Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
453 071 641 3

Call center hours

Connect ID #
453 071 641 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time. Please visit our Support page to find the help you need.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Please select an email topic.  

Looking for tech support?
Please call us at 1-800-955-9091

Need help now?
Call an advisor: 1-888-955-6000

Please enter your name.  
Please enter your US phone number.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

JBL Horizon

FM clock radio with Bluetooth® and dual USB charging (Black)

MFR # JBLHORIZONBLKAM

JBL Horizon

JBL Horizon

FM clock radio with Bluetooth® and dual USB charging (Black)

MFR # JBLHORIZONBLKAM

40 reviews
View this product

JBL Horizon

Crutchfield customer from Boqueron, PR on 1/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product, good sound!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

OK but not great

Crutchfield customer from Nashville, TN on 1/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks good, but a little too large. Also maybe has a little too much going on for an alarm clock and misses on some simple things. Main issue is that you can't set the alarm volume, at least when it is set to radio. It also gets progressively louder very quickly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Alarm Clock

Stephen from ROSWELL, GA on 1/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this for my wife for Christmas to replace a very old Sony alarm clock. The sound is very good but we both especially like the ambient light feature. Also, it is nice to use as a bluetooth speaker in the bedroom to pass the time when doing chores like folding laundry.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice music playing programmable alarm clock

Robert from Phoenix, AZ on 4/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the most part, I am VERY satisfied with this advanced music alarm clock. For $100, it has very good sound and provides excellent versatility as an alarm clock. For many years I have had a Bose Wave CD alarm clock (from 13 years ago). This reminds me of the Bose unit, but for only 25% (or less) of the cost. The sound is not as rich, but overall, its sound quality is in the same general ballpark. In other words, it isn't tinny, nor artificially boomy; and it can easily fill up a bedroom. The clock autodims nicely, and there is a nice variable Sleep function. There are two independent alarms which can be programmed for 3 different alarm tones, FM Radio, or Bluetooth. It also has an auxiliary input for my older mp3 players. Display has large characters which are easy to read. The reason I don't give this a 5-star rating is the FM Reception is good, but not great; and there was an incident recently where I was experimenting and somehow locked the back ambient light to staying 'on'. I couldn't shut it off until I pulled the plug (to reboot it).

Pros: 2 uniquely programmable alarms, with excellent versatility. Alarms start off softly, instead of jolting you out of your sleep. Nice auto-dimming display. I have bad eyes, but I can read it both in the daylight and when it is dimmed at night. Bluetooth, FM Radio, and aux input options for music. Good sound for the price!

Cons: FM Reception could be improved, but overall, not too bad. Some controls are hard to see/feel. Easy to hit the wrong one. A big finicky. Once I somehow put it into a mode where the ambient light wouldn't shut off when I hit the light button. Had to power down (remove plug from outlet).

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL Horizon

steve from Okemos, MI on 2/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

While the sound reproduction is better than your standard clock radio, it does fall short of a Bose Wave radio, although it is only a quarter of the price. Set-up can be somewhat frustrating as well, but overall I think most people will agree that this is a pretty nice unit and a good value.

Pros: Modern design

Cons: Small functional buttons

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JBL Horizon

David from Festus, MO on 1/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

excellent product. so easy to use

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JBL Horizon

Crutchfield customer from Avon Lake, OH on 11/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The clock has a modern look and we like the two separate alarms. There are various sounds to wake-up in addition to the radio. Sound is excellent. The two USB ports are a great addition. All systems are very easy to operate.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Two really weak points

Tony from Fort Collins, CO on 11/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The JBL Horizon sounds great, has nice auto-dimming feature, large display for time, day and date and conveniently two USB-A ports for charging devices. It is a nice package; however, the most significant issues is that you have to push a button to link to it via Bluetooth every time you want to use it and it does not have automatic daylight savings built into it - you have to manually switch for this. Compounding the Bluetooth problem is that the button for activating Bluetooth is on the back side of the Horizon, which is truly a poor placement. I have two other Bluetooth devices in the house - an Onkyo receiver and a Bose speaker. Both of these show up on my iPhone without having to activate Bluetooth and I can immediately start playing music through them without pushing any buttons on the devices. If JBL could fix these two issues I would have given it a 5 star rating. But as is, it is rather disappointing. Had I known about these problems in advance, I probably would not have purchased this unit.

Pros: Sounds good, large autodimming display, two USB ports,overall nice design

Cons: Does not have "live" bluetooth connection (requires pushing a button every time to use it) and does not have automatic daylight savings.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sounds great

William from Staunton, VA on 9/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Like the sound & easy operation.

Pros: Good device

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

JBL Horizon

Crutchfield customer from Port Orange, FL on 9/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This JBL Horizon clock radio looks great and sounds like all JBL speakers - outstanding!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL Horizon

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 6/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Attractive. A bit large. Due to the light adaption difficult to see the time across the room at night.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great sound. Good functions.

Edward from Woodside, NY on 5/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is perfect for what i wanted. The sound is great, the Bluetooth is simple and intuitive. I use it in the bathroom for morning routine, so the alarm function for me is unnecessary.

Pros: Sound, clock, date, tuner.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL Horizon

Crutchfield customer from Rochester, MN on 1/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Attractive design, easy to use

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JBL Horizon

Scott from Bluffton, SC on 12/27/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like it. Good sound quality. Easy to set up. Shipped well, as advertised. Product sold for less than on other online sites.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JBL Horizon

Crutchfield customer from Ridgecrest, CA on 12/7/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this speaker for my son's room to replace the bulky stereo and speakers. The sound is nice and so far it works great. I'm considering buying one for my own room.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pretty Good!

Jeff from Birmingham, AL on 9/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Would have given 3 stars but I got on sale and that improves the value. Some design flaws with respect to abilty to find buttons in the dark or even in the light of day. And it is pretty unattractive. Sound is pretty good which is key. I didn't find a lot of options from reputable manufactures for a quality bluetotooth speaker clock radio for this price point. This does fit the bill.

Pros: Good sound. JBL is generally quality stuff.

Cons: Bottons hard to see and navigate.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Great for the price

Steve from Ft Atkinson, WI on 9/15/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This small unit delivers a good sound quality, has a night light, Bluetooth, radio and a large digital clock display.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL Horizon

anibal from Lajas,PR on 6/3/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The display is perfect for my bedroom

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JBL Horizon

Crutchfield customer from Franklin, MA on 2/21/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio with awesome sound for such a small footprint! Shipping was quick too!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL Horizon

Crutchfield customer from Dublin, CA on 1/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I tried several Clock Radio with Blue Tooth - Ultimate Winner at this price range is the JBL Horizon Good Value for the money

Pros: Great Look and Excellent Finish Good Sound Quality for the price FM Radio - Reasonably OK (analog radios have better radio performance) Bright Light Alarm (I may not be using this for clock for alarm)

Cons: Understanding of the manual was little difficult; can make some improvements here Still not able to figure out as how to setup the "Preset" P1 - P5 FM stations

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

useless as an alarm clock

Tom from Traverse City, MI on 1/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

very disappointed. There is no way to set the volume on the FM wake up alarm. It starts at about 3 of 15 and ramps up to 12 of 15. Loud enough to wake the house up. I called JBL and they admitted their engineers missed it. I'd love to ship it back but I scrapped the box. This device will live in my garage from forever. Can anyone offer a decent replacement? I just read the "waste of money" review below. TC nailed it.

Pros: sound quality

Cons: alarm volume

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

JBL Horizon

Crutchfield customer from Tolleson, AZ on 1/7/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The display is perfect for my bedroom, I like the auto dim feature, at night in the dark it's just bright enough to see without issue and brightens up with lights on. The 2 USB charge ports are very convenient for charging my phone and tablet. Appearance is great and the sound quality is top notch.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL Horizon

Crutchfield customer from Aguadilla, PR on 12/25/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JBL Horizon

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 11/28/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Decent sound and easy to use, but as other reviewers have noted the clock is not easy to read in all light situations or from all angles.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Love it.

Rudy from Norwalk, CT on 7/12/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does everything a clock radio should do. Automatically dims, Bluetooth, sounds great, and all the basic clock function. Plus, it's aesthetically pleasing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Waste of money

T C from Northeast on 5/25/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very disappointed that you can't control the volume of the alarm clock. It get's progressively louder real quick to the point that you want to jump out of bed to shut the darn thing off before you wake up the rest of your home. Who at JBL thought it was a good idea to NOT let the owners decide what the volume settings should be? This is such a dumb idea. I hate having to hit the snooze button as an attempt to shut it down quickly. While I think the progressive volume idea is good for a single user, it should be an option. I'd rather just let the music come on at a predetermined level so that I can slowly wake up versus feeling like a fire alarm is going off.

Pros: Radio sounds nice, pleasant, backlight is a nice feature.

Cons: Alarm control is terrible. Some buttons are so smooth that you can't find them when your half asleep. Worst alarm clock I've ever had. Quickstart instructions are hard to read... text is way too small and grey against a white background... too difficult for my old eyes.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Great sound, but no clock visible

Anthony from Prospect Heights, IL on 5/20/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Find it hard to believe they designed so you can not see the display if looking straight on. The display automatically dims to much so you cannot read the clock at night. Using it as a bluetooth speaker or strictly radio is fine.

Pros: very good sound

Cons: cannot be used as a clock

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

JBL Horizon Review

Alison from virginia beach, VA on 3/2/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased with the sound quality and many features of this product.

Pros: I enjoy the alarm process of the light and gradual alarm sound that starts soft and increases in volume. Playing music through the radio and bluetooth sounds great!

Cons: Take a bit of getting accustomed to the the various functions.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Beautifully flawed

Rockhound from Houston, Texas on 1/12/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Horizon's unique and artistic design stands out against the competition. I received it a week ago, and my appreciation plummeted upon my first use, when I realized that it fails to accomplish its primary function: being a clock. The time/date is not visible at night, owing to three incomprehensible design flaws; 1) The auto dimming feature darkens the numbers far too much to be visible at night; 2) The face has a mirrored surface, that reflects other bright objects to obscure the numbers; 3) If raised slightly above the bed the numbers are completely unreadable [zero] due to viewing angle. To read the clock at night, I have to pick it up and bring it close to my face. Who let that get past the development phase and into mass production!?!? Cats? Otherwise I love the design. The build is solid and I like the ambient light that accompanies the alarm (very effective). The sound is a step up over traditional alarm clocks, and the USB connections are a nice touch. My version didn't have the blaring sound problem others have mentioned. The instructions are comically devoid of words (I literally laughed), so require a somewhat elevated IQ to follow; I felt like I was taking an SAT test setting up the device. Unfortunately, the pluses are overshadowed by the horribly designed auto-dimming feature, poor viewing angle, and foolishly implemented mirrored face. It looks nice during the day though, when not needed.

Pros: Nice design, ambient light that accompanies the alarm. Nice sound. Two USB ports for charging.

Cons: Time and date are not visible at night due to poorly designed auto-dimming feature, bad viewing angle, and mirrored surface. Setup instructions are comically devoid of words.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Horizon

Jack from Wisconsin on 1/3/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice clock to wake up too. Pleasant sound easy to control - that combined with the ambient light is really nice.

Pros: Light, and gentle sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Lighted Alarm Clock

Norman from Virginia on 12/21/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The JBL alarm clock is easy to use, provides date, two alarms, and the sound is great in radio mode.

Pros: The alarm light and sound progressively get louder. So much less annoying. The sound is great and having two alarms that can be set to specific time periods, such as weekdays only, is very practical. Also, having a Bluetooth feature is great.

Cons: Requires a bit more time to set-up than a basic alarm clock /radio.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Almost, but not quite

Ken from Arizona on 9/15/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really wanted to love this alarm clock. It looks cool, it sounds great, but in my opinion it had two short falls that I couldn't look past. The biggest one is the inability to control the maximum volume on the alarm. I like to wake up to music so I set it up for that, the problem is with the "progressive wake" feature the volume incrementally gets louder about every 5 seconds and there is no way to set a maximum. So if you aren't out of bed and shutting off the alarm in less than 20 seconds it will be loud enough that everyone on the same floor as you will be waking up to it. The other problem I have is trying to find the button to silence the alarm since all the buttons are part of a rubber strip that covers the top of the unit. Possibly if I had kept this alarm and gotten used to it that wouldn't have been as big of a problem. But unfortunately I didn't.

Pros: Great look, great sound

Cons: No alarm volume control, hard to find buttons when it's dark

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Horizon Clock Radio

John in TN from Tennessee on 9/8/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far, so good on the radio. I think it experienced a brief period of garbled audio, and I'm listening carefully now. The primary deficit so far is the apparent lack of ability to manually adjust the display brightness. There are times when the display is too dim to see it. Otherwise, I love the audio quality and the overall functionality of the unit.

Pros: Ease of initial setup, audio quality, overall ease of operation

Cons: Cannot manually adjust the display brightness

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great sound - horrible controls.

Lisa from Tennessee on 8/18/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had been searching for years for a clock radio with decent sound quality. This JBL product does provide great radio sound, which is why I am keeping it. The controls, however, continue to annoy me. It is almost impossible to find the control buttons (even to turn the radio alarm off) without turning on a light. After 3 months of use, I am finally getting more familiar with it, but JBL could have done so much better!

Pros: Radio sound quality. Nightlight and optional increasing light upon waking.

Cons: Control buttons extremely difficult to find in the dark.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Buy

Matthew from South Carolina on 6/22/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I absolutely love this alarm clock. There were several reviews that didn't but everything seems to have been resolved. Amazing sound. I use it every day to stream music in my room and I am really picky about great sound. That is why I went with JBL and they really came through.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Love it!!

Mark CNY from New York on 4/6/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been looking for a decent alarm clock for awhile. I had an UE Smartradio - nice internet radio, terrible alarm clock. This is perfect; 2 alarms, bluetooth, FM tuner, sleep timer. Audio is great for the size, full, good definition and can fill a 15x15 room. Previous reviews state that the alarm comes on too loud but I checked into this before buying and JBL has corrected the problem. Music comes on soft & slowly increases to a level you set. The light is great. I didn't think it would matter to me but I really like it and it serves as a nice nightlight if needed as well. All in all I'm very happy with this purchase. Great value for price.

Pros: Easy to use Sound quality FM & Bluetooth Light Auto dimming

Cons: Minor - takes a bit to find buttons in the dark

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JBL Horizon

KempsterX5 from Brooklyn, NY on 2/21/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

JBL makes great products and this doesn't disappoint

Pros: Great sound, FM Radio. Loud Alarm, Bluetooth, looks ,

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Not Great

Crutchfield customer from Hanover PA on 2/20/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good idea but poorly executed. There are some good features, like the two usb outputs, the little light on the back and the bluetooth. However there is an issue with the screen, it has an awful glare on it so if you have it under a table lamp you can not see the display at all. The ambient light screen adjustment shouldn't be automatic either, should be allowed to change manually, I like my screen a little brighter and I couldn't see it with my lights on. It was weird also that even in 12 hour display, at midnight the time would be 00:30 am instead of 12:30 am. Definetly still needs some work, so I'll be sending mine back. FYI I used this for about a week.

Pros: bluetooth, sound is decent for what it is

Cons: Display, 12 hour function

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Just Does Not Work Properly

TomV from California on 2/18/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The product is defective in several ways. Support from JBL is useless because they are confused about how it is Supposed to work! You are supposed to be able to program the sound level of the radio for the alarm. Does Not work. When the alarm goes off, the radio plays for one minute, goes off, comes on again, goes off etc. Crutchfield has been super in trying to resolve with JBL. No replacements are available yet.

Pros: Good sound. Attractive.

Cons: Does not work!. Instructions terrible. Defective.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jbl horizon

Christy D. from Nahant,Ma on 1/30/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love the sound of this product! Great night alarm clock with all the bells and whistles! Great Bluetooth sound from all your devices or nice simple fm radio! I really love it!

Pros: Great night table size with huge spectacular sound! What more can you ask for?!

Cons: None!!!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

TOP