Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
514 261 847 3
Connect ID #
514 261 847 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

JBL Bar 9.1

Powered home theater sound bar with wireless subwoofer, wireless surround speakers, and Dolby Atmos®

MFR # JBLBAR913DBLKAM

JBL Bar 9.1

JBL Bar 9.1

Powered home theater sound bar with wireless subwoofer, wireless surround speakers, and Dolby Atmos®

MFR # JBLBAR913DBLKAM

144 reviews
View this product

JBL Bar 9.1

Richard from Montgomery, TX on 1/18/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound is excellent. Install easy.

Pros: Size

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL Bar 9.1

Brian Anthon from Tracy, CA on 1/15/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm not all technical and stuff but I know what I like and I like this system. The sound is great. With the movies and music it sounds great. Nice deep bass and crisp highs and voices nice and clear. Very happy with this purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Dissappointed

R Brock from ROCKVILLE, VA on 1/12/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my 2nd JBL sound bar. Unfortunately, after 3 months of use, the left side top speaker in the sound bar has started to rattle and distort terribly. This hasn't been my experience with JBL in the past.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 1/17/2022
After receiving R. Brock's feedback, we looked up his order and found that his sound bar is still under warranty. While his order is beyond Crutchfield's 60-day return policy, he can contact JBL at 800-336-4525 for further information about the 1-year warranty on this sound bar.

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL Bar 9.1

Crutchfield customer from Presque Isle, ME on 1/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After a week of use, I have no complaints. Sound is crisp, the base is excellent. Appears to be a good choice for most applications.

Pros: Great surround sound

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Soundbar and wireless speakers

Stacey B from Martinsburg, WV on 1/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased this product approximately one month ago. Excellent rating in all areas. Easy purchase, very fast shipping, easy setup, easy operation, and most importantly... GREAT sound. I really can't go into technical specifics as I'm not into specifics, I just know what I like to hear! :)

Pros: Wireless. Easy set up and easy charging of speakers. Great sound (Atmos).

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Removable surrounds are a difference maker!

Bob. from St Petersburg, FL on 11/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Initial "first impressions" review after unboxing, setting up, some brief testing and content watching (I'll try to remember to update this later with more experience): Setup is super simple, I used a HDMI cable to connect to the eARC port on my Sony A80J and have all my inputs connected to the TV. The Google home app had this connected and the firmware updated with almost no intervention from me, all the speakers paired up automatically and all the audio formates (DD, Atmos, etc.) I tested came through and were applied perfectly. If you don't have the ability to run wires or power to rear surrounds I don't think there's a better choice in Soundbars out there. The remote speakers work perfectly, sound much better than expected given their size, connect / disconnect from the bar easily, look nice and really provide a great surround experience. Everyone has already talked about how good the sub is, the remote is pretty weak but thankfully you don't need it very often once setup as either the Roku, TV or universal remote will handle volume changes through the eARC port. I moved from a home with a custom 9.1 setup powered by a Pioneer Elite AVR but in my new place that's just not possible without major renovations so I'm happy to find a great-sounding solution that's so easy and relatively inexpensive.

Pros: Easy to setup, Truly Wireless Surrounds, Great Dialog, Great Bass, Very Loud, Chromecast Streaming

Cons: Remote is poor, No App Control, No Real EQ.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent

Crutchfield customer from Windermere, FL on 11/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good Home theater from JBL. Also the people from Crutchfield give good services.

Pros: Confidence when do shopping

Cons: For me, at this time they not have "Cons".

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL Bar 9.1 Incredible

Crutchfield customer from Northfield, OH on 10/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound from the JBL bar 9.1 is incredible! We are extremely pleased with the product. The true wireless rear speakers gives us the flexibility to move them throughout the room depending on the event or number of people in the space.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Outstanding!!

Crutchfield customer from Decatur, AL on 10/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Took me a while to decide which soundbar I wanted. But after many weeks of reading reviews and contemplating, I decided to go with the JBL 9.1. The choice was not a mistake. Great sounding, easy setup. The separate bass sounds huge!! The detachable wireless surround speakers add that extra wow factor. I am not disappointed, don't think you would be either if you are trying to choose.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

JBL Bar 9.1

Crutchfield customer from Plant City, FL on 10/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome sound and impressive for a soundbar.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JBL Bar 9.1

Crutchfield customer from Racine, WI on 10/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JBL 9.1

Crutchfield customer from Fort Worth, TX on 10/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far its very nice. And it does all that is advertised. I have no complaints. To be able to move the wireless speakers around as needed works well. I just use it for TV. The sound is great.

Pros: Wireless speakers . And it adjust sound just right No need to play with a bunch of adjustments. Low mid and high. Worrh the money so far.

Cons: Connecting to TV wirelessly. Sometimes it does not connect right away. I have a LG TV. But its not a issue. I may use ethernet connection.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Awesome product

Crutchfield customer from Shaker Heights, OH on 10/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very satisfied with this soundbar. Was able to replace a receive an older receiver (without HDMI arc) and multiple speakers with this which is so much more simple to deal with. Detachable wireless rears are great and so far I leave them out for days at a time before recharging. This also integrated very well with my LG C9 TV through eARC so the bar powers on and off with the TV and the LG remote controls the bar. The actual LG remote has a few additional options as needed such as bass level (1-5), rear level (off, low, med, high), Atmos level (low, medium,high), and input choices (TV, Bluetooth, HDMI). Enough choices to let you vary the sound without too many to make it complex. Overall sound is much improved from the LG internal speakers and plenty for a large family room. I thought price was a little high but overall worth it and very happy for the upgrade!

Pros: Simplicity TV integration with eARC Sound quality

Cons: Cost

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

JBL Bar 9.1

Crutchfield customer from Canyon Lake, TX on 10/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Wow

Crutchfield customer from Danville, VA on 10/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I absolutely love this sound bar system. I have had 5 different ones in the past. Easy set up. Wireless speakers are awesome. And I have not had a problem with them disconnecting. Some people dislike the looks of the sound bar, don't see it. Looks great to me. The sound is amazing from the sound bar and the wireless speakers. Sub hits like you want a sub to hit.. DEEP BASS Well worth the money you won't be disappointed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 6 found this helpful

JBL Bar 9.1

Crutchfield customer from Lk Havasu Cty, AZ on 9/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound bars have come a long way. Excellent sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JBL BAR 9.1

Crutchfield customer from New Market, AL on 9/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

sound is amazing!!!!!

Pros: DETACHABLE SURROUND SOUND SPEAKERS IS A PLUS!!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JBL Bar 9.1

Crutchfield customer from Riverbank, CA on 9/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sound and good bass

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JBL Bar 9.1

Crutchfield customer from White Lake, MI on 9/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like the device and the way it sounds for movies. I just wish it didn't turn on every time I turn the TV on. I will be trying to wire it in a different manner more similar to the way my old surround sound was wired. I may lose some integral features but at least will be able to watch the news without the subwoofer on.

Pros: Output power and sound are excellent.

Cons: Don't want it to turn on automatically for watching regular TV.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sound + Simplicity

Stephen H from KNOXVILLE, TN on 9/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had the Bar 5.1 for 2+ years and really enjoyed not having to run wires all over the place since it would have meant cutting into drywall and running wires. I thought the sound was good but I had previously had a dedicated home theater with Atmos and I really liked the spaciousness and pinpoint of sounds. So, when this became available I waited to see the reviews and at first, they seemed underwhelming so I just put the idea aside. However, I saw on YouTube that JBL had updated some components and/or firmware and it looked like that had fixed the main issues so I decided to give it a try. I'll just say that Atmos is definitely a step up in surround than the formats of the past. I'll also say that like the Bar 5.1, this system brings real bass and separation like you would get in a receiver and multiple speakers. I am sure that my old system with speakers all around and in the ceiling was even more so, but not enough to open up my walls and patch drywall. Right now, one of my favorite past times is to listen to some Atmos enabled music and to watch the Atmos 4K Blu-Rays I have (which blow away the 4K Atmos enabled streaming services which are a version of DD+) . Great buy so far.

Pros: Actual good sound for movies and music. Real bass you can feel that is not bloated or boomy. Ease of setup and use. Separate calibrations for speakers on the bar or detached. No need to butcher your walls or string wires around the walls/floors.

Cons: Probably not as spacious as having 9 separate speakers. May have little overhead effects with a really tall ceiling. Would expect the batteries will wear out some day down the road and require replacement which will require a trip back to the factory. Some functions on the remote are not intuitive and require you to read multiple times how to accomplish them.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Awesome bar

Crutchfield customer from Hot Springs, AR on 9/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome sound and love the magnetic surround connections, too cool!

Pros: Magnetic surround speakers that charge and wireless!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Very good

Crutchfield customer from Sarasota, FL on 9/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice overall. Took a couple of calibrations to get the sound right, but ended up well. Disappointed that JBL did not include the ability to adjust the center channel (vocals/dialogue) separately. Surprising for a company I've always admired. Rear speakers last 2 to 3 nights per charge which is roughly 6 hours. Not the 10 hours claimed, but still OK for us. So, we enjoy the sound in our master bedroom. Like I said earlier, it's disappointing the JBL didn't see fit to include any center channel or EQ control. We are enjoying the system and recommend it despite it's couple of shortcomings

Pros: Overall sound, ease of setup, strong bass response

Cons: No control over EQ or vocals

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JBL Bar 9.1

Crutchfield customer from Tuscaloosa, AL on 9/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love it. You don't have to worry about long wires and the sound is amazing. This surround sound is a no brainer!

Pros: Bluetooth No wires Great sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JBL Bar 9.1

Crutchfield customer from Monkton, MD on 9/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to set up. I haven't even looked at the online user manual which I should get to soon. Bought with a new 4K tv that has pretty good sound but the JBL is far superior. Need to read the manual to understand all the features.

Pros: Wonderful sound Subwoofer sound is subtle, which is perfect.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JBL Bar 9.1

Crutchfield customer from Suffolk, VA on 9/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's ok, for$1000 I really thought it would have cleaner sound. I'm a little disappointed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

JBL Sound Bar

Crutchfield customer from Templeton, IA on 9/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quick shipment. Pricing same as other competitors, but the shipping was much quicker than others would have been. Sound bar is working great, and really being used by us too.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

The super sound bar

Crutchfield customer from San Juan, PR on 8/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excelent sound bar from JBL. I'm in love of it. The best in price. Great sound and look.

Pros: Worth every dolar.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent Dolby Atmos System

Crutchfield customer from FOLSOM, CA on 8/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent Dolby Atoms System.. Nicely shipped, the setup was easy. Comes with a manual and instructions are clear to perform the calibration. I was amazed how this sounds. I stream the movies on TV(HBO MAX, Apple TV, Netflix) when the Atmos content is detected, the output is amazing, I feel the theatre effects in the living room. Works fine with 5.1 too. Mind blowing sound and room shaking bass. The battery on surround speakers last for two days for my use.You can adjust Bass/Rear/Atmos using the remote only, No app is available. I did not notice wireless connection issues for rear or sub, I hide my sub behind the couch. It's been 3 months and works fine. Bar5.1 vs JBL 9.1 If you are thinking which one to buy like I did? I tried bar 5.1 as it was half the price. But I liked JBL 9.1, it has great sound quality than Bar 5.1. I would say spend little extra for Immersive Surround Sound.

Pros: Dolby Atmos effects Immersive surround sound effects Bass Detachable speakers Design

Cons: No app to control the bar

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

So far, very impressed!

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, KY on 8/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been using it for over a week, it is a major upgrade from my Bose solo 15/10. Easy to set up, feels solid, love the disconnecting surround sound speakers. Only complaint, it is just a black bar-nothing aesthetically pleasing about it. But, I guess you have spend another grand to get something like that in a sound bar.

Pros: Sound-top notch. Easy to use. Love the surround sound speakers.

Cons: It is just get'r done black.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL Bar 9.1

Crutchfield customer from Lk Havasu Cty, AZ on 8/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

When I received the JBL sound bar it was pretty impressive. JBL should made the instructions in larger print. I noticed on the instructions sheet it showed end caps for the sound bar and the speakers. When I called customer service that there were no end caps, they explained in certain areas they don't provide in caps. That comment did not makes sense to me. The system did not look good and I wish to return them. The same day they give me return shipping instructions. I thought for a moment I will call JBL and as for customer service. JBL sent the caps at no cost to me and Crutchfield. I called your customer service and I told him what happen. I've been doing business with you for a long time. I feel your customer service should've done something for me instead of me doing the work. Thank you

Pros: You're still a great company.

Cons: Improve on your customer service.

Crutchfield response on 8/17/2021
We were sorry to hear about this customer's experience with our Customer Support team. We're forwarding this on to our Customer Support supervisors, so they can look into it. We strive to provide the best service, before, during, and after your purchase, and it looks like we missed the mark this time. We hope he gives us another chance to prove we're the best in the business.

3 of 6 found this helpful

JBL Bar 9.1

Crutchfield customer from Toa Baja, PR on 7/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and great service, thank you!!

Pros: Reliable

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent Sound System

Glenn from Waterford, CT on 7/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent surround system without any wires to finagle for back speakers. The rear speakers are super easy; just pull from the bar and place behind your seating. It's that easy! With great sound effects. I recommend this JBL system with a 5 star review.

Pros: Great surround system. Super easy to use.

Cons: Can not expand system by adding more speakers.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL Bar 9.1

Crutchfield customer from San Jacinto, CA on 7/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The best surround bar I've ever owned, the deep base is like no other.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL Bar 9.1

Crutchfield customer from Chester, VA on 7/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome sound system! The detachable speakers are EVERYTHING!!!

Pros: Detachable speakers

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Dont buy without knowing

Crutchfield customer from Whittier, CA on 7/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound is great. The bass kicks butt. But, the worst design ever. The detachable speakers don't charge in the unit. Maybe mine is bad, but you literally have to remove them and charge them like a cell phone. Horrible.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

I got a lemon

Crutchfield customer from Winona, MN on 6/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Equipment worked great for the first week, then the system got stuck on "Load". I called Crutchfield, and they report that nothing can be done when this happens, so I need to return the sound bar. I've read of this happening to others, so I won't repurchase this product.

Pros: Sound was great while it lasted.

Cons: Product was a lemon.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

JBL Bar 9.1

Crutchfield customer from Leonardtown, MD on 6/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worth the buy!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL Bar 9.1

Crutchfield customer from Belen, NM on 6/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, far exceeded my expectations. Previous system was an Infinity Primus and this doesn't come close to the surround experience with the JBL 9.1. Worth the money if you like sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Not Worth the Price....

Crutchfield customer from Omaha, NE on 6/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The satellite removeable speakers on the end of the bar are a Joke. Sound like crap. This unit JBL Bar 9.1 is extremely over priced. Buyer beware.

Pros: Sub Woofer is OK.

Cons: High Range sounds tinny. Satellite speakers are a joke. Way over priced for what you are going to get.

Crutchfield response on 7/6/2021
We're sorry you're disappointed with your sound bar. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

1 of 2 found this helpful

JBL Bar 9.1

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, VA on 6/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This system is sleek, loud, crisp, and bassy. I am very happy with my purchase so far.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Love it!

Freddy from Austin, TX on 6/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound quality of this bar has been far superior to our previous LG bar. The convenience of the surround speakers is a huge improvement in our ability to actually hear dialogue clearly over other noises in considering the open space between kitchen and living area. Love this bar so far.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Lots of boom for the room

Crutchfield customer from Atlanta, TX on 6/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great system. Not disappointed. Love the sound. Movies,TV, music all sounds great. Easy set up. Fast shipping. Great customer service. Crutchfield has it all. No need to go anywhere else. This JBL 9.1 is perfect sounding.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

??

Crutchfield customer from Saint Cloud, FL on 6/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quite satisfied with Crutchfield recommended sound bar for my size room

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL Bar 9.1

Crutchfield customer from Elm City, NC on 5/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exceeded expectations! Easy set up & great sound. Was having trouble with current surround set up (receiver & speakers 2015). Wanted something simpler, as now am 77, wireless & with great sound! Did research on line & Crutchfield videos & settled on JBL 9.1 sound bar. Called Crutchfield for input also before ordering from them ( not first time purchase). Lane gave me other selections, but agreed that the 9.1 was a better choice for me. Received sound bar 2 days later & my oldest son removed receiver led speakers & a rat's nest of tangled auto cables.( big job as cables ran under house & everywhere) Just cut cable too, so those cables were removed as well. Now have streaming & over the air tv & a great easy to use sound bar! Don't get any better than this! Thanks to JBL, fire stick & Crutchfield. Ashley E Robbins, jr

Pros: Everything in review!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JBL Bar 9.1

Crutchfield customer from Austin, TX on 5/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Soundbar is fantastic so far. Sounds great and looks great. Love the ability to have true wireless surround sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

JBL Bar 9.1

Crutchfield customer from Longs, SC on 5/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound from a set of tiny speakers. The Atmos and surround seem to work even in my great room likes the truly wireless surround speakers (battery powered) two things kept me from rating 5 stars. Calibration always failed no matter what I did or how I positioned the speakers. So I just adjusted manually. I was very unhappy with the fact that the blue tooth was receive ONLY as I was accustomed to using my Bose headphones at night.

Pros: Good sound plenty loud enough Bass good

Cons: calibration failure and no blue tooth transmit

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Awesome clarity

John from Pittsburgh, PA on 3/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The JBL 9.1 definitely delivers the wow factor I was looking for. Goes great with my 85" tv., also bought from Crutchfield. Bluetooth devise is incredible thru this speaker. Love it!!

Pros: Clarity, bass and surround .

Cons: Price is a bit high. But once you hear it, you'll be glad you bought it.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JBL Bar 9.1

Crutchfield customer from Lancaster, PA on 3/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound and input options. A few minor inconveniences that hold it back from truly being the best out there, such as interface and lack of an app. But for the price and simplicity, it delivers a lot of versatility.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sparky

Crutchfield customer from Jasper, GA on 3/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is by far the best sound bar I've run across yet! The subwoofer is below par, maybe due to the speaker is pointing down and I have it on the carpet? The detachable speakers makes all the difference for a true surround sound environment.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JBL Bar 9.1

Crutchfield customer from Harlingen, TX on 3/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install and great sound! Love that the small speakers come are completely wireless and can be placed any where.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

This soundbar is awesome!

Crutchfield customer from Bloomington, IL on 3/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The amount and quality of sound that you get from this soundbar is amazing! The convenience of removing the rechargeable rear speaker (which pack a ton of sound) and placing them where you need them is unmatched. Definitely immerses you in a bubble of sound.

Pros: Easy setup.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Very nice Soundbar

Crutchfield customer from Albany, OR on 3/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds really Great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Powerful punch in a small package

Crutchfield customer from San Tan Valley, AZ on 3/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The JBL Bar 9.1 kit is very unique with the two detachable speakers. It really does bring the immersive feel back into movies without the wires and mess. Simple room calibration and remote. Only wish it had an app or more control for fine tuning.

Pros: Powerful, simple and effective

Cons: Lack of fine tuning

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Excellent Sound Bar

Crutchfield customer from Saint Paul, MN on 3/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed to reduce clutter, complexity and number of remotes. After a discussion with Ace at Crutchfield, I purchased this to take the place of a Def Tech 3.1 ProCinema/Pioneer Elite system. As an upgrade from the TV sound alone it is a 10 out of 10. As replacement for a small 3.1 I was surprised to find it is a 9 out of 10. Based on my impression there will be a JBL sound bar in the bedroom soon. Excellent option if the constraints listed above apply.

Pros: Sounds good. Dialog clear. Surround effects surprisingly good. Sub blends well with system. Detachable rear speakers a nice feature that work well. Passable for playing music.

Cons: App does not connect or recognize system. Set up is not necessarily intuitive. Getting some features like delay to adjust is tricky.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JBL Bar 9.1

Crutchfield customer from Fairfax, VA on 3/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Delivers great surround sound. Easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JBL Bar 9.1

Crutchfield customer from Towson, MD on 2/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far I am happy with the product and especially the service I received from Crutchfield. The instructions for set up leave a bit to be desired (yes, I am 60) and there is a major glitch with one movie on HBO max. However, with Netflix and Amazon it works great. Sound also good for music. Easy to use with apple.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JBL Bar 9.1

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, IN on 2/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound ..easy setup...would recommend

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

bassheads will love this

Crutchfield customer from Canyon Country, CA on 2/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything I was hoping for when I sought out to buy something with bass that would be able to shake my walls. The subwoofer absolutely surpassed my expectations. Surround sound is amazing. Makes you feel engulfed inside the action. detachable rear speakers was the cherry on top. Well worth the price tag. jbl never disappoints

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JBL Bar 9.1

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 2/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ground shaking bass, sound effects from such a compact system is AWESOME! Entire family is revisiting movies to feel the full effect of Dolby Atmos.

Pros: Good value compared to other systems

Cons: wider sound bar to increase front sound field

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AWESOME

Crutchfield customer from Baltimore, MD on 2/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great company - overnighted it in the midst of a snow storm and still received it the next day. The only place that had stock. I first ordered it from another retailer online. Drove 1 hr each way to pick it up and they said sorry it must have been a mistake. I got a refund, but was quite upset because I wanted it then. Crutchfield came through for me. It was even delivered by 11am!!! I am so very pleased. My new go to for electronics and I will recommend them to everyone.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Impressive Sound, Bad Remote Choices

Steve from EUGENE, OR on 2/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had the JBL 9.1 for a couple of days now so here's some quick first impressions. Setup of the actual bar was fast and easy. There's no dedicated app for the bar, but you use Google Home to connect it to your WiFi which was fine. Plug it in and follow the 2 step directions for running the calibration and that's about it. Making sure all my devices have the proper settings to ensure I'm getting the best possible unimpeded sound going to the bar is the most difficult part. There's so many variables and if one thing in the chain is wrong, boom, no Atmos or no DTS. It's not the soundbars fault, it's just the way audio is. Lots of Googling and expirementing and a couple of hours later I was good to go. Overall it's a great soundbar with very impressive bass, Atmos playback and overall sound quality. The bass is clear, the dialog is crisp and the rears are powerful. The Atmos effect is fantastic. It's my first experience with Atmos not on headphones so I might just be easy to impress but it definitely sounds like you're right in the middle of the sound. The wireless rears work fine so far, no cutouts and they sound fantastic. The charge lasts quite a bit. I only ever got down to 80% so far and that was after about 6 hour of continuous use. It's not perfect. For $1000 it could be a bit more refined with a better remote, more robust EQ settings (There's really no EQ, just Smart mode and Standard mode) and more HDMI inputs, but it's still overall very impr

Pros: Pros: -Setup very easy. -Room correction works well and is easy enough to run. -Rear speakers are truely wireless and easy to set up anywhere in your room. -Charge on rear speakers seems to last what they say, maybe longer. -Sound is incredible. Atmos effect is there on Atmos content. Bass is clear and not overpowering. Rears sound clear. Dialog is clear and easy to hear. Overall very pleased with the sound quality.

Cons: -The remote could be so much better. There's essential functions like EQ settings and audio sync hidden behind secret button combos that are simply just a pain to try to get to work. The fact I have to have a cheat sheet just to switch EQ settings is ridiculous on a $1000 bar. Put dedicated buttons on the remote for these essential functions. -only one HDMI input. Again at this price point it would be nice to at least have 2. -no dedicated app. A phone app with a remote would be nice.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

True "Surround" sound!

Crutchfield customer from Stroudsburg, PA on 2/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound coming from these speakers is incredible. The system was easy to set up and sounds great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL Bar 9.1

Crutchfield customer from Taunton, MA on 2/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to set up and use. The sound is crisp. Was a very affordable system. Extremely satisfied so far.

Pros: Ease of use. Quality of sound.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Just Blistering.

Geoffrey from Massapequa Park, NY on 2/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the JBL 9.1 a week ago, I haven't shut it off yet. I swapped the Klipsch bar48, purchased it a year ago and had to replace it 3 times already because of connectivity issues with the surrounds. JBL by far is a better buy, definitely worth the money. Dialogue is very crisp even at high volumes. The low end theory is earth shattering, it's not boomy or muffled at all. The sound overall is awesome. I have it set up in a room with a vaulted ceiling. The sound does not get lost or drowned out. Very impressed.

Pros: overall sound connectivity chromecast, wifi

Cons: no external sub output

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Worth it.

Crutchfield customer from Alexandria, VA on 2/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good sound bar, but like most everyone says you do miss the EQ capabilities. Its other pros outweigh that con so I'd still recommend it. Another common complaint was that it's not great for hearing dialogue. The only time I noticed that issue was for Tenet, but I've read that was an issue with the movie not the sound bar so that concern remains to be seen. Otherwise, it's sleek, compact, and the detachable speakers and very convenient. The sub also packs a punch.

Pros: Sleek, wireless speakers, solid subwoofer.

Cons: Missing EQ

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Amazing! Impressed! A Must Have!

Crutchfield customer from Fresno, CA on 2/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

AMAZING, I bought this JBL system with out ever hearing it in person and let me tell you it surpassed my expectations by alot! I can't say enough about this system, the wireless rear speakers are amazing with clear accurate sound and when it comes to the sound and output of the 10" wireless sub I was MORE THEN IMPRESSED. I fully recommend this setup to anyone looking for an amazing system the is fully wireless and the a there like sound! BUY IT!

Pros: Clean crisp sound! Easy setup! Accurate and deep bass! Being all wireless and self charging!

Cons: I have nothing!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Would not buy again

Jacqueline from BROOKLYN, NY on 2/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's always turning off. Would not buy again.

Pros:

Cons: If you don't use it for like 5 mins it turns off.

Crutchfield response on 2/15/2021
Jacqueline, we're sorry you're having issues with your soundbar. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 4 found this helpful

JBL Bar 9.1

Crutchfield customer from Sarasota, FL on 2/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The bass is outstanding and the surround sound is amazing

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Low end kicks bASS!

Crutchfield customer from Pensacola, FL on 2/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a fantastic option for wireless surround sound. The low end kicks bASS! :)

Pros: Low profile. Articulate. Great bass. Easy to install.

Cons: None we have found.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Had no idea a soundbar could be this good

Crutchfield customer from Seattle, WA on 2/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First, the background so you can evaluate my comments. For many years I have wanted a robust 5.1 sound system, and I've been repeatedly frustrated. For a long time in my previous house I was unable to string wires to the rear speakers. I built in three excellent wall speakers (Martin Logan) on the wall next to my TV, and those alone produced great sound, especially when combined with a subwoofer. But I still found it impossible to hook up rear speakers without running wires, which was prohibited by my spouse. Tried Denon's Heos system but it was unreliable, and I gave up on it. Now I'm remodeling a new house and finding it will be prohibitively expensive to hard-wire a pair of rear speakers. So I turned to the idea of a soundbar and decided to try it out in the rental where I'm living. The reviews and descriptions of the JBL 9.1 ticked all the boxes. When I got it unpacked after fast shipping from Crutchfield, I found setup was amazingly easy and even while the subwoofer stayed in the box the sound was light years ahead of the TV speakers we'd been using for the past year. With the subwoofer and rear speakers, we're hearing things in ordinary TV shows that we never noticed before. I streamed a few movies reputed to have excellent surround sound, and I found the JBL to be amazing. The only downside is that the right and left front soundstage is not especially pronounced. But center channel intelligibility is superb.

Pros: Fills a room with sound. Rear speakers extremely convenient. Subwoofer, even at lowest volume level, is plenty powerful. Fantastic clarity from the center front speaker.

Cons: Right and left soundstage is weak. Remote control is skimpy on buttons, requiring strange combinations for some functions.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Simple and easy to use, sounds awesome

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 1/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This setup has room filling sound with gobs of bass. I only use the bass on level 3 because levels 4 and 5 really rumble the house. I played with many Atmos titles and found that it is true to creating a surround and overhead experience. I even turned down the rears to low for some titles because the effect at mid and high is really dominating. The ease of use is great, just calibrate once which takes like 30 seconds and then your up and running. The simplicity of the remote and functions may turn off some, but for my non technical family members, I like the set it and forget it functionality, no complications for them to use the system. A really great surround system in an aesthetically pleasing package.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

JBL Bar 9.1

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, SC on 1/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After reading all the reviews on the jbl 9.1 surround sound and after searching for the right sound bar, I purchase this unit and I am total happy with this product. the wireless rear speakers are amazing, the setup was easy, the sound quality is amazing. the low profile sound bar looks great as well, the base sound will fill any room, I recommend this jbl sound bar

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best soundbar ever

Crutchfield customer from Pinckney, MI on 1/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We have had several different sound bars and this one is by far the best. The wireless speakers that disconnect are the best. Place them anywhere you want, or install shelves for easy placement like we did. Can't wait to watch the super bowl this year.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect soundbar and surround

Crutchfield customer from Washington, DC on 1/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy setup, took no time at all and doesn't require its own app. Satellite speakers are low profile and truly wireless. Bass speaker is much bigger than other bass speakers I've seen. Great quality, but I was surprised. Ordered open box from Crutchfield and couldn't be happier.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Theatre like sound.

Crutchfield customer from Nampa, ID on 1/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an amazing soundbar and subwoofer. It was easy to set up and it provides theatre like sound. Love it!

Pros: Easy to set up and great sound.

Cons: A bit pricey.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very muddy vocals

Crutchfield customer from Lowell, AR on 1/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you're hoping for great family movie nights, get something else. I have owned and used this product for the better part of a year. The equalization is way off and cannot be fixed. Dialogue is very difficult to understand.

Pros: Great bass, wireless speakers, HomeKit compatible, hdmi 2.1

Cons: Very difficult to understand dialogue.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Decent

Crutchfield customer from Ormond Beach, FL on 1/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had the Jbl 9.1 for 30 days. It fills the room with sound. Especially the bass. So it does a great job. The thing I don't line is the high pitch treble is missing. So you have to increase the volume to hear the words spoken in movies. That's ok, but the wife doesn't like that. I think it could be corrected if jbl gave you the ability to increase center channel volume. I looked at the so is arc. More $ though. So, will stick with this. By the way, I do not have connectivity issues with rear speakers that others have talked about.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Can't hear dialog well!

Crutchfield customer from Gaithersburg, MD on 1/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

At most, I would give the JBL Soundbar 9.1 one to two stars. I've had the product for several weeks and used it everyday, have played with the features, customized the sound (as much as it would allow), and I'm still not getting good sound. Here's the issue: The soundbar defaults to a "rich sound" feature every time you turn it on. Problem is that when this feature is on, it is difficult to hear what people are saying since the background sound is pumped up so much. Great bass and rich sound effects aren't worth it if you can't understand what people are saying in a movie. I spoke with a Crutchfield technician and they were unable to help, as the only customizable sound adjustment is a bass adjustment that is pre-programmed in the remote. So, this means I'm relegated to manually turning off the "rich sound" feature EVERY time I turn my TV on. My kids no longer want to watch TV in the room that this bar is hooked up to because they can't hear the dialog clearly. On a side note, I also purchased another sound bar at the same time as the JBL Bar 9.1. While both bars are comparable in price, the other bar is FAR superior to the JBL. Totally customizable sound right from the remote. Great bass, great sound, AND I can hear every word. So, while I purchased this product primarily for the wireless surround sound feature (which works great), for me, this product isn't worth the money given the problems with hearing dialog over the rich

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 1/20/2021
We're sorry you're disappointed with your sound bar. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

4 of 5 found this helpful

sound fills my rooms

Crutchfield customer from Decatur, GA on 1/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

this soundbar is very impressive. the sound not only fills the room, but it fills surrounding rooms and my hallway as well. The detachable speakers are a stroke of genius. I connected the soundbar to my xbox one via optic cable and the sound is pretty good. JBL 9.1 is gettinit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Can't wipe silly grin off my face!

Crutchfield customer from Ithaca, NY on 1/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product has exceeded my expectations and I highly recommend. Granted, my 25+ y/o component system isn't the best reference point. Still, I've tried to do my homework. The bar is paired with new LG OLEDCXPUB TV with eARC support. At day-to-day TV volume, sound is wider and deeper than TV, localized to the far half of my long-ish living space (30'x18', with 8' ceilings). Dialogue is prominent for og ears. With a little bump in volume, the room fills nicely. The build is solid and begs you to turn it up, but I can't even approach the top end. I'm equally impressed with the precision and range in music playback that I was missing. Bass is massive yet refined--the sub and bar blend well (even with sub offset 7ft to one side). Detach the surround speakers and enter goofy-grin mode. My wife is less thrilled--apparently the sound often drags my rear-end to the centered recliner. Totally immersive with great detail all around the room (surrounds ~25' away from bar, wireless connection perfect). Bass and surround level controls are adequate to find the right balance for varied media. However, would love if you could raise and lower levels infinitely without the split-second interruption in sound. Still, I am grateful for the adjustment (and getting better at guessing levels up front). Surround speakers did not seem to hold a charge at first, so I plugged them in once via USB to full charge and now they seem to be working as advertised. Crutchfield experience was outstanding!

Pros: Powerful, refined system Easy connection, set-up Wireless surrounds/sub provide flexibility and sound great

Cons: Bass and surround EQ controls are welcome but clunky. Levels only go up (i.e. 1>2>...5 then cycle back to 1) and there is a brief pause in sound with each adjustment. So, you may have to interrupt the sound experience several times to find the right balance.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Extremely impressed!

Crutchfield customer from Mt Washington, KY on 1/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

From the moment I opened the box; I've been completely impressed w/the 9.1. It was very easy to set up and connect to my entertainment system. The surround sound, with back speakers behind us, is truly impressive. Even my wife is impressed by it's performance...and that's saying something! We have a fairly large family room and this bar completely fills the room, with amazing audio. Even with music streaming; this bar produces great sound. I've also been very impressed at the ease of integration, with my Google Home system. After 2 weeks of use, in a variety of modes; I love this sound bar. A great choice!

Pros: Easy set-up, out of box Easy integration w/Google Home Great sound; especially w/rears behind Design and appearance - very nice Rear speaker battery life - fine, so far

Cons: None yet, after 2 weeks of usage

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Product

Crutchfield customer from Wilmington, NC on 1/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome sound ! The detachable cordless speakers make the system very versatile. Movies and concerts are amazing!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL Bar 9.1

Crutchfield customer from Pelzer, SC on 1/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great overall sound quality. Service from Crutchfield was second to none, i highly recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Amazing sound bar!

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 1/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome sound bar. Amazing sound quality coming from a sound bar. Couldn't be happier! Crutchfield is awesome! Only place in stock and shipped quickly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL Bar 9.1

Crutchfield customer from River Vale, NJ on 1/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and an easy set up!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Happy Man n Happy Wife

Crutchfield customer from New Plymouth, OH on 1/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unbelievably fast service!!!! This was shipped the night we ordered. Another retailer is the one who told us about this sound bar, with high recommendations, however, they told us it was sold out everywhere because of the high demand. Well, this product was googled and low and behold, Crutchfield had it in stock!!!!! Unbelievable, at the same sale price ,that other retailers had it for!!!!! Wonderful sound bar!!!!!! Great quality!!!!!! Did I mention free shipping and sent out that night!!!!!!!!! Highly recommend Crutchfield!!!!!!! You made by husband a very happy man!!!!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best Soundbar Ever

Crutchfield customer from Evansville, WI on 1/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely love it! The detachable speakers are genius!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL 9.1 Soundbar

Crutchfield customer from Corpus Christi, TX on 1/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Disappointing. Speakers do not hold a charge. At one point, lost sound even while mounted to main soundbar. I'll give them another week or two, but then I'm sending them back.

Pros: Service from Crutchfield is impressive so far in dealing with the problem.

Cons: Speakers do not hold a charge. At one point, lost sound even while mounted to main soundbar.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Amazing Home Theater Sound

Timothy from Fort Wayne on 1/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing Home Theater Sound, best wireless surround system on the market hands down... great investment for the home theater room! Family loves it and so do I!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL Bar 9.1

Crutchfield customer from Upham, ND on 1/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice sounds great don't need stereo anymore tv sounds great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL Bar 9.1

Crutchfield customer from Roseville, CA on 1/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Quality System

Crutchfield customer from Alpharetta, GA on 1/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Went to another retailer intending to buy the Samsung Q60T sound bar system and left trying to find an in stock JBL Bar 9.1. Crutchfield had it in stock, so I bought it. Sound quality is almost on par with my SONOS system and the bass response of the JBL may even be better. The JBL is about one half the cost of the SONOS system. Items of note: Rear channel speakers can be powered by a mini usb plug (not included), meaning that you do not have to continually dock the rear channel speakers to the sound bar for charging. Instructions are poorly written in my mind. The easiest set-up is simply connecting your tv to the sound bar with an optical cable and turning your tv's internal speakers off. Note that this may limit some of the speaker's functionality however. Bottom line, sound bar systems are better from companies that have been in the sound business for a long time like JBL.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love this sound system

Crutchfield customer from Aliso Viejo, CA on 1/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome sound system! Took a couple tries to complete the first step of the auto calibration, but just needed to make sure the rear speakers had a clear line of sight to the soundbar. From there it's been great for the past couple weeks so far. Subwoofer is really powerful, can't go higher than level 2 or 3 in our apartment.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Product, Easy Set Up, Completely Integrated

Crutchfield customer from Palm Coast, FL on 1/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy set up. Make sure you plug into HDMI Out direct from the TV.. Great sound. Easily connects to other bluetooth items (iphone) for playing music. Love how the side/rear speakers separate and go back together. My tv is 82" Samsung Q7.. Everything completely integrated (so my wife can use easily also).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Disapointing soundbar from JBL :-(

ALEJANDRO from MONTGOMERY, IL on 1/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So I just got this bar and have been playing with it for a couple days now. Initial impressions: In my opinion, this system does not live up to JBL build quality, appearance. The detachable surround speakers are a bit clunky and the execution, when separated from the bar, comes across as half-baked--both aesthetically and sonically. Sound quality impressions: Initial sound is NOT pleasing. After calibration, things improve somewhat. Although the bass is punchy (from the sub), and the midrange is satisfyingly detailed and full, there is some lack of upper range, particularly noticeable when listening to music content. Video is acceptable, though there is something missing from dialogue--it just does not sound as good as a traditional 5.1 setup. Regular use impressions: The bar itself is relatively light and easy to place and the wireless sub is great because you do not even think about it after the initial setup, except when it is used to reproduce the deeper bass on movie tracks or music like EDM or rap. The surrounds, though, are a pain and do not seem to hold a charge for very long, so they are not very useful and again, feel like a half-baked idea in need of further development. As they are, in my opinion, they represent more of a gimmick than an actually useful feature.

Pros: Great sound stage and midrange presence Great 3D effect when it works Great subwoofer

Cons: Muddy upper frequency range; missing range Gimmicky and finicky detachable surround speakers Needs additional tweeters or better frequency management

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Great Sound Bar and Sub

Crutchfield customer from Lehi, UT on 12/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, fast shipping, and a great price. I cannot complain at all about this sound bar. I compared it to the more expensive brand and I felt that this was a better selection. I am thrilled with this purchase!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Amazing sound, glitchy connection

Tyler from Weaverville, NC on 12/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really couldn't be happier with the sound quality on these, and this would be an easy 5 star review if it wasn't for the persistent connection issues. When on streaming services such as Netflix or Hulu, the sound completely cuts off for 3-5 seconds at a time, sometimes every few minutes, sometimes more than twice a minute. This is not an issue when connected via Bluetooth (on my phone, for example), but when the system is plugged into my TV via HDMI eARC, this happens regularly. Bought a month ago and has been happening regularly since. If it weren't for this issue, this system would be amazing all around - but this is almost a complete deal breaker.

Pros: Sound quality Durability Ease of use

Cons: Connectivity issues

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Decent

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 12/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Decent sound bar. Fair clarity of mid range/center speaker. Rear speakers are not very powerful due to wireless setup. Lacks ability to change crossover frequencies for the sub and no equalizer

Pros: Loud bass Atmos works well eARC and 4k 120hz compatible

Cons: Can't adjust settings like sub crossover or equalizer. Battery life is poor. Interacts poorly with xbox series x- when using headset the audio does not detect from the speaker and has an awful issue where the audio skips on and off multiple times a second

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

JBL Bar 9.1

Crutchfield customer from St Augustine, FL on 12/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound is great, easy to set up. Love the detached rear speakers for real surround sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sounds great

Crutchfield customer from Hollywood, FL on 12/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I haven't had a surround sound system in years because of space and logistical restrictions. I took a gamble on this type of system because I didn't think it would work well. Boy am I glad I was wrong. Tried this out with some action movies like The Matrix and John Wick 3 and I was beyond impressed. Everything sounded great. I heard what I was supposed to hear behind me. Dialogue was crisp and clear. Bass was impressive. Music plays very well too. Also it integrates pretty seamlessly in an Apple device environment (uses Airplay 2 so any Apple device on the network can see it) I recommend this to anyone who can't have a full "real" surround sound system. Heck, this JBL sounds better than my huge wired Yamaha system from 20 years ago.

Pros: Great sound Compact Easy to set up Compatible with Apple devices Dolby 5.1 and Atmos compatible

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL Bar 9.1

Crutchfield customer from Phoenix, AZ on 12/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great soundbar!!! Multiple uses as a regular TV speaker or as a surround bar for watching movies. Great for playing movies. The subwoofer is very accurate & realistic.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL Bar 9.1

Crutchfield customer from Pocono Pines, PA on 12/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks great below the 77" LG TV. Easy set-up with incredible sound/base, Everyone who hears it comments on the sound quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great service

Crutchfield customer from Wynnewood, PA on 12/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with the sound bar. Extremely happy with the speedy delivery and support. Thank you cCrutchfield. This was my first order from, but definitely will not the last. GREAT SERVICE

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Ron

Crutchfield customer from Berlin, MD on 12/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I put this on an 85inch Samsung and it is truly like being in the theater. Breath taking is an understatement. We love it.

Pros: Loud, crisp, room shaking bass.

Cons: Have to sometimes work on the audio video lag.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great soundbar, but two problems

Crutchfield customer from Baltimore, MD on 12/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound. Love the rechargeable wireless rear speakers. Easy setup. But sound stops after tv has been turned off and later turned back on. Per multiple online forums, this is a common issue and workaround is to unplug power cord for several seconds and plug back in. But obviously this is extremely frustrating but only solution so far (it's hooked up to a Sony X900H TV).HDMI cables are new and high speed and not the issue. Also, occasional loud static comes through for a second when changing inputs. Loud enough that it scares my dog each time this happens (about 50% of the time). Other than those two aggravating issues compounded by the price paid (deducted two stars), it's amazing.

Pros: Amazing Sound Form factor Detachable, rechargeable wireless rear speakers Easy setup

Cons: Sound doesn't come back on every time tv is turned off. Need to unplug power cord and plug back in (this is a known issue per online forums). For reference, they're connected to a Sony X900H television. Static feedback occasionally when changing TV inputs

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

JBL Bar 9.1

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 12/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best sound bar ever! When I first heard it at a store I was on the other end of the store, that's how loud it was! Love the Dolby experience feels like ur in a theater room. A little expensive, but definitely worth buying

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL Bar 9.1

Crutchfield customer from Oglesby, TX on 12/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great system!

Crutchfield customer from Brownsburg, IN on 12/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy setup. Sounds great. Glad we went with this one over the 5.1. Sounds 10x better. Only downside is the charging of rear satellites but other than that, it's amazing to have full wireless system

Pros: Easy setup Sounds amazing Looks great with any TV(tried on my Samsung, Sony, Visio and Toshiba TVs)

Cons: Wish the wall mount brackets were less visible Recharging the rear speakers after 2-3 days of casual use.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Big Sound Improvement

Crutchfield customer from Palo Alto, CA on 12/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Big improvement over TV sound. Works as advertised. Easy setup and operation

Pros: Not too big for our not big room. Easy setup and operation. Great sound, both for voice and music (change woofer setting). BlueTooth connection to tablet easy access to Sirius XM and excellent sound.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL Bar 9.1

Crutchfield customer from Edenton, NC on 12/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the best bang for the buck! Every flat screen TV needs this addition to complete the best sound quality for movies and music. Should have gotten it way before now. Thanks JBL

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL Bar 9.1

Crutchfield customer from Schaumburg, IL on 12/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome soundbar

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL Bar 9.1

Crutchfield customer from Garden City, NY on 12/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quality system, nice sleek design...enjoying it. Not the best out there, BUT easily the best at this price point and better than higher priced systems. Unless you are serious audiophile , best value IMO.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL Bar 9.1

Crutchfield customer from Mingo, IA on 12/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A decent compromise when you don't have room for a receiver. Better than the high end Samsung soundbars for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Amazing Acoustics

Crutchfield customer from Miami, FL on 12/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing acoustics and easy set up. The wireless back speakers are the best part

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

"Look Ma, no wires!"

Crutchfield customer from Seattle, WA on 12/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound bar itself sounds great. I love the option to detach the speakers for full surround to watch movies. It has powerful magnets ?? to pull the speakers in for charging.The added subwoofer ?? with adjustable volume control is perfect since I'm in a apartment. I was looking for something sleek and somewhat wireless to upgrade to. And found it.

Pros: 9.1 Dolby Atmos

Cons: Plug your ears and warn your neighbors for the calibration tones. But after that. It's all set up.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JBL Bar 9.1

Crutchfield customer from Southport, FL on 12/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound. Really like wireless left and right speakers

Pros: Easy setup

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Impressive tech in low profile package

Crutchfield customer from Alexandria, VA on 12/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This system is ideal if (a) you don't want to have a home theater amp due to space constraints, (b) you have a TV with HDMI-ARC and CEC, which you want to use for HDMI switching (c) care about good sound, (d) wanted rear surround but for whatever reason can't wire them in. And maybe (e) are an Apple household and want this to double as a Airplay speaker. It's even more impressive how they've made it so easy to set up despite all the tech it has. I got rid of so many wires! Two caveats - 1) ARC/CEC generally works perfectly to switch to the device I'm using but I've had a wonkiness at times (JBL seemed to get stuck in a loop switching back and forth between devices; had to power cycle LG OLED tv, Apple TV and JBL to get things back to normal). 2) if you want to use rear surrounds all day (e.g. you're a gamer that is going to be sitting for 8 hours at a time) this isn't for you bc the rear surrounds will need charging. Personally this is exactly what I wanted - I only detach the rear surrounds when watching a movie and then they go right back to their charging spots.

Pros: Low profile Powerful bass Atmos surround Airplay

Cons: HDMI ARC/CEC a bit wonky at times Limited manual sound adjustments

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Very good fidelity, great support

Crutchfield customer from Canton, GA on 12/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I would give it 5 stars for the JBL 9.1 quality of sound it produces but the first one I got had surround speaker issues so Cruchfield quickly sent a replacement system and emailed me a no charge UPS return label for the defective unit. The iBL instructions are lacking for setting up wireless. Good thing for youtube users to explain what to do. 5 stars to Crutchfield though for their support.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Rough start but worth it.

Crutchfield customer from Kissimmee, FL on 12/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

When I first received the soundbar it was awesome, ten something malfunctioned in the main soundbar only a day after I received it. called technical service right away to troubleshoot. Tech. support was easy to get ahold of and they confirmed that there is indeed something wrong with the soundbar and they immediately rushed a new one to my house. I received it only days after calling it in. The Tech support was A+! Now to the soundbar itself. I did a lot of research on getting a high-quality soundbar without crushing my wallet. This soundbar delivered, it was on the higher end of what I wanted to spend, but it was definitely worth it. The main draw was the wireless rear speakers. they really add to your system along with the nice bass-thumping subwoofer and able to play Dolby Atmos content really gives the WOW factor! IF you can afford this system, you will not be disappointed.

Pros: Wireless rear speakers Dolby ATMOS, Great sound Quality looking system overall

Cons: the first system was faulty, may have been just bad luck (you know how these package guys handle boxes!) More expensive than similar soundbars

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Really, really happy with this.

Crutchfield customer from Palm Harbor, FL on 12/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got mine last week. Crutchfield got it down to me in FL within 48 hours. Very impressed. Regarding the JBL system, I would consider myself an "almost" audiophile. I'm not an expert (whatever that really means) but this is certainly "not my first Rodeo" when it comes to sound systems. And so far I am totally impressed. The power and enveloping sound that this thing puts out almost leaves me sitting there, just shaking my head. VERY convincing movie experience. And the kinda-large subwoofer is just a beast. The overall experience is almost as good as my previous 7.1 wired system. No maybe make that "equal to" because of the convincing "Atmos overhead" effects that I now enjoy on movie night. I really like it. But the REAL REASON to buy this system is to get rid of the crazy mess of speaker wires running everywhere. Wow, wow, wow is my (long suffering) wife happy. Being a typical guy, even I have to admit it REALLY cleaned up the entire look of our family room. The actual soundbar is pretty darn small, especially with all the speakers it contains. The two "totally wire free, internal battery operated" satellites are just a pure delight....Very easy to place. And like I said earlier the sub is a beast. Now, just a couple items to also know....This is not a WOW system for music. It is "good" but not "great" for music. And not much in the way of audio customization either. But since I do 90% movie/T.V. and only 10% actual music listening it is a no-brainer.

Pros: Powerful sub, small size of actual soundbar and the totally wireless satellites are just terrific. Love the Atmos overhead effects. Really put the "POP" in movie night.

Cons: Very decent for music, but not totally great. (However, Just fine for casual listening.) Can't customize the sound very much (but there is enough, just get online and spend so time with the owner's manual). Kinda basic remote, lots of "double duty" button pushing, so a bit of a learning curve involved.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

JBL Bar 9.1

Crutchfield customer from Gardnerville, NV on 12/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good quality and sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL Bar 9.1

Crutchfield customer from Edwards, CA on 12/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really like it, the sound is great. Although, it is very wide, and doesn't fit inbetween the sony 65" legs when the wireless speakers are attached! Make sure you check your measurements! The wireless speakers need to be charged daily (overnight). Speakers sound great when plugged into the soundbar, or in the back of the room. Also, I wish there were more options on the remote. But, no real markdowns from me.

Pros:

Cons: Very wide with wireless speakers attached

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JBL Bar 9.1

Crutchfield customer from Santa Fe, NM on 12/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is really a great product of technology. The sound is out of this world. The detachable speakers will crack and pop at 20 feet away from the sound bar, with one wall in between them. I would assume that is understandable being that it works with Bluetooth. Rating of 4.8 stars.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

JBL Bar 9.1

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 12/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had some problems calibrating. Almost had to send it back but now that's it's working very impressed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Exceeded our expectation: The very best in the market

Crutchfield customer from Oklahoma City, OK on 12/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing soundbar with terrific sound and digital surround sound. The woofer delivered premium bass and it just took our home theatre in storm. I am more than sure that for the price, nothing better is available in the market. JBL has yet another time exceeded our expectation with its unparalleled performance. oh and the setup, was so simple and so easy, I don't know how one can make it any easier. Super Satisfied! A MUST BUY!

Pros: The woofer delivers the bass with pure magnificence. Surround sound is such a pleasing experience with this sound bar. Set up was SUPER EASY like a baby could set it up

Cons: Counldn't find any yet!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

JBL Bar 9.1

Crutchfield customer from Cupertino, CA on 12/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The best bang for the price. The metallic style grill has give the sound bar an elegant to look. Setup was very simple and it worked on the first try. Calibration took 3 attempts. I am sure that there are better systems at a higher price range, but for watching Netflix, etc this is an excellent system. There is ample power for mid to large size family/entertainment room. In one week of basic usage, I have noticed one minor issue. The audio dropped suddenly from the rear speakers, but after 3 to 5 secs it worked fine. Below is the speaker system I replaced with JBL 9.1. Yes, it is a SVS 16-inch 3 feet tall subwoofer :)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

JBL Bar 9.1

Crutchfield customer from White City, OR on 12/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing sound bar! Great sound quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Highly recommend

Crutchfield customer from Fleming Island, FL on 12/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound bar and sub woofer and fill up my large living room with pure crisp sound! It's been a great addition to our entertainment center. I would highly recommend this product

Pros: Room shaking Bass, crisp clear conversational audio

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

True Wireless Home theater experience

Crutchfield customer from Dublin, OH on 12/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very impressed so far with JBL 9.1 for a true wireless home theater. The sound quality is surprisingly good for wireless set and gives it's pricier competitors a run for their worth. It would be nice if the US version came with the end caps for the bar alike the UK version.

Pros: Wireless Sound quality

Cons: Missing bar caps

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JBL Bar 9.1

Crutchfield customer from Carolina, PR on 12/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound system the sound is amazing and powerful and the atmos sound in movies is superb i am so happy whith my JBL 9.1

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Amazing Product / Terrible Crutchfield Service

Sam from West Fargo, ND on 12/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I live in a small apartment so this one is perfect for me. The Dolby Atmos is really amazing. The setup took few minutes and it was a breeze. I'm really enjoying this soundbar. I took one star for the service on this site. I tried the chat and the advisor told me she'll give me a call call the next time but none so far. Since Best Buy didn't have this model and I got from here. Next time I don't think I'll buy from this site.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 12/7/2020
Once we saw this review, our Customer Support specialist, Tammie, reached out to Sam to apologize and follow-up. If you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, it's important to contact our Customer Support or Tech Support teams right away. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase.

3 of 9 found this helpful

Simple setup and daily use

Crutchfield customer from Pembroke Pines, FL on 11/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The system is very simple to set up and use across multiple inputs. I used the eARC output from my 2019 Samsung TV to the soundbar, with all HDMI components fed into the TV (allowing the TV to do the switching between sources). This is so much easier than my prior AV Receiver/surround speaker setup for the family to actually use. Some sound sources seem to have lip sync issues, but I don't know if that's the TV or the bar, so I'm still playing around with the limited settings to fix the issue. The sound quality is good, but not very customizable. I do wish there were some kind of center channel/dialogue enhancement mode, as I'm finding dialogue is harder to hear compared to my prior setup at lower volumes. Also of note, I was not able to get the system to complete the sound optimization process. I believe my ceilings may be too high for the ATMOS to be optimized. If there were an app for this system, I'd probably have an easier time troubleshooting, but it's good enough as-is, given that it's already made my family's lives easier switching between gaming systems, Blu Ray player, cable, and streaming sources. At this point, convenience and 'good enough' sound, is the goal in life.

Pros: Easy to set up, uncomplicated for daily use, good sound

Cons: No app for troubleshooting/customization, limited customization

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

JBL Bar 9.1

Geoffrey from Woodbridge, VA on 11/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

WONDERFUL sound (bass, mids and highs blend seamlessly)....and simple set up. In fact, the set up was so simple that I didn't even realize the system WAS set up. The only issue I have is that the bass doesn't seem to kick in until you dial it up to Level 3.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

JBL Bar 9.1

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, KY on 11/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound for such a small setup. Install/setup was easy. No issues so far.

Pros: Great sound Easy setup/install Included wall mounts for bar AND rears

Cons: Lack of center/front speaker gain adjustment to accompany available rear, sub, and upward firing speaker gain adjustment

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Best purchase ever

Zachary from Shelton, Wa on 11/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased a scratch and dent from Crutchfield. When I opened the box I looked for any imperfections to find only one small white line on a 2 inch space of the subwoofer, huge score! It took some troubleshooting to get it up and running but with patience it slowly started to work. A few Tv tutorials on how to setup my Tv for Atmos and Dolby. Once all figured out this system is amazing! Well worth the purchase and sounds amazing! When you get your new JBL 9.1 system setup, turn on a Star Wars movie and enjoy!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Just Amazing

Charles from LEXINGTON, SC on 11/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Took me a second to realize the Arc HDMI from my smart TV goes in the HDMI out. Once I got the sound working, I realized just how inadequate my old system was. The surround speakers and bass are amazing. Put a war movie in my wife probably isn't going to like me shacking the house. I love how the surround and bass speakers are wireless.

Pros: Wireless

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

JBL Bar 9.1

Crutchfield customer from Haymarket, VA on 10/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very simple set up and controls, but great sound. Chris at the store in Charlottesville was very helpful and he answered all my questions on the different soundbars I was interested in. Wish you guys had a store in northern Virginia.

Pros: Simple set up and simple mounting bracket

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

JBL Bar 9.1

Crutchfield customer from San Angelo, TX on 8/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy setup. Works very well. Position of moble speakers critical to performance

Pros: Quality outstanding.

Cons: Instructions might help with mobile speaker placement based on room size/shape/walls

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

JBL Bar 9.1

Crutchfield customer from San Ramon, CA on 8/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this system. Truly wireless rear speakers that can be placed anywhere. Relatively easy install and great resulta!

Pros: Truly wireless rear speakers. Full sound. Automatic switching when you change the source.

Cons: Rear speakers need to be charged so they must be accessible

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

JBL Bar 9.1

Stephen from Willis, TX on 7/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my first sound bar experience, going from a Denon 5.1 channel receiver and Polk speakers. This one checked all the boxes, Dolby Atmos, HDR, Dolby vision. My wife really likes how it cleaned up the room going from the big clunky speakers. Overall the sound is excellent, I haven't really played a lot of music but for TV programming and movies it's great. Very simplistic control, only sub and surround adjustments, this is it's biggest minus in my opinion, not being able to adjust dialog. A lot depends on the source but to get the dialog where you can hear it means other sound effects are excessively loud, at times that's annoying, like late at night when others are sleeping. My other minus is only one HDMI input, but not a deal breaker. Overall I am pleased and would purchase again.

Pros: Dolby vision, Dolby Atmos, HDR, wireless surrounds and sub.

Cons: No dialog adjustment, only one HDMI input.

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

Great New Speaker

Crutchfield customer from Woodsboro, MD on 6/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, and the addition of detachable speakers makes for a rich surround sound environment. The detachable units are need a longer lasting battery.

Pros: Great Sound

Cons: Detachable Speaker Batteries Do Not Keep Charge

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Soundbar at its best

Crutchfield customer from Bellflower, CA on 6/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Best Soundbar i've ever have. The mids are great . The bass fill my room (400 square ft.) The volume is just at no.10 (30 max). Max volume I did is at 20 (very satisfied). It played my music so well. Very convenient to use specially the wireless connectivity. Easy to set up. Cons: subwoofer doesn't function below volume 4 and at Chromecast below volume 10 :(. (Defective maybe) Or thats how it was designed (????) But overall very satisfied.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

6 of 7 found this helpful

JBL Bar 9.1

Crutchfield customer from Huntley, IL on 5/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this soundbar to replace an old Bose Lifestyle system that we've had for 15+ years before it died. I am amazed at how easy this was to setup and how well it sounds. I'm not an audiophile but to me this JBL bar sounds great. I do wish the voice dialog was a bit louder, perhaps there is a way to adjust that but I haven't gotten around to looking at that. The one downside to this is I had to buy a 4k LCD TV to enjoy the surround sound and dolby atmos - oh darn. I'm very happy with this device so far.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Rick

Crutchfield customer from Charleston, SC on 5/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and easy set up. Atmos is awesome and sub-woofer is powerful but not over powering. Clean and crisp form factor, easy to change settings and wireless rear speakers. complete this quality system . Definitely worth the money and it makes everything sound better. JBL has a home run !

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

TOP