Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
016 710 721 4
Connect ID #
016 710 721 4
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Powered sound bar with Apple® AirPlay® 2, Chromecast built-in, Bluetooth®, and wireless subwoofer

MFR # JBL2GBAR51IMBLKAM

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Powered sound bar with Apple® AirPlay® 2, Chromecast built-in, Bluetooth®, and wireless subwoofer

MFR # JBL2GBAR51IMBLKAM

129 reviews
View this product

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Peter from Pepperell, MA on 11/20/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

A very solid soundbar from JBL. It says surround sound, but, as others have pointed out, you can't get true surround sound from a soundbar. Still, I've found d it delivers a very robust sound for both TV/movies or music. The subwoofer is phenomenal and has tons of (literal) room shaking bass. Moreover, while I would like an actual EQ, for the cost, you get really excellent quality sound and I have not been disappointed.

Pros: Bass Cost Overall solid sound for both TV and music

Cons: EQ would be nice Not true surround (but no soundbar is.)

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Stephen from Chapel Hill, NC on 11/19/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is the first sound bar I have purchased so I wasn't quite sure what to expect, but space requirements wouldn't accommodate a receiver/amplifier wired with box speakers. For the price, the sound quality is reasonable for both TV and music streaming from an iPhone through Bluetooth (performance & features/cost = 4 stars). I was not able to perform some of the features as described in the quick start guide such as the firmware update and room calibration, so I will need to investigate further (minus 1 star).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Killer

Bruce from Burlington, KY on 11/8/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It's a great sound bar. Just wished it was louder.

Pros: Loud

Cons: Not loud enough.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Kevin from Mclean, VA on 11/7/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy connection right out of the box. Great sound. Surround sound, not really.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent sound bar for the money

Crutchfield customer from Portland, OR on 11/1/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This JBL Bar 5.1 Surround was really simple and quick to set up in our system. No problem to "tune it" for our family room. The sound is really quite good - a huge step up from our TV speakers. The bass was very deep and literally shockingly impactful. Big guns firing almost knocked me out of my chair! No doubt, you can do better, if you are willing to spend a lot more money, but at this price point, a very solid performer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Devin from Buffalo Grove, IL on 10/30/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sounds great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Gary from Knoxville, TN on 10/26/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

very professional and helpful. delivered exactly what they said very fast. no scams

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Theatre sound

Greg from Tulsa, OK on 10/20/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I put this in may bedroom. It has great quality sound. I recommend it.

Pros: Nice bass sound. Good soundbar.

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

George from Henderson, NV on 10/18/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Brought this for my sister-in-law, she's very happy.

Pros: on sale

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pretty underwhelmed

Andrew from Woodland Hills, CA on 10/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very odd performance, doesn't seem to respond to remote inputs very well, sounds average, thought it was a deal but it's rubbish.

Pros: Cheap and easy to setup

Cons: Pretty much sucks all around, doesn't function correctly, too big for really tubby average sound, just an all around waste of time and money

Crutchfield response on 10/17/2022
Andrew, we're sorry you're having issues with your sound bar. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

2 of 4 found this helpful

Happiy impressed.

Susan from Saint Maries, ID on 10/12/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I wasn't sure what to expect when I ordered this as I'd had independent speakers before with wies strung around the room. I was happily surprised to hear the sound quality. It was like the sound at the theater. Even sounds like something behind periodically. I'd recommend these. I don't think you'll be disappointed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great soundbar

Thomas from Charlotte, NC on 10/7/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good piece of audio equipment at a good price and, of course, the Crutchfield service is excellent.

Pros: Good equipment, easy to get started. The Crutchfield chat rep was great throughout the purchasing process. I love Crutchfield.

Cons: I can't get the unit to calibrate to the room and don't see any options to adjust the sound manually. Also, the soft/firmware update requires a thumb drive as opposed to downloading via intra/internet. Also, sparse instructions that will get you started, but that's it.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Audrey from Tallahassee, FL on 9/29/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This JBL 5.1 bar has amazing sound. The delivery was fast and set up was easy. I am very satisfied!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Clear voice, booming bass, no mids

Nathanael from Asbury Park, NJ on 9/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Pros: -Super easy set-up. -Really clear voice and dialog clarity from center speaker. -Subwoofer really thumps. Cons: -No mids. Great treble from bar and especially the side firing surround speakers, but it feels like there is a hole in the mids till you get to the low bass of the sub. Really apparent if you use the Chromecast or AirPlay 2 feature to listen to music. -Like most 5.1 set-ups, this bar goes from quiet to VERY LOUD every time there is an action scene in a 5.1 or 7.1 mix. It really comes alive when it gets loud, but be prepared to ride the volume up and down if you have neighbors. -Some features don't match the manual or seem to be missing. Manual says to trigger the audio set-up to hold the "HDMI" button for 5 seconds. You need to hold the "HDMI" button for at least 10 seconds. Manual says you can enable or disable the sound effect enhancement feature by holding the "Mute" button for 3 seconds. I cannot find any way to enable or disable this feature. Both of these may have been cause by firmware updates since the manual was printed, but the documentation is very poor at JBL's website.

Pros: Easy set-up, Great voice clarity, booming bass

Cons: No mids, volume spikes, some features changed or missing in firmware updates

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Very Happy

David from Farmingtn Hls, MI on 9/23/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is the first soundbar I've ever heard that throws a soundstage. It's quite a quality sounding piece. The subwoofer is actually usable and really sound great which is another first for me in the soundbar dept. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because there are no sound "Modes". Example: Movie, Music, Sports... ect. At the sale price, I'm very happy. Had I paid full price, I'd be pissed!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Game Changer

James from Deltona, FL on 9/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This sound bar exceeded my expectations, the bass is deep and the sound is crisp. It just fills the whole room. I can't believe the huge difference from the crappy tv speaker's.

Pros: All pros

Cons: Waited this long to get this

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great product

James from Chesapeake, VA on 9/1/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Exceptional product at a great value! Highly recommend this sound bar.

Pros: Easy set up, great sound and Bluetooth

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Greg D.

Greg from Green River, WY on 8/31/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Really happy with this purchase. Bought product due to having a hard time hearing my TV. Sound is great and very clear. Set was easy and only took about 10 minutes. I would recommend this purchase!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Michael from Roseville, CA on 8/20/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is one of the best systems for the money!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Shockingly Good for the price.

David from Henrico, VA on 8/19/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought this to replace a Polk Audio MagniFi MAX. I never liked the Max. It had issues with HDMI and it would just lock up and become unresponsive. It also didn't sound very good. I bought this sound bar on the recommendation of Andrew Robinson on YouTube. Look his review up and give it a look if you are in the market for a sound bar that does an honest job at 5.1 without the extra speakers.

Pros: excellent sound and 5.1 surround with out the extra speakers. Simple remote and setup.

Cons: Only 2 HDMI ports. Well really only a down side if your TV is lacking in HDMI ports. Bass is has only 5 levels. Anything above 2 gets really thumpy.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Good bang for the buck!

Patrick from Buckeye, AZ on 8/18/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This product did everything I expected. Ease of use and excellent sound considering the great price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2 factory resets later, a very good soundbar

Andy from Redmond, WA on 8/18/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good sound, but setup did not go smoothly. I mean, initially, things went well, but then I noticed the sound dropping randomly. Also, WiFi setup just would not work. After 2 factory resets, it is working and the sound is very good, even the faux surround is pretty convincing at times

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Crutchfield Gets 5 Stars!

Zeke from Clinton, NC on 8/11/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I ordered this sound bar on Tuesday (with 2 day shipping), and it arrived Wednesday. Ordering and delivery was so easy and fast! Thanks, Crutchfield! As for the sound bar: it sounds great for TV but is absolutely useless for streaming music from my devices. If you are looking for a system that sounds great for movies as well as music, keep looking.

Pros: Easy setup Looks great Auto-sync with Firestick

Cons: Streamed music (Bluetooth) sounds terrible

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Richard from Stuart, FL on 8/8/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The sub woofer gets 5 stars. The sound bar about 3, the surround is not good at all, my Apple 16"lMacbook Pro has better sound.

Pros: Sub Woofer

Cons: Sound Bar very weak

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Joseph from Estes Park, CO on 7/24/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

easy set up. great sound even at lower volume.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Top notch

Crutchfield customer from WARREN, PA on 7/20/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I am very surprised with this bar. I built a house and I didn't want to run all the wires and set up my old system in my main living room. I was looking for something to enhance my tv's sound and look uncluttered. It does the job and then some. It puts a smile on my face when you turn it up. For the price and it's intended purpose, it's awesome. Crutchfield was also awesome. Great purchase all the way around.

Pros: Perfect price, sounds great.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Marilyn from Pflugerville, TX on 7/18/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've only had this a few days but so far it is excellent.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Eli from Staten Island, NY on 7/12/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great bass, but hoping the bar could have been more of the same.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 5 found this helpful

JBL 5.1 Sound Bar is a great product

Tricia from Burien, WA on 7/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Shipping was super fast. Product arrived in good order. Setup was easy and did not take much time. We have been using our new sound bar for almost a week now, and we are pleased with our purchase. We are very happy with the JBL 5.1 Surround sound bar: Bass is excellent, dialogue is clear, sound is amazing. Highly recommend this sound bar if you are in the market.

Pros: Dialogue clear Bass is perfect Price point is good (got it on sale) Easy setup

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Burt from Kingman, AZ on 7/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Unpacked it, hooked it up . . . and it worked perfectly . . . I am very pleased.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Easy setup and sounds awesome

Jason from CLIFTON PARK, NY on 6/30/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very pleased wih the sound (loud) and bass, sounds like it should be much more expensive than it is.

Pros: bass, loudness, easy setup and easy remote

Cons: subwoofer positioning is a little finicky for best bass but always sounds loud anyway

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great Sub - Surround Meh

Claude from Oklahoma City on 6/8/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Subwoofer bumps. Surround sound quality meh. My previous Samsung (true 5.1) had better surround effect. Take note the BAR 5.1 is has no physical rear speakers. It has built in side speakers that are intended to "bounce" the rear surround sounds to your ear holes. If surround is not a must have and you want to save money you may want to consider the Bar 2.1 which has the same booming 10 inch subwoofer. 5 levels for sub; level 3 good for dialog clarity, 4 big bass but dialog starts getting pushed through the subwoofer. Hard to access features via remote only. Easy & clean setup.

Pros: Subwoofer Easy setup Looks good Sound good

Cons: Sound could be better at this price point. Difficult to access advanced features. Dialog bleeds through subwoofer with sub set to levels 4 &5

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Jerome from Valders, WI on 6/6/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

From what I've been able to hear it seems good, the problem is Sony has decided to dampen the audio output to non Sony components so I have to max out the volume to hear anything, thus only 4 stars. I am looking to replace the Sony TV with one that actually works.

Pros: Seems to sound good, to bad Sony doesn't like it.

Cons: Sony has decided their customers are stupid and will not allow audio from their TV to connect to non Sony products without dampening the audio.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 5 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Sheryl from Ellijay, GA on 5/31/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

We wanted to replace our wired $3K Bose sound system with a cleaner neater sound bar. I was at a loss as to what we needed for our open ceiling living room. The technicians at Crutchfield are experts and were able to guide me to the best system for my particular needs; JBL 5.0. I chose not to go with the more expensive systems. This sound bar sounds amazing! We are happy with the clarity which is a plus for my husband's hearing challenges. It definitely has a clearer sound from the center speaker than our older Bose. The subwoofer has great depth. It isn't quite the sound as in a higher priced system, but we are certainly not disappointed. It actually exceeds our expectations for the price range we decided to buy in. This sound bar has no audio out plug. Since I have not bought my husband a wireless headset yet. We were able to plug the headset he presently has into his iPad and connect to the sound via our ROKU APP. There are so many alternatives. The system was easy to set-up and connect. I would like to restate how helpful the representative from Crutchfield was. He was patient, knowledgeable, and answered all my questions, some twice. If I need anything Crutchfield will be my first choice in information and product. When I called I had no idea what soundbar would be appropriate. Before I hung up I felt well enough informed to buy! We received it in excellent condition in just a couple of days!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Jay from Portland, TX on 5/26/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I ordered a jbl 5.1 soundbar easy to set up vocals are very clear to understand subwoofer has great boom watched top gun and wow great sounds and it's also has awesome sound to listen to music wife and I love it I give it 5 stars volume at 14 is loud

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Eric from Bealeton, VA on 5/24/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

awesome sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Karl from Owings, MD on 4/29/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound for the money

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Eric from Huntingtn Bch, CA on 4/26/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to install and integrates easily into the TV Vizio remote. JBL has alway produced quality products and this product proves it. The sound quality is top notch. I installed it on my daughter's TV. She noticed the sound immediately and was impressed with quailty. Great price point as well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL sounds great.

Justin from Mundelein, IL on 4/21/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Delivered as expected. Hooking up soon.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Reece from Huntsville, TN on 4/20/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound bar

Pros: Great sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Fantastic unit....GREAT customer service

Robert from Madison, MS on 4/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I had the previous iteration. The sub quit working after almost a year I think. I called Crutchfield and in no time the tech said it was a known defect and they would replace it -- no charge. The new unit is really great. I love the clarity and the sound. The bass is deep and the sound bar really does a great job with sound. IMO, this is a really nice option if you don't feel like getting in your attic, running wire and cutting holes.

Pros: Fantastic sound Nice volume

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

David from Huntington, WV on 3/10/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This JBL sound bar sounds very good. Decent bass from the sub. I'd buy it again.

Pros: Easily synced with our LG NANO 90.

Cons: Treble should be adjustable.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Scott from Carrollton, KY on 2/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Not good.pass on this.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 2/15/2022
Scott contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

1 of 12 found this helpful

Right call this time

Paul from Saint Augustine, FL on 1/24/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The worse thing about this purchase was my hesitation. JBL has hit it out of the park with this soundbar. The room fills with richness that I have not heard before. Quality is excellent and setup could not be easier.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Mechanicsville

Phillip from Mechanicsville on 1/8/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The sound bar is excellent and loud

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Crutchfield customer from Carmel, NY on 12/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good sound, nice Bass response. Works seamless with my Samsung Q80 eArc HDMI connection

Pros: easily setup

Cons: should have an option to add rear speakers

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Whole lot of happy!

kirt from STAUNTON, VA on 12/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

My wife and I were looking for a soundbar for our bedroom, so we gave the JBL 5.1 a whirl. First and foremost, love the bass in this soundbar. The sub synced up without any connectivity issues or lag. We let the bass loose and it delivered! The windows shook and the cats scurried like mice. After restarting our hearts and turning down the volume, we binged the last couple of Harry Potter films and the soundbar had the spells and incantations zinging off the walls like magic.The Automatic Multi-beam Calibration optimizing the audio quality for my specific room made this soundbar a whole lot of happy with very little fuss. Not a lot of granular control over the audio but at such a great price point the ease of use, deep cat terrifying bass and great clear dialogue I would be absolutely daft to complain.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

13 of 14 found this helpful

Sound is awesome

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 10/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound system

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Crutchfield customer from Stillwater, OK on 10/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice sounding sound bar. If you want to simplify this is a great solution. Was hoping I could use the optical connection for another component in addition to the hdmi for tv, however it will not allow that, it's either one or the other. Like others have mentioned it would be nice to have more controls over the audio, but sounds very good with just sub output control. Would still recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Crutchfield customer from Greer, SC on 10/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fills up our large 28'X20' room with sound. Bass is perfect in the Mid setting and not too boomy. Voice is very clear. 3.1 makes a big difference especially in the British shoes we watch. Sounds great for music streaming too.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Crutchfield customer from San Lorenzo, PR on 8/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

More than what we expected!

Alisa from WISE, VA on 7/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Can I just say, my husband and I were more than pleased with how easy this system was to set up and how amazing it sounded! We have a very small living room so we don't have room for a huge surround sound theater system. Since we really wanted better volume and be able to actually hear the change of pitch in voices during movies and tv programs we decided to give this JBL sound bar and subwoofer a try and let me tell you.....we were NOT disappointed!! As a matter of fact we played with it for about 4 hours immediately by watching parts of movies that we have watched over the years along with some concerts and music videos! We could feel the vibration in our seats when King Kong slammed that T-Rex!! If you have a small room and want big sound this is a great product to get!! You won't be let down! It was so much more than what we expected for the price for sure!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Aurora

Mark from Aurora on 6/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Bought it here back in Nov 2020. Wasn't even on sale when I bought it, so I am especially glad I got it when I did. This is one heck of a soundbar.

Pros: overall solid system.

Cons: worth the price on sale. there are better systems if you plan on spending more full price.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great Buy

Larry from Florence, KY on 6/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

JBL is awesome. So glad Crutchfield sells there products, I have under the tv on the stand and the subwoofer on the other side of the room. Basically it's great for Bluetooth listening, tv and movies. The bass is unreal. Literally sounds like I'm in my car with my 2-12inch subs. Will never think about replacing. Great sound and bass

Pros: Everything

Cons: Wish I could add more subs or speakers from JBL for a better experience

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Ease of installation!

Crutchfield customer from Albany, NY on 6/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The system produces great sound with clear mid-range and a brilliant high end with a very full bass.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Nice sound bar of rmedium size room

Crutchfield customer from Hendersonville, NC on 5/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to set up and has plenty of sound for my room. Mids and tremble are clear and realistic, bass is punchy and full. Surround is no better than you might expect without rear speakers. all considered, 4 out of 5 and

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Crutchfield customer from Ridgewood, NY on 4/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Wow....finally a sound bar with a boom! I love base and this product does it. Had a Klipsch Bar before, it was nowhere close.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Crutchfield customer from Barrow, AK on 4/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Happy

Crutchfield customer from Naperville, IL on 3/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Would like to have an EQ

Pros: Sounds great

Cons: No EQ

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

PRETTY GOOD...BUT

Crutchfield customer from Fort Pierce, FL on 3/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

SOUNDS GOOD BUT I WISH THERE WAS MORE ADJUSTMENT FOR BASS AND MIFRANGE. SETUP WAS FAIRLY SIMPLE.

Pros: SOUNDS GOOD. SUB WOOFFER CAN BE PLACED ANYWHERE.

Cons: NOT ENOUGH MID RANGE OR BASS ADJUSTMENT. SOUNDBAR DOESN'T FIT UNDER MY NEW SAMSUNG 55" TV. HAD TO PUT SPACERS UNDER FEET. WOULD LIKE STRONGER BASS

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Great sound bar at this price point

Crutchfield customer from Leesburg, VA on 3/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I think the JBL Bar 5.1 is a pretty good sound bar for the money. It delivers great sound for my room. My 65" LG OLED has a great picture, but the speakers are small and point down. I was having a real problem hearing the dialog of whatever I was watching. I would turn up the TV so it would be uncomfortably loud, but I still couldn't hear what they were saying. Weird, right? The JBL Bar 5.1 has solved the problem. It has much better speakers pointed right at me, not at the floor, back wall or ceiling. I can hear the dialog clearly without the sound uncomfortably loud. I now also have a good base. I'm not an audiophile, lots of settings to tweak nuances does not appeal to me. It has the basics: turn the subwoofer up or down, volume up/down, input choice. This is what I want. It installed and integrated easily with the TV. Wall mounting brackets are included with a mounting template and hardware. This is a 20 minute max job to install and mount on the wall. It's great for what it is: a $500 level sound bar greatly improving our viewing experience. No, the sound is not as good as those units costing much more. But since my TV is 3 years old, I can't take advantage of some of the latest technology anyway - why pay an extra $400+ for that eARC stuff if I don't have eARC?

Pros: Great sound for the money Installs easily and quickly Includes wall mounting hardware Integrated in with my existing Google Home systems Nearly disappears beneath the TV. Love the wireless subwoofer, which has larger drivers than most other systems as this price point.

Cons: Doesn't do the latest Atmos with object location... blah, blah, blah (neither do I) Good sound, but not totally immersive

Crutchfield response on

8 of 10 found this helpful

Telford

Deborah from Telford on 2/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is my second JBL system from Crutchfield, the first one I have had for several years and it is still going strong.I absolutely Love this soundbar for my 70" Sharp TV that is in a small room! Make sure you measure the sound bar because i did not and it had to go on the second shelf which is fine because my shelf is open so it did not make a difference. The bass is just right for us! Also has a much cleaner look after I got rid of the huge AVR and tower speakers! It was so easy to set up once I realized the soundbar was faced down, that is why I did not see it power up, and I thought something was wrong with it! LOL . Also much better if you use an optical cable as opposed to the HDMI cable.

Pros: great sound and value for the money

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 4 found this helpful

Nice sound.

Crutchfield customer from Reidsville, NC on 2/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

We are enjoying the sound bar and sub. Nice with movies.

Pros: Sounds great. Not stereo loud but nice.

Cons: Directions leave something to be desired.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

best ever

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, OH on 2/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

excellent sound very good dialogue the bass is perfect and it gets really loud.. I noticed that the sound gets better after few days, specially when you use it loud.....

Pros: wow bass gets loud excellent sound clear dialogue

Cons: The Surround Depends on the space

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good soundbar - some tips

Susan from Taos, NM on 2/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The sound quality is good but does not sound like surround sound. For that you will need additional speakers. Also, as many have mentioned, the set up is not clear from the enclosed instructions, but you can download the manual online. I am using this with Google Home so I can listen to music without turning on my TV (I also have music on Roku, but using Google Home to turn on the soundbar and then going to my music app on my phone works great and bypasses, and thus saves, the TV display). Overall I like the soundbar. The other thing to note, though, is that it is a dark grey. In the pictures it looks black but it is not. Also, despite not having built-in WIFI you can set up WIFI on the device using your home network. This was not clear from the description either, as most soundbars do have built-in WIFI. It doesn't seem to make a difference.

Pros: good sound, many options

Cons: unclear set up from instructions, does not substitute for true surround sound

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

My first Crutchfield purchase

Crutchfield customer from Erial, New Jersey on 2/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'm no expert or a audiophile but for the price I think it's a decent setup for your average Joe or Jane. All the usual packed well and shipped fast, setup was pretty easy way better then the cheap tv speakers good bass and I can hear dialogue far more cleaner, so far so good.

Pros: Price, nice remote attractive design.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Banging

Crutchfield customer from Palmyra, ME on 2/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very good surround easy set-up banging sound second JBL product purchased good product

Pros: Connects with tv when turning on the sound is very loud liked color of soundbar and sub woofer

Cons: Visibility of volume control and lack of equalizer adjustment on remote control

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Clarity of the voices is underwhelming

Crutchfield customer from Winter Park, FL on 2/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

My primary purpose for purchasing a sound bar was to hear the voice dialog better. While the overall sound is good, it only allows for 3 bass settings and offers no treble or sound modes to enhance the voices against all the background sound. The quality and quantity of the documentation included in the box is weak. You have to go to the JBL web site and download the user manual to really make it work.

Pros:

Cons: No ability to control the sound of the voices against the other sounds.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Crutchfield customer from Frankton, IN on 2/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

What an amazing sound bar and sun. Sounds great and the bass makes it feel real. It is a great cinema experience for the money.

Pros: Takes up minimal space and great look

Cons: The sun loses connection and have to sync back up

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love our sound system

Guest from Sacramento, CA on 1/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Game changer for us! Amazing theater like sound with great depth. We love it!!!

Pros:

Cons: Nada

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Crutchfield customer from Corona, CA on 1/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound and the bass is amazing

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great

Crutchfield customer from Asheville, NC on 1/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very good sound, great bass and highs. I use it for music and TV. I am very happy with it.

Pros: Overall sound, the whole spectrum

Cons: Tiny bit touchy on set up

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

LANCASTER

GREGG from LANCASTER on 1/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

My son and daughter purchased this for me for as a Christmas gift. This is an awesome soundbar! Simple setup and super great sound. The dialogue is very easy to hear, the sound effects are terrific and the subwoofer is a beast. The soundbar and the subwoofer blend very well. I like that my Roku volume works with the soundbar-- very practical. This seems very well built. There isn't an equalizer but it has the function of customizing the sound for the room you are in. A bonus is that the soundbar sounds great for just music listening. Not all soundbars do! I had been shopping for soundbars and this is a great one at this price point. Buying from Crutchfield means you have expert advice and support. Highly recommended!

Pros: Awesome sound for movies & TV Great sound for music Good balance between soundbar and subwoofer

Cons: Nothing I can say

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Crutchfield customer from Stockton, CA on 1/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Pretty good but after about 1 week of use one of the speakers is clipping

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good price

Crutchfield customer from Vero Beach, FL on 1/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sounding, easy hook up.

Pros: Easy hook up, very good price point. Great sounding overall

Cons: No egualization option.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love it !

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 1/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great power and sound for the price, easy to set up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Crutchfield customer from Alameda, CA on 1/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Updated my TV sound system from 35 year old JBL towers and sub woofer. Excellent sound from modern slim design. Great on line customer service assisting in picking a system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Crutchfield customer from Walled Lake, MI on 1/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound bar the sound is amazing and clarity of voice is great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great sound for the price

Phillip from Cypress, TX on 12/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Simple for the family to use and for the price sounds good for movies. Hooked up to a OLED LG TV. The TV was in an alcove so the sound was muffled without the sound bar. Don't get me wrong, this is not an audiophile type of system but it is a fraction of the cost of our dedicated theater and 2 channel hifi systems. If you are looking for something that just works and sounds surprisingly good for the price, you have found it. Other equipment owned: Focal Maestro Utopia towers, Pass Labs x260.8 monoblocks, Chord DAVE DAC, Chord M-scaler, SOTM trifecta plus Master clock, Sonictransporter I5, MiniDSP SHD Studio, SVS SB16Ultra subs, SVS PB13Ultra subs, Emotiva RMC1, 16 JBL Speakers for Atmos theater, crown amps for theater (CBT 70J-1 + 70JE-1 System and 8330A), Focal Aria 948s, Pass Labs X150 amp and Chord Quetest DAC.

Pros: Easy for family to enjoy Great value for money Uses existing TV remote for volume via ARC HDMI Mount included

Cons: None at this price.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Crutchfield customer from The Colony, TX on 12/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great quality and loud sound, very large sub

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Crutchfield customer from Waynesboro, VA on 12/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

A good sound bar for the price. While it doesn't have a lot of personal adjustments it does give clear voice and better music than a TV will give you. A worth while addition.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Wouldnt reccomend to anyone

Cody from LAHAINA, HI on 12/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I was super excited for this sound bar, it sounds great the bass is great. It's super simple to set up p, meaning it connected to the wireless sub easily and that's where it ends. It doesn't pair well with anything. The HDMI ARC is hit or miss, sometimes it works but most the time it doesn't. I realize this may also be an issue with the TV, however everything else with this thing is a hassle. The interface is horrible, hold this button for 5 seconds while pushing this button. Hopefully the right menu will pop up. I got the Bluetooth to work once, other than that it's impossible to hook up. I had to use the optical cable and just cast to the TV. Hold the arrow button on the bar then push the Bluetooth in the remote and nothing happens. Try it in a different hold sequence, nothing. I am the Purchasing Director at a 5 star resort on Maui and was going to purchase 75 JBL units similar to this but decided to go with a different brand due to this one sucking so bad and not being user friendly. The box was tossed or I would have asked to return it, I don't have a ton of space, hence getting a sound bar, to store a box in case it's this crappy. Oh and I've reset the thing twice already because it just never works.

Pros: Sub hooked up easy

Cons: Poor Bluetooth connectivity Poor user interface Horrible mount design Not many sound adjustments, the sound it makes it what you get.

Crutchfield response on

17 of 24 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround - Love it!

Crutchfield customer from Reston, VA on 12/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Best sound bar and subwoofer with awesome TV and movie surround dynamics. JBL quality is top notch even when compared to sound systems two to three times more expensive.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Richard E from Swansea, IL on 12/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've always used a discrete 5.1 speaker arrangement in my family room, but now I'm fortunate enough to have a dedicated theater room, so my family room doesn't need to be so complicated. This soundbar fits my family room perfectly. I would describe the sound as full or rich, and it does an admirable job of positional audio. It doesn't trick my ears into thinking I have speakers behind me, but it almost makes me feel like I have them beside me. What I find most impressive is how it fills our entire downstairs with music without being too loud to be in the same room with it. My wife has been mainlining Christmas music since the day it arrived! I highly recommend this to anyone looking for a soundbar for a casual listening/viewing arrangement.

Pros: Full sound, good positional audio for a soundbar.

Cons: Can't turn the wi-fi signal off. I don't use Chromecast, so I'd rather not have one more device clogging up my 2.4 GHz spectrum.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Crutchfield customer from Bronx, NY on 12/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This newer version of the 5.1 is much sleeker without the detachable speakers. Sound is crisp and bass is deep and low. No distortion and sounds amazing even at low volume.

Pros: Display comes on only when volume or input is changed, then disappears.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Great

Crutchfield customer from O Fallon, IL on 12/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The JBL 5.1 Surround Bar sounds great, easy to install and setup.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Crutchfield customer from Westfield, IN on 12/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is the perfect sound solution for our downstairs TV, whee there is not a place for rear speakers. Awesome sound from a single bar and a subwoofer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Crutchfield customer from Decorah, IA on 12/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good overall performance for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Crutchfield customer from Bronx, NY on 12/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sounds good but I think it should have a treble button

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

More than satisfied.

Crutchfield customer from Clermont, FL on 12/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The sound system is all that I hoped it would be. I noticed the the bass was more pronounced and the voices more clear. The delivery was quick and the setup time and ease of mounting was great.

Pros: The sound was great and the price was reasonable.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Crutchfield customer from Hilton Head, SC on 12/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound bar with excellent bass. Quick and easy setup.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Powerful Surround Sound in a Two-piece System

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 12/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This speaker bar with subwoofer can really simulate a 5.1 audio system. The bass is not overpowering. It's also a very good alternative to a stereo system. I play my music from my phone via Bluetooth. My only gripe is the very tiny manual.

Pros: Decent sound Contemporary design Moderately priced

Cons: Very small manual pamphlet that's difficult to read

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sound Grows On You

Crutchfield customer from WHITWELL, TN on 11/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Found this on sale. The reviews were good so thought I'd take a chance. Easy to set up. I really like the sub being wireless. My first impression was so-so. It didn't knock my socks off BUT over time watching our favorite movies the sound has grown on me. The bar is very clear and the sub works with it well in the low and mid setting. Any volume up to max is distortion free. Music bluetooth from my Android device connected well but doesn't sound like a true HiFi stereo of old. It's more for home theater. I like the simplicity of it all. Was out of the box and set up in 30 minutes. Using the optical (vs HDMI) from the TV to the bar. Works perfect.

Pros: Simple to set up. No wires to sub. The sound overall is very good.

Cons: Would not pay full price ($499) but $299 yes.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good sound for the money

Crutchfield customer from Colville, WA on 11/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Room calibration is an effective feature for surround performance. I bought this for a compact stand alone audio only system to replace a high powered analog component system. Primary music source is kept on a smartphone, in this digital age.

Pros: Good bass response on wireless sub for the size of the system. Easy wifi setup if you shut down all access points other than your main router. They can be powered back up after the primary router and internet are connected.

Cons: Only equalizer option is for low, medium, high selections on the sub. No control of treble or mid ranges beyond default settings. (Do the room calibration as your final step) No RCA inputs for a CD changer. Bluetooth or USB are only options besides streaming.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great sound, but default settings are not favorite

Crutchfield customer from Albany, OR on 11/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy setup, very good sound quality. My one issue is that the system defaults to a sound setting that enriches the tv program's sound effects. We prefer the normal, non-enriched setting, but it is necessary to change the setting to "standard" every time the system is powered on. My second issue is that upon startup the sound system defaults to "TV" input, and I need to change to "HDMI" input each time. These make the system more cumbersome to use than it could be.

Pros: Very good sound. Easy initial setup. Looks great.

Cons: Cannot "teach" the system my preferred settings; need to reset them each time I power it on.

Crutchfield response on

11 of 12 found this helpful

This soundbar has limitations

Crutchfield customer from Woodstown, NJ on 11/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Lack of an equalizer to tone down highs and increase mids is a weakness with this soundbar. I preferred the mounting system and the sound of the 5.1 with detachable surround speakers but problems with charging made me return and select this replacement. Overall not entirely satisfied with the sound quality.

Pros: Price

Cons: Lack of equalizer Mounting system

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Crutchfield customer from Boca Raton, FL on 11/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

1st off I am a sound engineer for 40 years this is probably one of the best sounding soundbars and subs that I'v Ever heard I've install that so far in 4 different locations and everyone is quite pleased with it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Crutchfield customer from Watsonville, CA on 11/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound bar for a good price! The sound is amazing! Easy to connect to your devices

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice system.

Crutchfield customer from Madison, WI on 11/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I was looking for a replacement for my Onkyo receiver and wired components and on my limited budget, this met my needs. Overall sound is very good. If you have to make any customization, it is hard to see the information through the grill. An App interface would be very helpful and so would some EQ capabilities.

Pros: Good sounding system to replace TV speakers. Great bass. Crutchfield has been amazing. Never again will I go to a big box store. Their ease of purchase, fast shipping and superior customer support have made this purchase fun.

Cons: No App interface or EQ abilities.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Love it Love it Love it.!

Crutchfield customer from Clarksville, TN on 11/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I thought it was just a so so system but im glad I purchased it for my husbands birthday . He loves it and just loves to listen . turns the tv on just to listen to cable music. He is a musician so he knows what he likes and he just loves his JBL.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Francisco from San Juan, PR on 11/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

La barra de sonido, está buena como todos los productos de JBL. Pero, sin su buffer el sonido de la barra no es el mejor.

Pros: El sub buffer se oye muy bien no distorsiona.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL rocks

Crutchfield customer from Plainfield, IL on 11/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sound bar is really nice caught it on sale. The 10 inch subwoofer pounds goes great with my 85 in sony tv. The subs Max's out at 31 or 32 with 0 distortion. I have it set to medium on the soundbar. I would admit I don't think soundbar is worth the full price but if u catch it on sale go for it. Crutchfield service is grade A. I've been dealing with them for over 20 years always looking for a sale or closeout model.

Pros: Sounds awesome happy I went with jbl had 0 issues so far

Cons: The price is a bit steep

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Over my Expectations!!??

Crutchfield customer from Canovanas, PR on 11/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Extremely Great Sound, A High Quality choice.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Crutchfield customer from Parker, AZ on 11/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

great soundbar awesome lows and highs the bass will rattle ur walls

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Good soundbar

Richard from LODI, CA on 11/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Purchased this to go along with our new LG OLED tv in the bedroom. Works OK, but I should have done a bit more homework and purchased a soundbar with eARC capability.

Pros:

Cons: no eARC

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Crutchfield customer from Seaford, DE on 10/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to set up. The sound is great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Crutchfield customer from Waipahu, HI on 10/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent sound easy to setup. Works well with Apple TV only need the apple remote. BT also works well .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Crutchfield customer from East Hartford, CT on 10/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

love the jbl

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Crutchfield customer from Juncos, PR on 9/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This sound bar is amazing. The sound quality is superb. You will not hear distortion at any volume. I love to cast music through all the chromecast speakers in my house and this unit adds the bass I needed. It lacks RCA inputs so is not backwards technology compatible. An overall excellent experience.

Pros: Easy setup Sound quality at any volume Connectivity options Value

Cons: No RCA inputs

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Kisses first ??

Eric from Yucca Valley, CA on 9/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sound bar manufacturers depend on the only sound their product being compared to are the cellulose reflex rear facing speakers in your TV. Harman JBL is no different. I went ahead and laid out this much on this plastic enclosed set thinking it may be comparable to the Polk 5k (yeah, when did that come out? Plus mine was a working demo in a service vehicle in a prior life) that still rocks my house. Soundbars are for poor people and bedrooms, I am a poor person with a bedroom that put this in the living room. Why is this 100P sub bigger than my end tables? Sound is dynamic, oversaturation of bass does not change that. Getting a bump does not require a massive cabinet, Harman was one of the first to teach us this. The bar? Well, go to your local discount store, pair your phone to a Vizio set, put on impossible to eq music then turn it up just before the buzz, that's what the sound quality is on the bar. It sounds like someone took a tiny high resistance amp, 5 small oval speakers and crammed them in a pvc pipe. If you have people to brand drop on, buy this. If you actually enjoy soundscapes, avoid this, unless you're at best buy then make it fall off the shelf....onto the dirty acoustically incorrect floor.

Pros: It says JBL on it

Cons: Everything... seriously

Crutchfield response on

17 of 56 found this helpful

Good small footprint 5.1 Soundbar

Crutchfield customer from Centreville, VA on 7/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good sound bar for a good price if you want a small footprint and good sound output. Was easy to install and connect to my Samsung smart TV. Calibration always fails, but I wonder if that's because our family room is open to our kitchen area and not surrounded by 3 walls. Despite that it outs out good sound.

Pros: Good quality sound Easy install

Cons: Calibration continuously fails, but sound seems fine

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Crutchfield customer from Burlington, NC on 7/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

A great soundbar and sub at a great price! We've got a small room (~15x18) off to the side of our master that we use for evening wind down, and this soundbar fills it up nicely without being overkill. The audio/sound effects/speech is SO much clearer that I'm thinking about another one for our living room! Would absolutely recommend!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Hard to beat deal !

Crutchfield customer from Keaau, HI on 7/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound and the bass from the sub woofer rocks , and comes at an awesome price! Good deal !

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Crutchfield customer from Frederick, MD on 7/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Between the TV speakers and the 510 W soundbar. Hands down, the soundbar

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Works great

Crutchfield customer from Simpsonville, KY on 7/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Crutchfield customer from Medford, NY on 6/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sub works really great, nice bass. Sound bar is average, was expecting better from JBL. Really was expecting more for the money.. If your looking for more sound from your tv invest in a good stereo system..

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 10 found this helpful

Excellent sound system

Felix from Norristown PA on 6/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Exceptional sound quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Crutchfield customer from Kalamazoo, MI on 5/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a small system with a BIG sound. Great for small and medium sized rooms, that classic JBL sound delivers a clean upper range with a boom at the bottom!

Pros: Good price point for high end quality. The fit and finish on the components themselves really stand out.

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Really good sound bar for the money

Crutchfield customer from Albany, NY on 5/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I replaced an older Visio 5.1 Sound bar system with this JBL. I couldn't be more satisfied with the JBL's performance, particularly for the $ paid. It's in a 22' x 14' master bedroom and it fills the room perfectly. Simple to set up, performs as advertised. Highly recommend for just about any size room where a simple sound solution is wanted, great for movie audio.

Pros: Great movie audio Simple setup Plenty of bass Has separate remote

Cons: No treble adjustment, minor issue

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Crutchfield customer from Boynton Beach, FL on 5/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to install. The bar itself sounds great and the sub thumps. No connectivity issues at all.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 the best.

Crutchfield customer from Juana Diaz, PR on 4/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I install in my system and the sound is very nice.

Pros: Excellent system

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Excellent Sound Bar

Crutchfield customer from Loveland, OH on 4/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This soundbar is extremely easy to install - come with brackets even. The sound is excellent and the bass thumps (even has three settings).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Crutchfield customer from Easton, PA on 4/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound. Unbelievable sound from wireless sub!

Pros: Simple setup

Cons: Remote is small. It hides in my cushions.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Crutchfield customer from Johns Island, SC on 3/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I like my New Surround sound jbl alot also adam did a real good job helping me out.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Puede ser mejor. Me esperaba más

Crutchfield customer from Elmont, NY on 2/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Me esperaba un sonido mucho mejor. Tengo tambien la SuondBar JBL 3.1 y al comprar esta 5.1 esperaba una mejora destacable, pero no fue así. Me decepcionó un poco. Ademas que considero que al tener conexión WiFi, se le podría dar mucho más provecho con una app que permita reprodcir dese allí la musica de Spotify, Deezer, etc, y no limitarlo solamente a Chomecast I was hoping for a lot better sound. I also have a Soundbar JBL 3.1 and I was hoping for something remarkably better, but it was not. I was a little disappointed. Also, I thought that because it had a WIFI connection, it would be a lot more beneficial if it had an app that allowed music to be passed from Spotify , Deezer, etc, and wasn't only limited to Chromecast.

Pros: Esteticamente es muy bella la SoundBar Aesthetically the SoudBar looks really nice.

Cons: Poco aprovechamiento a la conexion Wifi El sonido me esperaba algo mejor. It doesn't take much advantage of the Wifi connection. I was hoping for better sound.

Crutchfield response on 2/17/2020
Translation provided by Crutchfield's International Sales & Support team.

3 of 8 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Crutchfield customer from Waverly, IA on 1/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I am very happy with the JBL 5.1. I was leaning toward the Sonos but thought it would be too much for only sound system for listening and TV. The sound is great and hearing for TV is also great. I am going to be 75, so everything doesn't function like it used to.

Pros: Ease of use with its own remote. Another reason I didn't go for the Sonos. Everything on smartphone with them.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 6 found this helpful

Awesome soundbar

Crutchfield customer from Laredo, TX on 1/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

As always JBL brand is quality in audio, excellent sound bar, enough power to hear my music and movies, very happy with my purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Crutchfield customer from Poplar Bluff, MO on 12/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Would not calibrate when I was setting the system up. I have a 2.1 system in another room that sounds better than this 5.1. No adjustments to sound other than low, medium and high on the sub woofer. This one is going back.

Pros: None

Cons: No adjustments other than a low, medium and high on the sub woofer.

Crutchfield response on

14 of 20 found this helpful

JBL Bar 5.1 Surround

Crutchfield customer from Greensburg, IN on 12/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sounds good, has great bass . Definitely good for larger rooms it's gets pretty loud but not screeching loud. It's such a simple design , basic plug and play . Looks clean, sounds clear . Way better than the tech issues I had with the Klipsch bar 48 I sent back in exchange for this . The bar48 sounded great but I always had sub to bar connection issues even after firmware update .

Pros: Bass and sound clarity Looks clean and not as bulky as other bars I've seen and used . Very happy with this buy so far .

Cons: Not really any adjustments or sound modes but you can adjust bass from low ,medium , to high. But bar sounds good so probably don't need any adjusting anyway .

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

10 of 10 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound