Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Polk Audio Blackstone™ TL1

Center channel speaker

MFR # AM1365-A

Polk Audio Blackstone™ TL1

Polk Audio Blackstone™ TL1

Center channel speaker

MFR # AM1365-A

130 reviews
View this product

Polk Audio Blackstone TL1

Crutchfield customer from Madison, AL on 2/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A great product!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pleasantly surprised.

Crutchfield customer from Dayton, OH on 1/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My old Advent center channel went kaput and just needed something to replace it. Bought this Polk and it fit perfectly. Very nice clarity difference.

Pros: Exceptional clarity in a nice compact size.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Exacrly what i expected!

Albert from ORLANDO, FL on 1/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my 1st purchase on Crutchfield and I can't emphasize enough how glad I was to visit the site. The description of the product was great. It helped me narrow down what I was looking for. I had a Linearphase Loudspeaker for my center channel ,which did the job, but after replacing it with the Blackstone TL1 CC the difference is uncanny. I already had 2 of the Blackstone Satellite speakers for my FR and FL speakers and a 8" powered Sub from Polk Audio as well. The sub is a must to accompany the speakers because they don't have a lot of bass. This is a great set up for me.

Pros: Clearer dialogue, warmer sound.

Cons: Can't think of any.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Review

Crutchfield customer from Delray Beach, FL on 1/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding speaker! Plugged right in and filled my needed gap between my other small bookshelves! Is actually louder than the others and had to turn that channel volume down quite a bit. Good buy! Perfect for small surround systems and apartment/Condos!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound, compact size

Crutchfield customer from Laguna Hills, CA on 12/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My system has largish left and right speakers, plus two subwoofers, so I did not feel I needed or wanted a big, super-high performance center. This Polk speaker fit the bill perfectly. It makes television and movie dialogue very clear, which is all I really needed. Plus, I mounted this on the bottom of the TV wall mount so I was concerned about something too heavy.

Pros: compact size lighter weight great voice boost

Cons: Not a lot of bass if you need that

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio Blackstone TL1

Crutchfield customer from Murphysboro, IL on 12/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It looks nice and I like the size. However the sound isn't the greatest.

Pros: Small. Wall mountable.

Cons: Not the best sound.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

POLK AUDIO BLACKSTONE TL1

Crutchfield customer from Auburn, NY on 12/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

GREAT LITTLE CENTER SPEAKER. I DID NOT HAVE ROOM FOR A LARGE SOUND BAR AND THIS WORKED OUT GREAT. EASY SET UP WITH BARE SPEAKER WIRE. NO RCA PLUGS REQUIRED. SOUNDS VERY GOOD. AS ALWAYS FAST SHIPPING

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Blackstone TL1

Crutchfield customer from Peoria, AZ on 10/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speaker! Replaced a Cambridge Soundworks center channel speaker that had 2 more speakers but this has the same or better sound in a smaller package. Quick to setup and highly recommended.

Pros: Size, Sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio Blackstone TL1

Crutchfield customer from Green Valley, AZ on 9/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased with with the dialog from this center channel. Works great with the two other speakers and fits perfectly in front of TV.

Pros: clarity, size, & price

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio Blackstone TL1

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 9/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good speaker

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Center Channel Speaker

Crutchfield customer from Delray Beach, FL on 8/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Lot of bang for the buck. Great sounding center channel.

Pros: Works as expected

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio Blackstone TL1

Crutchfield customer from Katy, TX on 7/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wonderful speaker, just right for filling in the precise level missing in surround sound systems.

Pros: Priced right.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Improved Clarity Of Voice

Crutchfield customer from Montgomery, AL on 7/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am quite pleased with the center speaker. It works well with the other Polk front speakers. It took me a little time to get it balanced with the other speakers, but it quite nicely does the job we wanted, improved clarity of voice.

Pros: Small front print, low cost

Cons: None pop to mind

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio Blackstone TL1

Thomas from Fleming Island, FL on 6/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Blackstone TL1 exceeds my expectations. Fits perfectly under my 65-inch television which sits over my fireplace on my mantle. Sound is great and suits my home theatre system perfectly. A great speaker for the money. I would definitely recommend this item!

Pros: Read my review

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great option for apartment living

Crutchfield customer from CALDWELL, NJ on 5/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had just two front speakers attached to my home theater receiver and found myself having to turn the volume up too high in order to hear the dialogue clearly in some movies. Then with the volume that high, when special effects or music would appear, everything just became way too loud. So I decided to add a center channel speaker, and one that was a bit on the smaller size. The TL1 was a good choice. Dialogue is much more apparent and the size fits my setup well.

Pros: Size, looks, clarity

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

7 of 7 found this helpful

great price!

Crutchfield customer from Bayonne, NJ on 5/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

feels like a solid speaker, a little awkward shape.. but voice output is excellent for what i need it for. great price too!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Center speaker

Crutchfield customer from Modesto, CA on 5/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice looking center channel speaker that compliments my 4k TV and the rock work on the wall. Also easy to wall mount with the slotted key holes on the back.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio Blackstone TL1

James from Seattle, WA on 5/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Relatively compact and cheap. Good sound for the money and it brings a nice richness and clarity to movie dialogue (main reason for purchase). Gloss black finish on the top does pick up dust and fingerprints so keep that in mind if finishes are a deciding point.

Pros: Bright dialogue

Cons: Audio connection posts are screw-in only, no banana jacks.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Low profile required

Crutchfield customer from River Vale, NJ on 5/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Family decided to get new TV. Needed LOW center channel to replace old one. Only one that fits. Sounds perfect. DONE.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio Blackstone TL1

Crutchfield customer from Athens, GA on 4/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this center channel as upgrade over my JBL SCS-135 speaker and the difference has been superb. I've been highly impressed with the clarity and range in the TL1. Voices are audible and clear even at a whisper and there is very minimal distortion from concurrent sound effects. My couch is 11.5' from my entertainment console and the sound is immersive from that distance as well as from further distances and different angles. The bass reverberates nicely without overwhelming the other speakers and is a great complement to my Velodyne subwoofer. The compact size and design is also great for my console setup. The speaker height allows for the full tv screen to remain visible. Overall, I'm thrilled with this speaker and would definitely recommend it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Awesome

Crutchfield customer from Decatur, IL on 4/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound. Was replacing a much larger Infinity center channel speaker. Which the girlfriend said was to big for the mantel. I can't hear a decline in sound quality. The dialog is crystal clear.

Pros: Great sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Polk Audio Blackstone TL1

Crutchfield customer from Woodstock, GA on 3/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Inexpensive center channel that sounds good. I am using it on a covered screen porch, so we will see how long it lasts in that environment.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio Blackstone TL1

Crutchfield customer from Alexandria, VA on 2/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect and affordable for the application

Pros: Easy to install on brakets

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polks entry level surpasses expectations

Crutchfield customer from Bedford, VA on 2/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic clarity for the price. Crisp highs clear mids and surprisingly with small under 3 inch woofers some lows as well. The keyholes on the back enable wall hanging and that's pretty cool. The plastic housing is identical to tv so perfect match. Very little power required for great sound. Polk know what they are doing

Pros: Sound and looks

Cons: Can't remove grill

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Polk Audio Blackstone TL1

Crutchfield customer from Conshohocken, PA on 2/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works great for a small room home theater set up

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Felix

Crutchfield customer from Guaynabo, PR on 1/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excelente bocina de centro, buen precio y se escucha la voz Clara. Vale lo que cuesta y mucho mas.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Tulsa

Lara from Tulsa on 12/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Polk Audio products. They never fail to perform beautifully! Lara C Tulsa

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio Blackstone TL1

Crutchfield customer from Staten Island, NY on 12/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best sound from a small center speaker.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good dialog speaker.

Crutchfield customer from Yorktown Hts, NY on 8/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Added to left & right front speakers. Greatly improved dialog and left/right separation.

Pros: Small size, light weight, inexpensive, good for dialog.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Polk Audio Blackstone TL1

Crutchfield customer from Madisonville, KY on 7/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

AWESOME sound quality!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice sounding middle channel speaker

Crutchfield customer from Tallahassee, FL on 4/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great sound from a small footprint speaker. Perfect for sitting on a mantle under a TV.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio Blackstone TL1

Crutchfield customer from Shelby Twp, MI on 11/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great service great product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fantastic

James from Bayside, NY on 2/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic! And it only weighs 4 lbs!

Pros: Great sound from such a small unit. And a great price!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great in Multimedia System

Crutchfield customer from Issaquah, WA on 1/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently got a receiver for my home office to manage audio from my computer and other sources. I spend a lot of time in that room and also wanted to improve the sound, though the room is small and cluttered and will never have great acoustics. I was looking at upgrading my computer speakers to the TL1 satellite speakers when I came across the TLI center speaker. It is 10' from where I sit to the speakers and almost 60 degrees between my left and right speakers so I decided the center speaker would be the way to go. It dramatically improves the sound with the center channel and fills out the sound from the computer speakers. I'll probably upgrade to the TL1 satellite speakers sometime in the future, but the TL1 center speaker has put me a lot closer to the best sound possible under the conditions at a good price.

Pros: nicely designed

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Polk Audio Blackstone TL1

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 1/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This gets 5 stars because it is such a good value. I have a limited space for a center channel speaker, but I was skeptical about the performance of ome this size. It is clear and crisp and exceeds my expectaions. I have a larger JBL center speaker in another system, so I have a basis of comparison. This is a buy if you have limited space or just don't want to overspend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Great Sound

Jim from Ocala, FL on 6/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For as small a speaker as this is it puts out a lot of sound. You can hear the center channel clearly and understand everything they are saying when watching a movie or TV. Looks great with the grill off or on.

Pros: Fits in very small space

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sound issues

Victor from Okeechobee, FL on 6/20/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a vast improvement over my previous center channel speaker; however it does sound a little tiney at higher volumes. All in all, it is good value for what you are getting.

Pros: Great price

Cons: Sound issues at higher volumes.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Polk Audio Blackstone TL1

Crutchfield customer from Oakboro, NC on 5/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A great little speaker at a great price!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great sound

Kelvin G. from Atmore, AL on 3/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Speaker sounds GREAT wish I could take the cover off to show them off but not a big problem still love it

Pros: Sleak great sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Bonita

Enrique from San Juan, PR on 2/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Buen sonido , bonita apariencia , buen precio. Good sound, nice appearance, good price.

Pros: Luce bien y se escucha major. Looks good and sounds better.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 2/28/2017
Translation provided by Crutchfield's International Sales & Support team.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Crisp sound

Keenan from Sloatsburg, NY on 2/1/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound for the price. Subtle clean look.

Pros: Good sound, small package

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great little speaker at any price

roy from North Carolina (NC) on 1/29/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding. I had size/space restrictions and only this speaker plus an excellent competitors $240 speaker would fit. The Def Tech speaker is superb, but the Polk is its equal ! I did not mind the $140 change either. This makes my system (all ten speakers) 8 Polk, 2 Infinity. The Polk TL1's strongest point is incredibly clear dialog. I honestly feel the actors are in my home. HIGHLY rec. to any and all!

Pros: eveything

Cons: none that I have found

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Polk Audio Blackstone TL1

gary from Deerfield Beach, FL on 1/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good product for the money. i wasn't expecting great sound...so I'm not disappointed.

Pros: Not bad at all

Cons: non

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio Blackstone

RP from Astoria OR on 9/19/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We needed a center speaker for our unit. This is a perfect size and a great price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio Blackstone TL1

Crutchfield customer from Mission Viejo, CA on 9/6/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little speaker. I was in need of a center channel that was low profile and this fit the bill. Nice sound for the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Small but mighty

Hb from San Marcos, CA on 7/31/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great quality and size. Sounds great. I had to replace a larger center speaker and performs just as well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Impressive Speaker

David I from Heathsville, VA on 7/27/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The finish on this center speaker is immaculate; and the sound quality is equally impressive. While its strength is more towards the higher frequencies, it complements the weak television sound quality beautifully.

Pros: Beautiful construction and finish. High quality higher end sound.

Cons: Definitely needs to be complemented with lower end frequencies from larger lateral or surround speakers.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent product

Orlando from Hialeah, fl on 7/26/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The best center speaker in the market

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio Blackstone

Doris G. from St Petersburg, FL on 4/7/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Blackstone is a slick looking speaker and delivers clear sound. It was easy to install too! The entire process went smoothly from finding it, ordering it, the timely delivery, Installation, and the quality of the product. I'm very pleased with this purchase.

Pros: Ordering, delivery, installation, looks, and quality of sound.

Cons: The only negative I can think of is that the instruction pamphlet was not very clear, but once I figured out how it was to be installed, it was easy. However, I am mechanically inclined. For a lot of men and women, they would not be able to figure it out for themselves.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

Wreath middle speaker

JoeF from springdale, AR on 3/6/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great middle speaker. Low profile. Super shipping and quick delivery.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great sound small package

Drew from phoenix, AZ on 2/20/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Prefect for those who still use an old school center channel.

Pros: Great sound. Small. Nice design.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Center speaker

Manny from Round lake, il on 2/7/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing sound, nice looking speaker.

Pros: Great sound nice and clear. Goid looking with the shiny black.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Big Sound on the Big Island

Rick from Hawaii on 12/19/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Can't go wrong with this speaker. I was surprised with the difference this speaker made on the overall listening experience of my surround sound system. I was looking to improve the clarity of the center speaker. Not only has the quailty of the dialogue improved, but the right and left sounds are more noticeable. I did not expect that.

Pros: Great price and sound quality. Does not take much space. The black finish matches my Mirage system perfectly.

Cons: Can't think of any cons

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Nice little speaker

S from Louisiana on 11/22/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

New house that had 4 wall speakers already in in a really large Great Room. Got a new 70 inch Sony and low end Sony receiver. Too much echo and disconnected the two rear speaker. Better, but still lacking something. Figured it must need that central speaker. This little speaker did great. Not as good as a pair of young ears but so much better with that sound coming from the TV. Love it!

Pros: Small enough to fit behind my table top mounted TV and project right below the space between the TV & Table top.

Cons: None that I know of

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Very pleased

EugeneP from Georgia on 11/17/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great value for the money. Pleased with the sound. Thumbs up!

Pros: A bargain for what it does.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Just right!

Todd from Kentucky on 11/15/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got this as a center channel for a medium-sized family room. Room already had built-in front and rear channel speakers, but the TV was offset to the right. This speaker nicely brought the sound focus over to the TV. The sound is great, and the size of the speaker is small enough that it sits nicely on the base of my 52" Samsung.

Pros: Sound quality for size

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great sound

NDCNTRYBOY from Mandan, ND on 11/9/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds like you are there in person. Polk has quality stuff

Pros: Style, price, quality, size....

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Sound

MikeH from Nevada on 11/5/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this speaker to replace an old Sony model I have and WOW. The center channel sound is amazing. Dialogue comes out crisp and clear and really makes a difference with movies with a lot of sound effects while there is dialogue happening at the same time. Highly recommend

Pros: Great Sound Great Price

Cons: A little bigger than I'd like

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

great sound for small price

GM08 from Florida on 10/23/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Blackstone TL1's were a perfect solution to our new home set up. The sound quality is fantastic and I was up and listening within 30 minutes of opening the box for our 5.1 surround sound system. I customized and got 3 black speakers for our front stand and 2 white speakers for the back that blend into the white crown molding and ceiling where hung. Being able to use my existing banana clips in these speakers was perfect. Crutchfield customer service and Polk's great sound quality are continued winners.

Pros: Sound Looks Small Size Price

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Center Speaker

Bill from South Carolina on 10/22/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice center speaker for the money. Sounds great. This size center speaker is hard too find. Mounted under 55in Samsung tv.

Pros: great sound........good size..........can be wall mounted

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice Upgrade to HTB Speaker

Steve from Pottstown,PA on 10/16/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have an old Kenwood home theater in a box system. I really like the receiver and it still works great. About 2 years ago I started systematically replacing the speakers it came with. For the front mains a got some Boston Acoustic Bookshelf speakers. After that a year later I replaced the rear surrounds with the Polk OWM3 Speakers. The sound improved greatly and now I finally replaced the center channel speaker with this. I am on a budget and wasn't looking to spend a lot of money and considering what I am replacing, I kinda figured anything would be an improvement. Boy was I right. This speaker sound fantastic. Dialogue sounds crsiper and much easier to hear. Actually the rear surrounds also seem to have come even more alive! I am loving watching TV and movies again. I am pretty sure I'm stuck with my old Kenwood passive Sub, but if when this receiver ever goes, I'll have some decent speakers ready for the new one. Crutchfield's price was great and free shipping arrived really in a day and a half. Thanks!

Pros: Price, sound and looks.

Cons: Audiophiles may want more. I love it for movies and concert dvd's.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

great speaker

kareem from South Carolina on 10/12/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

this speaker works great with my sony receiver i use banana plugs to connect it to the receiver

Pros: it has great sound it good for the price

Cons: i have no problem with it

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Blackstone TL1

Doug G from Winston Salem, North Carolina on 9/23/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for a compact, reasonably priced center speaker for my home surround sound system. This fit that speaker need perfectly. It fit the small space I had and blends in well with the other components. It provides great clarity and sound with dialogue, etc. The mounting ability if I decide to mount my flatscreen tv on the wall is a real plus. I am very happy to date with this product.

Pros: Size, Sound Quality, Affordable Price and Easy Installation

Cons: None that I can think of

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk audio

Olefella from Statesville, nc on 8/5/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good upgrade to my home theater system

Pros: Loud, nice looking

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Center Speaker

Tortuguero from Texas on 5/9/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wanted to add a center channel, mostly for voice, on my five channel Onkyo receiver. Works just fine, and helps center voice dialog, to nearby TV screen. Makes for a much more natural and pleasurable listening experience, when integrated with two pairs of larger, front and rear, overhead speakers. Totally satisfied!

Pros: Convenient size, music and voice quality, price, Ease of installation, Blends in appearance.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

I'm no audio expert, but great product

walt from California on 4/7/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am no audio expert, but the price, size, and quality are unbeatable.

Pros: Small, affordable

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Blackstone TL1

JayG from Iowa on 4/2/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Decent center speaker for the price. Nothing fancy just decent sound for little money

Pros: Low cost

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Speaker...Sweet Sound

TomH from New York on 3/21/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Couldn't have asked for a better speaker. I had very limited space, only 15". This fit right in between the legs of my new HD TV. The sound on the TV isn't the best, especially to hear the dialogue. Once I found the TL 1, I new I had to give it a try. I was not disappointed. Sweet sound, and clear voices. I paired this with Polk Audio R1 speakers, and now I'm all set to enjoy my new TV with great sound.

Pros: Small size, but great sound. Good price for a limited budget. Sleek look.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk audio

Edgar from Puerto Rico on 2/16/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, and looks...affordable quality center channel...Recommended

Pros: Sound detail, looks

Cons: A little too big, but not much...

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk TL1...awesome for its size!!

Don from Indiana on 2/13/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely wonderful beyond words. For a speaker of this size, Blown away with the clarity, We need a small one to fir a certain space. This just fit. It rounded out our 5.1 setup. Have Kliptch Heresy's for ft lf & rt, and Polk 4A's for rear lf & rt. Since I've had Polk b4, I knew the quality and had great expectation that this new one would certainly live up to what I came to expect from Polk....A great center speaker!!

Pros: my review said it all.

Cons: Only thing is small size. However, this is what we needed. So, really no cons here...great speaker!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk TL1 center speaker

Bill from Schenectady, NY on 1/31/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little speaker. Perfect compliment to my vintage Boston A60s and Polk PSW-10.

Pros: Small size with big sound.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice center speake

Me from Massachusetts on 1/19/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good speaker, nice sound, looks good, and after a little tweaking with my Denon 1311Ci, it fits in perfectly with my all Bose twin cube surround setup. couldn't ask for more.

Pros: not too big like most centers I have seen

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio Blackstone TM1

jazzyla9 from Alabama on 1/3/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this speaker! I should have had it a long time ago. It has superb sound and is just the right size for my den set-up. Great price also. Would reccomend to any one.

Pros: None

Cons: Great price,quilty built, great sound and perfect size for one who is looking for a smaller center speaker.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound for the money

c_maier from Minneapolis, MN on 12/26/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great quality and sound at a great price. I was very impressed with this center channel and will have to admit I was skeptical as I was replacing a Bose system. It was one of the few I found that was 3+ inches tall.

Pros: Reasonably priced, compact size, great sound..

Cons: none..

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great little speaker

Tommyboy from Tennessee on 12/13/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent clarity for dialogue.

Pros: Improves clarity of dialogue Nice low profile to for in below the TV

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

WoW

JPGTI337 from DALLAS,TEXAS on 8/14/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this to replace my old tired ancient Phillips center channel speakers, and wow is this thing so much more clear and rich! For the price and quality you can't get any better than this!

Pros: Easy to mount, sound is great and price is a bargain.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Another Winner From Polk Audio

Ron D, from Union, NJ on 7/6/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm using the TL-1 for a "budget" A/V system in a bedroom. The sound much better than expected at this price, with a clear, impressive sound stage. You simply cannot go wrong with Polk Audio.

Pros: Great sound at a great price.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Lively Sound for Tired Ears

John C from Gainesville, GA on 5/30/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought the Polk Blackstone as a last ditch effort to improve my ability to understand dialogue. The speaker is performing beyond my expectations and my enjoyment of mindless pursuits on the tube is greatly enhanced.

Pros: Small size Does not overwhelm the screen as larger speakers might Excellent rendering of dialogue

Cons: None so far, I'm very pleased

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk TL-1

JGC from Atlanta, GA on 3/3/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been using Polk speakers since 1978 and this is another in their long line of solid value products. I hate to say it, but price was a factor because my last center channel was destroyed by my two year old, so I didn't want to spend a lot (in case I had to do it again!). At the same time, the room is large (26' x 18'), so I needed something to get the job done, and I have been pleasantly surprised at how well the TL-1 handles the requirement! Like others have reported, it's not going to knock you down with it's lows (but it's not supposed to), its mids are solid and the highs are excellent (NOTE: I'm not audio purist by any means, but I've been a television producer for 25 years and know audio post production quite well). I have Polk RC85i in-wall surround speakers and a Polk 505 sub to handle the heavy lifting, so this little center channel does what it's supposed to - reproduce dialogue clearly. Has two screw slots in the back, plus a grooved slot in the back for wiring, that allows it to sit flush if hung against the wall (like I did), and small rubber feet if you want it to sit on a shelf/mantle. I gave it a 4, but in reality I would actually give it a 4.5 for being such a good bang-for-the-buck. It is what it is - a low-cost, solid value product that does what it's supposed to do.

Pros: Great price; small and light; solid Polk construction.

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Full sound

Bob from Fort Worth, TX. on 2/19/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice full sound!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

polk

roger from Midvale, UT on 2/19/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and price.love Polk audio

Pros: Great sound and got power

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

exactly what I needed

TCS from NY on 1/29/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Added the polk center channel to my setup, now voices are so much cleaner and clearer, perfect and you cannot beat the price.

Pros: styling, sound, price

Cons: did not get it sooner.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk TL1

TJ from Puerto Rico, PR on 1/3/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Polk Center Channel speaker was purchased to complete a surround sound system. It works and sounds great with my receiver.

Pros: Excellent sound. Good looking speaker.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk center channel speaker

David from Jacksonville, FL on 12/30/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Polk Center Channel speaker was purchased to complete a surround sound system. It works beautifully and sounds great with my Sony receiver.

Pros: Great value and sound.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Blackstone TL1

Brad from Harbor Springs MI on 12/20/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice sound. Crisp and clear.

Pros: Low profile. Good looking speaker.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Blackston TL1

Steve from Denver on 12/19/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the money, gives great sound. Looks good and does not take up to much space

Pros: Easy to connect

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio BlackstoneT TL1

Mark from Jacksonville on 12/18/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had an older 5.1 HarmanKardon receiver that I moved to my office. I was looking for a center channel speaker that would just fill the bill for my purpose. Well it is a great buy. It sits only a few feet from me but it has clarity beyond my expectation considering its cost. Great speaker for a small room

Pros: great clarity for voice, which is what a center channel should have.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk TL1

Russ from Denmark, WI on 12/14/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Big clear sound from a small center speaker.

Pros: Small size looks nice.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works great!

Crutchfield customer from everett, wa on 12/2/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product works great. What makes it nice for me is the size. It's for a small room with limited space and this fits under the monitor but still provides big sound.

Pros: fits in a small space.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TL1 Center Speaker

Tim from Charlottesville, VA on 11/5/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Sound in a small package. I replaced my out of the box surround sound center w/ the TL1. What a difference. We had been having a hard time hearing dialogue, so we would turn it up, then the scene would change and we'd get blown out of the room. Now we can hear everything and don't have to mess w/ the volume. We even keep it set a lower. We used to have the volume set at 21-23 on our dial now we keep it at 17.

Pros: Good sound, small size(relatively), Price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Crystal clear dialogue

Randy from Rocky Hill Ct on 10/28/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Paired with a set of Lsi100s bookshelfs this is a perfect match. Movie and television dialogue are very clear. When listening to music it fills out the sound image quite well. Standing only 4in tall, it fits great in front of the flat screen.

Pros: Great for my mid size system with a 10in sub in a mid size room. Looks good too.

Cons: Might be a tad small to use with Lsi floor standing speakers.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

polk audio center channel

trashmouth from sonoma, ca. on 10/22/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy setup right out of the box. It is the perfect size which fits right below my tv. The black color blends well. The sound is phenomenal! It performs well with low or high volume.

Pros: great sound & price

Cons: the black grille itself when dusty will show

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sounds great, looks great.

Bruce from Helena, Mt on 10/19/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great value. Nice sound in a fairly small room. Hot, sleek design nuzzles right up under a TV screen.

Pros: Sound, appearance.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Blackstone

Greg W from Stokes, NC on 9/22/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and good looks

Pros: Ease of install and quality of sound

Cons: Connections not recessed enough to use banana plugs when wall mounting

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

POLK ( ONE OF THE BEST )

PATRIOT NY from LONG ISLAND , NY on 8/15/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I HAVE A SONY RECEIVER (100 WATTS PER CHANNEL X 2 = TOTAL WATTS 200 ) REAR CHANNEL HAS TWO REG. SPEAKERS 5" WOOFER + 2X4 TWEETER EACH. THE FRONT CHANNEL I HAVE 2 POLK TL1 CENTER SPEAKER . I AM HARD OF HEARING BUT NOW VOCALS ARE MUCH CLEARER. I HAVE MY BASS TURNED DOWN LOW & TREBLE TURNED UP HIGHER. I STILL GET ENOUGH BASS WITH CRISP VOCALS.THE POLK TS1 CENTER IS A GREAT PRODUCT,GREAT PRICE & QUALITY UNIT.THIS IS MY FRIST PURCHASE FROM CRUTCHFIELD & I FELL THEY ARE A FIRST RATE COMPANY . CUST. SERVICE IS EXCELLENT & I WILL PURCHASE FROM THEM AGAIN .( POLK TS1 CENTER SPEAKERS BUY IT / MY ROOM SIZE IS 20 X 15 )

Pros: TRIM / SOUNDS GREAT FOR MED TO SMALL ROOM / QUALITY PRODUCT - MADE WELL / VERY NICE LOOKING / VERY FAIR PRICE

Cons: NO MAGNETIC SHIELDING / NOT A BIG PROBLEM - I HAVE 34" WIDE SCREEN TUBE CRT TV WITH A THIN BOARD UNDER SPEAKER ON TOP OF SET / NEW FLAT SCREEN TV NO PROBLEM

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

center channel speaker

Big T from Waveland, Ms on 7/15/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The speaker produces a high quality sound for the price. Replaced a high end pinnacle center channel with the polk and can not tell the difference between the two.

Pros: price and sound quality

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk audio Blackstone tl1 center speaker

jerrys from dracut ma. on 6/10/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

a great sounding speaker....crisp clean sound fits nicely below my Samsung smart tv.does not block any of the tv. Polk audio makes a great center speaker.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great sound

K from Virginia on 6/2/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great. Great sound for small package. I had been waiting to get a center channel that was not going to consume my whole mantel but still keep up with the other speakers and this does it. Its shiny black look blends well with my samsung smart tv.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio Blackstone TL1

Crutchfield customer from dover, de on 5/22/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

excellent sound quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great center channel!

JarrodB from Charleston, WV on 4/19/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome speaker for the price.

Pros: Movie dialog is very clear, sleek design

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Much Improves Qualit of Voice

JBRoss from Phoenix, AZ on 3/22/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We would have trouble hearing dialogue that was low or portrayed a whisper in the story. Adding this to the system changed that tremendously. Now we hear almost everything and our listening pleasure has been greatly enhanced. This is well worth the money. As an aside, this is a compact unit and it fits nicely under the HDTV without blocking any of the screen. I tried Bose and others, but their models were all a bit larger.

Pros: Delivers improved fidelity with voices and other "center speaker" sounds.

Cons: Some loss of range, but not enough to be too concerend.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Polk Audio Blackstone TL 1 Center Channel Spkr.

Bob from New Jersey on 3/10/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really nice sound and looks great, easy hookup and fast and dependable delivery. Geat job !!

Pros: Sounds great.

Cons: Nothing.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice Speaker

Nancy from San Ramon, Ca on 1/31/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought two of these. I bought one to replace a silver colored Infinity center speaker that did not look good under my new black wall mounted 64" Samsung plasma TV. The sound does not seem to be as crisp as my old speaker but comes in a close second with very good sound quality. The size is perfect, both length and especially the low profile height. The black speaker is barely noticable under the TV. Overall it is a great buy. I bought the other speaker for my sister who has a 50" LCD mounted on its stand that sits on a credenza. Again, the size was perfect...low profile enough to nestle on the stand under the TV and barely noticable as the TV is also black. Another great buy!

Pros: Size, color, sound quality

Cons: Not enough to mention

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect for a Home Theater

MaccDuff from Georgia, USA on 1/23/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A great center speaker for a home theater setup delivering crisp, clear vocals. I'm hearing sounds from my CDs that I never knew were there!

Pros: Order handled quickly by Crutchfield, packaged well, and at a good price. Even come with a template for wall mounting.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Value

Jerry S from Texas on 1/21/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This center speaker is a great bargain and does a great job. My room is medium sized. this is the first center speaker I've purchased and it really changes the listening of the rest of the speakers for the better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Smaller than the speaker it replaced

Fohtey from Houston, TX on 1/20/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The reason I bought this speaker was to replace the one my daughter repeatedly grabbed and dropped on the floor. That speaker was made in Malaysia and cost $10 and I used it for nearly 20 years. Overall, this new Polk speaker has a smaller sound, is more sensitive and has superior clarity than the one it replaced so it's really ideal for its purpose as a center channel. It's also smaller, has a better speaker wire connectors and easier to secure so my daughter can't pull it down.

Pros: Small size, good sensitivity, good clarity

Cons: Slightly tinny due to smaller size - not really much of a "con".

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Polk Audio TL1 Center Channel

J. D. from Arlington Texas on 1/19/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Small area to have a center speaker, and this one fits great. Decent sound excpet I still can not hear all of the dialogue without increasing the volume, but then when action scenes come on it is too loud!

Pros: Pretty good quality siound

Cons: Has a boxy sound at low volume levels.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Center Channel speaker TL1

Rick H from Apollo Beach, Fl on 1/18/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My surround sound is in a pretty small room. I didnt need to spend a lot of money for a center channel but I didnt want something that sounded cheap. I also had never owned any Polk products. What a nice surprise! It sounded just fine, and its low profile didnt block my view of the tv. And all for a very reasonable price. Mission accomplished----thank you Polk and Crutchfield!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TL1

JOHNS from MANTECA, CA on 1/12/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

EXCELLENT QUALITY FOR THE PRICE

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio TL1 Center Channel

GaryG from Pittsburgh, PA on 12/18/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The only "low profile" center channel I could find. It is much more aesthetically pleasing than the rather boxy center channel I had before. All in all the audio quality is good, but not great, but i didn't expect it to be based on the size of the unit.

Pros: Good looking center channel. Decent performance. Cost effective

Cons: Nothing worth mentioning.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Blackstone TL1

Pleased Customer from Moriarty, NM on 10/25/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Initial rating is very high. The product was delivered quickly and works as expected with quality Polk Audio products. Well worth the money.

Pros: Great center sound for movies.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

polk audio blackstone tl-1

doug b from martinsville in on 10/16/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

this center speaker is perfect....sounds great....for the small size..big sound.....i have a onkyo thx receiver 608

Pros: rich full sound

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good for what it does...

Crutchfield customer from Western N.Y. on 10/16/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, good product. Thought about TL-2 but saw this outlet for a few $$ off. sounds good in our new den and kinda glad I didn't get the higher end TL-2. This is plenty for our needs. Music, sports/TV. Movies in the future....when wife picks out furniture. Worth the cost.

Pros: price, and performance for the price!

Cons: none.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Center Speaker

JoeB from Needham, MA on 8/19/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quality sound at a reasonable price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

not bad. a little boxy sounding

ps from At the end of the internet... on 7/19/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not a bad speaker. I was a sound engineer for 12 years. I have long since gotten past critical listening environments at home, but I still like decent sound. This speaker is not bad for center channel but is a little boxy, but what to expect from a small plastic box. I have it coupled with a couple in-ceiling Polk 8 in. front left and right. Wanted a little more for center for the TV to make it so I did not have to crank up the ceilings to make it audible. This did a decent job for that. All of this from a newer Onkyo AV receiver with the Audyssey setup. Seemed to all work ok. So I would say not a bad speaker. Might get a couple more for wireless surround which is the next step in the process.

Pros: Small, fits under the front of my Sony 40" without blocking the screen any. Black color makes it become pretty invisible visually. Decent upper mids and high end.

Cons: Little boxy sounding, but not too bad. Guess i was expecting more.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

A Winner

A Listener from Megalopolis on 7/18/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I rolled the dice and won on this one. The Polk TL1 center produces much better dialog than did my old one; not muffled or distorted. Now I don't have to fiddle with the receiver knobs to eke out understandable speech. Also, old center was more expensive and bigger than the Polk TL1, which is a pleasant surprise.

Pros: Reproduces dialog accurately Small size Inexpensive

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Sound, Small Package

Ralph T. from Bowling Green, OH on 6/29/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced all my 25 year old speakers with Polk Audio. The sound from them blows away my old set up. The sound from the center channel is great for such a small package. Great value for the money.

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

BEST ONE

Crutchfield customer from PORT ST LUCIE, FL, on 6/17/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

ONE WORD TO SAY G R E A T

Pros: THE BEST SOUND

Cons: NOW I HAVE TO GET REED OF MY HIGH PRICE SPEAKER

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

terriffic speaker

Kikomon from Cocoa, Florida on 5/23/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got this TL1 to replace an older Sony speaker that was three times the size of the TL1. I am so glad I did. This speaker's audio imaging is superb and it really balances well with my Yamaha NS1000 main speakers (which I bought about 30 years ago-they are 80+ pound monsters). My audio now is MUCH better. I have mounted it on my Sony 40" Bravia with a Center Stage Bracket CSB-1205-BLK.

Pros: Superb audio imaging - balances well with my main speakers. Quite small in size. Looks like it was made for a Sony Bravia.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great little speaker

Frank jr from COLORADO SPRINGS on 5/20/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

cNeeded a small speaker to fit in front of my tv.Just the right size

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound for a great price!

Midnight from Alsip, Illinois on 3/1/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My wife and I finally took plunge and purchased a new 60 inch plasma tv, and stand. The opening on the stand for the center channel was only 4 inches high, so my old center channel which served me very well had to go because it did not look good on top of stand. I called Crutchfield for advice and Dolly suggested the T1. Man what a great crisp sound! (especially now since I'm using an optical connection) It is just a high quality speaker for a great price. No way was I going to spend $1,000.00 for a center channel speaker!

Pros: Sound, price, look (nice shiny black finish), and size!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great small center channel for flat screens

Crutchfield customer from Placentia, CA on 2/14/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I would give 5, but those are hard to come by. Otherwise, I was looking for a small center channel speaker that would fit in a nook for a 70" TV. The larger standard center channel speaker did not fit and so needed to get something with a lower profile. I was skeptical the beginning, but this performed like a champ. Don't expect SUPER sound, but for a good center, it is more than adequate, especially for the $ value.

Pros: Good price for a good low profile speaker.

Cons: A little weak compared to larger center channel models.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Can't beat it

John M from Wisconsin on 2/5/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wasn't a big fan of Polk Audio until now. Great center speaker for the price.

Pros: size, looks, price

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Polk Audio Blackstone TL1

arrowpilot from Pawleys Island, SC on 10/18/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect size to fit center of wall unit for clear dialog sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

great for the price

Matthew from Chicago IL on 4/19/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is way better then my generic center speaker I had for years and the price was great for its small size (needed to not obscure my flat screen). LOVE IT!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Polk Audio Blackstone TL1

Guest from SC on 2/16/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This speaker is excellent for the price. I was a little hesitant to buy this as I could not find many reviews online. Not sure how it compares to the TL2 or TL3, but I am extremely satisfied with it. Dialogue from movies and TV shows are crystal clear.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great sound in a small package

Jim W from Pace Florida on 2/10/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Polk center channel speaker has been a great addition to my surround system. I had a size requirement for the location the speaker needed to fit within. This speaker has excellent sound performance considering the compact size and economical pricing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great sound, compact

GK from Hampton, NJ on 2/8/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Placed it on the entertainment cabinet in front of the TV. Nice, compact design, gives plenty of power in our small (12x12) media room.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent Buy

BobC from Clementon, NJ on 11/8/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Polk Audio Blackstone TL1 is an excellent buy for the price. The sound quality is exceptional for a speaker at this price. It's compact design and mounting holes make it perfect for my wall mounted flat panel TV. If you're looking for great sound at a great price I highly recommend this product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Not bad for the buck

Dennis from Bethel, CT on 11/1/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I mounted my LED TV to the wall and needed a center speaker with a low profile depth wise. The Polk was the onily thing I could find at a reasonable price and knowing the Polk name I new I would be safe. I had an larger center but it was too bulky, sounded great but the boss said it had to go. The sound quality on the Polk is not equal to the one I had, the old one was twice the cost but the Polk has a very good center channel sound. We are pleased to date. I like that it has the mounting holes on the back so it can be mounted to the wall directly. I also like that it is a shinny black because it is the same as the TV. overall we are happy with the sound and quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 9 found this helpful

TOP