Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Infinity Kappa 1200W

Kappa Series 12" subwoofer with selectable 2- or 4-ohm impedance

MFR # INFKAPPA1200WBLKAM

Infinity Kappa 1200W

Infinity Kappa 1200W

Kappa Series 12" subwoofer with selectable 2- or 4-ohm impedance

MFR # INFKAPPA1200WBLKAM

20 reviews
View this product

Infinity 12s

Jerry from Fresno on 10/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought two 12" subs and have in a sealed box and these subs rattle my windows and can be heard before I hit my street. Powered by a 2200w mono block amp, just amazing sound .

Pros: Very sleek design built very sturdy

Cons: None that I know of.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Infinity Kappa 1200W

Crutchfield customer from Ketchikan, AK on 10/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

bought one from here 3 years ago and it still sounds great.. ordering another today and a bandpass box for both

Pros: beautiful well constructed

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Infinity Kappa 1200W

Crutchfield customer from Van Nuys, CA on 6/1/2019

2019 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Sub Very impress with it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Infinity Kappa 1200W

Crutchfield customer from Loveland, CO on 12/31/2018

2018 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very sturdy materials. Clean bass in a .95cuft sealed box. Running on a Kappa k600 amp and not getting huge spl but sq is top notch. Sure with bigger ported and more power you could get some good spl with the construction of this sub.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Infinity Kappa 1200W

Henry J. from Defiance, OH on 10/8/2018

2003 Chevrolet TrailBlazer EXT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Like infinity. ....was replacing a old infinity perfect. ....still preferred the infinity perfect but not a bad sub

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Worth it

Keegan from Lawrenceville, IL on 9/7/2018

2003 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Put it in my truck and now I have a ton of bass, I love it

Pros: Bumps hard like I wanted and have nothing bad to say

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Infinity Kappa 1200W

Crutchfield customer from Adamsville, AL on 8/16/2018

2005 Scion tC

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Infinity Kappa 1200W

Dean from St louis mo on 7/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super clean bass. Sounds like you spent more than you did

Pros: Sounds crystal clear.high quality construction.

Cons: Seems you have to build your own box to match cubic ft specs.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Infinity Kappa 1200W

Steven from Clinton Twp, MI on 6/17/2018

2007 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound quality you expect from infinity! If you build the box to the factory spec it sounds like you're running 2 12's!! I love it!!

Pros: Clean, loud, and amazing!

Cons: I didn't buy two!! The only actual con would be the lack of instruction for box spec's..

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Great subwoofer for the price.

Tony from Irvine, KY on 6/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great subwoofer for the price. I've always been an infinity fan because of the sound quality and this subwoofer delivers.

Pros: Great sound quality Great build quality Great price Legendary brand

Cons: Too much plastic

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Awesome base, super smooth hook up, outstanding quality

Dillon from Omaha, NE on 2/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I would give these subs 6 stars if I could. These have been the best set of subs I've ever had. The quality is astounding, and they are super smooth to hook up.

Pros: Easy install, awesome quality

Cons: None what so ever

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Infinity Kappa 1200W

Steven from Maynard, MA on 1/31/2018

2015 Jeep Renegade

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome subs for the price, have 2 of em running on a kappa k1000 amp in a sealed box, very clear clean bass

Pros: Very clean and clear bass

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

A Real Piece of Art

Aaron from Camp Lejeune, NC on 1/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I can say nothing negative about this subwoofer, though I didn't exactly use it in it's intended. A few months ago I was in the market for a stand alone subwoofer to couple with my new Denon receiver and the ADCOM GFA555 I picked up used in good condition. I was rather disappointed with the available selection of subwoofers on the market seeing as most are active, or ported and I am not a fan of ported bass. The only viable solution was to build one. After getting this monster from my father whom was equally interested in the project I put it in a custom built sealed Baltic birch cabinet with an internal volume of .91 cubic feet. The rest is history, coupled with ADCOM's magnificent amp in bridged mode with the woofer in it's 2 ohm configuration, it hits hard, precise, and loud. Many times when people try to adapt a car woofer into a home setting there's issues with getting the sound to properly fill the room but this sub has no issues whatsoever filling both my room and the adjacent rooms, with music, soundtracks, or whatever you happen to be playing through it. War movies sound like bombs are detonating in nearby while, Sci-Fi lasers and anti-matter bombs shake your very bones. All in all, I would recommend this subwoofer without question for almost anything.

Pros: Easy to mount Easy to wire Selectable 2 or 4 ohm impedance Mounting screw cover included for those aesthetics Also those aesthetics

Cons: More of a word of warning than a con, but when running in the 2 ohm configuration make sure you have a more than adequate amplifier with plenty of cooling especially if running said amp in bridged mode.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Infinity Kappa 1200W

Guest from WI on 1/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

By far the best subwoofer for the price you could ever buy ever the quality of the craftsmanship has with standed anything at throw it at it and they hit so hard it's not necessary to even turn them up the sound quality can't be matched from any other speaker

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Excellent subs

Jeff from Vero Beach, FL on 12/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Do not overlook these subs. I have 2 if them in a small sealed box built to 1.07 cubic feet each chamber with a hifonics Brutus 2400watt all zero gauge wiring and they absolutely pound. I can go on and on with the sub brands I have had from JL to mmats, skar,earthquake, Orion, Jvc, and all of the kappa 12s before theseunless you spend big money you won't find anything as quality as these subs. Easy to wire, don't have to spend big money on subs or an amp. They can handle what you can throw at them in thier range. SQ and SPL. Best of both worlds. I would highly recommend these subs. You will not be disappointed.

Pros: They can do pretty much anything you want them to do. Lows, mids, highs, sealed or ported, big box, small box, 1000 watt amp , 4000 watt amp, doesn't matter

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

15 of 15 found this helpful

Infinity Kappa 1200W

Jared from Carmel, IN on 11/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Every bit as good as my type r's. When powered correctly with the propper box they get very low. For a SQ subwoofer they are loud. They will take whatever power you throw at them. Pair wonderfully with my kappa 1000w amp. Honestly this set up is as loud as my type x's were with more power. The ability to switch ohms is simply genius. Buy one and add another when needed and just flip the ogm switch. As an adult with wide musical tastes they are perfect. Put them in a small sealed box and you will get lower bass notes. 38hrtz is the sweet spot yet they still punch hard on a double bass drum peddle. Im glad i went with them over my gen 2 type r's. No distortion i even ran one at 2 ohms with 1k watts and the sub didnt even blink.

Pros: True SQ with the ability to play loud and low. As good if not better than type r's. With 1k watts this setup is as loud as my old type x's with 3k watts. Ohm selection is great. Buy one and a good amp now run 4ohms. Then save up and add a second later. You can truly build your system with this feature. They are way under rated and will take what ever amp you throw at them

Cons: None. I cant think of one and im highly critical of my music sound.

Crutchfield response on

15 of 16 found this helpful

Very strong sound

Crutchfield customer from Bethel Heights, AR on 11/12/2017

1995 Ford Bronco

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very suprised with the power these woofers can handle. Paired two of these with the k1000 amp and it sounds great. Using a ported box.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

simply the best for the money

keith from IL on 8/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

i have used infinity as a gold go to standard for over40 years and they just get better and better , these rate on a scale of 1-10 as a 50 , infinity never fails any of my expectations since 1978 when i purchased 4 - q5's , and i still have them

Pros: everything

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

In Rarefied (free) Air

KC from Philadelphia, PA on 6/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ok, I'm 40+ and competed in car stereo from 1988-2001. I've had and owned it all from McIntosh, a/d/s, Soundstream, Alpine 7909 head units, etc. I decided to toy around again with a car I once competed with: a 1990 BMW 535i. In '96 I ran a McIntosh mono amp to 3 JL Audio 12W6s (dual voice coils) in a sealed box. So so. I had planned to shock the world later with a free air/infinite baffle setup to disprove the theory that nothing compares to a box. I bought 3 JL Audio 10IB4s in 1997 when they were being discontinued. Got married, became a professional, had kids and so no more car stereo. I pulled the JLs out of storage a month ago and ran one through the center arm rest. Unimpressive, noisy and blew fast. Undeterred, I researched and researched and tried out this Infinity 12 running 2 ohms at 500x1 with a JL Audio JX500/1D tiny amp. Complete free air, through the arm rest center hole cutout. Got the JL bass knob for control. OMG. The base is so strong, so heavy and so velvety, very quick for a 12 and hits the lowest notes without a hiccup. This is not hyperbole, I went to two top shops in the city for feedback and did not open the trunk prior to demo and they were floored to see no box. Utter disbelief. I've never been happier with my low end. I really believe a 12 is the key with lots of power because using the trunk is a big box and a ten will have too much cone movement to push the air. It's pure perfection. I'm about to buy again for my Benz. RUN!!

Pros: It really works and works well Beautiful and ohms switching versatility Moves serious air with no cone noise whatsoever Very loud yet musical.

Cons: Very large speaker Requires lots of power Now I need some sound deadening work Likelihood of temporary threshold hearing loss

Crutchfield response on

21 of 25 found this helpful

Awesome sound very nice bass. Its what the doctor ordered.

Aaron from Rosedale, MD on 12/31/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This sub is super impressive. I couldn't believe the level of sound that come from this thing. I have it in a .95 cubic foot sealed box being powered by the JBL Club 5501 amp, and the bass is more than the last system i had which was 2-12's in a large sealed box. In short i am impressed. I really like the simple wiring. A positive and a negative. The switch on the sub itself allows me to switch between 2 and 4 ohms very easily. No wires to switch, no diagrams, no thinking, very conveinient. It is a very sensitive sub which means to me that you get more volume and quality with lower wattages. Great buy i am happy enough with my purchase to take the time to write this review.

Pros: Handles big power. Switch between 2 and 4 ohms easily. Wiring is as simple as it gets.

Cons: None that i can think of yet. I will update if i come across any.

Crutchfield response on

36 of 38 found this helpful

TOP