Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
840 657 789 3
Connect ID #
840 657 789 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

JBL DSP4086

8-channel car amplifier with digital signal processing — 40 watts RMS x 8

MFR # DSP4086AM

JBL DSP4086

JBL DSP4086

8-channel car amplifier with digital signal processing — 40 watts RMS x 8

MFR # DSP4086AM

33 reviews
View this product

Redmond

SKYLER from Redmond on 6/19/2022

2004 Hummer H2

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing little dsp amp! The software really isnt that bad at all besides the app freezing on startup for some computers. All you need to do is put the computer in airplane mode and boom, it works. Thats really the only bad thing about this amp. Build quality is great, sound is amazing when properly tuned and would put this in any car or truck.

Pros: Size, 8 Channels, Price, Easy tuning

Cons: Some computers need to be in airplane more for app to work.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Software Freezes on Every PC I have Used

Joal from Fletcher, NC on 4/29/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have never had any car audio equipment that caused me as much frustration as this amplifier. I have always been a fan of JBL equipment but I will never purchase another Harman product after my experience with this amplifier. The software is unresponsive on the 5 separate PCs from different manufacturers running different versions of Windows. The only temporary solution that I found is to complete a new install of Windows 10 and then the program works initially but becomes unresponsive the next time that I open the program. Even if I remove the program and reinstall the software it remains unresponsive. I have tried 3 separate versions of the DSP software and it's the same issue. The software is the only means to make any changes to the DSP settings so the amp is essentially useless without it since the sound is distorted without making adjustments via the DSP. Harman customer support has not been helpful and I have been contacting them about this issue since August 2021. I left a review on the JBL DSP4086 website about this issue but Harman never published the review, even after I received a confirmation email. I hope this review helps someone avoid dealing with this same nightmare issue that will cause you to waste countless hours of your life troubleshooting.

Pros:

Cons: -Software -High noise floor

Crutchfield response on 5/2/2022
Joal contacted our Tech Support team for help. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Amazing...

Andrew from Renton, WA on 4/28/2022

2020 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you're on the fence on whether to get this or not, just do it. Newly installed and not calibrated, it WILL sound bad. Calibrated correctly (which isn't hard), it brings every speaker to life. I was worried the 40 watts/channel would be too weak, but that is far from the case. My volume rarely ever exceeds 50% on my stock head unit, because anything louder is simply too loud. I initially installed a sub and sub amp prior to buying the DSP4086. After installing the DSP4086, it quickly became apparent how real bass roll-off is, and how much newer car amps/head-units throttle bass. I had to turn the sub amp gain down to roughly 25%, down from basically 100% prior to installing the DSP.

Pros:

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JBL DSP4086

Zimmerman from Atlanta, GA on 4/26/2022

2020 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Easy to install and easy to program. Must get!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JBL DSP4086

Volodymyr from San Antonio, TX on 4/14/2022

2016 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The DSP itself is really good. But the software for configuring it is opposite - in my case it doesn't work on different laptops - it always freezes on launch. I've tried different hardware and Windows versions, as far as different compatibility options. Customer support from JLB couldn't help as well.

Pros: - good hardware quality

Cons: - software doesn't work

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

So much promise but.....

Charles from Greensboro NC on 4/3/2022

2013 Nissan Rogue SV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this directly from Harman audio website, for some reason they had it listed for less than $200, ( sorry crutchfield ) so I figured I would give it a try, I didn't care much about the amp power specs since I'm using my Rockford amps on a 8 channel full active setup and this will be more of a DSP and line driver, any way even with gain level turned down, 8v RMS on 4 channels and 5v RMS out on the other 4 channels, it still gets very warm. On the software side it could use some tweaking from Harman ( JBL/Infinity) first I had a issue of just connecting, had to go into windows device manger and set the USB serial connection to comm 1 for it to connect, next the input mixer is very confusing, it needs a save button so you can tell if your settings saved. Would be nice to know the crossover type also, are they Butterworth, LW or Bessel? And in this day and age why doesn't this have Bluetooth or a app for the phone/tablet? I Would prefer a different type of power connection, the way it comes is hard to make look good. It does sound good once you figure out the quirks of it and get it tuned, a good RTA mic is super helpful in that. For what I payed it's nice, at full retail price I would have probably returned to be honest.

Pros: Small, JBL name, nice EQ and crossovers

Cons: Runs hot, clunky power connection, no phone app support, windows software is buggy and needs work

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Total bummer

Andrew from Kansas City, MO on 3/12/2022

2016 Chevrolet Colorado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Thing thing has driven me crazy. Between loose pins in the harness and wonky software, it has been a complete waste of time and money. I have it two stars because I think it could be great. But, mine is obviously a dud.

Pros: Good price, great features

Cons: Didn't work.AT ALL

Crutchfield response on 3/15/2022
Andrew, we're sorry you're having issues with your amp. While your order is beyond Crutchfield's 60-day return policy, please feel free to reach out to our Tech Support team for help, or for information about the 1-year JBL warranty on this amp. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.
Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Solid amp

Crutchfield customer from Minnetonka, MN on 11/7/2021

2008 Pontiac Grand Prix

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The instructions are not great but once you figure how t onprogram it works great.

Pros: Easy to hook up.

Cons: The instructions could be clearer.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JBL DSP4086

Crutchfield customer from Palmdale, CA on 10/24/2021

2000 Lincoln Town Car

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Satisfied.

Pros: Small Size

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL DSP4086

Crutchfield customer from Concord, CA on 9/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great

Pros: Many options to match the sound you want

Cons: For expert installer and tune

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Highly recommend

Crutchfield customer from Helen, GA on 9/24/2021

2016 Lincoln MKZ

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was very easy to install, and it definitely woke my new speakers up. Still tweaking the sound a little bit with the bills in equalizer. I highly recommend this If you're looking to upgrade your sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JBL DSP

Crutchfield customer from Romeoville, IL on 8/20/2021

2017 BMW X5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp! Gives you the right amount of power and output to your system. Even with my factory speakers it was night and day. Then I switched them out with the Hertz Deci, and it sounds 10x better!

Pros: Ability to set the setting via an App on your computer. All the cables included make your life easier.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Almost perfect

Crutchfield customer from Lynchburg, VA on 8/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like this amp a lot. I replaced my stock Bose amp with this and am powering all existing speakers and using one channel for amp out. The DSP is great. Like others, I wish there was a simpler way to adjust the DSP. Bringing the laptop to the car is a hassle. The only issue I have is the dreaded hissing sound from tweeters. I've grounded, regrounded, turned gains down and nothing removes it. I don't know if it's the amp or my car, but it wasn't there with the stock amp. A thing to note, the bass knob stops actually increasing the volume after ~75% turned. There's dead space and it's annoying. That or mine is broken, but the app says +5 or whatever and then the rest of the bass knob turn does nothing.

Pros: Plenty of outputs, DSP built in, high quality

Cons: Needs computer for tuning software, each channel could use more power, wiring harness and RCA cables take up a lot of space, bass knob

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

DSP is the way to go

Ephraim from Lynnwood, WA on 7/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This little amp is amazing in it's flexibility of installation. I had a premium audio system with an oem amp and dual coil sub. But there was nothing only 4 channels output from the head unit. The dual coil has 2 pairs of wire going into it. And 4 door speakers and a pair of tweeters, which are wired in series with the Front speakers. This amp makes it all easy. I used it's 4 inputs out of 6 and by using the input mixer of the DPS function, I was able to feed all the speakers and more by adding a pair of 6by 9s for tail gate experience. I am so happy by the decision I made.

Pros:

Cons: The only cons I have is the RMS rating could use a little beefing up.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great

Mike from North Tonawanda, NY on 7/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp. You will need a pc with windows to download the the tuning software. Make sure you have that first. You have to tune the amp settings. You can not skip that part. Connection was great. Simple to install. I solder all connections and shrink wrap. Its gets pretty loud. Plenty. Has a good punch. Compact design. Put in my 2002 chevy Suburban. Fits behind the glove box. I am not running subs off it. You can. And itll work. 6.5 inch rear deck subs or something. But i have an alpine 8" and alpine 330 watt bass amp from cheutchfield for that. Set up on the oc is pretty easy. And it can be advanced as you want it to be. Depending in your knowledge. Again if you hook this amp up. And dont set it up using a pc. Youll be disappointed. You must must must set up after you install it. Otherwise it sounds like a tin can. Be sure to label what channel is what speaker.

Pros: Size power flexibility

Cons: You have to set it up after you install it using the downloaded software. But no big deal. Thats why you bought the amp. To tune it

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

JBL DSP4086

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, KY on 7/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect for adding an amplifier to a Toyota JBL factory system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Easy install, great adaptability!

James from Hastings on 7/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased and self installed this beauty in my wife's vehicle and let me just say, it's a snap to install and the sound quality is spot on! Only complaint is it falls short on really powering any subs but for my situation, it's his wasn't necessary.

Pros: Easy install, great sound

Cons: Falls short on powering subs.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

JBL DSP4086

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 7/12/2021

2021 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great DSP if you want to control every signal but your head unit does not give you the level of adjustability that you need.

Pros: Cost, Ease, Channels

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Amazing configurability for the price, but could use more power

Crutchfield customer from Plainfield, IL on 7/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing configurability. There's really nothing like it for sale at this price point. The software is a little clunky and like others have mentioned, there's minimal instructions. Regardless, I would have given this amp a full 5 stars if it had a little more power. It is impressive for the size, but when nearing max output, the amp very harshly clips/distorts the output, especially when trying to squeeze more low frequency response out of mid-bass speakers in my car. This is only really a problem when playing bass heavy rap or dub-step style music with decent low hz gain. For rock and metal, without heavy bass, it more than exceeds the output I was hoping for. For reference, I'm using 6 out of 8ch at the moment. 2- 4" 4ohm Full-Range dash speakers (120hz hi-pass) 2- 6.5" 2ohm Mid-bass door speakers (800hz lo-pass) 2- 6x9" 2ohm Full-Range Rear Speakers (full pass)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Awesome addition to my system

Ryan from Albuquerque, NM on 7/4/2021

2014 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Put this in my 2020 Gladiator after installing an Insane Audio JL3001. Was on the fence about 40 watts RMS per channel. I am not anymore. This amp punches. Especially for the price! Perfect blend with Sound Ordinance B-8PTD powered sub. Programming it is time consuming but necessary and not really hard. You really have to think about where you want to send the signal but it's worth it. Not rocket science but there's a little bit of a learning curve. Once you get the hang of it though it's easy. My system sounds amazing!

Pros: compact, multi channel, DSP, perfect for pickup cab

Cons: interface could be smoother

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

JBL DSP4086

Crutchfield customer from Allen, TX on 5/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Met all my expectations and some!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Amazing DSP/Amp

Bryan from East Brunswick, NJ on 5/17/2021

2021 Honda Ridgeline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great DSP/amp combo. Having auto-tuning capabilities would have been nice, but at this price point i wasn't expecting it. Would have been nice to see bridgeable channels for 7 and 8. Manual is severely lacking. Fortunately there's a YouTube video on how to set this amp up which was a huge help for a beginner like myself. My unit was missing the power wire harness, but Crutchfield sent me a new replacement unit very quickly.

Pros: Fairly easy to use even for a beginner great power easy to install

Cons: manual is lacking no hard preset button/switch gets warm/hot, but doesn't seem to be an issue

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

JBL DSP4086

Crutchfield customer from Davie, FL on 5/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Compact and powerful very happy thanks Ray at Clutch field

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

An unrivaled and compact powerhouse!

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 4/18/2021

2013 Honda Crosstour

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a powerful and amazingly configurable amplifier! The compact size is deceiving but makes it easy to install and hideaway. The flexible and intuitive software User Interface adds punch and clarity to each channel while the bass knob adds an another level of control altogether. Easily one of the best car audio products I've owned!

Pros: Needed accessories included Easy to understand instructions. Compact size Built in EQ through the powerful and intuitive software Enough power to drive clarity and punch to every channel

Cons: Cannot bridge channels 7 and 8 (worked it out via lower impedance subs)

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Awesome Amp

Crutchfield customer from Brockton, MA on 3/20/2021

2004 Mercedes-Benz CLK-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp was above my expectations. Very easy to program with the downloaded app. Sounds great with plenty of power for 6 speakers, a center speaker , 2 tweeters, and a 12" subwoofer. Shakes the car when volume way up. If you want a small but powerful amp that's easy to set up this is it. You won't be disappointed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

JBL DSP4086

James from Menifee, CA on 3/7/2021

2020 Acura MDX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this in my 2021 Acura MDX. I have the base model and the sound was really bad compared to my 2018 Acura TLX with tech package. The install wasn't that easy because i was trying to hook up all the channels coming out of my factory amp to this unit. Because i plan to keep this after i get rid of this car, I wired it to be removable. I also replaced my stock speakers with Infinity Reference speakers since I was already spending on this. The sound coming out is great. What is really cool though is being able to disable all of the other channels and just listen to one pair at a time while you are tuning. There is a great 1 hour youtube video of some guys tuning speakers with this. Oh yea, i used channel 7 for my center and 8 for sub. Now i have 2 knobs to control my sub, the dedicated one that controls my subs bass boost and a sub volume level from this amp. One problem i encountered with my Acura and one which all Honda owners will too is the cars Noise Cancellation. You have to unplug the unit which is kind of a chore. This sounds really good in the end though.

Pros: Easy to tweak and sounds as good as you can make it

Cons: Software support. I hope they will offer firmware updates to help tune. Also for this price, it should've come with an Bluetooth app.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

JBL dps4086 in 2011 outback

tim from South Bend, IN on 2/12/2021

2011 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just finished installing this amp in my 2011 outback. It has a small footprint that can fit anywhere, which is nice, but the rca inputs make it a bit cumbersome. I like having 8 channels of output, 3 1/2" in dash, 6" in front and rear doors, but they should've used rca out's for sub. Speaking of subs, i haven't gotten channels 7&8 to turn on for my sub amp. Instructions are not very clear, and no real online support yet other than 1 youtube video quickly explaining the software. Speaking of software, i am knocking 2 stars off for the fact that you can only use a windows laptop to adjust the unit. It would be nice to at least adjust the eq settings using a mobile app for a tablet. The other issue is you can store 10 different amp "presets", but again, only way to access them is with my huge 17" laptop. Listening to music through the "aux" port from my phone sounds different than the radio, and would be nice to easily switch between 2 different eq settings. Granted, its only this much, much cheaper than other dsp amps, and my 1st dsp amp. Maybe JBL will listen, develop a firmware update to use a mobile app?.....

Pros: 8 channel output, small size, good price

Cons: having to use a laptop to adjust it

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

JBL DSP4086

Crutchfield customer from Puyallup, WA on 2/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my first time using a DSP, and the JBL software makes it reasonably easy for a novice to set the system up. I'm mixing front mids and tweeters on a Civic Si to combined output for front and rear components, with one channel to the center dash and one to the factory sub. The only negative so far is you can't bridge any channels, although the sub probably couldn't handle more power anyway on this car. The software does allow syncing pairs of channels, so the next step is a custom box for a dual coil sub, with channels 7 and 8 running the same output. Most people wanting serious bass will probably want to run a second amp to drive the sub(s), so being unable to bridge 40 watts together isn't that big a deal.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

JBL DSP 4086 IN MY 2017 GMC CANYON BOSE DELTE

Crutchfield customer from Rock Falls, IL on 2/9/2021

2017 GMC Canyon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little amp and dsp especially used with JBL or Infinity 2 ohm speakers. I used Infinity stadium kappa 6x9 components set in the front door and the mx20 midrange in original front dash. Tweeters pillar mount firing up and at an X crossing at about gear shifter. Rear 6.5 stadium kappa coax in rear doors for fill. Used a 8 channels to drive each components seperately. Set up was super simple and time delay has a perfect front stage. Plays pretty loud for 60 watts at 2 ohm. But best of all super accurate sound of the components 3 way. Little tweeking left but very happy.

Pros: Great price for dsp let alone an amp too and can also add to another amp etc

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Great Concept

Crutchfield customer from Bayamon, PR on 2/1/2021

2004 Chevrolet Avalanche

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Should include better instructions. I have not seen firmware updates from the manufacturer. Adjustments using PC software is great but again the instructions could be better. Replaced broken factory amp to power factory sub, and have plenty channels left but I prefer the quality of the sound from speaker outputs from my Sony headunit. Very compact unit. Not sure if I am keeping this one. It is great in concept but I have more testing to do.

Pros: Compact size and great adjustability with PC software.

Cons: Found no firmware updates from JBL. Sound quality is dubious.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 10 found this helpful

Solid upgrade

Corey from Fort Lauderdale, FL on 1/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid unit. Instructions on how to set up mixer is non existent. But once you figure it out it's pretty easy. 31 band eq allows for fine tuning. For my needs the amplified output is plenty. Using this with a factory system on a 2020 Ford ranger.

Pros: Software is easy for a beginner but will need to do dsp research. Lot of tuning options Plenty of power

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

SAINT JAMES

Jacob from St James, New York on 12/18/2020

2015 Nissan Xterra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp for multiple channels in your car. If you have tweeters in a location that would make it a nightmare to run wires from the mids, such as dash located tweeters and door located mids, this amp basically solves that problem. You can then go ahead and set crossovers and, better yet, time align each speaker perfectly. I have it running 6 channels in my 2015 Nissan Xterra (dash tweeters, front mids, rear doors), and then I have a sub in the back. My only gripe, as mentioned in another review, is the lack of an RCA out for a dedicated subwoofer. It's great you can tune everything in the app, but then you're hung out to dry if you don't have an aftermarket head unit for your sub. One way around this would be using the powered outputs to your sub amp, if your sub amp can handle powered inputs. Just an idea.

Pros: Compact, easy to setup, intuitive app

Cons: Not incredibly powerful, no RCA sub out.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great amp

Brian from Crown point, indiana on 11/26/2020

2018 Volvo V60

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp is amazing! The only thing I wish it had was an RCA out controlled by the software. The software is very easy to use. A tip I would give from experience is to save your changes often so you don't loose them. The amp is compact and easy to put in many places. I used it on my stock speakers and made it sound amazing.

Pros: The amp is compact and very versatile.

Cons: I wish it had a programmable rca out.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound