Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
434 093 043 3
Connect ID #
434 093 043 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Polk Audio Signature S55

Floor-standing speaker (Washed Black Walnut)

MFR # AM9531-A

Polk Audio Signature S55

Polk Audio Signature S55

Floor-standing speaker (Washed Black Walnut)

MFR # AM9531-A

49 reviews
View this product

Polk Audio Signature S55

Crutchfield customer from Logansport, IN on 9/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have had them for a few weeks now and I can tell they are getting broken in. They sound great plenty of bass and nice clean highs. I would recommend these, great bang for the buck.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S55

Crutchfield customer from Guaynabo, PR on 9/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great and sharp sound. Good price for a high end flooring speakers. Highly recommend

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A lot of speaker for the money

Crutchfield customer from Delray Beach, FL on 8/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I did much research on quality speakers to upgrade my home theater set up and decided on the Polk S 55s. The speakers sound silky smooth and look sharp. I don't think you can find speakers that sound better, at this price point. They provide serious bang for the buck. Highly recommend the S55's.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S55

Crutchfield customer from Indian Head, MD on 8/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Full, rich sound. Best bang for the buck in speakers going. Replaced my beloved Kenwoods, was worried I would miss their sound. Not a chance these are so clear and the range is awesome.

Pros: Great mids and bass. Beautiful design.

Cons: Haven't found one yet

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S55

Crutchfield customer from The Villages, FL on 8/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S55

Robert from Derry, NH on 8/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love these speakers. The bass is particularly impressive, but overall sound has blown me away. Plus they look great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S55

Crutchfield customer from Flat Rock, MI on 7/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am using these speakers in a normal stereo setup (no home theater) in a large family room for listening to CDs and vinyl. They are not bi-amped or bi-wired and I don't have a subwoofer. The sound quality is still excellent. I'm hearing details in the music that I missed with my old speakers. Bass response is very good except on a few selected CDs, so that is probably an issue with how the music was mixed. They look great; the finish is high quality and you can't tell that it is veneer. Highly recommended.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S55

Crutchfield customer from San Juan, PR on 5/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Me encanta su sonido. Hay que darle breaking porque suenan muy brillantes de salida pero luego en mi opinión bien balanceadas

Pros: Balanceadas. Muy buen bajo

Cons: No tienen spikes

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Looking Speaker

Jojo from Tulsa, OK on 5/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wasn't sure about the Polk Signature S55, but after doing more & more research, reading reviews, watching horrible youtube videos, & decided with the S55. I live in apartment, so these speakers will be moving around from place to place or across the country. At first, I was impressed on the build quality, finish & the cool air port on the bottom of the speakers. I hooked them up to the Integra DRX 5.2 & calibrated. I'm a CD listener and put in the music I've been listening to for years, Downward Spiral, And Justice for All (gotta do the Metallica test) & heard sounds come out of these speakers that I had not heard before. I played the 4k HiRes Marvel movies & older DVDs in my Xbox One S and the cinema sound/music came alive. The next purchase will be the Polk Audio S30 for better sound quality in cinema playing. I wanted to break in the speakers & hear what these speakers could do before I bi amp them. It's only been a week but I am very impressed how the S55 sounds when bi amp. More power, more sound & louder! I started streaming "bass" heavy music, the Weekend, Daft Punk & that's when the bass came out! It's not low, earth shaking bass but still solid. I do plan to get an SVS down the line for the rattling bass in music & movies, but these towers will do for now. I enjoy how these tower speakers are not obnoxiously huge and easy to move around. I know there are other speakers out there, more $, sound better but I really do enjoy the sound of the Polks.

Pros: Great look, solid construction, rounded edges, bi amp option-Price is right & free shipping!

Cons: little plastic feet on bottom-feel like they might break off if moved incorrectly

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S55

Crutchfield customer from Yonkers, NY on 3/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love these speaker replaced a htb 5.1 system about 18yrs old fluance tower's center channel and 2 surrounds it was a crazy upgrade love the highs connected to a new pioneer elite SC-lx704 got a great deal on these couldn't pass up the price

Pros: Top notch construction not cheap materials very elegant great highs

Cons: No applicable

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S55

Crutchfield customer from Granger, IN on 3/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clear imaging, decent bass for music. Crystal clear for movie soundtracks. Stable bass, nice looking.

Pros: Imaging, mid to high production, looks, price match.

Cons: Lacks punch on certain songs.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Phenomenal speakers!

Anders from ARLINGTON, VA on 2/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Phenomenal speakers! Bought two of these for a new set of 5.1.4 setup as front channels. They are combined with S35 center, S15 rear surround and Polk RT 70 for height channels. These vastly outshine all the other speakers, full deep bass and crystal clear highs, to a point where they are almost too good compared to the other channels. For music they can fill a room up to 6-700 sqft. without any problem, any larger you may start to run into power levels where yo have to bi-amp them to get enough depth but honestly they are amazing, I can only imagine what the S60 can do in a bi-amp setup. I would highly recommend these for any enthusiast home theater builder / music lover and if you can afford it and have the power in your receiver add these as rear channels as well and you will blow everyone away when on Atmos/DTS:X tracks.

Pros: Full range of frequency Not too pricey for the quality Looks nice Magnetic grille easy to remove and reattach.

Cons: Might need bi-amp to really shine in some rooms.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S55

Crutchfield customer from Escondido, CA on 12/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the price = great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Love them!

Crutchfield customer from Haddon Heights, NJ on 12/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound is fantastic! I would recommend them to anyone.

Pros: You hear every little nuance in the music.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clarity

Crutchfield customer from San Carlos, CA on 12/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Enjoying these speakers. Nice clear sound and a great deal given the holiday discount. I paired with a Klipsch subwoofer that was 50% off and they make for a whole new experience in music and home theater. Wow, love it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

No Additional Subwoofer Needed

David A. from ROANOKE, VA on 11/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I waited a year to review these speakers in order to show that even after 12 months I would still recommend them. I wanted to avoid adding an additional subwoofer to my home theater and music listening system if at all possible, so I bought these speakers because of their relatively low frequency response and down-firing internal woofer setup. I have been very pleased with the bass output of these speakers, and I don't miss my subwoofer at all. This is not to say that with an additional subwoofer I wouldn't enhance my bass response even more. That's a given. But if you want to avoid the additional expense or encumbrance of adding a separate subwoofer, I highly recommend these speakers. I have never owned Polk speakers before, but now I am a fan. They look as good as they sound, and they sound as good as they look.

Pros: Down-firing internal woofer setup is well designed and provides excellent performance. Crisp, clean sound and elegant looks.

Cons: Won't totally eliminate the need for an external subwoofer, but comes very, very close.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Great sound and price

Lennie from Fort Wayne, IN on 11/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought these to pair with a new class D amplifier. Great sound and looks.

Pros: Deep bass, clear midrange and high's

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

very musical

Guest from Winter Haven, FL on 10/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been listening to the Polk S55 speakers for about a week, I can conclude that they are sounding better each day, very musical, these are a replacement for KEF 104.2, it took a few days to finallly find the proper setting on the tone control of the recevier. I am powering these with a Bryston 3B St as external amp with Yamaha RX- A870. The low frequency is present and very well produced when listening in stereo setting for music, very happy with the purchase.

Pros: cost plus quality

Cons: non so far

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Lincoln's

Tee from Lincoln's on 7/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

AWESOME

Pros: Damn Good sound! Pretty Loud for Medium Speakers

Cons: Not reallyba con. But maybe could got the next size up? U ALWAYS want something Bigger.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S55

Crutchfield customer from Dalton, PA on 7/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing sound and great quality!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Big room needed!

Crutchfield customer from Kennesaw, GA on 6/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The speakers are very tall so make sure the room is big! The sound quality is excellent and they bring the sound alive in a big space!

Pros: Sound Quality, Loudness, and value!

Cons: Not much!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

It was time to upgrade my 80's speakers................

Crutchfield customer from Charlotte, NC on 6/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First off... Crutchfield must know someone at UPS... I ordered these one day and they were on my porch the next !! As far as the speakers go I will say I am pleased.... I mainly use these for music and they rock pretty hard and sound nicer than any pair of speakers I have ever owned.... I bought these mainly because of their dimensions... Most other speakers in this price range were too big in depth for my liking... No regrets !!

Pros: My neighbors now listen to the Grateful Dead...

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Stop Comparing and Buy These

Crutchfield customer from Downers Grove, IL on 5/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers! Bi-amping is a must. If you don't bi-amp, they sound decent but not great. These are the front L & R in my 5.1 system that I use for a considerable amount of hi-res audio listening (SACDs, DSD files, etc). Great soundstage, accurately reflects source recordings. Note the 32-40,000 Hz frequency response - the treble is fully resolved with everything I have played and they have great low-end, handling most bass.

Pros: Deep Bass Infinite Treble Look Great In "woody" interior Balanced Size is not too intrusive Great Price  Powerful given physical size

Cons: Banana Plugs don't fit well

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S55

Crutchfield customer from East Palestine, OH on 4/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers provide amazing sound quality with little to no distortion. For the price of these, I didn't expect the clarity or the build quality that you get. These can go as loud as you want and still reproduce crystal clear sound. I'm using them as front towers in a 7.1 setup and they blend well with the rest of the system. They provide a nice, tight punch on the low end without distorting any of the other sounds. You can't beat these speakers for the price.

Pros: Look amazing and sound even better

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Excellent pair of speakers

Eric from Columbia, SC on 12/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Stylish, fantastic sound, great specs and price very reasonable. Great for a 20x20 room. I just purchased S10 need to see how all together they sound. Using Bi-Amp setup. Still trying to notice a difference from going standard wire setup. My wife loves how they look and that was important or else I would decorating issue. Helps sell her on the S-10s. Great buy would recommend. Crutchfield fast service and excellent website for research and support. Thanks Eric

Pros: All stated in notes

Cons: None yet and may be none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Clean, transparent sound

TL from Ann Arbor, MI on 12/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very fine sound, I enjoy their transparency and that they can get organ pedal notes. They need powerful amp, not super efficient. I had Advents and wanted something more present with a more present high end.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Great looking speakers

Kaput5 from Irving, TX on 12/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good looking speakers, match my floor color. Sound is very good. They have replacing JBL speakers that are almost 20 years sold, and it's a great improvement.

Pros: Look very good

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S55

Crutchfield customer from Royal Oak, MI on 11/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Tough to beat for appearance and sound quality at the price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S55

Crutchfield customer from Sevierville, TN on 10/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

amazing sound and clear

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S55

Crutchfield customer from Sachse, TX on 7/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They sound absolutely amazing and super clear!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 13 found this helpful

Great buy for the price

Brian from Auburn Hills, MI on 7/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the price, they can't be beat. High highs and great midrange. Perfect for the front L&R speakers for a surround system.

Pros: Sound, style, price

Cons: I would recommend with a sub, not much bass out of these.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 8 found this helpful

Lacking

niel from Santa Rosa, CA on 5/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

One thing I want to say first-hand is that these speakers take several weeks of constant play to break in. Otherwise there is virtually no mid-range, so don't be surprised and be patient. I'm only rating these at at 3 because they sound okay, but for my taste, the highs are really grating to an almost annoying degree. The Imaging quality is not there. The mid-range is still lacking after breaking them in. I recommend going with the Polk RTI A7. I returned the s55 for these and am confidently pleased. The tweeters are much sweeter and the speakers image very well. The mid-range is warm and sweet. The s55 is just okay. They do play loudly, I will give them that.

Pros: Nice footprint size. Plays loudly.

Cons: Harsh highs, lacking mid-range. Relatively poor imaging quality.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 21 found this helpful

Good all around speaker

Mark from Germantown, TN on 4/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Front speakers for a small room surround sound system and small audio system set up. Works very well. Well built and sounding for the price tag.

Pros: Price

Cons: A little tall and big for a small room.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Full Quality sound for the price

Crutchfield customer from Westminster, CA on 4/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect for front speakers for theater surround. I noticed a great improvement in the sound quality using the By-Wire installation method. The bottom sound port creates a omni directional sound, unlike most forward projecting speakers. Combined with a quality Subwoofer you have amazing sound W/O trying to drive the Polk woofers their max lower dB level. Best design front covers using neodymium magnets instead of snap in retaining clips that are sometimes difficult to remove, for cleaning the covers.

Pros: Small floor space area required. Great sound when paired without the need for a top of the line Reciever / Amplifier.

Cons: A little to tall free standing next to average electronic stand or cabinet with so many wall mounted tv's

Crutchfield response on

5 of 8 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S55

Recklen from Canfield, OH on 2/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Loving the Signature series! I have the S55's for front L/R, S30 center, the S10 as surrounds, and a pair of S15's for rear surrounds. Low frequencies are handled by a Klipsch Reference R-10SW (sounds fine for an entry level sub, but might need upgrading as the room is large- 17x32'). Using the Yamaha RX-A860 (also from Crutchfield!) for music and movies. The system fills the room and after some tweaking sounds crystal clear, and they look fantastic. Crutchfield helped me get exactly what I wanted and within my budget! If you're considering these speakers don't hesitate! And no need to shop elsewhere, this place is great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S55

Keith from Henrico, VA on 2/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awsome. Crisp clear highs. Best tower speakers I have had the privilege of owning.

Pros: Everything

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

6 of 8 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S55

Crutchfield customer from Dayton, OH on 12/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My husband loves this , he gave our son his old speakers . Thank you

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

You really don't need a sub with these. Great low end.

Don from Maryville, TN on 12/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Look and sound great I paired them with the Polk S35 and four S10's

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 9 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S55

Connie from Roseland, NJ on 11/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Polk Audio Signature S55 speakers sound great in my apartment! They provide a beautiful listening experience. The assistance I received from Crutchfield representative, Ziggy, made the purchase easy. This man definitely knows his audio business! Would definitely recommend these speakers and Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S55

Crutchfield customer from Sedona, AZ on 10/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are awesome. They are used in our bespoke home theater. Would definitely purchase again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 11 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S55

Crutchfield customer from Morristown, NJ on 8/25/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Speakers were recommended by a music guru friend. I am very pleased. The look great and sound great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S55 WN ea

james t from Essex, MD on 8/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just bought these speakers along with the center speaker S35 and the bookshelves S10 which entitled me to a free subwoofer or credit towards an upgraded one. Of course I went with the upgraded and got the PSW 125. I have a little older Sony receiver that says it puts out 100 watts. It was a big box store all in one box set-up that I've been wanting to upgrade for some time. I don't know a lot about electronics, but I do love listening to my music loud and clear along with watching movies where you can hear the bullets slicing through the air or the rustle of leaves from a tree very far in the background, and this folks provides that and much more. I have heard all my hair bands in a new light. I hear musical instruments in the classics that I have never known were being used in that song. I am beyond ecstatic about this purchase and what it sounds like in my house. My room is small its like 17x25. Even my Mom who is 75 enjoyed hearing Elvis from an excellent sound system!!!!

Pros: Very aesthetically pleasing to the eyes Sounds fantastic Very well built and solid as a rock

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S55

Crutchfield customer from Citrus Heights, CA on 7/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I haven't listen to the speakers well enough yet, I haven't connect the biamp, my receiver TX-RZ 810 can only be connected for biamp option resetting the configuration to 5.1 and I have 10 speakers connected to the receiver. so far I am disappointed. My bookshelf Polk Audio sound better, and they are much smaller.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 34 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S55

Crutchfield customer from Austin, TX on 5/15/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After much research I decided to go with Polk. This new model is modern and the sound is great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 19 found this helpful

nice speakers for the money

brian from sterling, il on 4/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are my first tower speakers. After hours of research and listening to speakers I chose these and am glade I did. I have a large room and they fill it well, after some break in time they sound great. Alot of speaker for the money.

Pros: nice clean sound, sound good with a cheaper reciver

Cons: none yet

Crutchfield response on

6 of 14 found this helpful

Outstanding sound!

Tom from Tampa, FL on 4/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

One of boxes arrived totally mutilated, but the speaker was OK so far. Even with this the speakers are outstanding, particularly considering their coat. The sound, including base response, is very clean & crisp. I like the small profile of enclosure as it does not over power the room. I totally recommend them.

Pros:

Cons: NONE!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S55

Crutchfield customer from New Baltimore, MI on 3/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got these to replace my Infinity P252 speakers after the driver broke. These are a perfect upgrade for the rest of my Infinity surround system! I really get a lot of noticeable extra power with the larger drivers - it's like having stereo bass! Also, the double amping you can send to the speakers is awesome! It's my first set you can do that with, and it literally allows the speakers to receive twice the power! Overall, very happy with a substantial upgrade to my system - thanks to Ryan at Crutchfield for helping me pick these out! Awesome customer service and knowledgeable staff as always!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 12 found this helpful

Grat Sound

Jason from Portland, OR on 3/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I listened to these speakers locally before purchasing online. This far i am very happy with them in my house. I use them for a 50/50 mix of home theatre and music. Very happy with my Polk purchase from Cruthcfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 12 found this helpful

Polk Audio Signature S55

Crutchfield customer from Edison, NJ on 3/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product far outperformed my expectations

Pros: Great looking and great sounding

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 13 found this helpful

TOP