Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

JBL Boombox

Waterproof portable Bluetooth® speaker (Squad)

MFR # JBLBOOMBOXSQUADAM

JBL Boombox

JBL Boombox

Waterproof portable Bluetooth® speaker (Squad)

MFR # JBLBOOMBOXSQUADAM

55 reviews
View this product

JBL boombox

Crutchfield customer from Escondido, CA on 12/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Superior sound good size You can use for a party or just For listen music very easy to conect To cell phone clear and crisp sound Can take every where JBL the best Recommended excellent speaker A+

Pros: Excellent sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL Boombox

Ramon from Cayey, PR on 12/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Tech support is top notch, they really help the customer in Crutchfield. The speaker i bought is awsome.

Pros: The best in the market today

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JBL BOOMBOX

Crutchfield customer from Pohnpei, FM on 11/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome, Crutchfield always number 1 in my book.

Pros: Speaker is as they say, BOOM.

Cons: Expected a little more for the battery.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Value - bring anywhere speaker.

Steven from Denver, CO on 8/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Speakers this portable shouldn't sound this good - but JBL made it happen. The size is deceiving for the amount of sound that comes out. And the quality of sound is very good, especially for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JBL Boombox

Crutchfield customer from Wilton, CT on 7/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

When it first arrived, I was worried it was too big, and it is physically large. However, it produces great - outside area filling - sound. We use it outside by a pool and it is perfect for that application.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boombox

Crutchfield customer from Wolfforth, TX on 7/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome!! I'm a big fan of the JBL Bluetooth speakers. Once again, JBL did not disappoint

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JBL Boombox

Crutchfield customer from Midland Park, NJ on 7/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was searching for a simple sound solution for my husband's '89 Corvette Convertible and I came across the JBL Boombox. His original stereo was faulty so I thought this would be an easy fix without running wires. He was able to strap the Boombox behind the seats to keep it from rolling around. Sound is great! Very pleased with the build quality. We also use the Boombox poolside.

Pros: Sound, build, waterproof

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JBL Boombox

Crutchfield customer from Las Piedras, PR on 6/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excelent fast ship.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL Boombox Bluetooth Deluxe!

Mark from Eureka Springs, AR on 6/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The JBL Boombox looks great and most of all, sounds great. Quality made with some heft to it, well designed. I recommend this product.

Pros: Great sound, looks and build.

Cons: A bit pricy, but you get what you pay for!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL Boombox

Donald from Buffalo, NY on 6/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good sound, it cranks!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JBL Boombox

Crutchfield customer from The Woodlands, TX on 6/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for a bluetooth speaker with enough volume for outdoor listening on the beach. I spoke to Nemo, a Crutchfield advisor, and he asked me a few questions and then made several recommendations. I went with the JBL Boombox and am so glad I did. The sound is amazing, plenty of power for outdoors. I really appreciate the help I got from your advisor, along with great price and 2 day shipping. You can't get all that from Amazon. Thanks Crutchfield.

Pros: Sound clarity at volume.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JBL Boombox

Crutchfield customer from Lake Worth, FL on 6/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works good and sound good. Loud enough to use outside.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JBL Boombox

mattson from Orlando, FL on 6/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I know JBL brand

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Best Bluetooth speaker

Crutchfield customer from Helena, AL on 6/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound. Good bass. Plenty loud.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JBL Boombox

Crutchfield customer from Jackson, MS on 5/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome sound!! Charge lasts forever!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wow!! Wow!! Wow!!

Will K. from Huntington, IN on 5/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow!! This blaster is incredible! The sound and power this puts out is truly incredible. Expensive yes, but oh my God it's worth it. I have no regrets and either will you.

Pros: Sound, bass & highs, battery life is insane wow!!

Cons: Absolutely nothing!

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

JBL Boombox

Crutchfield customer from Indiana on 5/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for a something that could be used on the porch for the upcoming summer nights, and a bonus for anything that could travel with us to the lake. I've found once you're outside and more than 5 feet away, so many of the portable speakers sound like a tin can set on top of a cell phone speaker. The sound out of this thing is fantastic, and the outdoor mode bumps up the low end to help the music feel more full when outside. The water resistance makes me a lot more comfortable taking onto a boat as well. It connects easily to bluetooth devices, and while I haven't tried the JBL connect option for pairing multiple speakers, I may try this in the future.

Pros: Fantastic sound Water resistant Great connection options Great battery life

Cons: Expensive Heavy, but not bulky

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JBL Boombox

Crutchfield customer from Milbank, SD on 5/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's all I wanted in a speaker, wish I wouldn't have waited so long, sale price made me make the move!

Pros: Great quality sound with the bass I've been looking for. Easy to connect and carry, great at the tennis courts too.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL Boombox

Crutchfield customer from Annandale, VA on 5/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and lightweight perfect for any type of outside parties

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL Boombox

tom from Yulee, FL on 5/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

This speaker is worth its weight in gold

Crutchfield customer from Appleton, WI on 5/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best portable speaker I have ever owned. Words can not explain how great this speaker is 24 hour play time! Looks sweet! Super loud and clear it's so unbelievable. I use this speaker when I shower and do things around the house. I can have speaker in my basement and be two floors up and this speaker still works with the blue tooth clear as day. It's expensive but for sure worth it. Got it on sale so definitely worth it. The sound that comes out of this speaker is insane. If you not sure about buy this speaker... go to Best Buy. The have a floor model by the portable speakers and try out each speaker and you can tell a huge difference between this speaker and other speakers. It's a major difference how great sounding this speaker is. How it sounds in store sounds the same at your own place.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Love the handle

Crutchfield customer from Lewiston, ID on 5/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Like it so far. The sound is good but has no stereo image. The weight surprised me, fairly heavy.I would expect a better sound for the price.

Pros: Love the handle. Decent sound, can get loud.

Cons: Heavy, not much of a spatial sounding unit for the money.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JBL Boombox

Crutchfield customer from Delavan, WI on 4/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding speaker replaced my bose outdoor speakers. No more wires.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

It's Party Time!!

James from Brentwood, NH on 4/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Enough volume and powerful base to fill our whole backyard around our pool. Best of all I was on sale when I ordered!! Crutchfield advisor promised me I'd love this unit and he was RIGHT.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

JBL Boombox

Crutchfield customer from Rch Cucamonga, CA on 4/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

????? Gotta say I love this BOOMBOX!!!! Outta the box awesomeness. Its loud and proud. I'm getting another one to up with it. Great sound and build. Get one cuz I'm getting another

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL Boombox

Crutchfield customer from Vacaville, CA on 4/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice sound, plenty of bass. Thought the price was a bit high so I waited for Crutchfield to have a sale. As always, Crutchfield met my expectations with great customer service and a sales price I was happy with. Enjoying my boombox, glad I made the purchase!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JBL Boombox

Nicholas from Westminster, MD on 3/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is by far the best portable speaker I have ever owned. I bought 2 of these bad boy. I'm a cook, behind the line it's loud, gressy, an hot. The boombox has no problem handling any of it. Not to mention the bass is outstanding. I alway have one strapped on the back of my 08 jetski. Even with the throttle wide open, the sound and bass still comes through clear as day! Highly recommended this to anyone

Pros: Outstanding sound Outstanding bass Long lasting battery

Cons: Heavy Not easy to store

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JBL Boombox

Rafael from Coto Laurel, PR on 12/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is such a awesome speaker, well worth the money paid for it.

Pros: Battery life and sound quality

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great Sound!

Jess K. from Fairfield, CA on 12/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Let's start with the price. You're going to have to let go of some cash. With all that being said you get what you pay for. Right out of the box it looks well made. Not too heavy, a little big in size but doable. Comes pre charged so it's good to go as soon as you open it up. Some of the reviews mentioned static in between songs. I have not experienced that. Also some of the reviews complained about the volume not being able to go loud enough. I like my music loud and clear.... And this thing rocks. Oooo and about that BASS!!! Wow!!! It really does sound good you won't be disappointed.

Pros: Great sound. Good bass notes. Super loud.

Cons: Pricey$$$$$$ That's the only reason why I give it a 4 star.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

JBL Boombox

Crutchfield customer from Enfield, NH on 12/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does exactly what it is supposed to. Not a "high end" sound, but solid and clear with plenty of punch. Would definitely recommend it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

JBL Boombox

Crutchfield customer from Frederick, MD on 12/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It is a gift for my grandson

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

It rocks!

Mike from Yonkers, NY on 9/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This thing is really good, sound quality, battery life, rugged build. I've had the Bose Soundlink 2 for years and love it but always wanted one that rocks harder and this does the job nice!

Pros: It rocks!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JBL Boombox

Albert from Puerto Rico on 8/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm happy need an offer or a better price to buy one more

Pros: Great sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love it

Crutchfield customer from Peoria, AZ on 8/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Loud with quality sound, love it for by the pool. Need to get a carrying case for it so it doesn't get damaged when I take it everywhere I go!!!

Pros: Volume, quality sound, battery.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Classic JBL sound

Crutchfield customer from Massena, NY on 8/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have had a lot of JBL speakers in my home over the years and this speaker does not disappoint. Sounds great, plays loud when you need it and it connects easily to your Bluetooth devices.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Sound with POUNDING BASS

Jeff from Torrance, CA on 7/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought the JBL Boombox to replace my garage boombox that I had for over 25 years. I can't believe the power and thump the JBL provides in such a compact design!! The JBL Connect App is so easy to use and this unit delivers all that you could ask for and is also waterproof so I don't have to worry about it while washing the cars or hanging out by the pool!! A solid Five Star rating to the device and also to Crutchfield for their customer service, best prices, and prompt delivery!!!!! Thank you Carter for your help!! Jeff Thayer

Pros: Everything I hoped for and more!! Amazing sound and very easy to use!!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent sound quality

John from Evergreen, CO on 7/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound quality, ease of use and design.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL Boombox

Crutchfield customer from Lakehead , CA on 7/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything you said it would be! Excellent service! As always, a great experience!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

JBL Boombox

Theodore from Palmdale, CA on 7/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought 2 JBL Boomboxes & enjoy music in a quality sound. The bass is nice even when I'm only using one Boombox. If your a music lover, buy a Boombox and have a party.

Pros: Everything

Cons: Would've been even nicer with speakers on the back side.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

JBL Boombox

Joseph from Tucker, GA on 7/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding box! I took it to a class reunion in Punta Cana DR and it rocked the pool setting. Have yet to read the manual since it is easy to operate

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Boom!

Joel from Grand Rapids, MI on 6/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This thing rocks! Love the outdoor/indoor mode and it really makes a huge difference. The bass is boomy. I'd put down the extra change to get this over the extreme or the pill size jbl speakers. And it's waterproof!

Pros: Great equalizer settings. Love the indoor/outdoor sound settings. 24 hour batter life.

Cons: at max sound you feeel like you want it to go louder but you can't. Although it is loud enough.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

JBL Boombox

KENNETH from Ellicott City, MD on 6/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worth it!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JBL Boombox

Crutchfield customer from South Lyon, MI on 6/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome sound and volume sitting on the dock while rafting and chilling on the lake. Cost is high but worth it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great sound, impressive lows and plays forever on a charge

Crutchfield customer from Concord, CA on 6/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice full range sound with impressive lows. I bought this mainly for camping and the drive-in theater. It is not a petite speaker, but for me it didn't matter. Camping it was awesome. I could have it at a low volume, and it still had a nice solid drum beat. I listen mainly to country. My kids like top 40 and hip hop and when playing this thing produces some serious bass. I had it playing for about 14 hours each day and when I would plug it in at night it still had more than half a charge left. I connected an iPod with a tuner for the drive-in theater. We typically sit in folding chairs, not in the car so we need some audio source. My son commented that it was the first time the drive-in sounded like being in the actual theater. It is nice to have the two USB ports for charging. My phone battery does not last long anymore, so I plug it into it while streaming. If you really start cranking it up, it will back off the bass to protect itself. At that point it is almost too loud anyway. I have Klipsch AW-650's outside which are incredible speakers, but I think I would be almost equally satisfied with one of these on the patio. I am thinking of picking up a second one just to see how they sound paired in stereo. I am very impressed with this speaker.

Pros: Battery life. Bass. USB charging. Water proof.

Cons: If you want to nitpick... no FM Tuner. No EQ

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Just Cannot Say Enough

Billy Bob from Pecos, TX on 6/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It is what I expected. Plus have two friends who purchased ones after enjoying listening to mine. Bought it to use at cabin and down on river bank, perfect.

Pros: Works as advertised

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JBL Boombox

James from Perryopolis, PA on 6/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this I was able to set it up with my i pad in seconds. Great at the patio with the fire going. I am a music teacher and I have been looking for a portable sound system that will be loud and clear enough to play background with 2 saxophones. This was a added bonus.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Unreal... WOW!!!!!!!

Will from Huntington, IN on 6/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First impression... WOW!!!! My God, this is far better than I imagined. This thing is unreal. Yes it's expensive but holy crap it is with every penny!! Some have said it's the same as the extreme. WRONG!!!! Not even close! The extreme is great, but the JBL boombox is a totally different monster. YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED MY FRIENDS!!

Pros: Incredible sound, waterproof, 2USB, 3.5mm jack, very VERY long battery life

Cons: Absolutely none!!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

A must for a day on the lake!!

Michael from Orient, OH on 5/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super sound for the money...It has an indoor and outdoor setting. We used on the lake with an Iphone and a bluetooth connection...no need to upgrade the radio in the boat!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great boom for the bucks!

Edward from Philadelphia, PA on 5/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, great bass! Very clear in the outdoors. Good boom for the bucks.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 11 found this helpful

JBL Boombox

John from Melbourne, FL on 4/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great and battery life is great for a product like this. Tried it on my sea doo, and just not loud enough and too bulky for that application but otherwise great for the beach and outside

Pros: Great sound, great battery life, easy to set up and use.

Cons: Too bulky for attaching to PWC and not loud enough for on the water.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 12 found this helpful

JBL Boombox

Crutchfield customer from Hopkinsville, KY on 2/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The BEST Bluetooth on the market! Portable and rugged! Get what you pay for and the sound will not disappoint!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Best of the Best

Scott from Indiana, PA on 1/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hands down, this is the best bluetooth speaker I have ever owned. One of these speakers blows away the 2 UE Megaboom speakers I previously owned. The sound on this is crystal clear whether listening at a lower volume or cranking it up and really ticking off the neighbors! The battery life is also incredible as the unit came with about 60% battery and I have yet to charge it after playing it low to mid volume for 6 hours a day for the past 4 days. If you are looking for a top notch bluetooth speaker, look no further than the JBL Boombox.

Pros: Awesome sound, great battery life, great bass

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

11 of 13 found this helpful

Wow!!!!!!!

Robert from St Louis, MO on 1/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow!!!!!. Let me start by saying I'm a machinist and I wanted a speaker to listen to at work using my iPod. I purchased the jbl xtreme and was disappointed. It sounded good at home but at work it wasn't nearly loud enough. I had the volume at 100% and could still barely hear it over the machines. Which also drained the battery quick. So I decided to return it and purchase the jbl boombox instead. It blew me away. Sounds perfect at home. Clear crisp bass and perfect highs. Took it to work and it's perfect. Gets very loud and clean and has a lot more bass than I thought it would. It even produces a sub bass. I worked a 12 hour shift and the battery lasted the whole time and the volume was at around 75%. I also love the option of the indoor/outdoor button. The indoor produces more bass while the outdoor tones the bass down and kicks up the highs. I know it's a pricey speaker but you get what you paid for. And I'm in love. I'm a serious music fanatic and listen to a wide variety of music. But my playlist mainly consist of rap and rock. My only problem I'm having now is that I'd like to buy a second one but I gotta convince my wife to let me. I would recommend this speaker to everyone. All my coworkers were impressed too.

Pros: Sound, battery life, size. Did I mention sound.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

10 of 16 found this helpful

Great product

Vahlery from OR on 1/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best speaker I've ever had I had a charge 3 and this is way better

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL Boombox

Crutchfield customer from Anaheim, CA on 1/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, easy to operate, and best of all JBL build quality!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

TOP