Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
225 277 584 3
Connect ID #
225 277 584 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Infinity Kappa 1200W

Kappa Series 12" subwoofer with selectable 2- or 4-ohm impedance

MFR # INFKAPPA1200WBLKAM

Infinity Kappa 1200W

Infinity Kappa 1200W

Kappa Series 12" subwoofer with selectable 2- or 4-ohm impedance

MFR # INFKAPPA1200WBLKAM

29 reviews
View this product

Great Sound

Tracy from INVER GROVE, MN on 2/8/2021

2003 Dodge Dakota

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with this sub. Nice, full sound. I've tried other brands, e.g., Polk Audio DB series, Polk Audio MM series, and JL Audio W3. I like Infinity Kappa the best so far. I had the previous Kappa version before this, the champagne-colored 12" Kappa 120.9 sub. They sound similar, but I think I liked the previous Kappa version a little bit better. It wore out after many years of use. This new sub isn't fully broken in yet, so, hopefully, this new version will sound just as good once it is. Right out of the box, I still like it better than the other brands I tried. One design improvement over the previous version is that the tinsel leads are woven in (visible in one of the pics). The previous version had loose tinsel leads that detached after a while and had to be re-soldered. I bought a Crutchfield S/O enclosure to mount it in, sealed, 0.95 cubic ft. This Kappa sub was a little bigger than the opening of the box, so I had to enlarge the diameter somewhat with a RotoZip tool. Right now, I am running it on a 5-channel amp with 350 watts going to the sub. In time, I want to get a 500W amp and drive it to its full potential. Overall, very happy with this sub and highly recommend. I have always been very happy with Harman products (parent company of Infinity and JBL) for both home audio and car audio.

Pros: Awesome sound. Great looks. Ability to switch from 2-Ohm to 4-Ohm.

Cons: None. It is a great sub.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

INFINITY.

Crutchfield customer from Columbia, MS on 1/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Superb sound QUALITY ?? ??.....absolutely clean and no distortion .....the SQ mirrors its name INFINITY because the sound is truly beyond other subwoofers ...

Pros: Exceptional SQ....... More cone surface area than your average subwoofer.....

Cons: They have none if any one found some .

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

Exceptionally high quality and smooth LOW base

Crutchfield customer from Williamston, SC on 10/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently switched from Polk MM to Kappa throughout my car. I build a custom fiberglass enclosure for this 12" that is tucked into the truck of my 2018 Mustang GT and only takes up 6 inches of additional space compared to the factory sub, yet has 2.5cu ft of volume. This Kappa plays extremely low and amazingly smooth. It blends perfectly with my Kappa Perfect mids & highs. I'm powering this sub with a JL 500.1 amp, and this sub is absolutely amazing. The accuracy is shocking with a pleasing sound as it transitions into my mid-base drivers in a seamless way. According to my design software, I gained 9db at 30hz and 2db at 40hz over my Polk (which also sounded great by the way). When I switched this out, it shocked me how powerful, yet effortless this Kappa produces the full range of frequencies with a transparent transition into the mid-bass range. It does a great job playing anything from smooth jazz to heavy R&B with clean, accurate and most importantly deep and rich bass tones. When I bought this sub, I was hoping for higher quality and lower frequency response which is exactly what I got. I was surprised that I also achieve a higher SPL as well. What a great value!

Pros: Accurate and smooth tones throughout the frequency range....especially 30hz and below. 2 ohm mono capable. Clean look with the trim ring. Adequate power handling for most systems.

Cons: Deeper mounting requirement than most drivers in this power range.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Very Happy

Guest from Bloomingdale, NY on 9/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was optimistic about the purchase of the 1200W. I started with two on 1000 watts rms in a 2 cu ft sealed enclosure. The sq was great and they hit hard. I decided to go for two more, still on the 1000w, and I am very impressed. These deliver the bass I want without any muddy distortion. They are a bit power hungry, but they run very well on clean power.

Pros: Sq-very clean bass Solid design Cone and surround are solid Selectable impedance is handy when adding another sub

Cons: Trim ring fit is a bit strange, so I left them off.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Infinity Kappa 1200W

Guest from Orlando, FL on 8/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Upgraded from 8' w3 and this sub hits hard, deep and accurate. Sits underneath the seat in my truck's back seat. Well worth the money. Fantastic speaker. People are always very impressed when getting in my truck.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

hard hitting kappas

Crutchfield customer from Langhorne, PA on 8/13/2020

2007 Chevrolet TrailBlazer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've always loved infinity subwoofers and these do not disappoint but make sure you get a box that can handle them and opening for the subwoofers are wider so you may have to get a custom box to fit them . But they hit hard and very clear .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great SQ and a 3 year warranty

David M from CATONSVILLE, MD on 6/24/2020

2012 Ford Escape Hybrid

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This 12 is pretty decent. Very rigid and can take some power without distorting. I have one of these in a sealed box with a 600w RMS Reference AMP. No issues. As others have mentioned, the cutout size is larger than usual but no big deal if you have a jigsaw. I got one heck of a deal. Was looking to get another one, but just noticed current price is much, much higher now:-( Guess I got lucky with the timing of purchase. If I could get another one for the same price, I would snatch it up immediately. Can't see paying almost $150 more for another one right now though. All-in-all, great SQ, great power handling, and a good 3 year warranty. Just try and catch this on sale to get a better value.

Pros: SQ, power handling, warranty

Cons: Pricey when not on sale.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Searching for Loud, Clear Bass? The Infinity Kappa 1200W Is the Answer

Andrew from CLYDE, OH on 3/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had Infinity speakers in my cars going back over 20 years yet I had never heard one of their subwoofers. I've always been impressed so I gave the Kappa 1200W a shot. My conclusion- AMAZING sub with a remarkably clean sound A little demanding but it will reward you. What do I mean by demanding? 1. Cut-Out: The Kappa 1200W requires a larger cutout hole than most (288 mm) so be prepared to modify just about any pre-made enclosure you purchase. Keep this in mind when searching for a box: make sure the baffle has enough room to accommodate the new opening. Excellent reason to build your own for this one. 2. Break-In: DO NOT skip the break in period. Infinity recommends 10 hours of break-in before really letting this thing go. Either bench break-in or be REALLY good about keeping it on the low side until its had a proper stretch. 3. Power: Like any good sub, this thing needs what it asks to really perform. I've got an Alpine PDR-M65 rated at 749 watts @ 2 ohms and WOW. In a small, sealed box this thing is LOUD AND CLEAR. Bass is still musical and tight while giving you that full volume you want. Definitely recommend running them at 2 ohms to get the full expression of the talent this speaker possesses. The 3 year warranty is almost unheard of. You get what you pay for. The one question I have walking away from this experience is: why don't more people talk about Infinity subs? * I contacted Infinity directly to get the driver displacem

Pros: Incredibly clean sound. Powerfully loud. Look is incredible. 3 year warranty!

Cons: Larger enclosure cutout required- small inconvenience for what this thing offers.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Clean

Crutchfield customer from Independence, KY on 1/21/2020

2015 Chevrolet Sonic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Infinity has always made reliable car audio equipment. These sound great and match perfectly with their Kappa One K amplifier. With a correct install and proper amplifier tuning you will run into little distortion at volume levels exceeding daily use.

Pros:

Cons: Odd cutout size that is larger than "normal". If you purchase a small box trying to accommodate the <1 cubic ft recommended size, you may not be able to bore holes out enough to fit without subwoofers mounting lips overlapping.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Infinity 12s

Jerry from Fresno on 10/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought two 12" subs and have in a sealed box and these subs rattle my windows and can be heard before I hit my street. Powered by a 2200w mono block amp, just amazing sound .

Pros: Very sleek design built very sturdy

Cons: None that I know of.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Infinity Kappa 1200W

Crutchfield customer from Ketchikan, AK on 10/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

bought one from here 3 years ago and it still sounds great.. ordering another today and a bandpass box for both

Pros: beautiful well constructed

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Infinity Kappa 1200W

Crutchfield customer from Van Nuys, CA on 6/1/2019

2019 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Sub Very impress with it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Infinity Kappa 1200W

Crutchfield customer from Loveland, CO on 12/31/2018

2018 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very sturdy materials. Clean bass in a .95cuft sealed box. Running on a Kappa k600 amp and not getting huge spl but sq is top notch. Sure with bigger ported and more power you could get some good spl with the construction of this sub.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Infinity Kappa 1200W

Henry J. from Defiance, OH on 10/8/2018

2003 Chevrolet TrailBlazer EXT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Like infinity. ....was replacing a old infinity perfect. ....still preferred the infinity perfect but not a bad sub

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Worth it

Keegan from Lawrenceville, IL on 9/7/2018

2003 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Put it in my truck and now I have a ton of bass, I love it

Pros: Bumps hard like I wanted and have nothing bad to say

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Infinity Kappa 1200W

Crutchfield customer from Adamsville, AL on 8/16/2018

2005 Scion tC

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Infinity Kappa 1200W

Dean from St louis mo on 7/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super clean bass. Sounds like you spent more than you did

Pros: Sounds crystal clear.high quality construction.

Cons: Seems you have to build your own box to match cubic ft specs.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Infinity Kappa 1200W

Steven from Clinton Twp, MI on 6/17/2018

2007 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound quality you expect from infinity! If you build the box to the factory spec it sounds like you're running 2 12's!! I love it!!

Pros: Clean, loud, and amazing!

Cons: I didn't buy two!! The only actual con would be the lack of instruction for box spec's..

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Great subwoofer for the price.

Tony from Irvine, KY on 6/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great subwoofer for the price. I've always been an infinity fan because of the sound quality and this subwoofer delivers.

Pros: Great sound quality Great build quality Great price Legendary brand

Cons: Too much plastic

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Awesome base, super smooth hook up, outstanding quality

Dillon from Omaha, NE on 2/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I would give these subs 6 stars if I could. These have been the best set of subs I've ever had. The quality is astounding, and they are super smooth to hook up.

Pros: Easy install, awesome quality

Cons: None what so ever

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Infinity Kappa 1200W

Steven from Maynard, MA on 1/31/2018

2015 Jeep Renegade

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome subs for the price, have 2 of em running on a kappa k1000 amp in a sealed box, very clear clean bass

Pros: Very clean and clear bass

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

A Real Piece of Art

Aaron from Camp Lejeune, NC on 1/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I can say nothing negative about this subwoofer, though I didn't exactly use it in it's intended. A few months ago I was in the market for a stand alone subwoofer to couple with my new Denon receiver and the ADCOM GFA555 I picked up used in good condition. I was rather disappointed with the available selection of subwoofers on the market seeing as most are active, or ported and I am not a fan of ported bass. The only viable solution was to build one. After getting this monster from my father whom was equally interested in the project I put it in a custom built sealed Baltic birch cabinet with an internal volume of .91 cubic feet. The rest is history, coupled with ADCOM's magnificent amp in bridged mode with the woofer in it's 2 ohm configuration, it hits hard, precise, and loud. Many times when people try to adapt a car woofer into a home setting there's issues with getting the sound to properly fill the room but this sub has no issues whatsoever filling both my room and the adjacent rooms, with music, soundtracks, or whatever you happen to be playing through it. War movies sound like bombs are detonating in nearby while, Sci-Fi lasers and anti-matter bombs shake your very bones. All in all, I would recommend this subwoofer without question for almost anything.

Pros: Easy to mount Easy to wire Selectable 2 or 4 ohm impedance Mounting screw cover included for those aesthetics Also those aesthetics

Cons: More of a word of warning than a con, but when running in the 2 ohm configuration make sure you have a more than adequate amplifier with plenty of cooling especially if running said amp in bridged mode.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Infinity Kappa 1200W

Guest from WI on 1/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

By far the best subwoofer for the price you could ever buy ever the quality of the craftsmanship has with standed anything at throw it at it and they hit so hard it's not necessary to even turn them up the sound quality can't be matched from any other speaker

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Excellent subs

Jeff from Vero Beach, FL on 12/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Do not overlook these subs. I have 2 if them in a small sealed box built to 1.07 cubic feet each chamber with a hifonics Brutus 2400watt all zero gauge wiring and they absolutely pound. I can go on and on with the sub brands I have had from JL to mmats, skar,earthquake, Orion, Jvc, and all of the kappa 12s before theseunless you spend big money you won't find anything as quality as these subs. Easy to wire, don't have to spend big money on subs or an amp. They can handle what you can throw at them in thier range. SQ and SPL. Best of both worlds. I would highly recommend these subs. You will not be disappointed.

Pros: They can do pretty much anything you want them to do. Lows, mids, highs, sealed or ported, big box, small box, 1000 watt amp , 4000 watt amp, doesn't matter

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

15 of 15 found this helpful

Infinity Kappa 1200W

Jared from Carmel, IN on 11/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Every bit as good as my type r's. When powered correctly with the propper box they get very low. For a SQ subwoofer they are loud. They will take whatever power you throw at them. Pair wonderfully with my kappa 1000w amp. Honestly this set up is as loud as my type x's were with more power. The ability to switch ohms is simply genius. Buy one and add another when needed and just flip the ogm switch. As an adult with wide musical tastes they are perfect. Put them in a small sealed box and you will get lower bass notes. 38hrtz is the sweet spot yet they still punch hard on a double bass drum peddle. Im glad i went with them over my gen 2 type r's. No distortion i even ran one at 2 ohms with 1k watts and the sub didnt even blink.

Pros: True SQ with the ability to play loud and low. As good if not better than type r's. With 1k watts this setup is as loud as my old type x's with 3k watts. Ohm selection is great. Buy one and a good amp now run 4ohms. Then save up and add a second later. You can truly build your system with this feature. They are way under rated and will take what ever amp you throw at them

Cons: None. I cant think of one and im highly critical of my music sound.

Crutchfield response on

16 of 17 found this helpful

Very strong sound

Crutchfield customer from Bethel Heights, AR on 11/12/2017

1995 Ford Bronco

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very suprised with the power these woofers can handle. Paired two of these with the k1000 amp and it sounds great. Using a ported box.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

simply the best for the money

keith from IL on 8/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

i have used infinity as a gold go to standard for over40 years and they just get better and better , these rate on a scale of 1-10 as a 50 , infinity never fails any of my expectations since 1978 when i purchased 4 - q5's , and i still have them

Pros: everything

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

In Rarefied (free) Air

KC from Philadelphia, PA on 6/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ok, I'm 40+ and competed in car stereo from 1988-2001. I've had and owned it all from McIntosh, a/d/s, Soundstream, Alpine 7909 head units, etc. I decided to toy around again with a car I once competed with: a 1990 BMW 535i. In '96 I ran a McIntosh mono amp to 3 JL Audio 12W6s (dual voice coils) in a sealed box. So so. I had planned to shock the world later with a free air/infinite baffle setup to disprove the theory that nothing compares to a box. I bought 3 JL Audio 10IB4s in 1997 when they were being discontinued. Got married, became a professional, had kids and so no more car stereo. I pulled the JLs out of storage a month ago and ran one through the center arm rest. Unimpressive, noisy and blew fast. Undeterred, I researched and researched and tried out this Infinity 12 running 2 ohms at 500x1 with a JL Audio JX500/1D tiny amp. Complete free air, through the arm rest center hole cutout. Got the JL bass knob for control. OMG. The base is so strong, so heavy and so velvety, very quick for a 12 and hits the lowest notes without a hiccup. This is not hyperbole, I went to two top shops in the city for feedback and did not open the trunk prior to demo and they were floored to see no box. Utter disbelief. I've never been happier with my low end. I really believe a 12 is the key with lots of power because using the trunk is a big box and a ten will have too much cone movement to push the air. It's pure perfection. I'm about to buy again for my Benz. RUN!!

Pros: It really works and works well Beautiful and ohms switching versatility Moves serious air with no cone noise whatsoever Very loud yet musical.

Cons: Very large speaker Requires lots of power Now I need some sound deadening work Likelihood of temporary threshold hearing loss

Crutchfield response on

23 of 27 found this helpful

Awesome sound very nice bass. Its what the doctor ordered.

Aaron from Rosedale, MD on 12/31/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This sub is super impressive. I couldn't believe the level of sound that come from this thing. I have it in a .95 cubic foot sealed box being powered by the JBL Club 5501 amp, and the bass is more than the last system i had which was 2-12's in a large sealed box. In short i am impressed. I really like the simple wiring. A positive and a negative. The switch on the sub itself allows me to switch between 2 and 4 ohms very easily. No wires to switch, no diagrams, no thinking, very conveinient. It is a very sensitive sub which means to me that you get more volume and quality with lower wattages. Great buy i am happy enough with my purchase to take the time to write this review.

Pros: Handles big power. Switch between 2 and 4 ohms easily. Wiring is as simple as it gets.

Cons: None that i can think of yet. I will update if i come across any.

Crutchfield response on

36 of 38 found this helpful

TOP