Contact us
Close contact box
Monday, May 25
Crutchfield's website is open today, but our staff has the day off to observe Memorial Day.
Connect ID #
575 862 022 3

Our hours

Connect ID #
575 862 022 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Current Crutchfield time is 8:29 AM ET.

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Powered sound bar with Apple® AirPlay® 2, Chromecast built-in, Bluetooth®, and wireless subwoofer

MFR # JBL2GBAR51IMBLKAM

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Powered sound bar with Apple® AirPlay® 2, Chromecast built-in, Bluetooth®, and wireless subwoofer

MFR # JBL2GBAR51IMBLKAM

12 reviews
View this product

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Crutchfield customer from Kalamazoo, MI on 5/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a small system with a BIG sound. Great for small and medium sized rooms, that classic JBL sound delivers a clean upper range with a boom at the bottom!

Pros: Good price point for high end quality. The fit and finish on the components themselves really stand out.

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Really good sound bar for the money

Crutchfield customer from Albany, NY on 5/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced an older Visio 5.1 Sound bar system with this JBL. I couldn't be more satisfied with the JBL's performance, particularly for the $ paid. It's in a 22' x 14' master bedroom and it fills the room perfectly. Simple to set up, performs as advertised. Highly recommend for just about any size room where a simple sound solution is wanted, great for movie audio.

Pros: Great movie audio Simple setup Plenty of bass Has separate remote

Cons: No treble adjustment, minor issue

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Crutchfield customer from Boynton Beach, FL on 5/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install. The bar itself sounds great and the sub thumps. No connectivity issues at all.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 the best.

Crutchfield customer from Juana Diaz, PR on 4/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I install in my system and the sound is very nice.

Pros: Excellent system

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent Sound Bar

Crutchfield customer from Loveland, OH on 4/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This soundbar is extremely easy to install - come with brackets even. The sound is excellent and the bass thumps (even has three settings).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Crutchfield customer from Easton, PA on 4/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound. Unbelievable sound from wireless sub!

Pros: Simple setup

Cons: Remote is small. It hides in my cushions.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Crutchfield customer from Johns Island, SC on 3/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like my New Surround sound jbl alot also adam did a real good job helping me out.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Puede ser mejor. Me esperaba más

Crutchfield customer from Elmont, NY on 2/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Me esperaba un sonido mucho mejor. Tengo tambien la SuondBar JBL 3.1 y al comprar esta 5.1 esperaba una mejora destacable, pero no fue así. Me decepcionó un poco. Ademas que considero que al tener conexión WiFi, se le podría dar mucho más provecho con una app que permita reprodcir dese allí la musica de Spotify, Deezer, etc, y no limitarlo solamente a Chomecast I was hoping for a lot better sound. I also have a Soundbar JBL 3.1 and I was hoping for something remarkably better, but it was not. I was a little disappointed. Also, I thought that because it had a WIFI connection, it would be a lot more beneficial if it had an app that allowed music to be passed from Spotify , Deezer, etc, and wasn't only limited to Chromecast.

Pros: Esteticamente es muy bella la SoundBar Aesthetically the SoudBar looks really nice.

Cons: Poco aprovechamiento a la conexion Wifi El sonido me esperaba algo mejor. It doesn't take much advantage of the Wifi connection. I was hoping for better sound.

Crutchfield response on 2/17/2020
Translation provided by Crutchfield's International Sales & Support team.

0 of 1 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Crutchfield customer from Waverly, IA on 1/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very happy with the JBL 5.1. I was leaning toward the Sonos but thought it would be too much for only sound system for listening and TV. The sound is great and hearing for TV is also great. I am going to be 75, so everything doesn't function like it used to.

Pros: Ease of use with its own remote. Another reason I didn't go for the Sonos. Everything on smartphone with them.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Awesome soundbar

Crutchfield customer from Laredo, TX on 1/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As always JBL brand is quality in audio, excellent sound bar, enough power to hear my music and movies, very happy with my purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Crutchfield customer from Poplar Bluff, MO on 12/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Would not calibrate when I was setting the system up. I have a 2.1 system in another room that sounds better than this 5.1. No adjustments to sound other than low, medium and high on the sub woofer. This one is going back.

Pros: None

Cons: No adjustments other than a low, medium and high on the sub woofer.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Crutchfield customer from Greensburg, IN on 12/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds good, has great bass . Definitely good for larger rooms it's gets pretty loud but not screeching loud. It's such a simple design , basic plug and play . Looks clean, sounds clear . Way better than the tech issues I had with the Klipsch bar 48 I sent back in exchange for this . The bar48 sounded great but I always had sub to bar connection issues even after firmware update .

Pros: Bass and sound clarity Looks clean and not as bulky as other bars I've seen and used . Very happy with this buy so far .

Cons: Not really any adjustments or sound modes but you can adjust bass from low ,medium , to high. But bar sounds good so probably don't need any adjusting anyway .

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

6 of 6 found this helpful

TOP