRi3s as bright and they were. They did a really good job in the higher ranges, really clear and no overloading or breaking at the top but were less impressive in the lower ranges. The Polk S20s were the clear winners for music, much more rounded and balanced with just a bigger sound. Those musical passages that needed to pop really did, unlike with the TRi3s. For TV, the TRi3s might have a slight edge, but not enough to matter. I'm a function over form guy but with their cherry wood veneer finish, their curved taper going towards the back and their great looking grill, the TRi3s are far and away the best looking and most stylish of the group. The ELACs and the S20s are not shielded, the TRi3s are. I'm keeping the 20 HiRes speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

great value, if they work

Crutchfield customer from Cupertino, CA on 9/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a pair of Polk Signature S55 floor standing speakers and they sound great for the price. So when I was setting up a smaller room I ordered the S20 s. On one of them the tweeter seemed to only be running at 50%. I don't know if it was the tweeter or the crossover but tried burning them in, swapping them left to right and different sources etc but got no improvement. I called Crutchfield and they were great about promptly sending me out a replacement pair. When I tried the new pair even my 10 year old son said "the woman's voice is stronger on one" as one tweeter was maybe 75%. I ended up keeping one from the first pair and another from the second. Sounds great but a 50% bad on arrival rate is not cool. Does Polk not have any quality control? At least Crutchfield service was excellent.

Pros: great sound for the money and size

Cons: 50% failure rate out of the box

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Would recommend other things

Jimbob from New Haven, CT on 7/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I use my stereo only for listening to music, so I cannot speak on the S20 performance for movies. The sound is decent. The high end can be harsh and sharp, especially at higher volumes. The bass is ok, but it still leaves more to be desired (ie subwoofer). They also feel a little unbalanced. Sometimes the bass can be boomy and the high end too harsh, while the mids go unnoticed. These speakers are very well constructed and gorgeous, but wow are they big. Compared to other 6.5 inch bookshelf speakers, these things are gigantic. All this is to say that if you are thinking about getting the S20, I would recommend that you buy the S15 instead. The S15s have a more balanced sound, are a much more manageable size, and are a bit cheaper. On paper the S15s might have slightly worse bass response, but I didn't notice any difference between them in that realm.

Pros: Beautiful Decent sound

Cons: unbalanced gigantic

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S20

Crutchfield customer from Dalton, PA on 7/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely love these bookshelf speakers!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S20

Crutchfield customer from Southborough, MA on 5/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

they have a wonderful sound. I am really enjoying them

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio S20 review

Crutchfield customer from Carlsbad, CA on 5/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had a set of Bose 301 R/L speakers with Bose vcs 10 center. I replaced the old speakers with Polk Audio S20 and center S35. I was missing so much. The new Polk Audio sound is remarkably better when matched with the HTS 12 sub and Polk Audio RC80i surround speakers. Music listening and movie watching is 100% more enjoyable now.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Surround L & R Speakers

Crutchfield customer from Downers Grove, IL on 5/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great surround L & R speakers. Frequency response is impressive for speakers of this size. I would not use these for Front L & R, instead get S55s or S60s for more power and greater clarity by employing bi-amping

Pros: Frequency response Look

Cons: Physical depth is a bit much

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S20

Crutchfield customer from Longwood, FL on 4/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the third set of Polk speakers I have purchased over the last 20 years and each time they get better. I am still using all my Polk speakers on other systems.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S20

JULIO Silva from Kenmore, WA on 12/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

AMAZING SOUND QUALITY especially when you consider the price for this pair of Good looking and Great Sound Quality. Although I'm using them for surround sound I've tested them on a 2.0 stereo amp and they sound Very good. Good Low and high frequencies.

Pros: Sound quality, cost, sound quality.

Cons: None to the moment

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Polk signature

Carlos from San Diego, CA on 12/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Buen sonido, buen diseño, fácil de instalar, me gusto el color

Pros: Fácil de instalar, buen tamaño

Cons: Ningúno

Crutchfield response on

3 of 6 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S20

Marcus from Tyrone, GA on 11/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are excellent and fit my home theater perfectly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Signature S20 Bookshelf_ Great sound!!.

Claudio from Fort Lauderdale, FL on 10/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got them as main speakers for a small room music system, and I think these speakers could easily use a much bigger room! lol.. I have them hocked up to my Carver Sonic Holographic Receiver HR722. with 125W P/CH (RMS).. T.H.D 0.005, so wanted a clean sound type of speakers, but not floorstanding because those are too big. So I after looking for a wile, reading Specs, and reviews, I ended up getting these Polks S20's. Right out of the box they sounded really, really good, and LOUD!!.. After a month now of listening different kinds of music with these speakers, I can easily say that_ I don't think I'll ever want any other speakers brands again!. These speakers can cover a good frequency range, with a very clean sound (if the sound source is good) and louder than I expected!.. Also the price is unbelievable. Thank you so much Crutchfield for your fast delivery, and thank you Polk for keeping a reasonable price and yet delivering a magnificent product like this S20 Bookshelfs!. Next, I'm planning to go for the Polk High performance RTiA9 towers for my living room!!. ;-)

Pros: Everything!..

Cons: Non_

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Quality at a good price

Crutchfield customer from Bryan, TX on 9/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding speakers, ordered from scratch and dent and they were just like new at a lower price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

great little speaker

jim from Louisville, KY on 9/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

very good little speaker. I haven't bought any speakers in 20 years,I have always heard good things about Polk, but have never heard them. These are a perfect size for me.I a/b them with my vintage Advent 2 ways. the Polks require a bit more power, but have really crisp highs. I tried playing both at once and loved it so much I kept it that way

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Value meets quality!

Trevor from Wyckoff, NJ on 8/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hi guys. I am powering these with an 80W RMS Onkyo. Nothing special, and I am achieving some audiophile level quality tone from these budget "surrounds or bookshelf's" used as front speakers. Google the S20 and you will see a lot of people prefer these S20's in the signature series over some of the tower units. They just hit that magic sweet spot with the resonance of the cabinet, drivers, and crossover all working in unison.. The power-port does look a little cheesy, but I do believe it keeps the sound tight in conjunction with the stiffer mica-poly driver. Very clean sounding speakers. Have I heard speakers with better definition? Of course, but these are darn good for their size and especially for the money!! Not too many bookshelf's are going to have such a complete, linear, and full detailed sound as these. I recommend them for an office, or small family room without hesitation.

Pros: Good definition, great build quality, handsome (my opinion), good crossovers, no breakup or distortion. Lots of mature sound here from a "cheap" pair of speakers. Pretty amazing bass from a 6.5 speaker in a "small" cabinet.

Cons: Highs are slightly under-defined. Have to dial in a tad more treble, but nothing crazy. Honestly, I was worried that these high-resolution Terylene tweeters, would be in your face, but they are pretty laid back. Not really a con, but needed to mention. LOL

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S20

Crutchfield customer from Newtown, CT on 6/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After much research, I bought these Polk S20s from Crutchfield three months ago to replace a pair of wonderful Advent speakers that were 33 years old and were disintegrating. Never thought I would find an acceptable replacement for them. But these speakers come pretty close. They deliver superb sound and have surpassed all my expectations. I was so impressed that I bought the S10s for my rear surround, Polk PSW10 Subwoofer, and the Polk Blackstone TL3 for the center channel, replacing a 10 year old Bose. I couldn' be happier.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Overkill Fidelity at a Bargain Price

Rob from Lee, MA on 4/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these as surround speakers in an all American HiFi Series 5.1 surround system and could not be happier. Not difficult to imagine another set of these to use as "Zone 2" mains.

Pros: Hi Fi, Low Price

Cons: Almost too big and curvy for clamp mounting.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S20

Guest from California on 2/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First off, I gave them only 4 stars because of the price. ELAC B6 Debut speakers (also sold here) are superior in every way. If you can audition these to other speakers in the $300 range then you should do it. These are a fine speaker, but, not good for the price. ~ peace

Pros: New Design tech.

Cons: Too Expensive!

Crutchfield response on

7 of 25 found this helpful

Signature S20

Tom from Bayonne, NJ on 2/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, am using them for rear surrounds, and they will be sitting on top of a pair of modified audio/video racks that flank my sofa, putting them at ear level. I have the Signature S35 for my center, and the Signature S60's for my fronts. A bit too big to mounted high up on a wall for surrounds, the S15 or S10 would be a better choice.

Pros: Sound and build quality are excellent.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S20

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 1/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got these speakers to replace our >10 year old Infinity speakers that were smaller and probably lower in the quality lineup. This is in a traditional two-speaker stereo system. The new speakers definitely have richer bass, and at times striking stereo imaging. But I was also struck by a noticeable boxy sound in the mid bass, eg piano passages 1-2 octaves below middle C.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Love'em

Brian from CA on 1/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was replacing Sony surround sound speakers that came in a combo set with a receiver. I wanted to change from 5.1 surround to 3.1 and have a better 2 ch for music. I used the S20 as a front L&R. Also wanted a bookshelf speaker with a 6.5" woofer to give a full sound. These did not disappoint! As far as music I can't even compare these to the small Sony speakers they replaced. They have a clean rich sound and very full range. I'm also surprised how much bass these provide. For pop, rap and r&b I turn on my sub for some help. When I crank up the volume my sub can't keep up with the S20's so now it's time to upgrade that!

Pros: Can be placed close to wall

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S20

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 12/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Greatly improved the surround sound in my den. Television, movies and music all sound better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

FANTASTIC S20'S

Crutchfield customer from Huntersville, NC on 12/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Polk really stepped it up with the new components in the S20 speaker design. I own different speakers that I've acquired over the years and the one thing I can say is Polk always stays consistent, meaning they just get better and sound great at a reasonable price. I don't know anybody that is spending $5,000 on up for speakers but there is one thing I did learn from an old wirehead friend of mine is that you don't have to spend a ton of money to get great sound and that always stood true with Polk. You will be very impressed with the S20's, don't be shy, step up and grab a pair because I know you won't be second guessing yourself, all you'll be doing is putting on your favorite tunes turning up the volume and getting lost in the great sound.

Pros: BEAUTIFUL NEW SOUND

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S20

Crutchfield customer from Palatine, IL on 8/27/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They're good for this price point. I didn't need to spend more as I just needed audio for my workouts & these fit the bill perfectly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Big, Rich Sound in a Small Footprint Speaker

David from Davis, CA on 8/25/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These put out such a big, rich sound for such small speakers. I was intending to use them just to play vinyl and cds, but when I gave them a listen, I immediately hooked them up to the TV, too. So much better than the oild (but pretty darn good, until now) sound bar. I would absolutely buy Polk Audio again.

Pros: Quality of build, ease of hook-up, great sound, small box

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Great upgrade for my surround system!

Robert from Richmond, VA on 8/1/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had recently bought a pair of Polk S60's, and was so impressed with the sound, that I bought these for the front of my surround system in a different room. Just like the bigger floor standing models in the Signature Series, these sound great and can hit hard. I probably could have done well with a smaller model like the S15, but I wanted the identical driver that is in my bigger speakers. Just be aware that these are HUGE for shelf speakers, so pay attention to the measurements.

Pros: Solid construction and excellent sound.

Cons: Because it's built so well, it's heavy! Also bigger than they look in the picture, so pay attention to the dimensions before ordering.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great sound, but way too big

Jason from Elizabeth, CO on 7/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound out of these speakers. I'm using them as the rear surrounds in a 7.1 home theater. I wish I'd paid more attention to the dimensions before I bought them for this purpose; they're huge! I have them on wall-mounted brackets and they are simply enormous sticking out from the wall. Also, the cabinets are rounded at the corners, so the mounts can't really clamp onto them. I wrapped a black sleeping bag strap around them to keep them in place on the mounts. I'm very satisfied with the sound, but I should have gone with something smaller. Considering their size, these really shouldn't be considered an option for surrounds, which is the only reason not to give them 5 stars.

Pros: Good fidelity and bass response

Cons: Way too big to be surrounds

Crutchfield response on

10 of 23 found this helpful

Sweet Sounding!

Brian from Okemos, MI on 6/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I picked these speakers online to accommodate a new higher end CD player I had just purchased which sounded too harsh with my current speakers that had metal tweeters. I picked the Polk S20 speakers because: 1) they did not have metal tweeters; 2) a strong bass frequency response of 39 hz; 3) the price was unbelievable at $299 for the pair. These speakers are thoroughly enjoyable; detailed and clear; can pound the bass; no harshness or listening fatigue with the new higher end CD player. I have paid three times this amount for highly rated speakers that were fine in their own right but I love the sound of these S20 Polks! RECOMMENDED!

Pros: More musical and enjoyable that some speakers costing much more. Clear, concise, can bang out rock and still finesse detailed music at lower volumes. VALUE - PRICE!

Cons: Funky plastic covers on back covering bass porting. I can live with it!

Crutchfield response on

19 of 20 found this helpful

great value

Bill from Beverly, MA on 5/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These replaced a 35 yr old pair of pretty good ADS bookshelf size speakers as front units in a 5.1 home theater which I also use for music, specially vinyl. 125 watt Denon 1713 amp, boston acoustics front, Mirage sub. I've recently upgraded the turntable, better cartridge (Ortofon blue) a phono preamp (music hall 2.1), and the system sounds great. These speakers fit my space and really kicked it up a notch. With a 6.5 inch woofer these are a great value in a large bookshelf size. They were suggested by my Crutchfield advisor who was right on with his advice, and steered me away from some more expensive speakers after going over my system and requirements.

Pros: great sound for the money

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

13 of 14 found this helpful

Great speakers for their size and price

gary from Reno, NV on 1/17/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far I'm enjoying these speakers. They replaced some very old Boston THX book shelf speaker as the cones had gone bad after 20 + years. The sound is great for the size of room we have and works well with our ceiling surround speakers. Good base but not over the top. Could not ask for more for the money.

Pros: Compance, great sound good base but not to much. Just right for our area.

Cons: non that I can think of

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Big improvement. Love Polk.

Crutchfield customer from Great Cacapon, WV on 12/20/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We have limited space so I put these in a cabinet rather than out on a shelf. Wasn't quite sure how they would sound. These fit nicely (about 2 inches of space all around) and the sound is great. Nice highs and lows for both streaming videos and streaming music through Roku. We were missing a lot of bass previously. These provide much more bass than we had before (the system was 5 small speakers with a powered sub-woofer). Receiver is an Onkyo (also from Crutchfield).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

15 of 15 found this helpful

TOP