Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
840 657 789 3
Connect ID #
840 657 789 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

JBL HDI-1600

Bookshelf speaker (Satin Gray Oak)

MFR # JBLHDI1600GRO

JBL HDI-1600

JBL HDI-1600

Bookshelf speaker (Satin Gray Oak)

MFR # JBLHDI1600GRO

10 reviews
View this product

Small but Mighty

Donald from Trussville , AL on 7/25/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers. I placed these on built-ins on each side of our fireplace. The small size satisfied the aesthetics for my wife but they delver stunning sound that fills our large great room. The presence of the highs is amazing and the bass is fantastic. Driving with a Yamaha amp that delivers about 80w at 8 ohms. Speakers are 4 ohm. Couldn't recommend more if you are looking for small speakers.

Pros: Incredible sound. Small size.

Cons: Small size.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL HDI-1600

Scott from Brewton, AL on 7/17/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced an older set of low end JBL bookshelf speakers with the HDI 1600s. Very impressed with how balanced and bright these speakers are. I've discovered new harmonies and tones from songs that I have listened to for decades.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Small speaker , big sound

Bob from Pine Bush, NY on 7/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have owned many JBL speakers over the years , L100s , L65s & pro series, just so you know I have a bias for their products and for good reason . I recently purchased a pair of the HDI 1600s for a small room with a10" JBL sub and powered it with a 100 watt marantz amp. I'm impressed with the quality of sound that this small speaker is capable of producing. Like most J B L products, they respond quite well with a powerful amp. Bob

Pros: Best sounding small speaker Ive owned.

Cons: None ,except price

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL HDI-1600

Crutchfield customer from Wadesboro, NC on 11/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for a pair of superior speakers for the front speakers of my surround sound. I had limited space and the size of these was perfect. I primarily listen to music on my system so my front speakers needed to be the best. These speakers were perfect. The quality of sound is superb and the base is amazing for a speaker this small. I am very pleased with these all the way around.

Pros: Small size, base response, overall quality of sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Definitely worth the money.

Donald from CARLSBAD, CA on 8/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound clear and full. I turned up my Marantz NR1200 receiver to volume 70 and closed my eyes and it sounded like I had a 12 inch woofer in front of me not a 6.5 inch, The singer sounded like she was standing right in front of me singing. I heard a reviewer on u tube that said they could not do a bass drum right but the bass drum on Evanescence sounded great. It made my chest vibrate. The wall I was leaning against in my bedroom was vibrating.

Pros: Everything except the sensitivity.

Cons: Needs a higher powered amp stable at 4 ohms.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

HDI-1600 gloss black

Crutchfield customer from Fountain Valley, CA on 7/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Vinyl renders beautifully, truly amazing. Now I'm eyeballing the entire Synthesis line. Highly recommended.

Pros: Sounds like their pro monitors, but beautifully refined

Cons: Not a con, be aware these need power to show their colors, & it is great.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

One of JBL's Best

ROBERT from BRADENTON on 5/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've owned many JBL loudspeakers over the past 20 years and this is one of my favorites. I purchased the HDI-1600s in the walnut finish which looks great, especially given that all my other speakers have been finished in black. The sound reinforces my experience with previous JBLs - the bass weight and depth is very, very good, the midrange is lively and engaging and the treble is all there without being harsh. These speakers can be played impressively, and very cleanly loud, but need a good amplifier (I am using a good quality 2 channel receiver rated at 100 watts per side). Very highly recommended!

Pros: Great, clean bass Clear, dynamic midrange Good, fatigue-free, treble

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Stagger Lee

Guest from Glendale, CA on 5/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

At first I thought these speakers were too much for my taste. After breaking in, they are wonderful. The bass is excellent for a bookshelf. The vocals have an immediacy and presence that is palpable. I would describe these speakers as detailed without harshness and they have an attention capturing presence that is very gratifying. I'm a vocal guy and I love female and male voices on these speakers. After kicking round in the under $1000. market I took the leap and was richly rewarded.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Buy these speakers!!!

Crutchfield customer from Leesburg, VA on 3/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great bookshelf speakers!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 7 found this helpful

JBL HDI-1600

Crutchfield customer from Cartersville, GA on 11/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers have a full sound that fills up my entire room. I got these and the Dynaudio Evo2.0 and these sounds better for a little lesser price range.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound