Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
780 385 099 3
Connect ID #
780 385 099 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

JBL L82 Classic

Bookshelf speakers (Black Grilles)

MFR # JBLL82CLASSICBLK

JBL L82 Classic

JBL L82 Classic

Bookshelf speakers (Black Grilles)

MFR # JBLL82CLASSICBLK

10 reviews
View this product

JBL L82 Classic

Kahlil from Brighton, MA on 3/17/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These have such a great sound. They provide an incredible sound stage and perform well at quite volumes as well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

JBL L82 Classic

Nicholas from New York, NY on 2/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good. Paired it with my Sonos amp and have been very happy with sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JBL L82s

Michael from Tempe, AZ on 1/25/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got JBL L82s for Christmas. They are awesome and just get better as they burn in. Bass is ample but not overwhelming. I'm clearly hearing higher notes in old records that I didnt recall before. Adding the matching speaker stands two weeks after Christmas further improved the warmth of the sound.

Pros: Great all around

Cons: Pricey

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Thank you JBL for the L82! Outstanding presence!

Frederick from Palo Alto on 12/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simply an OUTSTANDING speaker! Thank you JBL for getting out of bed and creating this speaker! I read the reviews, had L100's back in the day, and simply never got over the 1" titanium tweeters and their sound. The L82's and their 1" titanium tweeters capture that crisp clean sound. YES! The new technology used to create the L82's 8" woofer delivers more base than I expected from an 8"woofer, but as James B Lansing is reported to have said "to make sound you need to move air", so I added the JBL STAGE A100P 10" 300 watt powered subwoofer driven from the low-pass filtered dedicated subwoofer output (LFE) on my Marantz NR1200 network receiver. Ohoooo-HA! Moving air now and loving the JBL "Thud". The Marantz 75 watt per channel, ( 8-ohm, 20-20k, 0.08%THD) drives them nicely - a full rich sound from Bach to the Beach Boys. These speakers are capable of recreating the Memorex advertisement and will blow you away!

Pros: JBL Sound - clean clear crisp Smaller foot print and less expensive that the L100's Equal high and midrange to the L100

Cons: Add the JBL 10" 300 watt powered subwoofer to get the L100 thud!

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Amazing first impression

Dan from Oklahoma City, OK on 8/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just got these delivered today after spending a month with another pair of stand-mount speakers close to this price range. My first reaction to the JBL L82 is - unbelievable. These really do not need a subwoofer. I've lived with stand-mount speakers for several years with dual subwoofers, and these really and truly don't need one (or two). I'll live with these for a while before I make a final call on keeping them, but wow. I suspect these are going to stay with me for a very long time.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

JBL L82 Classic

Crutchfield customer from Winston Salem, NC on 2/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great classic JVL sound I remember from the 70s. Clear, defined, a little raw. Sounds like you're there. Driving them with a Yamaha as801.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Best speakers 2020!

Crutchfield customer from Medford, OR on 12/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers and looks, the quality of construction is top notch, very big and powerful sounding. Tweater function adjusts perfectly.

Pros: Clear articulate powerful

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Looking for a Classic? Try the JBL L82's

Crutchfield customer from Largo, FL on 10/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I own a pair of JBL 82 since 1987 and I downsized when I moved. So the room is smaller and when I saw that JBL came out with the L82 classic, A smaller version of the L 100 and smaller than my old JBL 82s. I couldn't wait to try them out. I've had them for two weeks now and I'm pleasantly surprised how a smaller cabinet puts out more base and a cleaner mid range than the ones I've had since 1987. I've grown up with friends that had the original JBL1 00 monitors, so I knew what to expect. In fact I couldn't find any in the mid 70s and I bought a set of Pioneer HPM 100s in 1976 so I'm familiar with the rock 'n' roll sound. In case you didn't know Pioneer had hired a JBL engineer to design the HPM series of speakers in the 70s they sold almost as well as the JBL's did. I was very surprise that I was able to find something close to that sound. I sold my Pioneer HPM 100s and my SX-1250 receiver 10 years ago, so I've been looking for a good so called rock 'n' roll speaker in a smaller venue. Definitely would recommend these to anybody who is looking for the old rock 'n' roll sound in a smaller space. If the price bothers you I found an old ad online for JBL 100 Century monitors back in 1970 and they sold for $273 each, add for inflation and that puts you right in the ballpark for today's price of these new JBL classics.

Pros: Familiar rock 'n' roll sound. Surprisingly more bass out of a small cabinet. Clean high tones and mid range for a 2 way speaker.

Cons: The only downside is the walnut veneer looks too-vinyl like. If you remember these from the 70s like I did the cabinets looked more like real wood back then they do today but that won't affect the sound it's just a comment that I thought for the price they could have used a better quality veneer.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 10 found this helpful

Punching above their Weight Class

Crutchfield customer from Locust, NC on 9/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These little guys sound amazing. Still breaking them in but they are warm and smooth at low volumes. The larger woofer than other bookshelves in range allow for better low end and effortless lower mids. Listen to a solo acoustic track, close your eyes and you have sense of a guy sitting on a stool in front of you, the resonance of the guitar body is uncanny. I can see why several reviews have named them speaker of the year 2020. Looking forward to many years with these.

Pros: Size Solid Build Awesome Retro Grilles

Cons: Grilles not Magnetic

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Blown away by my L82s!

Jon from Atlanta on 8/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers sound amazing. JBL really nailed it. They have true audiophile qualities - like excellent staging and imaging - but what makes them stand out is the meaty bass, which is also tight, controlled and balanced. Moreover, the speakers put out a well-defined mid-range that complements a terrific tweeter (the speakers render singers' voices really well). Most importantly, the speakers are musical and lively. In other words: fun. The sound is on the warm side, which is great for bright rooms like mine . and makes for hours of fatigue-free listening. And, true to JBL's legacy, you can adjust the tweeter tone to get things just right. You'll want an amp with some power to bring out the best in them. My 100W integrated makes them sing so I'd think anything in that wattage range would get the job done. These blow my previous speakers out of the water - and the older speakers were considerably more expensive! Plus, they look sharp and the Quadrex foam grilles never get old; my spouse even approves. Crutchfield delivered them quickly and was great to deal with, as always.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 11 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound