Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
236 294 184 3
Connect ID #
236 294 184 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

JBL 521F

Concert Series 5-1/4" 2-way car speakers

MFR # SPKCON521FAM

JBL 521F

JBL 521F

Concert Series 5-1/4" 2-way car speakers

MFR # SPKCON521FAM

52 reviews
View this product

JBL 521F

Crutchfield customer from Ames, IA on 3/20/2021

2015 Jeep Renegade

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm not a audiophile but I just don't think these sound very good. Some of it I think is the installation adapter I had to use, but I wish I would have gone with the JBL9631F in place of these. I used those in the front of the vehicle and they sound outstanding. I used these because Crutchfield said the larger ones wouldn't fit .. but after reading forums it seems that others have used the larger speakers with no issue.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 4/5/2021
We're sorry you're disappointed with your speakers. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL 521F

Crutchfield customer from Huntingtn Bch, CA on 3/14/2021

2003 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great clear sound from a small speaker.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

RV upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Camden Wyoming, DE on 2/11/2021

2013 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These were a major upgrade in my brand new RV. The plan is to add 2 more.

Pros: Great sounds

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL 521F

Crutchfield customer from Pineville, LA on 2/6/2021

2013 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wish it had a little more of a Bass sound but otherwise clear mids and highs!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL 521F

Crutchfield customer from Pickens, SC on 1/30/2021

1995 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound at a great price. Super service from Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL 521F

Crutchfield customer from Cumming, GA on 1/22/2021

2005 Scion xB

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really like how they sound it makes your music sound smooth.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL 521F

Crutchfield customer from Milford, PA on 1/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome speakers Jason set me up good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

I can hear my music again!!

Crutchfield customer from Graniteville, SC on 12/31/2020

2006 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install and speakers sound great.

Pros: Easiest install ever.

Cons: None yet.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL 521F

Crutchfield customer from Lawton, OK on 12/27/2020

2019 Ram 1500 Classic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These 6x9's sound fantastic even without an amp. Amazing speakers. Clear highs and smooth bass.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL 521F

Crutchfield customer from Sun City Center, FL on 12/14/2020

2006 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome product and company

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Honda Civic upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Decatur, TX on 11/30/2020

2001 Honda Civic LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazingly upgrade in a Honda Civic, especially when paired with a 40 watt RMS amp. Sound is crisp and undistorted even at high volume. Highly recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL 521F

Crutchfield customer from Brownsville, TX on 11/28/2020

2000 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Even when I blasted it the music sounded very clear

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL 521F

Crutchfield customer from Wetumpka, AL on 11/16/2020

2006 Dodge Magnum

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice sounding speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2004 corevette

Crutchfield customer from Savannah, GA on 11/6/2020

2004 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit in the rear compartment with no modifications. They sound awesome

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL 521F

Crutchfield customer from Dublin, VA on 11/2/2020

2013 Hyundai Veloster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sound!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Small, but good speaker

Jessica A. from HOUSTON, TX on 10/27/2020

2004 Chevrolet TrailBlazer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased these for the rear doors, to fill out the sound in my little truck (2004 Chevy Trailblazor ), as usual, the included extra parts the they supply, made the install easy & quick

Pros: good sounding

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL 521F

Crutchfield customer from Virginia Beach, VA on 10/15/2020

2002 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The bass from then is pretty good not only that they fit perfectly in my little truck with those mounting kits easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

C5 audio upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Northfield, OH on 10/5/2020

2002 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The only thing missing in my new install is a good crossover, but that's coming soon. The 521Fs were placed in the rear of a Corvette convertible and they sound great. I can hear more of the highs than I expected to hear. As others have stated, you can hear cracking, but this is only if the bass is too high. At the right level, the bass sounds perfect. They are not subwoofers and should not be used as such. I have a sub for that. If you are looking to upgrade and want a nice set, you really can't go wrong with these.

Pros: Very loud highs and nice-sounding mids as well as lows.

Cons: None that I have seen thus far.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great upgrade from factory speakers

Crutchfield customer from Massachusetts on 9/26/2020

2020 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installation was simple. Speakers sound great. Good choice for upgrade from factory speakers.

Pros: Affordable Easy install

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL 521F

Crutchfield customer from Brighton, CO on 9/26/2020

2001 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love the quality of the build on these speakers as well as the crisp high and mid range sound that they produce.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL 521F

Crutchfield customer from Greenfield, IN on 9/2/2020

2007 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Ultra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

EASY TO INSTALL. SOUNDS GOOD!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL 521F

Crutchfield customer from Avonmore, PA on 9/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good, clear sound quality. Highly recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice sound

Crutchfield customer from Billerica, MA on 8/29/2020

2011 Dodge Grand Caravan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

nice sound - not a fan of the mounting brackets (6x9 converstion)

Pros: very nice sound

Cons: lower cut off about 100 hz

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great option to replace factory speakers

Crutchfield customer from Burbank, CA on 7/28/2020

2002 Ford Econoline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound really good, have good highs and good lows, I would not hesitate to buy these again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

very good midrange speakers

Crutchfield customer from Laguna Woods, CA on 6/6/2020

2003 BMW 3 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I would consider these mid range speakers. They are slightly smaller than stock BMW originals in my E46. I will add larger bass speakers in the rear. The midrange voice and instruments are heard fine. You will need to add more bass speakers.

Pros: voice and instruments in midrange are fine

Cons: Needs bass speakers added.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great

Crutchfield customer from Denham Springs, LA on 6/2/2020

2006 Honda Element

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound. Easy install.

Pros: Great clarity.

Cons: Could use a bit more bass sound.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL 521F

Crutchfield customer from Panama City, FL on 5/17/2020

2006 Ford Crown Victoria

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds good

Pros: Easy to install price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL 521F

Crutchfield customer from Moab, UT on 5/17/2020

2017 Jeep Renegade

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really good quality speaker for size. Super easy to install.

Pros: Really good sound quality for a small speaker

Cons: None. All items worked perfectly

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JBL 521F

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 5/14/2020

2005 Chevrolet Colorado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits perfectly and sounds awesome!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

JBL 521F

Crutchfield customer from Rochester, MN on 5/13/2020

2004 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good quality speakers. Running off stereo makes for a small improvement compared to stock

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL 521F

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, TX on 5/13/2020

2011 Ford F-150 FX2

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crisp sound, nice separation. Music comes through nice and clear.

Pros: Easy installation

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Better than the stockers

Crutchfield customer from Fort Lauderdale, FL on 5/9/2020

1999 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made my 20 year old ford ranger sound like a new truck

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JBL 521F

Crutchfield customer from Slidell, LA on 5/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are great little speaker. Install was super simple. Took about 25 minutes tops for both.

Pros: Good sound. good price

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent replacement of stock speakers

Crutchfield customer from Bozeman , MT on 5/4/2020

1997 Chevrolet Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great value, awesome replacement for stock speakers. Outstanding quality product that sounds way better than the original stock speakers I would recommend this to anyone looking for a great quality product to replace the old stock speakers

Pros: Came with everything needed to install them.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great speakers

Crutchfield customer from Clackamas, OR on 5/3/2020

2003 GMC Envoy XL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome sound and easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent speakers.

WILLIAM from Aurora, CO on 4/28/2020

1998 Dodge Caravan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought these to replace worn infinity 5 1/4 in the dash on a '98 Grand caravan with the Infinity Acoustic 10 system. They sound great. Very clear. Very crisp. I put bass blockers on them to make them more "tweeters". Have JBL 8026 6x8 in the front doors, and JBL 9036 6x9 in the rear (mid-) panel. Everything powered by a new Kenwood Excelon KMM-X704 head unit with 22 watts per side. I disconnected the entire Infinity system (four, count 'em) amps!

Pros: Excellent price. Fit perfectly. Bass blockers do the job. Very crisp and clear.

Cons: Zero.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JBL 521F

Crutchfield customer from Albuquerque, NM on 4/25/2020

2001 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install and very good sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JBL 521F

Crutchfield customer from Camillus, NY on 4/21/2020

2004 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are very good sounding speakers compared to the factory speaker

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL 521F

Crutchfield customer from Skowhegan, ME on 4/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been dealing with Crutchfield since 1989. Never a problem. Never!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

JBL 521F

Crutchfield customer from Connersville, IN on 4/15/2020

2006 GMC Yukon Denali

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fast delivery , as soon as they got delivered I could not wait to put them in . It was easy process , plug in play and boom they was were working . I had to drive around blaring my music so everyone could hear the good quality . Appreciate your business !!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

JBL 521F

Crutchfield customer from Knoxville, TN on 4/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ordered JBL 5 1/4 for front bottom speakers in a 2012 Mini - unfortunately didn't sound well. Not enough base and too much treble. OEM speakers sounded better. Upgraded to 6 1/2 Polk which were more suited and provided much better base. Fit was very good. I did have to drill new holes, but fit perfectly otherwise.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

JBL 521F

Liam Andrew from SALT LAKE CITY, UT on 4/13/2020

2002 Subaru Impreza WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Dealing with a small speaker hole I wanted to make a good choice and get the most out of the small speaker size. This speaker had no reviews and was new to Crutchfield so I took the risk because the description sounded good. I was not happy with the sound at all. It honestly has no range and pops at quite a low volume like a blown speaker. They sound really flat and I plan on replacing them with something else. I've had 4 inch speakers that sound better. I wouldn't recommend this speaker.

Pros: Fit and finish looks nice but that's about it.

Cons: Sound quality vs price. Flat sound. No range. Sound gets progressively worse with volume (I'm not blasting it or anything either).

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

JBL 521F

Crutchfield customer from Virginia Beach, VA on 3/27/2020

1999 Toyota Camry CE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL 521F

Crutchfield customer from Ooltewah, TN on 3/26/2020

2004 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Been installed a week. Improved sound over the tired factory Bose door speakers for sure. Good mids, clear highs. Will sound better once I get the EQ dialed in. Great speakers!

Pros: Immediately noticable sound improvement over factory

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL 521F

Jaxon from Hollandale WI on 3/24/2020

2011 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing speakers for a very good price i have no complaints for these would 10/10 recommend 2011 VW Jetta TDI

Pros: good sound and good price

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent Speaker at a great price

Crutchfield customer from Sioux Falls, SD on 2/22/2020

2014 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding speaker, and very easy to install in my 2014 Jeep Wrangler!

Pros: Great Sound Easy to install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

02 wrangler stereo upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Dracut, MA on 2/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything fit as expected your rep was wonderful to work with very knowledgeable everything was exactly as he said shipping was done in a timely manner system sounds wonderful my son is very happy with it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Amazing speakers

Crutchfield customer from Largo, FL on 1/3/2020

2004 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these speakers for my daughter for Christmas and she absolutely LOVES them! I got them for a GREAT price! Thank you!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JBL 521F

Crutchfield customer from Pittsboro, NC on 12/24/2019

2016 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very clear sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

GOOD STUFF!

Crutchfield customer from Kittery, ME on 10/13/2019

2011 Ford Transit Connect

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pretty good speakers for short dough.Slightly better full range sound than the oe's which were fair to good!Sorry to see they have to be made in Vietnam.Id play much more to get USA ANYTHING!!!

Pros: Sounds very good

Cons: Made elsewhere!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

Clear sound

Crutchfield customer from Jefferson, MD on 10/7/2019

2005 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clear sound

Pros: Easy install

Cons: Would have got 6x9 if I knew they would have fit and not used the adapter plate and speakers provided.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great sound, for a reasonable price.

Crutchfield customer from Greenfield, TN on 10/3/2019

2003 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced a pair of entry level Kicker 5.25s with these. I also replaced my 6x9s with the mates to these. Immediate positive difference. I also just installed a Sony MEX xb120bt 40-45 watts rms I believe which really woke these speakers up. I like them a lot.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

TOP