Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

JBL 9631

Concert Series 6"x9" 3-way car speakers with grilles

MFR # SPKCON9631AM

JBL 9631

JBL 9631

Concert Series 6"x9" 3-way car speakers with grilles

MFR # SPKCON9631AM

24 reviews
View this product

Meh.

Crutchfield customer from RAMONA, CA on 1/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installing into a full size 1998 Dodge Ram Van. These are not much better than the factory speakers. I put in one side, tried it, then reinstalled the factory speaker, and there wasn't much difference. If your factory Dodge full size van speakers are not broken, these won't be much better. Guess I'll keep them for an old Mustang that has no speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL 9631

Crutchfield customer from Mount Dora, FL on 1/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The guy from Crutchfield recommended them for my daughters car. So I got them for her for Christmas and absolutely thrilled with the sound. She is a teenager and thought there was plenty of bass coming from them. Very smooth sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL 9631

Crutchfield customer from Hatfield, PA on 12/1/2020

2008 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, great price , perfect fit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JBL 9631

Crutchfield customer from Saint Johns, FL on 11/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love these speakers much better than the stock ones in my 2018 f-150

Pros: Great sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Best bang for your buck

Crutchfield customer from Acworth, GA on 10/21/2020

2008 Hyundai Tiburon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great 6x9, the clear vocals and high's you get from these speakers are some of the best you're going to find from a coaxial at this price range. the bass is extremely punchy, although it is not going to be as loud as a sub obviously it does more than the trick if you're looking for a stock upgrade with some serious sound. All in all 10/10.

Pros: Good looking Great sound Tight responsive bass Easy Install Clear vocals and high end

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

JBL 9631

Crutchfield customer from Sellersville, PA on 9/28/2020

2010 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These turned my back seats into the best seats in the car. I'm always wary of JBL as quality doesn't seem to last as long but so far I'm very surprised with how these are holding up. Very rounded out in terms of hitting highs, mids, and lows.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

JBL 9631

Crutchfield customer from Red Lodge, MT on 9/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and the installation was very easy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Nice sound

Crutchfield customer from Billerica, MA on 8/29/2020

2011 Dodge Grand Caravan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice sound - easy to install

Pros: Nice sound

Cons: lower cut off 100 hz Better directions would be nice

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

JBL 9631

alec from Wilmington, MA on 8/12/2020

2020 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed these JBL's in my 2020 Chevy Silverado non Bose system and the speakers sound awesome....100x better sounding than the stock garbage speakers Chevy put in there...I bought the front,and rears matching concert series and running them with no amp yet....100% recommend these speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Big improvement

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 8/2/2020

2019 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super easy install. I am a certified GM Tech, but I followed Crutchfields supplied instruction sheet, just to see the accuracy. No issues. Good job Crutchfield. Speakers sound great, even being powered by the the factory GM head unit. Big Difference

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Nice upgrade to the factory system.

Crutchfield customer from Stow, OH on 5/16/2020

2014 Nissan NV Passenger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Upgraded the overall factory system in our 2014 Nissan NV Passenger Van. Head unit upgraded to a Sony XAV-AX5000. Installed these JBL 9631s into the mid panels. They were instantly a noticeable upgrade and add some punch and pop to the sound in the van. Would definitely recommend these speakers as the provide the high quality sound you would expect from JBL.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Phenomenal speakers

Crutchfield customer from Slidell, LA on 5/8/2020

2009 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow! These speaker back a punch! The lows come in great and the highs still ring true. I'm loving these speakers in my 4runner.

Pros: Just 2 of these bad boys and my 4runner sounds incredible. I'll just go for a drive now to hear the BASS! They are powered by a Pioneer AVH-2440NEX and it has plenty of power.

Cons: None. These rock!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great product but missing hardware

Steve from Omaha, NE on 4/28/2020

2019 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Been a Crutchfield customer since 1980, and they've always provided great products at competitive prices with excellent customer service...as for this review, it's a 3 for overall experience and a 4 for the speakers themselves. The JBL 9631 provides improved clarity across the frequency spectrum and is superior to the factory speakers in my 2019 Ram 1500 in every way though they're not as dynamic as I thought they'd be, but an amp is likely needed to really make them sing. Very balanced speaker. As far as the overall experience goes, I ordered the 9631 as it includes the hardware kit that the 9631F does not. The factory screws in the Ram do not work with these speakers and I needed that hardware to install them correctly, so it was disappointing to find that the 9631s came only with grill covers (which I don't need) and no hardware. Not sure if this was an oversight on JBL's or Crutchfield's part, but I had to dig through my assortment of fasteners to complete the install of one pair. The 2nd pair will have to wait until I can make a trip to the hardware store, which isn't a huge deal but it is a bit of a time waster for something I would've been finished with already. All that said, the JBL 9631 is a really good product that is well worth the price to upgrade your factory drivers, and when it's on sale like it is currently then it's a great deal.

Pros: Solid product by JBL Crutchfield service and support Metra cabling harness included

Cons: Missing hardware Factory amp doesn't quite cut it, speakers really need an amp to bring out their potential (Not JBL or Crutchfield's fault)

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

terrible speakers

Robert from Bartlett, IL on 2/27/2020

2009 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

VERY disappointed in these speakers. After I installed them and turned on the system I kept getting an intermittant scratchy/ static like sound from these speakers from the left and right side in the rear positions. What I eventually found was that even when powered off I could manually actuate the low cones with my fingers and you could hear a scratchy/gritty sound being produced like the cone was rubbing on something when it was moving. I was unable to return them because I had to modify them to hook them up by seperating the high and low because the crossover is done before the speakers in the factory amp. Unwilling to gamble on another set of these I ordered a set of JBL club 9630's which I've used before. The club 9630's were modified in the same way and worked great with none of the scratchiness or noise . The bass is not as deep with the 9630's but they at least work normally. I'd steer away from the concert 9631's as I believe there are some production or design issues.

Pros: none

Cons: terrible scratchy/gritty sound from low cones

Crutchfield response on

1 of 6 found this helpful

JBL Concert series 9631

Crutchfield customer from Gatesville, TX on 2/18/2020

2019 Ram 3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have owned JBL products in the past which is why I purchased these speakers. These speakers sound a little thin. I expected more bass with JBL speakers. I am not running a amplifier just the power from the stock radio. This is more than likely the reason for the thin sound. There are no issues with quality the speakers are built well. I must thank the Crutchfield staff as I had some installation issues. Absolute professionals, they made me feel as if it was their own issue. Thanks guys.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JBL 9631

Crutchfield customer from Denison, TX on 1/10/2020

2007 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not putting out the sound i expected out of 6x9s.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 1/20/2020
We're sorry you're disappointed with your speakers. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good sounding speakers

Gary from KELLER, TX on 1/3/2020

2012 Chrysler 200

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Speakers sound good, much better than stock speakers. Installation was easy and made easier with supplied wire adapters.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Impressed

Crutchfield customer from Hermitage, PA on 1/2/2020

2004 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crisp highs, well made and sound great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

JBL 9631

Crutchfield customer from Rockwall, TX on 12/31/2019

2004 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install and sound that is miles above the factory speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Awesome upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Jerome , ID on 12/28/2019

2006 Chevrolet Malibu

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These sound great! So much better than the stock speakers but also easy to install. I was very impressed with the sound and quality.

Pros: Easy install, fantastic sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Best upgrade for factory sound system!

Crutchfield customer from Wright, WY on 12/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just what my Forester needed! I didn't want to replace the factory head unit, so very efficient speakers were needed. JBL Concert Series make this possible and make the sound system come alive! They have very smooth clarity, not overly bright or harsh. The bass is just so much more accurate and punchy, eliminating all the exaggerated muddy bottom(ish) sound from the factory set. I'm just disappointed that I waited this long to replace the factory junk, which went straight into the trash. Without spending much, these speakers truly transformed the sound system into a very enjoyable experience and I didn't have to add an amp or change the stock head unit.

Pros: Very clean smooth sound. Accurate punchy bass. Very efficient and don't need an amp to drive them. Great for factory head unit.

Cons: I can now hear when the bitstream sampling is low if I'm streaming on Bluetooth. ;-) Unexpected consequences of good speakers!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great Old School 6x9's!

Mark from Bonita Springs, FL on 12/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed them in my old Corvette, in two separate sound boxes. Sound was way more natural than the 6 speaker 'sound bar' I had in it already!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

2019 Toyota Tacoma

Crutchfield customer from Leesburg, FL on 12/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased with these in the front doors of my 2019 Tacoma. It brings out clarity to all music types. Going for tweeters and rear doors speaks next.

Pros: Very easy to install with Crutchfields added speakers adapters and sound way better than stock

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JBL 9631

Crutchfield customer from Denver, CO on 11/24/2019

2016 Jeep Renegade

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound easy install - I've never installed speakers or knew anything about speakers prior to this but Crutchfield gives you everything.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

TOP